130x130_sq_1360780666794-1360780340655bluff2006046

Bluff Banquet & Conference Center

Grand Rapids , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2035 28th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI US 49508 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

For over 20 years, The Bluff Banquet & Conference Center in Grand Rapids, Michigan has been delighting guests with an outstanding array of delicious banquet menu selections including our... Read more
For over 20 years, The Bluff Banquet & Conference Center in Grand Rapids, Michigan has been delighting guests with an outstanding array of delicious banquet menu selections including our popular Chef Attended Stations.

The Bluff Banquet and Conference Center is centrally located in Grand Rapids, Michigan between Breton Road and Kalamazoo Avenue on 28th Street - easy for business associates or guests to find for your wedding receptions, business meetings or special events.

Join the hundreds of couples in West Michigan who have celebrated their wedding receptions at The Bluff with its beautiful panoramic views of the wooded Indian Trails Golf Course. The Bluff's notable history of excellent yet affordable banquet food combined with our staff's thoughtful and attentive service will help make your wedding reception, business meeting, banquet or special event most memorable. We're also known for our unique "Taste of the Bluff" Food Tasting Events in a full reception setting!

The Bluff also offers our own exclusive "Friday Night Special" with a special menu for your Friday event. You'll enjoy savvy savings in addition to more time to enjoy your honeymoon.

Plan early to reserve your date for a Wedding Reception, Anniversary, Business Meeting, Afterglow Party or Special Event. Call The Bluff today at 616.243.3313 or email jan@bluffbanquets.com to reserve your date. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1348148329155-bluffmar201202
130x130_sq_1384202403323-31147910150322112782831223425183n
130x130_sq_1348148331070-bluffmar201231
130x130_sq_1348148329976-bluffmar201209
130x130_sq_1348153642447-cheesedisplay
130x130_sq_1348148332324-bluffmar201239
130x130_sq_1348148333442-bluffmar201241
130x130_sq_1348153846100-bbcpm2
130x130_sq_1348153847084-bbcpm3
130x130_sq_1348153847903-bbcpm
130x130_sq_1360780340655-bluff2006046
130x130_sq_1360780381192-bluff2006042
130x130_sq_1384201914156-dsc976
130x130_sq_1348147762663-bluff05071013
130x130_sq_1348147808340-bluff05071015
130x130_sq_1348147868763-bluff05071021
130x130_sq_1348147906756-bluff05071019
130x130_sq_1348147973054-bluff05071027
130x130_sq_1348147999262-bluff05071025
130x130_sq_1348148066660-bluff05071005
130x130_sq_1348153571743-bar2
130x130_sq_1348153572867-bararea
130x130_sq_1348153641296-buffet
130x130_sq_1348153643933-stuffedmushrooms
130x130_sq_1348153643563-jeffpresentation
130x130_sq_1348153712601-janandbrucebylsma
130x130_sq_1348187365094-outdoorwedding2

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1989
When was your venue last renovated?
2010
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
750
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
The food was Excellant! We had pot roast that was out of this world! The staff was so attentive to anyone's needs! The place was so clean and has a beautiful setting. This place is a diamond in the ruff! Thanks too all for making this a very special night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bluff Banquet & Conference Center responded with the following comments:

Hi!! :)

It was our pleasure making your night the best for you!!! We love our pot roast too! :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently had both my ceremony and reception at Bluff Banquet and Conference Center. I absolutely LOVED it. The staff was wonderful to work with, Jan was super helpful and made the experience so great. I was married right outside on the grassy area and the reception was right after. I got married in July, and I am still hearing from my guests how fabulous the food was. I would recommend the Bluff 100%. I actually referred a friend to check it out and she is thinking about using it for her reception. Thanks for everything and it was such a fantastic day thanks to you guys at the Bluff!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bluff is a beautiful venue and the food is fantastic! Hot and a lot of it.
We had so many compliments on it. Jan is a wonderful, fun woman to work with. She helps in any way she can. I would recommend the Bluff to anyone who wants great food, great venue and wonderful price. This was our first wedding for our family,( only daughter,) we couldn't have asked for more
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
In the words of one of my wedding guests, the Bluff is "a quintessential diamond in the rough." Looking at the location (the back side of a strip mall), one might think that the Bluff is kind of trashy. You couldn't be more mistaken! The inside is beautifully decorated and surprisingly spacious. (We had approximately 240 guests at 29 tables.) A wall of windows looks out over Indian Trails Golf Course, and there is a patio outside where guests can enjoy fresh air. The food is excellent, even earning a thumbs up from my aunt, who is a well-known caterer on the other side of the state. The Bluff staff was very responsive to requests and accommodated several guests with diverse dietary needs, including gluten-free and vegan.The sound system is very good, allowing guests to still converse during dancing hours. The cost is also very reasonable. I HIGHLY recommend the Bluff!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sue
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter, who is in the army and stationed in Germany, had her reception at the Bluff. Since I (mom) was working without my daughter, Jan proved to be an excellent wedding planner (consultant) . She suggested Bar people DJ's and cake makers. All of which were wonderful. The facility was nicely decorated. We only had to do our centerpieces. Jan made the wedding so easy for me to plan. And the food. I had more compliments from my guests than you can believe. We had a plated service with New York Strip (grilled right there on the premises). Tilapia and baked Chicken. Everything was done to perfection. The staff was wonderful and accommodating and the facility itself is magnificent. I would highly recommend the Bluff to anyone looking for a venue for there wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
catherine
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
RAVE REVIEWS FROM ALL MY WEDDING GUESTS!
I just had my wedding sat Oct 6th at the Bluff Banquet and Conference Center in Grand Rapids, Mi. Every guest had to come tell me how amazing the food was. The amount of food alone for the price can't be beat. Everything from friendly service to beautiful surroundings. They went above and beyond any expectation i could have ever had. Even the decaf coffee got rave reviews. I still have people calling me to tell me how amazing it was. I highly suggest anyone checks it out. THey do tasting with the place set up like a receiption every couple months or so its posted on their website and its not very expensive. The bar tenders they use are also amazing people. Couldn't have asked for a more amazing day! THe only disappointment i had was that they don't have a restaurant i can go to to eat the amazing food more often :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This place was absolutely wonderful to work with. We were able to get in on their "Winter White" special and therefore they helped up save some money when it came to putting on a big reception for 220+ people. The food is outstanding, the associates running it are nothing but professional, and it is all guided by the wonderful Jan Bylsma who not only owns the venue, but also works sided by side with all of her staff the entire night to ensure things are running smoothly. She was also there every step of the way when it came to setting up the details, and could be reached at a moments notice for answering of any questions. The professionalism and value of this venue are not to be beaten!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1329594351125-gambitroguecherryblossombyceeceeluvins
Ash
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
The Bluff really did make our wedding fantastic. the venue is magical and being on a golf course, with the snow we had, the whole thing just looked amazing. i would suggest to anyone that they check this place out for weddings or other events that might need an awesome hall and super friendly staff and a very professional service...
BEST FOOD EVER. Tasted amazing.
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janna
Wedding:
7/26/2008
5.0/5.0
The best food we have ever had at a wedding. Beautiful room and excellent staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/17/2013
4.7/5.0
We loved having our reception at the Bluff! Jan was incredibly helpful throughout the whole process, and very flexible throughout the duration of our experience. Food was delicious and staff was kind. I would highly recommend checking out the Bluff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I have nothing negative to say about The Bluff. All of my guests loved it as well! Everyone loved the venue and the food. I was extremely pleased with the service as well! Awesome!
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jalepo
Wedding:
9/14/2007
4.5/5.0
We had our reception here. We were very pleased with everything. We honestly have no complaints. We had a lot of comliments from our guests on the food. It was wonderful. By far, the most inexpensive we found anywhere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
This was a great place for the price! The food was some of the best I have ever had! The few things to be aware of are that their video screen (if you want to show a video) is small, make sure you go BEFORE the wedding to figure out how to make it run properly. The other thing I would suggest is to ask questions about the cake. When we got to the hall there was plenty of wait staff and Jan and her husband were there. They gave great service! After dinner everyone left (without asking if we needed anything else). So, at the end of the night when our wedding reception was over there was no one to ask questions (we did find a cook we asked a few things). Our cake was thrown on the table and the top of the cake (which we wanted to save) was sitting there. The questions I suggest you ask are: Should we bring our own extra plates for the rest of the cake so we can enjoy what was not eaten at dinner throughout the rest of the night? and Should we bring a box for the top of our cake so we can save it for our anniversary? My new husband and I had a great reception at the Bluff and we would do it again there, we were just confused about the cake situation and at the end of the night a little upset to see it was just thrown on the table (not boxed or even set nicely). Overall, we were happy with this venue and for the price, it was a great choice. Everyone said it was a great party and the food was great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bluff Banquet & Conference Center responded with the following comments:

Hi! :)
Thank you for your comments we always like to hear from people. Regarding the slide show we usaully have people do a trial run before and then at the reception they have someone run it.
Also the cake wow I hope they did not throw it on the table it is usually Jayme or I that put it back and we are careful :) and we do not supply the boxes for the cake. The cake people should I would think. Again Thank You for you comments and I will look into the things you pointed out!! It was our pleasure to serve you and your guest and make your night the BEST memory ever!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
reebie21
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.2/5.0
I used The Bluff for my reception site. The food was amazing, especially the mashed potato bar. I had many compliments from guests on both the food and the venue. Jan was more than helpful in the entire planning process and answered all of the questions I had quite promptly. My only issue with the venue was that it was really hot in there despite it being quite pleasant outside.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
1/3/2009
3.9/5.0
I had my wedding reception here. Jan was wonderful to work with. The food was great. We had a plated dinner and the meals came out fast and the wait staff was great. It's beautiful in there and a great size. I wouldn't suggest they decoate for you though, not everything was where I wanted it; but it did look great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2035 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bluff Banquet & Conference Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1360780666794-1360780340655bluff2006046