Nophoto 130

blue dress barn

Benton Harbor , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3893 territorial rd
Benton Harbor, MI 49022 US (map)

PHONE

269-325-2583

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
50
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Describe your venue:
Farm
Describe the style of your venue
Rustic, Vintage, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
What event services do you offer?
Outside Vendors OK

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Cera
Wedding:
9/19/2014
4.8/5.0
Mr. & Mrs. Briske were helpful right from the start answering all of my emails and questions, which eased my nerves about planning a wedding across the state. The venue was absolutely beautiful and perfect....everyone complimented on the location. It was so nice to have a day of coordinator provided by barn management, who helped our officiant make ribbons for our hand fasting ceremony because they didn't make it across the state. The day was simply perfect and the weather couldn't have been better. It was difficult to try and set up a meeting time to see the barns in person due to our busy work schedule and the limited availability by the barn, but it all worked out! Thanks again for everything!!
Mr. & Mrs. Briske were helpful right from the start answering all of my emails and questions, which eased my nerves about Read more...
Mr. & Mrs. Briske were helpful right from the start answering all of my emails and questions, which eased my nerves about planning a wedding across the state. The venue was absolutely beautiful and perfect....everyone complimented on the location. It was so nice to have a day of coordinator provided by barn management, who helped our officiant make ribbons for our hand fasting ceremony because they didn't make it across the state. The day was simply perfect and the weather couldn't have been better. It was difficult to try and set up a meeting time to see the barns in person due to our busy work schedule and the limited availability by the barn, but it all worked out! Thanks again for everything!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/12/2014
3.4/5.0
There's no doubt that the Blue Dress Barn is absolutely beautiful and a one-of-a-kind wedding venue. Overall, the day was absolutely perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. There's something to do there for everyone whether they're into dancing, drinking, roasting s'mores around a campfire, playing cornhole (we brought our own) or whatever else you can imagine. Not one of our guests complained OR went home early. It was perfectly perfect and everything I imagined my wedding day to be. (It even rained so that's how amazing it was!)

However, during the planning process and post-wedding wrap-up things (and $$) tend to add up quickly. Trying to plan an out-of-state wedding was difficult, let alone plan one in an empty barn. While yes, they have things you can rent (like extra tables, chairs, stands, etc.) you never really know how it's going to look/where you want it unless you book extra "time" in the barn for $$. We were allowed 1 walk-through 2 weeks prior to the big day. While we received adequate service and attention during our walk-though, barn staff were extremely rude to a woman (mother of the bride getting married THAT DAY) who arrived a mere 15 minutes early. Poor woman. We (or I) was on edge the rest of our meeting.

Post-wedding, we received an e-mail from the barn owner that one of our vendors didn't finish packing up until after midnight and that he had already charged our credit card an extra $300+. I'm not disputing the charge at all as we did sign the agreement that everyone would be out by midnight. However, no where in the e-mail was there any explanation as to who was late, what happened, and our credit card was just automatically charged without us approving. Not the biggest of deals, but I do feel that as a business owner, there should be more explanation regarding these charges BEFORE you actually charge their credit cards.

Overall, I wouldn't change a thing and I'd work with them again, just a bit more cautiously. :)
There's no doubt that the Blue Dress Barn is absolutely beautiful and a one-of-a-kind wedding venue. Overall, the day was Read more...
There's no doubt that the Blue Dress Barn is absolutely beautiful and a one-of-a-kind wedding venue. Overall, the day was absolutely perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. There's something to do there for everyone whether they're into dancing, drinking, roasting s'mores around a campfire, playing cornhole (we brought our own) or whatever else you can imagine. Not one of our guests complained OR went home early. It was perfectly perfect and everything I imagined my wedding day to be. (It even rained so that's how amazing it was!)

However, during the planning process and post-wedding wrap-up things (and $$) tend to add up quickly. Trying to plan an out-of-state wedding was difficult, let alone plan one in an empty barn. While yes, they have things you can rent (like extra tables, chairs, stands, etc.) you never really know how it's going to look/where you want it unless you book extra "time" in the barn for $$. We were allowed 1 walk-through 2 weeks prior to the big day. While we received adequate service and attention during our walk-though, barn staff were extremely rude to a woman (mother of the bride getting married THAT DAY) who arrived a mere 15 minutes early. Poor woman. We (or I) was on edge the rest of our meeting.

Post-wedding, we received an e-mail from the barn owner that one of our vendors didn't finish packing up until after midnight and that he had already charged our credit card an extra $300+. I'm not disputing the charge at all as we did sign the agreement that everyone would be out by midnight. However, no where in the e-mail was there any explanation as to who was late, what happened, and our credit card was just automatically charged without us approving. Not the biggest of deals, but I do feel that as a business owner, there should be more explanation regarding these charges BEFORE you actually charge their credit cards.

Overall, I wouldn't change a thing and I'd work with them again, just a bit more cautiously. :) Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
blue dress barn responded with the following comments:

Dearest Lindsay-

I am happy you took the time to review the barn. I am sorry you felt like you had no idea what your reception would look like?

I always send a floor plan far in advance plus the consulting time of an hour... and also offer a free open house in the Spring and again in the Fall...sounds like you were not able to attend them?

I would be very surprised if our wonderful Manger Tasha was rude to
your Mother. She is a sweet and gentle person..( maybe she was just to the point)...which sometimes can be hard to hear when excitement is in the air. We have a small window of time to prepare for the "day of" with 165 weddings a year (3 back to back a weekend) and most likely she needed her 15 minutes to finish up (so the barn was perfect for you and your mother)

I do give her a very long list of duties each morning that I ask her to finish before anyone arrives at noon..and not a minute early ( you can blame that on me ;) ... I will speak to her and ask her to be more sensitive and to watch her tone ...this way nobody will be embarrassed for entering early :)

The office always send a letter and the reason why you were charged
for penalties...you may not of received it yet? I believe part of your staff was here at the barn until 2am...thus the fee... Im glad you understand why you were charged...We do not like it anymore then you do :)

Kirby and I do indeed run a very very very tight "ship" we have found this is needed to keep the barn & grounds pretty, safe and
ready for the next bride -n- groom to celebrate. :)

We really enjoyed having you here and glad you choose Blue dress barn. Your wedding was very very pretty and so were you!! ...We wish wonderful marriage !!!

Amy & Kirby Briske
Default vendor profile pic
lindsey
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
The Blue Dress Barn is a STUNNING place to hold a wedding. Our guests were blown away with our venue. Amy is fantastic with communication during the planning process. This was the first venue we saw and we were sold within seconds. It's not the easiest place to hold a wedding due to the rustic setting, but for us it was a labor of love and we wouldn't change a thing!
The Blue Dress Barn is a STUNNING place to hold a wedding. Our guests were blown away with our venue. Amy is fantastic Read more...
The Blue Dress Barn is a STUNNING place to hold a wedding. Our guests were blown away with our venue. Amy is fantastic with communication during the planning process. This was the first venue we saw and we were sold within seconds. It's not the easiest place to hold a wedding due to the rustic setting, but for us it was a labor of love and we wouldn't change a thing! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Christie
Wedding:
6/6/2014
4.6/5.0
The Blue Dress Barn is beautiful! The staff was great, and our wedding was perfect! I couldn't imagine having our wedding anywhere else.
The Blue Dress Barn is beautiful! The staff was great, and our wedding was perfect! I couldn't imagine having our wedding Read more...
The Blue Dress Barn is beautiful! The staff was great, and our wedding was perfect! I couldn't imagine having our wedding anywhere else. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Samantha
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at the Blue Dress Barn just over a week ago, and I wish I could do it all over again! I say that because not only were the owners - Amy and Kirby - easy and lovely to work with, but the venue itself truly is unparalleled in beauty anywhere else! Kirby was very nice and easy to work with as far as the business side of things, i.e. detailed emails outlining cost, FAQs, etc. And Amy was just as sweet as can be. You can really tell that she enjoys helping you plan your special day, and goes out of her way to communicate anything you might need in the months leading up to the event. We visited the barn a couple of times before the wedding day to figure out the logistics, and each time Amy (or one of her equally wonderful staff) was there to greet us, answer questions, and show us around. Now to the venue! The beauty of the barn, as well as the grounds it is situated on, are truly breathtaking. I first found the space online, but when I finally saw it in person, it blew my expectations out of the water. Every guest at my wedding told me they had never been to a more intimate, beautiful wedding venue, and I have to agree. I cannot recommend this place enough - from the staff, to the service, to the attention to detail - the blue dress barn absolutely made my wedding what it was, and that was THE most perfect day. Thank you so much, Amy and Kirby!!
I had my wedding at the Blue Dress Barn just over a week ago, and I wish I could do it all over again! I say that because Read more...
I had my wedding at the Blue Dress Barn just over a week ago, and I wish I could do it all over again! I say that because not only were the owners - Amy and Kirby - easy and lovely to work with, but the venue itself truly is unparalleled in beauty anywhere else! Kirby was very nice and easy to work with as far as the business side of things, i.e. detailed emails outlining cost, FAQs, etc. And Amy was just as sweet as can be. You can really tell that she enjoys helping you plan your special day, and goes out of her way to communicate anything you might need in the months leading up to the event. We visited the barn a couple of times before the wedding day to figure out the logistics, and each time Amy (or one of her equally wonderful staff) was there to greet us, answer questions, and show us around. Now to the venue! The beauty of the barn, as well as the grounds it is situated on, are truly breathtaking. I first found the space online, but when I finally saw it in person, it blew my expectations out of the water. Every guest at my wedding told me they had never been to a more intimate, beautiful wedding venue, and I have to agree. I cannot recommend this place enough - from the staff, to the service, to the attention to detail - the blue dress barn absolutely made my wedding what it was, and that was THE most perfect day. Thank you so much, Amy and Kirby!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130 sq 1349547712208 0084amengmzpimg4620
Amy
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.6/5.0
This venue is absolutely beautiful, we received so many compliments from our guests about the venue and how perfect it was! Very happy we decided to do our wedding here! The price of the venue was pretty competitive considering all of the tables and chairs, set up, and clean up is included in the initial fee. However, if you want anything extra, such as the rehearsal (even down to using the chalkboard sign), there will be an extra charge. Amy was pretty good about communication but I did have some e-mails go unanswered. Also, because they do weddings every Friday, Saturday, Sunday, our wedding rehearsal was at an awkward time. All in all, we loved the venue and are very happy we picked it!
This venue is absolutely beautiful, we received so many compliments from our guests about the venue and how perfect it Read more...
This venue is absolutely beautiful, we received so many compliments from our guests about the venue and how perfect it was! Very happy we decided to do our wedding here! The price of the venue was pretty competitive considering all of the tables and chairs, set up, and clean up is included in the initial fee. However, if you want anything extra, such as the rehearsal (even down to using the chalkboard sign), there will be an extra charge. Amy was pretty good about communication but I did have some e-mails go unanswered. Also, because they do weddings every Friday, Saturday, Sunday, our wedding rehearsal was at an awkward time. All in all, we loved the venue and are very happy we picked it! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Jillian
Wedding:
8/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding this past August at Blue Dress Barn was amazing!!! We found Amy and Kirby a pleasure to work with~ Amy always responded to our emails in a timely manner and was very kind. Words can't describe how wonderful the barn is itself~ absolutely breathtakingly beautiful!!! Being from Chicago, our friends and family were all blown away with how cool the barn is~ the grounds are well-kept and gorgeous, and the inside is decorated adorable, making it easy to add our own decor and touches, but not having to go overboard. Our ceremony was outside the barn and was gorgeous with the natural, beautiful surroundings~ perfect garden wedding! And our pictures could not be better with the grounds and barn as backdrops. Though our wedding was in August, it was not too hot at all inside the barn for the reception, and the industrial fans provided worked great to circulate the air. The layout of the barn is fabulous~ the adorable bar and stage are great, and make the flow of the room and guests throughout the night work well. Our family and friends can't stop telling us how much they loved our wedding! If you are looking for a rustic, romantic, non-traditional place to have your wedding, this barn is it! We LOVED our wedding here!

I must say though, that unlike a banquet hall, golf course, hotel, etc... having our wedding at the barn was a lot of work~ we had to bring in all of our own vendors and any additional decorations we wanted, etc. When booking the barn, you receive the tables, chairs, and the barn~ but that's about it, so you need someone to help with everything else or you'd have one hectic, stressful wedding day. I would say a day-of wedding planner is an absolute MUST in order to handle the set-up/tear-down, as well as coordinate the entire day and be your 'go to' person, as the barn does not provide one for you, and Stella Events is the way to go for that.
Our wedding this past August at Blue Dress Barn was amazing!!! We found Amy and Kirby a pleasure to work with~ Amy always Read more...
Our wedding this past August at Blue Dress Barn was amazing!!! We found Amy and Kirby a pleasure to work with~ Amy always responded to our emails in a timely manner and was very kind. Words can't describe how wonderful the barn is itself~ absolutely breathtakingly beautiful!!! Being from Chicago, our friends and family were all blown away with how cool the barn is~ the grounds are well-kept and gorgeous, and the inside is decorated adorable, making it easy to add our own decor and touches, but not having to go overboard. Our ceremony was outside the barn and was gorgeous with the natural, beautiful surroundings~ perfect garden wedding! And our pictures could not be better with the grounds and barn as backdrops. Though our wedding was in August, it was not too hot at all inside the barn for the reception, and the industrial fans provided worked great to circulate the air. The layout of the barn is fabulous~ the adorable bar and stage are great, and make the flow of the room and guests throughout the night work well. Our family and friends can't stop telling us how much they loved our wedding! If you are looking for a rustic, romantic, non-traditional place to have your wedding, this barn is it! We LOVED our wedding here!

I must say though, that unlike a banquet hall, golf course, hotel, etc... having our wedding at the barn was a lot of work~ we had to bring in all of our own vendors and any additional decorations we wanted, etc. When booking the barn, you receive the tables, chairs, and the barn~ but that's about it, so you need someone to help with everything else or you'd have one hectic, stressful wedding day. I would say a day-of wedding planner is an absolute MUST in order to handle the set-up/tear-down, as well as coordinate the entire day and be your 'go to' person, as the barn does not provide one for you, and Stella Events is the way to go for that. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork 128
Lindsey
Wedding:
7/15/2011
1.2/5.0
I recently held my wedding at Millcreek Barns as well. To say that Kirby is rude and a pitiful businessman is an understatement. Beginning from our first walkthrough to post wedding bills, he was a challenge to work with and was inflexible every step of the way.

-I scheduled our first walkthrough for a Sunday in February (emails to prove it). After driving from Chicago to Watervliet in a literal blizzard, he had the date wrong and wasn't around to show us the space. That wouldn't have been so bad, I understand human error, but he insisted that it was my fault and was totally rude (Amy later apologized for their mistake by email). Luckily we could walk around the space and see in the windows so the trip wasn't completely wasted.

-We envisioned a wedding with much more detailed decor from my company, Kehoe Designs and that seemed to offend him. He then charged us to adjust every tiny little thing...flags, paper lanterns, chairs, ceremony seating, you name it! He even charged money for "clean up" of an outdoor cocktail hour that was completely tables/bars/decor that my company brought in and took out...he had absolutely nothing to clean up.

-For being the "artsy" owners they seem to be, they don't seem to have any respect or appreciation for anyone's vision but their own. I believe they usually have pretty simple weddings there with not much decor because they seem to think that an entire venue can be cleaned up in a half hour. I wasn't about to pay to have the space until 1am and kick my guests out at 10pm just to make sure my decor crew could take everything down by their ridiculous 1am exit time. I understand guests leaving by 12:30am-1am for noise issues, but if they had any experience in larger scale weddings they would understand that teardown takes some time. I paid the extra $500 for overtime for my clean up crew without argument because it was in their contract and I expected the charge to come, but they need to reevaluate what they are asking for with a 12am standard exit time for everything (not just guests). This is one of the biggest days of their clients' lives...it's a party. After months and months of planning, who wants to end the event at 10-11pm just to make sure the venue staff gets home by 1am?? Welcome to the industry people--by opening a business in the events industry, you should expect some late nights.

-They do have a beautiful space, but I honestly don't know that being there was worth it to have to deal with Kirby. I would give all of my vendors 5 stars--they were amazing. DJ Guy Voss, Events Without Boundaries Catering (as good as any I have seen in the industry in Chicago, if not better), photographer Lindsey Shae, Skip from Millburg Trading Post for alcohol. Kirby Briske at Millcreek Barns I would give 1 star...and that's only because I liked the space for my style of wedding.

I will post pictures when I get them so you can see the detail I'm referring to!
I recently held my wedding at Millcreek Barns as well. To say that Kirby is rude and a pitiful businessman is an Read more...
I recently held my wedding at Millcreek Barns as well. To say that Kirby is rude and a pitiful businessman is an understatement. Beginning from our first walkthrough to post wedding bills, he was a challenge to work with and was inflexible every step of the way.

-I scheduled our first walkthrough for a Sunday in February (emails to prove it). After driving from Chicago to Watervliet in a literal blizzard, he had the date wrong and wasn't around to show us the space. That wouldn't have been so bad, I understand human error, but he insisted that it was my fault and was totally rude (Amy later apologized for their mistake by email). Luckily we could walk around the space and see in the windows so the trip wasn't completely wasted.

-We envisioned a wedding with much more detailed decor from my company, Kehoe Designs and that seemed to offend him. He then charged us to adjust every tiny little thing...flags, paper lanterns, chairs, ceremony seating, you name it! He even charged money for "clean up" of an outdoor cocktail hour that was completely tables/bars/decor that my company brought in and took out...he had absolutely nothing to clean up.

-For being the "artsy" owners they seem to be, they don't seem to have any respect or appreciation for anyone's vision but their own. I believe they usually have pretty simple weddings there with not much decor because they seem to think that an entire venue can be cleaned up in a half hour. I wasn't about to pay to have the space until 1am and kick my guests out at 10pm just to make sure my decor crew could take everything down by their ridiculous 1am exit time. I understand guests leaving by 12:30am-1am for noise issues, but if they had any experience in larger scale weddings they would understand that teardown takes some time. I paid the extra $500 for overtime for my clean up crew without argument because it was in their contract and I expected the charge to come, but they need to reevaluate what they are asking for with a 12am standard exit time for everything (not just guests). This is one of the biggest days of their clients' lives...it's a party. After months and months of planning, who wants to end the event at 10-11pm just to make sure the venue staff gets home by 1am?? Welcome to the industry people--by opening a business in the events industry, you should expect some late nights.

-They do have a beautiful space, but I honestly don't know that being there was worth it to have to deal with Kirby. I would give all of my vendors 5 stars--they were amazing. DJ Guy Voss, Events Without Boundaries Catering (as good as any I have seen in the industry in Chicago, if not better), photographer Lindsey Shae, Skip from Millburg Trading Post for alcohol. Kirby Briske at Millcreek Barns I would give 1 star...and that's only because I liked the space for my style of wedding.

I will post pictures when I get them so you can see the detail I'm referring to! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
The venue is gorgeous. The staff was wonderful. Amy was great to work with ahead of time, and the girl who worked the night of (I think it was Tara?) I am told my husband who had set up was extremely helpful, and worked her tail off to get the place looking beautiful for the wedding, even helping folding napkins which is not part of their standard service. I'd absolutely recommend it.

The only drawbacks are that they do have a lot of fees to watch out for... extra charges for using the ceremony site, they don't have a liquor license so you have to buy that, any of their supplies have a cost, cost for heating if it's a colder day... Just make sure you review the contract carefully to know what you're getting into with expenses. Everything is laid out in it except I think the liquor thing
The venue is gorgeous. The staff was wonderful. Amy was great to work with ahead of time, and the girl who worked the Read more...
The venue is gorgeous. The staff was wonderful. Amy was great to work with ahead of time, and the girl who worked the night of (I think it was Tara?) I am told my husband who had set up was extremely helpful, and worked her tail off to get the place looking beautiful for the wedding, even helping folding napkins which is not part of their standard service. I'd absolutely recommend it.

The only drawbacks are that they do have a lot of fees to watch out for... extra charges for using the ceremony site, they don't have a liquor license so you have to buy that, any of their supplies have a cost, cost for heating if it's a colder day... Just make sure you review the contract carefully to know what you're getting into with expenses. Everything is laid out in it except I think the liquor thing Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.0/5.0
The place is beautiful. There is no arguing that. The service was awful!! I literally had one woman who worked there ON MY WEDDING DAY, tell me that it all goes downhill from here. Perhaps she is in the wrong business.
The place is beautiful. There is no arguing that. The service was awful!! I literally had one woman who worked there ON MY Read more...
The place is beautiful. There is no arguing that. The service was awful!! I literally had one woman who worked there ON MY WEDDING DAY, tell me that it all goes downhill from here. Perhaps she is in the wrong business. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
3893 territorial rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for blue dress barn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
Nophoto 220