Nophoto-130

bittersweet pastry shop

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1114 W. Belmont Ave
Chicago, IL US 60657 (map)

PHONE

773-929-1100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1288706002181-dscn0038
130x130_sq_1288706118491-dscn2480
130x130_sq_1288706850976-dscn2058
130x130_sq_1288706905311-dscn2311
130x130_sq_1288707845819-dscn0439
130x130_sq_1288711289209-dscn1038
130x130_sq_1288711333808-dscn0754
130x130_sq_1288711391252-dscn0730
130x130_sq_1288711436100-dscn0926
130x130_sq_1288712015266-dscn0968
130x130_sq_1288712781829-dscn0323
130x130_sq_1288712870391-dscn0375
130x130_sq_1288712958719-dscn0479
130x130_sq_1288712998048-dscn0638
130x130_sq_1288713046501-dscn0657
130x130_sq_1288713552469-dscn0666
130x130_sq_1288713640641-dscn07232
130x130_sq_1288713755532-dscn1135
130x130_sq_1288713815532-dscn1149
130x130_sq_1288713923657-dscn1164
130x130_sq_1288714334516-dscn1362
130x130_sq_1288714419423-dscn1704
130x130_sq_1288714514438-dscn1718
130x130_sq_1288714611891-dscn1773
130x130_sq_1288714670954-dscn1274
130x130_sq_1288714773094-dscn1785
130x130_sq_1288714860688-dscn1815
130x130_sq_1288714951079-dscn1900
130x130_sq_1288715088657-dscn2001
130x130_sq_1288715167438-dscn2056
130x130_sq_1288715293376-dscn2329
130x130_sq_1288720843360-dscn1681
130x130_sq_1288715915501-dscn0122
130x130_sq_1288715982860-dscn0280
130x130_sq_1288716038782-dscn0311
130x130_sq_1288716143298-dscn0369
130x130_sq_1288716540438-dscn0428
130x130_sq_1288716586751-dscn0431
130x130_sq_1288716637579-dscn0456
130x130_sq_1288716710110-dscn0457
130x130_sq_1288716783219-dscn0467
130x130_sq_1288716845907-dscn0480
130x130_sq_1288716918985-dscn0489
130x130_sq_1288717143376-dscn0538
130x130_sq_1288717203860-dscn0643
130x130_sq_1288717271751-dscn0673
130x130_sq_1288717316657-dscn0797
130x130_sq_1288717379423-dscn0842
130x130_sq_1288717425844-dscn0915
130x130_sq_1288717502329-dscn0928
130x130_sq_1288717568907-dscn0006
130x130_sq_1288717674938-dscn0521
130x130_sq_1288717809251-dscn0522
130x130_sq_1288717908719-dscn0684
130x130_sq_1288718790673-dscn0805
130x130_sq_1288718911110-dscn0809
130x130_sq_1288718994423-dscn0843
130x130_sq_1288719069938-dscn0846
130x130_sq_1288719208954-dscn0972
130x130_sq_1288719269298-dscn1066
130x130_sq_1288719382454-dscn1071
130x130_sq_1288719453969-dscn1075
130x130_sq_1288719551610-dscn1125
130x130_sq_1288719590641-dscn1142
130x130_sq_1288719698719-dscn1212
130x130_sq_1288719777438-dscn1240
130x130_sq_1288719876344-dscn1325
130x130_sq_1288719977766-dscn1405
130x130_sq_1288720083548-dscn1429
130x130_sq_1288720191766-dscn1519
130x130_sq_1288720274016-dscn1558
130x130_sq_1288720350782-dscn1567
130x130_sq_1288720453907-dscn1576
130x130_sq_1288720556344-dscn1597
130x130_sq_1288720657079-dscn1629
130x130_sq_1288720749813-dscn1633
130x130_sq_1288720922001-dscn1835
130x130_sq_1288721030626-dscn1898
130x130_sq_1288721112001-dscn1904
130x130_sq_1288721180266-dscn1912
130x130_sq_1288721301782-dscn1953
130x130_sq_1288721483282-dscn2284
130x130_sq_1288721565282-dscn2332
130x130_sq_1288721635423-dscn2334
130x130_sq_1288721711751-dscn2482
130x130_sq_1288721861282-dscn2504
130x130_sq_1288721987048-dscn2510
130x130_sq_1288726098179-dscn2513
130x130_sq_1288727490179-dscn0226
130x130_sq_1288727647241-dscn0250
130x130_sq_1288727709257-dscn0444
130x130_sq_1288728062726-dscn0461
130x130_sq_1288728109257-dscn0534
130x130_sq_1288728159101-dscn0536
130x130_sq_1288728236148-dscn0598
130x130_sq_1288728289304-dscn0663
130x130_sq_1288728363960-dscn0728
130x130_sq_1288728418694-dscn0763
130x130_sq_1288728491241-dscn0791
130x130_sq_1288728553038-dscn0888
130x130_sq_1288728612710-dscn0906
130x130_sq_1288728717241-dscn0932
130x130_sq_1288728917351-dscn0990
130x130_sq_1288729463663-dscn0999
130x130_sq_1288729582632-dscn1027
130x130_sq_1288729673101-dscn1034
130x130_sq_1288729742929-dscn1064
130x130_sq_1288729794960-dscn1098
130x130_sq_1288730262507-dscn1155
130x130_sq_1288730993757-dscn1185
130x130_sq_1288731093366-dscn1211
130x130_sq_1288731234616-dscn1233
130x130_sq_1288731333023-dscn1419
130x130_sq_1288731431101-dscn1426
130x130_sq_1288731514804-dscn1500

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We offer complimentary private tastings.
What are your tasting hours?
Tastings are available Tuesday through Friday at 3, 4, 5 and 6pm.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our cakes are priced per slice.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Our prices include every portion of the cake. If a professional photograph of the cake is sent back to us after your event, we will mail you a gift certificate for a 6" cake for your one year anniversary!
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We are all about custom. Bring in your invitations, a picture of your gown, your wedding party colors and we will use them to create a one-of-a-kind cake for your celebration.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
Every single cake, filling and frosting we make is from scratch with all-natural ingredients. We do not use mixes or preservatives.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
Preparation of your cake starts 48 hours in advance and finishing touches are put on the day of the event.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
We never turn away the opportunity to prepare a cake.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Absolutely. We often recommend the florist drop off flowers at our shop so the decorator can place them on the cake with the knowledge of how they'll work best with the design she created.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We offer the use of silver trays with your cake and as long as they are returned to us in a respectable amount of time, you are charged nothing.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Delivery fees depend on location and range from about $50 (in the city) to $250 (to just over the border in neighboring states).

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My four-tier wedding cake was not only beautiful, it was delicious! I had two flavors, both were moist. Often times wedding cakes are dry. Not mine. I had a photo of what I wanted, and they executed it exactly as I wanted. I felt like the price was a good value, too, especially for a cake from one of the top bakeries in Chicago. If you are looking for a cake vendor, definitely schedule an appointment at Bittersweet!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The talented artists at Bittersweet Pastry Shop created a delightful birch bark cake to enhance our daughter's wedding reception theme. Everything was perfect - from the design to the delivery and pickup.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
The wedding cake is yummy. Our guests like it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
One of our guests ate 4 pieces of our cake, and declared it the best cake ever -- and he and his wife had purchased their wedding cake from Bittersweet just 8 months before!

We needed a wedding cake that would feed 50 guests, and we wanted something that was 'us'. After an amazing tasting, we wound up with a cake that was to die for. We had an almond cake with white chocolate mousse and coconut, with a buttercream frosting. The two tier cake was very simple, with a ribbon of teal (the color of the bridal party) banded around the base. It was pretty to look at and delicious to eat.

Bittersweet will provide you with a mini-version of your wedding cake if you send them a photo of your cake. I'm eagerly looking forward to reliving the dessert experience in a year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/5/2014
4.8/5.0
Our cake from Bittersweet got rave reviews from our guests, and looked exactly like we wanted it to. I didn't want anything over complicated, and they worked with me to land on a design and deliver it exactly. We did two different flavors, and couldn't choose our favorite. I would highly recommend Bittersweet for delicious cake! I also appreciated that they didn't try to upsell me on more than what we needed. We actually had to add tiers to the original design since they were suggesting the more economical side cake to serve from!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.8/5.0
Bittersweet did an amazing job with our cake design-we asked for a specific geometric pattern to match the pattern on all of our paper products, and and it turned out exactly like we asked. The colors were great, too. I was a little worried because one of the colors was a blush pink shade and I was concerned that it might end up being too dark/hot pink, but it was perfect. We got a lot of compliments on the taste of the cake, as well. The couple bites I had were great, and I don't even really like cake that much! It was hazelnut cake with mocha mousse and cream cheese frosting. Bittersweet is expensive, but not out of line with other bakeries I checked in the area. Nancy was really easy to work with and responsive, as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juliana
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Nancy at Bittersweet Bakery was a total professional to work with! Bittersweet Bakery is an adorable shop with delicious sweets and even serves some other food like salads. They nailed our wedding cake to exactly what we wanted and it was totally delicious. We would go with them again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
This vendor was part of a package at my reception venue- but it is in my neighborhood. LOVE IT! They did an amazing job with the cake, the tasting was a blast and delicious. I now order other cakes from there 'cause I love this place so much. My husband I were going to freeze our cake top for luck- our cake tasted too good and we wanted to eat more the day after- we vetoed that idea and are going to purchase an identical cake top on our 1 year anniversary from them. They can do just about anything. It's a pretty great place
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tatyana
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I was absolutely thrilled when I found out that our wedding reception package included a cake from Bittersweet Bakery. My family and I have been long time fans of the bakery and so I was thrilled that my wedding cake would be coming from Bittersweet. The cake tasting was one of the best parts of wedding planning. We met with Nancy at the bakery and she was very patient as she walked us through all the cake, frosting, and filling choices. Everything was delicious! She also helped to put together a cake design using elements from various pictures that I liked. A couple of hours after our tasting, Nancy emailed a proposal. I had a couple of questions about the cake before the wedding and Nancy was always quick to respond via email. On our wedding day, our cake looked exactly as I imagined and was delicious. Bittersweet was a pleasure to work with
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I ordered our wedding cake here. We worked with Nancy, who was fantastic. We came in for a tasting, which I highly recommend, and from there chose exactly what we wanted. Nancy, was extremely helpful, responsive and willing to work with us in every way. We were hesitant to use buttercream because of our previous exposure to the typical buttercream taste. Their buttercream is so light and delightful it's closer to a whip cream. It's perfect! We want to use this bakery for every event. The cake looked absolutely beautiful and tasted exactly how we imagined. There's nothing they don't do here that isn't great. Thank you bittersweet and thank you Nancy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.0/5.0
Bittersweet's flavor is beyond compare. Many of our guests told us it was the best wedding cake they'd ever had!

Bittersweet made us an amazing 3-tiered wedding cake (with 3 different flavors!) and also worked with us for additional sweets, including custom-colored macarons made just for us (they were delicious!)

I would have preferred slightly more consultation on design aesthetic - unfortunately some messaging got lost in the cracks during a personnel change - but the outcome, though not what I'd originally envisioned, was still beautiful, and the taste was undeniably delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shani
Wedding:
6/30/2013
2.6/5.0
This is a challenging review to write because my initial contact at the bakery was awful but left shortly after I signed the contract. The tasting experience was overall very good. It was free and they gave me and my MOH a sample of all of their cakes with all of their fillings. The flavor was wonderful and better than the other tastings we had done and their price was better. That was why we signed with them despite their awful salesperson. I had difficulty contacting them and getting a response, partly because my contact left and no one took care of her email.

My cake was on time at the wedding and tasted wonderful. However, the artistic execution was not what I had been hoping for and was the only disappointment on my wedding day. It was pretty, but not exactly what I wanted, despite providing them with a picture.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellie
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Most delicious wedding cake. Ever. That is what all of our guests said after our June wedding at the Omni Chicago. Our cake tasting was one of our favorite wedding planning activities. Bittersweet Pastry Shop is adorable! We chose fudge and vanilla cake with a milk chocolate mousse filling and vanilla buttercream. It was the tastiest and most beautiful cake ever. We are Bittersweet Pastry Shop fans for life!! Do yourself a favor—have Bittersweet make your wedding cake. You won’t regret it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
J
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Bittersweet did not disappoint! Our tasting was fun, and we chose a three-tier round cake with different cake flavors and fillings on each tier. The outside was frosted with a simple stucco buttercream and fresh flowers provided by our florist, so I can\'t speak to their ability with fancy fondant or decorations. Our cake was included in the price of our venue package, so I also can\'t speak to cost. We tried all three tiers of the cake on our wedding day and they were absolutely delicious. Our guests raved! There were some errors on our initial and revised order form that we had to correct, but in the end Bittersweet did a fabulous job. I had previously ordered a large birthday cake from them and they also did a fantastic job on that cake, which was beautiful and delicious. I highly recommend Bittersweet for special occasion cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I definitely recommend bittersweet bakery! I was unsure what to expect because the hotel was including the cake in our package and we got a choice of 2 bakeries. i brought in a picture of a cake with the Chicago skyline and the consultant said they could do it and offered some suggestions for improvements and decoration of the cake table. She sketched out her ideas and they were cool.The tasting was great as we got to sample all the cake favors with each filling. They all tasted fantastic! On the day of our wedding we were absolutely delighted with the cake and had so many compliments from our guests. The bakery put so much work into the detail and design! Thank you bittersweet!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
4/6/2013
3.0/5.0
This wasn't my favorite vendor. This vendor was actually arranged through my location vendor and the cost of the cake was included in the overall cost for my event. (Hence no rating for Value)

First I had issues with the vendor that they didn't' return emails for a few weeks. My wedding was planned in under 4 months so responsiveness was important. I finally had to call and they had to "squeeze" us in for our tasting due to the few week delay in response. They had originally wanted to schedule my tasting a month before the wedding until they realized my wedding date.

The tasting was fine. The cake at bittersweet is fantastic. The icing (except for the cream cheese) is not. I'm not sure how to describe it, but it does not taste good and leaves a oily residue after eating.

The bigger problem came after the tasting after I emailed the person we were working with and got a response that they didn't know who we were. I immediately emailed my location vendor representative and she sorted this out. It turned out that my representative at the bakery had suddenly left and they were struggling to catch up.

In the end it all worked out. The cake was beautiful and the carrot cake/cream cheese frosting was good, but the other cake was just so so because of the icing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1330955574916-42778567824539501903392495551781306552n
Malia
Wedding:
12/15/2012
4.4/5.0
Bittersweet was our cake vendor through our venue, which included in our package a basic cake.

We met with Amy for our tasting, who went over our options for flavors (they were all delicious!!) and after bringing in a picture of a cake we really liked, Bittersweet was able to create the exact style we wanted.

Also, instead of having to save our top layer for our anniversary in the freezer, Bittersweet was nice enough to give us a voucher to get a free cake for our anniversary. Can't wait til our 1 year :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1349820003008-maibride
Mai
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Bittersweet Bakery made a gorgeous three-tier white gumpaste ruffled cake for my Sept. 22, 2012 wedding and it tasted just as delicious as it looked. I chose a coconut cake with creme brulee custard filing and fresh strawberries. We had a slight snafu at the tasting as the bakery did not secure coconut cake before hand but Amy went above and beyond, cutting into a pre-made cake for us to taste. She then followed up with a small cake we picked up at a later date made with our chosen ingredients.

My sister, who planned our wedding, pre-delivered a cake stand she embellished with chandelier crystals. Bittersweet was very specific with cake stand requirements, which helped my sister know what to create; Bittersweet used her custom design without a hitch. On the wedding day, the bakery gave us a five-hour window for delivery to the venue. I believe that worked out fine for the caterer and florist, who decorated the cake with fresh flowers.

As for the amount of cake, I also had a dessert buffet which resulted in leftover cake. In addition to the three-tiers (10-inch, 8-inch, 6-inch rounds), I ordered two 10-inch side cakes that would be served but not put on display. Both of the side cakes were not eaten at the reception but we served them the next day at our Sunday brunch. I had a total of 127 guests so I would recommend no side cakes if you are also having a dessert bar.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.5/5.0
We got our wedding cake here, and it was very beautiful, tasty, and all around a hit at our wedding. The tasting was nice and flexible, we left full of cake and they even gave us some soup to round out our "dinner"... they were very flexible with our changing numbers, and delivered the cake on time. It was on beautiful display when I arrived at the venue, and it tasted great! We picked out hazelnut cake with vanilla creme brulee filling and fresh strawberries--everyone loved it! The only bummer was in the hustle my cake topper was forgotten, but it didn't ruin my day or my happy tastebuds. We plan on getting a tiny cake here on our 1-year anniversary as well...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shianne
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Bittersweet made the most amazingly delicious wedding cake for us! It was three layers of banana cake with vanilla creme brulee filling and fresh strawberries. As someone who doesn't always like cake, this was one I was looking forward to for months - I think I bragged about it to anyone who would listen after our tasting - and I'm sad I didn't get to eat more on the day. Now I have to wait a whole year to eat the topper!

In regards to the process, Bittersweet was wonderful to work with. We actually had this tasting immediately after our other option (not totally recommended...that's a lot of sugar), which was Amy Beck Cakes. Amy Beck was sweet, but the flavour combination we came upon at Bittersweet decided it for us. Our coordinator at Bittersweet was Amy C., who took the time to talk through design options and sketch out a cake that we would not have thought to consider otherwise. This was awesome, because we really felt like we were getting a unique cake, just for us. She only laughed a little when we gave her our Lego people topper; her emails and calls were always quick and on time; and, best of all, she worked out a great solution to get the cake we wanted within our price range.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melany1013
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.7/5.0
Best tasting cake... I must have tasted 10 different bakeries and we kept thinking, "bittersweet tasted so much better"

We worked with both Judy and Amy from bittersweet - Judy recommended different flavor combinations (not even on the menu!) and helped us stick to our budget (offering lots of options). Amy helped me change around the cake decorations... I was hesitant to confirm these over the phone and not see them in person, but it turned out beautifully and tasted AMAZING. Can't wait to eat the frozen slice in the freezer next year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.5/5.0
We lived less than a block from Bittersweet, and decided to look into it for our wedding cake. The tasting appointment was amazing - so many choices and you were able to mix and match tons of cakes and fillings to come up with combinations that really suited your tastes. Judy really listened to everything my fiance and I wanted to incorporate into our cake, and Bittersweet really delivered. Not only was our wedding cake gorgeous, but our groom's cake came out even better than we imagined...they added all these details that we didn't even think of that took the cake to the next level. People still compliment us on how wonderful the cake was, and we know we made the right choice!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
suzannepawlak
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.3/5.0
People are still talking about our wedding cake. My husband and I have very different tastes when it comes to sweets, so we thought this was going to be difficult. The way Bittersweet set up the cake tasting appointment was amazing. So many choices! My husband and I both found out favorite flavors right away and to our surprise, we chose the exact same combination. Delicious! We also had them make our University of Iowa themed grooms cake. It was fabulous looking and tasting!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CJ0202
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Bittersweet made a great cake for our wedding. We were having a dessert table, but still wanted a small cake to cut. I went in to the store and was able to pick out the cake size, flavors, and decoration within 30 minutes. The delivery was on time and the cake looked better than we'd expected. And of course, it was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
2011bk
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We came in not really knowing what we would like and Judy gave us books of wedding cake photos to look through- this process helped us greatly. The cake tasting was so much fun and tasted amazing. Our guests said it was the best cake they have had!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tag1315
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
This is my favorite bakery! There cakes are AMAZING! They have these to die for Macaroons! Try them if you like something sweet! We always get our birthday cakes from here!
We get the banana cake filled with vanilla creme brulee, fresh bananas and finished with a dark chocolate glaze. YUMMO!

I've always wanted my wedding cake from here, but we are on a budget so I tried another bakery to save some money. We had a horrible experience with them that I ended up going back to our original choice... BITTERSWEET!

Tonight we met with the cake coordinator, Sue Ann.
We were about 10 minutes late because of traffic and they were still so accommodating! The nice girl first offered us coffee or tea in addition to the water they already gave us. Then we met Sue Ann and she had offered it to us again.
She was very professional and didn't mind we were late. Remind you we stared with her about 6:15 and they close at 7:00. We both had our own plate with cakes and all these assortments of different options. She explained each one patiently, gave us the time we needed and checked on us a few times in between. She LISTENED TO ME! Not like the other bakery we went to. We ended up selecting a BEAUTIFUL 4 tiered cake (Butter cream) but there butter cream looks like fondant but doesn't taste like it! It's sooo smooth, does it get any better than that!?!?
Sue Ann had such great pictures of there beautiful work that had our ideas going. When we were done she went over our cakes that she had asked us to mark. She asked us what was it that we liked about each cake and then she got her drawing paper out and sketched our dream cake!
I have to say that this was the same price that the other bakery was! Compared to the other place, BITTERSWEET hands down won! Their professionalism, patience, listening skills has exceeding our expectations! She really got it and we can't wait for our dream cake! We have all the trust in them that it will turn out beautiful!
I was searching for a very long time with all the other bakeries. No I haven't been to many others but I can tell you that Bittersweets pricing for their wedding cakes is a lot lower than some of these other places! Trust me, save yourself time!! Check them out if you haven't. You'll see what I'm talking about! We got a BEAUTIFUL cake with tax and delivery for UNDER $500! WOW! For some reason I thought it would have been a lot more for what we got!

Thank you Sue Ann!

Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
1/9/2010
4.9/5.0
Delicious, great customer service. We had so much fun during the tasting when they brought us each individual platters with little cakes, fillings, fruits and buttercream to taste all sorts of combination. Working with SueAnn was great -- she put us at ease, and I never worried about the cake at all. It was beautiful, and everyone loved it. I also like that we will get a fresh top tier sent to us on our first anniversary. Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna (mother of bride)
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
The team at Bittersweet is outstanding. My daughter tasted and thus created her own cake. She also picked the design on t.he cake and it was truly hers. There were two groom's cakes and my daughter further individulized the cakes by making one a White Sox and one a Wisconsin Badgers. Everyone on the team was very helpful
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nkm
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.5/5.0
delicious, great! a little pricey, service can be a little 'short' otherwise great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wyatt
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake was great. Very tasty and looked fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1228548966336-love
ANGEL
Wedding:
4/4/2009
4.6/5.0
GOOD SERVICE AND FAST
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrice
Wedding:
3/7/2009
5.0/5.0
This bakery came as a package deal with our wedding catering and venue. We had few ideas in advance of our tasting - they gave great combination options in terms of cake, filling, fruit and icing - this was one of the more fun parts of wedding planning, for sure. I cant speak about the billing/payment as this was part of a package deal I had. Everyone at the reception loved the cake, too. I highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fitstylist5
Wedding:
1/17/2009
4.8/5.0
Let's face it. Most wedding cakes look like crap and taste even worse. Bittersweet solves both of these issues. No, I did not choose a traditional cake, but my guests feasted on a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting tier as well as 2 tiers of fudge cake with mocha and dark chocolate filling, all topped with buttercream (what else) and chocolate glaze. Amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrina
Wedding:
8/16/2008
2.6/5.0
I did not really have a good experience with choosing our wedding cake. We chose this vendor because they were on the preferred vendor list and it was less expensive in that we would not have to pay a cake plating fee. During our cake tasting, I felt that the lady helping us for our appointment didn't really help at all. She seemed to not like that I brought a picture of the cake I wanted. She did not make any suggestions on cake and filling combinations. She just brought us the cake and fillings and went to the back. For one of the cake details (sugar flowers), she told us that they were very expensive and we should get flowers from our florist, but would not tell us how expensive...I was very offended by this attitude. The cake turned out to be very delicious, but the overall experience leading to the outcome was not a good one.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmoyer
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
We booked our cake with Bittersweet after having a terrible experience with another bakery. Everything about this place is awesome. If you've never been inside, I recommend you go for lunch one day. Their food is really good (more than just pastries) and it is just wonderful to sit in there and soak up the French-inspired atmosphere. The cake tasting experience is exactly what were looking for. It is elegant, low-key, no pressure (they leave you alone to discuss the cakes and then come back and go over it with you so you can feel free to express your opinions), and fun... not to mention delicious! Our cake was exactly what we had in mind. It was beautiful and tasted amazing! I don't even like cake and I could not get enough of this stuff! Everyone raved about how pretty is was. Highly, highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jabend
Wedding:
6/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Delicious and beautiful! What more could you ask for in a wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melbabona
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Super cake, super service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
10/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Bittersweet designed a beautiful cake for our wedding based on some very vague ideas provided by us. We asked for an autumnal cake with reds and oranges, and could they please include maple leaves? The cake we received was not only exactly what we had in mind, it was the most delicious wedding cake I've ever tasted. They don't sacrifice flavor for beauty!

In addition, if you send them one of your professionally shot photos of the cake after the wedding, they'll make you a free replica of your top tier for your first anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/15/2007
4.2/5.0
The cake was amazing! Everyone was talking about it and I can't wait to eat the top of it in a few months. I think this place is expensive however it was included for our reception. I would highly recommend this place!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
9/1/2007
4.5/5.0
We had brought in a picture of the cake that we wanted, and Bittersweet was able to exactly replicate the cake, and it was very intricate. Everything tasted wonderful and looked beautiful and we could not have been more pleased with the results.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
8/18/2007
5.0/5.0
Our cake was phenomenal! Super nice staff. I highly recommend them! Can't wait for our first anniversary to have the top tier...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
They did a great job and would take on any challenge... The tateing was a ton of fun and very educational. The cake looked beautiful on the day and also got lost of compliments. They made it very simple and easy to choose the right cake and the right look.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TLT
Wedding:
6/9/2007
5.0/5.0
Bittersweet is EXCELLENT! Beautiful, delicious, fabulous cakes. We couldn't have had a better wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/15/2006
5.0/5.0
I am not a cake person, but our wedding cake was so fabulous that we ordered a smaller version for our first anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Truly outstanding! Best wedding cake I've ever tasted in my entire life.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We live in the neighborhood, so we were familiar with Bittersweet--they'd provided a beautiful cake for a family birthday celebration a few years earlier. So we were pleased, but not surprised, when the cake our consultant helped us design was both "simply" beautiful and absolutely delicious. Did our guests like the cake? Oh, yes! They devoured every last slice . . . and crumb! Scrumptious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.9/5.0
We have heard so many great things about bittersweet so we went in for our tasting! It was soo amazing! The different options for flavors and decor! They offered us a free 6" cake to try with any of our flavors - what a nice bonus!

We decided on a 3-tiered cake and when placing our order chose which flavors were for which tier. At our wedding - the cake was beautiful, but the flavors were all wrong! We werent too upset, bc it was still very good, but it wasn't what we ordered. They apologized and offered us a $50 gift certificate to their bakery. $50 isnt anywhere near what we spent on our cake, but better than nothing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
First and foremost, our wedding cake was DELICIOUS. Two weeks later, it is still moist and amazing (yes, we're still eating it). And it was BEAUTIFUL!! We had an odd request in our design - we wanted prairie flowers native to Illinois that bloom in the fall. We provided pictures and crossed our fingers - we didn't really care if it turned out or not; the meaning behind it was more important than the visual. But the cake knocked our socks off - it was just gorgeous and much more beautiful than we thought it could be. Overall, we were very very happy with our cake from Bittersweet. We also shopped around a bit and found that their prices are pretty standard. The only reason we didn't give five stars is that we found the woman we worked with unpleasant, bordering rude. We didn't receive a final invoice, so I called two days after the balance was due (and five days before the wedding) to see what was going on - turns out, that woman was no longer at Bittersweet and the invoice was lost in the transition. BUT they didn't lose our order! It was in the queue when I called and I was able to make the payment over the phone. We would have given all five stars if it weren't for this particular person, and she's no longer there, so we definitely recommend you go for Bittersweet for your cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.6/5.0
My cake turned out beautiful, just what we wanted, classic! It tasted great too!!!!! The only issue we had was the staff seemed not very organized which lead us to some un-necessary stress. But I would use them again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I loved my cake from Bittersweet. It was honestly one of my favorite parts of the wedding. I showed Judy a photo of a cake I had found in a magazine, which had ivy tumbling down the tiers, and she assured me she could recreate it. What she actually did was create a much more beautiful version with various shades of green which looked spectacular. It was incredible to look at and each of the three tiers was truly delicious. The price was also a very pleasant surprise. I would recommend Bittersweet to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BRIDEOFGAMES
Wedding:
10/19/2002
4.3/5.0
Not a bad thing to say. Loved our cake and they were nice to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
1114 W. Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for bittersweet pastry shop
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo