130x130_sq_1285344731663-img1123.jpgcroppedsquare

Brown's Catering

Renton , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Renton, WA US 98057 (map)

PHONE

425-251-5044

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Northwest's finest full-service gourmet catering company.

At Brown's Catering, we offer an All-Inclusive Service. That means when you pay for food, you also get: Chef... Read more
The Northwest's finest full-service gourmet catering company.

At Brown's Catering, we offer an All-Inclusive Service. That means when you pay for food, you also get: Chef Labor, Serving Staff Labor, Real China Plates (now 4 styles to choose from), Real Forks, Knives and Spoons, Water Glasses, Colored Linen Overlays, Colored Napkins, Table Linens, Silver or Gold Charger Plates, Set-up of the Event, and Clean-up of the Event, for no additional charge.

Please visit our website at www.BrownsCatering1972.com for more information about us and our all-inclusive service. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1268170231798-brownscateringappetizerbuffet
130x130_sq_1268170254548-brownscateringsalmon
130x130_sq_1268170225563-brownscateringchxsalad
130x130_sq_1268170239376-brownscateringpork
130x130_sq_1268170251141-brownscateringlamb
130x130_sq_1268170243173-brownscateringcheesemeat
130x130_sq_1285344983289-img0634
130x130_sq_1285345242493-img0680

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, French, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
We have monthly open houses where everyone is invited to taste our food, meet with Chef Anthony and tour the facilities.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
While we do provide dessert options on our menu as well as sheet cakes, we do not provide tiered wedding cake.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Yes, outside alcohol is allowed and there is no corkage fee. We do offer different bar services for you to choose from.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We provide an all-inclusive service, which means that all of the linens, dishes and serving staff is included in the price of food.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
We provide a wait staff as part of our all-inclusive service.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
5000

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.4/5.0
We felt that Brown's Catering was a great value for the money. They provided more than enough food for our event and they made our party spectacular. The complementary butler service they provide is the best! I never had a to lift a finger all night.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicki S
Wedding:
7/23/2011
2.4/5.0
Huge disappointment catering my daughter's July wedding. Inexperienced and unprofessional servers were probably the reason for most of the problems. As it turned out, Browns had at least 3 other events going that same day, and I believe we just had the "leftovers" in terms of crew. My husband and I had to keep running back to tell them that the food platters were empty! Also the buffet itself and food presentations were NOT what was promised - white, flat tables with boring platters lined up down the middle. Huh? The "butler service" was a joke and the free "brunch" for the wedding party was actually embarrassing, it was so pathetic. I must say the Lead person was very nice, and I'm sure did the best she could with what she was given.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1251620749904-howarthclose
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.3/5.0
Brown's did an excellent job making wedding day run smoothly. We did not have to think about them at all and the food was top notch. I can tell they used premium ingredients. They packed my husband and I a nice variety of left over food to take with us, and the rest of the food was handily packaged in Styrofoam for my family to take. The tip was included in their fee and no one set out a tip jar during the reception, which was nice. They have a new policy to provide every bride/groom with a personal butler, which I was afraid would be awkward. What would I do with a butler? But Lucas was great. He was earnest about his job, didn't hover, and quickly did anything we asked to help out. He even ran out to get extra ice while the catering van was suck in the mud in the back of the venue. The van was stuck for a solid half our and it took at least 6 of the staff to get it out. But no one bothered me about it! It was great, they solved the problem and carried on without any drama.

Word of advice: When you are negotiating your contract, commit to fewer dishes than you might need, and round down on your guest count. Once you sign a contract, you can not decrease the guest count or subtract dishes. You can later change dishes or add dishes, but not take any away.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
siscily
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Brown's catering was the best deal for us. They had linens, silverware, glasses, certified bartenders, servers, buffet options, all the catering supplies, set up, cake service, and clean up. When we met with the Chef during an open house the initial proposal was higher than our budget. But Chef was EASY to work with and we were able to sign up for the prime rib dinner, appetizers, crisp pear salad, pot sticker and breads and spreads that FIT our budget! We are still getting compliments on the dinner served and the service given. One of the servers came up to me nicely and warned me (later in the evening bare foot on the dance floor) to be careful of some broken glass. We were so taken care of-we didn't worry about a thing the day of the wedding. At the end of the night they even had food out for guest to snack on late into the evening and a to-go box for the bride and groom to snack on later! They thought of everything. [if you read between the lines on the lower graded ratings...the bridezillas are NOT realistic you cannot feed 250-300 people for $3000 that's $10/per person for dinner for appetizers, dinner, glassware, silverware, dishes, set up, clean up, & tax...that's IMPOSSIBLE!!] If your realistic about your needs-Chef Brown will not only make your menu fit-his team can create the perfect level of service for your event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
whiterabbit422
Wedding:
10/1/2010
4.7/5.0
All-inclusive service is right - they were fabulous. Working with Julie in all the pre-wedding planning was a pleasure and the staff that actually worked our wedding was incredible. Everyone enjoyed the food as it was fresh and delicious (we were worried that the food would seem "old" considering Brown's location and our venue being so far apart, but there was no problem). Even though we chose to have our food served buffet-style there were people coming thru taking plates and keeping everything clean and neat the whole time. I would definitely recommend Brown's!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wazzugirl52
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Brown's Catering was WONDERFUL! They made expectional food and provided top notch service!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarack
Wedding:
7/31/2010
2.0/5.0
When first meeting with this company, you really get the idea that this is the best bargin for your buck. They do business a little differently and for those of us who have never got married, can be easily swindled by this. They didn't tell us there was a minimum until after we put our deposit down and they said we could do one thing and then changed their minds later. Their contract is pretty specific and things still went wrong on our wedding day which was really unfortunate. They gave us colored layovers that we didn't ask for (not the biggest deal), they didn't have the vegetarian option they promised for my vegetarian guests, they gave our guests cans of beer when I specifically told them to put them in glasses. These things were really very small issues. On the flip side, they showed up, the food, although limited variety, was good, and they cleaned up nicely. Most of the problem I had was with after we booked and the contact person changed and things were getting all messed up... Ultimately, you can find better quality/more variety at a lower price than here. Also remember that a lot of your venues will supply tables, chairs, linens, silverware, plates, cups, and other things you need... so getting an all inclusive caterer isn't that important!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
THowarth
Wedding:
7/23/2010
4.3/5.0
Brown's Catering catered my dinner buffet at my wedding. The food was pretty good. We had chicken, potatoes, and mixed vegatables. There was lots of left over food which we got to take home:)

Julie was quite attentive to my husband and I and she always made sure we had drinks in our hands. This was very helpful because we were too busy to get our own. Also, at the end of the night she had packaged two dinners and put a bottle of our champagne in the limo. it was nice to be able to have a midnight snack once we were back at the hotel.

The linens were set up beautifully and there was a lot of wait staff. We also recieved a free appitizer because our friends booked with Brown's and said we refered them. It was very good!

Brown's Catering cleaned up after my event and did a great job serving at our wedding!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1266480064822-honeyfundcrop
Amanda
Wedding:
7/18/2010
4.8/5.0
Browns Carering was great! The food was delicious, all of my guests said they loved the food. Browns worked with us on making sure our menu was perfect allowing us to tweek the salads and the appetizers to suit our tastes.
I had a guest who has severe food allergies and Browns allowed me to make her food myself and then they heated and plated it for her so that she was able to eat dinner with everyone else. They even took care to make sure that there was no cross contamination in any way shape or form possible.
My only issue is that children 2 and up are counted as person. Toddlers don't even consume half of what an adult does. I think when it comes to children every 2 children between the ages of 2-5 should count as 1 person in the head count. I also think headcount should be adjustable up until the date food is purchased for the event. Which from my understanding was as much as 10 days prior. I would have saved just over $1000 if I could have adjusted my headcount.

If given the choice to choose caterers all over again, I would still go with Browns. The food was great, ther service was amazing, and even though I had more food than guests in the end. The left overs were distributed within the family and enjoyed as left overs!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cynetha
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely fantastic. The food was delicious. The staff was courteous and they took care of EVERYTHING!!!! I would literally recommend this company to anyone and everyone I knew was getting married!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anna
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
we have about 200+ people to feed and browns did great on feeding them, and everyone said that the food was great, and i thought it was too, and the price is amazing for feeding 200+ people!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1277330375047-couplerain
Jody
Wedding:
6/5/2010
2.9/5.0
I am hesitant to give a completely bad feedback score. Service and staff was pretty good, but the food was so horrible, I was completely embarrassed. They showed up on time, served what I ordered and there was enough, it was just cold, completely dried out, I overheard guests say it was the worst food they have ever had, and my coordinator was running around microwaving people's plates that kept asking. I REALLY regret going with them to save $400, definitely not worth it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emmalee228
Wedding:
4/9/2010
4.2/5.0
We had a 175 person 3 entree buffet. The Service was incredible, they had our venue set up in no time, and the food was really really good! We have had so many compliments on our food. I was so impressed the day of our wedding to see such a large professional looking staff to feed our guests. There was no shortage of food, people got to take home left overs! My only concern working with Brown's catering is that throughout the planning process, there seemed to be a lot of confusion in their office, which resulted in frequent phone calls between me and the office staff. All and all, they did a fabulous job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tristina
Wedding:
8/23/2009
5.0/5.0
We were extremely pleased with the service and food that Brown's Catering provided for our wedding. Like others, we were very drawn to Brown's because of their all-inclusive services. Chef Anthony Brown was very accommodating and flexible with our menu and was available for questions if we had any along the way. I would definitely recommend that future brides attend their open house for a tasting. Our guests PILED their plates with Brown's yummy mashed potatoes and gravy - Many were going back for more throughout the event.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1230938419500-img_0015editedsmall
aanda820
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
We would recommend Brown's to anyone. They did an amazing job! The food was great, the workers were professional, and we were greatly impressed on how flexible they were throughout the planning process. We originally chose Brown's catering because they supply everything that has to do with your meal (plates, silverware, bar service, and more), and we do not regret paying a little extra to have stress-free planning and wedding day! Great job Brown's!!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1253600854779-673461601510889327200900368275111269873n
Jillian
Wedding:
8/1/2009
1.4/5.0
We had 300 guests and were on a budget so therefor we had to go with the caterer with the best quote. Unfortunately we were wowed by Brown's all inclusive cost. We booked them before tasting their food which was our mistake. I took my parents to the tasting and we were not pleased with the food we had chosen. Jaylene was very helpful and let us change our menu around so that we were happy with it, they even made something for us that wasn't on the menu so I will give them props for that. Working with Jaylene (she was our office contact but does not work at the events) before the wedding went great but...

The day of the event numerous things went wrong.

1. They put part of our dinner meal out as an appetizer (even though we already had 3 appetizers out) so when dinner was put out it looked like we didn't have very many options at all and our plates were looking pretty sad.

2. We had ordered 10 vegetarian meals because we have lots of vegetarians in our family. Jaylene told me to tell the vegetarians to ask the servers when they got to the buffet for a vegetarian meal. My sister went and asked the server and they said they didn't have any vegetarian meals and that none were ordered (the 10 vegetarian meals were on the menu Jaylene sent me a few days before the wedding, July 27th to be exact). They were able to give her a plate of vegetarian food but it was all appetizers that she had already had at cocktail hour.

3. There was no water at the tables, apparently this was something I needed to request beforehand but every time I went to their open houses they had their tables set with water at them. Instead of the waiters getting the head table water the DJ did it... (see my DJ review, Michael Fort was the best!).

4. Instead of having a regular cake we had a cheesecake bar where people could choose what toppings they wanted. Apparently this wasn't told to the staff because they started putting it on top of the cheesecakes instead of letting guests go through and choose their toppings, thankfully our DOC stopped them. Also they ordered the gross liquid fruit stuff instead of real fruit for the toppings. Even the lead staff person thought this was weird so she came up to my day of coordinator (one of my favorite vendors, Tiffany Kirkpatrick!) and asked her if she should even put the fruit toppings out.

5. I asked Jaylene beforehand if her staff would be able to move the tables off of the dance floor at an assigned time and she said that would not be a problem. But when it was time for our first dance the DJ had to get on the microphone and ask the servers to come and remove the tables. It was awkward because this was supposed to be going on while we were cutting our cake so that we wouldn't have to just stand there and watch them remove the tables. Instead of taking them down they just moved them off to the side of the dance floor and just left them there so that people had to weave in and out of these jammed up tables to get to the dance floor. They finally removed them after my dad got annoyed and asked them to take them down.



Overall I think the main problem was that the office staff and day of staff did not communicate well. I was very happy with Jaylene and the planning process, but I called a few weeks after the wedding to find out why these things went wrong and she said she would get to the bottom of it and call me back and I still have not heard from her (its been a month).

If you look at my other reviews you will see that I was happy with every other vendor and that I am not just a picky bride. I am very detail oriented so I confirmed and reconfirmed details with Jaylene before the wedding which is why it is so upsetting when things like this go wrong. The day of the event these things really didn't bother me because I was on cloud 9 but the fact that my issues were never addressed is what really made me mad which is why I am writing this bad review. Don't get sucked in by their all inclusive cost!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mr and Mrs F.
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
WE loved Brown's Catering! Chef Anthony was great as was his staff. The concept of an all-inclusive catering plan took a lot of the stress out of planning the reception for our wedding. Not only was the food fantastic, the service was impeccable! They are a very professional and knowledgeable group of people. I would definitely have Brown's Catering for our next big event. :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swaffette
Wedding:
10/4/2008
2.2/5.0
I was impressed with Anthony each time I met with him, but I did have some concerns about the food even at the tasting. I went with Brown's because the price was great for what they promised. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for (or less). Like another reviewer said, Anthony never wrote anything down during our meetings. I'd asked him to prepare the roast beef with just rosemary for our tasting since everything else (salmon and 2 vegetable dishes) seemed to have the same seasoning - heavy garlic. He did and it was much better that way. BUT, at the wedding, not only was the roast beef WAY overdone, it was seasoned with the heavy garlic. Also the salmon was WAY overdone and the vegetables were rock hard. The dinner looked and tasted like school lunch. It was by far the most dissapointing part of my wedding. The serving tables were not set up the way we'd discussed.

At one point prior to our wedding, the event coordinator we had been working with quit. When I called and emailed I just got no response. Finally I got through to Anthony and found out there was a new coordinator working there and they'd never bothered to contact me.

Lastly, although I was told that they only do one event each day, I found out through theknot.com that another couple on the Seattle board was using Brown's and that their wedding the same day! I called Brown's to confirm that they only do one per day, which they confirmed so I asked them to check my date. After putting me on hold for a long time they came back and said my date was a rare exception and yes they were doing two weddings!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanne
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.2/5.0
Everything is included for the price you see. They were very flexible with us... we changed the menu at the last minute and they were able to work with us. We also had a relative with serious allergies that they were able to fix a special plate for. They also cleaned up after the event, so we didn't have to worry about anything.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happybride
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Anthony and his staff were simply amazing! My wedding had ~150 people and they took care of all the details. They don't scrimp on quality-- they use only real linens, china and glassware, no paper or plastic! They were conscientious and attentive. Anthony created a menu just for us and was sensitive to our cultural requests-- most of the items served weren't on his menu. And all the food was sooo good! The catering service made everything go so smoothly that night that I completely unaware of any crisis that arose. They really mean it when they say they want to "exceed your expectations." Anthony has so much experience and is so professional! I'll pick him over and over again to do any of my events.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
8/19/2007
5.0/5.0
Browns catering did a wonderful job catering my event. Chef Anthony kept to my time line, the staff was professional and the food was very tasty. I have nothing negative to say about this company. At least take the time to meet with the chef for a consultation to see for yourself =)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caysie
Wedding:
7/7/2007
2.6/5.0
I met the caterer through my mom. I really like he is the chef and does a fantastic job but the bussines side I wasn't happy with. Throughout the wedding process we had many conversations about how we wanted the wedding to go and he did a great talk but didn't write anything down. The food was excellent and a great price but there were alot of things that went wrong. I ordered water and soda glasses but also bought bottle water just in case and they would give guests the drink in the bottle or can but not in the glasses. The waiters did not bring around drinks throughout the night. They put out a tip jar when I had already spent alot on tips and was just very unprofessional.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
Renton, WA 98057 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Brown's Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1285344731663-img1123.jpgcroppedsquare