130x130_sq_1402636867208-ms.-leabury-dipping-448x336-pixel

Black Horse Inn

Warrenton , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

8393 Meetze Rd.
Warrenton, VA US 20187 (map)

PHONE

540-349-4020

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Step back in time at The Black Horse Inn, an enchanted setting for the most discriminating bride and groom. With its stately white columns, manicured lawns, beautifully appointed gardens... Read more
Step back in time at The Black Horse Inn, an enchanted setting for the most discriminating bride and groom. With its stately white columns, manicured lawns, beautifully appointed gardens and elegant hunt-country décor, this ideal location is only 45 minutes from Washington, D.C.

The reception facility, “The Gilded Fox”, features a climate – controlled grand ballroom, seating for up to 200 guests, panoramic views, a stone fireplace and a stately flagstone terrace. Perfect for bridal photography, the scenic landscape offers a grand wedding gazebo and a magnificent portico.

The Black Horse Inn takes pride in giving bridal couples an elegant, tasteful atmosphere in which to hold a reception, lasting the whole weekend, rather than just a few hours. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1250698597119-blackhorseinnbestpictures018
130x130_sq_1250698851916-blackhorseinnbestpictures013
130x130_sq_1384434175366-dscn080
130x130_sq_1250698682635-blackhorseinnbestpictures024
130x130_sq_1384433220203-10121317074
130x130_sq_1384433811920-10121317564
130x130_sq_1384433949859-10121312103
130x130_sq_1384435694735-bunting-wedding28
130x130_sq_1384434413382-mcquilla
130x130_sq_1384434000808-10121314543
130x130_sq_1384433977070-10121312321
130x130_sq_1384434023808-10121318015
130x130_sq_1384434281953-raji--vandyck
130x130_sq_1384434051714-horses-at-fence-10121317574
130x130_sq_1384434605016-huftalenwasfy2-12
130x130_sq_1384436358413-saber-ceremony-at-gazebo-web-size
130x130_sq_1384434961400-1175615180vmwyy-ti
130x130_sq_1384435057952-1175615582uon4h-ti
130x130_sq_1384435237866-ms.-leabury-dipping-448x336-pixel
130x130_sq_1384435057386-1175611351plvmo-ti
130x130_sq_1384435116398-1175610198jnvu3-ti
130x130_sq_1384435371270-l-h-lindberg-
130x130_sq_1384435117012-1175610486szhcv-ti
130x130_sq_1384435340838-l-h-lindberg
130x130_sq_1384435962795-dscn051
130x130_sq_1384435980352-dscn052
130x130_sq_1384435998245-dscn053
130x130_sq_1384436177980-bunting-wedding08
130x130_sq_1384436181148-bunting-wedding10
130x130_sq_1384436184704-bunting-wedding13

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1850
When was your venue last renovated?
2010
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Inn / Bed & Breakfast, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Country, Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
10
Number of suites
3
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
7500
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
As the father of the bride I had a fair amount of anxiety about cost and details. I am not a detail guy. thankfully Lynn is a detail person. because the weekend was planned out in detail virtually minute by minute, I didn't have to worry, My family could just enjoy my daughter's special day. close family and friends stayed at the Inn for the weekend and our breakfast time together made for great family times. The entire venue is beautiful, the staff has a sense of urgency and is eager to please. The most important thing to me was when my daughter came up to me and gave me a big hug and thanked me for the perfect Wedding. THAT WAS WORTH EVERY CENT AND MORE. I would absolutely recommend The BLACK HORSE INN for any wedding that you want to remember forever.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Earl
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
After a church wedding, we had our daughter's reception at the Black Horse. Lynn was fantastic in coordinating the florist, caterer, and DJ and in making excellent suggestions regarding the numerous details that we hadn't either thought of or had no preferences on. The venue was gorgeous and all of our out of town guests remarked on the hall and the magnificent vistas. Our pre-event meeting with Lynn gave the bride and groom and my wife and I the much needed confidence that we were in professional hands and that the reception would proceed flawlessly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nichole
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything was amazing! The breakfasts, the attentiveness. I would not have changed a thing! It was scheduled to be inside the whole time and the Tuesday before, we decided to have it outside. They were quick to act and have everything ready for the wedding! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding on December 21, 2013 at the Black Horse Inn was magnificant. We were able to secure the whole property from Friday afternoon through Sunday afternoon. Lynn, Stephanie and staff were exceptional and all of our family felt welcomed. The food was amazing and the rooms beautifully decorated. I didn't want to leave when it was time to leave.

From the moment my daughter saw the Black Horse Inn she knew this was were she wanted her wedding. Lynn was there to help from that day on. She guided us through every step of the way making our job painless and easy.

We had several contingency plans do to the possibility of winter weather, however my daughter had her dream outside wedding, as the weather was perfect.

Lynn has a beautiful Inn, a lovely reception hall, immaculate grounds, lovely horses, an excellent staff and our experience was one of a kind.

You will not be disappointed if you choose the Black Horse Inn for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SUSAN & MICHAEL
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Our daughter’s wedding reception at the Black Horse Inn / Gilded Fox was spectacular! From planning to execution, Lynn and her staff were an absolute pleasure to work with and eager to make the reception one that would be a lifetime memory. The Black Horse Inn certainly delivered on everything promised. It’s evident that everyone involved was focused on an excellent customer experience. Lynn and her staff get our highest recommendation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
e
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Some women know exactly what they want their wedding to be their whole lives, but I was not that girl. I didn't know what I wanted for my wedding until I went to visit the Black Horse Inn. As soon as my husband and I drove up the hill the first time to check out the venue, we fell in love!

Everything was spectacular! The owner Lynn is fabulous and tremendously helped outline the day and put everything in place during the planning process. Her recommended vendors were fantastic too! Stephanie and the crew were also the best- always there when you needed them!

We rented the venue for the whole weekend and I HIGHLY recommend the same experience for anyone. Our bridal party stayed throughout the house and guest house which made the whole weekend so much fun. We had the rehearsal dinner on the Gilded Fox Patio Friday night, and I think it was the best decision we made. Love, love, love this place and everyone that works there to make it all happen!

It's truly a fairy tale wedding location right outside D.C. that will make you feel like you are in your own world!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I think every bride dreads having rain for her wedding--and I was no exception. It did not just rain for our wedding--it poured the day before, the day of, and the day after. Typically this would cause me to go into crisis mode--how would we do the rehearsal? and where would we do the ceremony? My wish to have an outdoor wedding was being washed away--literally. But I didn't need to worry because Lynn, the owner of Black Horse Inn, and her staff did everything within their power to make sure we had the perfect wedding weekend.

Thursday we were able to go to the inn to drop off anything we would need that weekend and to approve the table settings. Stephanie, the manager, was fantastic about answering our questions, keeping us organized, and was very flexible when I started moving around the seating chart :) Friday our whole wedding party and family were served hunt country tea upon arriving and shown to their rooms--my husband and I were also able to sneak over to the reception hall (The Gilded Fox) so that we could practice our 1st dance ahead of time.

I mentioned that it rained....a lot. The best advice I can give any bride who is doing a wedding at Black Horse Inn is to rent a tent for the Garden Terrace and a tent for the patio behind The Gilded Fox--literally the best decision we made during the whole wedding process. The tents that Lynn rents are beautiful (they even have chandeliers inside); if it's sunny out, your guests will have some shade, if it's raining, you will be thanking God that you rented some tents. The ceremony was perfect--my guests stayed dry and I still got an outdoor wedding.

The whole weekend the Black Horse Inn staff kept us on schedule and I never needed to look at a clock or wonder if everyone was where they were supposed to be. Lynn has a beautiful Inn and reception, immaculate grounds, lovely horses, and a kind and competent staff. Go and visit; I know you'll fall in love with it just like I did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

We enjoyed hosting your wedding at the Black Horse Inn. Thanks for being so delightful to work with! Come back to visit us soon--with your wedding album. Can't wait to see more pictures!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
On the day of the ceremony, they truly did everything. As mother of the bride, I was able to go completely off duty and enjoy the party! I didn't have to check up on anything at all. And the send off of the bride and groom at the end of the evening with sparklers is a particularly lovely touch. Opportunities for beautiful photographs are endless because it is such a lovely property
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

You deserved to enjoy yourself at your daughter's wedding! I am so glad that you chose the Black Horse Inn for the wedding and recpetion! It was a great event!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Lynn and her staff delivered on everything as promised. This place is unbelievably georgeous and ideal for a wedding weekend! It was the happiest weekend of our lives, and it is because of how personal we made it. Lynn, with great enthusiasm and experience, guides you through all the planning, the choices and decisions to be made, provides lists of vendors and feedback on any you consider, likes to help make yoru personal wedding ideas come true, and ensures everything goes smoothly as a wedding director during the rehearsal and day off. The staff really know how to make a wedding run with mulitple vendors but most importantly how to make a family (both groom's and bride's) feel like the Inn and its grounds are "theirs" for the weekend. The breakfasts and Hunt country tea were phenomenal! They even accommodated our dogs to stay in the Hunt Box and their participation in our wedding ceremony. It was purely magical! i can't wait to go back to stay again -- for a steeplechase event or to celebrate our anniversary. It was well - worth the money.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

Thank you for sharing your wonderful family and friends with us on your wedding day! Hope you had a great time in the Canary Islands! Can't wait to see the pictures!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I was a guest and a vendor (did the flowers for my friend who was the bride) so I saw the event from both sides, and was most impressed by the operation of the Black Horse. The staff made themselves available, were helpful when asked. The other vendors were of clearly high quality. And the whole experience most enjoyable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn was the absolute best decision my husband and I made throughout our wedding planning process. Lynn and Stephanie are very professional and incredibly helpful--throughout the planning process and especially during the weekend itself. We fell in love with grounds the first time we visited, and after frequent correspondence with Stephanie who made us feel so comfortable and excited about the Inn, we knew there was no place else we wanted to go. They were always very responsive with all of my questions and prepared a very comprehensive agenda for the entire weekend. Our family arrived on Friday afternoon to settle into their lovely rooms and were greeted with a spread of light appetizers and drinks. After our rehearsal at a local church, we had a beautiful rehearsal dinner on the Gilded Fox patio which was tented and absolutely breathtaking. The day of the wedding was more than I could have imagined. Breakfast was amazing and Lynn and Stephanie were incredibly attentive to our families and the entire wedding party throughout the day. The reception itself was beyond beautiful and EVERYONE went on and on about how much fun they had. Two weeks later we are still getting notes and calls about how beautiful, meaningful, and fun our wedding was, and that was largely attributed to the wonderful people at the Black Horse Inn. I highly highly recommend this venue. Nothing in the area compares.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn provided a spectacular site for our wedding. The lush green pastures, with the horses inside the rail fence was perfect for a Virginia country wedding. Also the owner served as the wedding coordinator which saved so much on the cost. And she couldn't have been more efficient, while at the same time friendly. Likewise, with the staff. Our families were able to stay in the Inn which was relaxing and allowed us to become better acquainted. But to top everything off, the Gilded Fox Reception Room and Patio was the most beautiful and welcoming room and provided a reception that I can only describe as a fairy tale.
Patio was the most beautiful and welcoming room for what I can only de
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn is an absolutely amazing venue. I had my wedding there last month and everything went perfectly. Lynn and her staff are so organized and so accommodating. All of my guests have been raving nonstop about how fantastic everything was. I was a fairly disorganized bride but it didn’t matter a bit with all of the support I received from Lynn. She was on top of everything and made sure the weekend went smoothly. Every vendor I went to already knew Lynn and said right off the bat that she is excellent to work with. It rained on my wedding day but it did not ruin my day one bit. Lynn had the patio tented and it was the most beautiful atmosphere- we had the ceremony under the tent right next to a pond with a bridge over it. The tent even had a chandelier hanging from it. It was absolutely breathtaking. The reception hall is gorgeous as well. This venue is the perfect option if you want to have your ceremony outside because it will still be perfect despite the weather. I was also able to hold my cocktail hour under another beautiful tented area and the reception followed in the reception hall. It was so nice to have the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all in separate locations. I would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daphne
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
For a wedding to remember - it is without hesitation that I recommend the Black Horse Inn. From wedding planning to excellent lodging accommodations - the Black Horse Inn delivered. The attention to detail, managing the event and the relaxing atmosphere provided by the staff is commendable. My daughters wedding was a top notch event and we are extremely grateful to the Black Horse. Lynn the proprietor of the Inn and wedding consultant, ensured that we had an excellent wedding weekend, beginning with afternoon tea on Friday through sunrise service on Easter Sunday. Her coordination and management of the wedding team consisting of 1st rate vendors (all recommended by Lynn) allowed for a flawless execution of the wedding ceremony.

I am confident in saying that my daughter was the calmest bride in history and it is all due to the staff at the Black Horse, taking the worry out of wedding plan.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rob
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
We recently were married at the Blackhorse Inn in Warrenton, VA. My wife and I are both people that enjoy the outdoors and the beauty that Virginia has to offer and could not imagine being married in a hotel ballroom. We were looking at places to spend a nice night together after the wedding and after speaking to Lynn we decided to get married at the Blackhorse also. There are multiple locations there to find a great place for your perfect wedding. We wanted a small intimate wedding and to be honest, we could not have been happier at the outcome and the service that was provided for us. Not only is it a great venue for a wedding but it is also a great place to spend a nice weekend together. Fortunately, we were able to accomplish both!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gemma
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn provided the absolute best venue for my wedding. The weather was perfect, so we had our autumn wedding outside at the gazebo. The setting was extremely intimate and was the perfect size for my 130 guest wedding. We hired an outside horse and carriage, and the path leading up to the ceremony area made of a stunning setting as the bride and father rolled up. The courtyard cocktail area was the best setting for us to enjoy a cocktail hour prior to the reception. The Gilded Fox ballroom was a great setting for our reception as well. We had 12 tables, 1 sweetheart table, and a large 7 piece band and we still had enough room for a poppin' dance floor!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The wedding at Black Horse Inn was fantastic! Beautiful location, friendly staff...perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn is a spectacular venue for a wedding and Lynn and her staff were there to make sure that everything was perfect. They truly focused on all of the details and were there to make sure that our wedding went smoothly, looked beautiful and was truly perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn was the perfect setting for a wedding ceremony and reception. Lyn, the owner of the Black Horse Inn, was very professional, friendly, helpful, enthusiastic, and so many other positive things. The actual property is beautiful, with rolling hills in the background and horses in the fields, it's a perfect setting for a wedding. You won't be disappointed if you choose the Black Horse Inn for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Candice
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at the Black Horse Inn could not have gone better. We were able to secure the whole property from Friday through Sunday, which made a huge difference when compared to other venues expecting you to rush in and rush out so they can get the next wedding done. The Inn was personal and charming, and it welcomed all our family wholeheartedly. Its setting can only be described as idylic, and its history makes it even more attractive. For these key reasons, along with its fabulous onsite reception facilities, and amazing staff, it provides what I believe to be the best combination of amenities available.

Lynn is one of the most amazing event professionals I have ever worked with, and I have worked with many different vendors and locations planning events for my company. She is attentive and focused on every last detail. She seamlessly coordinates with your vendors, so even when there could be inclement weather, a guest who has trouble moving around the property, a special request from an inn guest, or any other issues that may arise, they are handled quickly and, most importantly, without adding to the stress of an already busy day.

It turns out we didn't need any contingency plans, as the weather was a perfect fall day, there was ample care given to everything from guest movement around the property and the overall schedule, to bathroom and room accessibility for guests with special needs. We have looked back and asked if there were any improvements we could envision, but honestly can find none.

Our wedding weekend was perfect and stress-free. Anyone considering this venue can feel confident that their event will achieve equal perfection. It is simply the choice for the wedding of your dreams.
Services Used: Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I really had the picture perfect wedding at the Black Horse Inn! From beginning to end, it was a great experience working with the owner, Lynn, and her staff. To start, my husband and I fell in love with this place immediately when we toured the venue. The pictures on their website really do not do it justice. This historic inn and its setting are just gorgeous - from each room being unique and having its own character and charm, to the beautiful Gilded Fox reception ballroom, to the peaceful surroundings and friendly horses. One of the things that we really loved about this venue was that it had so many different areas around the property for various events of the wedding that it gave us multiple options on how to do things, and no option was less desirable than the next.
We rented the entire Black Horse Inn from Friday through Sunday. All of our family and wedding party that stayed on-site with us were really impressed and loved the venue as well. We pretty much had full access to the entire Inn like it was our own home for the weekend. It was a very homey and cozy place for us all to be together during the weekend and enjoy one another’s company. The breakfasts that were provided by the Inn were also very hearty and tasty.
Lynn was a pleasure to work with. She was always very helpful and responsive to my questions and concerns, and her staff was equally attentive. When our officiator got lost during the wedding rehearsal, Lynn took over and made sure that the rehearsal was a productive one. On the wedding day, Lynn was our day-of coordinator and did an excellent job and we really did not have to worry about a thing. She made it very easy and I have to say that our wedding went as smooth and well as we ever could have hoped for. She even helped to lure her three horses over to the fence so the guests could feed/touch them! The Black Horse Inn gave us unforgettable memories and will always hold a special place in our hearts!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding at Black Horse was ideal! The Inn was so homey and comfortable, our arriving family and friends commented that they felt they were visiting our home! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the bathrobes an added plus that we took full advantage of, after the wedding, to sit around in the living room and chat until the wee hours. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully served. The grounds were peaceful and restful, and photographed just beautifully. The entire staff did their best to make us feel welcome and at home.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
9/16/2012
5.0/5.0
This is the best wedding venue I have ever been to. And I am not just saying this because this is where I had my wedding last week. The grounds are magnificant, the reception area is magical, and the owner Lynn is a gem. She makes sure your wedding is planned so perfectly, you would think you were Cinderella by the end of the evening being whisked away by your prince. And that's just the wedding. My family couldn't have been more pleased staying in the inn after the wedding. The inn has so much history and is so perfect in its own right. The staff is perfect and your morning breakfast is cooked by the best of the best.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mallory
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this venue and the staff! The owner, Lynn and all of her staff were an absolute joy to work with. The attention to detail was impecible. Everyone was always so warm, welcoming and professional. The rooms were all beautiful and the breakfast for us and our bridal party was lovely. Lynn was always in communication with me about all the details for our wedding. Two weeks before the wedding we had a very detailed walk-through and it was such an incredible relief to know that Lynn had everything covered. She had all the contact info for our vendors and made sure that everything came together smoothly the day of the wedding. During my planning I came across some not so friendly vendors but Lynn and everyone at the Black Horse were like family taking care of you with a constant smile on their faces! I cried when we had to leave. And I haven't even mentioned the facilities! The grounds are absolutely breathtaking! Beautifully manicured grass, mature trees, the historic inn and the horses in the pasture were an amazing backdrop for our wedding. The reception hall is perfectly elegant with hardwood floors, a stone fireplace and 360 degrees of windows overlooking the grounds. I absolutley recommend this venue to brides and to vacationers that want to stay at a beautiful bed and breakfast. Love Love Love the Black Horse Inn!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherry
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
This is an outstanding venue. Lynn, Joyce, Carrie and Pam made this entire event very special for us. They went above and beyond with all the details. We did not have to worry about a single thing on the day of the wedding. I highly recommend this venue if you are planning a wedding or any event in the near future.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debbie
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Black Horse Inn was a spectacular venue for a wedding. The facility is beautiful and it was wonderful for the wedding party to all stay there to visit and get ready together. Lynn was great and Joyce was awesome.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
the best decision we made was choosing this venue. The venue is so beautiful and the staff so kind and helpful, that it will simply make other things work too. Lynn has also been very kind, responsive and helpful. One suggestion, choose one of their preferred vendors and save yourself a great deal of trouble. We wanted to go with a different vendor and although Lynn was so helpful, professional and doing her best to coordinate all the details with the vendor, at the end luckily we realized we are better off with one of their vendors, and it was a very wise decision that made our wedding day absolutely stress-free. We had a blast, and all the guests loved them. You won't go wrong with the BHI.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allthebest
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Lynn and her team did a phenomenal job. The setting was stunning, the rooms were perfect... it was so woderful to have both families together for the full weekend. Lynn paid attention to every aspect down to the finest details, like champagne and chocolates in the room, and even some extra champagne for my birthday! I am very thankful for Lynn and the Black Horse Inn for making our wedding weekend one that we will always remember, and I would highly recommend the Black Horse Inn to any couple that wants a spectacularly beautiful countryside wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam & Ben
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Lynn Pirozzoli, owner of Black Horse Inn, is a consummate and experienced professional. Her venue is absolutely stunning, even in late November. Black Horse Inn is elegant and classy with numerous options for an indoor or outdoor wedding. The Gilded Fox, the rolling hills and the Manor House make for gorgeous backdrops for wedding pictures. The real value of Black Horse Inn is Lynn herself. From day one, she instills the utmost confidence, provides you with a timeline for the big day bringing an immediate sense of calm and coordination, list of trust worthy vendors, listens well, detail oriented, and does everything she can to accommodate your wishes to ensure your dream wedding comes true. Lynn's staff is equally gracious attending to your every need. Absolutely perfect venue and staff! We were so happy with our wedding we went back the next day to say thank you to Lynn & give her a big hug!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg20
Benedetta
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I was married at the Black Horse Inn on November 12, 2011. If I were able to rate it higher than five stars, I would!
We had both our ceremony and reception at the Inn and had the entire, beautiful location booked (including all the guest rooms) for the entire weekend. Having the option of our closest friends and family stay there with us was one of the things that made it a truly special event.
The weekend started Friday evening with a fun wedding rehearsal, which Lynn (the owner) and her staff attended. It was clear from the start that they were absolutely fantastic, experienced professionals who worked patiently with our group and kept us on schedule (not an easy feat!). Our wedding ceremony took place in front of the gorgeous gazebo, with the tall old trees (full of lively chirping birds) as a backdrop. Lynn and her staff coordinated the seating of the families and timing of the wedding party and myself with perfect precision and everything went off without any glitches! After the ceremony, all the guests moved to the tented patio for the cocktail hour while we took pictures and then it was on to the Gilded Fox (the Inn's reception hall) for the reception, dinner, and dancing! All of the facilities are simply stunning, day or night!
I can't say enough about how helpful and attentive Lynn and her staff was. Special kudos go to Joyce, who, in the midst of EVERYTHING else we had going on, remembered to deliver a special note from me to my parents' guestroom during the reception so they would receive it at the end of the evening. From our first meeting with Lynn (7 months before the wedding) until it was all over, she was a fantastic resource and one of the most organized people I've ever worked with. They took care of all the details, including contacting all of my vendors so I didn't have to worry about any of it on the day of the wedding!
It has now been about six weeks since the wedding and people are still talking about how wonderful the Inn was...including, but not limited to, the delicious breakfasts, the comfy sitting areas where guests could just sit and talk, the friendly, attentive staff, and the beautiful decor and landscape. I would highly recommend the Black Horse Inn if you are looking for a truly special (and not just a cookie-cutter) wedding experience!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn was a beautiful location for our wedding. In addition to the unique venue, the staff catered to our needs and made our special event really memorable!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1318531856149-fbavatar2031544
Kate
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Lynn and all of the Black Horse Inn staff were amazing! They helped us plan and organize our wedding and reception, and really were the driving force behind the success of our wedding weekend. Throughout the planning process they were extremely helpful, providing lists of preferred vendors, information and ideas about wedding ceremonies, receptions, etc. On our wedding weekend, Lynn and all of the staff were a huge help to me in getting all of our attendants and family members organized for the reception and on the day of the wedding. Plus, the inn and grounds are absolutely gorgeous, and the staff make all guests feel at home. I cannot think of a more perfect place to get married! Thank you Lynn and everyone at BHI for helping us to have a perfect, memorable wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marian
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
We found the staff to be quite helpful , friendly , and flexible in accomodating our requests. I would recommend this venue to anyone planning an event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carly
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I would recommend having your wedding at the Black Horse Inn. Lynn and her staff truly are experienced and it is very comforting to know that the wedding would run smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1331777128541-freed77430749
Theresa
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Lynn at the Black Horse Inn was a lifesaver for our family! My daughter was living in Hawaii and we were living in Kansas and trying to plan a wedding in Virginia with a short suspense. Lynn helped us with every level of planning the wedding of our daughter's dreams that also fell within our budget. From the very first time I met with Lynn I knew that she understood our vision and would do everything she could to make it happen...even though I know it was frustrating to be dealing with mom in one state and the bride in another! The wedding was perfect in every way...a dream come true for our family!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
All I can really say is WOW! One of my guests said it best with "quality wedding from top to bottom" We were lucky that we were able to rent the Inn for the entire weekend and I have to say this was the best decision we could have ever made. From the start, Lynn and her team went above and beyond. I really did feel like a Princess for the weekend. All of our friends had commented on the attention to detail from the get go and were very impressed. Everything went smooth as could be (even when we had to change the ceremony location due to weather) no one would have every guessed this wasn't in the original plan. Everyone told us throughout the night that this was the best wedding they had ever been to....and I know it wouldn't have been possible without the experitse of Lynn and her staff. There is no doubt in my mind that we will be going back for years to come on our honeymoon...and who knows, maybe we will renew our vows in 5 just to do it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
abrownstein
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous venue, welcoming host, VERY well organized!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dan
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I do not hesitate to recommend whole heartedly The Black Horse Inn. The Black Horse Inn provided the perfect venue for our daughters wedding reception. The grounds and the Gilded Fox were immaculate. Lynn and her staff were accommodating, competent, and professional in every way.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
My Husband and I were looking for a Reception venue that offered class, room for comfortable seating and dancing, and a great view. With the Black Horse in we got all three.
Planning a wedding is a lot of work, however once my husband and I chose the Black Horse Inn for our Reception venue, they cut our work in half. they gave us lists of other vendors for music and food that allowed us to trust who we were using.

THe Black Horse Inn is a beautiful venue that gave us a magical night to share our wedding with our family and friends.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beebee722
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
On July 23, 2011, my son and daughter-in-law were married at the Black Horse Inn. I cannot say enough nice things about the Lynn and her staff. Whether it was rescuing us via phone when we were lost or helping guest move babies and mothers about the property in golf carts, they were there for us with a smile. I was lucky enough to be a guest at the bed and breakfast for the weekend and enjoyed delicious, creative meals each morning. The Black Horse Inn is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and was a wonderful place to relax between the wedding events and visit with family.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ANN
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a wedding venue that will leave people asking "How did you ever find such a perfect place to have a wedding?" then head to the Black Horse Inn. The Inn itself and the grounds provided a romantic location to house family and friends for the weekend of our daughter's wedding. The reception building "The Gilded Fox" is absolutely gorgeous and a short walk from the Inn. We were expertly guided through the planning process by the owner, Lynn and the weekend of the wedding treated beautifully by her staff. They could have not been more helpful and calming tending to the bride and mother of the bride's every need! Extended family and friends stayed at the various hotels and B&Bs in the area. The town of Warrenton provided shops and restaurants for those staying the weekend. Being from N.J. we were considering the Hudson Valley to provide us with a venue of space, views and exclusivity. We are so glad that we looked south instead for an easy "destination" wedding. The day and the weekend was a complete success!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chuterj
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn in Warrenton, Virginia exceeded our expectations as a venue for our daughter's wedding. Not only did we have the absolutely perfect outdoor setting for the ceremony, and a fabulous facility for the reception, but the Inn itself served as a fairy tale setting for the bridal party to live in for two days and two nights. The facilities were immaculate, well maintained, and exceedingly comfortable. As pleased as we are with the facilities, they do not compare to the service provided by Lynn Pirozzoli and her staff. Lynn is the CEO and owner of the Black Horse Inn, and the Mastermind behind providing our daughter with the perfect wedding. Her staff made all of us feel like royalty. Lynn worked with us in the months leading up to the wedding, too. She provided a list of recommended vendors for virtually every service needed, giving us a head start in our search for all the usual arrangements. I could go on and on singing praises for Lynn and her crew. I vigorously recommend the Black Horse Inn for your wedding venue. Thank You Lynn!

Jeff Swynenberg, Father of the Bride
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Candice Knarr-Scott
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn is the perfect place to have a wedding. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is knowledgeable, and Lynn was very helpful. There was no need to have a wedding planner Lynn, Joyce, and her staff helped us through everything! The wedding went smoothly, the staff set up pretty much everything for us, told us where to be and what to do. I was also impressed that Lynn had all of the vendors contact information and schedules. I knew that if someone didn't show up or did something wrong she would take care of it. It helped relieve a lot of stress. The Black Horse Inn helped make our wedding day dreams come true...I wish I could do it again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MOBMK
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Our daughter was married at the Black Horse Inn this past weekend. We had planned a garden wedding at the gazebo and rain was in the forecast. Lynn (the owner) was fantastic. She ran a hour by hour weather report so that we would be able to make an informative decision on where to have the ceremony. The staff was ready and willing to make the necessary changes if needed. We were able to have the wedding outside and it was beautiful. The staff were so responsive to our needs. Golf carts were available for the elderly to be transported from one venue to the other and this relieved alot of concerns. After the ceremony we moved to the tented cocktail hour. The tent was beautiful and our guests were very comfortable. Shortly after we moved into the Guilded Fox for the reception the rain came in torrents. As our guests were departing the reception Lynn and her staff arranged to transport our guests to their cars. We were so impressed that they had the forsight to arrange this service. Our stay for the weekend was spectacular. Thank you to Joyce for her wonderful stuffed french toast, breakfast quiche and sparkling personality. During the entire year of planning for this special day Lynn and her staff were very helpful and responsive. Anytime I had a question they were immediately back to me with an answer. Prior to the wedding we were able to access the Guilded Fox and Garden Terrace to decorate. Pam and Fatima were there helping and seeing to our every need. By the time the wedding day actually arrived we were ready and relaxed. I cannot say enough good things about the service we received at the Black Horse Inn. We experienced true "Southern Hospitality". I would highly recommend the BHI to anyone planning a wedding, anniversary, or weekend get away. The enitre venue is very picturesque and the children at the wedding totally enjoyed feeding and petting the horses. Thank you Lynn, Mel, Pam, Joyce and Fatima for all you did to make our daughter's wedding day so spectacular. You all have a special place in our hearts.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hp090411
Wedding:
4/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I figured it was time I wrote you to introduce myself and talk wedding details! I know you met with my mother last weekend, and she has been doing most (if not all) of my wedding planning so far.

First of all, I want to thank you...profusely...for what you are doing for us. When I first was looking at wedding venues in the DC area, the Black Horse Inn caught my eye (I'll spare you details of what I'm sure my mother told you...that I have been a horse person since I was 10 years old)...but after looking at the prices realized it was out of our budget. So thank you, thank you, thank you for making this happen for us.

I also want to thank you for how easy it has been...as excited as I am for this marriage, I was dreading the actual wedding planning since it was going to have to be done FROM Hawaii, while I am also preparing for a deployment to Afghanistan. My mother has been my saving grace (though I am sure I have tried her patience!) and she was glowing after meeting with you and figuring everything out. So thank you for turning this process into a painless one.

Your property is gorgeous, and I am beyond excited that I am going to be able to take wedding pictures with horses! I rode daily up until leaving high school, and then joined the equestrian team in college. Unfortunately I broke my wrist my junior year and was unable to ride for most of my senior year. After graduating, the army training started, and I've realized that I'm probably not going to be able to get another horse until either I get out of the army, or I definitely won't be going on deployments anymore. I'm trying to find a place in Hawaii to be able to ride, if only occasionally. With the stress of wedding planning and deployment preparation, being able to ride every once in a while may actually work miracles for me!

So thank you for everything you are doing for us!

Also if you have any tips or hints about the wedding planning or decorating I would GREATLY appreciate it. I am sure you have done a million weddings and you have seen what works well and what doesnt.

again, thank you so much for everything, and I will keep you updated on everything!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1293416569099-lhl0566
Marion
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
We held our 11 December 2010 wedding at the Black Horse Inn. At our first visit in September, we knew the Black Horse Inn was the perfect setting for our wedding. It was our first venue visit and we decided there was no need to look further. If you are looking for an elegant, peaceful, and private setting for a wedding, the Black Horse Inn is the perfect venue. I'm certain you cannot find the same care and attention that we experienced with Lynn and Jennifer at any other venue--no fancy hotel is going to provide the level of service we received. Throughout all of the planning and on the wedding day, Lynn and Jennifer cared about every detail just as we did to make our weekend perfect.

The moment you arrive at the Inn, you know you have entered a special place. The rooms have so much character and the grounds are perfectly manicured. Our family and friends felt welcomed and relaxed throughout the weekend. The staff at the Inn are attentive and will cater to any need. They were always checking to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.

Given our December wedding date, weather was a concern to us and unpredictable. Lynn and Jennifer were so flexible about the contingencies in the event we had bad weather. They made us feel at ease and that no matter what, they would make it work. It turned out that we had the warmest day (44 degrees) in December. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour outside under a tent at one of the terraces and it worked perfectly. Our guests were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery and Lynn's horses frolicking in the field. The dinner reception was in the Gilded Fox Ballroom, which is an elegant, spacious, and private venue. Many of our guests commented how beautiful the ballroom was.

The Black Horse Inn is a memorable place to have a wedding any time of the year. We believe the Inn was a magical and perfect venue for our December wedding. The Inn's tasteful Christmas decorations inside and out looked amazing and was a perfect backdrop for our pictures. We highly recommend you make a point to visit the Inn before finalizing your selection of venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bradunas
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
This past weekend, we were involved with our brothers wedding, and it all happened at the Black Horse Inn. In August, he told us he was getting married, and the wedding would be this December. We were stunned to say the least, and thought that there would be a lot of bumps along the way.

The Black Horse Inn did a wonderful job. The lodging, the wedding ceremony, the cocktail hour, the wedding reception, all on the premises, happened without a hitch. They took great care of us and anything we asked for we received with a smile. The picturesque settings gave the photographer a lot of choices. Everything was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season and even the horses got involved in the photos.

The entire weekend was very memorable and enjoyable. We would not hesitate to recommend the Black Horse Inn as an event venue to all of our friends and family. It was truly a wonderful weekend.

-Karole and Terry Bradunas
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn is a great place for a special event, in my case, my daughter's wedding and reception. The Black Horse is a beautiful old estate, furnished in period (circa 1850s) decor, which provided a great backdrop for our event. We arrived to find the entire estate adorned inside and out in Christmas decorations. Our rooms were fitted out with antique furnishings and were most comfortable. All our needs had been taken care of; the very few requests that did occur were satisfied immediately by the dedicated and friendly staff. In short, we had a great weekend in a great place with a great staff who made it all too easy. Thank you for helping create our wonderful memories.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Proud Mother of the Bride
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Hats off to the entire staff at The Black Horse Inn for making sure my daughter (Robin) and her Prince Charming (Than) had the most amzingly romantic, magical, fairy tale wedding on Saturday, October 30, 2010! The Inn and all its surroundings provided an absolutely gorgeous background for the ceremony, and MANY MANY photo opportunities throughout the weekend. The bride, groom and all the guests at The Inn were treated with warmth and kindness (and great food) throughout our visit. Thank you, Lynn and staff, for making this such a wonderful weekend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trethy
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse Inn is a rare treasure unsurpassed by any other! Our son married there and it was above and beyond anything we could have imagined. Our family runs the full span from a very active two year old grandson to a cancer ridden ninety three year old great grandpa. As retired professional people we have entertained agents at five star resorts all over the world. We have never felt more lovingly cared for anywhere than we did at The black Horse Inn. The staff knew our needs better than we did as they drove Great Grandpa in their cart getting him to the wedding and reception making our wish for his presence become a reality which we will treasure forever. One of my favorite memories is that of our two year old grandson arriving for breakfast all by himself in his jammies and bear feet. Another is a the spontaneous invitation by a staff member for our three grandchildren to visit the beautiful horses in their stalls. Most exciting of all is that of the horses running across the pasture as if to personally say, "Congratulations!" to the bride and groom as they posed for their wedding portraits immediately after their ceremony. Inn keeper, Lynn, and her main staff member, Joyce, have the rare gift of lovingly caring for their guest with an abundance of warmth and grace all of which radiates through out this wonderful estate. We hope we have the pleasure of returning to The Black Horse Inn soon.

Most sincerely, Diane Krueger
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josick
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Beatiful house and grounds, excellent setup for both cocktail hour and reception
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1289193105885-img15621
Katie & Erich
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Katie’s and Erich’s Wedding Weekend at the Black Horse Inn was a most beautiful experience. On a scale of 5.0, Lynn Pirozzoli, and the Black Horse Inn merit a 10.0 and then some. Beginning with our first meeting with Lynn on a snowy January weekend until our daughter’s wedding on October 23, we received first class treatment with every detail. Lynn is genuine in every way and her website for the Black Horse Inn is a very accurate depiction of the property.

My husband and I are tough critics, however, we were very confident throughout the 10 months of wedding planning that Lynn and her amazing staff would make sure everything ran smoothly and that the setting was beautiful. Every time we contacted Lynn or Jennifer (whether by email or telephone), the response was immediate regardless of the request. On our daughter’s and son-in-law’s wedding day, Lynn, Jennifer, Joyce M., Pam, and Joyce R were amazing and handled all of the details so that we could enjoy the day. They are all very warm and kind and put us at ease.

Our families and wedding party arrived at various times on Friday and were graciously welcomed by Lynn and her staff, providing a lovely fruit and cheese display with wine and other beverages. I can’t say enough about the accommodations which are so beautiful with very comfortable beds, and rooms that are clean beyond belief.

Joyce M arrived early every morning to make sure our guests had coffee, tea, etc. and breakfast whenever they wished. The breakfasts are so delicious – more food than one can imagine – as an example: fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, sausages, French toast, an assortment of breakfast breads and goodies – beautiful presentation. And the tables are set up in sunlit rooms overlooking the beautiful grounds.

Our guests continue to comment that they had never attended such a beautiful wedding and reception and that they had the best time ever at a wedding reception. Jennifer was amazing in keeping things running smoothly. The tables were arranged exactly as we wished and the décor provided by the Black Horse Inn made the room look spectacular. It was truly amazing. And the cost for this venue is much more reasonable than most hotels or other reception venues in the Washington, D.C. area.

When I told Lynn that some of our guests would require babysitting services, she responded immediately recommending a member of her staff, Joyce R, who is not only a seasoned babysitter, but a wonderful person with incredibly reasonable fees. The kids loved her and the parents were able to enjoy the reception knowing their children were in excellent hands.

Lynn and her staff took care of us the entire wedding weekend. They were always in “the right place at the right time”. Lynn, Jennifer, Joyce M, Pam, and Joyce R. made our daughter’s and son-in-law’s wedding weekend beautiful beyond our dreams.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
My Husband and I were married at the Black Horse Inn in October of 2010 and had beautiful wedding. Lynne (the owner), Pam, Jennifer, and the entire staff were helpful and accomodating, and the Black Horse is the perfect venue for a wedding weekend. Having a whole weekend to spend your wedding is well worth the money and makes for the best memories. My husband and I recently spent Valentines Day Weekend 2012 at the Black Horse Inn and were once again in awe of the property's splendor and beauty. I would recommend the Black Horse Inn as not only the perfect wedding venue, but also the perfect place for a romantic weekend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LQ
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding weekend at the Black Horse Inn and found both the inn and staff to be exceptional. As the Bride, I felt I was in good hands and appreciated all the extras the Inn did to make my day more special. Lynn and her staff are organized and professional and did their best to keep the wedding on time even after an emergency arose. The venue could have not been more beautiful and perfect for our wedding day. Having a whole weekend to spend with family and friends was special and we liked that the Inn allowed us to come a few days ahead to set up the room. This allowed us the time to make sure everything was perfect and helped ease the tension of having so many moving parts to a wedding. The Black Horse Inn is an exceptional venue and I could not have been happier with our wedding weekend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
The grounds, accomodations and staff of the Blackhorse Inn were all outstanding for our duaghter's wedding October 16. The Inn was cozy and charming and decorated with lovely antiques. It was the perfect place for a week end wedding. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a beautifully appointed dining room. The staff was very accomodating and helpful to all of us and our guests. The gazebo area for the ceremony was charming and unique, The patio area for the pre-reception cocktail and hors douerves hour was excellent and well appointed with a fountain and bridge. The Gilded Fox building for the reception was exceptional and beautiful with its own fireplace and patio area and accomadated the sit down dinner with dancing very nicely. All in all it made for a picture perfect wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married this past weekend at The Black Horse Inn. Our guests were treated to a magical weekend event in one of the most beautiful settings in Virginia. Anyone can dress up a hall and make it look nice for a ceremony. At the Inn you have the quaint gazebo for your service, tented patios for cocktails, and then the reception at the lovely Gilded Fox, which boasts gorgeous countryside views where beautiful horses (who are more than happy to pose with guests)can be seen grazing in the fields. The Inn itself is a spectacular manor home where we housed the wedding party along with the parents and grandparents of both bride and groom. It was spacious, comfortable and a great way for the two families to bond and relax after all the months of planning. The staff there could not be more personable or professional. Pam and Joyce were wonderful, taking care of our every need (and cooking a fabulous breakfast for 18 each morning) From the very beginning (about a year ago) when we first reserved the place, Lynn and Jennifer worked with us on every detail and throughout the entire year made themselves available to us with their wisdom and advice. Once we arrived for the actual event, they took over, keeping everything on track, spoiling our guests and releasing me from any stress. We truly were relaxed!! And we were able to kick back, enjoy family and friends, and have fun!!! How many mother's of the bride can say that about the day before and day of their daughter's wedding? It was absolutely fabulous and I would highly recommend the experience to any bride and groom!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Our son was married this past weekend (10/10/10) at the Black Horse Inn. The event could not have been more perfect. Lynn, Jennifer, and Pam worked tirelessly to provide us with superb service and attention to every detail to make our weekend event memorable and beautiful. These three women are so conscientious and organized. They were availlable to assist our every need. Lynn, Jennifer, and Pam had many suggestions on how to make our event truly special. The setting is glorious. Lynn has made every room in the Inn so pretty and comfortable. The banquet hall provides a unique setting for a wedding reception or dinner dance. The outside facilities, including two terraces and a gazebo are wonderful and multi-funtional for parties and ceremonies. My husband and I were so pleased with everything.

Wendy
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lukaposh
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I recently got married at the Black Horse Inn, and can't express how wonderful it was! The venue itself is breath taking, perfect for wedding photos! My whole wedding party along with parents and grandparents were able to stay at the manor home, which was spacious and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensures everyone's needs were met (cooking, cleaning, etc). Lynn and Jennifer ensured that every detail was planned (to the minute) for the entire wedding weekend. I didn't even need a wedding planner with Lynn and Jennifer around. Not only were they fantastic the weekend of the wedding, but they were helpful from the day we met with them. All my guests and even other vendors have stated how wonderful the Black Horse Inn was. I can't thank them enough, and would highly recommend this venue and experience to any future couples!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wowed by the wedding
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Our daughter and her husband had their wedding and reception at the Black Horse Inn and it was like something out of a movie. The grounds and buildings are vintage, classy, warm and well-maintained. There is a separate building that was set-up for the brides/girls domain (where all the girls had hair and make-up done, got massages, got dressed, hung out), separate quarters for the groom and his comrades, housing for the wedding party and families for the wedding weekend, and another beautiful building where dinner, dancing, and the wedding party was held. The site for the ceremony was intimate, and romantic. The staff were accomodating and friendly. It was a lovely weekend, in an idyllic setting.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
The Black Horse was absolutely perfect. They helped with any issues that came up and it was like working with family as each staff member cared so much that the day go off perfectly. I could not have asked for a better venue with better staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zivago & Melanie
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I could write for days about how wonderful a time we had at the Black Horse Inn. But let me say that my entire party of about 80 people gave this event a 12 out of 10. Lynn is like a flower and the nicest person in the world. She went out of her way in so many ways, went above and beyond the call of duty, and treated us all like family. Her staff was so nice, I wanted to take them with me on the honeymoon. I have to stop thinking about this place because it brings tears of joy to my eyes. It was a perfect event, I will be visiting for weekend getaways and we will be holding some events there again. My wife and I are very happy with our experience and we will for life be a walking billboard for Black Horse Inn.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1274901557725-074
Caitlin
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at the Black Horse Inn on September 18, 2010 and could not have asked for a more perfect experience! Lynn & Jennifer were both amazing in giving us advice along the way and making our day more perfect than either of us could have ever imagined! Also, Pam & Joyce were great and were very patient with our group of 25 that stayed! With all of the help that we received I didn't think twice about not hiring a wedding planner.

We loved being able to have our bridal party & parents stay with us the entire weekend...it felt so much more like an event versus a few hours together. While I got my hair & makeup done, Lynn set up shotgun shooting for my husband and the groomsmen at the last minute because other plans had fallen through and they all loved it! (Thanks again, Lynn, for the recommendation!) Also, during the reception, Jennifer kept us on schedule before the dancing started so that she could make sure that we ate first before we starting making our rounds with the guests.

Overall, Black Horse Inn is an amazing location for your dream wedding with fabulous spots for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, dancing and pictures! We have received so many compliments from our guests on how great Black Horse was! If you are even somewhat considering it as a possible venue, I urge you to go check it out - you will not be disappointed with the location and will fall in love with everyone there (even the horses)!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fs2c
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Lynn, Jennifer, Pam and Joyce were INCREDIBLE!! They made our wedding weekend a truly amazing experience. Lynn is extremely responsive - I always got a response within 24 hours to any questions, updates or requests I had. All my bridesmaid stayed with me the night before the wedding at the Hunt Box and it was a priceless experience. After the rehearsal dinner, all of the bridesmaids, groomsmen, and our family staying at the Inn were able to continue the party in the parlor. It was so great to have all of our bridal party and our family stay with us - we all got to bond so much during the weekend and it put everyone at ease. The venue itself offers many options and was perfect for our multi-day affair. We had the rehearsal dinner/Indian Pithi ceremony on the tented terrace on Friday, the ceremony at the Gazebo, cocktail hour on the terrace, reception at the Gilded Fox, and the cigar bar on the terrace adjoining the Gilded Fox.

Joyce is so friendly and made all our guests feel so comfortable. Jennifer worked flawlessly with our day-of-coordinators to make sure everything went exactly as planned. Our guests at the Inn were wowed by the look, feel, and experience of the weekend, and our friends and family were amazed by the beauty of the facilities and grounds. We would absolutely recommend this place without any reservations. It is a little pricey, but we thought it was worth every penny to have a relaxed, stress-free weekend with our family and friends.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lily
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Lynn & the Staff at The Black Horse Inn,

I just wanted to say again, THANK YOU! we had a wonderful time!! I'm kind of wishing we took more posed shots of us in your beautiful inn, but my friends and family got some great photos just the same! We had a wonderful evening and the room was awesome!
Breakfast was delicious!! Could not have asked for better!! Everyone enjoyed themselves. They were all especially intrigued with the hauntings you've experienced. We all read the news articles :) Our13 yr old asked us the next day if we saw any ghosts...he was disappointed when I said no ha! I have to say I did dream of my dad quite vividly that night, which I haven't in a long time. He passed 3 years ago, we were very close....he was hoping Rich and I would marry some day! I wish he was still here to have witnessed the event, but I have a feeling he was!

Again, thank you for the most perfect day!!

Trish & Rich Antonuccio
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
South Carolina Bride
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Get rid of all your worries. Lynn will gracefully shoulder your stress and make your wedding day absolutely PERFECT. Lynn is so detailed oriented with every appointment, you'll instantly know you are at the right place. Relax and make your job "being the beautiful bride" while Lynn makes your day a beautiful memory. Your family will be comfortable and enjoy a relaxing afternoon on the veranda or in the gardens, or by the classic pond with the little white bridge (great for pictures)while the entire event comes alive. Cannot say enough about the Gilded Fox Reception Center. Gorgeous. Location photograhs beautifully, stoically, romantically.............
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ellencribbs
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I had my dream wedding at the Black Horse Inn. We actually had a lot of unexpected snow the day of the wedding, but the wonderful staff took care of everything and turned a potential weather nightmare into a magical winter wonderland wedding! They even let my ring bearers borrow some sleds to have some fun in the snow the morning of the wedding! The Inn, the grounds, and the reception building are stunningly beautiful (especially in the winter with all the holiday decorations). It was so nice to have my close family stay at the Inn the day before and the day of the wedding so that no one had to rush around on the day. The staff took care of everyone and were so friendly and organized. They really care about our special day. I would recommend the Black Horse Inn to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Princess
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Our dream wedding came true. Where else could we get a georgeous mansion all to ourselves and our immediate family and a fabulous staff that paid attention to all the details. Everything went flawlessly, from the moment we arrived, we felt warm and comfortable with the assurance that the ceremony and reception would be perfect from start to finish. Value for the cost---definitely a 5.0 out of 5.0. It was over the top and we didn't have to worry about a thing. The Inn, ballroom and the grounds a photographer's dream. Jennifer, Lynn and Joyce bent over backwards to accomodate our every need. If you want a perfect wedding, I recommend the Black Horse Inn. They are the ultimate professionals.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karina
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Black Horse Inn was the best vendor we worked with for our wedding. I've been married for more than 3 years now and although it's taken me this long to put up a review, it's not a reflection of the great work Lynn and her staff did for our wedding.
I chose the location because it's beautiful and thought it would be even more beautiful on a sunny, fall day. My wedding day ended up having 50 degree weather and rain. Lynn is so experienced that she was able to convince me to change the ceremony site to the backup location...as much as i really wanted to have our ceremony at the gazebo. On the day of the wedding, I had given up on having perfect weather but was surprised at how Lynn and staff handled everything. Suffice it to say, it was perfect.
The fact that we were there the whole weekend was great. It was almost as if I got married in our home. My family felt at home so much that we play around with the idea to rent out the place for Christmas. It was that home-y.
Despite the weather, I had my dream wedding and I wanted to thank Lynn and staff for helping make it possible.
I only wished the place was bigger so I could have invited more people AND that the county didn't have a noise ordinance so we could have partied later. None of our guests were ready to leave by 10 PM.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

Thank you Karina. We look forward to seeing you on your anniversary if not sooner! You are the BEST!!!! :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We stayed here as party of a cousin's wedding party. The Inn was incredible! The staff took every opportunity to make us feel at home, and we were never greeted with anything other than a smile, even when the staff was busy. The food provided by the Inn was exemplary as well, and the staff even gave us a tour of their kitchen area, which was very clean and well organized. The rooms are wonderful as well, and you can feel the history as you lie there in the quiet of the evening. The Black Horse Inn is in a lovely location, and overall was just a treat for all of us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

Thank you Jason! We loved having you and your beautiful wife stay with us and we enjoyed your love for Civil War history. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Having my wedding at the Black Horse was the best decision I could have made. My husband and I, though legally married several years, had never had a real wedding due to illness and financial issues. Lynn saw to it that when we did have our wedding that it was absolutely perfect! The staff at the Inn were completely attentive to my family and our needs. I am still hearing about what a wonderful night it was from friends and family that attended. As I look through our pictures I relive that day and the feeling of complete bliss and happiness that I felt that day comes back to me again. I keep a picture next to my desk to give my spirits a lift whenever I need one! All I can say is that I can't imagine a better wedding or a better place to have a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eddie
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Dreams do come true! Having my Wedding at the Black Horse Inn was beyond my expections,and the facility was extremly memoriable and historic!
The staff went above and beyond to ensure a successful event that was timely and to perfection!!! The value for the cost right on target. As a matter of fact, they provided so many extras, compliments of the the Black Horse Inn, that really made our wedding and reception really special, particularly when we were on a fixed budget. The staff was really flexible in formulating the agenda, and making all of our specifics work out logistically. I highly recommend the Black Horse Inn. Great price. Great value for the price and the PERFECT wedding! Thank you Black Horse Inn!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
I would recommend this venue to everyone! It was such a unique experience for me and my guests. Me, my husband, our families, and the rest of our wedding party stayed in the Inn the entire weekend eliminating any unnecessary transportation or stress. The Inn staff waited on us hand and foot and made us feel completely at home. The actual wedding went by like a blur so it was really nice to have the entire weekend to celebrate and spend with family. The Inn also set up some wonderful activities for our guests so that before the rehearsal dinner the ladies all went out for wine tasting while the men golfed. It was a truly special weekend and we are so grateful to Lynn and her staff for making it so special for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
I could not have asked for a more perfect wedding, and I contribute just about everything to the venue and the wonderful owner (Lynn). The on site event coordinator who I worked with to coordinate my entire wedding quit 3 weeks before my wedding. Lynn is so amazing, and she made sure the day was still perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
I simply do not know where to begin. The wedding weekend was perfect and it is no wonder why. The Inn's staff worked with us on all the details to make all my dreams come true. The staff keeps in touch with current trends and each one was implemented to perfection.

Friday evening, we gathered on the gracious old sitting porch for our rehearsal where wine and cheese was served to our family and friends. It was a great way to sooth our nerves and break the ice between the families. Our rehearsal dinner was on the Garden Terrace and the weather was perfect along with the setting. We marveled at our good fortune to be sitting out there with good friends on such a night. The conversation was lively and intimate.

That evening, we wandered into the interior rooms of the parlor and sitting room adjacent to the porch and my bridesmaids told "bedtime stories" while we painted our nails and conducted our night regimen of beauty treatments. We stayed up as long as our eyelids would allow and then floated upstairs to our beautiful boudoirs wishing each other a good nights sleep, hating to see it end but welcoming the rest.

The Inn itself is one of the finest I have ever visited. My fiance (now husband) and I have frequented many in Virginia and consider ourselves experts on fine lodging. The BlackHorse Inn has achieved a level of excellence and maintenance that is rarely seen in such an old facility. We ourselves live in a house over 100 years old and can appreciate how much it takes to keep things in a good state of repair! The Inn is not only beautifully maintained, but decorated perfectly, each room rivaling the next. There is not the slightest hint of disrepair and every room is immaculate, a difficult accomplishment in such an old structure. Many Inns, although lovely, still smell dank and musty. Not so at The Black Horse Inn! You have no idea what a gift it was to allow us to stay at the Inn for the entire weekend. No detail went unnoticed from the pink lemonade to the beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts. The sheets were soft, the towels were fluffy and every room was clean clean clean! And breakfast was scruptious and completely decadent! I ate everything!!! Orange juice in crystal glasses....too much luxury to be sure!

The wedding ceremony was in the gazebo, adorned with flowers that bloom all year. White chairs were set up in semi-circular arches, so that all of our guests could witness every detail. After the ceremony, we took lots of photos around the property. It is a panorama for photographers. Every step you take is a perfect setting for fabulous pictures. The horses even posed for us in a few! Our guests enjoyed cocktails on the Garden Terrace during our photo session and adults and children alike delighted in standing on the bridge at the koi pond, watching the fish, the waterfall and the horses.

The reception was in the Gilded Fox. WOW!!! What a beautiful grand ballroom and impeccably kept. French doors open onto a flagstone terrace that is straight out of the Great Gatsby era. We danced the night away and never had a worry. The Inn's wedding coordinator, Jennifer, took care of every detail. We didn't have to worry about a thing! Everything was on time and as planned. Her attention to detail was priceless.

We left around 11 AM on Sunday. We all hugged and kissed and thanked Lynn again and again for arranging such a wonderful and magical retreat so close to home and yet far enough away to provide a beautiful wedding venue for all of us. You made it possible with your generosity, flexibility and trust in us, complete strangers who needed a place to enjoy each other for the entire weekend. It was terrific to be together, to share, to laugh, to cry, to rest and to hug each other. It was such a gift to have our wedding at the Black Horse Inn!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DC Girl
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Beautiful private setting for our whole weekend. Arriving on Friday afternoon to cheese & wine helped with last minute stress! Rehearsal dinner was on one of the flagstone terraces. Ceremony down in the boxwood garden in front of the white gazebo. Garden terrace cocktail hour for 150 guests while we had family portraits (even with their horses) was just perfect. The ballroom was so elegant and the recommended caterer really pulled it off. We had about 20 family & bridal party staying at the Inn, with the rest of out of towners at a large hotel 5 mins away. We invited extra guests back over to the Inn for Sunday breakfast before everyone went back to the real world! Convenient (<1hr from DC)but we sere still in beautiful fox-hunting countryside. Lynn, the gracious host/owner made great recommendations. Wedding planning and Inn staff were outstanding. I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for a unique historic location above the stand-by DC hotel ballroom. It was like having a "destination" wedding - without having to buy plane tickets!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fannyred45
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had the perfect wedding at the Black Horse Inn. We loved having the entire house and grounds for the whole weekend. Lynn ensured that the grounds were perfectly maintained and we were proud to host our guests at this venue. We used all vendors from Lynn's preferred list and received first-rate service. The breakfast was delicious. We also love that we have the option to visit for anniversaries. Would absolutely recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
m_mcdaniel
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.9/5.0
Lynn and the Black Horse team are fantastic! The venue itself is absolutely stunning. Most of our guests couldn't believe how stunning the venue is once you are live and in person (the website doesn't do it justice). It is pricey, so be prepared, but keep in mind that the venue is yours for the entire weekend. How else could you get your whole family (both sides) in one place at one time, all to yourself.

The housekeeper and grounds staff went out of their way to ensure our family (and US) had a fantastic experience.The food the ladies fixed was delicious, they were always willing to find us something to eat, drink, extra towels, I mean they just went out of their way.

The only reason I gave 4.5 stars on Value, I would have liked to have additional King beds. I know the rooms are a bit smaller b/c its a beautiful old mansion. But my father is 6'4, my husband's father is 6'3, and my BIL is 6'3, so there just weren't enough big beds to go around. They made do though, no biggie. :)

Like I said before, the Black Horse is wonderful. Lynn is a kindred spirit (we both may be the most organized women on the planet) and has this down to a science. She knows timing, she knows placement, she knows what people are going to like, what they aren't going to like, its really absolutely wonderful and I would recommend holding your wedding there to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
1/25/2014
4.8/5.0
We recently had our wedding at the Black Horse Inn, and I can't imagine having a nicer venue. We got their Gold package, which meant that we had the entire property to ourselves from Friday through Sunday. Having the whole place to ourselves made the whole weekend more relaxing than competing for space and time with other events like we would have if we'd just rented out an event hall for the evening. We could start bringing things down and setting them up on Thursday before the wedding and had all of Sunday to un-decorate, rather than having a marathon decorating session Friday night and Saturday morning and un-decorating in the wee hours of Sunday morning after the reception like we would have with most other reception venues.

The staff was very helpful and professional and kept everything running smoothly and on time the whole weekend and helped keep my guests staying at the inn occupied and entertained while I was busy decorating and getting ready for the wedding. If we had a problems with anything, they were quick to come up with a solution.

This was also the only venue in the area that would let me have my horse be a guest at my wedding, and it made for some amazing pictures. The whole property is gorgeous, my photographer had never done a wedding there before and was just blown away by the sheer number of great photo locations.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
After our wedding we stayed at the Blackhorse Inn as a mini-moon before the full honeymoon later this year. They were flexible in adding additional features to our stay, such as roses and champagne for the room, and all of the staff were incredibly kind, warm, and accommodating. For a two-night stay at a bed and breakfast, there are plenty that we have stayed with that were less expensive, but none at all that offered free drinks, wine and cheese plates, fresh fruit, and bottles of wine, at any time of day or night for their guests. The house, rooms, and grounds are wonderfully appointed and well kept, and we thoroughly enjoyed taking advantage of the sitting, dining, sun room, and various chairs about the yards for unwinding after a strenuous wedding.
Services Used: Travel, Unique Services
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your kind review. We can only aspire to improve our ranking to a 5.0, and we hope that your limousine ride through wine country was worth the value! We hope to see you upon your return from your "real" honeymoon in the South Pacific! All the best!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.8/5.0
The Black Horse Inn is an exceptional venue with wonderful value, beautiful setting and classy service. The staff was not only outstanding, but also very personable. I would highly recommend the Black Horse Inn to anyone wanting the full package at one amazing site!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
3/29/2014
4.7/5.0
I got married two weeks ago at the Black Horse Inn, and it truly was the perfect venue for us. It was the very first venue we looked at in person, and we fell in love instantly. Lynn was a fantastic help, and really knows her way around event planning. She met with us several times over the year leading up to the wedding, and each time was very friendly, informative, and excited to help. Her enthusiasm, coupled with her 20 years' experience, really drove home the fact that we'd made the right decision. The venue itself is gorgeous, even in the winter. The wedding packages are a little pricey, but considering everything they include, they're definitely worth it. Also, because Lynn has been in the wedding industry for so long, she has a great list of recommended vendors for every part of the wedding, which is extraordinarily helpful, particularly for a slightly remote locale. The bed and breakfast is quaint, private, clean and well-kept. My bridesmaids and I used the Hunt Box, by the stables, as the bridal suite and loved it. The Gilded Fox (the reception hall) was perfect for our wedding of 115 people - I love the fireplace, the wood floors, and the floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the fields. Our wedding ceremony actually got rained out, and I was very impressed by the ease with which Lynn launched into Plan B hours before the start time, which was to hold the ceremony in the reception hall. Within 2 hours, the staff had moved all the tables closer to the walls, set up ceremony seating, and rearranged everything. It looked perfect, and our guests said they thought the Plan B was even nicer than having it outside would have been! I could go on and on and on about how wonderful Lynn, as well as every other BHI staff member, was, and how beautiful and perfect the place was, but the only way to truly appreciate it is to see it for yourself. I have to say that the Black Horse Inn really helped make my wedding day perfect, and I will always be grateful for that.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Black Horse Inn responded with the following comments:

Thank you Sarah! We loved all of your family and friends. Thank you for sharing them with us on your wedding day.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smchao
Wedding:
10/24/2009
4.7/5.0
Black Horse was a truly amazing place for a wedding. From the moment we walked in to tour the place, we knew that it was the place we were to be married. Looking back, choosing Black Horse was probably the best decision we made in the wedding planning process. It's prettier and much more charming in person than in the pictures on the website. All of our guests loved the setting. And having our family stay with us at the Inn for the entire weekend really made the weekend special for us. Having a couple of days to actually enjoy being around everyone in such a beautiful setting allowed us to enjoy the entire wedding experience even more.

At first it seemed as though the staff were rather rigid with our plans for the big day, which kind of stressed me out (hence the 4.5 for flexibility), but the days leading up to the wedding it all came together beautifully. Lynn and Jennifer really had the entire day down to a tee and everything went off without a hitch. I've been to a number of weddings where the bride hired day-of-coordinators, but Lynn and Jennifer were better than any coordinators I've seen.

Lynn's list of vendors was very helpful in the planning process and we felt very comfortable approaching all of them. My only exception is the DJ (Sound Decision - see review).

The 4.5 for value (although they surprised us by having tents up, which worked perfectly because it had rained right before the ceremony) is because the event had to end by 10pm. We understand why, but it was a little frustrating.

The staff was wonderful and incredibly accommodating. It honestly felt like coming home each time we went to visit. We will definitely be back for an anniversary and hope to be invited to someone else's wedding at Black Horse.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.6/5.0
I had my wedding at the Black Horse Inn in late August of this year. Overall, everything went beautifully and I was very happy with the experience. I worked closely with Jennifer, their wedding coordinator, and she took care of most of the details. They are very organized and use adgendas and schedules to ensure that there are no gaps in the staff communication. Having our family together at the house for the weekend was really nice too...aside from having a beautiful setting, it was a great chance for our two families to bond.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/4/2009
4.6/5.0
One of the best decisions I made was having my wedding at the Black Horse Inn. The location was stunning. Having the entire weekend-long event in one spot made for a relaxing wedding day, and the staff at Black Horse Inn waited on us hand and foot the entire time. Lynn gave us wedding planning time over several meetings and teleconferences; her experience was invaluable. She was always willing to answer questions by phone or email. We had an event coordinator the day of the wedding, though she was so intent on making everything perfect that she stressed me out a little!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Bg22
Lisa
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.6/5.0
Absolutely gorgeous venue! Top notch service, wonderful staff. It was the prefect location for our "Virginia" themed wedding. We can't wait to go back for a visit. The accommodations were perfect and the home cooked breakfast every morning was exquisite.

We were able to have our whole bridal party and family stay with us at the Inn for the entire weekend and host the wedding for the same price as some places wanted just to rent a space for 5 or 6 hours!

It's well worth the cost for a romantic retreat-like atmosphere for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
My Daughter's wedding was simply beautiful and the sitting for the wedding with the little fountain and the little bridge next to where the wedding vows were exchanged was picture perfect for that day. The owner of the Black Horse Inn even had her horses in the pasture for a breath taking back ground picture of the Bride & Groom at sunset. The day couldn't have been any better for an out in the county wedding with all the charm the Black Horse Inn had to offer.
The house where the wedding party and families stayed was phenomenal. The staff were so very kind and helpful to everyone staying there and they served a fantastic breakfast that everyone truly enjoyed. The Reception area was breath- taking with all the gold trim on the chairs and celing. The patio looked so amazing with the special lighting that the bride provided with fall leaves and little twinkle lights placed all around the outside of the patio. It definately was a story book dream come true Cinderella Wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Guest
Wedding:
10/16/2010
3.8/5.0
The majority of the staff was fantastic and helpful, especially during an emergency we had. However we felt rushed along and pushed, almost like this was a process, not a wedding. The following morning, instead of asking how we were and what could be done to make the Bride's morning better, we were pushed for feedback and asked to write perfect ratings. Felt like an advertising blitz. Also the staff was difficult about moving around dinner tables when we wanted more space for the bride and groom to enter the dinner reception. We had to have our groomsmen sneak in and move the tables, otherwise the bride's dress would have been scraped up against the tables.

Breakfast was delicious. House was beautiful. Nearly $500 for two nights.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
8393 Meetze Rd., Warrenton, VA 20187 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Black Horse Inn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo