130x130_sq_1347396140590-cake11

Blair's Custom Cakes

Surprise , AZ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

North 168th Avenue
Surprise, AZ US 85388 (map)

PHONE

623-340-1250

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Every girl’s dream: the perfect wedding, the perfect groom, the perfect cake! Choose from a wide selection of delectable flavors--from traditional Wedding white cake to the sophisticated... Read more
Every girl’s dream: the perfect wedding, the perfect groom, the perfect cake! Choose from a wide selection of delectable flavors--from traditional Wedding white cake to the sophisticated indulgence of a Pink Champagne cake. The sky is the limit when choosing your decoration--every bride should have a unique masterpiece that is her very own. Each Cake is constructed with your original design. A creation that is an adventure for the palette, as well as the eye! I have cake designs and innovations to fit any occasion or celebration.

Now making Monogram Cookie Favors! Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1347393802603-cake11
130x130_sq_1347393761960-598624101518100526455941475958445n
130x130_sq_1347393783697-523085101510969914035121805740228n
130x130_sq_1347396265216-42872610150649552633512424004085n
130x130_sq_1309222675759-dscn2105
130x130_sq_1309222782728-dscn2106
130x130_sq_1309222809108-cakewed
130x130_sq_1256495567004-cakepicsz054
130x130_sq_1309222950897-dscn2012
130x130_sq_1309223481220-2410637970569351158594351140639647178943n
130x130_sq_1309223509596-2530031986038851158594351137107655076738n
130x130_sq_1309223523823-18074549485998851158594351162449732475568n
130x130_sq_1309223617533-32642532899orig
130x130_sq_1309223595833-n58594351120087087282130
130x130_sq_1232061599671-3175473490_82e9ba09b2
130x130_sq_1214233998647-wedd12
130x130_sq_1246935614389-504211426167047659918047628675912769637n
130x130_sq_1213043802746-picture800
130x130_sq_1206821641086-hpim0848
130x130_sq_1232061564250-3174638265_47e6b5d357
130x130_sq_1215915110290-mycakes014
130x130_sq_1235625431029-mycakes020
130x130_sq_1214233834334-98uh
130x130_sq_1212558359410-picture190
130x130_sq_1309223495213-2083239726870851158594351144948787846518n
130x130_sq_1256495566129-cakepicsz048
130x130_sq_1256495606504-cakepicsz043
130x130_sq_1256495607207-cakepicsz028
130x130_sq_1246935567014-481410035264544267498044224735184289468n
130x130_sq_1235625415419-mycakes036
130x130_sq_1237483926507-cakesnew007
130x130_sq_1232061664140-3175473414_5ba7efa28a
130x130_sq_1232061632140-3175473662_1570338c4d
130x130_sq_1235625416513-mycakes052
130x130_sq_1212557995301-picture046
130x130_sq_1235625443763-mycakes028
130x130_sq_1212557957551-picture008
130x130_sq_1235625429982-mycakes048
130x130_sq_1232061730203-3175473630_b296f59ea7
130x130_sq_1212558262707-picture043
130x130_sq_1213043570715-picture811

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Yes!! I offer free cake tastings, please call for an appointment. (623) 340-1250
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our cakes are priced by the slice.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes... but I always do a free anniversary cake so you can serve it.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Each cake is designed to reflect your individual personality. They are decorated based on your specifications. Please feel free to bring in pictures or colors that you are working with.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We use the highest quality of ingredients. Yes, we do have fresh fruit fillings.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
I always bake the cakes the day before the wedding to ensure total freshness!
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
I never do more than 2.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes!
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
I deliver to most all areas in the metro Phoenix area. My delivery prices start at 20 dollars.

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.5/5.0
My husband and I actually got married in a small JOP Ceremony on May 7, 2012, after he had a motorcycle accident. At that time, we had decided we would do a small get together at the end of summer with friends and family to celebrate our marriage. My best friend had offered to buy our cake for the "reception," and upon hearing that I had ordered it from WalMart, she said "NO," so I started looking for a baker 1 week prior to our party. Blair was the second number I called but the only response I got. Luckily, she lives near my best friend, and agreed to meet with us at her place the Sunday before our party. We had purchased our cake topper that same day, and we were worried that it would be too heavy for our cake, so Blair said she would put extra support in the top layer of our cake to hold the weight. She dropped the cake off at my friend's house the day of the party, and my friend got it to my place without any trouble. It was absolutely beautiful and very yummy. Our cake topper fit perfectly with no trouble at all. My guests really enjoyed the cake, but especially loved the top tier which was pink champagne with raspberry filling! We're definitely going to have that flavor for our 1-year anniversary cake. Thanks so much, Blair, for the beautiful cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
UnhappyCustomer
Wedding:
1/2/2012
0.0/5.0
This was a disaster! We signed a contract stating if we cancelled at least 12 weeks in advance we would get our deposit back. Well we had an unforeseen financial difficulty and had to cancel the entire wedding until next year, 2013. We called her months in advance and asked for the deposit and let her know we would still be using her, just at a later date. Well first she said she couldn't give it to us cause it would put her in a bind. We let it slide. Then she went on vacation for 2 weeks and promised we could get it back. 3 weeks later and we had to fight to get it back. Not only did she not want to give it back, she avoided phone calls, only replied (rarely) to emails. The worst part is on her business facebook page she LIED about us, stating it was NOT in our contract to get the deposit, and she changed the rules. She told 1/2 truths and got support from people who also said horrid things about us. If they would have known the truth it would be otherwise. I don't mind the rest of the mess, she isn't very professional, but to really give me a bad name on a public site? To outright LIE to look like a victim? It makes me sick. Her cakes may be great but she is a horrible business owner and has even worse customer service. I recommend going to a REAL business for a cake, not some home-run 1/2 job.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Blair's Custom Cakes responded with the following comments:

All I have to say is WOW!! I wish I could add the emails and voicemails from this couple to back me up but that is impossible.. First off let me start by saying I have never ever worked with a more unprofessional person in my life.
They called and said they needed their deposit back which is true. That's about the only truth here. I told them I would get back to them in a couple of days. I needed to check the contract and make sure that was even a possibility because I changed my contract many month ago saying no deposit returns.(they had the old contract which said YES refunds were possible) The first call was right before Christmas. I have to admit that with the hustle and bustle of Christmas I was not as prompt as I normally am. I did email them before the holiday saying that I was going out of town and they would be the first thing on my list when I got home. When I was on my only 2 week vacation of the year I got many nasty threatening messages. I didn't call back but did email so I had proof of our conversations. I never received a message back. When I came home we set up a time for them to come get the deposit and did not show up. We set up another time to meet and again a no show. Finally last night at 915 (I was in bed) they call my home and business line till I answered the phone. (I don't ever answer business calls after 8pm) screaming at me that I better give him the money or he taking me to court.. WOW.. so I got up and put the money under my mat.. To tell you the truth I am scared that this couple knows where I live.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LAUREN
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.2/5.0
BLAIR IS AN OUT OF HER HOME CAKE BAKER. I SHOPPED & SHOPPED & SHOPPED DIFFERENT BAKERS AND NOTHING COMPARED TO BLAIR HER CAKE NOT ONLY TASTE BETTER BUT WAS ABOUT 1/2 THE PRICE AND SHE REALLY WAS AWESOME TO MEET WITH SHE KNEW EXCATLY WHAT I WANTED FROM THE GET GO & I JUST LOVED HER <3 THANKS BLAIR
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
1/22/2011
5.0/5.0
I just wanna say my cake was absolutely amazing!!! I worked with Blair on the phone because i had to plan my wedding from 3000 miles away. She did a fantastic job on the cake and we had a 4 layer cake that was supposed to serve well over a hundred and we had less then 50 people and 3 layers of the cake was gone. That's how amazing our cake was. Everyone absolutely loved our cake and we did too and the design and colors were amazing as well. Thank you so much Blair!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I was beyond pleased with the cakes that Blair made for my wedding. I requested over 20 individual centerpiece cakes, one tiered cake, and one groom's cake, and she accepted the challenge and did a wonderful job! The cakes were decorated beautifully, tasted fresh and moist, and were exactly how I envisioned them. Blair was easy to talk with and eager to meet with me to discuss what I wanted my cakes to be like. I felt like I was talking with an old friend and I truly felt that she wanted to make these cakes special for me. Many of the guests from our wedding asked to take some cake home with them and commented on how delicious they were and how the fondant didn't taste like rubbery fondant you usually get on wedding cakes. I was so pleased and would recommend Blair's Custom Cakes for anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aimers1016
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Blair made not only a Gorgeous cake, but an incredibly delicious one! My husband and I were in heaven, especially since you can eat the fondant! Our guests raved about the moistness of the cake, as well as how beautiful it was. Blair, you are the best! Thanks again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MCR
Wedding:
7/30/2010
4.8/5.0
Should have written a review a while back but it's been crazy. I had a small celebration dinner for my civil wedding and ordered a small simple but elegant cake from Blair. I've always ordered my bday cakes and other cakes from her. As always, the cakes turned out good :) The cake was moist and very delicious!!! Can't wait to order my daughters' baptism cakes from her in April!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Blair's Cake was awesome. Blair did 180 cupcakes along with a 6 inch cake for my wedding in 2010. I was planning two weddings one in Arizona and another in Central America where I'm currently living. It was such a stressful time. One of my best friends told me about Blair’s cake because Blair had done her sister’s wedding cake and thought it was the best wedding cake ever. From hearing all these good things I met with Blair. She was very sweet and knew exactly what I wanted. I saw her once then I went back to Central America and never worried about it again. When the wedding came Blair was there and ready to go. She did everything! The cupcakes looked amazing and also tasted AMAZING. My husband couldn’t stop eating the cupcakes well everyone couldn’t stop eating them. I’m very thankful for Blair’s hard work. I would recommend her for any occasion. Thank you Blair!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Petite Ladybug
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Have worked with Blair's Custom Custom Cakes before! My Wedding cake was a breeze and beyond beautiful! Showed her my colors, the color flowers I wanted, the shape and flavors......This easily could have been a $1000 cake! It was fabulous and delicious. Very professional, very timely, great service and definitely a Bride's best friend!! l highly recommend Blair's Custom Cakes! ~Joyce O'Connor
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Schuitema's
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Blair's cakes are delicious! She was very professional to meet with, listened to what we wanted and offered good suggestions/alternatives. She delivered on time and took care of everything. We had many comments on how great the cakes tasted! Blair's offers beautiful cakes that taste great! Not a combination that is easy to find. Pricing was also very reasonable!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1275502074652-img6570
Laura
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Blairs cakes were AMAZING! She used our little toy characters and made our cake for our Pirate themed wedding look like a pirate ship and a separate cake looked like the ocean with a shark jumping out of it, and all on a budget that did not kill us! She was the most reasonable of about a dozen different bakers we interviewed, and our cake was GORGEOUS!
Taste?? 3 different tiers and a sheet cake, 4 different flavors to make everyone happy, and they were scrumptious! Moist and fresh, this cake could not be better!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaurentotheG
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Blair was amazing. Not only were her prices perfect, she made my vision come to life for our wedding cake! She had lots of ideas, was very patient and easy going. She put my mind at ease and reassured me that I would not have to worry about the cake on my wedding day, and I didn't! She added fresh flowers to my cake and was gone before I even arrived at our venue. The taste of the cake was awesome! I hate when people use too much fondant; it consumes the flavor of the cake! But, Blair uses just enough to make the cake look flawless. Everytime I have a friend who is getting married, I refer them to Blair! Thanks again, Blaire!! =)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
1/9/2010
4.8/5.0
Blair did an amazing job on our cake. It looked amazing - I couldn't have imagined it any better. It tasted great and everyone enjoyed it. We had a little scheduling conflict getting together for our tasting, but she was great to work with and great personality. I'd definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a great cake for a great value!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1244775289693-lynch
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/9/2009
1.3/5.0
1 year later very disappointed. Was told not to save the cake topper and that on our 1 year anniversary she'd make us the remake of the cake. My wife emailed on several of her email accounts including her website on shutterfly.com. She tried for 1 month and gave up after no response from Blair. Went to another cake company to remake the cake. Don't really care for her excuse have all the emails copied and marked read. Cake was great at our wedding but as far as caring for her customers after its over we felt misled.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Blair's Custom Cakes responded with the following comments:

Its to bad you didn't read this couples review a year ago when they said how amazing their cake was... I returned the call from them about 4 days before their anniversary and they said they had gone somewhere else for the cake. what can you do about that??
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.7/5.0
I'd like to first start off by saying Blair is as sweet as can be. The reason I gave a low score on quality is really my fault. I asked for a very difficult cake. I gave her a piece of ribbon that matches my wedding color for her to make the fondant out of, but it was sheer and the color only shows if you double up the ribbon; which I tried taping together. The color I wanted was a dark olive green with a gold shimmer, but it came out very light green. I also asked for a unique looking bow that I found online made out of fondant as the topper, but I got a groom/bride topper instead. I told her though that I trust her judgment and if the bow doesn't look great, don't do it. I also told her if the color is not exact, make something that will still look nice. I was hoping for more, but for the cost, I still got a great cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hbrobins
Wedding:
4/4/2009
1.6/5.0
We did get a cake for our wedding, and we did like it even though it was not fully decorated as we wanted it, but we were able to forget that. She even let us know that she would be happy to make us a cake for our 1 year wedding anniversary. Well we called a couple of weeks before our anniversary and it took her about a week and a half and a half a dozen calls for her to return our call. She mentioned she had been sick but she would be still do a cake for us. She let us know she would make cake for us for our anniversary getaway we had a week after our actual annivesary. When we went on our getaway we called her again, and she didn't call us back until we got back. She said she was sorry and that she would deliver a cake to us the next day. We called back again the next day because we never received our cake and she didn't call us. We have since called her at least 6 times and she has never once called us back. My major complaint is out of principle. If you are going to offer your customer a free 1 year anniversary cake, you better deliver, otherwise, do not bother to offer something like that if you do not plan on delivering!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Blair's Custom Cakes responded with the following comments:

It's to bad I didn't see this review sooner.. I would have responded right away. I would like to start by saying I spoke to both bride and groom after the wedding and they raved about their cake and were very happy with it. Secondly I did totally blow them off about the anniversary cake I fully admit to that. My son was sick sick sick and I did let them know if I could do the cake I would be happy to. But on my end it just didn't work out. And as well as lying about how they liked the cake, they are not being truthful about the 2nd anniversary cake. They called left a message and I returned the call the same hour. Told her husband (on voice mail) that I would be more than happy to make them the cake I NEVER heard back from them (after leaving 2 more messages) . I cannot please every customer but do my best to do so. I am a mom and business owner and sometimes my family has to come first. I also want to remind you this is a free convenience service that I offer for my couples I was never paid for this disservice.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amonell
Wedding:
3/14/2009
5.0/5.0
My cake was not only gorgeous, but it tasted amazing. My guests actually took home left over cake because they said it was so good!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carebear785
Wedding:
11/8/2008
4.8/5.0
Blair was awesome. Her prices are great, and she actually brings the cake to your house for a testing which was so much fun! Her cakes are delicious a beautiful, and she is so sweet! Would highly recommend her to anyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JENNAK32
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Blair did a great job on our cake and we were very happy with it. We will be using her for anniversarys and birthdays. Everyone loved the cake and thought we paid alot of money and we didnt. Thanks again!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
2/8/2008
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding cake done by Blair and it turned out exceptional....we had quite a difficult design and she made it a masterpiece! Our cake tasted amazing and had guests going back for more! Since our wedding she has done a birthday cake for our daughter and that was really beautiful as well! We don't just recommend Blair we will never go any where else for a cake ever again!

Thanks Blair for making our special day even more amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zabrina
Wedding:
5/6/2007
5.0/5.0
Blair did a great job on our cake and we were very happy with it. We will be using her for anniversarys and birthdays.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
North 168th Avenue, Surprise, AZ 85388 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Blair's Custom Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo