130x130 sq 1380117277847 boco wedwire

Boston Common Band + DJ Combo

Boston , MA

LOCATION

Boston, MA 02116 US (map)

PHONE

617-840-5580

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congrats - You've found THE ONE! Now you've found THE BAND.


"Our Wedding was like a live concert and everyone had front row!"

The Knot : Best of Wedding's -... Read more
Congrats - You've found THE ONE! Now you've found THE BAND.


​"Our Wedding was like a live concert and everyone had front row!"

The Knot : Best of Wedding's - Award 2012-2015 | 2015 Inductee : Vendor Hall of Fame
Style Me Pretty - Little Black Book Member 2012-2015
The Improper Bostonian - Best of Boston Weddings
WeddingWire Bride / Couple's Choice 2009-2014

The All-Inclusive 8pc Band DJ Combo Package
Offering above and beyond that of traditional Boston Wedding Bands, we provide an All-Inclusive entertainment package with a Band and Live DJ/Host, including a boutique-quality Sound & Lighting system to ensure the party goes non-stop, all-night long!

Available Upgrade Options:
Full-Room / Tent 20-50pc. LED Uplighting Packages - Fully Wireless & Intelligently Controlled
Horn Section - (Add up to an additional 3 horn players!)
Ceremony String Players (Trio or Quartet)
Photobooth (using the dance floor as your backdrop / background!)

Our Philosophy
Our performances have one goal. That's to make YOU feel like the ROCKSTARS on your big day! Every one of our shows always delivers a high-energy booty-shakin’ experience by blending together a perfect mix of Pop Rock, R&B and Dance music. Our professionalism, creative talent and sound lighting production will energize your guests and ensure that your event will be the success you always dreamed and envisioned it to be!

Our Style
With regards as to how we approach weddings; We like to consider ourselves to be the Boston wedding band that's most in-tune with the modern Bride & Groom. Being that we are all aged in our late 20s / early 30s, we identify with modern wedding trends, and perform with that style accordingly. During the band's sets, we begin with all the "Ol'skool" R&B Pop hits that will keep Mom, Dad, Aunt Edna, etc all on the dance floor and then transition throughout the evening into 80s-Current Pop hits like Michael Jackson, Bruno Mars, Spin Doctors, Rihanna etc... and rounding out the evening with Classic Rock hits from Journey to Bon Jovi and Van Halen.

Our Experience
Boston Common Band is the multi-year ‘Best of Boston’ award winning wedding band, that also plays private functions and clubs in the New England, NYC and Philly regions. Comprised of recently graduates from the prestigious local music schools/programs of: Berklee College of Music, New England Conservatory, and Northeastern... We have had the opportunity to share the stage with artists from Earth,Wind & Fire, John Mayer, Lady Gaga, Jason Mraz, Ben Folds, Genesis, The Deftones, Usher, Nicki Minaj and many others.

617.840.5580 | BostonCommonBand@Gmail.com


View us Live on YouTube!


Boston Wedding Bands Cape Cod Wedding Bands Newport Wedding Bands RI Wedding Bands Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1419401173095 gorgeous1
130x130 sq 1349206917784 diasphotoeventfullyplanned40
130x130 sq 1386866904244 michelle rocking i
130x130 sq 1419401113405 horns2014
130x130 sq 1419401340952 glenmanor after
130x130 sq 1419401434949 p1020862
130x130 sq 1419401234153 2013 11 080051
130x130 sq 1419401276478 p1020718
130x130 sq 1373639722293 uplight1
130x130 sq 1419401358070 p1010647 2000
130x130 sq 1310706420157 053web
130x130 sq 1419401040816 danceparty2
130x130 sq 1400187498707 p1010648
130x130 sq 1400187472667 p101062
130x130 sq 1386866900935 balcony
130x130 sq 1349207135380 diasphotoeventfullyplanned39
130x130 sq 1323108184458 gould551a
130x130 sq 1323108181239 gould471
130x130 sq 1323108182567 gould475
130x130 sq 1400187926483 knot201
130x130 sq 1400187927311 smp201
130x130 sq 1310706014104 improper2011

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Blues, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Formal/Hipster; Black Suits / Black Sweaters + Black Slacks.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
In addition to our numerous fully live YouTube videos and mp3's online, we perform regularly at local clubs around the Boston area.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes, we typically learn a song for the First Dance, though we are optionally able to learn 'your favorite song' for the Dance Party as well!
How much time do you usually need for setup?
We arrive 2 hours prior to guests arrival to get everything setup and sound-checked before anyone enters your reception room.
How much space do you usually require?
For our standard band setup, we require 200 sq ft. (20x10 or 18x11) If adding additional horn playerss we require an additional ~40 sq ft.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
We do not display any of our own banners; However, if you have a banner of your own that you would like displayed, we would be more than happy to hang it from one of our lighting stands or truss!
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We come equipped with a brand new, state-of-the-art, LED, Intelligent Moving Head and Laser Lighting system capable of projecting over 65,000 colors on the stage and dance floor! 
 
 We also are equipped with a fully modular, high-end speaker system by RCF. This allows us to properly size our system, and scale it for events from 50-500 people.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Our DJ is a well versed Master of Ceremonies and can direct / make announcements throughout your evening.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
We have a broad and diverse play-list of music that is sure to get any crowd of people dancing. Over the course of the evening, we "read" the crowd and stick to the types of songs that will keep the party atmosphere peaked!!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
The band will usually eat during the reception's "Dinner Hour", while the band is eating, our DJ is more than happy to play appropriate music during the dinner hour. This also helps keep the evening moving along and running fluidly, as we eat when you eat -- and we're ready to party, the moment you're ready to party.... maximizing the Dance Party time we have together!
Do you play recorded music during your break?
As an added bonus to the band, our DJ spins and mixed popular dance music while the band is on our short break. This ensures there is no stop to the party!
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
Members of the Boston Common Band are contracted musicians and fully committed to the group. In the very rare instance that a member is not able to perform, we have an extensive list of other extremely talented musicians that we perform with; All who seamlessly integrate into the band.
What is your overtime rate?
$500 per half hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We pride ourselves in being up-front and direct... Therefore, all of our expenses are built into our quote!
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Upon booking the Boston Common Band, we accept a deposit of 1/3rd the total contracted price.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
If I could have given this group 100 stars, I would have. The band was absolutely OUTSTANDING! You can do NO wrong here, trust me. For the guests who didn't dance, they watched on the side while the band put on a great show. They were super interactive with the crowd and I wanted to continue to dance the night away. I honestly cannot say enough about this group, you will not be disappointed. They learn a song for you at your request, and truly play to the crowd. And they play everything under the sun- from Michael Jackson to Kim Carnes. If I could have them play at every event, I would. Go see them, you cannot go wrong here people!!!!!! I have guests still coming up to me nearly two weeks later saying that they were the most outstanding wedding band they had ever seen. Cheers!
If I could have given this group 100 stars, I would have. The band was absolutely OUTSTANDING! You can do NO wrong here, Read more...
If I could have given this group 100 stars, I would have. The band was absolutely OUTSTANDING! You can do NO wrong here, trust me. For the guests who didn't dance, they watched on the side while the band put on a great show. They were super interactive with the crowd and I wanted to continue to dance the night away. I honestly cannot say enough about this group, you will not be disappointed. They learn a song for you at your request, and truly play to the crowd. And they play everything under the sun- from Michael Jackson to Kim Carnes. If I could have them play at every event, I would. Go see them, you cannot go wrong here people!!!!!! I have guests still coming up to me nearly two weeks later saying that they were the most outstanding wedding band they had ever seen. Cheers! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
John
Wedding:
9/12/2014
5.0/5.0
BOOK THIS BAND. I can't describe how amazing they made our night. The dance floor was never empty, and people are still telling us how they'll never forget the band's performance. The instrumentalists were truly talented, the singers had incredible energy, and they all worked together for a spectacular show. I wish I could re-live their performance over again!
On top of the actual musicianship, working with the band leading up to the wedding was great. They added no stress to our already-busy schedule, and made sure to get everything perfect.
BOOK THIS BAND. I can't describe how amazing they made our night. The dance floor was never empty, and people are still Read more...
BOOK THIS BAND. I can't describe how amazing they made our night. The dance floor was never empty, and people are still telling us how they'll never forget the band's performance. The instrumentalists were truly talented, the singers had incredible energy, and they all worked together for a spectacular show. I wish I could re-live their performance over again!
On top of the actual musicianship, working with the band leading up to the wedding was great. They added no stress to our already-busy schedule, and made sure to get everything perfect. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Meghan
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Boston Common + DJ Shyne were absolutely amazing - they did THE perfect job of getting people on the dance floor and keeping them there. Their energy was amazing and contagious. They did such a great job of engaging the crowd, young and old. I got so many compliments on the "band + DJ combination" and would absolutely recommend them to anyone who's looking for an epic wedding dance party!
Boston Common + DJ Shyne were absolutely amazing - they did THE perfect job of getting people on the dance floor and Read more...
Boston Common + DJ Shyne were absolutely amazing - they did THE perfect job of getting people on the dance floor and keeping them there. Their energy was amazing and contagious. They did such a great job of engaging the crowd, young and old. I got so many compliments on the "band + DJ combination" and would absolutely recommend them to anyone who's looking for an epic wedding dance party! Read less
Services Used: Band
Boston Common Band + DJ Combo responded with the following comments:

Meghan & Tyler -- It was our pleasure... you guys totally rock and we couldn't have been more happy to perform for such a wonderful group of people!!
Default vendor profile pic
Jenna
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
This band is amazing. They are so professional and responsive. They spent a lot of time working through exactly what we wanted and understanding our music preferences. They learned a grateful dead song and not well known country song for us and performed them perfectly. They knew how to read the crowd and played a perfect mix of old and new songs. In addition, we had a schedule issue due to timing of the food and they handled it expertly. I would recommend them to anyone. All of my guests raved about them!
This band is amazing. They are so professional and responsive. They spent a lot of time working through exactly what we Read more...
This band is amazing. They are so professional and responsive. They spent a lot of time working through exactly what we wanted and understanding our music preferences. They learned a grateful dead song and not well known country song for us and performed them perfectly. They knew how to read the crowd and played a perfect mix of old and new songs. In addition, we had a schedule issue due to timing of the food and they handled it expertly. I would recommend them to anyone. All of my guests raved about them! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Boston Common Band did a terrific job for our July 5th wedding - they made sure to spend plenty of time discussing the plans over the phone, were extremely thorough and professional, and were overall just a GREAT Band that every guest at our wedding loved. Everyone commented on how there was not one person sitting down - they truly got EVERYONE involved and the crowd was just electric due to the Band's awesome energy. From the intro's to the song selections, they knew exactly how to make it an unbelievably fun night. They even had some break dancers which was a great and unexpected addition to the fun. Highly recommend them!!!
Boston Common Band did a terrific job for our July 5th wedding - they made sure to spend plenty of time discussing the Read more...
Boston Common Band did a terrific job for our July 5th wedding - they made sure to spend plenty of time discussing the plans over the phone, were extremely thorough and professional, and were overall just a GREAT Band that every guest at our wedding loved. Everyone commented on how there was not one person sitting down - they truly got EVERYONE involved and the crowd was just electric due to the Band's awesome energy. From the intro's to the song selections, they knew exactly how to make it an unbelievably fun night. They even had some break dancers which was a great and unexpected addition to the fun. Highly recommend them!!! Read less
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kerri
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about our experience with the Boston Common Band!! Throughout our lengthy wedding planning process, Jonathan and Josh (DJ J-Boogz) were always quick to respond and provide helpful feedback to any of a wide variety of questions I sent their way. Josh was super on top of making sure that people were where they needed to be for entrances, speeches, etc. and coordinating other last minute changes on the day of our wedding. Knowing that he had everything under control allowed me to relax and enjoy every moment of our big day! Most importantly, the band's performance was phenomenal!! I can't count the number of guests who have raved about how much they loved the band! They even managed to get a few of those guests (who NEVER dance) up off their chairs and onto the dance floor!

If you're looking for a band for your wedding, you won't be disappointed by the Boston Common Band!! Their professionalism and amazing talent will make your wedding planning process that much easier and ensure a great party for your guests!
I can't say enough great things about our experience with the Boston Common Band!! Throughout our lengthy wedding planning Read more...
I can't say enough great things about our experience with the Boston Common Band!! Throughout our lengthy wedding planning process, Jonathan and Josh (DJ J-Boogz) were always quick to respond and provide helpful feedback to any of a wide variety of questions I sent their way. Josh was super on top of making sure that people were where they needed to be for entrances, speeches, etc. and coordinating other last minute changes on the day of our wedding. Knowing that he had everything under control allowed me to relax and enjoy every moment of our big day! Most importantly, the band's performance was phenomenal!! I can't count the number of guests who have raved about how much they loved the band! They even managed to get a few of those guests (who NEVER dance) up off their chairs and onto the dance floor!

If you're looking for a band for your wedding, you won't be disappointed by the Boston Common Band!! Their professionalism and amazing talent will make your wedding planning process that much easier and ensure a great party for your guests! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Allison
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
This band is great. They really read the room and play music that keeps the energy high and the crowd happy. The DJ is the combo package is awesome - he kept the wedding moving and played great music during the band's break. Everyone complimented me on the music and everyone was dancing all night!
This band is great. They really read the room and play music that keeps the energy high and the crowd happy. The DJ is the Read more...
This band is great. They really read the room and play music that keeps the energy high and the crowd happy. The DJ is the combo package is awesome - he kept the wedding moving and played great music during the band's break. Everyone complimented me on the music and everyone was dancing all night! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Justine
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The BCB has a great set up in that the package includes 8 band members plus a DJ. The DJ plays during the band’s set breaks. They also have a keyboard player who played during cocktail hour for us. The band is extremely talented, and the DJ was also great at getting people out on the dance floor. They are very well organized with a great online system for sending them your schedule, song requests, do-not-play songs, etc. My husband had a call with DJ Shyne a week before and he helped us further figure out our entire timeline. DJ Shyne was also the MC and did an amazing job – didn’t butcher anyone’s name, timed the entrance songs perfectly. He even helped us transition from “My Girl” to gangnam style for the father-daughter dance –not an easy thing to do but he really made it work! My only small complaint was that there were a number of songs I put on our “must play” list which were never played, as far as I know. This could happen with other bands as well, not sure! I call it a small complaint though because overall I was so pleased with our choice of music, the band is so talented and played some great stuff! I should also mention that the DJ took care of our lighting for us in the venue, so we had some great uplighting, which he matched perfectly to my wedding colors. Highly recommend!
The BCB has a great set up in that the package includes 8 band members plus a DJ. The DJ plays during the band’s set Read more...
The BCB has a great set up in that the package includes 8 band members plus a DJ. The DJ plays during the band’s set breaks. They also have a keyboard player who played during cocktail hour for us. The band is extremely talented, and the DJ was also great at getting people out on the dance floor. They are very well organized with a great online system for sending them your schedule, song requests, do-not-play songs, etc. My husband had a call with DJ Shyne a week before and he helped us further figure out our entire timeline. DJ Shyne was also the MC and did an amazing job – didn’t butcher anyone’s name, timed the entrance songs perfectly. He even helped us transition from “My Girl” to gangnam style for the father-daughter dance –not an easy thing to do but he really made it work! My only small complaint was that there were a number of songs I put on our “must play” list which were never played, as far as I know. This could happen with other bands as well, not sure! I call it a small complaint though because overall I was so pleased with our choice of music, the band is so talented and played some great stuff! I should also mention that the DJ took care of our lighting for us in the venue, so we had some great uplighting, which he matched perfectly to my wedding colors. Highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: Band
130x130 sq 1348215863786 fbavatar2668573
Liz
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Boston Common Band was hands down the best decision we made for our wedding. I think every single one of our 172 guests came up to us and said that they were unbelievable. They truly took our wedding to the next level. What an amazingly talented group. If you are looking for a great wedding band that will make your event unforgettable, look no further.
Boston Common Band was hands down the best decision we made for our wedding. I think every single one of our 172 guests Read more...
Boston Common Band was hands down the best decision we made for our wedding. I think every single one of our 172 guests came up to us and said that they were unbelievable. They truly took our wedding to the next level. What an amazingly talented group. If you are looking for a great wedding band that will make your event unforgettable, look no further. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The Boston Common Band was fantastic! I was a little nervous since I hadn't actually gone to see them play, but the moment they started in on the first dance song, we knew it was going to be great! They played to the crowd and everyone at the wedding was up and dancing. I would recommend them to anyone.
The Boston Common Band was fantastic! I was a little nervous since I hadn't actually gone to see them play, but the moment Read more...
The Boston Common Band was fantastic! I was a little nervous since I hadn't actually gone to see them play, but the moment they started in on the first dance song, we knew it was going to be great! They played to the crowd and everyone at the wedding was up and dancing. I would recommend them to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Band

DEALS

All-Inclusive Wedding Entertainment Packages
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Boston Common Band offers you the TOTAL All-Inclusive Wedding Entertainment Package; Covering your reception from Cocktail Hour through Last Dance at one low price! Our packages also include an unparalleled stage production, which incorporates a state-of-the-art sound system and a spectacular concert-quality lighting presentation. Add to that, our collective knowledge, expertise and excitement which will energize your guests, make You feel like rock-stars and create an evening that's truly unique and special!! Call Now for your custom tailored quote!
Deal #WWe0b815a84ffe10ee
220x220 1380117277847 boco wedwire

MAP

 
Boston, MA 02116 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Boston Common Band + DJ Combo
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1380117277847 boco wedwire