130x130_sq_1252459851906-julie2009225

Black eyed Susan Florist

Gambrills , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1334 C Defense Hwy
Gambrills, MD US 21054 (map)

PHONE

410-451-7101

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Black Eyed Susan Florist Our brides are not spoiled, their catered to
I started this company in 2000 with the idea of designing flowers that were beautifully matched to the bride... Read more
Black Eyed Susan Florist Our brides are not spoiled, their catered to
I started this company in 2000 with the idea of designing flowers that were beautifully matched to the bride and complimented the ceremony & reception sites.
Black eyed Susan is a full service florist serving the Maryland area.
Thru the years I have helped thousands of brides select the perfect bouquet for them. You might walk thru my door wanting red & yellow but you could end up finding your true likes of pink & purple. I do take your dress, height, body style, skin coloring and theme into consideration for the bridal bouquet. We do our best to design to your likes and personality.
So when you are ready for your complimentary floral consultation
Give us a call we would love to meet with you. Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1252458054109-weddingwestonannapolis
130x130_sq_1252458079625-cbbcwedding
130x130_sq_1252458236406-weddingwestinannapolis
130x130_sq_1252458375531-celebrationsatthebay
130x130_sq_1252458512031-wedding2009079
130x130_sq_1252458605000-wedding2009158
130x130_sq_1252458692703-wedding2009185
130x130_sq_1252459072765-wedding2009275
130x130_sq_1252459240968-wedding2009207
130x130_sq_1252459579031-wedding2009199
130x130_sq_1252459933625-ido1
130x130_sq_1263170968814-julie024
130x130_sq_1263171024517-pictures2009289
130x130_sq_1263171055814-julie036
130x130_sq_1263171241205-julie224
130x130_sq_1263171283158-puertoricotrip120
130x130_sq_1263171327001-wedding4025
130x130_sq_1263171362939-wedding4738
130x130_sq_1263171396064-wedding4778
130x130_sq_1263171437564-wedding4876
130x130_sq_1263171472423-wedding4897
130x130_sq_1263171687361-wedding4005
130x130_sq_1263171756142-wedding4972
130x130_sq_1263171803220-wedding4967
130x130_sq_1263171861314-wedding41010
130x130_sq_1263171947517-wedding2009323
130x130_sq_1263172017455-wedding41074
130x130_sq_1263172079486-wedding41089

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
Free
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/27/2014
5.0/5.0
I heard about Black Eyed Susan Florist from a family member of mine. They had done her wedding and the flowers for her wedding were gorgeous.We decided to set up a time to meet with them.

I have no knowledge about flowers. I have no idea what's in season, how much everything costs and what goes together. I know I was probably hard to work with as I had no idea what I wanted. The staff was amazing and really helped us figure out what we wanted. The flowers were delivered on time and they looked amazing! We were extremely happy with how they turned out and I am currently preserving my bouquet so that I can have it to look at anytime.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
1/25/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Black Eyed Susan for our January 2014 wedding, and I could not be happier with them! Jola was an absolute delight to work with. She thought about every detail, and the flowers were gorgeous! They were also very flexible when I changed my mind about things. I appreciated Jola's caring and comforting nature, and I knew I didn't have to stress about the flowers. I would recommend Black Eyed Susan to everyone!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Jola and Tracy were the most amazing people to work with, they were so accomodating to me with all the changes I kept making throughout the flower choices, and they really made me feel like I was one of their own children. Their work is beyond beautiful and they really took the extra step to make sure I got just what I had envisioned. When they arrived on my wedding day, I was blown away by the flowers and all the guests as well as our photographer, she loved the colors and textures of all the different flowers. I still go visit the shop to see how they are doing!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aemauzy
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Tracy and Yola were so nice to work with. They had worked at our venue many times and were very helpful in determining what we needed. They were flexible, creative, and easy to work with which was wonderful especially since I was planning from several states away. And of course, the flowers were absolutely beautiful!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1308193872291-bradandme
Jillian
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved my florist. I met with her on two occasions before the wedding to work out what type of flowers we wanted. The first time, I really had no idea what to get but they helped me come up with a plan. The second meeting, I KNEW what I wanted and changed everything--- they were extremely accommodating and let me change the flowers up until the last minute. They were affordable and friendly, and really worked in my budget. The flowers came out exactly as I had hoped, and were unique! Instead of traditional flowers, my bridesmaids all carried carnation and rose kissing balls-- it was perfect!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1300732692798-wedding
lisa
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
The flowers that Black Eyed Susan provided me for my wedding were absolutely wonderful! They were exactly what I had pictured for my wedding and they came out beautifully! They arrived at my hotel exactly when I was told to expect them. I found all the staff to be professional and easy to work with. I would defiantly recommend them.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jay
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Susan did an amazing job for my daughter's wedding at the Kent Manor Inn on June 24, 2011. The service was great, the flowers were exactly what we wanted and they were all carefully created and absolutely beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.
They worked within our budget and delivered a grand slam !
Thanks for making Lizzie's day one to remember!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
5/1/2011
4.7/5.0
I was very happy with the service and flowers provided by Black Eyed Susan. The staff were friendly and easy to work with and the flowers were absolutely beautiful and one of my favorite things from the day. I thought they did a good job making my vision become a reality and working within a realistic budget. The bouquets, bouts, and other personal flowers were so beautiful and exactly what I had envisioned. The centerpieces were very nice while still keeping within budget. They booked the meetings and sent price quotes in a timely manner and delivered all flowers on the day of on time and with no problems.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.2/5.0
Black eyed Susan Florist was very easy to work with and is welcoming to your ideas. They are extremely friendly and personable. They provided beautiful bouquets and a gorgeous arrangement for our cocktail hour room. I wasn't exactly sure what I wanted for the "focal point" in the cocktail hour room so I kind of left it up to them, and they did an amazing job. The complaint I do have, is they did mess up on my bridesmaids bouquets. I requested yellow calla lilies to be in my bouquet, as well as the bridesmaids, but they werent included in the bridesmaids bouquets. There must have been a miscommunication when we first ordered. The bouquets were beautiful, just not what I wanted. I do recommend Black eyed Susan Florist, but to avoid a mistake, I would call to to "confirm" exactly what you are expecting. They do not write down what you order on the order form they send to you (i.e. exactly what type of flowers they are using). To avoid mistakes, they may want to start writing down the exact order on the order form they send you.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ALeizear
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked with Julie Black and her staff for my wedding and her staff provided the best arrangements for my wedding I couldn't have asked for. Sadly, Julie passed away just about 6 weeks before my wedding. Julie was not only a great friend but a great florist. Her husband Rob and Daughter Susie delivered my flowers to my ceremony site. I couldn't have asked for a better moment, when I saw the flowers and thought of Julie. She was watching. I was a beautiful tribute to Julie. She trained her staff so well. Black Eyed Susan is fantastic, Julie would be so proud!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmseith
Wedding:
8/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Susan did an amazing job with our wedding day flower arrangements. The woman with whom we met did a wonderful job helping us to select bouquets which fit with our wedding colors and budget. They were all beautifully delivered in the correct quantities to the appropriate locations the day of the wedding. We very much appreciated their last-minute flexibility, as we added several new arrangements the week of the wedding and made alterations to several corsages. Thank you for adding beauty to our big day : )
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cscott
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.9/5.0
Black Eyed Susan did a wonderful job with my floral arrangements. They were beautiful and everything was set up and delivered on time.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1233923181420-engagement
Kristin
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
After our initial meeting with Julie, I knew our flowers were going to be amazing. When I walked out and saw the bouquets, I was speechless. The flowers were more radiant and beautiful than I could have imagine. I would recommend meeting with them for any event. They were also extremely flexible by working within your needs and ensuring you are 100% happy with what you are getting.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristaKM
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I worked with Julie for my wedding this past weekend! She was extremely accommodating and easy to work with! She understood exactly what I was looking for and provided some suggestions but never tried to change my style! I recently had a conversation with several girlfriends and they said they were surprised when they saw their flowers for their wedding because while they were still beautiful they were nothing like they had envisioned...not the case with Julie. When I saw my flowers they were EXACTLY what I had envisioned and absolutely PERFECT! Krista
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Virginia
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Susan was fantastic. They have great suggestions on how to create the feel that you want at your wedding. They have great rental items too (the pedestals to hold my flowers during my ceremony). Great value and customer service. I added flower arrangements 2 weeks before my wedding and they were super flexible. Julie is a pleasure to deal with.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ragolombeck
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
My mom dealt mainly with the florist, since I am an out of town bride. The flowers were prefect. My mom explained to them what I wanted and they were able to work with her for great arrangements.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
10/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Julie Black with Black Eyed Susan brought my vision to life. The centerpieces, the bouquets, the ceremony arch, and the boutonni�res/corsages were all absolutely perfect. She has lots of energy and creative ideas that help with the planning process. She is incredibly sweet and genuine and I could not have had a better floral experience. The flowers made our pictures even more beautiful and the finished product far exceeded my expectations. Thanks for everything Julie!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
andrea
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
the florist was able to know the style i was looking for after only two minutes of meeting me. She really sat down with me and helped me plan the flowers for my wedding. my wedding looked absolutley amazing and the flowers were a big contributor. all the staff was always nice and friendly when i called and responded to my questions in a timely manner. I greatly recommend this florist. evry last detail was perfect!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kfrankenfield
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Wedding 9/26/09

About 9 years ago my mother had heart surgery. She received so many flower arrangements, yet one stood out as beautiful. It was from black eyed susan. We though it must have cost a fortune. But no, we realized after pricing that other dinky old fashioned looking arrangements and the beautiful one she received were evenly priced-amazing.

A few years later my friend got married and used Black Eyed Susan and her flowers were outstanding.

Throughout the years, we received arrangements for various occasions and could tell before looking at the card which were from black eyed susan. Even at a funeral, we were able to pick out the black eyed susan arrangements.

This company, (I worked with Marsha and the owner Julie-who does the actual arrangements!) is easy to work with and provides a modern take on traditional flowers with out being "kooky". They provided my wedding flowers to the exact "t" and many arrangements were far better than I had even imagined or described! They also lasted for more than a week after the wedding.

They go through every arrangement that you want and draw it up for you (a sketch) and show you different flowers bunched together etc. They also write down every detail of what you say you want and repeat it back and offer suggestions and the consultation is free!

The price quote came quickly and they only require a small deposit, not 50%!

I made several, and I mean several changes to my order throughout the process and they were always accommodating and I still got exactly what I wanted!

We received so many compliments on our flowers and the cake topper they made was gorgeous. The addition of crystal pins to my bouquet, the centerpieces and cake topper was gorgeous and classy not "blingy-tacky". They even made non-traditional pieces such as a large vase filled with pears and hydrangea on top. It was much larger and more stunning than I though it would be! And the sticks/bells of ireland and orchids for the place card table was awesome and towering. They will alter any arrangement you describe to fit your budget. You will receive an itemized proposal so you know exactly what you can add to or cut based on your budget. This place is amazing.

I will never use any florist besides Black eyed susan for anything!!!

Kristin and Todd Frankenfield
9/26/09
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clshaff
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Julie and her team really did a great job. I really wanted natural looking wildflowers, and that is not the norm, and many florists I spoke to had their own ideas/designs they typically followed. It was frustrating. Julie was creative, and did exactly what I wanted. She was easy to work with, responsive, on-time and met my budget. It was a great experience, and I will be ordering more flowers from her shop.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eastcoastbride
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
They were so great to work with; really helpful and professional. The flowers were perfect--just what I envisioned and they were absolutely beautiful.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
The flowers were absolutely beautiful and yet I was still able to afford them. I didn�t know exactly what I wanted, but they walked me through all the options and helped me figure it out. It was fun and easy to work with them. They were very nice and understanding when I had to make last minute changes to the drop off schedule. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soy
Wedding:
12/31/2008
3.8/5.0
The flowers were very pretty but not exactly what I had in mind. I wanted them to be silver, black and white, minimizing the green as much as possible. (I got married on New Year's eve at noon so I wanted the colors to be in that theme). They did not have as much glitter and sparkle as I had anticiapted, but they were pretty. WHen I picked up the flowers for my hair the day before I saw the bouquets and told them I wanted more silver so they did add some, but it was still not what I really wanted. They were very nice and the cost was average.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.6/5.0
Black Eyed Susan Florist was great to work with. Easy to talk to, helped up even with our last minute changes. Arrived to the reception site on time and made the place look great.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lissie22
Wedding:
6/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Susan Florists were extremely flexible with flower choices and being flexible with changing the order when I changed my mind. We had no problems and the bouquets were beautiful with orchids
Services Used: Flowers
Bg10
mrsjmsimmons
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.8/5.0
I had a picture from a magazine of what I wanted. I gave them my ideas and colors and they put together a wonderful arrangment for my wedding. They even delivered them to the church for me. The flowers were fresh and colorful. It was just what I had dreamed of. They are wonderful to work with and were able to add pieces to my order at the last minute. The flowers at the church and recpection were absolutely beautiful!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
8/28/2004
5.0/5.0
Everything was beautiful! GReat to work with.
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
1334 C Defense Hwy, Gambrills, MD 21054 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Black eyed Susan Florist
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo