130x130_sq_1393940521605-adirondack-fern-lodge-wedding-winte

Blackburn Portrait Design

NY

LOCATION

Saratoga Springs
NY US (map)

PHONE

518-584-4237

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

It has been said that a picture is worth a thousand words. Will your wedding images speak volumes about you? What will they tell your children--and grandchildren?

Blackburn... Read more
It has been said that a picture is worth a thousand words. Will your wedding images speak volumes about you? What will they tell your children--and grandchildren?

Blackburn Portrait Design combines contemporary photojournalism with classic lighting and posing techniques for wedding photos that will both stand the test of time and tell your story in your way. Feel free to visit our online galleries at susanblackburn.biz to view our work or call 518.584.4237 to schedule a complimentary consultation. We would love to help you tell your story. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1393939709507-fern-lodge-winter-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1393939716644-fern-lodge-winter-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1393939722608-winter-wedding-photos-fern-lodge-0
130x130_sq_1392060222095-saratoga-wedding-photography-
130x130_sq_1391208788839-saratoga-wedding-photographer-0
130x130_sq_1391208649326-inn-at-erlowest-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208675359-lake-george-wedding-photos-1
130x130_sq_1391208672326-lake-george-wedding-photos-1
130x130_sq_1391208624097-inn-at-erlowest-wedding-0
130x130_sq_1391208654739-lake-george-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208664599-lake-george-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208646722-inn-at-erlowest-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208639222-inn-at-erlowest-wedding-party-phot
130x130_sq_1391208668125-lake-george-wedding-photos-1
130x130_sq_1391207845873-birch-hill-wedding-photo-1
130x130_sq_1391207831335-birch-hill-wedding-1
130x130_sq_1391207836001-birch-hill-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391207850185-birch-hill-wedding-photos01
130x130_sq_1391208599692-franklin-plaza-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208577706-franklin-plaza-wedding-phot
130x130_sq_1391208584434-franklin-plaza-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208562541-franklin-plaza-wedding-photo-02-
130x130_sq_1391208568039-franklin-plaza-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208571132-franklin-plaza-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208799638-saratoga-wedding-photo
130x130_sq_1391208793954-saratoga-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208611228-glens-falls-wedding-phot
130x130_sq_1391208838311-state-room-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208832793-state-room-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208842572-state-room-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208691666-lake-placid-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208694807-lake-placid-wedding-phot
130x130_sq_1391207824226-adirondack-wedding-phot
130x130_sq_1391208686306-lake-placid-wedding-0
130x130_sq_1391208699681-mohawk-country-club-wedding-bride-and-groom-phot
130x130_sq_1391208705827-mohawk-country-club-wedding-phot
130x130_sq_1391208711808-outdoor-wedding-saratog
130x130_sq_1391208729397-saratoga-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208616252-hall-of-springs-wedding-photo-
130x130_sq_1391208747577-saratoga-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208750720-saratoga-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208754698-saratoga-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208778283-saratoga-wedding-photo-2
130x130_sq_1392060212833-saratoga-wedding-photographer-0
130x130_sq_1391208809378-st-clements-wedding-photos-0
130x130_sq_1391208861665-wishing-well-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208867794-wishing-well-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208721276-saratoga-fall-wedding-phot
130x130_sq_1391208850416-the-wishing-well-wedding-photograph
130x130_sq_1391208870843-wishing-well-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208878637-yaddo-gardens-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1391208888020-yaddo-gardens-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1393939683128-adirondack-winter-wedding-1
130x130_sq_1393939688887-adirondack-winter-wedding-2
130x130_sq_1393939692385-adirondack-winter-wedding-2
130x130_sq_1393939695306-adirondack-winter-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1393939699483-adirondack-winter-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1393939705830-adirondack-winter-wedding-photo-1
130x130_sq_1393939725757-winter-wedding-photos-fern-lodge-0
130x130_sq_1393939733063-winter-wedding-photos-fern-lodge-0
130x130_sq_1400636261672-erlowest-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1400636356236-erlowest-wedding-photo-0
130x130_sq_1400636359641-international-wedding-photo00
130x130_sq_1400636362820-international-wedding-photo01
130x130_sq_1400636366641-international-wedding-photo01
130x130_sq_1400636370700-international-wedding-photo01

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
How many photographers do you work with?
Two Photographers
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Absolutely!
Do you charge for travel?
There is a charge for Destination Weddings to cover travel, hotel and related expenses.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Three weeks on average.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes, for advertising and competition. If the digital files are included in the package, the couple may choose to make their own prints. We retain the right to use the images for advertising and promotional purposes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
We offer some of the finest albums on the market today.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Azalia
Wedding:
2/16/2014
5.0/5.0
Susan was fantastic! She listened to what we wanted, and gave us amazing winter wonderland pictures of our wedding. Every detail was captured so elegantly in Susan's photographs. And she's very sweet and easy to work with. I also love the fact that Susan wasn't afraid to get her boots dirty. We wanted picture of our sleigh ride, so Susan jumped into snow and took some fabulous pictures.
And the finished product came in this beautiful box. I highly recommend Susan for your event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rose
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan took the most beautiful photographs for our October Wedding!! My husband and I are so pleased with the photographs and we loved that we had so much say with everything. We were able to squeeze in a location that I always dreamed of too! It was so easy to work with Susan, she listen to all our wants and was able to deliver all of our requests. She is a very talented and wonderful woman to work with and you will be very impressed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
robin
Wedding:
11/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I cant say enough about Susan. She did my daughters engagement and wedding pictures. She was a pleasure to work with. She is both caring and professional not to mention patient. She helped select places for engagement photos and before the wedding photos. My daughter is from LI and she traveled there to do the engagement pictures at the beach. I feel Susan really sees the couple and it comes through in her photos. The engagement and wedding photos are phenomenal. We plan on using her for all our upcoming events!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Five Stars all around! Very professional; amazing and artistic ability to capture unique details as well as the "typical" wedding shots. Non-intrusive, which was important to me and my husband, yet somehow always there for intimate moments.

I would highly recommend that you use Susan. She is not cheap, but for the quality of her photos she is a bargain!

We were very happy with your photos, Susan, and hope to use you again for a baby album (fingers crossed!).
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan Blackburn provided the personal, professional touch that we looked for at our wedding. She was attentive and listened to what we wanted before, during and after the ceremony. Susan and her team were discreet and did not interfere with the ceremony, yet captured the special moments. I never knew she was taking photographs. I would highly recommend Susan for all the occasions you need a professional photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan Blackburn was great to work with. For starters she was very affordable. We found her to be extremely well priced with the same quality I have seen by other local photographers. She has a few different packages available, and the one we had included engagement photos as well which we LOVED.

She was friendly and I felt very comfortable having her around on my big day. I am not someone who likes getting their picture taken, but she made us feel comfortable and did not take away from us enjoying our day. I should say the day of the wedding was VERY warm and quite uncomfortable at times and she kept things moving and the pictures came out beautiful :) Compared to what I know others have paid for their wedding photographers, we felt like Susan was a steal because the pictures came out amazing! Also, her daughter was with her as an assistant and she was very professional as well and a great addition.

She just sent us a large metal print of our favorite picture as a holiday gift, which we loved and thought was a great personal touch.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan is truly a talented photographer! My husband and I had been trying for weeks to choose a small selection of photos for the wedding album she puts together, and it was so difficult to cut down because of the amazing collection! She was so easy going and fun to work with. Susan really worked with us when when told her about our needs to stay in budget. I had talked to a variety of professionals, and none were quite as flexible and genuine as she was. We really consider her a friend with a good eye for the best shot, that's how personal Susan is :) We'll be calling her again for life's special moments! P.S. She's great with pets!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
I would have liked a little more flexibility on the part of this vendor when it came to them going outside of their comfort zone to add/leave out certain people in pictures I had requested.
Services Used: Photography
Blackburn Portrait Design responded with the following comments:

I am sorry to hear that I didn't more clearly understand your wishes when it came to the group portraits. I would appreciate it if you would contact me and let me know how I can improve my services in this area. It is my personal goal that my clients are satisfied with all aspects of my services, and I strive to achieve 5 stars in all categories.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
veronicacondon11411
Wedding:
11/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough positive, appreciative and incredible things about Blackburn Portrait Design. Susan Blackburn made our Wedding day absolutely perfect from start to finish. From the very moment I contacted her about our wedding date, she was not only incredibly accomodating, she was very professional, charismatic, confident and extremely friendly. I felt as though I had already known her for years the first day that we met. I never had a doubt that she genuinely put her heart and soul into every piece of the process from her portfolios, the contract process, our meetings to review details and venues and above all else into making our wedding photographs spectacular. She entertained every idea I had and took all of my suggestions and requests above and beyond what I ever could have imagined was possible. The day of our wedding, she arrived at our venue right on time and with a huge smile. She not only made myself and everyone else involved feel comfortable and relaxed but she also knew how to lead us to just have fun and get some great candid shots in addition to the gorgeous, magazine quality posed photographs. Her eye for the perfect photograph with every single shot still amazes me. She works with such efficiency, grace and professionalism and always strives for nothing less than perfection. I do not consider myself a very photogenic person and when I voiced these concerns, she assured me that I should not be worried. I have never been able to say that I like every single picture of myself from an event until now. And when it's your wedding day, you want your photos to look beautiful. Trust me when I say that you will absolutely love every single picture. Susan was with us from the time we got ready through the majority of our reception and even stayed a little extra time to get some last photos for us. She took over 1,000 pictures and I am in love with every single one, no exceptions. She truly does capture feelings, emotions and people's hearts and personalities in her pictures. It's not just faces, it's the love between the bride and groom, the joyous celebration of the guests, the happiness all around and the life-changing emotions when two people become one that are captured in her photographs. I never thought a picture could be so moving. I wish I could get married again just so I could work with Susan another time! I could never begin to thank her enough for everything she did for us. I know beyond any doubt that had I used any other photographer that I would have been sorely disappointed because they would have fallen short of Susan's work. I promise you will be incredibly pleased with your experience with Blackburn Portrait Design, your photographs and especially with the amazing photographer, professional and friend that Susan Blackburn proved herself to be over and over again. Thank you so much for everything Susan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AMParkes
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to begin! The moment we saw her work at a wedding show we knew instantly that we wanted her as our photographer. We set up an appointment with her and she was wonderful! Her personality is great, I felt like I knew her for years! She made us feel so comfortable and important. Once we looked at her work in more detail we were amazed. Not only was her work gorgeous and so creative but we could see the time, effort, and perfection she put into every single picture. After how meeting with Susan, Kyle and I went out to lunch to talk about all the photographers we had seen so far and it was a no brainer...we signed our contract and brought it to her the same day! We were beyond excited and we could tell Susan was too...made us feel special. When Kyle and I were getting our engagement photos done we had a little bit of a twist...we wanted our dog (our son) in a few of the photos. Susan loved this and had so much fun with it. She took a challenge and rocked it! She knew exactly how and where we should stand for each photo. Her personality really showed that day; she made us laugh and have fun while taking all the photos. It was a blast...just a taste of what was about to come for our wedding day. Needless to say we showed off those engagement photos to EVERYONE and they all were amazed of the quality. She was fast and efficient too, 2 weeks later we had our photos. A couple weeks before our wedding, we met with Susan to talk about everything that will be going on that day, times, etc. All three of us were excited. When the day had arrived Susan was on time, ready to go, dressed to impress, and prepared and ready to go! The day went perfect in every way. Susan is a perfectionist and truly cares about her work. She assisted in our perfect day. Kyle and I not only have an amazing photographer that we will use for every occasion but we made a friend as well. Susan is an amazing photographer who loves what she does. She will do anything and everything to get the perfect shot. Thank you so much Susan!
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Wedding Wire Promotion
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Mention this promotion with the promotion code WW100 and receive a $100 studio credit when you book an all inclusive wedding photography package with us.
Deal #WW92414693240320f3
220x220_1393940521605-adirondack-fern-lodge-wedding-winte

MAP

 
Saratoga Springs, NY See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Blackburn Portrait Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo