130x130 sq 1334859752905 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography34

Brett Buchanan Photography

Austin , TX

LOCATION

5357 Agatha Cir
Austin, TX 78724 US (map)

PHONE

512-553-5310

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Brett approaches each wedding as an active witness, an honored professional, and as a documentary photographer.
He strives to keep the images genuine, meaningful, and lasting.
... Read more
Brett approaches each wedding as an active witness, an honored professional, and as a documentary photographer.
He strives to keep the images genuine, meaningful, and lasting.
Brett is an award winning member of Wedding Photojournalist Association, Professional Photographers of America, and Editorial Photographers.
He has made a career and living photographing for clients such as Wells Fargo, The Hilton Austin, BlueCross BlueShield, Austin Monthly, The Austin Chronicle, The Austin Business Journal, among others.

Brett holds a Masters in Photojournalism and Documentary Photography from the London College of Communication. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1334859228345 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography34
130x130 sq 1334859286340 img8178edit
130x130 sq 1334859200134 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography18
130x130 sq 1334859293426 wedding001
130x130 sq 1334859283603 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography55
130x130 sq 1334859311679 wedding009
130x130 sq 1334859306037 wedding008
130x130 sq 1334859323830 wedding013
130x130 sq 1334859317649 wedding012
130x130 sq 1334859190579 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography07
130x130 sq 1334859300253 wedding005
130x130 sq 1334859243380 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography41
130x130 sq 1334859193237 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography09
130x130 sq 1334859246339 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography43
130x130 sq 1334859196539 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography15
130x130 sq 1334859249156 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography44
130x130 sq 1334859254172 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography45
130x130 sq 1334859259337 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography46
130x130 sq 1334859203798 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography20
130x130 sq 1334859265000 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography50
130x130 sq 1334859207401 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography21
130x130 sq 1334859270528 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography53
130x130 sq 1334859211370 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography23
130x130 sq 1334859276356 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography54
130x130 sq 1334859214436 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography25
130x130 sq 1334859217760 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography28
130x130 sq 1334859220674 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography31
130x130 sq 1334859224810 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography32
130x130 sq 1334859172802 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography01
130x130 sq 1334859176792 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography02
130x130 sq 1334859232134 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography35
130x130 sq 1334859179731 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography03
130x130 sq 1334859235128 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography36
130x130 sq 1334859182909 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography04
130x130 sq 1334859237829 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography37
130x130 sq 1334859187824 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography05
130x130 sq 1334859240827 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography40
130x130 sq 1334859534947 cederberg23
130x130 sq 1334859547844 khanzadehbridal146
130x130 sq 1334859521719 austinbridalshootweddingphotography01
130x130 sq 1334859528241 austinbridalshootweddingphotography04
130x130 sq 1334859524900 austinbridalshootweddingphotography03
130x130 sq 1334859553865 khanzadehbridal173copy
130x130 sq 1334859539369 cederberg30copy

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What photography services do you offer?
2nd Shooter, Add'l Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations
What photography items do you offer?
Albums, Canvas, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proofs, Save the Date, Thank You Cards

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kaylin
Wedding:
3/11/2015
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Brett and Katie!! We had one of those, everything changes at the last minute, weddings, and those two rolled with it like it was nothing! From the beginning, Brett was super easy to work with. He was easy to get in touch with, and quick to respond to any and all questions. He even contacted the church to ensure he and Katie would be within their requirements. The day of our wedding, Katie and Brett worked to make sure we were comfortable and everything in their power went smoothly. They are quick and efficient about family portraits, and everything from there was easy going and relaxed. Whether it was hiking up a hill, playing in the rain, or herding our family members, Katie and Brett were absolutely fantastic! Friends and family mentioned several times how polite, kind and professional they both were, and how they both seemed to be everywhere all at once. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Brett and Katie!! We had one of those, everything changes at the last minute, Read more...
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Brett and Katie!! We had one of those, everything changes at the last minute, weddings, and those two rolled with it like it was nothing! From the beginning, Brett was super easy to work with. He was easy to get in touch with, and quick to respond to any and all questions. He even contacted the church to ensure he and Katie would be within their requirements. The day of our wedding, Katie and Brett worked to make sure we were comfortable and everything in their power went smoothly. They are quick and efficient about family portraits, and everything from there was easy going and relaxed. Whether it was hiking up a hill, playing in the rain, or herding our family members, Katie and Brett were absolutely fantastic! Friends and family mentioned several times how polite, kind and professional they both were, and how they both seemed to be everywhere all at once. I cannot recommend them highly enough. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Brett was absolutely perfect as a wedding photographer. He was professional, timely, and went out of his way to capture every detail and help us facilitate our non-traditional wedding (elopement) in Austin. He had never done an elopement, but was incredibly flexible with our easy going planning style. He promptly responded to my inquiries, met us for drinks to discuss our event, and showed up on time, prepared, and (of course) eager to shoot our event. After our ceremony at hotel St. Cecilia, he even drove us around in his own car to take photos around town and had brought along iced bottled water to help keep us comfortable in the heat. We've both been in a ton of weddings, but Brett was the best photographer we've worked with- he matched our easy-going style, all while making sure he captured the details and moments that made our day "ours" and our event so special. With such a small event (Read: Bride, Groom, Officiant, Brett) we were worried it would be awkward spending a few extra hours taking pictures with just the three of us- but Brett is such a friendly guy it really just felt like we were hanging out with a friend.

His demeanor and professionalism are complemented by the excellent images he captures and edits. We cannot recommend Brett enough for anyone needing photography services, and hope to be able to work with him again.
Brett was absolutely perfect as a wedding photographer. He was professional, timely, and went out of his way to capture Read more...
Brett was absolutely perfect as a wedding photographer. He was professional, timely, and went out of his way to capture every detail and help us facilitate our non-traditional wedding (elopement) in Austin. He had never done an elopement, but was incredibly flexible with our easy going planning style. He promptly responded to my inquiries, met us for drinks to discuss our event, and showed up on time, prepared, and (of course) eager to shoot our event. After our ceremony at hotel St. Cecilia, he even drove us around in his own car to take photos around town and had brought along iced bottled water to help keep us comfortable in the heat. We've both been in a ton of weddings, but Brett was the best photographer we've worked with- he matched our easy-going style, all while making sure he captured the details and moments that made our day "ours" and our event so special. With such a small event (Read: Bride, Groom, Officiant, Brett) we were worried it would be awkward spending a few extra hours taking pictures with just the three of us- but Brett is such a friendly guy it really just felt like we were hanging out with a friend.

His demeanor and professionalism are complemented by the excellent images he captures and edits. We cannot recommend Brett enough for anyone needing photography services, and hope to be able to work with him again. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We just received our pictures from the wedding and each picture is better than the last! I loved that each moment was captured from the large moments to the small moments. Brett and his team were always on time and responsive. They were somehow able to be at the right place at the right moment throughout the evening. We received our photos faster than expected also!
The best thing about Brett and his team was his calming nature. In the midst of chaos he has the ability to provide a sense of calm to the bride. This was especially evident when I was running behind for my Bridal Shoot.
Our day will be immortalized thanks to Brett's great work!
We just received our pictures from the wedding and each picture is better than the last! I loved that each moment was Read more...
We just received our pictures from the wedding and each picture is better than the last! I loved that each moment was captured from the large moments to the small moments. Brett and his team were always on time and responsive. They were somehow able to be at the right place at the right moment throughout the evening. We received our photos faster than expected also!
The best thing about Brett and his team was his calming nature. In the midst of chaos he has the ability to provide a sense of calm to the bride. This was especially evident when I was running behind for my Bridal Shoot.
Our day will be immortalized thanks to Brett's great work! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Crystal
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Brett uses a photojournalism approach to photography, and I loved the results. My photos were fantastic, and Brett was great to work with.
Brett uses a photojournalism approach to photography, and I loved the results. My photos were fantastic, and Brett was Read more...
Brett uses a photojournalism approach to photography, and I loved the results. My photos were fantastic, and Brett was great to work with. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/19/2012
3.8/5.0
This review is for Brett, who did our engagement photos, and his assistant Katie Hayes Luke, who did our wedding day photos as Brett was unavailable for our date (Brett still edited all images and handled all e-mails). Brett was awesome and super friendly. He took a ton of great engagement photos that we really liked and we felt as comfortable around him as possible considering the awkwardness of the whole engagement shoot situation. The photos are high quality and very sweet.

Katie also took high-quality photos of our wedding. While we are very pleased with the quality, we were pretty disappointed with the selection/quantity of photos she took. We were originally given 389 final photos, despite the contract stating that we would receive *at least* 400. And, there were many moments and details from the wedding day that were not reflected in her photos. We have no photos of our guests dancing, no photos of our guestbook, no photos of several wildflower centerpieces we created, no photos of our family at the reception, and no photos of the live band playing together.

This was especially disappointing because when we met with Katie beforehand, she mentioned that it probably wouldn't be necessary to keep her longer than the 6 hours we originally hired her for because "all the dancing photos can get kind of old." But she didn't end up having any dancing photos at all. When she had been shooting for 6 hours the day of the wedding, she let me know that our time was up. She did not tell us that she hadn't had a chance to get some good reception photos, so we let her go home.

I let Brett know that we were expecting at least 400 photos as stated in the contract and noted some of the things we would like to have included that were missing. It took him a while to respond to that and he didn't offer an explanation. But he did send us about 20 more photos about a week later, but those were unfortunately "repeats" of moments/details already included and they weren't photos that were any better than the ones we already had (another way to put it, we understood why he hadn't included them in the first batch). The only explanation is that Katie simply didn't take any photos of the missing moments/details.

All in all, Brett is a great photographer and tries very hard to be great at his job by doing the best photographing job he can. Katie didn't quite deliver what we had hoped... I would recommend Brett for engagements and weddings. If you're thinking about hiring Katie, I would suggest hiring two photographers, paying her to stay later, or expressing clearly what you want to see in the photos. If quality were the only part of the puzzle, I'd give them 5 stars hands down. But unfortunately selection and quantity are also very important.
This review is for Brett, who did our engagement photos, and his assistant Katie Hayes Luke, who did our wedding day Read more...
This review is for Brett, who did our engagement photos, and his assistant Katie Hayes Luke, who did our wedding day photos as Brett was unavailable for our date (Brett still edited all images and handled all e-mails). Brett was awesome and super friendly. He took a ton of great engagement photos that we really liked and we felt as comfortable around him as possible considering the awkwardness of the whole engagement shoot situation. The photos are high quality and very sweet.

Katie also took high-quality photos of our wedding. While we are very pleased with the quality, we were pretty disappointed with the selection/quantity of photos she took. We were originally given 389 final photos, despite the contract stating that we would receive *at least* 400. And, there were many moments and details from the wedding day that were not reflected in her photos. We have no photos of our guests dancing, no photos of our guestbook, no photos of several wildflower centerpieces we created, no photos of our family at the reception, and no photos of the live band playing together.

This was especially disappointing because when we met with Katie beforehand, she mentioned that it probably wouldn't be necessary to keep her longer than the 6 hours we originally hired her for because "all the dancing photos can get kind of old." But she didn't end up having any dancing photos at all. When she had been shooting for 6 hours the day of the wedding, she let me know that our time was up. She did not tell us that she hadn't had a chance to get some good reception photos, so we let her go home.

I let Brett know that we were expecting at least 400 photos as stated in the contract and noted some of the things we would like to have included that were missing. It took him a while to respond to that and he didn't offer an explanation. But he did send us about 20 more photos about a week later, but those were unfortunately "repeats" of moments/details already included and they weren't photos that were any better than the ones we already had (another way to put it, we understood why he hadn't included them in the first batch). The only explanation is that Katie simply didn't take any photos of the missing moments/details.

All in all, Brett is a great photographer and tries very hard to be great at his job by doing the best photographing job he can. Katie didn't quite deliver what we had hoped... I would recommend Brett for engagements and weddings. If you're thinking about hiring Katie, I would suggest hiring two photographers, paying her to stay later, or expressing clearly what you want to see in the photos. If quality were the only part of the puzzle, I'd give them 5 stars hands down. But unfortunately selection and quantity are also very important. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Brandi
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Brett was so easy-going and flexible to work with! We were an out of town couple but had our wedding in Austin. Our meetings/emails went well, and we were super excited to have him as a photographer. On the wedding day, Brett floated around taking pictures--several people commented on how they didn't even notice him. He catches some excellent shots too! We love his photojournalism style, and had so much fun looking through our wedding photos just a few weeks later! The wedding day is such a blur, and Brett takes the perfect photos to look back upon and remember all the special moments! He is a little more expensive but his professionalism and quality and number of pictures is worth it--plus part of your funds go to helping empowering charities and organizations around the world :)
Brett was so easy-going and flexible to work with! We were an out of town couple but had our wedding in Austin. Our Read more...
Brett was so easy-going and flexible to work with! We were an out of town couple but had our wedding in Austin. Our meetings/emails went well, and we were super excited to have him as a photographer. On the wedding day, Brett floated around taking pictures--several people commented on how they didn't even notice him. He catches some excellent shots too! We love his photojournalism style, and had so much fun looking through our wedding photos just a few weeks later! The wedding day is such a blur, and Brett takes the perfect photos to look back upon and remember all the special moments! He is a little more expensive but his professionalism and quality and number of pictures is worth it--plus part of your funds go to helping empowering charities and organizations around the world :) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
kasey
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring Brett was one of the best decisions I made in planning our wedding. He was so accomodating in working with me being an out of town bride. His personality is so calm and cool, he was such a great person to have around for the whole wedding. He was great at planning the vision I had for our wedding and executed it perfectly! I work with professional fashion photographers everyday, and when I asked them to look at his work and consult on my decision he was the only photographer that got their blessing! I had so much positive feedback about him and his team after the wedding from our friends and family as well.
Hiring Brett was one of the best decisions I made in planning our wedding. He was so accomodating in working with me being Read more...
Hiring Brett was one of the best decisions I made in planning our wedding. He was so accomodating in working with me being an out of town bride. His personality is so calm and cool, he was such a great person to have around for the whole wedding. He was great at planning the vision I had for our wedding and executed it perfectly! I work with professional fashion photographers everyday, and when I asked them to look at his work and consult on my decision he was the only photographer that got their blessing! I had so much positive feedback about him and his team after the wedding from our friends and family as well. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Brookley
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.8/5.0
Brett Buchanan is an amazing photojournalist. I truly could not have asked for a better photographer for such an important moment and mine and my husband's life. Brett ROCKS!
Brett Buchanan is an amazing photojournalist. I truly could not have asked for a better photographer for such an important Read more...
Brett Buchanan is an amazing photojournalist. I truly could not have asked for a better photographer for such an important moment and mine and my husband's life. Brett ROCKS! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
gobruins
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.9/5.0
We had an OUTSTANDING experience working with Brett. He had a great attitude and was highly flexible and accommodating of our schedule, approach and style. Pictures turned out beautiful as well.

If we were to do it all over again, the one thing we might have done differently would be discuss and plan the various posed shoots and share our 'wish list' with Brett so he could help ensure we got all the shots we wanted/needed.
We had an OUTSTANDING experience working with Brett. He had a great attitude and was highly flexible and accommodating of Read more...
We had an OUTSTANDING experience working with Brett. He had a great attitude and was highly flexible and accommodating of our schedule, approach and style. Pictures turned out beautiful as well.

If we were to do it all over again, the one thing we might have done differently would be discuss and plan the various posed shoots and share our 'wish list' with Brett so he could help ensure we got all the shots we wanted/needed. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Bg3
mgiani
Wedding:
1/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Brett is an incredible photographer and an incredible guy. He was extremely responsive and flexible when we were constantly making last-minute changes to the photography package we got from him and he was 100% professional before, during, and after the wedding. I highly recommend!
Brett is an incredible photographer and an incredible guy. He was extremely responsive and flexible when we were Read more...
Brett is an incredible photographer and an incredible guy. He was extremely responsive and flexible when we were constantly making last-minute changes to the photography package we got from him and he was 100% professional before, during, and after the wedding. I highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Complimentary Engagement or Bridal Shoot with select Packages
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Receive a free engagement shoot or bridal shoot and a $50 print credit when you sign on for an Expressive or Enduring wedding package. Up to 1.5 hours on location in Austin or in studio. ($300 value)
Deal #WWa939de875ffe3474
220x220 1334859752905 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography34

MAP

 
5357 Agatha Cir, Austin, TX 78724 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Brett Buchanan Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1334859752905 austinweddingphotographerportfoliophotography34