130x130_sq_1280346952962-bcw2010dsc1607sq

Black Thumb Studio

East Bridgewater , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

297 Pleasant St.
East Bridgewater, MA US 02333 (map)

PHONE

617-650-6444

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Black Thumb Studio is based in the Greater Boston area and provides wedding, engagement portrait, boudoir, senior portrait, event, and freelance photography services.
Black Thumb Studio is based in the Greater Boston area and provides wedding, engagement portrait, boudoir, senior portrait, event, and freelance photography services. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1280345980431-rtw2010dsc1582
130x130_sq_1280345947994-rtw2010dsc1049
130x130_sq_1280345948150-rtw2010dsc1038
130x130_sq_1215054177025-ss15(medium)
130x130_sq_1215054384244-ss8(medium)
130x130_sq_1215054485306-ss1
130x130_sq_1215054990462-ss15
130x130_sq_1215055183650-ss4
130x130_sq_1215055115572-ss9
130x130_sq_1215055216775-ss13
130x130_sq_1263619651860-ss11
130x130_sq_1263619655313-ss13
130x130_sq_1280345952712-rtw2010dsc1071
130x130_sq_1280345952853-rtw2010dsc1140
130x130_sq_1280345957369-rtw2010dsc1147
130x130_sq_1280345957369-rtw2010dsc1204
130x130_sq_1280345962384-rtw2010dsc1240
130x130_sq_1280345962384-rtw2010dsc1222
130x130_sq_1280345966900-rtw2010dsc1250
130x130_sq_1280345967384-rtw2010dsc1301
130x130_sq_1280345971290-rtw2010dsc1308
130x130_sq_1280345971775-rtw2010dsc1332
130x130_sq_1280345975744-rtw2010dsc1454
130x130_sq_1280345975947-rtw2010dsc1556
130x130_sq_1280345984915-rtw2010dsc2022
130x130_sq_1280345980697-rtw2010dsc2014
130x130_sq_1280345985212-rtw2010dsc2062
130x130_sq_1280345989369-rtw2010dsc2082
130x130_sq_1280345989587-rtw2010dsc2094
130x130_sq_1280345993806-rtw2010dsc2262
130x130_sq_1280345994900-rtw2010dsc2264
130x130_sq_1280345998634-rtw2010dsc2281
130x130_sq_1280345999259-rtw2010dsc2374
130x130_sq_1280346001509-rtw2010topdsc1569
130x130_sq_1280346294759-bcw2010dsc1020
130x130_sq_1280346294806-bcw2010barbercollage
130x130_sq_1280346300150-bcw2010dsc1225
130x130_sq_1280346300494-bcw2010dsc1083
130x130_sq_1280346304509-bcw2010dsc1241
130x130_sq_1280346304869-bcw2010dsc1261
130x130_sq_1280346308056-bcw2010dsc1278
130x130_sq_1280346310478-bcw2010dsc1304
130x130_sq_1280346311322-bcw2010dsc1335
130x130_sq_1280346314869-bcw2010dsc1381
130x130_sq_1280346315228-bcw2010dsc1393
130x130_sq_1280346319447-bcw2010dsc1484
130x130_sq_1280346319572-bcw2010dsc1423
130x130_sq_1280346323962-bcw2010dsc1515
130x130_sq_1280346324306-bcw2010dsc1607
130x130_sq_1280346328525-bcw2010dsc1610
130x130_sq_1280346329197-bcw2010dsc1613
130x130_sq_1280346333587-bcw2010dsc1670
130x130_sq_1280346333634-bcw2010dsc1695
130x130_sq_1280346338259-bcw2010dsc2013
130x130_sq_1280346338275-bcw2010dsc2003
130x130_sq_1280346342619-bcw2010dsc2111
130x130_sq_1280346343400-bcw2010dsc2197
130x130_sq_1280346347134-bcw2010dsc2236
130x130_sq_1280346348087-bcw2010dsc2305
130x130_sq_1280346350150-bcw2010topdsc1698

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Color, black & white, sepia, shading, air brushing, composite pictures, black and white and color combinations
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Indoor and outdoor - we've seen it all!
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
Myself and one other
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
One wedding per day. Occasionally, two per weekend.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Cameras, tripods and full backup equipment
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Both
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
$225 for both photographers
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
One
Do you charge for travel?
Based on the package, yes. Fixed fee of $150 per 75 miles beyond package mileage.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Four to six weeks
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Prints, DVD and webside
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Forever
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Flush-mount, coffee table, traditional, scrapbook
When will the client get the final album?
Within two months of your order

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We worked with Black Thumb Studio for both our engagement shoot and wedding photos. Jeff and George are absolutely amazing, unassuming and make every effort to not only take beautiful pictures but get to know their clients. They made my husband feel so comfortable having his picture taken which is not his favorite activity. During the wedding, Jeff and George somehow manage to fade into the background in a way that makes you forget they are even there! In addition, Jeff is timely with responding to emails and phone calls and even rushed to get us our engagement photos so we could have some prints for the wedding. I cannot thank Black Thumb Studio enough for a wonderful experience!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ehirst
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Black Thumb Studio rocks! Jeff and George are fantastic, and their pictures speak for themselves. Photography was one of the more important aspects to us from the wedding, since the pictures last a lifetime. They had shot my older siblings' weddings years ago, and there was no question in my mind they would shoot ours as well.

Jeff is incredibly responsive to emails which is always important in a wedding vendor. They're unobtrusive during the ceremony, making sure they don't distract anyone, and still manage to get fabulous pictures. They're both laid back and keep everyone happy and laughing while taking pictures. They really did a great job of capturing the happiness and party at our wedding and we're going to treasure our photos for the rest of our lives. We HIGHLY recommend them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner was not only a pleasure to speak to over the phone, but he is just as endearing in person. He is someone who gets to know each person in the couple individually before even accepting the job! Then he even remembers every detail 9 months later when meeting in person ( we live in Philadelphia). He is one of the most personable people I have met and he was able to make sure we knew what we wanted for our wedding - and to be honest, it was his strength- moments captured in time. Our wedding day flew by- but both of us, my husband and I, had the best time with Jeff and George. They made us feel comfortable and not forced into weird poses (please note we have only seen the preview on Facebook- and it's amazing!).

I knew when we booked Black Thumb Studios- it was the best purchase we made for our wedding. Even over my dress!!! And not to toot my own horn, the dress rocks.

Ladies and gents- if you are looking to be yourselves, not be uncomfortable, and catch genuine amazing moments, even in odd obstacles (our wedding day poured up until the last hours of our ceremony)- please choose Jeff Turner and Black Thumb Studios. He surely will not disappoint.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
When I got engaged I knew immediately one vendor that I could not live without Black Thumb Studio's. My brother and sister in law used Jeff and his team at their wedding a year or so earlier and from that day on I knew he was the person I was going to use and never even looked at another photographer.

Jeff and his team are not only the best in their industry they bring such fun and enthusiasm to each and every job. I cannot say enough about this team. From the get go they put together a variety of photography packages that fit every budget. They take the time to meet you on site and walk through to find the most amazing places to photographer as well as get together a time line and list of must have photos. Jeff captured some of the most amazing photos of my husband and I that it is not even possible to choose my favorite. From the time he arrives to the time he leaves he is just shooting away and makes you feel like you are the most important person hes ever captured.

He not only brings professionalism and creativeness but also a joy that you know he absolutely loves what he does. It is not possible not to smile and joke when you are with him and his team. He is a must have vendor if you are looking to have photos you can display over a life time. He puts you in places that you would never think the photographs would look good and they are some of the most amazing photos I have ever seen. With any other photographer shooting my wedding I can honestly say it would not ever hold up to my expectations but with Jeff he blew them away. He will absolutely be used by my family and friends without question. I just love this team and am so thankful they were there for my special day! I cannot wait to work with Black Thumb Studio for my wedding album :)

Courtney
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
This is by far the best photography company ever. We hired Jeff and his team for our wedding and we absolutely loved them. Jeff is so professional, so talented, and an absolute pleasure to be around. He is the best decision you can make when hiring vendors for you wedding. I ABSOLUTELY would recommend Black Thumb! We are hiring him again for my brothers wedding! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George did an amazing job! They were very easy going but very efficient in getting all the shots we had discussed. I highly recommend Black Thumb Studio. They are definitely worth it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Jeff and George are so much fun to work with. They have crazy ideas that (from what I've seen so far) came put fabulous! Jeff spent a couple hours with me before the wedding to find some great places to take pictures. And they were just as excited as we were, well part of that excitement might have been getting the chance to take pictures on the field at Gillette stadium.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Black Thumb Studio did an absolutely amazing job! Our pictures came out beautiful and the day ran smoother because of their professionalism and positivity. Both photographers captured incredible moments that were planned and unplanned. Not only did my husband and I receive the pictures we requested ahead of time, we got artistic and unique moments that Black Thumb imagined. Each photographer knew the names of every member of the wedding party, which made our interactions throughout the day more personable. I feel like I can look at our photographs and still feel the love and excitement I felt that day. I am very grateful we hired Black Thumb to be a part of our special day and would recommend them for any event. Thank you guys!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
They are a lot of fun to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George of Black Thumb Studio were awesome to work with. They are the best photographers around. They understand my personality and took photo's to reflect my personal style. The photo's looked like they should be in magazines. They were so beautiful. The three of us tricked my fiance into thinking that our photo's before the ceremony were split up between the bridesmaids and groomsmen. Jeff and George pulled off the 'first look' surprise perfectly. My fiance didn't have a clue that I was going to be behind him and we were able to catch some beautiful and emotional pictures of us seeing each other for the first time. Thank you guys!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kiley
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The BEST! You need not look any further. Jeff and George made our wedding that much more perfect and the pictures tell it all! Our guests are still raving about how they didn't even know they were in the Church and then how awesome they were at the venue. Their personalities are as great as their photography skills! From the day we met Jeff to the day of the wedding, literally COULD NOT ASK for ANYTHING more! Jeff made sure we got every photo we wanted and then some. He worked SO well with our other vendors and venue. Could not be more pleased. THANK YOU JEFF! I'm SURE my siblings and friends will be calling you soon for their future weddings!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Great photographers to work with! Very friendly, professional and reliable. We had a blast working with them and would recommend them to others!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeff and his team at black thumb studio were everything we every imagine and more !! Due to their dedication, talent and professionalism are day was captured to the fullest and are dreams were meant!!! Words can't describe how we feel about them and their work!! Due to their great work our story and photos were submitted and covered by a wedding magazine ( southern New England wedding magazine !) I recommend black thumb studio to any one looking for the best of the best !!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lissa
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
I had Jeff for my wedding....he is the best of the best very flexible to work with. We are very happy for signing a contract with jeff. we love our photos. we love you jeff!!!!!. Lissa and Riccardi
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Black Thumb Studio was a pleasure to work with and we would recommend them to anyone. BTS professionals were exceptionally easy to work with, open to our suggestions and ideas but also creative in their own. Our photos came out wonderfully. We also did a first look before our ceremony and that was a special moment for us that we are happy BTS was able to capture. We were also lucky to have them sprint out and get a few photos of us in front of spontaneous fireworks! BTS professionals are always going out of their way to make sure everything is going smoothly. Jeff is super friendly, responsive, and helpful. We can't say enough about BTS and plan to use them for future events.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Blackthumb was amazing! They gave us beautiful memories to look at forever. Great product and GREAT people. The second my husband and I met Jeff we felt like we had been friends with him for years.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience working with Black Thumb Studio! Jeff was flexible with our engagement shoot. Not only did he reschedule due to weather, but he also met us at 5am in the morning to recreate my husband’s sunrise proposal! Jeff was also helpful in finding locations to take our actual wedding photographs near our venue. On the wedding day we got all the formal shots that we wanted, and were even able to join our guests for some of the cocktail hour. Jeff and George’s efficiency was exceptional and our guests were not left waiting for hours while the photos were being taken.

Jeff and George have an amazing eye for catching unique candid shots. Since the wedding day is such a whirlwind there were many special moments with our guests that we didn’t see happen. George and Jeff captured the joy and laughter of these moments perfectly.

Also speaking to their professionalism were FOUR other couples at our wedding that had also hired Black Thumb for their weddings. These guys are in high demand so book early! Don’t miss out!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam & Brad
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were completely blown away by the amazing job Jeff Turner and George Buhl from Black Thumb Studio. We were first introduced to them at an open house at our reception site. We had talked to three different photographers there and when we walked outside we looked at each other and said "We need to hire them for our wedding!" Most of our contact was with Jeff the owner - he is a true professional when meeting with him but at the same time, he makes you feel at ease. A lot of our contact was through email and Jeff always responded promptly which was wonderful!

The package we chose with Black Thumb Studio included engagement pictures where we had a blast traveling all around to the sites that we had chose. Jeff, with his outgoing personality, helped us to feel comfortable in front of the camera while getting beautiful and artistic shots.

We met with him again a few days before our wedding to go over the details and locations we were going to have our pictures taken on the day of the wedding. The weather was not cooperative being in the month of March so the site we originally picked was not going to work. Jeff drove around with us so we could figure out different spots to have our wedding pictures done. I have never heard of any other photographers taking the time to do this which is what makes Black Thumb Studio so special!

I cannot say enough about our actual wedding day. Jeff and George made the day fun and helped keep us relaxed. We were impressed with how they just blended in at our ceremony while at the same time they kept everything coordinated and streamlined with our family pictures so we could enjoy our guests! A couple of days after our wedding we were able to see a "sneak peek" of our photos. We are so impressed with all the photos. Our friends and family were able to see our photos via a website that was set up and we got many compliments from them. I would highly recommend Black Thumb Studio!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Choosing Black Thumb Studio to do my wedding photography was the best decision I made in the whole process (short of choosing my groom!). I had seen Jeff and George work when they photographed my friend's wedding and I sought them out two years later for my own. Despite the fact that they're located in MA and I was splitting my time between CT and CA, they made time for us to meet, plan, and brainstorm whenever it was needed, via Skype or in person. They flew to my destination wedding in FL and were completely organized and on top of things amidst all the chaos of pre-wedding days when family and friends were also flying in. They were self-reliant, able to roll with the punches when we had to rearrange plans, and really took control of the situation the day of- despite rain, tardy family members, and staff at the resort being less than accommodating. But more to the point: the photos they took took my breath away! They created such wonderful memories for us to keep of our wedding day, and to top it all off they were quick to follow up with album design (which their team did beautifully) and shipping. A fantastic, effortless experience from start to finish- not an ounce of stress did I encounter as far as photographs were concerned. Black Thumb Studio is a no-brainer, in my opinion!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We have endless amounts of wonderful things to say about Black Thumb Studio. From our very first meeting with Jeff, he was super friendly, accommodating, open-minded, and really listened to what we were looking for. We had our engagement pictures done in Rockport, MA and Jeff immediately made us feel comfortable, had great ideas and amazing creativity. He has a unqiue eye for beautiful pictures. Jeff, George, and Allegra shot our wedding and they worked their butts off! Jeff was so helpful and prepared throughout our wedding day and all the photographers were a total hit with our bridal party and all of our guests with their sense of humor, friendliness, and fun demeanor. All of our guests noticed how great they were and immediately asked when pictures would be up the day after the wedding.The photographers at Black Thumb Studio not only truly love what they do but they are absolutely amazing at it. Down the road, we'll be back for some family portraits with our favorite photographers at Black Thumb Studio!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colby
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
We were lucky to have Jeff and George from Black Thumb Studio photograph our wedding the past October. They were outstanding! What sticks out to us most, is the time that Jeff put into us and our wedding day. We met with him three times before our big day. Once to meet him, once for our engagement photo session and once for a 'run through' a few weeks before the wedding. He spent a few hours with us at our 'run through,' visiting the hall, the church, and potential places to take photographs between the church and reception site. We planned out exactly where we were going so that everything went smoothly the day of our wedding. Jeff is engaging, kind, organized, fun and most importantly of all, takes GORGEOUS photographs. He and George captured the story of our wedding day perfectly, all the moments, expressions and emotions we remembered and missed. They had creative ideas that came out amazing, definitely not boring or average wedding photos! We had an amazing day and have amazing memories, and owe a great deal of that to their presence and talent. Jeff was always prompt with e-mail responses and professional. We highly recommend hiring Black Thumb Studio and will most definitely be using them again in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colin
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff was amazing to work with! He was so thoughtful and kind and helped make the long distance wedding (we lived in NY and were married in the cape) so easy! He helped us to have every image of the amazing night captured perfectly and we have memories that will last us the rest of our life. We would highly recommend Black Thumb Studios to anyone in the New England area!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Angela
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Where to even begin with these guys!! I literally feel as if I have made two new friends. I originally had my heart set on another photographer, but started stalking this team while looking for pictures of my venue to show curious friends and family. Black Thumb had worked at both my church and reception location before and I was finding the most amazing pictures! Then, in October, one of my friends got married. Imagine my surprise to find out he was from Black Thumb Studios! When my friends fantastic pictures came in, I immediately hired these guys for my own wedding. My main contact was Jeff Turner, the owner. He is super responsive, incredibly friendly and so flexible. When we had to reschedule my engagement shoot at the very last minute due to rain, he never once made me feel bad about the late notice. And when it rained the second time around, and he travelled across land and sea (to Martha’s Vineyard), he found really creative ways to get our pictures done and have fun doing it. Despite the rainy gloomy day, I could not be happier with our pictures – mostly because you can tell what an awesome time we are having! I travel frequently for work, so while we weren’t always able to meet in person, Jeff and I kept in constant contact about the wedding day and the plan. Jeff and George have an amazing eye for just the right shot. The most ordinary items become works of art when seen through their cameras. Many of the groomsmen had also been in my friend’s wedding and were so excited to see Jeff and George again at ours. Finally, these crazy kids posted a sneak peek of our wedding photos two days after the wedding! Most importantly, our pictures are incredible, even better than I could have imagined. I encourage any and all brides I know and do not know to hire Black Thumb Studios. They are consummate professionals, fun, goofy, creative and most importantly insanely talented individuals. You will not be disappointed. I can’t wait to work with them again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff and his crew have a great eye for photography. They take a good quality picture and make sure nothing is missed. He is also very receptive to ideas from the bride and groom for pictures they may want taken. He has a knack for taking some very artsy shots that while born from the same concept never seem to be exactly the same. They are very easy to work with and good people. Definitely worth it to bring them on for your big day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jeff and the Black Thumb gang did an amazing job! They are fun and accommodating. They came all the way to Vermont to shoot our wedding! They captured moments and faces that we were to busy to see and its great to look back and see! We loved them so much we went back for a "post wedding" shoot in their neck of the woods!

#1 team right here!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff and his team are amazing examples of talent and professionalism in photography. Not only did they take beautiful photos of my wedding; they went above and beyond and assisted in all aspects of the wedding day.

I would refer Jeff, George and Alana of Black Thumb Studio in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzy
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I could go on and on about Black Thumb Studios! My husband and I were beyond thrilled with the professionalism, the communication, and the service we received. Pictures were at the top of my list of importance for our wedding and black Thumb was the vendor we were most excited about on our wedding day. Everything went perfect all day and Jeff and George were able to keep us right on time with everything yet get every photo we wanted. I highly recommend doing the revealing before hand, we were able to get so much done ahead of time, not waste time cutting into the ceremony and it also calmed my nerves :) I had several guests comment on our wedding night about how great these guys were and how professional and fun they were. We have received more complements on our photos! I most highly recommend Black Thumb Studio to anyone looking for an outstanding, above and beyond service on your wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eanzivino
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
There aren't enough words to express how much my husband and I love Jeff and Black Thumb Studios!!! From our first meeting with Jeff we instantly clicked. There was no need to think about whether or not we would hire him for our wedding. Our engagement session with Jeff was definitely one that was very unique, my husband and I are not your average couple. Jeff took some of the most amazing pictures of us in some very unique places. He has such an amazing personality and is so easy to get a long with, you feel like you have known him for years. On the day of our wedding he was one of the people that kept me calm, he was very helpful in so many details of our wedding day that no one told us about. He was like an additional guide in our wedding day. We have gotten so many compliments on our wedding pictures from our friends and family. We were beside ourselves when we saw them. He takes the most beautiful pictures we have ever seen. We feel that we have gained a friendship with Jeff, not just another vendor from our wedding. We can't wait to work with Jeff again. As soon as our family expands we will be calling him for another session.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew we wanted to work with Black Thumb Studio for our Cape Cod wedding as soon as we got engaged. I had been secretly following reviews for Jeff Turner (owner) and literally could not find any bad reviews written about him. Besides for our venue, Black Thumb Studio was the very first vendor that we hired. I never doubted my decision.

One of the best features of the services (besides the amazing quality of the pictures) is that Black Thumb actually cares about the quality of work that they do. You don't just hire them to photograph your wedding, you hire them to feel completely comfortable as they capture personalities, actions, and memories that you will have forever.

We hired them and over the course of the year met with them several times in preparation for the big day. We had a meet and greet meeting, had an amazing engagement picture session, and Jeff personally drove to Cape Cod the week of our wedding to get comfortable with the area and lighting, and get an idea of what we were thinking for the day of the wedding. This made the actual wedding day flawless! The time and effort and personal touch put in to each event more than pays for the cost of their services. Jeff and George worked together to get amazing angles throughout getting ready, the ceremony, and reception, and the day was truly captured start to finish.

To give you an idea of the quality of service and pictures beyond what I say, one of my bridesmaids (who had the pleasure of working with Jeff at my wedding), hired him immediately after our wedding for photography at her own January wedding. Another guest at the wedding has contacted Jeff to photograph her son's bar mitzvah in the spring. The pictures and service speak for themselves. Without even having to rave about them, 2 of my guests have already chosen Black Thumb Studio for their own events based on their own observations of professionalism, service, and quality.

I have received nothing but compliments on all of my pictures. I am constantly being asked "who was your photographer???" The pictures truly tell a detailed story of our amazing wedding day. I could not be happier!!!

Photography was extremely important to me as it is one of the few things (other than memories) that you take with you after the event is over. Black Thumb exceeded all of my expectations and I plan on using them and only them for all of my family photography needs in the future.

Add me to the list of another 5 out of 5 starts for Black Thumb Studio. Hire them. You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Of course when my fiancée and I decided to browse photographers, we tried to be as prepared as we could with all kinds of questions. We looked for the basics – affordability and style. Black Thumb Studio gives you all of that – and more. When we met with Jeff Turner from Black Thumb Studio (East Bridgewater, MA), we got so much more than a photographer.

We had already booked the church, reception hall, and DJ when we started meeting with photographers. As we had never planned a wedding before, we didn’t know what to look for in a photographer and had all kinds of questions. One of the people we’d interviewed gave us the “If you book now, I’ll give you a really low price.” It almost sold us, but we weren’t crazy about the style. Then we met Jeff. It’s like when you try on the perfect wedding dress – you just know.

As we all know the wedding business is very competitive, but it was refreshing to not get that tone from Jeff. He didn’t try to give us a sales pitch. He knew (as did we) that he took quality pictures and stood behind his product. The thing that made him stand apart from the competition – he genuinely loves what he does. He appreciates his staff, the fact that he can capture people’s memories on camera and makes every stitch effort to get to know his clients and make them feel comfortable. He was funny and put us at ease. Your photographer is going to be your best friend on your wedding day, so you want to love them.

We did an engagement session closer to the wedding date to get into the feel of how it would be. Best. Decision. Ever. We had so much fun shooting with him around Boston! It put me more at ease and let me know – this guy is going to be my best friend on my wedding day. Again-he turned out to be so much more! The photo session was a welcomed break from wedding planning too.

In the midst of planning the wedding, we were chosen to do a reality tv show and they wanted to film our wedding. I made them promise (although unfortunately not contractually obligated) to not get in the way of my photographer. Of course they got in the way – however, Jeff and his staff handled it like pros. They were given a difficult environment to shoot in and all of our pictures came out amazing. They had boom mic’s, documentary cameras and lighting guys in their way, but they made sure to get every shot. The greatest thing was – he genuinely cared about how I was feeling about the craziness on my wedding day. He wanted to make sure all things went smooth for me – not him. He was with me from beginning to end. The roles he played on the day were from photographer to wedding planner. If I needed something he make sure it was done. He even told us how to cut the cake when our wedding planner wasn’t around. They sincerely did anything and everything to get the most amazing shots.

We got our pictures in a short amount of time – especially since it was their busy season. We still cry when we look at them. We also still keep in touch with Jeff. He’s such an amazing person and holds his clients in high regard…even the ones that bombard him and his staff with reality TV cameras. The best thing you can ask your photographer to do is value your memories as much as you do – and we definitely found that in Black Thumb Studio. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaleigh
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about Black Thumb Studio, Jeff Turner and George Buhl! From start to finish, they were absolutely amazing. We met them when they first shot my SIL's wedding, and we knew immediately that they were perfect for our wedding as well. Jeff is so easy to work with and really makes an effort to satisfy all of our needs while also putting his own creative spin on things. Black Thumb's quality is spectacular - we had so many people tell us after our wedding how stunning our photos were! We're still getting comments about it 3 months later, in fact. In the grand scheme of things, BTS is also extremely affordable! We couldn't have asked for two better people to shoot our wedding and capture all of our special memories. Props to Jeff and George for being amazing and down-to-earth despite their continued successes!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
How many five star reviews can one photographer have? Not enough! Jeff Turner and his crew are incredible. These folks at Black Thumb are legit.

First off - Jeff is maybe the nicest person you will ever meet...ever. He is the tops when it comes to professionalism, but he is so friendly and easy-going. Having my photo taken has never been so comfortable and fun.

After the wedding weekend we had, I am convinced that there is no obstacle too great for Jeff Turner. Our outdoor wedding was crashed by Hurricane Irene - but we made the most of it. Jeff, George and Mark (that's right, we had THREE photographers!) were able to get our formals done before the rain. And even after it started down-pouring, these guys were able to get some incredible shots.

Although the Black Thumb Studio portfolio has hundreds of elegant and fancy looking photos, my fella and I stressed the importance of wanting to capture the fun of the night. I was really pleased to see that the final photos that we received had a good handful of formals - the bulk of our shots were of all of our loved ones having a great time.

What I was most impressed by was how important Jeff made us feel as clients. I know Black Thumb gets quite busy with weddings and portrait sessions, but we never felt like we weren't of the utmost importance. That one-on-one relationship will make me a forever client with Black Thumb Studio. (I've already insisted that Jeff and his team shoot my brother's wedding in Sept 2012!)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyson
Wedding:
8/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have been happier with Jeff Turner and Black Thumb Studio. From the very first meeting, Jeff proved himself to be both very passionate about his job and also very good at running a business. He - and everyone we worked with through Black Thumb Studio - was so easy to be around. Much of my wedding party commented how incredibly easy to be around they all were - they were thoughtful, energetic, talented, and appropriate. I've often wondered if Jeff ever sleeps --- every time I had a question for Jeff throughout the year leading up to our wedding, he got back to me within a day (often via email in the middle of the night!).

Most importantly, I feel like the photographs Jeff and George and their intern took on our wedding day truly captured so many of the wonderful moments of the day. There's a wonderful variety of photos - formals, candids, inside, outside... I loved that part of my photo package included 200 4x6 "best shots" that Black Thumb Studio sent to us within 3 weeks of our wedding day... it was wonderful to have someone get us started at picking out some awesome photos to print and put in an album. There were so many wonderful photos in our online album through Black Thumb that I definitely wouldn't have been able to make those decisions so quickly, and I love that we had some actual prints so soon after our wedding.

Finally, Jeff was the one who politely pitched to us that it might be nice to do our formal photos BEFORE our wedding ceremony. Of all of the decisions we made for our wedding, that was the best... By the time we got to our ceremony, I was entirely calm, clear-headed and just plain having fun. Then, we got to enjoy every second of our wedding celebration and didn't have to sneak off for photos during our cocktail hour.

In all honesty, I can't think of anything I would change or criticize about our experience with Black Thumb Studio. To anyone considering them as a vendor, I'd tell them to reserve your date with them before they get booked up!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellye
Wedding:
7/15/2011
5.0/5.0
I really can't say enough about how ecstatic I am with our choice to use Black Thumb Studio. From our initial meeting, engagement photos, venue run-through, and the wedding itself, the whole experience has been amazing. Jeff is polite, thoughtful, and a fantastic photographer. On the day of our venue run-through a few days before the wedding he spent almost 2 hours driving around with my fiance and I looking for the perfect spot to take pictures during the cocktail hour. We found an amazing spot and the pictures are unbelievable. Our photos were edited and ready two weeks after our wedding and we were really impressed. Our guests commented all night long about how great Jeff, George, and Mark were and they were impressed with their professionalism and dedication to getting the perfect shot. Choosing Black Thumb Studio will be your best choice yet and they will most likely be your favorite vendor!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Johanna
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Blackthumbstudio is simply amazing! Jeff was the most responsive vendor throughout my whole wedding process. Everything was so simple and easy going. Jeff and George worked so hard the entire wedding day. I did not have to worry about remembering what shots we needed to take, they took care of it all. My guests were so impressed by the hard work and amazing personalities. The sneak peek photos are absolutely stunning. I cannot say enough good things! Speechless!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had an amazing experience with Black Thumb Studio! We used Black Thumb for our wedding and words can’t explain how happy we were with them. From start to finish they were helpful, friendly, professional, organized, and fun to work with. I am not typically comfortable in front of a camera but Jeff and George made the experience comfortable and fun! The pictures from our wedding came out beautiful and we cannot wait to use Jeff and Black Thumb Studio in the future as our family expands!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmieReardon
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George of Black Thumb Studio are simply amazing. They work tirelessly to make sure you get all the shots you want - and then some! Super creative ideas and posing and an awesome knack for twilight shots. They work so hard during the day and yet always appear calm, cool & collected. We just saw our "sneak peeks" and absolutely love them!! Thank you all again for such an awesome time. Can't wait to see the rest!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AGilroy
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring Blackthumb Studio as our wedding photography team was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding day. Jeff Turner and his team provided extremely reliable, professional and quality services on one of the biggest days of our lives. They were a personal, friendly and energetic team that dedicated themselves all day to capturing all of the important moments of our day. The team came early and stayed later than they had originally planned because they were that driven to provide us with the best service possible. Not only did Jeff and his team work well with everyone involved in our wedding party but I have had a flock of soon to be brides begging for Blackthumb Studio's contact information!! I can't help but look at my pictures every day .... even 6 months later! The pictures came out beautiful and I couldn't be happier with the finished product. I could go on and on forever about these guys ... they are the best!! Thank you Blackthumb Studio!!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1291818106708-dsc1070
Joanna
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I used Black Thumb Studio for my wedding photographer (formerly Jeff Turner Photography) and I have to say choosing them to take my wedding photos was the best decision I could have made. Having both memorable but unique wedding photos was a top priority when planning my wedding. I wanted photos with a bit more of a "vintage" vibe and Black Thumb Studio totally delievered. From start to finish they were easy to work with and actually excited about all the ideas I had. I felt like they understood my vision and produced a variety of photos including formal, fun, modern and vintage. I think the thing I liked most about working with Black Thumb Studio is the excitement they shared with me prior to my wedding, during the big day, and after the wedding when my photos were ready. On my wedding day, they arrived full of energy and kept up that energy throughout the entire day. Jeff stayed with me while I got ready and George took pictures of my husband and the other guys. Jeff made me feel so special and beautiful which is evident in how my photos came out. I look completely relaxed and just....happy! Lastly I felt that Black Thumb Studio clearly captured the essence of me and my family member's personalities. They caught these perfect moments and somehow managed to capture many special moments that I didn't even rememebr which clearly sets them apart from other photographers. Looking at their photos helped me to relive every moment of my day which is the best part of hiring someone who is excited to be with you on your wedding. I will use them for all my professional photos (I hired them for a family shoot last year which was equally as impressive) and highly recommend them to any bride who is looking to feel special on her big day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LMD
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Black Thumb Studio by a friend who was a bridesmaid in a wedding Jeff Turner and his team photographed. Black Thumb Studio was the only photographer my husband and I met with before choosing them for our wedding. You don’t need to meet with anyone else, Black Thumb Studio is it.

I really can’t say enough wonderful things about Jeff and his team. Our wedding pictures are gorgeous, so beautiful that we were featured in a magazine! They are highly professional, easy to get in touch with, always accommodating, seamless to work with and always prepared. At one point during photographs my hair was loose and Jeff pulled out a bag of wedding essentials, including bobby pins for my hair! Our guests also loved them. Many people commented on how great they were. Something else that made Black Thumb Studio special was that they took the time to get to know my husband and me and they remembered details. Jeff took notes during our walk through, did not forget a thing and guided us the whole way. We are so happy we chose Black Thumb Studio, I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff and the rest of Black Thumb Studio were such a breeze to work with. Their work speaks for itself and I cannot rave about them enough. During and after our wedding guests kept commenting on how great our photographers were! Their attention to detail and easy going personalities made working with them such a wonderful experience!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cland12estine
Wedding:
5/8/2011
5.0/5.0
I am easily one of the pickiest brides when it came to photographers. Everything else to me was less important - photos were the top priority. I searched through almost every single photographer's website in the Greater Boston area and spoke to more than I could count. Jeff and Black Thumb Studio stood out as extremely professional, fun, outgoing, and technically advanced. As I looked through their previous photo shoots, I knew that they would be the photographers for my wedding. They not only lived up to my expectations, but they far surpassed it. To the point that my family members who have an avid interest in photography remarked that the photos Black Thumb Studio took are quire extraordinary.

But aside from taking great photos, Jeff, George, and Alana are wonderful people to work with. We had our engagement session with Jeff and hit it off right away. He's funny, has great ideas, and is extremely flexible and professional. Connecting with your photographer and feeling comfortable around them is such an important aspect of getting good photos. Jeff delivered nothing less than perfection.

On the wedding day, Jeff worked with us getting all the various angles and shots captured. He had fantastic ideas for poses, took some amazing candid shots, and just captured the day in such vivid detail that way surpassed the videos we have. In 50 years when I think back to my wedding day and reminisce, I will fondly remember Black Thumb Studio as I flip through the amazing photos. Memories last a lifetime and so do Jeff and the photos he took. Words cannot describe how happy I am with Black Thumb. They will be my photographers for any and all subsequent professional photos. I look forward to one day having Jeff shoot my first family portrait.

Thank you Jeff, George, and Alana. You're much loved!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kim429
Wedding:
4/29/2011
5.0/5.0
You will not regret choosing Black Thumb Studio! We had a wonderful experience with them, from the first meeting, to the wedding day, to receiving our photos. Jeff Turner and his team are incredibly professional and fun to work with, and they are truly passionate about what they do. They respond to inquiries quickly, are flexible in setting up times to meet, and are very knowledgable. After seeing a coworker's wedding photos from Black Thumb, I knew I couldn't pass them up. I was looking for someone with an artistic/photojournalistic touch to shoot our wedding at a historic New England location, and we got amazing pictures. They worked so hard to make sure we got the pictures we wanted and also surprised us with perspectives we were never expecting. People will describe your wedding pictures as "breathtaking." Our friends and family were blown away. We have pictures of us and our families that really capture the beauty of the day and we'll treasure them forever. The team at Black Thumb not only does great photography, but they will make you feel like you're part of their family and will go out of their way to make your wedding day perfect. I can't imagine having gone with any other photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
coco
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George were great. Very unobtrusive and they took so many photos! It was cool to see shots of things that we missed. I would highly recommend Black Thumb Studio! Jeff is so personable and really gets to know the couples before the big day, which I loved. Thank you Jeff and George!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Black Thumb Studio was an absolute pleasure to work with.
They have a real talent and passion for what they do.
Our wedding party, our families, and our guests absolutely loved them.
Jeff Turner is so wonderful to work with, he’s fun and energetic and so passionate about his work. The attention to detail is remarkable; I can’t say enough about Black Thumb Studio, I’m looking forward for future opportunity’s to work with them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Poochy25
Wedding:
10/17/2010
5.0/5.0
My wife and I researched quite a few photographers before meeting Jeff for our consult. That is to say, we looked at the pictures offered by others in their portfolios, we examined prices, and we always came to the same conclusion: Blackthumb was competitively priced, but their pictures were different. They weren't your run of the mill. Their creativity were evident from first look. A creativity that we wanted to best capture our memories.

During the consult with Jeff, the choice was immediately clear. We loved his team's pictures already, and were instantly comfortable with him. From there, our Engagement Session, Site Visit and Wedding were easy, due to Jeff's easy accessibility and responsiveness to our needs and questions. On our wedding day, they didn't disappoint. Pictures were handled in a discrete, professional manner we came to expect from our Engagement Session. Not to mention that Jeff dazzled my wife and her sister/Maid of Honor with a Wedding Warrior kit. He had the bobbi pins that were in short supply and great demand, but was short some superglue that we're certain became a requirement in his kit following our wedding.

After the wedding, our proofs and Thank Yous were in hand not long after we got back from our Honeymoon and we couldn't be happier with the results! We are looking forward to working on our Album with Jeff and his crew in the coming months.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dianna
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff and his team are a top notch group. Their amazing work speaks for itself and I am extremely pleased with the photos from my wedding. Just as important to me however was the amazing service that the team provided. I had every confidence from the day I met Jeff that they would deliver, and they did not let me down. Jeff was immediately responsive to all of my questions even when my wedding was months away. The team really takes pride in their work, and my entire wedding party enjoyed working with them. I highly recommend Black Thumb Studio.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
septwedblue
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff & George were great to work with. Jeff was organized and helpful throughout the whole planning process and delivered a an exceptional product. Jeff & George managed everything perfectly on the wedding day and the photos were amazing. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of photographer. I would recommend Black Thumb to any bride!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcardillo707
Wedding:
8/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George photographed my wedding back in August and I cannot recommend them more highly. They were incredible!! Jeff does so many little things that set him apart - in the days leading up to the wedding, he asked me the names of the people in my bridal party. I told him and he wrote them down. On the day of the wedding, he introduced himself to each person and then remembered their names. I know it sounds silly, but it's so much nicer to hear, "Mike, can you move to the right?" then, "Hey you!"

One other thing Jeff does that many other photographers don't is he does a final walkthrough with you in the week or so before your wedding. He had photographed our church many times, so we met him at the hotel where we were holding the reception and we walked through what we wanted for the day - where we would take formals, a back up plan, names of people we really wanted to take pictures with, etc. It really helped on the day of the wedding to have worked that out with him ahead of time because we were able to get all the pics we wanted and didn't have that feeling of, "oh, I forgot to take a picture with my grandfather!"

Above all, his work is incredible. His talent and his passion are evident in every picture he takes. He was, by far, my favorite vendor at our wedding and I coudn't imagine anyone else capturing those amazing moments.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe
Wedding:
8/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff and Blackthumb studios are the height of professionalism. He met with us for a cup of coffee to explain in detail the services he offers and at what price. He is courteous, funny, helpful, and upfront and clear about everything. He was excited to photograph our Indian (Hindu) ceremony and expertly captured the experience, having made sure to have proper coverage for what was a very large wedding. Additionally, his turnaround time is incredibly fast--we returned from our honeymoon, about three weeks after our wedding--to find our photos were ready and easily accessible to anyone we shared our online viewing permissions with. The prints we received as part of our package were beautiful and handsomely packaged. Jeff and his staff truly enjoy what they do and it comes across in their work. We can't recommend them highly enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
8/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff and his team at Black Thumb Studio are the best! They could not be more accommodating or willing to help! Plan your picture schedule carefully to best take advantage of your venue and their talents!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzy17
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Choosing the right photographers to document such an important day was the most important part of my wedding planning. The photos were more than we could have asked for, and Jeff and George could not have worked harder, or been more accommodating. It's awesome to watch their creativity come to life in their photos, as well as to be a part of it! We were thrilled with the photos and proud to have chosen the greatest photographers! We honestly could not have asked for anything more.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Top notch all around! We met with so many photographers because I went to school for graphic design and I have an eye for photography. I knew right away we were going to book with Black Thumb Studio because their pictures are unique, sharp, modern but also classic. They know how to capture a moment so that when you look at your pictures you can see the whole story of your wedding day from different angles. Jeff and George are amazing at what they do! Jeff is so talented and passionate about what he does that it puts you at ease because you know your pictures are going to come out great and there isn’t anything he would forget, he’s a perfectionist and is always prepared. Not only are Jeff and George spectacular at what they do but they are both wonderful people and so professional.

Jeff does so many things that set him apart from other photographers; he’s always prepared and thorough, quick to respond, his quality of work is exceptional, always pleasant (not sure he has a mean bone in his body), the final walkthrough with you so the day of the wedding you know where to go for your pictures – which also helps you to tell your bridal party where to be and when, he learns the names of the people in your bridal party so the process of taking pictures goes smoothly with everyone, his unanticipated idea for a twilight picture (ours was on top of a rock – it’s one of my favorites) and his turnaround time of your photos – our photos were done before we got home from our honeymoon. These are only some of the many things that set Black Thumb Studio apart from other photographers. You will not be sorry if you hire Black Thumb Photography to capture you wedding day. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MegT7310
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff was absolutely phenomenal! He took great care in making sure we had the best photos for our wedding. He was so helpful and kind, and very patient, understanding, and so fun! We really enjoyed our wedding day so much and Jeff had a part in that. Thank you Jeff for a wonderful experience! -Meghan and Tim
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heath404
Wedding:
6/20/2010
5.0/5.0
We heard about Jeff and Black Thumb Studio through a family friend, and during the wedding planning process, we took a look at his work. Right away, we loved his style and the way he captured each previous wedding, we knew we had to meet with him! From the moment we met Jeff, we totally knew he was going to be our photographer, and we booked him on the spot with no hesitation. He was just so down to earth, fun, and knew exactly what we were looking for, which made me feel very comfortable. We decided to book and engagement shoot with him, and I am so happy that we did! We had a blast! Jeff makes you feel so comfortable and he puts you at ease which just makes for better pictures all around. I told him the my fiance at the time and I don't really like to pose and we like candid shots better. Well he listened and took some amazing pictures that we will cherish forever. After our shoot, I was so excited to see what he was going to come up with for the wedding! During the planning process, Jeff was always available to talk or go over ideas or questions we had at anytime. He was very accommodating when we made appointments with him and he was always on time, if not early. Jeff came to us with ideas about pictures which was awesome because we loved his suggestions. Going into our wedding, I felt at ease knowing that Jeff had everything under control and that we would be happy. The day of the wedding came, and Jeff and George arrived at the bed and breakfast where I was getting ready. I was so excited to see Jeff on such a hectic day because he felt like an old friend hanging out with us, and not like a photographer who we had hired. All of the bridesmaids and our family members commented on how professional and nice Jeff was to have around. Literally, everyone raved about him. Throughout the wedding, Jeff was smiling and on his game the whole time. It was a hot June day but Jeff was going at 110% percent. George, his assistant, was amazing as well! George was such a nice guy to have around and he captured some fabulous shots! The thing I noticed about Jeff and George was how well they work together. They are such a great team and they know how to set up shots without wasting time, and they know what makes a great shot. I was very impressed to say the least. Another thing I noticed was how truly passionate Jeff is about his photos. He gets so excited when he gets a great shot in, or has another idea for a shot. Its so refreshing to see someone love what they do. After the wedding was over, Jeff followed up with me regarding our photos and when I can expect them. They were online on his website within a week and in my hands within two weeks after the wedding! I was so thankful to have them so fast, and I was blown away by the outcome of the photos. I can't thank Jeff and George enough for their hard work on our wedding day, and had such an amazing experience with them the day of the wedding, and the moments leading up to it. They truly made us feel like we were their only client and gave such great detail to each aspect of our wedding. As a bride, I couldn't have been happier and I recommend Black Thumb Studio to anyone looking for a photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Black Thumb Studio was overall one of the best vendors at my wedding. Everyone from family, friends, bridal party raved over the creativity, personality and professionalism they displayed the day of my wedding. The turn around time on receiving proofs back was amazing. I wasn't even home from my honeymoon and they were completed!! The shots that were taken will last a lifetime for me and my husband and we were so happy with what was captured that day. We will always remember our wedding day in our minds, but these pictures just reinforce how wonderful our wedding day really was. I highly recommend Black Thumb Studio to anyone!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tbk2010
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
I wish I could give Jeff and George ten stars. Five just isn't enough. We found Jeff when another photographer, a friend of the family, wasn't able to do our wedding after all. He recommended Jeff and so we set up a meeting to see some samples and get to know him. We loved Jeff and his work right off the bat. Jeff is friendly, easygoing, and was probably more excited about getting our photos just right than we were. And his photos are gorgeous. We were blown away by his portfolio. We decided instantly that we would hire him and we never regretted our decision for a second. We love the photos he took of our wedding. I posted one on Facebook and soon all my friends were forwarding it around to everyone because it was such an impressive shot -- everyone said it looked like a movie poster. There are big dramatic shots, lovely formal shots, and sweet candid shots we didn't even realize they were getting (like the one where we stole a quick kiss before going out for our first dance -- I love that photo!). For the quality work and the energy that Jeff and George put into their photographs, the price is a steal. The work is absolutely top notch. I can't say enough about it. You would expect to pay much, much more for such terrific, personalized, professional work. You will not be sorry if you hire BlackThumb Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FriarGirl03
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.8/5.0
I don't think there's a better photography out there than Jeff and George. Jeff actually helped us with other aspects of the wedding as well, recommending vendors or coming up with fun ideas. He gets so excited about things that you can't help but feeling like you're his only couple, even though he shoots 30 weddings a year. Our pictures came out beautifully. He responds quickly to all emails and is just wonderful to work with. His prices are on the high side, but if you decide that photography is where you want to spend your money, book Jeff.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
egoldberg
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George were wonderful! They made my husband and I feel entirely comfortable and relaxed during all of the photos - and the photos all turned out fabulously! I am grateful that Jeff took so much time getting a feel for us as a couple because the pictures he took truly reflected the care and thought he puts into his work. Jeff met us at our venue before the wedding to do a walkthrough - which no other photographer we interviewed included as part of their services. The walkthrough helped make everything seamless on the wedding day. During the wedding Jeff and George were everywhere, so much so that when we got our pictures, I was shocked by how much they were able to capture. The pictures truly convey the emotion and fun of the day and were also creative and interesting. A number of our guests came up to us during the wedding and after to tell us how impressed they were with Jeff and George. If I had to make the decision again, i would hire them again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Jeff through a friend that had been to numerous weddings that he photographed. When we first met him, we immediately felt comfortable and confident. When the photographer seems more excited than the bride, you know you picked a good one, which is how we felt with Jeff! Throughout the wedding, he was calm, and organized. He made us feel so relaxed through the picture taking process, and we never felt rushed. He was so efficient with the family/wedding party pictures, we even had time to enjoy some of our cocktail hour. He managed to capture thousands of AMAZING photos, without us ever noticing he was there.

He was well within our budget, and very easy to get in touch with and work with.

He had our pictures ready for us upon our return from our honeymoon. We never could have imagined pictures like his. We were absolutely amazed at his work, and have received more compliments on our photos. Many of our guests have also said they were the best wedding photos they have seen. His work with different colors and lighting were amazing!

Couldn't have been any happier! It's so great to find someone who truly LOVES what they do.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1251298045502-cherryblossoms
Soon2BMrsM
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
The minute I saw Jeff and George's work, I knew that they were the photographers for us. Their talent is just beyond anything I ever envisioned. Worth every penny! We had them shoot both our engagement photos and our wedding day. They managed to capture our day perfectly. We are absolutely thrilled with the results. Our friends and family have sung nothing but praise. You won't be disappointed with Black Thumb Studios.

We'll be working with Jeff again shortly as he is going to shoot senior portraits for my step daughter.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shaley
Wedding:
5/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Black Thumb Studios were wonderful to work with for our wedding photos. Jeff and George are smart, creative, non intrusive and very fun to work with. I adore our wedding photos and will forever be thankful! I highly recommend Black Thumb Studios!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I could not have been happier with Jeff Turner and George. They did an absolutely amazing job at capturing our wedding day. Jeff was so organized and easy to work with. Everything couldn't have gone any smoother, and the pictures came out wonderful. I would recommend Jeff Turner to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mtroy713
Wedding:
12/13/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff is amazingly laid back, fun, and highly professional - and manages to be all 3 at once! He was so busy taking photos, we had to remind him that he was supposed to eat! The end result was a picture perfect (pun intended) play-by-play of the day - exactly as I remember it, but better. Don't hire anyone but Jeff and his team not just for weddings but for any photography needs!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liddy
Wedding:
12/4/2009
5.0/5.0
UNBELIEVABLE..IS ALL I CAN SAY ABOUT JEFF TURNER PHOTOGRAPHY. Their uniqueness in photography is breathtaking. Jeff and George have complete control of the situation they are put in and also enjoy themselves. I just got married in December, and Jeff and George were there..they were so discrete, you didn't even know we had photographers. It made for a easy day!!! Jeff even surprised me and came by my house before the wedding, this wasn't even something in our contract. He went above and beyond!!!!I felt calm and positive that our pictures came out beautiful and THEY DID. I get compliments every day from people all over! I will be using Jeff and his team for future engagements I may have ....I always want him to capture my day!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caroline
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff is amazing! From my first contact with Jeff he was extremely professional. I enjoyed every minute working with him. I felt that he was excited to capture everything perfectly for us, which he did. Our engagement session was fun and the pictures are breathtaking. Jeff and George were a big hit at our wedding. Our guests were not camera shy. Some of the guests got to preview shots on the camera while at the wedding,which they really enjoyed. People still compliment us on what great photographers we had. My mom praises Jeff because he took time to get her a soda while we waited to be introduced. This is how exceptional Jeff is!!
Jeff and George captured so many photos I love them all! I received an email on my honeymoon that they were ready earlier than expected!!!

I would rate Jeff with a million stars because he made our day perfect!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisa
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I can't recommend Jeff and his team highly enough. From the time of our first meeting with Jeff we know that not only would our wedding photos be beautiful but that we were making the right choice for the photographer who would take them. Jeff and George exceeded our every expectation. Our guests raved about them - how nice they were, how polite and patient they were, and that although they were never in the way, they somehow seemed to be everywhere at once.

Jeff and George truly captured our day, from beginning to end, and seeing our photos allowed us to re-live the day and how much it meant to us. They were able to catch the emotion, the fun and the excitement of the day in every photo, and really told the story of our wedding. We cannot thank Jeff enough for capturing in these pictures every wonderful detail of the most important day of our lives. We highly recommend Jeff Turner Photography to every bride and groom!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MeghanneB21
Wedding:
10/31/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner was amazing to work with, he is a true professional. He did an amazing job on my family photos and also my wedding. When I first saw the photos from my family session with him, they brought tears to my eyes he truly captured the moment. My wedding photos came out beautifully, I was in shock at how many there were and how incredible they looked. He was so sweet and we had so much fun working with him, he really likes to be creative so we got a lot of interesting shots. He is not the typical cookie cutter wedding photographer, he is simply fantastic. I will continue to work with Jeff for years to come to capture all of lives precious moments.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
10/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner Photography was amazing! The pictures were so unique! Both photographers were fantastic! I can't say enough good thing about their services. I would highly recommend them for any kind of photography and plan on contacting them again in the future. Thanks for capturing our wedding so perfectly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Jeff without hesitation--just as he had been recommended to me. In Jeff we found the perfect balance between professionalism and "jump-right-in" hands-on. He was assertive without being pushy, and his calm and engaging personality was reassuring throughout the behind-the-scenes bustle. And the pictures--they speak for themselves!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrscoole
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Quality of Service: we have so many beautiful and creative pictures, I hardly know what to do with them. Jeff took pictures that were your formal, every wedding kind of shot (you know, the kind to make grandma happy) and he also took creative, fun pictures. George, his assistant, provided amazing detail shots and candids. We ended up with over 800 pictures to choose from - that's over 100 shots an hour.

Responsiveness: Jeff was always an email away. He responded in less than a day. As a bride-to-be, if someone DIDN'T respond to me quickly, they weren't worth my time. Not only did Jeff promptly answer questions, but he was thorough and I never got the sense that he wasn't quite sure who I was - he always remembered details that I told him and I felt like I was his only bride (which I know wasn't true, since October was his biggest month to date).

Professionalism: Jeff communicated with George throughout the day to make sure all bases were covered. Both my husband and I got pictures with our family and bridesmaids/groomsmen outside of the hotel before the wedding without ever crossing paths. Before the wedding while there was time to kill, Jeff and I went off and shot some bridal portraits. He said to me, "I just can't sit around when I know I can be shooting". He (and George) made our families so comfortable, and our pictures reflect that. He's friendly, professional and has amazing talent to boot.

Value for Cost: I almost felt like I got a steal. From DVD's with printing rights, to two photographers shooting for eight hours, to a print credit - there can't be a photographer out there with better value. Not only that, but we met with Jeff multiple times before the wedding (including right before the day to do a walk-through) so we felt like we were buddies the day of the wedding. He knew exactly what we wanted and then some.

Flexibility: Jeff was always willing to work with us to ensure that we were his number one priority on the day of our wedding.

I can't recommend Jeff more - he is an amazing photographer, professional and person. You won't regret hiring him for the most important and special day of your life.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappyCouple
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff is amazing!! Words are not enough to describe the incredible job he does. Not only he is a complete professional, he cares about everything he does and will go out of his way to get those special pictures.

Trying to find your wedding photographer can be stressful. If you are looking for a great photographer (and a great guy), start with Jeff....then you won't have to look anymore.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angela
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner Photography gave us amazing wedding pictures and so much more. The memories that he and his partner were able to capture are unforgettable. We were so lucky to have such a fun, easy going, professional photographer by our side. Thank you Jeff for giving us a priceless gift!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtneymeio
Wedding:
9/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Five stars in every category, a bride's dream in terms of professionalism, attitude, creativity.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jchisholm
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George are amazing! They more than exceeded my expectations and were a true pleasure to work with. Plus, they provided more value than the 50 other photographers I looked into. I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikkie
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
I honestly don't think there are enough words to describe how pleased my husband and I were with our wedding photos. Jeff Turner Photography provided a level of professionalism that made me feel confident that my pictures would be amazing! We definitely were not disappointed! I would recommend Jeff Turner Photography to anyone! Thank you to Jeff and George for making sure that we had every memory captured!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lydia
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner was a very good photographer, very professional & polite. The cost was reasonable for the great service he provides. I'd definitely recommend Jeff to friends & family in the future who will be getting married
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amygal101
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
I was so nervous how the photos were going to look. Out of all the vendors, photography was the most important to me. When we were leaving the honeymoon I got an email as I was sitting on the plane waiting to take off from Jeff saying that the photos had been posted on his website. I couldn't believe how fast they were done!

Once we showed all of our friends the photos they were very impressed. Our best man was trying to encourage us to use his wedding photographer but I wasn't impressed with them. Once he saw our photos he understood why we choose Jeff. He now wishes that he knew about Jeff when he got married. He also thought that Jeff charged about $10,000! Once we told him how much we actually paid his jaw dropped!

The weather on my wedding day was not looking very good. Jeff pulled me aside and said that he had no problem standing in the rain if that is what I wanted. I was determined to get outdoor pictures. Luckily the rain held off until the reception and I got beautiful pictures that I can treasure for a lifetime.

Saying that Jeff is awesome is an understament. He tries very hard to make sure that you are happy with everything.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1242782967296-011
Kristin
Wedding:
6/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff did a fabulous job at our wedding. He knew all nine of my bridesmaids names before I even had the chance to introduce him. Very professional and polite. I would definitely use him again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff was absolutely wonderful to work with! Our photos were exactly what we wanted. We had a type of ceremony (Eastern Orthodox) that he had not photographed before, and he took the time to learn the ceremony and go to the church to get the best photos. He was also wonderful with children. The value of his pacakges is great, and he will customize them to each couple. I would definitely recommend him to any bride looking for a great photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jfcrocke
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff and George were amazing to work with for my wedding. So accomodating to all our needs, relaxed, professional and fun! I would highly recommend Jeff Turner Photgraphy for your wedding or any other memorable event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happycustomer
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff was fabulous to work with from our first meeting on. He is professional and friendly. In addition to taking fantastic pictures and posting them within days of the wedding, he was also a calming and helpful presence during the day. He worked very well with my young (and sick) niece even providing her with one of his "old" cameras so that she could take some pictures (a great way to keep a 6 year-old occupied).
He always responded promptly and listened carefully to requests and concerns.
Since I do not know if his prices have changed, I can only say that at the time that we used him, his prices were VERY reasonable. You are getting outstanding service and products for a fraction of what other Boston-area photogs are offering. Plus, one heck of a stand-up guy. His assistant George was also FABULOUS.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/19/2009
5.0/5.0
After we saw the wedding photos from my brothers wedding, we knew we had to have Jeff for our own, and were rather relieved to find out he was available. Jeff was incredible to work with, he really took the time to find out what we were about and what we were hoping to get from our wedding pictures. When we look at our wedding album we are truly able to feel the emotion from every picture. Jeff will take the classic posed shots you want, but you will be truly amazed at the artistry of his candids. Some of our favorite shots from our wedding are the ones we didn't even know were being taken. Jeff is a lot of fun to work with. He was there every step of the way, and made the process easy and stressless. I would highly recommend his services to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff and his crew were wonderful! We never had to worry about anything related to our wedding pictures. During the ceremony and reception, Jeff made himself discrete so that no one even noticed he was there. Our pictures came out amazing!! We highly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
1/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Jeff is awesome - nice guy, great photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KathyGee
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner Photography. A+ Jeff and his assistant, George, make an amazing team. Jeff runs the focus of the show, and George sweeps everything else invisibly. People kept commenting on how unobtrusive they (and the videographer) were. Jeff is creative and imaginative with his vision, and just great with people. We told him early on what our challenges were (I resort to a “fake smile” and my DH is a blinker!) and he was prepared from the beginning to battle each! He was quick with the family photos, making sure people weren’t standing around unnecessarily, which was very appreciated! We loved working with him as a business manager – very responsive and on top of all of that stuff! We've already received a sneak preview of a number of photos, and they are STUNNING! I truly expect that, within a few years, he’s going to be one of the most sought after wedding photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kate1016
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Photography: Jeff Turner Photography A+ (pending final pics)
Great communication. Professional, easy to work with. Never noticed at the reception and made formal pictures very easy. Preliminary pics look great, can't wait to see final pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AWood
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
We found Jeff Turner Photography through a Boston.com message board post. On a whim, I checked out the website and instantly fell in love with the stunning photography. Before even meeting him, we knew he was a “must” for our wedding. About two weeks later, we met with Jeff and immediately knew he and George were the right photographers for us. We literally left (what later became “our usual spot” to meet Jeff), turned to each other and said, “He’s the one.”

Jeff’s personality naturally puts you at ease and you feel like you’ve known him forever and you could talk to him until the early morning without running out of things to say. His passion for photography is beautifully reflected not only in his personality, but in his work. His portfolio spans gorgeous nature and landscape photos to once-in-a-lifetime candid shots. The broad range in styles combines to make an exceptionally striking first impression.

Jeff makes it a point to give each photograph a story, and openly shares that with anyone who is interested. While browsing his portfolio, we learned about the people, places, and times captured in the photograph. Above everything else, that was the most impressive aspect of Jeff and his work. Nothing else says “passion” like a photographer who remembers not only the photograph, but the experience that lead to the remarkable shot, for each and every photograph he’s taken.

When our wedding day came, Jeff and George fit right in. After our wedding, family and friends asked how long we had been friends with them and where we had met them. During the wedding itself, they were very adept at matching their personality and style to the informal tone of our ceremony. No one knew when the candid shots were being taken, and the posed pictures were quick and precise. Even though everyone was running around the beach, Jeff and George managed to capture the spirit of the event and produce top quality images.

We cannot thank Jeff and George enough for capturing the spirit of our wedding and giving us a beautiful, captivating, and breathtaking record of our very unconventional wedding. If one word sums up our wedding, it is “real” (Thanks, Jeff!) and that it was Jeff and George are; a pair of guys who do what they love, love what they do, and are real about it. We will be recommending Jeff Turner Photography to anyone who truly wants their event captured and remembered just as it happened. Thank you both so much.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
newwife
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Jeff Turner was amazing and I feel lucky that we were able to secure him for our wedding! Jeff was friendly, outgoing and easy to work with. Jeff went above and beyond getting prepared for our wedding by doing our initial consultation and then meeting with us a few weeks before the wedding and visiting the church and reception location. Although it was a rainy Sunday and we were traisping around outside, he took his time, planning out the shots so our final result would be beautiful wedding photos! The day of, Jeff truly engaged our wedding party and got great shots that we will treasure forever!

Jeff is truly passionate about what he does and it comes through in his photos. When we met Jeff for our initial consulation, he told me he did his photography part time and worked at a desk job full time. He told me he eventually wanted to quit his desk job and do photography full time as that is what he is passionate about. He said, "I am not doing this to get rich, I am doing this because it is what I am passionate about!" and I think that is what makes Jeff stand out to me as a photographer. I am happy to say, by the time of our wedding, Jeff was doing his photography full time!

For additional postings about Jeff, check out the Boston.com message boards and read some of the feedback of other brides that have used him. This is how I originally found Jeff and was relieved when he was available on our date!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
297 Pleasant St., East Bridgewater, MA 02333 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Black Thumb Studio
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo