130x130_sq_1384043908931-0

Big Sur River Inn

Big Sur , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

46840 California 1
Big Sur, CA US 93920 (map)

PHONE

831-667-2700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Weddings, Parties & Events

Casual to elegant...large parties or intimate gatherings...With a full bar, a wide variety of menu offerings and onsite lodging the Big Sur River... Read more
Weddings, Parties & Events

Casual to elegant...large parties or intimate gatherings...With a full bar, a wide variety of menu offerings and onsite lodging the Big Sur River Inn is the perfect place to celebrate the holidays with your staff, friends and family.

Our Special Events Staff takes great pride in attending to every detail of your special day, working with you and our many talented friends in the Big Sur Community to provide full service catering, lodging, music, flowers and photography. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1384037934422-10
130x130_sq_1384037847507-08
130x130_sq_1384037892866-09
130x130_sq_1384037809216-07
130x130_sq_1384037776208-07
130x130_sq_1384037688286-06
130x130_sq_1384037521299-05
130x130_sq_1384037478126-05
130x130_sq_1384037140299-01
130x130_sq_1384037426571-04
130x130_sq_1384037732207-06
130x130_sq_1384037010076-00
130x130_sq_1384037970886-11
130x130_sq_1384037370512-02
130x130_sq_1384037070686-00
130x130_sq_1384037310792-02
130x130_sq_1384037638816-06
130x130_sq_1384037197699-01
130x130_sq_1384037251221-02
130x130_sq_1384037584239-05
130x130_sq_1321465790917-bridalparty
130x130_sq_1321465738314-bridalpartybyriver
130x130_sq_1321466192946-walkingonthegrass
130x130_sq_1321466064901-noellenrico
130x130_sq_1321465830073-greentable
130x130_sq_1321465945233-longtable
130x130_sq_1321466127160-purpletable
130x130_sq_1321465988835-lowerdeck2
130x130_sq_1321466016587-lowerdeck
130x130_sq_1326317458907-decksetup
130x130_sq_1326317524641-b.b.5.21.11
130x130_sq_1296172311069-bigsur
130x130_sq_1294935302190-ri0030
130x130_sq_1294935060690-ri0008
130x130_sq_1296173431153-bigsurr5
130x130_sq_1296173423466-bigsurr4
130x130_sq_1296172434616-bigsur2
130x130_sq_1296172385523-bigsur1
130x130_sq_1294934763737-chairs
130x130_sq_1296173091231-bigsurr1
130x130_sq_1296173404341-bigsurr2
130x130_sq_1296173413950-bigsurr3
130x130_sq_1294934807597-hides057
130x130_sq_1294934872331-hides079
130x130_sq_1294935491675-img14902
130x130_sq_1294935526175-img15042
130x130_sq_1294935364128-riverinn021
130x130_sq_1294935447503-riverinn001

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1934
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Inn / Bed & Breakfast, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
150
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
14
Number of suites
6
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
75
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carissa
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We chose the Big Sur River Inn as our ceremony and reception venue because it has always been such a special place to us. We grew up in the area and knew it was the perfect location for our wedding.
Let me start by saying that Selena and her assistant Andrea are awesome. I tend to be one of those brides that stresses out A LOT. From the very beginning they were calm, attentive, and very professional. They answered every email promptly and always made me feel as though I was in good hands. They share my obsession of tiny beautiful details and helped bring my ideas to life.
On one of our meetings they even took the time to show me secret spots that would be nice places to take our wedding photos. Needless to say, I love these girls. I will never forget all the hard work they put in and how special the day and experience was for us.
Thank you thank you thank you!!
P.S. The food was fantastic also. All of our guests were very satisfied :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Big Sur River Inn responded with the following comments:

Carissa,

You melt my heart, thank you so much and really it was such an honor to work with you. You and Tony are fabulous and we cant wait for your return.

Best,
Selena
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
3/17/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married on St. Patrick's day 2013 at Big Sur River Inn and I am sincere when I mean this place is magical. Big Sur has a very special place in my heart, growing up about an hour away, I have had the extreme pleasure of being able to visit frequently. The day my husband and I went to look at River Inn as our potential wedding venue, we instantly knew this was the place we wanted to get married. It had a magical, beautiful feel to it, and at the same time was really affordable. The wedding coordinators, Selena and Andrea, were a joy to work with, always tending to my needs during the planning process and in a very timely manner. The food was amazing as well as the venue itself (you can't go wrong with either an indoor or outdoor wedding here!). We had around 120 guests attend our wedding. Andrea was a huge help the day of the wedding, helping set up and coordinate everything. All of our 120 guests told us that our wedding was the most beautiful, relaxing, FUN wedding they had ever attended. I feel like this review does not do River Inn justice and that we cannot say enough good things about the place. If you are looking for a venue that is affordable, beautiful, and bound to make an impression on you and your guests, this is DEFINITELY the place for you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1353890985132-is8pbkv4m
Kristi
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
The Big Sur River Inn hosted both our rehearsal cookout, our wedding ceremony and reception for 130 friends and family. We worked closely with Selena and Andrea during the 9+ months leading up to our big weekend. Their expertise and calming nature contributed immensely to our own confidence going into the event. Every detail was considered and planned for. Although the Big Sur River Inn hosts a number of weddings each year and is well-versed on all the coordination necessary, we still felt that each decision and detail was very much customized to the way we imagined it and not to a "standard package". They remained flexible and understanding as we and our parents pieced all of our decisions together. Having traveled from Berkeley to the Inn a number of times for planning purposes, we felt by the time October arrived, that it held a sense of home to us.

All of our guests were able to stay at the Inn both Friday and Saturday nights. The Big Sur Pub just next door was an easy and perfect 'after party' venue. Our guests and families were extremely complementary of the Big Sur River Inn staff and overall experience. We could not imagine a better venue for ourselves and highly recommend it to others.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trish and Sean
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding experience was with the Big Sur River Inn. It is reasonable in price and includes so much! Selena and Andrea(the wedding planners at the BSR), and the rest of the staff are great! We still visit and are greeted with smiles; they still treat us like we are the bride and groom. We even went back for our one year anniversary and they set up a special dinner and room for us! They are like family! From the planning to the special day we were treated with so much patience, respect and love. I have listed the highlights for us below!

Selena, Andrea, and staff: Selena and Andrea are the best at what they do! They will create the special vision you have for your special day. They made a wildflower walkway, decorated the trees by the rivers with lily's and made wildflower bouquets by hand for us! They checked in with us all the time to see how we were and what we needed. They are so nice and we were so lucky to have them by our side on our special day. The staff in the dining room, at the bar, and the general store are so nice and accommodating. We even invited them to join in and dance at our wedding!

The food: We are vegetarian! The staff and chefs worked so hard to make our menu and appetizers veggie and delicious! The deep-fried artichokes, the butternut squash raviolis and EVERYTHING else were soooooo goood! They made sure to make it perfect! They even ordered our favorite coconut beer on our special day for our signature drink!

The location: The river is beautiful and we got married barefoot with our toes barely touching the water! The sun came through the trees and with the wildflowers that Selena and Andrea added made it a dream wedding! The hotel is awesome because our whole family could rent the entire hotel. When it came to "after-party time", we had the entire area to ourselves! It was awesome to party late into the night without worrying about waking anyone up! Thank you BSR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, , Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309894321440-joywedding
lovesredwoodtrees'nwine
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I used to visit the Big Sur River Inn as a girl with my family in the summer. There, I would dream of being married on the lawn in the back of the resort, just inches away from the river, under the giant, cooling trees. Still, when my now-husband proposed to me in Cambria, CA (on one of our many trips out to the west coast as adults—we are East-coast dwellers now) we had to look at every wedding site on the Big Sur Coastline. I am so glad that we returned and were later married at the Big Sur River Inn on a warm summer afternoon.

The afternoon, like almost every summer afternoon at the Big Sur River Inn, was warm and gorgeous (it’s true—the coastline can be fogged in to the North and the South and the sun is out at the River Inn). The trees created striking shadows for pictures as well as a perfect breeze through the passage between the buildings of the resort and the trickling waters of the Pheneger Creek as we walked down the aisle. The imposing majesty of this place in my childhood quickly morphed into a romantic setting, perfect for our big day. The wedding planner, Selena Perez, her assistant, Andrea, and their team of people made my husband and I feel that they wanted to create the wedding that we wanted on the property. They left nothing to chance as they worked tirelessly to ensure that everything went smoothly. All the way through, thanks to these efforts, we felt as though we were a part of the River Inn family.

The twenty rooms on the property were filled with wedding guests making this a “wedding destination weekend” for many them. The rest of the Big Sur River Inn staff was great too in responding to any needs that our guests had during their stay. Even at breakfast in the mornings, staff welcomed our guests by remembering their names and greeting them with a smile.

After the wedding ceremony, we ate dinner on the lower deck just before dark. The food (choice of steak, salmon or “marathon pasta”—yuummmm) was prepared expertly and in a timely manner. Then, we all moved inside the restaurant area, where (a stark contrast from the breakfast table set up) the DJ had set up a make-shift-dance-floor and a large screen to showcase pictures from the years my groom and I had spent together. From there, the restaurant provided the perfect space for us to get-down-Big-Sur-style all night long. We cut cake, had the bouquet toss, even provided late night munchies (Selena’s idea) for our guests a few hours after dinner. When people left, they remarked about how beautiful the site was, how effortless it all looked, how exquisite the flowers were and how much fun they had.

Looking back, our wedding was so much more than I ever could have imagined. I am so happy that we trusted Selena, the staff and the Big Sur River Inn, to host this special day for us. For the years to come, I will have new memories to one day share with my children about such a special place in the heart of Big Sur. And who knows, maybe one day, we will have another family wedding there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kath0lee
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Why we love Big Sur River Inn
1) We got the most bang for our buck at this location. Not only was it an amazing beautiful place to hang out for our celebration, but it was also a bargain compared to all the other outdoor venues were were looking at. If you're looking for an outdoor wedding, do yourself a favor and check this place out!
2) The food was AMAZING!! We had a ribs, brisket and roasted squash and people are STILL talking about how amazing the food was.
3) The serving staff was so friendly and accomodating. I felt taken care of the whole time without feeling like they were hovering. The bartender even helped my cousins come up with the "Matthleen" drink!
4) Selena and Andrea were so responsive to my every need. There's basically no need to hire a wedding planner, because this dynamic duo ran around and did everything I wanted just perfectly. Literally everything I asked for, they said yes and executed exactly how I wanted it. Selena even bustled my dress when my bridesmaids couldn't figure it out :)
5) You cannot take a bad picture at this venue. How could you? The river...the wooden deck...the trees...the landscaping...Since the venue was so beautiful, I got to save money on decorating, because I really didn't need to do a whole lot.
6) Most importantly (in my opinion), everyone at Big Sur River Inn genuinely like working there. You can tell Selena and Andrea like working with brides and creating what their vision is. The staff was all smiles and added to the happy, feel-good, fun vibes.

I could go on and on...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iman
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Loved it! Absolutely loved it! We had the wedding of our dreams at the Big Sur River Inn.

Selena was amazing to work with. She really helped deliver our vision, and made sure everything ran smoothly.

Great food. We went in for a tasting and tweaked the food options. Selena and staff were flexible, and willing to make changes on the fly to accommodate anything we wanted. We had vegetarian options, pasta, chicken, steak, kabobs, quesadillas and drinks. Everyone had a great time. Best wedding food ever. It sounds like I'm gushing, but seriously... All the plates were clean by the end of dinner.

The ceremony was amazing. Last minute we found out that it was going to rain. Selena, like a rockstar found a canopy, booked it, and rearranged our plans to accommodate the weather. She was stellar. We owe her so much credit. Really helping to reassure the bride. Hillary was freaking out before speaking to Selena, and after our 'final' meeting we were both really happy with the arrangements.

Her staff was great. They did the whole setup. All the decorations. Everything. And it came out exactly the way we wanted. Selena has a great eye, and helped ensure the table was decorated but not cluttered. The setting itself is gorgeous, and in the rain all the plants got even greener.

Not only were the mechanics of the wedding perfect, the price was great! This place by far had the best bang for the buck. They were the most flexible with options and delivered it at a great price. The rooms were no hassle and no stress.

I can't say enough good things about Selena and the Big Sur River Inn. If you want to have an amazing ceremony,and fun reception... You need to look no further.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend both the Big Sur River Inn, and Selena Perez, their excellent event manager. We had our wedding in Big Sur in September 2010, and hosted our Friday Night “Welcome Event” at the Big Sur River Inn. It was a delight to work with Selena and the rest of her staff. We wanted a low-key and comfortable start to our wedding. We also wanted to welcome our many friends and family that had traveled far to join us in celebration, without breaking the bank. Selena helped us create the perfect event to meet those goals. The space was beautifully decorated and the food and drinks that she recommended were a huge hit. Many of our guests also at the Big Sur River Inn for the weekend - the rates are reasonable and I know that everyone had an enjoyable stay. Working with the staff to get accommodations organized was quite easy - much more so than some other places in the area. On a more personal level, I can also confirm that Selena is a delight to work with. She is hardworking and well organized, two traits that often matter most to brides-to-be. She has great ideas for how to make events feel special and unique, which is impressive given the number that she regularly puts on. Most of all, Selena is kind, considerate, and thoughtful—working with her is a breeze.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JodiJackson
Wedding:
7/30/2010
5.0/5.0
The Big Sur River Inn was an amazing place to get married!! Tucked in the Redwoods by the creek, it was an absolutely magical spot for a very special ceremony. The staff is warm, generous, polite and ultra helpful. From the first meeting to the last dance we felt we had made the best choice. The food was incredible and the menu was catered to our wishes. I loved the fact that everyone in our family could stay in rooms right there making it easy to spend the maximum amount of quality time with them before and after the wedding. The only sad part is that we cannot do it all over again. I have nothing but love for the folks at Big Sur River Inn who helped make our wedding unbelievably magical!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bigsurbride
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
In June 2010, we held our 125-person rehearsal dinner here and we had a WONDERFUL experience. We could not have been more happy. Our guests loved the location and we had many people tell us that it was the best rehearsal they had ever been to.

We also got great feedback on the food, with its huge portions, delicious flavors and easy-going staff. The wedding/event planner there, Selena, is awesome...so easy to work with and accommodating. She made the months of planning fun and exciting.

This place is gorgeous and a perfect setting for your loved ones. It was incredible to look at the scene with friends chatting together in Adirondack chairs IN the river, people lounging on the grass, family on the back patio...it was perfect.

You AT LEAST need to stay here, get dinner or have your honeymoon here! Oh, and the pricing is amazingly reasonable for the area and unique setting. 5 stars for sure!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tahoebabycakes
Wedding:
3/28/2012
4.8/5.0
We chose to hold our wedding at the Big Sur River Inn because we were able to do the ceremony and reception in one location, plus they offered accommodations for our guests. Selena and Andrea were great, and made sure everything was taken care of and ran smoothly. They took care of everything, even putting together our bouquets and flower arraignments, so we were able to buy flowers wholesale and save some money. The venue is so beautiful naturally that we really didn't need much for decorations. It was absolutely magical, and I cant imagine a better place to get married. Plus we used the excuse of getting married in Big Sur to sneak away to "nail down the details" when the planning process got a little too stressful. It was the perfect excuse to visit one of my favorite places in the whole world!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly Scott
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
My husband and I got engaged in Big Sur and knew we wanted to get married there. We looked at a few places for our wedding but knew immediately that we found the place when we saw the Big Sur River Inn. It was exactly what we were looking for. We were able to have our ceremony along side the Big Sur River, dinner out on the huge redwood deck, and dancing inside the restaurant. To top it off, we were able to stay there and so was our wedding party and family. It was nice to have our wedding in one spot and not have to worry about driving. The manager, Selena, was very accommodating. We asked to have our reception extended another 30 min and had no problems.

This is a beautiful venue for anyone who loves Big Sur and the outdoors. The staff is amazing and it was such a relaxed environment for our wedding day. We had NO STRESS because we got married there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dina
Wedding:
8/6/2008
4.3/5.0
This setting for a wedding is amazing. The ceremony is held outside on the lawn with the river in the background and the reception is in their restaurant. It is a lodge type setting and the ambiance is great. The only drawback is that if you have a large wedding party the hotel only has 20 rooms and the manager will only allow you to hold 5 of those rooms total for your guests. This was not made clear to me when I reserved the venue with the wedding coordinator/restaurant manager and all of my guests started making reservations when really only 5 rooms were supposed to be allowed for my guests. This became a big issue with the hotel manager and general manager. So make sure to be aware of this or talk to the general manager about letting you reserve more rooms. However, there are many other great hotels and cabins in the area around this venue that my guests also stayed at. I would recommend Glen Oaks Motel and Ripplewood Cabins.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Big Sur River Inn responded with the following comments:

Thank you Dina for your review, I am sorry about the rooms issues, Thanks to feedback that we have received from you and others that policy has been lifted. I again apologize to you the inconvenience you and your guests experienced, we appreciate you and your review.

MAP

 
46840 California 1, Big Sur, CA 93920 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Big Sur River Inn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1384043908931-0