130x130_sq_1214412256181-entrance

Bernardus Lodge

Carmel Valley , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 80, 415 Carmel Valley Road
Carmel Valley, CA US 93924 (map)

PHONE

831-658-3400

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nestled among the oaks and vineyards of scenic Carmel Valley, savor the gracious intimacy of a resort with epicurean flair. Feather beds, cozy fireplaces and oversized bathtubs for two.... Read more
Nestled among the oaks and vineyards of scenic Carmel Valley, savor the gracious intimacy of a resort with epicurean flair. Feather beds, cozy fireplaces and oversized bathtubs for two. Vintage wine and cheese welcome. A "wine grotto" mini bar. The spa's meditation garden, warming room and soaking pool. And dining at Marinus, voted one of the Zagat's top restaurants in the Bay Area.

It’s your wedding and you want it to be special in every way. Carmel Valley lies inland, beyond the fog belt of Carmel-by-the-Sea on the spectacular Monterey Peninsula. With its rolling hills, golf courses, and ranch land, it is exceedingly scenic and the ultimate setting for exchanging vows. Here, the discerning bride and groom can experience the finest accommodations, cuisine, and spa that will create memories that last a lifetime. Here, a perfect wedding starts with a perfect setting. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1214412297572-lobby
130x130_sq_1214412463494-wine_cellar
130x130_sq_1214412592369-wickets
130x130_sq_1214412642119-croquet
130x130_sq_1214412657431-pool
130x130_sq_1362590656445-guestroom
130x130_sq_1362590662155-calchefstbl
130x130_sq_1362590666914-marinusinteriornight
130x130_sq_1362590671366-meritageballroom
130x130_sq_1362590676502-paintedchocolates
130x130_sq_1362590680669-prawns
130x130_sq_1362590685693-spapool
130x130_sq_1362590691078-trufflemartini
130x130_sq_1362590694686-warminghutatnight
130x130_sq_1362590699550-weddinggarden
130x130_sq_1362590777085-croquetlawnterrace1
130x130_sq_1362590842458-weddinggardensept22012
130x130_sq_1362590932594-071
130x130_sq_1362590937465-eastwesttheme
130x130_sq_1362591046907-marinusterrace2
130x130_sq_1362591098587-harvestroomweddingtablesexhibitionkitchen

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2000
Describe your venue:
Hotel, Restaurant, Winery / Vineyard
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
8
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
57
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
750
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Bernardus Lodge is beautiful and relatively small and private. It was awesome for our wedding for around 45 people. The venue was able to do all the catering we wanted including our cake (All Amazing!!), though it was our option. And the entire staff was so friendly and awesome! Even the housekeeper who stopped to freshen my room on the wedding morning was excited and wrapped me in a great big hug of congratulations!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mity
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
For the first time my husband I walked into this place, we knew that this is where we are gonna get married. I am SO glad that we chose here!
What is most important thing about your wedding?
Flexibility - Bernardus Lodge does only one wedding per day. You get to pick your own time line. Entire stuff at Bernardus Lodge will focus on you and your day only. Scenery - Bernardus Lodge is surrounded by beautiful valley and mountain. 360 degree. They have grapevine, pool, loan, beautiful indoor/outdoor fireplace...on site restaurant, natural flowers and trees everywhere. It's stunningly beautiful. You have ceremony at little garden, cocktail hour at loan, guest can enjoy playing bocce game...and reception inside hall. It's so nice to go one place to another in one event. Food - Hands down, the best wedding food I ever ate. There is no question that food is important. Bernardus Lodge executed this to perfection. Hor devours has great selection, and dinner is served as presidential style! Your guests won't be hungry after at all. They gave you great portion of lobster and steak...even vegetables that comes with it is so delicious you wanna eat them at all. Steaks will melt in your mouth and oh desert. I have guests still calls and talks about how great food was. Stuff - From valet, concierge to room service, people at Bernardus Lodge is commit ed to give you absolute best customer service you ever experience. They are friendly, helpful and great to work with. We had the greatest day/greatest wedding at Bernardus Lodge, I couldn't be any happier at everything. I was so happy the day of wedding and stuff at Bernardus Lodge took great care of us, so I didn't have to worry a thing. Thanks to that, I remember every single moment of my day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Britbabe
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our wedding here on 08-27-11.... Perfection, perfection, perfection!!! The staff are truly talented, patient, amazingly helpful, and kind. What a wonderful memory we and all of our guests have of our wedding day (and weekend). Everyone is still talking about it, and a lot of people are saying it is the best wedding they've ever been too...I of course would have to agree :-) The food here is PHENOMENAL!! The Service is Exceptional! The scenery is breathtaking. There is not one thing I regret about having our wedding here. Thank you Bernardus, and a particular thank you to Nicole Cabantac (event coordinator for Bernardus) who helped make our day go as wonderful as it did!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tigerlily
Wedding:
8/22/2010
5.0/5.0
When we first visited Bernardus, the beautiful grounds and scenery, great service, and delicious food made us quite certain that this was the place for us. Working with Nicole and Amy when planning our wedding went very smoothly and all of our questions were answered fairly promptly and thoroughly. Bernardus seemed very open about customizing portions of the ceremony and reception, and it was great to be able to just hand them a box of special ceremony items, and photos and other decorations for the reception, and trust that everything would be set up perfectly just as we discussed. After the ceremony, we were even able to go into the vineyard near the wedding garden for pictures. I lost track of how many guests commented how "perfect" everything was, and my husband and I just can't say enough how awesome Bernardus is.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carmel Bride
Wedding:
1/10/2010
5.0/5.0
From the moment we walked through the door, we knew that this was the place! The staff is very helpful and friendly without being invasive or over the top. Nicole Cabantac was a great coordinator... guided us well and worked within our budget, excellent attention to detail, nothing was missed and everything looked better than I imagined. Beautiful property, very comfortable and beautiful rooms. I had my hair and makeup done at their spa and while they did a good job it took much longer than anticipated. Be sure to leave more than enough time...
Overall review - excellent!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fran2009
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.9/5.0
Our cocktail hour and wedding reception were absolutely beautiful and perfect and we couldn't be happier! The service was great, and their staff is very accommodating with the odd requests you can come up with for a wedding. They allow only one wedding on a given day, so you will always get the best service they can offer. The food was delicious and Cali-organic, the cake was great, and they produce their own wine which adds to their charm. We did the buffet, so we were not aware of any issues with serving and we did not print menus. We had to jazz up the ballroom a bit, but the rest of their grounds- vineyard, rose garden, croquet green, mountain views- leave a lasting and romantic impression. We had access to the vineyard for pro photos and I went in there myself to snap a few more after the wedding. The prices are high, but they know your expectations will be just as high too. There are more inexpensive places to get married, but this venue is intimate and heavenly and they will take care of you and any worries. We considered risking a foggy wedding in Carmel by the Sea and we are so glad we decided to stay in warmer, blue sky Carmel Valley! We extended our stay here because we couldn't leave, the rooms are very comfortable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Great venue only issue we had was there was a major ownership change, but that has all settled out and should be great going forward.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shery
Wedding:
8/9/2013
4.8/5.0
The location: My guests were stunned at the beauty of the wedding garden. We did the ceremony facing the mountains rather than on the wedding terrace. The mountain view was breath taking. The food: 5 stars. I am from NYC area and am a foodie. With that in mind , my standards are pretty high. We had the risotto balls, Blt sandwiches, lobster spring rolls, pizzas, and lamb chops. The guests raved about the risotto balls and lamb chops the most. . The mushroom soup is absolutely to die for. . We had the filet and sea bass for dinner. So many of my guests told me it was the best wedding food , steak, and fish they ever had. A few told me they could have been eating in a fancy steak house and would not know the difference. Bernardus does not use hot plates or food warmers. The food is made, plated and brought to the table.

The staff: Every one here is so helpful from the minute you get in. The valet is right there to help with cars and bags. Our banquet captain Colin executed the food service to perfection. Finally, my wedding coordinator Kristin was absolutely fantastic. From the beginning of this process she was on top of everything. If I sent her an email asking a question she answered it immediately. She was meticulous in a non obtrusive way about getting all the details correct. On the wedding day she was there to make sure all the hiccups were taken care ie we were very late due to traffic and Kristen took care of all the problems that caused.

This place will always hold a special place in my heart and I cannot recommend it enough. It's stunning. The staff is kind and competent. The food service excellent. It is pricy but worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/23/2013
4.8/5.0
An absolutely stunning resort, we had our ceremony in the garden, cocktail hour on the croquest lawn, and dinner back in the garden. Bernardus staff is the highest caliber, and made every aspect of our day unforgettable and even beyond our expectations. The food is amazing - chef cal stamenov is a great talent. We maxed it out at about 150 guests, so it is only for smaller events, but the intimacy is what makes it special.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
supergrl
Wedding:
8/10/2008
4.1/5.0
Loved the food and the flexibility in menu, location, and decorations. They do a lot of day-of stuff for you. A couple of things did happen: we changed our side dishes with the coordinator, which didn't get forwarded to the kitchen, so we ended up with the wrong side dishes, which no one seemed to notice because everyone loved the food. Some things from the reception also got lost after the wedding, but were found within 24 hours, also no big deal. Overall the guests loved the location and the food, and the service was very accommodating.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/30/2007
4.1/5.0
A truly beautiful place to stay... I wanted to move in after being there a few days!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pearkitten
Wedding:
11/29/2008
3.4/5.0
The lodge was beautiful and the staff extremly helpful.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trieu
Wedding:
9/8/2007
3.3/5.0
On the surface, Bernardus is a great place to get married. The staff was incredibly helpful during the planning, though they were slow to respond at times (especially for such a small lodge). They were quite accommodating on all our requests. Yet, on the actual wedding day, not all our requests were met. The wedding cake was not done to my specifications. I asked for fondant and got buttercream instead. I asked for Swiss dots and there were none. The proportions of the tiers was all wrong.
The menus were not tucked into the napkins and neither were the napkins not folded correctly. The tables were the wrong size and were almost set up incorrectly. Fortunately, my husband checked on them and found the problem before the ceremony had started.
The coordinator said the winery would be open for us to go in and take pictures after the ceremony but they were tightly locked and we never got pictures in the winery. That was a bit disappointment because I really wanted my wedding to be at a winery and none of my pictures really reflects that due to our lack of access to the winery itself.
The dinner service was great, in that everyone at the same table was served at the same time. However, the kitchen must not have been running on time because all four courses took much longer to get through than anticipated.
During the planning process the staff at Bernardus made it seem as if everything we asked for was possible. On the actual day, they did not deliver as promised.
The good points of the venue include the beauty. The site was made with weddings in mind and can accommodate the smallest weddings to weddings as large as 200. The site is majestic, secluded and wonderfully romantic. The food quality was well beyond any other wedding dinner I've ever had, as well as on par with the most expensive of restaurants. The rooms are luxurious and they do their best to make you feel pampered. However, be prepared to pay out the nose for all these things!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
P.O. Box 80, 415 Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bernardus Lodge
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1214412256181-entrance