You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1317326849031 ah207

Big Girls Events & Catering

Acworth , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Acworth, GA 30102 US (map)

PHONE

404-438-9263
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

*** NOW OFFERING FULL EVENT & WEDDING COORDINATING!"

Ami and Cindy, The Big Girls, have been serving their delicious meals to friends and family for years. They finally... Read more
*** NOW OFFERING FULL EVENT & WEDDING COORDINATING!"

Ami and Cindy, The Big Girls, have been serving their delicious meals to friends and family for years. They finally decided, "Hey! We should get paid for this!" so they launched Big Girls Events & Catering in October 2000. Their business goal is to make you feel like part of The Big Girls family. Every customer becomes a friend and is given personal attention from the first call to the next time they plan an event.

Since October 2000, The Big Girls have fed thousands of people all over Atlanta from small office parties to large extravagant weddings. Ami and Cindy take special pride in tailoring each event to the special needs of their customer. You will feel comfortable picking up the phone and discussing your catering needs with Big Girls Catering from start to finish.

We understand your need to be creative with your wedding reception and the food you serve. We offer a BIG variety of food for you to choose from and all pricing is readily available on our website. From brunch to specialty stations to late night snacks for your guests, we can cover it all!

In September 2011, we launched our Big Girls Events division with the addition of our full-time coordinator, Kristi Mullins. Let's face it, you have spent a lot of money on this wedding and you owe it your self to make sure your vision of your day comes to pass. Kristi can help you achieve that goal! With our huge vendor network, Kristi can assist you from ordering your invitations to finding the picture perfect photographer.

We invite you to plan a meeting with us to sit down and see how we can help you! We provide all brides & grooms with a tasting box of our most popular items so you can taste our style of cooking. We know you have enough to do in planning for this big event, so we will even bring the tasting to you!

We look forward to talking with you and remember "Big Girls don't cry... THEY COOK!" Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1331311075186 4311923460805244851141253002033424051005642365n
130x130 sq 1331311073254 419231346080628487714125300203342406779595218n
130x130 sq 1331311069024 3170701015032545269979612630983479579715501703085060n
130x130 sq 1331310600925 2962051015035968629979612630983479581397391836539223n
130x130 sq 1331310604927 2994081015035968563479612630983479581397311071098345n

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Stations
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Cajun, Southern, Southwestern
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Vegan, Vegetarian
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Signature Cocktail(s)
Which of the following items can you provide?
Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Susan
Wedding:
11/11/2016
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but good things to say about Ami & Cindy & the Big Girls Catering staff. They were absolutely the best caterers we contacted in our search. We chose rosemary lamb chops & stuffed chicken, lemon Parmesan asparagus, wild mushroom orzo, and a salad they put together at my request. We also rented china, flatware & glassware from them. They were so very accommodating and friendly and were by far the best value of all the caterers that gave us quotes. I have no regrets about our decision to go with Big Girls Catering. Our guests loved the food, and we had a 100% positive experience with them.
I have nothing but good things to say about Ami & Cindy & the Big Girls Catering staff. They were absolutely the best Read more...
I have nothing but good things to say about Ami & Cindy & the Big Girls Catering staff. They were absolutely the best caterers we contacted in our search. We chose rosemary lamb chops & stuffed chicken, lemon Parmesan asparagus, wild mushroom orzo, and a salad they put together at my request. We also rented china, flatware & glassware from them. They were so very accommodating and friendly and were by far the best value of all the caterers that gave us quotes. I have no regrets about our decision to go with Big Girls Catering. Our guests loved the food, and we had a 100% positive experience with them. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Big Girls Events & Catering responded with the following comments:

Susan!
Thank you so much for your wondeful review! We loved catering for y'all, you stretched our cooking abilities by creating your own awesome menu...which we have now added to our regular menu !
Your family and friends were just the best to serve that evening.

We wish all the love and happiness God gives each day!
Ami and Cindy
Default vendor profile pic
Leah
Wedding:
6/18/2016
5.0/5.0
Ami and Cindy are FABULOUS! Their food is delicious, and they helped me save money with a greater variety of food choices! Love them!
Ami and Cindy are FABULOUS! Their food is delicious, and they helped me save money with a greater variety of food choices! Read more...
Ami and Cindy are FABULOUS! Their food is delicious, and they helped me save money with a greater variety of food choices! Love them! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Big Girls Events & Catering responded with the following comments:

Thanks Leah!! We can't wait until your wedding. You're sweet to give us a review before your big day!
Default vendor profile pic
Katherine
Wedding:
6/11/2016
5.0/5.0
Wonderful people and delicious food. Big Girls was the best catering decision I could have made. They were great to work with. Flexible, knowledgable and helpful. Did I mention delicious food... my guests raved about all the food. Love them and will use them again for any event.
Wonderful people and delicious food. Big Girls was the best catering decision I could have made. They were great to work Read more...
Wonderful people and delicious food. Big Girls was the best catering decision I could have made. They were great to work with. Flexible, knowledgable and helpful. Did I mention delicious food... my guests raved about all the food. Love them and will use them again for any event. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Big Girls Events & Catering responded with the following comments:

Thank you Katherine! We enjoyed working with y'all so much! Congratulations and thank you for the sweet review!

Ami & Cindy
Default vendor profile pic
Alicia
Wedding:
6/11/2016
5.0/5.0
Big Girls Catering was amazing!!! Ami and Cindy were awesome to work with. Planning a wedding when you live out of town can be stressful, but they were so easy to work with and very accommodating (especially when I was trying to make it into town for a tasting.)
The communication was great, they got back to me right away, even if it was late at night or early in the morning when I had a random question. We decided to do just appetizers for our wedding. They had some great suggestions and everything was delicious and beautiful! Sara did our cake and assorted mini cupcakes. AMAZING and beautiful! The staff that came to the wedding were the best. Vita was amazing and made sure the night went smoothly and made sure I had everything I needed and more!! (Hailey and Hunter were great too) if you are looking for a caterer, I highly recommend Big Girls Catering!!! You will not be disappointed !!!
Big Girls Catering was amazing!!! Ami and Cindy were awesome to work with. Planning a wedding when you live out of town Read more...
Big Girls Catering was amazing!!! Ami and Cindy were awesome to work with. Planning a wedding when you live out of town can be stressful, but they were so easy to work with and very accommodating (especially when I was trying to make it into town for a tasting.)
The communication was great, they got back to me right away, even if it was late at night or early in the morning when I had a random question. We decided to do just appetizers for our wedding. They had some great suggestions and everything was delicious and beautiful! Sara did our cake and assorted mini cupcakes. AMAZING and beautiful! The staff that came to the wedding were the best. Vita was amazing and made sure the night went smoothly and made sure I had everything I needed and more!! (Hailey and Hunter were great too) if you are looking for a caterer, I highly recommend Big Girls Catering!!! You will not be disappointed !!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Kara
Wedding:
4/2/2016
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were unable to use Ami and Cindi to cater our wedding, however Ami was so kind to try and help anyway she could when our wedding planning got really difficult. She referred us to their wedding coordinator, Kristi. Kristi was an answer to prayer for my husband and I. A month and a half out from our wedding we found ourselves in a really bad situation with a wedding coordinator we had been working with since the beginning of our engagement and were left without a coordinator, and our wedding plans basically up in the air due to budget issues. Kristi literally came to our rescue and made the last month of wedding planning stress free. Saying that she went above and beyond for us, does not even give what she did for us justice. We were complete strangers when we met. She had no reason to do all that she did for us, other than her love for wedding coordinating and her genuine desire to give her couples the wedding day that they dream of. She was so considerate about how she gave her opinions, always making sure her opinion reflected what she thought was best for us, and not what would be best for her business or her image. She is so selfless, hard working, quick to respond to emails and texts, and just all around what everyone needs in an event coordinator. You will not regret booking with her!
My husband and I were unable to use Ami and Cindi to cater our wedding, however Ami was so kind to try and help anyway she Read more...
My husband and I were unable to use Ami and Cindi to cater our wedding, however Ami was so kind to try and help anyway she could when our wedding planning got really difficult. She referred us to their wedding coordinator, Kristi. Kristi was an answer to prayer for my husband and I. A month and a half out from our wedding we found ourselves in a really bad situation with a wedding coordinator we had been working with since the beginning of our engagement and were left without a coordinator, and our wedding plans basically up in the air due to budget issues. Kristi literally came to our rescue and made the last month of wedding planning stress free. Saying that she went above and beyond for us, does not even give what she did for us justice. We were complete strangers when we met. She had no reason to do all that she did for us, other than her love for wedding coordinating and her genuine desire to give her couples the wedding day that they dream of. She was so considerate about how she gave her opinions, always making sure her opinion reflected what she thought was best for us, and not what would be best for her business or her image. She is so selfless, hard working, quick to respond to emails and texts, and just all around what everyone needs in an event coordinator. You will not regret booking with her! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
4/2/2016
1.0/5.0
Big girls catering was the Big epic FAIL at my wedding!!!! They made me and my family look ridiculous when guest stood around for the appetizer hour and there were NO appetizers!!! They forgot all about them! Then they didn't refund us the full amount we paid for the appetizers and refused to refund us the money we paid for two additional servers to pass out the appetizers!!!! It was so kind of them to lie to my face saying they would refund us for their mistakes! Then the menu wasn't what we ordered. We paid for smoked quarter chickens and they gave us grilled chicken tenders. Then they were too dry to even eat!!! Then we had many not stay for dinner and they still ran out of food!!!! Rather than talking about a great reception I hear complaints about food! #ishouldhaveorderedpizza
Big girls catering was the Big epic FAIL at my wedding!!!! They made me and my family look ridiculous when guest stood Read more...
Big girls catering was the Big epic FAIL at my wedding!!!! They made me and my family look ridiculous when guest stood around for the appetizer hour and there were NO appetizers!!! They forgot all about them! Then they didn't refund us the full amount we paid for the appetizers and refused to refund us the money we paid for two additional servers to pass out the appetizers!!!! It was so kind of them to lie to my face saying they would refund us for their mistakes! Then the menu wasn't what we ordered. We paid for smoked quarter chickens and they gave us grilled chicken tenders. Then they were too dry to even eat!!! Then we had many not stay for dinner and they still ran out of food!!!! Rather than talking about a great reception I hear complaints about food! #ishouldhaveorderedpizza Read less
Services Used: Catering
Big Girls Events & Catering responded with the following comments:

Laura and Eric: Thank you for your candid review of your wedding reception. In the 16 years we have been in business, we have never messed up so badly. We cannot say sorry enough to you. Our apology that day was truly sincere and giving a refund to your family was the best way we knew to handle the forgotten appetizers. You were not charged for any additional servers. Your original proposal had 4 servers on it as well as your final invoice. In actuality, we sent 7 servers for your reception at no additional charge to you. We base the amount on service staff on total guest count and not the menu being served. We will send you a private email with your original proposal based on 150 guests. We will also include the final invoice based on the final guest count of 175 and the canceled check of $700.00 that covered the cost of the forgotten appetizers. In regards to running out of food - we are not quite sure how to answer that complaint because all extra food from the buffet was covered and put in the refrigerator for your family to take home. There were leftovers of everything from the buffet. We heard nothing but compliments from your family & friends that day regarding the food so we hate the fact that when you think of your wedding reception, you only think of an "epic fail" and "i should have ordered pizza" instead of all the many happy memories of the day.
130x130 sq 1401669655 2cc9e5cc7f80a8e5 10253865 2869512893310 5031044599453287300 n
Catherine
Wedding:
1/16/2016
5.0/5.0
These ladies did such a great job with the food for my wedding and making sure my husband and I got to eat. Their service was amazing and made everything run sooo smooth. I definitely recommend them!!!
These ladies did such a great job with the food for my wedding and making sure my husband and I got to eat. Their service Read more...
These ladies did such a great job with the food for my wedding and making sure my husband and I got to eat. Their service was amazing and made everything run sooo smooth. I definitely recommend them!!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
130x130 sq 1415673123563 aj113
Angie
Wedding:
10/11/2015
4.5/5.0
Ami and Cindy did a wonderful job on our brunch buffet wedding.
From our initial meeting, and tasting they responded to email, questions promptly and clearly, They are so flexible an a joy to work with. All of our guest complimented our delicious food and the exceptional service their whole staff provided! and best of all their prices are really the best I have seen for all that you get.
Thanks ladies for making our day one we will never forget! You made James and I feel like royalty on our wedding day :)
Ami and Cindy did a wonderful job on our brunch buffet wedding.
From our initial meeting, and tasting they responded Read more...
Ami and Cindy did a wonderful job on our brunch buffet wedding.
From our initial meeting, and tasting they responded to email, questions promptly and clearly, They are so flexible an a joy to work with. All of our guest complimented our delicious food and the exceptional service their whole staff provided! and best of all their prices are really the best I have seen for all that you get.
Thanks ladies for making our day one we will never forget! You made James and I feel like royalty on our wedding day :) Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/6/2015
5.0/5.0
Everything about the food and bar service at our wedding was perfect. Ami and Cindy are absolute gems and responded almost instantly to all of my emails always ready to help, answer questions and solve any problems that popped up during planning. I changed the menu about 1,000 times and every single time they were completely flexible, sweet, and so very patient with me. We took no food home because our guests loved it so much there was none left. It was fantastic. We had the BBQ station, the Shrimp and Grits station, and the Big Garden Salad station, and we had guests asking us if we could get the recipes for some of their dishes. I have not one complaint about them. They made our reception wonderful!
Everything about the food and bar service at our wedding was perfect. Ami and Cindy are absolute gems and responded almost Read more...
Everything about the food and bar service at our wedding was perfect. Ami and Cindy are absolute gems and responded almost instantly to all of my emails always ready to help, answer questions and solve any problems that popped up during planning. I changed the menu about 1,000 times and every single time they were completely flexible, sweet, and so very patient with me. We took no food home because our guests loved it so much there was none left. It was fantastic. We had the BBQ station, the Shrimp and Grits station, and the Big Garden Salad station, and we had guests asking us if we could get the recipes for some of their dishes. I have not one complaint about them. They made our reception wonderful! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Big Girls Events & Catering responded with the following comments:

Emily! Thank you for such a sweet review!!! You were as equally amazing to work with! Let us know what recipes you would like to have - we love to share them! We wish y'all many years of blessings in love & marriage! Ami & Cindy
Default vendor profile pic
Christina
Wedding:
2/28/2015
5.0/5.0
Overall we had a wonderful experience with Big Girls Catering. The food was a huge hit among around guests which is exactly what we were hoping for. We've added some basic notes about our experience below. :)

Quality of Service:
Staff was professional and friendly. It was exactly what we were expecting!
Food was super yummy! We had traditional Southern type dishes (chicken tenders, cajun pasta, mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, green beans, etc) at our wedding which was a huge hit with the guests. Several guests stopped us to complement the food choice. YAY! :)

Responsiveness:
They were always quick to respond to emails or phone calls. We usually heard something back from them within 24 hours. The only small issue we encountered with emails related to clarity. Sometimes we would have to send 2-3 emails before we clearly understood why something was the way it was.

Professionalism:
They had a laid back sense of professionalism. They were always willing to answer questions and make last minute adjustments without being intense about it. Wedding planning is crazy so having someone who was pretty calm was a really good fit for us!

Value:
We felt that it was a good price for the taste and quality of the food. They worked to make sure that the buffet line was well stocked which was important!

Flexibility:
They worked around our schedules for the initial food tasting which was nice. Wedding planning can be a stressful and BUSY time, but they adjusted their schedules to meet us on a Saturday at the local Starbucks. :) They also let us choose from different themed drink dispensers and name cards (rustic vs formal) for the wedding buffet. We thought that was a nice bonus!
Overall we had a wonderful experience with Big Girls Catering. The food was a huge hit among around guests which is Read more...
Overall we had a wonderful experience with Big Girls Catering. The food was a huge hit among around guests which is exactly what we were hoping for. We've added some basic notes about our experience below. :)

Quality of Service:
Staff was professional and friendly. It was exactly what we were expecting!
Food was super yummy! We had traditional Southern type dishes (chicken tenders, cajun pasta, mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, green beans, etc) at our wedding which was a huge hit with the guests. Several guests stopped us to complement the food choice. YAY! :)

Responsiveness:
They were always quick to respond to emails or phone calls. We usually heard something back from them within 24 hours. The only small issue we encountered with emails related to clarity. Sometimes we would have to send 2-3 emails before we clearly understood why something was the way it was.

Professionalism:
They had a laid back sense of professionalism. They were always willing to answer questions and make last minute adjustments without being intense about it. Wedding planning is crazy so having someone who was pretty calm was a really good fit for us!

Value:
We felt that it was a good price for the taste and quality of the food. They worked to make sure that the buffet line was well stocked which was important!

Flexibility:
They worked around our schedules for the initial food tasting which was nice. Wedding planning can be a stressful and BUSY time, but they adjusted their schedules to meet us on a Saturday at the local Starbucks. :) They also let us choose from different themed drink dispensers and name cards (rustic vs formal) for the wedding buffet. We thought that was a nice bonus! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Big Girls Events & Catering responded with the following comments:

Oh my goodness, you are too sweet! Y'all were wonderful to work with!! Sorry for the confusing emails - we'll work on that for future brides. Y'all picked a great menu and we are so happy your guests were pleased!

We wish you many years of joy, happiness & blessings!

MAP

 
Acworth, GA 30102 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Big Girls Events & Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1317326849031 ah207