130x130_sq_1294683621581-ywca115105

Black-eyed Pea

Arlington , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1301 E. Corporate Dr., Suite A
Arlington, TX US 76006 (map)

PHONE

817-371-2283

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Our most popular menu based on 150 guests at $22.50 per person includes: appetizers, 2 entrees, 3 vegetables, bread, non-alcoholic beverages, cake cutting service, all gratuity for... Read more
Our most popular menu based on 150 guests at $22.50 per person includes: appetizers, 2 entrees, 3 vegetables, bread, non-alcoholic beverages, cake cutting service, all gratuity for catering staff & taxes using our Classic Service. Per person price fluctuates depending on headcount, menu selections and services. Call us at 817-371-2283 or email us at bepcater@theblackeyedpea.com today for your free customized quote. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1277494716044-btcg6
130x130_sq_1328305762238-bbspinachsalad
130x130_sq_1328305840348-martinimashedpotatoes
130x130_sq_1328305994301-roastgrilledchicken
130x130_sq_1294684329008-img06090031
130x130_sq_1328305896082-pinwheels
130x130_sq_1328305809644-chickenspinachdipnachos
130x130_sq_1328306084926-txzestybruschetta
130x130_sq_1294684012726-ywca115104
130x130_sq_1277494743934-barorc
130x130_sq_1294683905143-ywca115102
130x130_sq_1328305774582-bepcateringlogo
130x130_sq_1402692394820-old-red-5-23-07-5
130x130_sq_1402693325134-the-orchard-002
130x130_sq_1402693354034-ywca-4-23-7
130x130_sq_1402693394216-ywca-11-5-10-1
130x130_sq_1402693434847-ywca-11-5-10-5
130x130_sq_1402693465641-10004210164
130x130_sq_1402693562654-img06090031
130x130_sq_1402693596876-old-bedford-school-4-20-12
130x130_sq_1402693615160-orc-awp-4
130x130_sq_1402693846112-img9758edited-1
130x130_sq_1402693960554-img9740edited-1
130x130_sq_1402694013385-ywca-4-23-7
130x130_sq_1402694042104-20060628image0005
130x130_sq_1402694072889-ywca-4-23-6
130x130_sq_1402694188832-tp-2

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (Traditional), Mexican, Southern, Southwestern
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
We are more than happy to meet with potential clients for taste tests and give information on our catering services.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
We do have a cake cutting fee of $40-$125 (depending on guest count). This price includes the cutting of the cake, serving, plates and utensils, special instruction such as saving the top tier and boxing of any leftover cake.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
We are licensed to sell alcohol and use our certified T.A.B.C. bartenders for the entire Dallas/ Ft. Worth area.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Yes, as long as the venue allows. We do have a corkage fee of $5.00 per bottle for champagne, if only the Champagne Toast is needed.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
Yes, for an additional cost we can arrange for most rentals that are requested. We like to offer one stop shopping for our clients, easing the wedding planning process.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
We use our most experienced wait staff for all catered events throughout the metroplex.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
3000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The staff was extremely professional and made my wedding party, Husband, guests, and I their number one priority. The food was very tasty and only received great feedback about the food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wilthalrio
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Not only do we eat here weekly, they were our first choice for catering our wedding. Much like the restaurant atmosphere and food quality, the wedding was more AMAZING. Lauren and her staff from the cedar springs Black Eyed Pea was amazing!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1398648491631-brittany-stefan-brittany-jpeg-000
AlmostMrsLewis
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with BEP catering! The tasting was wonderful Heather the catering manager allowed me to taste so many options it was hard for me to chose. Heather and her team where so nice and patient with me, I probably changed my menu 4 times!!!!! For my cocktail hour and reception I am still receiving compliments about how good the food taste everyone loved the spinach dip nacho and terriaki skewers. The staff was really good the went above and beyond even staying late to ensure that all of the china wear was picked up when the vendor got stuck in traffic.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Heather was wonderful to work with. She always answered my questions in a timely manner, easy to work with, and fun! The staff was very nice and on top of everything on my wedding day. It was a pleasure to work with BEP Catering and I would reccomend the glazed carrots. All my guests raved about them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dillis
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
This was our first time ever using BEP. Steven and BEP did all that they committee to and more. I was even impressed with the way the taste testing was handled. BEP works hard to please and satisfy their customers. I am so happy that we decided to use BEP. We made the right choice.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Heather and her staff go above and beyond what most caterers usually provide and really take the time to ensure that every detail of your wedding is perfect. They took the time to plan out the catering table decor to match my decor, the bar, the timeline and flow of the event and how to coordinate everything with each of the other vendors as well as suggesting bringing food early for our wedding party and parents so everyone was comfortable and not starving by the time the ceremony was finished.

Heather also takes the time to make a bride and groom get-away bag of food that was put in the car for my husband and I to enjoy after the wedding. Since most brides and grooms are too nervous and excited to eat and starving by the time they get to the hotel it was a great extra touch. Her staff also put slides of cake in the bag since we only got to taste our cake for pictures but never took the time to sit down and eat a slice.

It is impossible to find any other catering company, especially in the Dallas area that provides such a wide menu to choose from as well as the level of service especially for the price. My parents and I really liked the fact that Heather sent over a spreadsheet with every item and charge clearly written out with no hidden fees. Heather was able to help my parents figure out how much alcohol to buy for the bar so that we didn't over or under buy. Many people spend way more than necessary because they don't know any better, Heather was up front and honest about where we could cut costs and why paying a little more for certain services was worth it.

Many brides after their wedding say they would have planned things differently after it's all over. Luckily for me I wouldn't change a thing and part of that is because how perfect Heather and her team were during the planning stages and my wedding day.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cindy
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
We were highly pleased with food and service. Such a professional group to work with.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
1/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Selecting Black Eyed Pea for the catering of my daughter's wedding was one of the best decisions we made through the entire planning process! They were awesome! The food was delicious. My daughter and son-in-law wanted to serve breakfast for dinner and it was a huge hit! The Black Eyed Pea's suggestions were spot on and very well received by our guests. We had raves about the food and service. We could not have been any happier with the Black Eyed Pea!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather and her team are professional and helpful from start to finish! At the beginning tasting, Heather guided us through the right choices for our event, and followed up with us as the date grew closer. On the day of the wedding, the staff arrived promptly and were ready to go when our guests arrived. Their serving tables were beautifully displayed and matched our wedding design theme. The on-site staff was great - smiling, helpful, friendly and on top of our guests' needs. And the food - DELICIOUS! Our guests were raving about how good it was! Then they cleaned everything up, packed up the leftovers (including a "to go" bag for the bride and groom) and were out of there by the deadline, without a single glitch. Black-Eyed Pea is professional, yummy - and all at a great price! You will not go wrong with them! (Oh - and think of them beyond their in-restaurant menu! Their Italian food is soooooooo good that it was a really hard decision to make when it came to picking the menu!!!)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Black-Eyed Pea did a wonderful job with our wedding! I would recommend them in a heartbeat! The food was fabulous and the staff was extremely accommodating to our guests. I'm so happy we picked them for our big day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The service was great and the food was good.I will use them again
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Very good. Definately would recommend to friends.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karla
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
They were excellent from beginning to end!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather was a joy to work with. She helped me customize my ideal menu, and was always very forthcoming with helpful suggestions and money-saving tips. Phenomenal value. The day of our wedding, we received endless compliments on the quality of BEP's delicious food, and the friendliness of the service staff. I was so impressed with their high-quality service. I cannot recommend Heather Rose and Black Eyed Pea enough.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
The caterers did a fantastic job, and the guests raved about how wonderful the food was! Loved everything about their service!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather and her staff made my daughter's wedding a wonderful experience! We had several changes a few days before. Heather was able to make those changes without any issues. All of our guest complimented on how amazing the food tasted and wanted to know who the caterer was!

Thank you so much for all your efforts!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot find the words to express who incredible the service from Black-Eyed Pea was on the night of our wedding. My wife and I arrived at our reception behind schedule, and I walked immediately into the side door and into the kitchen to avoid our formal entrance. The staff greeted me and were incredibly friendly, and asked if we needed anything. In under 5 minutes, and while we were still stalling our formal entrance, they got us both water and drinks, and prepared plates for each of us with a little bit of everything that we had on the menu. They were extremely supportive, and said we could leave the plates in a side area and they would clean it up. To top all that off they had a server catch us throughout the evening and grab drinks and water for us. All of this and the food was perfect, and the guests are still going on about it. The staff sent us on our honeymoon with several boxes of food, including 2 full plates with a selection of everything on the menu, a few slices of cake, a box of hor d'oeuvres, and a plate of salad.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Traci
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather Rose and the Black Eyed Pea team was amazing, so professional and accommodating. So many of our wedding guests raved about the delicious appetizers and main entree.Without hesitation, I would definitely recommend their services for any event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather was so easy to work with. The service and meal great. I would recommend to anyone and will use for future events.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
All of my guests enjoyed the food and it was plenty of it to go around. Their prices beat out the other vendors that we looked at. From the taste testing to the wedding, I received nothing but wonderful and professional service from them. I was so impressed and very thankful that we chose them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather and the Black-eyed Pea team were absolutely phenomenal! They went above and beyond with everything. Heather was very communicative with me before the wedding, making sure that she knew exactly what we wanted for our special day. She was very detailed and super flexible while I kept trying to figure out the schedule for the day.

They took excellent care of me and my now husband. We sat down and they served us everything we wanted from the buffet - bringing us food, extra sauce, and drinks - she made SURE that we got to eat that night. They even packed up extra food for us to take with us for later that night or the next day, along with (and this is the best part) a slice of every layer of our cakes (they were all different)! I was extremely grateful for that and didn't even expect it because we had not talked about it. I think I got two bites of cake at our wedding so to have a slice of every layer to take with us was awesome!

The amount of food we got for our money, not to mention the service, was way worth it. Everyone had plenty to eat, and they loved it. All the guests raved about how surprised they were at how great the food was, especially for catering a 200 person wedding.

Overall, Black-eyed Pea was very professional and friendly. I would most definitely work with them again. (And eat at their restaurant!)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather with Black-eyed Pea Catering out of Arlington was awesome! Everyone keeps talking about how great the food was at the wedding - which is pretty hard to get when your catering a large number of people usually! Everything was so well organized and ran so smoothly. This was even their first time at this location, but you would have never known it. They took great care with making sure everyone was well-served. Heather made sure that my husband and I had all the food we wanted, including the sauces on the side and drinks. We got a to-go box for later that night and was SO excited to see that they had even boxed up a slice of every layer of our cake for us! (Awesome because every layer was different) I was extremely grateful for this because I got one bite from the groom's cake and one bite from my bridal cake at the wedding. It was so much food and such great service for the cost it was. So glad I discovered that Black-eyed Pea caters!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charlene
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
The service was great and the food was awesome. Thank you so much. We will definitely being recommending your services.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1334407927482-krisdarion1071m
Kristina
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Heather was very easy to work with and the selection of food was great. It was hard for us to decide on entrée choices because everything was good and priced very well. We changed the menu several times and she always sent over our revisions right away. Our guests loved the food and our choices. They are still raving about the hors d’oeuvres as most of our guests had several of each option. The waiters and bartenders were very nice and helpful. Several of them stopped by our table to congratulate us.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Pea was an amazing caterer for my wedding. I did not have to worry about one thing, Heather was so helpful with everything from start to finish.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Black-eyed Pea was wonderful for our wedding. They had so many choices to make our dinner perfect for everybody. They were very quick at returning phone calls and were very clear on answering any and all questions that we had. While at our reception, the employees were very nice and professional and made sure everything was great.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elidellio
Wedding:
3/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Our venue had a list of approved caterers to choose from and BEP was the only one we could afford. We were a little nervous going into the tasting but we definitely shouldn’t have been. We worked with Heather, who was completely amazing and loved everything we ate.

In the end, we went with chicken parmesan and blackened chicken which everyone seemed happy with. We also used their bartender and rented some wine glasses from them (this was very inexpensive) and were really pleased with those services, as well.

On the wedding day, the BEP staff went above and beyond and helped with anything we needed. They helped put decorations on the cocktail tables, set out my table numbers and even took down all the chairs from our outdoor ceremony.

Bottom line, they have great food and outstanding service at a very affordable price.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1333434394383-mg0361
Tiffany
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Heather, Steven and the Black-Eyed Pea team were simply FABULOUS to work with for my wedding reception! They were great in communicating with me and my wedding planner both via email and phone, they were flexible in making numerous changes to our quotes whenever we changed our minds on our food selections, and I've had nothing but positive feedback and comments regarding the service they provided to our guests at our reception!
I've even had a couple guests say "no way, that was Black-eyed Pea?!" when asked who did our catering, lol! People were amazed at the professionalism and quality of service and the food they were provided and thought for sure we paid a fortune for the vendor. Hats off to a superb job to Black-Eyed Pea for making our reception the best our guests have been to!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LOE
Wedding:
3/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I was a little concerned at first when my fiancee recommended Black-eyed Pea after the tasting we decided to go with them. At the wedding the staff was amazing they bent over backwards for us and were professional with all of our guests. They went above and beyond what they said they would do. Served our guests, cleaned up and even helped out beyond what they should have. The food was very good quality we received a lot of compliments on the food. They set up their tables to go with our decor so that the venue flowed flawlessly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rknight33
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
BEP catered my wedding and it was wonderful! The taste, the service, and the value was incredible! My guest really enjoyed it as well! My only regret is that I can't use them more!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1295737185282-467041496588283901781000003818532393112023593908n
Christi
Wedding:
2/29/2012
5.0/5.0
The staff was attentive, the food was delicious and there overall performance that night was fantastic. Just having the wait staff cater to my guest the way they did made the night that much more enjoyable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DoubleDandAC
Wedding:
1/27/2012
5.0/5.0
100% would recommend to anyone else. Definitely got your bang for your buck. Wasn't very expensive at all, and received NUMEROUS complements about the food and service. They catered to our specific needs regarding alcohol and our food orders, and were overall very caring and nuturing in a stressful time.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarahelaine
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have been more happy with the Black Eyed Pea. They were professional and incredible to work with. We had so many compliments on the menu at our wedding and we wouldn't have changed a thing!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mob.aka.wedding planner
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Unbelievable service & great food!!! So much so that I hope my review is taken seriously. We went to so many tastings and I will admit I was a little hesitant about scheduling a tasting with the Blackeyed Pea. Only because I think of them as a chain restarant and not a high end caterer. I'm sure glad we did because the high end caterers we had tastings with wanted to charge us double what Blackeyed Pea quoted, offered less service, and the food was not that impressive. As much as I was impressed at the tasting, I was even more impressed with the actual service & food we rec'd. They went above and beyond my expectations. They stayed the entire reception from 6 to midnight, not only did they pack and clean up after themselves they helped us pack up and clean up the venue which was not their responsibility. I can't say enough good things that could justify the service and quality we rec'd. I highly recommend them. Heather Rose and her staff were incredible and epitomize the definition of great customer service, which I find to be lacking in a lot of companies these day. I just wish I could say that about all my vendors. I would & will sing thier praises and highly recommend them for any type of wedding. The food was phenomenal! Fresh and hot as you can get it, like I said unbelievable!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wed10
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Pea's was excellent! If youre looking for good food on a budget, this is the way to go! The food was delicious (country fried steak, potatoes, broccoli, bun), good southern home cooking :-) They were able to work with me in providing a sit down dinner, with set up, clean up, cake cutting and serving, and toast service! It was all very elegant, the servers were courteous, professional, and uniformed. I still cant believe I got such a good deal.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
loved working with Black Eye Pea, food was great, service was great, was able to get all the china, and linens so they just made everything easy, specially Heather Rose, she is the best! over all very happy with their service!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rabl7400
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Black-Eyed Pea provided everything that they said they would and even more. They left no stones unturned. This was one part of our wedding where we had no worries or concerns.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lacrabtree
Wedding:
9/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Heather and her team were amazing, I have zero complaints! The food and service at the wedding was wonderful. Heather was extremely patient with me and responded quickly to all my questions .
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KCole
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
The entire process from the consulatation until shutdown at the reception hall went smoothly! We were and are very pleased with the professional and personable work Black Eyed Pea offered us throughout the process and even on the Wedding Day. My parents paid for this portion of the wedding, and they agree that BEP did a tremendous job! I will definantly refer them for any catering event I hear of or host in the future. From their staff, the cost, and day of servers BEP had a well oiled machine that is workign wonders for them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stacybartle
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Best money-saving decision of the whole wedding! We did a plated dinner for 200 people and a cocktail hour with passed appetizers. It could not have gone better. The food was hot and amazing, and we received a TON of compliments. The staff was on time, professional, and went the extra mile. Some of the staff even helped my wedding coordinator finish decorating! Heather Rose is amazing to work with. She's incredibly accommodating, responds quickly to emails and phone calls, and thinks of everything. The event was very elegant, and BEP fit right in. This caterer is not just for budget weddings! They do a top notch job, and I have zero complaints.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mollycourtright
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Black Eyed Pea was one of the best vendors I hired to work my wedding. Heather was always there when I had a question or needed something and never hesitated to get my husband and me something that we asked for. The staff made me feel so special and was very nice to me and my guests. Not only was the service superb, but the food was FANTASTIC. I have been married for a month and I still have people telling me how wonderful the food was! We couldn't afford to serve Strawberry Lemonade to the whole group, but heather knew it was my favorite so she brought a pitcher just for me. It was little touches like that that made BEP worth every penny!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kacie Vanover
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
They were absolutely fantastic! The reception ran so smoothly because of the Black-Eyed Pea.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
wonderful in every aspect, ask for heather rose
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Jane
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
There are MANY area restaurants that cater, but I don\'t think you can find another to surpass the professionalism, price, food, and service offered by BEP. Heather Rose has been at this a while, so I think she\'s probably had every request you can imagine. I initially found out about BEP by registering with FWST to get a free packet. My email address was passed on to many vendors, and one day I got an email from BEP offering me a 10% discount and a free tasting. I thought, \"why not?\" even though it was in July (January wedding) and the thought of comfort food had little to no appeal. You should know that BEP\'s menu options are so extensive that you could find choices that work in the heat of the summer. My daughter is a vegetarian, and it was very important to her that there be a tasty option. BEP prepared a very flavorful spinach lasagna. Our other selections were fruit, cheese and crackers for nibbling, pot roast, salmon (among the best I\'ve tried and a VERY generous portion), corn, carrots and mashed potatoes, wheat rolls and beverages--perfect for a cold January afternoon. We also paid for cake cutting and a champagne toast (we supplied champagne; they supplied service and for a reasonable cost glass flutes). They packaged up all leftovers in sturdy containers and had \"to go\" boxes for the bride and groom (with items they wanted). I can\'t tell you how much they appreciated this that evening, as they didn\'t leave for their honeymoon till the next day. While we did a buffet, the bride and groom were served first (again with their food choices). BEP has probably catered at most venues in the area. We used the ballroom of Rose Chapel (see my separate review), and it was like a well-oiled machine. What have you got to lose? Call and set up a free tasting at the BEP most convenient to you. You will NOT be sorry.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jan
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Heather and her staff were AMAZING!!! They did a great job of taking care of our every need. They were professional and we would highly recommend their services to anyone and will use them in the future for any catering we may need.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jjameslunger
Wedding:
12/3/2010
5.0/5.0
They did a great job, everything went perfect, and everyone absolutely loved the food!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NIKKISANNY
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Heather and her team was awesome.They made my wedding day even more special with their kindness and professionalism.If you want good food and good people use BLACK-EYE PEA for your catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
myrage62
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I have never been more pleased in my life. Heather answered all my e-mails in a timely fashion and there was a lot of e-mails. She always returned my phones calls and understood from day one what our budget was and was willing to help provide the exceptional service that we wanted. She made lots of suggestions and most of them I took and they all turned out great. Our Bartendar Heather was the best. She took great care of our guest and the Turner twist was and still is the talk of the wedding. I don't plan on getting married again, but we will definitely use Black-eyed Pea for future catering ventures. You guys have made us customers for life.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeremy
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
I searched all over the place for a great caterer at a reasonable cost. After getting quotes in the 3-5000 range I came across the Black Eyed Pea booth at a wedding show. Heather was very nice and invited us to a local location for a tasting and to give us a quote. We tired all kinds of main dishes, side dishes and even different types of rolls. The food was absolutely amazing. When she showed us a print out of the cost we knew we had found our caterer. On top of that they were able to provide our bartender also. At the wedding the set up was amazing. Heather had emailed a week prior to get our personal order. So when we set down she hand delivered our food to us! People couldn't stop talking about the food. For the cost and quailty of service I would recommend Black Eye Pea to everyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LoneStar6R
Wedding:
7/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I can’t say enough about the quality of both the meal and your staff.
Our guests are still talking about how good the food was…and one of these friends is a caterer herself. Your staff was courteous, efficient and most helpful all evening long and they served dinner and cleared plates without ever being noticed or in the way. Your bartender was a delight and kept everything going so smoothly. To top it off, at the end of the evening they even helped me load the leftover cases into my car. I cannot tell you how grateful I was for their helpfulness. You and your whole staff are to be commended on a job very well done
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin&Erin
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Heather from BEP is amazing! She worked her schedule around so she could be at our wedding since we had been dealing with her, and it was a pleasent surprise! Food and service was great. Excellent bartender too.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tx_teach
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
The food was spectacular and the wait staff was very professional.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darla
Wedding:
5/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Heather Rose was a trooper...she handled everything to perfection...she made my daughter Mishka's special night...truly special..Darla Wood Mother of the Bride.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
akryzak
Wedding:
4/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Black-eyed Pea catered my wedding reception and they were FANTASTIC! The food was delicious, the staff very professional and easy to work with, and their prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend Black-eyed Pea to anyone for their catering needs.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1236354797324-pict0030
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
FANTASTIC SERVICE! Heather was a pleasure to work with and made things easy for us. Would highly recommend Black-eyed Pea for catering events.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
3/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Jennifer and Heather at BEP were so amazing and helpful! The food was wonderful and the presentation looked great too! They decorated their own tables and matched our colors perfectly. They made us a to go box with food and even put some of our cake in it as well, which was awesome because we were starving when we got back to the hotel! They were also quick to respond when we had a question and gave great advice. I will definitely recommend them to any bride, their service was impeccable!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kymt
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
We were married on September 19, 2009 and had searched and searched for a caterer and the prices were ridiculous.

Black Eyed Pea has the best price and service for weddings! They did an excellent job on the food and the service provided at our wedding. We HIGHLY recommend them for your wedding! If we had any questions or changes they responded IMMEDIATELY to make sure we were happy and satisfied! Excellent service! We have gotten so many great compliments on the food and service, my guests loved it!

Thanks Heather and Jennifer for making our day and we will definitely use you guys for any future events!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
winslm1
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
I can't say anything bad about Black Eye Pea, the tasting was great, the set up at the reception was great, the waitstaff at the reception was great, Heather was wonderful to work with, she always kept in touch and responded very quickly, I would definitely use again.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1248238546343-willandrashida1
Shida
Wedding:
7/12/2009
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for real food that people will enjoy, please call Heather at the Black Eyed Pea! People are still talking about the catfish and chicken. I got more comments about how good the food was than how pretty I looked it! The service was great and the staff blended in very well. I really do not remember seeing them at all but I know they were there! I would use BEP for catering again for sure!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1254104043103-jd15789
Katie Mc.
Wedding:
6/28/2009
5.0/5.0
The food was just right for a night full of fun and lots of drinking. We ran out of fruit and the hot food near the end, so you may want to get a little more for your reception especially if it's a large reception or if there will be alcohol. It was great and she was very helpful with getting us the best deal.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniela
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Black eyed Pea did an excellent job. From the beginning of the process to the end was really easy and stress free. Heather had great communication and took care of us well to make sure our day was special.
Services Used: Catering
Bg19
swankybich
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Heather was great from the get go, she's very warm and has a caring personality. I wanted a pasta station but kept hearing great reviews about Heather so I just asked if I could have pasta not thinking she would say yes (being that it's homestyle cooking) but she did. I even wanted the sauce and meat seperate so guests could have a choice. The wedding night Heather and her staff were really great. Everyone loved the food. You really can't beat the price for what you get.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jamilsbride
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Heather R. and her team are amazing. The food was good and hot even though my hubby and I were late to the reception. I went with Black Eye Pea because I got more bang for my buck and Heather previously worked my venue. I never felt like she was trying to get more money out of us. She honestly answered our questions and gave great recommendations. She recommended my baker, whom I loved. Her staff/team remained professional and the bartender, another Heather, met with us before the wedding to get the drinks right!

Go with BEP, you won't be disappointed with the tablescape on the buffet or the professional service.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1217622130869-may001
Amanda
Wedding:
4/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Where do I start?! From the very beginning Heather was awesome! She met me and my fiance (husband now) at our convienece and at a location close to us. We samlpld lots of dishes and she was very good at making reccomendations and helping us plan our meal. Heather was also able to provide us with rentals of linens (which we didnt' use but very helpful anyway) and rentals of all our plates, utencils, glasses and all for the wedding (the price below includes all of that). The day of the wedding her and her team went above and beyond our expectation! She personally served my husand and I (we had a buffet line) and made sure we had food and cake to-go at the end of the night. She even got us our drinks at the bar! They made sure we had small plates and knife and forks at the cake table for when we cut our cake and served all our guest so they didnt have to wait in line! Most importantly the food was amazing and we had people talking to us about the next day!!!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Butterbean
Wedding:
3/21/2009
5.0/5.0
I would like to thank Heather Rose and her assistant Jennifer Gonzalez for arranging such a fabulous spread for my wedding. I felt nervous searching for caterers since they tend to be the most costly part of weddings. I ran into some that were pushy and tried to add other services that I can't afford and didn't need. However, I just wanted some down-home, comfortable food for my semi-formal wedding and I recieved that and more through Black Eyed Pea. I love that they emailed a spreadsheet where you can add or subtract the food you want and the quantities needed. Everything will add updown to the taxes to where you can see the final price off the bat. Our face-to-face meeting was brief since my fiance and I were familiar with their delicious food, so not much of my time was taken during these arrangements. On my wedding day, waitstaff were attentive and friendly towards me and my guests; one of the waiters went beyond his duties to help me out with a few minor decor problems. Towards the end of the night, they packed up our leftovers for my guests to take home in individual bags. They even left a bag for my husband and I to have for our wedding night. Black-Eyed Pea deserves high praises and their restaurants shall expect plenty of visits from my guests in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CheffyKnit
Wedding:
11/3/2007
5.0/5.0
The Black-eyed Pea is not a place you would typically turn to for catering your wedding. Most people think *Down Home Country Goodness* not *Elegant, Formal Delicious food*. However, I was pleasantly surprised by Heather and her sincerity and caring nature. She really took care of me and helped me change from a nervous wreck, to a confident bride. I had only 6 weeks to plan our wedding, and I found her 2 weeks into it. She was able to have a plan drawn up for us in minutes, as well as help us find a venue. You don't have to choose from a set plan, you're able to actually create the menu yourself without a hassle. I would recommend them a million times over
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.9/5.0
Heather Rose and her team are amazing. They were a huge help to making the wedding reception come off perfectly. The food was great, the staff were professional and very friendly and they even packed us dinner and cake to-go and put it in our getaway car. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and Heather was so easy to work with. I would highly recommend BEP for any occasion and will definitely be using them again for future events.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrssoup
Wedding:
3/21/2009
4.9/5.0
services included catering, serving, bartending. for appetizers guests munched on cheese, crackers, fruit and shrimp. we had a dinner buffet of steak, salmon, salad, steamed broccoli, green beans and new potatoes. their staff was awesome! they made sure my husband and I had a plate to eat that night and they packed up all the leftovers for us to take home. we will have steak, broccoli and potatoes for a whole week! heather, jennifer, jesse and the team are awesome. They are so down to earth as well. BEP's costs are a fraction of what most caterers charge in Dallas. there was one server who interrupted the speeches to pass out cake, but other than that, their staff was very professional and courteous.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.8/5.0
BEP catering went above and beyond during my wedding! My groom and I's plates were ready when we sat down at our table and we had time to eat while all our guests went through the buffet line. Heather made very helpful suggestions throughout the planning process and if there was a problem onsite I never knew about it. I could not have been happier with our food choices either! Tasty!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaGwenna
Wedding:
7/21/2013
4.8/5.0
Food was delicious!!!! Wouldn't change a thing!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniel
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.7/5.0
Excellent to work with, and great service for the night of the wedding! They were able to accommodate changes with ease, and helped us to save a few dollars with reasonable suggestions earned from experience.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
10/26/2008
4.6/5.0
The quality of service was beyond my expectations. Heather and her staff did a superb job. Heather was a little slow on returning phone calls. Over all I would highly recommend the Black Eyed Pea.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brian
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.5/5.0
The only drawbacks to the night was that there was no dinner plate prepared for us to take with us after the reception was over. We were told prior to the event that there would be a to-go plate given to us; however, no one had prepared one for us. Also, after the reception the bride and myself had to approach the servers about the left over food due to again no one packaging up the remaining food in order for it to be taken away by the designated person as we had planned before the reception date. We ended up having to take the leftovers with us after the reception, making a trip home before going to our honeymoon destination reservations.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1255649308667-tamschristmasparty0076
shdwmac
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.5/5.0
With BEP you get a lot of bang for your buck, which is exactly what we were looking for. It was really nice to have salt, pepper and sugar caddies incluided at each table. The set up of the buffett was very well done, it matched my nature theme perfectly! The food was very tastey and we got lots of compliments on how good it was. Heather was super helpful and friendly to work with through out the entire process. Melissa was also very helpful over the phone and in email.

We did have a few issues through out the night. Dinner was not to be served until 6:30 and at 6:15 we were being told that we needed to move things along faster because the food was getting cold. Once dinner was ready to be served my SIL asked if the tables were going to be dismissed in any order and was told no, when my SIL pointed out that it might be a bit hectic with no order, the lady told her (in a nice way) that she (my SIL) could dismiss the tables. The groom did not let this happen. Not a huge deal but we felt like this should have been suggested before / handled by the caterer. The only other thing we didn't like was that the bartender put out a tip jar. This was an open beer / wine bar. The point of that was so no guest had to spend any money but yet there was a tip jar. I had a few guests tell me they felt bad for not tipping but that they didn't have any cash on them. We had intentions of giving the bartender a nice tip at the end of the evening but did not after that. We felt this should also have been discussed before the event.

Even with the few hiccups we really enjoyed having BEP cater our event. We would even still recommend their services to other people and would use them again in the future ourselves. Just be sure to clarify all the small things like the dismissal and tip jar.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1296750053203-187
Shannon
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.5/5.0
After meeting with a few different caterers, I was thrilled to sit down with Heather from BEP! She gave us tons of food samples, and it was all delicious! The prices made it even better... they were definitely unbeatable. Heather and I spoke on the phone numerous times about little details and how she was going to handle certain things. I didn't have a DJ at my reception, and Heather worked with us on how to maintain the "flow" of the reception without having a formal announcer.

Unfortunately, Heather herself did not show up at the wedding. Her assistant came to the walkthrough, but I just assumed she was taking notes for Heather. I was very surprised on the day of the wedding to find ONLY Heather's assistant. Our food was brought to us at the completely wrong time (right when we walked into the reception), so the whole "flow" that we worked so hard on didn't happen at all.

Overall, the food was great, the price was phenomenal, the set-up was nice, and Heather's knowledge is very valuable. However, check and find out who is actually going to be attending your event, because that part was not communicated to me well.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
12/10/2010
4.4/5.0
What they offered on the menu is what attracted us. A large selection than other venues. Another attraction was the price and to top it off, their professionalism. Very origanized and detailed. Heather Rose was fantastic. No stress or worry they take care and think of everything. And yes, I had many compliments on the tasty food from the guests.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thenowmrsalexander
Wedding:
1/1/2011
4.3/5.0
I couldn't give BEP a perfect score only because it's hard to get in touch with them by phone, you're better off with email, and because the staff person who was supposed to help with cutting the cake was not as helpful as I would have expected. She didn't seem to know which side of the table she should be on, and then I had to tell her to move so I could get where I needed to be.
Otherwise, the food was amazing, you can't beat the cost, and the rest of the service was awesome. Really happy we went with them.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
1301 E. Corporate Dr., Suite A, Arlington, TX 76006 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Black-eyed Pea
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1294683621581-ywca115105