Nophoto-130

Bridal Alterations by Ruth

Downers Grove , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

private residence near expressway 355 and Maple Ave. in Downers Grove
Downers Grove, IL US 60515 (map)

PHONE

630-960-1288
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I am an Independent Bridal Alterationist with 36 years of experience in Bridal and Formal Wear fittings and alterations. I studied Fashion Design at the Fashion Institute of Technology... Read more
I am an Independent Bridal Alterationist with 36 years of experience in Bridal and Formal Wear fittings and alterations. I studied Fashion Design at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. I am extremely good at what I do, so you can entrust the alterations of your special dress to me with confidence! Over the years I have really enjoyed and taken great pride in making my clients look their very best on their memorable day. I do all the fittings and alterations myself in my home and ask that you only bring one person with you to your fittings. I am conveniently located one block from the #355 Maple Ave. Exit in Downers Grove. I have a selection of bra cups and slips for fullness available for your convenience. It is wise to make an appointment with me four to six weeks ahead of your wedding date . I work from my home,so I can be flexible with the fitting appointment times. Read less
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Brides should make an appointment for their first fitting to be 4 to 6 weeks before the wedding. It is wise for brides to book early! I work from my home, so I can be flexible with my fitting times. I usually need only one more fitting to check fit my alterations. ( Sometimes a bride will need a third fitting.) The bride will either take her dress with her to have it pressed elsewhere after the check fit or leave it with me to press if I feel I can handle the style and fabrication with the pressisng equipment I have. I refer my brides to a local cleaners who specializes in wedding gowns if I decide I cannot press a gown. For dresses other than wedding gowns, first fittings need to be scheduled 3 to 4 weeks before the wear date. I am usually able to press most other dresses.
What specialty dress and attire items, such as a Kimono or Sari, do you provide?
I have an assortment of bra cups to sew in and also a selection of slips for extra fullness in the skirt area of gowns. If you purchase a bra at a store, keep the tags on it and the receipt so that it can be returned if you decide not to use it. You will also need the shoes you will be wearing with the gown or at least shoes with the same height heel.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
Ruth is an excellent seamstress. Her apartment/condo complex is a little hard to find if you are coming from out of town. Her fitting/sewing room is small but the most important thing is her craftsmanship. The dress was ready when she promised and I though the fee was reasonable.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.5/5.0
Ruth did a nice job with my dress... It fit nicely. My dress was made of a fabric that was wrinkly.. She did say she ironed it a few times... The wrinkles were still there... We rented a garment steamer our selves to fit it... I just wish she would have told us the issue instead if handing us the dress without mentioning it... Other wise everything else was good
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1367016385741-avatar
Aubrey
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Ruth did an absolutely perfect job on my wedding dress alterations. She discovered that my dress had been manufactured incorrectly, and knew enough about sewing my delicate lace to make fix the dress. She was also able to sculpt the dress to perfectly fit me from head to toe. I was even considering whether or not to cut the train off my dress, and she patiently weighed both options and pinned it both ways for me so that I could discover which way I wanted it done. She created the bustle so that each piece was numbered and it was easy for my bridesmaids to bustle it before my reception. She even gave suggestions as to adding in a hoop so that I wouldn't trip on the bottom of my dress while walking at the wedding. She was professional, and she got the dress done exactly when she said she would. I would highly recommend her as an extremely knowledgeable and skilled seamstress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
6/9/2014
4.8/5.0
I reached out to Ruth in early February to discuss wedding dress alterations, she immediately put me at ease when I discussed my dress problems. (Had dress regret and bought a second dress and wasn't sure about that one either) I talked through the issues I had with the second dress and after she saw pictures, she assured me that everything would be fine. I had my fitting in the second week of April and she pinned me up and I was thrilled with the way the dress was going to look when it was finished. She does all the fitting in one session so it does take a little while, but for me, that's much better than having to make several different trips like most salons require. I went to pick up my dress a few weeks later and I was amazed by the all work she did. The dress looked amazing! Ruth added several stays to my bodice, took it in around the bust, ribs, and butt, hemmed it, sewed bra cups in (because I was unsure about what I would be wearing beneath my dress) and she even had several hoops and slips to try on with my dress. I ended choosing a hoop to go beneath my dress. That was really nice, because i doubt I would've bought a hoop for my dress if she hadn't had it available and it really made a huge difference in the way my dress looked. She was a little pricier than I would've wished, but it was definitely quality work and I'm even more excited to get married now! The dress looks great and I can't wait to wear it!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara
Wedding:
6/8/2014
4.6/5.0
Ruth knows her stuff!!! She made my mermaid silouette dress fit me perfectly. She offered suggestions on things like adding removable straps (for the dance party) and where to place the sash on my waist (which was also removable). I came from the city each time to do my fitting, and it was worth the travel. I had never met her before (just chose her based on reviews). My favorite part about her is that she is a perfectionist...she will not be done with your dress until she is 100% happy with it. There were a couple things I didn't even notice that she would point out and fix just so it lay right. Contact me if you have any questions. Two things I would point out - she doesn't respond to her email or answer her phone right away always, but don't be alarmed. And secondly, her apt. building was a little daunting because you have to be quiet when you first enter out of respect for other tenants, but she has a quaint bridal room in her unit where you get privacy for your fittings.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
samantha
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.9/5.0
Ruth is amazing! I had bought my dress a year and a half before my wedding and gained some weight in between. I was so upset to try my dress on a month before the wedding and it wasn't even close to fitting! I found Ruth online and met with her to see if she could work some magic...and she did!!! She studied the dress inside and out, took my measurements and I couldn't believe that just after one trip there, on my next fitting appointment, the dress was perfect! I was able to pick it up just a few days later, just in time for the wedding. If you need dress alterations, go to Ruth. I wouldn't recommend anyone else!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JG-F
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Ruth is a miracle-worker. She was able to get the dress that was a size too small for me to fit PERFECTLY. She is delightful, has an amazing eye for detail, and made me feel beautiful on my wedding day. Absolutely no complaints. I will refer her to all my recently-engaged friends.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Felice
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Ruth did an amazing job with my dress! She is very talented and was very diligent with every detail. Originally I came to her only to change the bustline from straight into a sweetheart (which turned out beautifully!), shorten the dress, and bustle the back. When I tried on the dress with Ruth, I decided that I didn't really like how the skirt layered and draped in certain areas and Ruth was able to fix that and make suggestions that met what I was looking for. In addition, the inner mermaid skirt layer that David's Bridal recommended me to purchase was way too hot and not appropriate for a summer wedding, so she switched mine out with a A-line hoop skirt that allowed me to move under the dress without the skirt bunching between my legs. The few things that I did not like was that the room where all the fittings and alterations were done in was a pretty tight space to maneuver in, too dim, quite hot in the summer, and the mirror behind the door in the corner made it a bit difficult to completely see the changes being made to my dress (My dress was ballgown). However I was in good hands and Ruth is very talented. Overall, the results of my wedding dress were exactly what I wanted, and I couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1343070038400-usheart
Amber
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I was in a jam when I bought my wedding dress offline and didn't realize the sizing difference with wedding dresses! I was a size off and it didn't fit correctly at all! I was so nervous! It was a little less than 2 months before my wedding and I contacted Ruth and she was able to fit me in, she was flexible with her time because my work schedule was crazy and it was hard for me to get to Downer's Grove from the city. She took my dress and said she could do it. I didn't hear anything from her until about 2 weeks before the wedding and she called to see if I wanted her to make a new bustle or not, I said no because it was a destination wedding and I didn't think it was that big of a deal, because I would probably change not long after the wedding. She also quoted me the price, which was great! (below $300) When I got there the next week, I was SO HAPPY! The dress fit LIKE A GLOVE! She even added an over the top bustle (or whatever you call it) which was great because I ended up really needing that and she didn't even charge me extra to do that. She was the best seamstress I have ever been to, it was my dream dress and she made it fit perfectly to me! Finding the perfect dress is PRICELESS and I couldn't have had the most perfect day without her talent! Thank you, Ruth!! Every bride needs to go here for alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
tara
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Ruth altered my dress for my July 13th wedding. Since buying the dress in November, I lost 30 pounds, so she had her work cut out for her. However, nothing is too difficult for this woman. She is patient, hard working, and does beautiful work. I had a very difficult time deciding between which of the two bustles I wanted. I chose the French bustle and then impulsively changed my mind two days before my wedding. She changed the bustle to the over bustle for a small fee. I would have regretted this if I did not have the change made. In the end, my dress was stunning. I highly recommend Ruth! :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
6/15/2013
4.8/5.0
Ruth did an amazing job on my wedding dress! To be honest, at first I was skeptical leaving my $2500 wedding dress at her home after just meeting her (she runs her business from home), but I should have known, based on her reviews, that everything would work out well. I also originally thought her pricing was high ($300 for my bustle, train, hem, and backside/shoulder alterations) so I decided to also get a quote from Nordstrom Rack, and when they quoted me 4x what Ruth quoted me, I went back to Ruth immediately! She was very flexible and accommodating and I couldn't believe how much more beautiful my dress looked on me when it fit properly. Although I would have never thought I would pay so much in alterations on a dress, it was absolutely worth it! She is actually very reasonable in pricing, I just don't get many things altered so I didn't realize the work involved. I'm so happy I had Ruth alter my wedding dress, she's very talented!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.9/5.0
I was looking for alterations that received great feedback in order to find someone I could entrust with my wedding dress, and I came upon Ruth. She was so sweet and friendly on the phone when I booked my fitting, and the intricate alterations she did made my dress fit like a glove when I came to pick it up. She was very professional, easy to work with, friendly, and someone I would definitely trust to do the most complex alteration jobs. Ruth is a great seamstress, and you can count on her to make your dress look even more beautiful than it was before, because she will be providing you with a perfect fit!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherrie
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Ruth worked miracles with my dress. She did an amazing job and was a pleasure to work with!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rita
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Ruth can work miracles! She took a very elaborate, tailored wedding dress and reduced it 2 whole sizes and shortened it by 3 inches while keeping the scale and proportion perfect! As a seamstress myself, I had such admiration for her work. She makes alterations an art!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tina
Wedding:
6/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I found Ruth by looking for reviews on wedding dress alterations in my area. As you can see Ruth rules. She is an expert at what she does. I could not be happier with the way my dress turned out. Ruth was able to make time for me on short notice. Her attention to detail is second to none. Ruth took her time with me at every fitting and measured over and over to make sure everything was perfect. Ruth added hooks to my dress, so that I could attach my back jewelry right to my dress. It looked stunning. You will not go wrong having Ruth alter your dress. She is also very reasonably
priced. Thank you Ruth
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betsy
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I contacted Ruth when my alteration specialist fell through at the last minute. With only a couple of weeks until the wedding, I was thrilled when Ruth graciously fit me into her schedule. The dress needed to be hemmed and the train removed. The result was perfect -- and she added a special stitch to the top of the bodice (strapless) so it would lie perfectly, with no gaping. Ruth was so reassuring -- she took all the stress away!! I would strongly recommend her for any bridal alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TinaB
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I found Ruth online after searching specifically for "bridal alterations." After reading so many great reviews I decided to go with her (all the wonderful reviews turned out to by completely true). Ruth did an amazing job on my alterations! She had a lot of work to do on my dress, and did a great job on all of it. I'm very picky and she made sure everything was exactly how I wanted it. She even squeezed me in for an extra appointment when I was worried about something on the dress. She is a sweet lady and very pleasant to work with. She made me feel very comfortable. Right from the beginning I could tell how experienced and knowledgeable she was and that put me at ease. To top it all off Ruth did the alterations in a timely fashion and the cost for everything was EXTREMELY Reasonable! I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
4/3/2012
4.8/5.0
Ruth alters formal dresses in her home. She was recommended by a local store that carries Enzoani. She did good work, considering the extent of the changes she made to my dress and how much material and craziness there was to work with on my skirt.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
4/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I bought my dress in MD but live in IL, so going to the shop I purchased my dress from for alterations was out of the question. Ruth was recommended to me by a local dress shop, and after reading online reviews, I decided to give her a call - I am so glad that I did! She was able to adjust the straight neckline into a semi-sweetheart, remove the hoopskirts and crinolines, reduce the train and hem many layers of organza. The dress ended up looking great, and her prices are incredibly reasonable. She also did a great job with my mom's dress, which had been badly altered by someone else, and Ruth made it look perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hopely
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.8/5.0
Ruth was referred to me by a friend and I was absolutely satisfied with her work! She was pleasant to talk to and able to clearly explain my options and give me advice about the dress. It was not strange doing it in her apt as she had a separate room just for her work, there were no other family.friends around as far as I could tell and she was very professional.

She did a great job taking my size 8 dress down to less than a 2 with no visible signs it had ever been different! Amazing! It was a little pricey for my taste but I had a LOT done and I think it would have been comparable to other places as far as I understand.

She also gave a me a little envelope of 10 things to help make a happy marriage... so cute! :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Unique Services
Wwnetwork-128
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Ruth. I got my dress at House of Brides and every fitting there, the dress looked worse and worse. There was weird puckering over the corset and they had no idea how to fix it. It was finally 3 days before my wedding and I was in tears.
Thankfully, my maid of honor found Ruth online and she saw me 2 nights before my wedding. I am so grateful for her. She knew how to fix it right away and added beading to my dress and fixed the bustle. She said the H of B bustle would have fallen within 20 minutes of the reception. I could tell right away that she had so much more knowledge with wedding dresses.
Ruth was wonderful and I would recommened her to anyone for any alterations. She saved my wedding and everyone said how beautiful the dress was. Thank you Ruth!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MH
Wedding:
9/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Ruth did a wonderful job on my wedding dress alterations! I refused to let the place I bought my dress from touch my dress, we had a few bad brides maid dress alterations. She was very easy to work with. I am from central IL and could only do alterations on the weekend. She was able to complete my dress within a month of my wedding. The looked great! I felt beautiful in it! She even did my mom's dress without advanced notice. I would highly recommend Ruth to anyone in need of bridal alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1315968315307-adamandbethwedding225
mrscarey2
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.8/5.0
I bought my dress from house of brides and immediately started hearing horror stories of getting alterations done at the store. One such story was a staff from super cuts who had her dress completely ruined and Ruth saved it.

When i was ready for alterations i was a bit wiry about going to someones apt to get alterations done but in reality the job Ruth did was awesome!

House of brides caps alterations price at $270 and my alterations were more than that but i also had bra cup sew in in to my dress (a real life saver! i can never find bras that fit right.) she added more sequins to my dress in a spot where they were falling out, shortened my dress, sewed my sleeves in and added length to one, adjust a defect on the dress, did an amazing bustle and she even was able to get me a garment bag the fit my dress (i was having the hardest time finding one).

Highly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Becca
Wedding:
8/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I found Ruth online, through her many glowing recommendations, and they all held up true!

I bought my wedding dress as a sample, it was too small in the hips/thighs, too large on top, too long, needed a bustle and most of all had many complicated layers of lace and tool. It's a very unique dress.

She not only made this dress fit perfectly, as if I'd ordered it to my size, but she crafted it with such perfection that you can't tell that alterations were done. Ruth knows intimately how to alter specifically for bridal. I was so impressed by the many ways she understood all the different cuts and lines of dresses, specifically pertaining to bridal. You will be in good hands with her.

Particularly, with the bustle, she put her creative talents to work by creating a custom bustle that matched the style of my dress. Absolutely stunning.

Ruth is extremely professional and flexible, she worked around my limited availability/schedule without an issue.

To top it off, her rates are extremely reasonable.

I would absolutely recommend Ruth, in fact I already have to other close friends that are getting married.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyndsey
Wedding:
7/31/2011
5.0/5.0
Ruth was a god send. She was quick and helpful! When there was a minor issue (not caused by Ruth) with my dress she fixed it no questions asked. She scheduled fittings without and fuss or problems, and was very flexible with working around my schedule!

She is fantastic!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Ruth performed alterations on a bridesmaid dress for my Sisters upcoming wedding. The dress was too small and the zipper wouldn't close the last 2-3 inches. Ruth looked over the dress extensively and measured each seam to ensure she'd be able to take out enough so the dress would fit. I was very nervous before meeting with Ruth but she put me at ease that the dress would work. The alterations done were wonderful; you can't tell that any of the seams were touched! I would recommend Ruth for any bridal alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassie
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.9/5.0
Ruth did a fabulous job on my bridesmaid dress. My best friend was getting married July 2nd and I brought the dress to Ruth about a month before. I was really worried that I was cutting it close. She had no problem taking me! She did everything so well and fast!! I went to her house I was fitted and a few weeks later I went back and the once big dress fit me like a glove and was steamed for me as well. She also put a new hook at the top for me which I thought was great. I have to say I will be using her again without a question
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Melissa
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Ruth is amazing! She is a wonderful, skillful seamstress. I was so frustrated with the way I was being "cattled in" by David's Bridal; they only offer 15 minutes for alteration appointments and are NOT schedule flexible. Ruth was able to give to me her undivided attention and was completely flexible with scheduling. She never rushed me and even helped me pick out jewelry that would compliment my wedding gown. Ruth does wonderful work! The gown was gorgeous, it fit so perfectly! I was 100% satisfied.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krm
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.9/5.0
Ruth was great- I had a pretty complicated asymmetrical dress. When I first got it, the bust was WAY too big, and I couldn't sit down because the hips were too tight. Ruth was able to make it fit perfectly and also did what had to be a custom bustle that really worked with the lines of the dress. She was very accomodating to my schedule (I live out of town), and really knows what she is doing. The only reason I gave 4 out of 5 for value was because it was more than I expected, but I am not sure how it would compare had I gone elsewhere. All in all, I would definitely recommend her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Stefanie
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I was a bridesmaid in my friend's May wedding. The dress arrived a month before the wedding and it lacked zipping all the way by at least an inch. I was extremely stressed when I realized the dress didn't fit. I found Ruth's business online and gave her a call. She was very nice to work with and her prices are very reasonable. She said fixing the dress wouldn't be a problem. Ruth had the dress done in time for the wedding and it fit perfectly. It was such a relief. I was extremely happy with the dress! I am a bridesmaid again next April and will definitely be using Ruth again if the next dress needs alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.7/5.0
Ruth did alterations on my wedding gown for my May 7th wedding (2011). My dress had a lace overlay and straps. Before I took it to Ruth, the straps were not laying flat, the dress was too big in the bust and the skirt was too long- basically, nothing was fitting well. After Ruth had worked her magic, the dress fit perfectly and looked great on my wedding day. The bustle she added to my dress was beautiful and held throughout my entire wedding and reception. She was very nice to work with throughout the process and her prices were reasonable for the amount of work she put in. I would be happy to recommend Ruth to any of my friends.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Diane
Wedding:
5/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Ruth did a fantastic job altering my dress. It was oddly large on top, which required alteration, including modifying a heavily layered top. The dress looks beautiful and fits like a dream. I could not have asked for better quality service. I would recommend Ruth to anyone needing any type of alteration! She is friendly and does exceptional work! A great combination when planning a wedding!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
pat
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Ruth is wonderful! My daughter fell in love with a discountinued bridal gown that was 3 sizes too big. We did not trust the store with the alterations so we decided to check around. We brought the gown to a recommended seamstress who was planning to do minimal work for a large sum. We kept looking and found Ruth. She did the job the right way and altered the gown to fit beautifully after just one fitting. The gown was elaborate and a lot of work. She also added cups and a French bustle. The bustle held-up throughout the night of dancing. My daughter looked gorgeous in her gown, thanks to Ruth. She is a friendly and talented seamstress who works hard and is determined to get the job done right! She puts you at ease and her prices are reasonable. I recommend her highly!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Sarah
Wedding:
10/16/2010
3.2/5.0
I used Ruth for alterations for my wedding dress: taking in the straps, hemming, and putting in a bustle. The dress alterations she did with the straps and the hem were beautiful and fit perfectly. The bustle, however, quickly proved to be a problem at the reception, as all of the little ribbon ties she put in to hold it tore out within an hour of the wedding reception starting. The fabric of the dress was heavy, and the stitching she put in simply did not hold. That meant I spent a good 45 minutes of my reception in the bathroom trying to fix the bustle with needle and thread and safety pins, just so I could do our first dance without tripping over my train. She is very nice and reliable to work with, but the bustle she put in proved to be a big disappointment.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
7/4/2010
5.0/5.0
I am a Civil War reenactress, and had asked another seamstress to make a ball gown for me. It was to be a reproduction of a very well known, historic dress; it was of velvet, quite elaborate, and fairly expensive to begin with. The original had a train on the dress, and my seamstress (in order to be completely historically accurate) had incorporated that feature into my dress, as well. It was a gorgeous dress - but the train made it extremely difficult for me to walk, let alone dance in it. (I was particularly distressed, because I had asked her NOT to put the train on it in the first place....) So - I asked Ruth to make an alteration for me. I knew she did bridal work, and I trusted her quality. She bustled the train (beautifully!) and even corrected some sewing errors she discovered in the dress. She also makes some magnificent silk floral headdresses, garlands, etc. I have several such from Ruth, including one that I use with that velvet dress. My husband says I look like a queen now in that dress! Thanks, Ruth!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
T
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Ruth is incredible! She was able to turn a complex and ill-fitting, asymmetric, multi-layered gown bought overseas into a beautifully fitting wedding dress - her talent is something to admire. Some basic changes were made (side boning, hemming, cups), but the most beautiful work was done for the bustle - as an gown made in a country where the concept of post-ceremony bustling (for a reception) does not exist, she created a double layer bustle that came together wonderfully and allowed me to happily dance the night away on the big day.

I also have to commend her flexibility - as an 'out-of-town' bride, most of our communication was done via phone, and she was able to accommodate a couple of very last-minute appointments. The gown was completed perfectly on schedule. It is clear that she works incredibly hard, has a great eye for the job and the talent and creativity that is needed. I'm thrilled to have found her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
She did a fantastic job on my designer wedding dress! I was hesitant at first since it was an independent vendor, but I was so happy with the results. My mother in-law also got her dress altered by Ruth and it was perfect. She was very flexible when I had to push back my final fitting because I was sent out of the country for work. Great quality of work and very professional!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marianne
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Ruth for any and all alterations one may need on their formal gown, be it a wedding dress, bridesmaid dress, etc. I only had about two weeks to have my bridesmaid dress altered, and I didn't even realize how drastically it needed to be altered until going in to see Ruth. She promptly returned my call and agreed to see me and work on my dress within the inflexible time constraints I had to work with. During the first fitting, she really pinpointed what needed to be done with this dress, which wasn't looking great, though I didn't understand why. She gave her expert opinion and made some fabulous suggestions to work with the bust, hips, etc. Ruth had her work cut out for her, as she only had a week to get all of the work done. She was extremely gracious and flexible in scheduling my second fitting date and working with me to get this dress completed on time. Her prices are extremely reasonable as well. The dress ended up fitting beautifully, and I was so comfortable and confident in wearing it the day of the wedding, which is priceless in my opinion. I would use Ruth again in a heartbeat. She is the person to go to for sure!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Catrina
Wedding:
1/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Ruth altered my bridesmaid dress for me and did an amazing job. I called her only about a month before the wedding, nervous that no one would be able to get my dress done (and done well) on time. Ruth put me at ease and set me up right away with an appointment. She has a flexible schedule and was able to meet me in the evenings. My dress was about a foot too long, and she took it up perfectly. She made stitches on the chest area of the dress to hold everything in nice and put loops in the back to hold my bra in place. Everything was perfect when I picked up my dress. Amazing service! I love my dress...before she fixed it all up I was dreading wearing it! I highly recommend Bridal Alterations by Ruth to anyone!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happybride
Wedding:
12/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Ruth is an excellent seamstress! She always returned my calls promptly, was on time to all appointments, and had the work completed on time. From the time of my first appointment to the time I picked up the finished garment, she was courteous, and professional. Having been a bridesmaid many times and faced with many alterations, I was nervous about my bridal alterations. As a full figured woman, I always felt intimidated by the women who did my alterations. Ruth put me at ease from the beginning and made me feel like I would be the most beautiful bride ever! She was very understanding about my needs and helped calm my nervous bride worries. My Bridal gown with train required many alterations, and she was very helpful in suggesting ways to improve the garment to accent my figure. Her work and eye to detail is superior in quality. She took the time to explain to my attendant and me how to easily bustle the train. With all the details about a large wedding that were on my mind, I never worried about my dress being completed correctly. I highly recommend Ruth for any of your bridal alternation needs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I found Ruth online and decided to go with her based on the reviews that I read of her. Everything good that is said is true!!!!! She was affordable, very nice, able to accommodate in a short time frame, and most importantly my dress looked AMAZING!!! I had purchased my dress online through Etsy and although it was a beautiful dress, it looked like a garbage bag, that is until Ruth did the alterations!!!! It looked perfect and I received MANY compliments on the dress and it was all thanks to Ruth! If you are looking for someone who knows what they are doing, she is the one for the job!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1299596673625-20091031
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
If you have the dress of your dreams and if you want to fit perfectly, use Ruth! I knew, from the moment David’s Bridal insisted on me getting a larger size, that I would be disappointed when I tried on my wedding gown. It was nothing less than a potato sack. I refused to trust David’s Bridal with the alterations; they have too many horror stories. I read review after review JUST to find the perfect seamstress. I found her; her name is Ruth, and she is in Downers Grove. From the moment I talked to her on the phone, I knew she was the one. She was calm, professional, and optimistic – and with good reason because she is good! I frantically explained how I was scared I would lose the style of the tiers on my dress from alterations. The smaller size that I had tried on in the store was 2” smaller and they insisted I go a size up and have it altered (of course they did – cha-ching!). I sent Ruth an email flooded with pictures. She emailed me back saying the alterations would be no problem. Looking back, after seeing her work, I feel silly. She is an FIT graduate, studied fashion and design, designed and created her own beautiful wedding gown, and is all around the most knowledgeable seamstress I have met. When making my appointment, she told me to come in much later than when those huge stores tell you to make your first appointment. This is because Ruth believes in as few alterations as possible. She told me that she simply did not understand why bridal stores push several alteration appointments; she believes that it should be done correctly the first time and any additional alterations should be any finer details if at all necessary. When I first went in, I had not lost all my weight; I had about five more pounds to lose. I wanted the dress to be as tight as she could make it. She had me all pinned in, and from the thickness of the fabric, it would not pin as tight as I had wanted it – she promised to take it in more. She confirmed with me, several times, that I would lose the weight. I promised her and insisted I wanted my dress tight. My next appointment was nine days before my wedding. I was positive I would have to make a second appointment because of how much weight I lost. To my surprise, I pulled the dress over my head and felt it hug my body as I pulled it down. Ruth came in to zipper me into my dress and it was perfect! She is a miracle worker, truly. I almost did not believe it – she somehow knew how the weight would come off! She told me she took in 3” and joked with me how it was against her better judgment, laughing at the thought of me trying to get in and out of a car. The thing is, she completely listened to exactly what I wanted and I did not have to make another appointment! I walked away with my dress after one alteration! She also took in my rehearsal dinner dress; it was absolutely perfect. During my alterations, she identified that the shoulder detail was not falling correctly. She made sure to tack it so the design was as intended. She sees every detail because she studied design! Miracle number two – my friend was with me and had her bridesmaid dress altered, too. After all the summer sports, she got a little larger around her chest area. Ruth then had to let it out and as we were trying to make an appointment for my friend to pick it up, we realized the next week we were just swamped with pre-wedding arrangements. Ruth looked at the clock and told us if we could wait around, she would do it right then! She sat down and took the dress out for my friend so it, too, fits perfectly! The difference between Ruth and a bridal store is that Ruth cares. Ruth wants you to feel beautiful and perfect. I would recommend Ruth to anyone, with any style dress and with any amount of details because she is the seamstress who can do the job. Remember, there is a reason some seamstresses and tailors do not do bridal... it is because there is a knowledge that is beyond basic. Ruth has that knowledge and follows through with perfection. After everything you have done to plan your wedding, you deserve your dress to be perfect. Do yourself a huge favor and diminish the stress of several alterations, and not getting treated perfectly. Ruth will make you feel like you are her one and only bride and no matter how many clients she has at the moment, you are always a priority!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
private residence near expressway 355 and Maple Ave. in Downers Grove, Downers Grove, IL 60515 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bridal Alterations by Ruth
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo