130x130_sq_1379800164158-dan-and-eliz-water-fountain-2

Butternut Farm Golf Club

Stow , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

115 Wheeler Road
Stow, MA US 01775 (map)

PHONE

978-897-3400

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Perfect Place - The Heritage Room at Butternut Farm Golf Club
Your wedding day is the time to celebrate the two of you - the perfect couple. No matter the weather, it will... Read more
The Perfect Place - The Heritage Room at Butternut Farm Golf Club
Your wedding day is the time to celebrate the two of you - the perfect couple. No matter the weather, it will truly be your perfect day. Now you can have The Perfect Place.


Resting in the scenic woodlands of historic Stow, Massachusetts, Butternut Farm Golf Club is an outstanding venue to host refined, elegant weddings. As you embark on one of the most memorable experiences of your life, we are honored that you are considering Butternut Farm. We feature:

• Vaulted-Ceiling Ballroom with Center Fireplace
• Octagonal Cocktail Lounge
• Seating Accommodations for 220 Guests
• Hosting One Event per Day
• On-site Professional Coordinator
• Scenic Landscape
• 18-Hole Golf Course

Our elegant rooms are professionally serviced from our full kitchen and a dedicated, full-service bar. Your discriminating taste is well attended by our wedding packages and menus, which are meticulously created by our experienced Chef.

Your host, the Page Family, will skillfully guide you through the joyful planning of your reception. Embracing celebrated traditions, Butternut Farm Golf Club is dedicated to providing peace of mind, confidence in quality, and
comfort in making the planning easy.
________________________________________________________

The Heritage Room at Butternut Farm Golf Club.



The Heritage Room at Butternut Farm Golf Club is graced in Victorian décor. Scenic views will surround you — and up to 220 of your guests — as the west-facing Heritage Room overlooks our picturesque golf course and Wheeler Pond. Walls of windows frame a marbled fireplace while French doors open to a private terrace. Octagonal in shape, the glass-encased cocktail lounge provides three hundred and sixty degrees of charming scenery.

These elegant rooms are professionally serviced from our full kitchen and a dedicated, full-service bar.
________________________________________________________

Our wedding packages include...
• Assistance from Our On-Site Function Coordinator
• Hosting Only One Event Per Day
• Champagne or White Wine Toast for all of your Guests
• Wooded, Scenic Country Settings with beautiful Wheeler Pond for Memorable Photography
• Exclusive Use of Our Exquisite Ballroom, Elegant Octagonal Cocktail Lounge and Terrace
• Floor Length Table Linens with a Vast Selection of Colored Napkins
• Framed Table Numbers
• Black Tie Professional Service Staff
• Professional Bartenders
• Complimentary Bridal Room
• Slicing of Your Wedding Cake
• Complimentary Annual Wedding Tasting for Two
• Ficus Trees Decorated with White Lights
• Gold Ballroom Chairs with Ivory Chair Pads
• Round of Golf for Four with Carts

Call Hope Page at (978) 897-3400 ext. 65 or email hope@butternutfarm.com for more information today! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1368468084637-butternut-octagonal-room-for-print-ad
130x130_sq_1368467954854-flowers-and-ceremony-table-stephen-and-teri
130x130_sq_1368468019037-teri-and-stephen-octagonal-room-ceremony-jpeg
130x130_sq_1240339684421-cacjud6l
130x130_sq_1240339542812-danandelizwaterfountain
130x130_sq_1368468240989-golf-cart-kelseys-wedding
130x130_sq_1368468347148-jackie-and-phil-july-3rd-water-fountain
130x130_sq_1400765693074-octagonal-room
130x130_sq_1368468111715-centerpiece-august-5-2011
130x130_sq_1368468274195-crostini
130x130_sq_1368468486055-stationary-hors-doeuvre-meditarian-display
130x130_sq_1240339417812-bar1
130x130_sq_1368468170938-heritageinterior1
130x130_sq_1368468415628-may-19-2012---reception
130x130_sq_1368468307815-jackie-and-phil-july-3-2011
130x130_sq_1400765415532-067
130x130_sq_1400765446496-dress-at-covered-bridg
130x130_sq_1400765460276-inside-ceremony-aisl
130x130_sq_1400765728836-pre-ceremony-drink-in-grill
130x130_sq_1400765546393-ceremony-up-clos
130x130_sq_1400765983892-jon-and-katie-2009-ballroo
130x130_sq_1400766441744-fireplace-and-ceiling
130x130_sq_1400766403862-img449
130x130_sq_1400765781330-first-danc
130x130_sq_1400766090140-heritage-ceiling-201
130x130_sq_1400766573580-img468
130x130_sq_1400765588727-dsc822
130x130_sq_1400765655745-jennifer-and-mike-golf-course-july-201
130x130_sq_1400765754340-perg-with-fountai
130x130_sq_1400765764737-ceremony-looking-back-to-clubhous
130x130_sq_1400765848407-outside-ceremon
130x130_sq_1400765878277-bride-coming-down-aisl
130x130_sq_1400766318956-water-fall-foliag
130x130_sq_1400766195312-kiss-at-covered-bridg
130x130_sq_1400766154134-jenn-and-mat
130x130_sq_1400765473628-light-at-nigh
130x130_sq_1400765930467-alex--lynd

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2005
When was your venue last renovated?
2005
Describe your venue:
Country / Golf Club
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Glamorous
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
220
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
70
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
80
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ava
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
What an incredible night; a night I will never forget. I am so grateful for all Hope and Erin's hard work and support though the whole wedding process but especially for July 12. They were amazing and so on point every second of every minute. Everyone said they had so much fun and loved the venue. It was more than what I expected. It wouldn't have been the same without them, and I truly mean that. I don't have words to express how appreciative I am for Erin on my wedding night. She was so amazing to work with and so receptive to my worries, my excitement, and all my other emotions. It was her who helped me relax and reassured that everything is all set. That job was made for her; she is so good in that role...only a special person can have that job and she does it so well. I'm sad it is over because I won't get to talk to her anymore. We still have our golf passes, so I will just have to stop in and say hello! Thank you so much Erin!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gay-Ann
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
My daughter Denise and her husband Michael had their wedding reception at Butternut on May 10, 2014. I can't say enough wonderful things about the beauty of the venue and the dedication and thoughtfulness of the staff who made this special occasion wonderful. From the planning to execution, everything was well prepared and fully discussed with the bride ahead of time to ensure that all of their wishes were fulfilled. During the event, the staff was wonderful both to the wedding party and the guests. Butternut has my highest recommendation and most appreciate thanks for making my daughter's day as beautiful and memorable as she wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We really couldn't have asked for anything better. Hope and Erin were perfect
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We worked with Erin for our wedding, and she set up the perfect event. I thought I would be setting up most of the decorations myself, but she assured me she could take care of everything. When I came back the next day, it was as if I had done it myself. Erin transformed the boxes of flowers, candy, and decorations into the wedding day of our dreams. The entire event went seamlessly due to her hard work coordinating everything the day of. I didn't need to worry about a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
From day one when we met with Hope at Butternut Farm we fell in love. The venue was perfect, from the high ceilings, big dance floor, and AMAZING bar and octagonal room it had so much character and potential for our personal touches. We had visited a few other venues for our reception, but none lived up to Butternut. Hope and Erin were in touch with us about everything right down until the day before our wedding and the entire evening was timed out just perfectly. The food was amazing and all our friends and family were beyond impressed with the cocktail hour (especially the bacon wrapped in chicken)and their meals. The time line was worked out to a tee and that just goes to show that the staff at Butternut is truly professionals and know what they are doing. The staff was unbelievable, everyone was happy and accommodating and it was obvious they were all happy to be there. Not one thing about our wedding would we change. If your looking for a country, classy, intimate setting for your wedding Butternut Farm is it! Thank you to everyone at Butternut we had an amazing day :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had an absolutely amazing wedding at Butternut Farm Golf Club (BFGC) on 10/13/13. I can't say enough about this beautiful venue and family run business.

Of course the venue is the most important thing when planning your wedding. I had been researching venues over the first 1.5 years of our engagement and it wasn't until right before planning to go out and physically visit venues that I came across BFGC. I set up an appt to go see the venue. My fiancé at the time couldn't attend, I didn't think much of it because I honestly thought "oh it's the first place it's not like this will be 'the one' anyways!" Boy, was I wrong. My mother and I were greeted by Hope and instantly I had a good feeling about BFGC. Hope was so friendly, professional, warm, and knowledgable. Long story short- we loved it. The next day we went to other venues and nothing compared to the way we felt at BFGC. I brought my fiancé back and he was totally feeling the same way!

The team at butternut farm (Hope & Erin specifically) were amazing. You feel as if they care so much about how special your day is, and that's because I believe they really do care.

Our wedding day was perfect. Erin did an amazing job making my vision come to life! The food was delicious, our vendors were happy and impressed with Erin's assistance in making sure our night went well, and we literally couldn't have dreamed of anything better.
Of course-being my wedding- no other could ever top it... However it's truly unbelievable how many friends and family have told us again and again that our wedding was one of the best they have ever been to!

I can't say enough about all the amazing staff and the wonderful Page family who own and operate this beautifully maintained facility. Looking for a venue? Check this place out.... Now!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Absolutely the best! butternut hosted my daughter's dream wedding. Gorgeous grounds, top notch staff food was suburb. Perfect 5 out of 5 stars. We left without 1 single complaint. From the planning stage a year ago until the reception was over, we were treated as if we were members of Butternut, ( we are not) by every single waitress, bartender and complete staff. One of the best things was how accessible Erin and Hope were. Every single call was promptly returned. Seriously, don't go anywhere else!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Everything was PERFECT. The whole day from start to finish. Hope was a dream to work with from the day we met her. Very responsive, detailed and willing to work with us. Erin, our coordinator, was fantastic - you could clearly see she was on top of every detail. The staff was so great, very professional - our server was fantastic, very sweet, professional, and gave us just the right amount of attention (she did a great job of reminding me to eat :) Our bridal party was so happy to have their own cocktail hour, it really does make such a huge difference. All our guest told us how much they loved the food and the whole venue. I didn't notice one single thing out of place or not how I wanted it. Erin and the staff did a great job setting everything up. The entire staff was there to make sure our day was just how we wanted - and it was!

We also had a chance to golf on Friday morning before the wedding - the staff were so pleasant and nice to us, the starter and the pro even let us play the back 9 by ourselves so we could have a few hours of quiet time together before the weekend got hectic. It was a very special time for us to have before the hectic weekend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Here are some of the comments that I provided to Hope Page, Director of Sales/Wedding & Events at Butternut Farm Golf Club, after our daughter's wedding reception (the ceremony was at a church):

Our friends and family have not stopped talking about the wedding and how wonderful it was. We feel exactly the same way!

We firmly believe that one of the reasons that the wedding was so spectacular is directly related to the Butternut Farm Golf Club facility, staff and top notch service. The entire reception venue is so warm and welcoming. Our guests enjoyed the cocktail area, outside porch -especially on a gorgeous fall day - and the main ballroom was just beautiful.

The service was impeccable. We had so many comments from our guests regarding the attention to detail that your staff provided to all of our guests. They were very impressed. The meal service was flawless and the signature butternut ravioli was delicious. The main course was enjoyed by all and numerous guests commented on the wonderful tenderness and flavor of the beef tenderloin. The Chef is to be commended for his expertise.

I cannot say enough about Erin Page, the on-site function coordinator, who oversaw the event that day. We were thrilled with her oversight and management throughout the planning period and during the event. I did not need to do a thing - Erin anticipated our needs and took care of everything - including finding safety pins to help me fix Jen's dress when the bustle failed while dancing. Erin kept me up to date when needed and handled everything else. It was truly a great evening for me as I could focus on the party and not on oversight. My husband and I appreciated that. I heard similar things from many of our guests regarding your wait-staff and how pleasant/attentive they were.

Thank you for all you did to make our daughter and son-in-law's wedding day such a happy, memorable occasion that we will remember fondly for a lifetime!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our wedding here on 8/31/13. I couldn't be happier with how the day went. Hope and Erin are amazing to work with. They made the planning process much easier then ever thought it would be. They had some great recommendations and ideas! The whole day went smoothly, and anytime we needed anything the staff were right there and so pleasant! They were so helpful wight the whole process. They recommended some amazing vendors to work with.

We had our ceremony right on site and it was gorgeous! The beautiful grounds made for some amazing pictures! My favorite part is the covered bridge and the carriage full of flowers by the front entrance! We were instantly greeted by the staff after the ceremony with a cocktail in hand! We took some pictures by the pond prior to joining the our party at cocktail hour.

The heritage room was absolutely gorgeous! They set everything up and placed my few extra pieces perfectly around the room. Everyone said how great the food was also. I particularly loved the butternut squash raviolis!

Overall, I can't say enough great things about butternut farm. From the planning to the actual day it was the perfect place to have our wedding! Everyone had a fantastic time!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcia
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful wedding at Butternut. It was a gorgeous sunny day with an outdoor ceremony on the grass. We were instantly greeted after the ceremony with our own waitress offering food and drinks. It was incredible. The room looked beautiful and was set up absolutely perfectly! Couldn't have asked for a better location for our wedding!!

Everyone was raving about the Butternut Squash ravioli - really to die for! The cocktail hour and reception food was great too, though not the hugest selection; but nonetheless good!
They even allowed me to improvise on an appetizer I wanted to do.

The staff was very attentive and professional. The wedding went absolutely perfectly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynda Lee
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I just had our wedding at Butternut Farm and everything was perfect, our special day was everything and more than we had hoped for. We started the planning process with Hope and then Erin took over as our event coordinator, they were both a pleasure to work with and made the whole process very easy. There were a few last minute issues a few days before the wedding, and Erin was very accommodating and helped work everything out.
The Heritage Room and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We had such a wonderful time and received so many compliments from our friends and family!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I recently got married and our reception was at Butternut Farms. I can not begin to tell you how amazing everyone at this facilty was. Hope and Erin are fantastic to work with. They are will you ever step of the way. Not only were they helpful but they made it the planning process a breeze! They responded to each of my million questions very promptly and were both willing to work with any requests that I had. The venue itself is beautiful and we got some amazing pictures. Our guests raved about the food and service. I am so happy that my husband and I chose Butternut Farms and would recommend it to anyone that asks!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Butternut Farm made our dream wedding a reality. I was dead set on getting married on an actual farm and that's how we stumbled across Butternut. It's not a farm but it has the feel we were looking for with a classic element that we never would have found anywhere else. The wrap around porch, rolling greens, and family oriented staff made us feel at home instantly.

Hope started the process with us and was very sweet and professional throughout. Closer to the wedding, Amy took over and was just a fabulous. Amy made sure everything was perfect.

Our guests raved about the food and the service. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous and made the perfect backdrop for all of our ceremony and reception photos. We couldn't have asked for anything more!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
10/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Our daughter and son-in-law were married on Friday, October 26, 2012. Our daughter worked with Hope for over a year on the plans, venue, menu, special touches and decor for the reception. Absolutely every detail was meticulously planned and delivered, every server professional and caring and Hope and Amy went up and beyond by keeping in touch often, and ensuring that all of the Bride's requests were met. Hope and Amy's professionalism were greatly appreciated, as they navigated every road and corner, effortlessly! The Heritage Room is simply beautiful and it's openness lends itself to any decor, theme or design. The staff catered to each and every one of our guests, which was extra special to us as our guests ranged from young children to great grandparents. My husband and I felt truly honored to have received such special care. The staff catered to the wedding party with endless appetizers, while we were taking pictures. Hope and her staff also checked in with us as we 'bustled' the bride's wedding dress in the changing room. We were able to enjoy every moment with our guests throughout the evening. The staff were attentive without 'hovering'. The food was delicious and plentiful and the menu packages were very, very generous. We had a difficult time choosing our menu, as all of the meals at the tasting were delicious. All of our guests had a wonderful time and we feel very proud to have hosted such a loving and fun reception for our daughter and son-in-law. We could not have done so without the exceptional professionalism of Hope and her attentive and caring staff. I will recommend Butternut Farm to as many people as I can.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I want to thank the whole staff at Butternut Farm Golf club for making our wedding flawless! The staff was extremely helpful and professional. As a bride they made me feel like I was truly important to them. Every e-mail and phone call I made was answered in a timely manner. They were there for my husband and I throughout the entire planning process. Our reception was amazing due to the professionalism and hard work of the entire staff. The food was absolutely amazing and our guests still talk about the wonderful meals they enjoyed even months after our wedding. The reception site was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. It was a great experience working with Butternut Farm and we will always remember the unforgettable memories that we made at this wonderful venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful reception venue!!! Planning was easy, Hope and Erin were fabulous to work with. They listened and made sure that all my requests were met. During the reception I did not want for a thing. Erin had one of the staff members assigned to just myself and my husband and she made sure that we have everything we wanted and that we ate our meal. The food was great! At my wedding I ate Italian wedding soup and filet mignon and it was delicious! I got lots of comments on the food and on how beautiful Butternut is. The octagonal room is such a perfect place to have the stationed food and wedding cake. The service was great and everyone had a wonderful time. Beautiful venue for a wonderful celebration!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jim
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Had my daughter’s wedding reception a Butternut and it couldn’t have turned out any better than it did. We had Erin as our planner and I can’t say enough about how professional she was, the staff catered to each and every one of our guests, the food was delicious and plentiful. I even received thank you letters from some of my family about what a GREAT time they had and how beautiful the room was and how amazing the food was.

If you are looking for place that you just have to show up and not worry about anything THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1346178586996-viacass3371
Teri
Wedding:
9/28/2012
5.0/5.0
From the very first meeting with Hope to the details meeting with Erin our event planner, we were both very pleased with their professionalism. They were always quick to respond to any question via email or phone call. When we took a tour of the facility we were amazed at how well they could accommodate both the ceremony and reception all in one location whether we wanted the ceremony inside or outside with backup plans for any inclement weather. Our first meeting to review the schedule was practically effortless due to the excellent guidance of Erin. This included scheduling our tasting, the rehearsal and the actual ceremony and reception. The food was delicious and the serving staff very attentive. They were very gracious and accommodating regarding the special needs of some of our guests. The menu was able to accommodate our vegetarian and gluten free friends and family. The grounds were beautiful. Getting married on September 28 afforded us the luxury of beautiful outdoor photos with amazing foliage in the background, unfortunately it rained on our wedding day. Butternut did such an amazing job with our whole event that we didn't even notice the rain. I took a chance and emailed Erin 2 weeks after the wedding and asked if we could come by some morning and take some photos around the course and they graciously agreed. So not only did we get beautiful wedding day photos, I was able to go back and have my lovely outdoor photos. This to me was amazing. They really go the extra mile to make sure their couples are happy. Erin was very helpful in allowing and planning with me some extra little surprises for my husband to be. We can't say enough good things about the whole facility and the amazing staff. Between the people, the chef and the facility our wedding day was perfect. Our guests are still talking about it. They helped create memories that will be cherished forever. Thank you to everyone at Butternut Farm Golf Club.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ines M
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a BLAST at our wedding. The staff was AMAZING. Hope was so helpful in the initial stages, Erin was awesome as our even coordinator that day. My groom and I basically showed up and Erin helped keep the day moving along while we danced the night away. The food was DELICIOUS. I'm still getting rave reviews on the Prime Rib in particular and the appetizers were to die for. If you're looking for a gorgeous venue, that serves amazing food, beautiful grounds to take pictures, and amazing super nice staff from the kitchen, to the bar, to the planners to EVERYONE this is the venue to go with. My wedding was the best day of my life and I'm soooooo happy we picked Butternut to have the reception!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1326420635637-fave1
jmcdon18
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Butternut Farm was absolutely wonderful to work with and Amy (our coordinator) was beyond AMAZING! I probably do not even know all the things she did to make the day go so smoothly, but I think that is a testament to how well she did them. She knew exactly what we needed at all times and took care of me and every single guest without hesitation. Our wedding day had a freak snow storm in October and really could have put a damper on the day but no one seemed to care or notice because of all the thoughtfulness and care that went into the whole day. Pictures came out amazing due to her suggestions as well as her coming through with umbrellas. One of my flower girls had gotten sick on the shuttle and within a second Amy had found her dry crackers and gingerale to make her feel better.
Everyone was raving about the whole wedding; how beautiful and inviting the setting was, how delicious the food was, how friendly the whole staff was, and how amazing Amy was! There is not a thing I would have changed about my wedding, and Butternur Farm was the reason for it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1317598221187-232323232fp3nu337579wsnrcg349732575338nu0mrj
CathyDonahue
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Hope and Amy were absolutely amazing. We could not have imagined such a wonderful experience. We received so much positive feedback from all of our guests about how wonderful the staff and location were. We had a beautiful ceremony on the first tee and an excellent party in the Heritage Room. Hope and Amy corresponded with our vendors before and on the wedding day, which made it a seemless experience for us and our guests. We felt like royalty on our wedding day and Butternut made it great! We recommend this venue to anyone considering getting married in MA. It is a beautiful location and the pictures were amazing because of such a lovely setting. We wish we could do it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
After seeing quite a few places in the area, we decided to go with Butternut for both our wedding ceremony and reception because both the grounds and the interior are simply beautiful. It provided a gorgeous backdrop for our short & sweet outdoor ceremony, complemented with an elegant indoor setting to continue the celebration into the night.

Amy and Hope were also great to work with. Since Hope is more of a sales manager, she was quick to answer any initial questions we had. About 4 months out from the wedding date our primary contact at Butternut switched to Amy. Amy answered more of the detailing questions we had about the structure of the day and also helped when we requested to have a crepe station for dessert. She was also able to work with us about what was stocked in the bar.

Everything there is delicious - from the passed hor dourves, stationary appetizers and the main course choices... you can't go wrong with any of it! I was very excited when we were able to work out the dessert option we wanted with their chef. The crepes were amazing - although in retrospect I would have had a either a sign where it was set up or the DJ make an announcement when they started making them.

All in all, it was a great experience and we have nothing but beautiful memories from that weekend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pwcard
Wedding:
5/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Butternut was amazing in every aspect of our big day. Amy & Hope helped us plan things out, and make sure all our items were taken care of. The food was incredible, the service from both the waiters/bartenders was fantastic as well. Overall the entire staff did a great job, and we would recommend them to any/all friends considering a venue for a wedding/function.

-Peter & Courtney Card
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linea
Wedding:
5/23/2010
5.0/5.0
We found Butternut Farm quite by accident driving by one day, and if anything was "meant to be" (beside my husband!!) Butternut was "it". We had a chance meeting with the Chef and he had no idea we were prospective clients. You could tell by his enthusiasm and his descriptions of the food that he loved what he did, and since food and entertainment were our 2 top priorities, we had to have a meeting with the Butternut staff. Upon arriving home that day, I called Hope, and she returned my call within an hour. Two contacts and two very positive responses...this was a good thing!!

From start to finish Butternut made our day fantastic. I remember reading rave reviews about the Butternut raviolis, and they did NOT disappoint (even the pickiest of eaters at our wedding loved them!!). All of the food from appetizers to entrees was delicious, and just one girl's opinion, the baked stuffed shrimp and sirloin were to die for!!

The value we received for what we paid was outstanding. A gorgeous location (some people are actually doing their Christmas cards this year with photos they took that day), tremendous food and top notch service--we were thrilled with our day and how everything went.

Last but not least, Amy, Richard, Hope, Paul, and the entire Butternut crew that were there that day made our wedding PERFECT (and reading the other reviews here, we're obviously not alone, though you'd think you're the only party in the world the way they treated us!!) The only thing I'd change is a little more AC--though with 90% of the guests on the dance floor, it's bound to get warm. We had the wedding of our dreams, and Butternut had a huge part in making that happen.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
veithrm
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Perfect venue for a classic and elegant, yet affordable New England wedding. Hope and Amy were wonderful through the planning process and even the day of the wedding when were running behind schedule. Guests raved about the food, the atmosphere and the service-what more could you want?
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
salhaza
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Butternut Farm Golf Club was simply amazing! We loved this club from the start for the fact that they only hosted one wedding a day, therefore the 5 hour wedding block was flexable to our needs. Throughout the planning process they were incredibly professional and easy to access. Hope and Amy did a tremendous job in making the entire process as stress free as possible. The actual wedding day was flawless. They were so on top of the scheduling of the different formalities that took place, we didn't have to worry about a thing. The food was also incredible. Our guests were talking about the presentation of the food as well as the quality and taste of it all afterwards. Butternut Farms absolutely made our special day memorable and a day that we will never forget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/24/2008
5.0/5.0
The Butternut Farm Golf Club ia the perfect place to have a beautiful, elegant wedding. My husband and I had looked at dozens of places for our wedding and all of the hotel ballrooms and halls just blended together into one forgettable mass. Then I walked into the Butternut Farm. I turned to my mom right away and said, "This is where I want to get married". The people you will work with are the best in the business. They truly care so much about making your wedding perfect. They all Were incredible nice people who are experienced and exited about helping make your wedding day the da of your dreams!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sharmin
Wedding:
5/25/2014
4.9/5.0
The team in butternut farm made my dream wedding come to reality. I wouldn't change a thing.

Thank you!

Sharmin and leVar
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
We are so happy with our decision to have our wedding ceremony and reception at the Butternut. Erin and Hope were so helpful and responsive since day one. They both had good ideas and helped us by taking care of so many of the details. The Butternut is located in such a beautiful area of MA. The grounds were so pretty which made a nice setting for our outdoor ceremony. Our guests enjoyed the food and the bar service. We would reccomend the Butternut to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.9/5.0
This was an absolutely gorgeous venue site, and part of the reason we picked Butternut was the raving reviews, the location, and the STAFF. Some of the things our guests (and I) raved about: food, views, spaceous ballroom, friendly staff, and the event flow. I knew when I met Hope and Erin this would be a fantastic wedding. They were incredibly patient with myself and my family, and were always responsive. They hosted a separate, intimate tasting with my family because we weren't able to attend the formal tasting in January. They provided guidance for the day of schedule, and coordinated with our vendors to ensure everything went smoothly. During the wedding my husband and I had a staff member that made sure we had everything we needed that night. All these little details made the day stress free. I cannot thank them enough. I highly recommend Butternut Farm.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1261069936380-thumbslizjimengagement014
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Butternut Farm was a terrific venue for our wedding reception! We loved the room, the bar area, the octagonal room, and the outside balcony. Our guests thought the food was great. Hope was great to work with when we booked our venue, and Amy was awesome the night of the wedding and the few weeks leading into it. Everyone commented about how nice the room was, how friendly the staff was, and how beautiful the grounds were. If you can afford it, definitely consider Butternut Farm!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.8/5.0
We had our October 12th wedding at Butternut Farms and it was the most spectacular event.
Erin and Hope were attentive and paid attention to every single detail. My emails were answered in a timely fashion.
All my requests were met and every single detail was met with precision. I basically said to Erin what I wanted, my vision in my head and I showed up that day and she had it possible.
The food was OUTSTANDING! Served right on time, hot and fresh.
Out bartenders and wait staff never skipped a beat. Alana, our personal waitress was always there, before I needed anything, she got it. She knew before I even had to ask.
The facility itself is kept in meticulous condition and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous for the fall.
They definitely helped make the best day of our lives, even better. I cannot thank them enough for giving me my dream come true
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1353373855760-1000208
Diane
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.8/5.0
Our wedding experience at Butternut was overall fantastic! The area for the ceremony was perfect and the transition to inside for the reception was seamless, even for my elderly relatives. The reception area allows for folks to walk to the side for a "break" without ever leaving the wedding. I was concerned about decorating the ceremony area but there was no need. Just as Amy said...it is beautiful as is. I have always waitressed as a side job so I know what it is like to work these functions. I have to say that the food came out promptly and there were no tables that had to wait long for their dinners....and folks loved the food. Also, there was no total clearing of tables until the night was actually over. You know that feeling when they even take your water glasses...that didn't happen. I was surprised (but pleased) at how many folks talked about the great bartenders....their personalities, quickness and clear enjoyment of their job.

Hope and Amy were great to work with and very willing to work with our tight budget. I am so proud of the wedding that we were able to put on and that no doubt has everything to do with this location. I put the value 4/5 stars simply for the cost of having a wedding coordinator when you are already paying to have the ceremony chairs put down.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.8/5.0
Everyone at Butternut was extremely flexible, courteous, and professional. They made our entire wedding experience memorable and perfect. This was the first potential wedding venue we visited and it stuck with us throughout the entire process.

We could not be happier then our decision to get married at Butternut and would recommend it to anyone who asks.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.8/5.0
All staff, wait and bar staff were professional, friendly, and attentive to the neeed of the guests. The food was served in a timely manner, served hot and was delicious. The coordinator was onhand, helpful, anticipated needs, could answer questions, and made accomodations when the unexpected arose. Would not change a thing about how the event was handled. We all could not have been more pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.8/5.0
I would recommend Butternut to anyone looking for a reception venue. They were extremely professional and always promt to answer any questions we had. They really did an amazing job making our reception everything I had dreamed of. The room was beautiful, with the tall ceilings, fireplace, and big windows. I loved the balcony guests could use to watch the bridal party out taking pictures on the grounds. One of the things I most appreciated was the personal service the wedding party had during our photos - we had our own hors d'ouevres and bartender, so didn't feel like we missed all of cocktail hour. We had many compliments on the food - delicious!
Butternut provided an exceptional coordinator who took care of everything - I had absolutely nothing to worry about the day of the wedding - she handled it all. It allowed my husband and I to spend the entire evening with our geusts and enjoy the wonderful day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
Everything was perfect! From our very first meeting with Hope to the final drop off meeting with Erin it was all about what my husband and I wanted. I planned my wedding from Maine and both Hope and Erin were very helpful with recommendations for various vendors and got back to me in a timely manner. On the day of our wedding Erin was on top of everything and made sure things ran as smoothly as possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jetta2046
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.7/5.0
Butternut Farm Golf Club was a beautiful venue for our wedding. As soon as my husband and I turned into the driveway, we knew it was the perfect place for us! The outside is beautiful and the porch is a wonderful place to take pictures. The landscaping and flowers are always beautifully done and offer a great background for pictures.

The reception room was bright, roomy, and clean. The dance floor was also a bit bigger than other reception places we looked into. The bar and cocktail area was another great plus! The octagonal room offers great views and the bar is large enough and staffed with enough bartenders that your guests will not wait in line for a drink for the entire reception! The reception food was great, as well. There were many choices of entrees to satisfy a variety of tastes. We also liked that there was a per person price that included the entree, the appetizers, a champagne toast, salad, and coffee. Many other places had an a-la-carte pricing, and for example once the amount of appetizers you ordered were gone, they would serve no more. Butternut served endless appetizers until the end of the cocktail hour.

Lastly, and most importantly, the staff at Butternut was extremely helpful. Paige and Amy (the wedding coordinators) were responsive, patient, and took the time to listen and understand. They were extremely easy to work with. The waiters and waitresses were also extremely helpful and friendly while serving the guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.6/5.0
Butternut Farms Golf Club was a wonderful venue for our wedding reception. Hope was wonderful at setting all of our appointments up in the beginning and Amy was the best wedding coordinator. She was on top of every little detail and was very flexible with things that changed last minute or that I changed/added. The venue is very elegant and fit our wedding perfectly, everyone had plenty of room and space to move around. The only one downfall is that the food tasting was not that great, we were worried about the food come our wedding day but on our actual wedding day, the food was very good. There were no complaints. I wish they were a little more flexible on which food package you chose and if you swapped out one course with another without an up charge. overall, the whole reception was wonderful and Butternut was great to work with. Amy made our day absolutely perfect for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lotti
Wedding:
9/27/2009
4.6/5.0
Butternut Farm Golf Club was a beautiful location for a wedding reception. The food was wonderful and they were able to make some changes to the menu for us. My reception coordinator, Nancy, was extremely helpful in organizing the event and keeping everything on track. I would recommend the location to future brides to be. Congratulations!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.5/5.0
Butternut Farms Golf Club was a wonderful experience throughout our entire wedding planning process. Amy & Hope were wonderful. I emailed Amy a ton and she was so patient. The food was excellent. We were nervous about the food at our tasting because it wasent that great, but on our wedding day it was delicious. The only thing that was a little bit hard was they are very strict with their rules and packages. We wanted a certain type of liquor at the bar but they couldn't provide it because they didnt want to keep liquor stocked that might not sell. We wanted to try and combine packages and it wasn't do-able. We ended up paying more for the beef w/ the cheaper package. But it overall worked out and at the end of the day it was all over amazing. Venue was perfect size, beautiful spots for pictures. Staff was wonderful. Amy was sooo detail oriented all day/night long and kept everything perfect. We would 100% recommend Butternut to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lelu2022
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.4/5.0
Amy & Hope, along with all of the other staff members were amazing to work with. Everyone was very responsive to any questions we had throughout the entire year of planning our wedding. The wait staff on the day of the wedding was very helpful, accommodating and polite. The grounds were gorgeous. It was a beautiful atmosphere and we had an amazing wedding day! The appetizers were outstanding and there was plenty of them being passed around around to all of our guests. The bridal party had their own supply of appetizers - it was amazing!
The only thing that we were slightly disappointed with was the meal. The pasta course - butternut raviolis were delicious, but the portion was small. The salad was bland and the prime rib was overdone. The chicken Roulade that we ordered seemed to be presented differently on the wedding day than it was on the day of the tasting. The dinner portion of the food was the only thing that we weren't overly impressed with. Other than that we would absolutely recommend Butternut Farm to anyone getting married. They are very helpful and it is a beautiful location for such an event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kg523
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.2/5.0
Butternut Farm was a gorgeous venue and a perfect setting for a summer wedding. The managing staff was always very responsive and attentive. However, some of the wait staff at certain points were a little rude to our guests. The only recommendation I would have to make it an even more accommodating venue is the acceptance of credit cards at the bar or an ATM in the lobby.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
7/14/2007
4.0/5.0
Hope and the whole Butternut Farm staff were incredibly helpful and professional. They helped me arrange my day in an organized manner and helped with all the little details that made the reception hall complete. The food was very good and the appetizers were outstanding. My only complaint was that my parents couldn't come to the tasting. If you are looking for a beautiful county club location with great food and lots of scenery.. this is it!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1281827288814-dsc8463
Anastasiya
Wedding:
7/17/2010
3.8/5.0
We had a beautiful wedding on July 17 at Butternut. Everything turned out wonderful and we could not have been happier with the location. The grounds are gorgeous, the clubhouse is very spacious and tastefully decorated. We took a week off from work just in search for a place like this that would provide both ceremony and reception. In a week we visited so many places in MA and in NH and then had our eyes set on three places: Searles Castle, Indian Pond Golf Club and the Butternut Farms Golf Club. We decided to go with Butternut, because the staff appeared very friendly and we got a good deal on a package of choice. Hope Page was very helpful and is a great sales lady. Other vendors were not cooperating as much, so it was an easy decision to make.

Said that, the were a few major things that needed improvement and hence we are giving a lower rating. We and our guests were disappointed that cake was not announced and placed in the very far corner and hence it was not tried by many. Coffee and tea was only served once and only to those who were sitting at the tables (we, as bride and groom never got our coffee/tea). Our coordinator, Melissa could have given a clue to our DJ to announce the cake, and instead she was just standing, watching our party. There was another instance where Melissa decided not to show up at all. Right before our wedding, when we scheduled an appointment with Melissa, 6 months prior and confirmed that we will bring all our wedding deliverables on Thursday. She notified us that we would have to come in earlier because she had to leave for Maine, and we did arrive on time, but instead there was not a soul there and we had to ask a bartender for the permission to bring things in. We could not reschedule the last minute because there were many people involved, including a professional baker for our sweet bread and mini breads that needed to be picked up and individually wrapped on Wednesday night in order to be delivered for Thursday. Melissa seemed to not care about that, and instead of finding a sub for herself, she just left without a notice to anyone, very unprofessional. And talk about stress just the day before our wedding.

Other minor things which I'd like to mention include restrictions to soap bubbles, grains and/or candy, which were not allowed to be thrown at the ceremony, only flower petals permitted. Outrageously big trash bins were placed everywhere, I counted 3 in one spot, and unfortunately it was the most photographed arch right before the isle. All these things are important to brides like myself, who prepare for a big day years in advance.

Lastly, but not least the staff responsiveness right after the wedding and as soon as we payed our fees in full was almost down to zero. There were a few expensive items accidentally left after the wedding like ceremony pillars, ceramic vases and a camera accessory which we inquired about as soon as possible, but it took months for them to track these down (apparently they were collecting everything in their basement). In my opinion a professional vendor should care about their clients before, during and after an event like this and for the staff at Butternut it clearly was not important.

I wish best of luck with wedding planning to other brides and grooms to be and keep in mind in today's economy everything matters.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
115 Wheeler Road, Stow, MA 01775 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Butternut Farm Golf Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1379800164158-dan-and-eliz-water-fountain-2