Nophoto-130

Bluume

Palo Alto , CA

LOCATION

Palo Alto, CA US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Flowers

REVIEWS

2.7
out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
2.6/5.0
2.7/5.0
2.8/5.0
2.7/5.0
Sort by
1375009351_thumb_c49015eaade51b64e9d9f6a27961a31d
Rae32
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.0/5.0
This is my first vendor review on PW :D Im in the same boat as the rest of these brides! My wedding isnt until next year, but I had to write a review and give props to Christine. The day before our initial consultation, I visited the Bella Intima bridal show. There were a number of arrangements on display, and I was very impressed and pleased with the centerpieces and bouquets done by Outburst Flowers. Christine has been really great so far, very responsive and patient with all of my questions, and very knowledgeable. I have a big wedding with a small floral budget. One florist straight up told me my budget wasnt big enough and to come back if I found more money somewhere. Others had minimums above what I wanted to spend. Christine was perfectly willing to work with my budget. Her quote breaks everything down for you so you know exactly what youre paying for, and her prices are fabulous, the best of three quotes I received. -------- POST-WEDDING UPDATE! Christine did a beautiful job with all of the flowers! I received many compliments on our bouquets and centerpieces and was very pleased with them. She even managed to track down my favorite flower, dahlias, despite the fact that they are late coming in this season due to the cold, wet spring we're having. If there were any cons, I would say that Christine was sometimes hard to get in touch with earlier on in the planning process, but she was definitely on top of things as we got closer to the wedding date.
Services Used: Flowers
1375154818_thumb_bb859760c1b365839657ecb21afc5dbf
juhnebreeze
Wedding:
4/17/2010
2.0/5.0
I'd initially set up a meeting with Christine back in June after reading some positive reviews about her here on PW. We spent 2 hours going through the different kinds of flowers I might need with what she thought might be the cost. I found her to be nice and informative at that point, although the pace of the meeting could have been a bit more efficient. It was my first conversation with a florist however, and I didn't know what kinds of questions to ask at that point. She then promised to get me a quote over the weekend, so I was expecting something in the next week. However, I did not hear back from her for the whole week. I then followed up and asked her about the quote, with her response being that she would get it to me in another week. A week passed and I contacted her again, she said she was at a conference and forgot my materials. Ok, at this point I am slightly annoyed, but she promised me the quote when she got back. That date passed again and on my third attempt to contact her, she informs me that they're booked solid for this year (my wedding is not until 2010 though, which didn't make sense), and that she could no longer do my wedding!!! I asked her for a scan of the worksheet we'd filled out together on our initial meeting, so that I could have a reference for future meetings of what kinds of items I want, the least she could do I felt. No response there. I was severely disappointed in how long she let this drag on and the lack of professionalism.
Services Used: Flowers
Missing_profile
juliendrew
Wedding:
12/12/2009
1.0/5.0
Simply put: This vendor is unprofessional. We were initially attracted to Bluume/Outburst based upon her work on her website, prices, and the (premature) reviews on Project Wedding. Like the other reviews say, she is generally pleasant. That's where the good comments end. After an initial phone call and through a month of numerous email exchanges trying to schedule a meeting time, Bluume abruptly told us that our date is somehow unavailable after she originally (and firmly) said it was, without any advance notice. With other vendors (or any vendor for that matter) it is a matter of courtesy to check up with engaged customers first whether they intend to go with someone else before giving a spot to another customer. We didn't get that. Not only did she drop us without rescheduling our meeting, but she didn't even have other places to refer us to--she referred us to Project Wedding. When we checked back with Project Wedding, the reviews were updated and they confirmed our experiences. For the other reviewers, we're very sorry that an important day like your wedding was messed up by incompetence and unprofessionalism. We're almost glad that she cancelled on us so we can avoid having to deal with that kind of incompetence where it counts.
Services Used: Flowers
Missing_profile
pepper11
Wedding:
10/2/2009
1.0/5.0
i am really disappointed in the way Bluume handled things. After many emails on our proposal, Christine just told me they can not work on our wedding anymore due to not having a contract signed. She did not tell me there was a deadline to sign the contract so I was surprised. The least she could do is communicate to her potential clients and recommend another florist since I will have to start from square one again.
Services Used: Flowers
Missing_profile
jconcepcion
Wedding:
9/27/2009
1.0/5.0
If I could give no stars, I would. I had been working with Christine on our proposal, and told her that I was going to choose her as our florist. We hadn't signed any contracts, and just today when I went to make a possible addition to the proposal, she wrote and told me that they weren't going to work with anyone if they didn't have any contracts. Say what!?! Let's just say, that even from the beginning, I was a little hesitant in working with them since they were changing their name from Bluume to Outburst, and their studio wasn't done yet.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
circusbride
Wedding:
9/19/2009
0.6/5.0
BLUUME was the only source of negativity and stress on my wedding day. Unprofessional and a bad attitude.

My husband and I met with Christine this Spring, after reading good reviews of BLUUME. We had to meet at a coffee shop because she was in the middle of a location move. We both really liked her, she seemed to get our vision and had good ideas, and helped us come up with a plan within our budget. I was excited because I didn't want to blow a huge portion of my wedding budget on flowers (I'd rather feed my guests well, and have a great party in a great location). But I still wanted something nice. She seemed so sweet and enthusiastic, we thought she was perfect.

Her contract was a little disorganized, and she had put in the wrong numbers for some things, but she fixed it so I didn't worry too much about it at the time. Paid the 50% deposit.

Months go by, and I haven't heard from her, even though there were a few things in her proposal left to be finalized. Three weeks before the wedding I start trying to track her down. This proves difficult. Email goes unanswered, then voicemail. Finally I reach her by phone and she says email is the best way to reach her. Yes, I tried that, thanks.

I'm ready to make the final payment, but there is no final contract. After more delay, we receive the final contract - only a week before the wedding. The contract is full of errors and ambiguities, so I spend about half an hour fixing and send back to her a corrected version. No response. I mail a check anyways, with another copy (she doesn't take credit cards).

Now, if this were the end of the story, I would not be nearly so worked up. A bit annoyed, disappointed, maybe, but not enough to go out and post negative reviews about someone.

I get a call the morning before my wedding. The flowers we planned on having are stuck in customs in Miami. OK, so what do we do. She makes a couple of other suggestions, wants to replace my parrot tulips with dahlias - the only other flower in my budget and my colors. That doesn't work for me, but she keeps pushing the dahlias. I ask about orchids. That would cost 3x as much. And no, she's not willing to work with me on price AT ALL even though she's calling me the day before my wedding with this situation. She very snottily says to me - this is not in my control, there is nothing I can do. This happens in this industry. She must have said that ten times. Basically, shit happens and its your problem, even though you are paying me over $1,000 for some stupid flowers. When I ask her to be constructive, to help me find some sort of alternate plan that will work, she snottily replies that she suggested dahlias, and she can't control my taste or my budget, either. At this point things are getting heated. I'm sorry but if you are in an industry where this "happens," then you need to develop a better way of dealing with it. I manage to cool off and find an alternate choice (who cares about our carefully planned color scheme?), and without any further ceremony she hangs up.

She then blames me for payment being late, even though it was late because I was waiting for the contract. Even though she didn't say anything about this in that horrible phone call, just a few minutes after we are off the phone I get an email. She claims she didn't receive my check in the mail, and demands a cashiers check. Um, it's Friday and I'm on the way down to my wedding in Monterey tomorrow and I have a million things to do. When am I supposed to do this? Oh, by the way, her "location move" is apparently still in progress, as I discover when I drop off my extra dress fabric at the front door of this house with a yard full of trash. I try to call her several times that day about logistics and she has stopped taking my calls. She returns neither my calls nor my Matron of honor's calls about logistics of dropping off the flowers.

When she arrives the day of the wedding she is horrible to me, arguing about the cashiers check that I didn't have time to get. I offered her a replacement check. No. Here I am an hour before my ceremony and she is scowling and being nasty. Are you serious? For a final payment of $600 at a wedding with a $25,000 budget, you want a cashiers check? And you are going to piss off the bride and scold her to get it? Are you mad? I am so grateful that my brilliant photographer whisked me away from her for photos where I could stare out at the bay and cool off, and my family and party jump in to gather the cash.

The flowers themselves, you ask? Meh. Pretty skimpy for what we discussed. The bouquets were sadly small. The entrance table arrangement that was supposed to be a dramatic statement piece is pathetic. Whether that was because she was pissed at me, or how she markets herself as a "budget" florist, I can't say.

Now we get to the rented vases. We had been told that she would either pick them up for a $85 fee, or we could return them ourselves. Turned out we didn't have room for them in our car once we packed everything else up. So we call her the day after we get home to let her know we need them picked up. No response. Email. No response. I'm guessing she's going to try to keep the deposit on the vases, I don't know, because it is almost a week later and I don't know how long the hotel will hang on to all these vases.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fontanillanes
Wedding:
6/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Our flowers looked AMAZING! We ordered 8 bouquets, 18 corsages, and 30 boutonnières and when they all arrived they were all labeled and well organized, not to mention absolutely beautiful. Our centerpieces for the reception we also gorgeous. The Bluume staff was friendly, helpful, accommodating and experts in their field.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1249583914411-7021124
Mrs.Crudale
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.6/5.0
Christine was very sweet and great to work with. I told her my view for my wedding and she was able to easily recommend flowers that would create that look and would be in bloom during our wedding date. They are considered "Luxury Flowers for Less" and the prices were great, but there were compromises. I wasn't able to see samples of everything, just my bouquet and half of what the centerpieces would look like. The day of I was hoping to have my flowers by the early afternoon to have for our pre-wedding photos, but come that time they hadn't arrived. When I called they said that they weren't going to arrive until closer to 3:30 an Hour and a Half before the ceremony start! In all the chaos when they arrived there were some mix-ups, my sister ended up carrying the toss bouquet and the boutonnieres were sent down to the ceremony site barely in time so I don't know if everyone ended up with the correct ones, also our rose presentation to our mothers got spoiled when someone simply handed the roses to our mothers before the start and my husband and I were unable to present them ourselves. If you know exactly what you want and the names of flowers it is helpful. All our flowers looked absolutely amazing especially considering the great cost, but I got confused and asked for flowers that weren't correct. Make sure to look them up yourself before in the event you don't get to see samples. All in all we got many compliments on our centerpieces and we were even given extra flowers the caterers were able to use to decorate their buffet. I was also pleasantly surprised when Christine called me to tell me peonies (which I desperately wanted) were still in bloom for our date. I was disappointed to find they usually aren't still in bloom at the end of June, but I was able to have them in just my bouquet to make it extra special. My bouquet was absolutely stunning and the staff puts a lot of effort into setting up the site!
Services Used: Flowers
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bluume
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo