130x130_sq_1377365548571-lawnandback

Cairnwood Estate

Bryn Athyn , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1005 Cathedral Road, Post Office Box 699
Bryn Athyn, PA US 19009 (map)

PHONE

215-947-2004

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Cairnwood is secluded behind high walls in Bryn Athyn, PA. The mansion is set among towering trees, flowering gardens, and expansive lawns. The size and layout of the primary rooms on... Read more
Cairnwood is secluded behind high walls in Bryn Athyn, PA. The mansion is set among towering trees, flowering gardens, and expansive lawns. The size and layout of the primary rooms on Cairnwood’s first floor offer the space and ambiance for elegant social and cultural gatherings. The central focus of Cairnwood is the Grand Hall, a spacious room with large windows overlooking the extensive lawns, and has a ceiling that rises two stories. All of Cairnwood’s rooms are exquisite and open, making it both easy and natural to host your social or corportate event in a grand manner. The landscape design and private location of the mansion provide a unique sence of intimacy, beauty, and historic elegance. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1187898869405-lawnandback!!
130x130_sq_1187898388858-earlymay018
130x130_sq_1187898358905-brgrmbalcony
130x130_sq_1187898618608-backweddinginfront
130x130_sq_1187898794499-bridelanding
130x130_sq_1187899144530-earlymay010
130x130_sq_1187899212811-edgypear
130x130_sq_1187899242671-billromtable
130x130_sq_1187901548499-tikigarden
130x130_sq_1187901652436-22
130x130_sq_1187901620296-heightogreathall
130x130_sq_1187899291296-diningroomjacoby
130x130_sq_1187902127546-brideandgroominarchives
130x130_sq_1187901680952-insidewintertent
130x130_sq_1187901817811-largecenterpiece
130x130_sq_1187902229514-stationaryfooddisplay
130x130_sq_1187902191233-bridegroomlightedbalconyfromoutstide
130x130_sq_1187902266827-23
130x130_sq_1377362694827-jdm9085b
130x130_sq_1377362717981-jdm9078b
130x130_sq_1377362761307-846
130x130_sq_1377362764029-img5605
130x130_sq_1377362826468-shearoggio015
130x130_sq_1377362853497-shearoggio036
130x130_sq_1377362892333-jeff-wojtaszek-3
130x130_sq_1377362915398-bartlette-pair-3
130x130_sq_1377362962804-susan-beard-2
130x130_sq_1377362989084-bw-back-stairs
130x130_sq_1377363135374-shearoggio029
130x130_sq_1377363955600-dining-room-jacoby
130x130_sq_1377363058534-cm0771-06-27-09
130x130_sq_1377363079503-funceremony
130x130_sq_1377363082294-fall-wedding
130x130_sq_1377363276684-7-brideandgroom-fishbowl-in-the-front
130x130_sq_1377363302063-055cairnwoodweddingjoymarie
130x130_sq_1377364388605-love-shack-photo119
130x130_sq_1377363918853-dining-in-music-room2jpg
130x130_sq_1377363347147-9649
130x130_sq_1377363361303-aibride-and-groom-courtyard-gate
130x130_sq_1377363561437-amp7372
130x130_sq_1377363605868-bride-and-groom-portrati-garden
130x130_sq_1377363586842-amp7374
130x130_sq_1377363665254-bride-ibrom-below-wall
130x130_sq_1377363691199-cm0452-06-27-09
130x130_sq_1377363750633-larissa-cleveland-san-francisco-california-wedding-photographer009
130x130_sq_1377363781110-sarah-and-tim-outside-of-cairnwood
130x130_sq_1377363803598-mem6882b
130x130_sq_1377364015696-jc10479-copy1

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with Cairnwood the first time we visited! Gorgeous estate, beautiful grounds, just a great place to get married! We loved how there are different rooms in the estate. We had stations at our wedding, so three of the rooms had stations. There was a room for dancing, and two of the areas had bars. We used the tent for dinner, and used simple draping on the tent. Our ceremony was outside, in front of the building. Breath-taking background! We took pictures all around the grounds. The few pictures that we saw already were fantastic! Shannon and Melissa were a pleasure to work with and were very helpful during our planning process. One note: if you have a budget, please keep in mind that there are other costs besides the estate fee. You have to rent the tent, pay for draping, rent ceremony chairs and tables and chairs for dinner, etc. It was worth it to us, but did add up to more than we originally thought. Overall, an amazing venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood was an absolutely amazing wedding venue! We had our ceremony and reception at Cairnwood and everyone has told us how impressed they were by the estate, I have had multiple guests tell me that it was the most beautiful wedding venue they had ever seen.

We had our ceremony in the garden, which was gorgeous. We had a perfect day, weather-wise, as well, so that also helped a lot! We had the tent out on the patio for our reception, so all of our guests were seated there. The tent was beautiful, with fans for if it got a little hot, and chandliers and tiny lights. Inside, the wedding party made great use out of the bridal suite and the groom's suite. We loved having both rooms to leave our stuff in during the wedding.

Our contact at Cairnwood was Shannon Walko and she has been amazing throughout our whole planning process. Shannon helped us coordinate when to drop things off and gave us suggestions on where to place things. She responded to any calls or emails very quickly and was always happy to help! Our wedding at Cairnwood could not have been more perfect and I cannot wait to see all of our photos in a few weeks!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at Cairnwood Estate on May 25th. As soon as we saw the venue, we knew it would be the perfect choice for our wedding. The estate is an absolutely beautiful and unique venue. Throughout the planning process, Shannon and Melissa were both incredibly helpful and took the time to answer all of my questions patiently and promptly. Once we booked the venue, we had many other vendor decisions to make; Cairnwood makes this easy by hosting vendor open houses, a convenient way to meet with potential vendors. On the day of the wedding, many guests told us that they were blown away by how gorgeous the estate is. I cannot say enough fantastic things about this venue and highly recommend it. Thank you, Cairnwood, for a beautiful day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Love this venue! My wedding was stunning and everything I could have dreamed of and more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mish
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Shannon & the Cairnwood team truly outdid themselves in every way. From the moment I stepped into Cairnwood Estate, I knew there was no other place I could see myself getting married. The grounds are impeccable and the estate itself is literally breathtaking. Shannon was so incredibly accommodating from day 1 – we came by on a Sunday and she brought us on a tour of the estate despite the fact that there really were no tours that day.

During the planning process, I was an extremely detail oriented bride and not only was the Cairnwood staff able to answer every question I asked, but they did so in a professional manner with an awesome attitude. I never felt like I was being rushed or pushed aside regardless of how busy they were. When my husband and I stopped by an open house we were always greeted with excitement and made to feel like our wedding was the only one the estate was hosting. It was truly a pleasure working with this group.

On our wedding day, Shannon was out front to greet us as my bridesmaids and I arrived at the estate. Getting ready in the bridal suite of the estate was a once in a lifetime experience that I will never forget. It was so nice and relaxing to be at the venue all day hanging out before getting married. We all were in one place and didn’t have to worry about timing of transportation. I also loved that my husband had his own suite, where he and his groomsmen could share the afternoon.

Our ceremony took place on the front porch of the estate and it could not have been more perfect. The sun set just enough to have our guests in the shade as I walked down the aisle and the beautiful exterior of the estate made the ideal backdrop for our vows. The guests enjoyed cocktails in the garden and we did dinner on the back terrace under the tent, which was right out of a fairytale. Our guests can’t stop talking about how smoothly the wedding went and how stunning it all was. It exceeded every single one of our high expectations!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Worth every single penny! Everyone was helpful, polite, and professional. They treated us like royalty on our wedding day. The venue is so beautiful and unique.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marguerita
Wedding:
7/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Imagine a Fantasy Wedding in a turn of the century Victorian Mansion. Cairnwood is absolutely beautiful and the perfect place to fulfill your Daughters dreams of the perfect wedding. From the beautiful grounds to the Majestic presence that is Cairnwood. It is Historic and you feel it the minute you enter. Your guests will be in awe. The Cairnwood staff are so accommodating from the minute you secure you wedding date the house is your house. The Wedding day you arrive 3 hours early and have plenty of time getting the whole Bridal Party ready. With a Bridal Suite and a Groom Suite, the Bride, Groom and all attendants will feel like Royalty. Cairnwood is the perfect place to have the wedding of every little girls dreams. Then just like Cinderella all is over by midnight and you will be swimming in the beautiful memories you have created for a lifetime.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Having our party at Cairnwood was a dream come true! Our guests were blown away by how elegant the venue is!! Cairnwood was the absolute perfect place to celebrate with family and friends. Shannon and her staff went out of their way to make sure everything was just the way we wanted it to be. It is the day after our event and people are texting and emailing us about how wonderful everything was. Thank you Cairnwood!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1356404067782-shanghai
Roger
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
The beauty of the place speaks for itself! Although it requires a little more planning having to choose the caterer and everything else, Cairnwood allows you to be creative and make they place your own as well. There's not much that needs to be added to the place but it was nice to have the freedom to do the little things we wanted to add our own special touch to it. Our bridal party loved having their own rooms upstairs to run up to or just relax from the crowd and cool off. Working with Melissa was great and everyone couldn't stop commenting on how great a place we chose. We did 3 stations and our guest loved being able to choose the different plates and added a lot of fun to our reception. Dance floor and bar setup works perfectly and great access to the outdoor patios to cool off during the night or enjoy the conversation. You do have to end up adding pre-hours to take advantage of Cairnwood on top of the reception hours but it really made it easy having the ceremony and reception at the same site.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This is the most beautiful venue that anyone can ask for. We had our ceremony outdoor on the flagstone facing Glencairn, which made for the perfect backdrop. Shannon is so awesome and makes you feel right at home. Cairnwood has history, as well as, elegance which is rare to find in an area overrun with the typical banquet halls. You will feel like a princess for one night as you celebrate your special day in this unforgettable estate.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
4/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I recommend Cairnwood as highly as possible. My husband and I had a great experience working with everyone there, including Shannon and Melissa. It was the dream location and all of our guests aggreed; they couldn't stop raving about how amazing the mansion was.
I also liked that the staff has many photo albums from previous weddings that you can look through for photo and floral ideas. They also are one of the few venues that has not only a great bridal suite, but a 2 room groom's suite also! You won't regret choosing Cairnwood!
We chose to get married on a Thursday night here, to lower the venue cost, but keep in mind they're not trying to make a profit, but pay their workers and keep up the estate.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Megann
Wedding:
12/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at Cairnwood in December of 2012 right before Christmas. They were excellent from our first visit to the last minute after our wedding before we went home. The staff are very professional and helpful. Every detail was beautifully taken care of and they even helped us to save some money by taking advantage of sharing some things and taking advantage of what was already there. We had our ceremony and reception there. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
11/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Having driven past Cairnwood all my life, I was always blown away by its beauty and presence. When I started the planning process, it was the first and only venue we visited. Once there, there was no question as to where I wanted to get married. The staff was very informative and helpful throughout the whole process. We actually got married the weekend after "Superstorm Sandy" hit. A lot of our vendors lost power and things that week and I was obviously terrified. Every time I spoke to Shannon or other staff they always calmed my fears and we worked through every issue. We also, used Sage catering, which is a preferred caterer through Cairnwood. Ed and his staff were another immeasurable addition to our day. They went above and beyond!
If you are looking for a venue that will make a permanent impression on your guests, choose Cairnwood. You won't be disappointed. Any time of year Cairnwood is absolutely beautiful. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allie
Wedding:
10/26/2012
5.0/5.0
As soon as Shannon Walko opened the door to Cairnwood I knew it was the place I wanted to have my wedding. In the time between booking (future brides: book early, this place fills up especially on Saturdays for LITERALLY years at a time!) and the day of, as Shannon let us take 8000 private tours and answered all of our questions from the idiotic to the micromanagerial, I knew we had made the right decision. When the big night we'd been planning for for what seemed like eternity finally arrived, we felt like gilded age millionaires throwing a party for all of our beautiful, fabulous friends (if only for one night!) and Shannon was there with her usual warm smile and kind words of congratulations to share in it with us. We could not be happier with or more grateful to our wonderful Cairnwood hosts, and plan to go back for as many events as we can as soon as we can. Bottom line: this place is a bit pricey, but worth every last penny. Cairnwood is unparalleled in its archetectural beauty, fascinating history, consistent personal service, and seemingly endless photo opportunities. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1350860835067-firstdancepic
mem5000
Wedding:
10/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood is a beautiful wedding venue! Our guests were in awe of the estate and enjoyed looking around the property. The staff at Cairnwood were extremely helpful and responsive. I loved that we were able to meet with the preferred caterers at Cairnwood's 'open house' on Wednesday nights. They even thought of little details - like heaters for inside our tent - and emailed us a few days before our wedding with a weather update. I would highly recommend Cairnwood to anyone looking for a beautiful, timeless venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
There are not enough words to describe Cairnwood Estates. The grounds and establishment are breathtaking. As soon as we walked in for the tour we were sold and booked our wedding date. This was the first place we visited and last. Shannon and Evelyn were wonderful to work with. They were so nice, helpful and flexible. If you are looking for a venue that is different from the indoor ballroom setting, then Cairnwood is the place to book. I highly recommened them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1308358165403-052
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
LOVE this venue! We got so many compliments from our guests about the venue and all the pictures turned out so beautiful! It was definitely a little more expensive than what we had planned for, but worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/17/2012
5.0/5.0
All I can say is WOW!!! What a beautiful place! So charming and has so much history.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine&Robert
Wedding:
5/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood was absolutely beautiful. The house and grounds are exceptionally maintained. The staff at Cairnwood was wonderful to work with during our planning as well as the day of our wedding. We highly recommend Cairnwood!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smkelly031
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
So much more than just a fairy tale wedding is provided in this setting. There preferred caterers are all amazing. The service of their staff really help you make you feel at home, maybe a little too at home! It provides an atmosphere of eloquence and wedding every girl dreams of having.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenMcCoy1210
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I had a sunset winter wedding inside Cairnwood on December 10th. The venue is stunningly beautiful; you honestly have to be inside the home and on the grounds to fully grasp its appeal. The staff, especially Shannon, is exceptionally helpful and professional. They will help with any question you have and try and find a solution for anything that comes up during planning. Cairnwood is gracious, elegant, and warm. It provides an amazing backdrop for your photos and is definitely worth every penny. Our guests could not stop raving about the estate; they were in awe and at ease simultaneously. I would highly recommend Cairnwood as a venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KellyAshton
Wedding:
11/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood Estate was the perfect place to host our wedding. For one night it felt like our home. The house was very clean and the staff was always friendly, professional and ready to help.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/13/2011
5.0/5.0
This venue was absolutely gorgeous!!!! We had our ceremony and reception at Cairnwood and it was a dream come true! The grounds are beautiful and the inside is preserved to perfection!! It is a historic mansion in Northeast Philadelphia. Evelyn Stevens is the manager and is a joy to work with! The marketing manager is Shannon Walko and she is ALWAYS helpful when you have an questions or need help with ideas for your wedding day. I would RECOMMEND this venue to everyone!! You have to go check out their open houses on Wednesday nights! You will be in awe!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mariellen
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for elegant and unique, Cairnwood is the place for you. We stumbled upon this place by accident. It wasn't on our list to review, but one of our vendors recommended we take a look at it and BAM!... that was it for us. We signed on the spot. We knew this place was exactly what we wanted and they did not disappoint us one bit. From the time we signed with them, until the time we left after our reception, we never looked back. Our guests were in awe of this place and thought it was truely elegant and unique. Yes, the place is pricey, but well worth it. Shannon, our sales rep., was outstanding, very responsive and accommodating to any of our requests. From the bridal suites to the decor to the beautiful landscaping and grounds surrounding the venue, this place will make you feel like royalty for your special day! Awesome!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Harry
Wedding:
6/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing all guests were in AWE. This is more, much more special than a typical country club or catering hall. We were there for our friend’s reception for son and his bride. We never experienced the setting and environment as we did at Cairnwood. The cocktail hour was inside the Mansion and side patio, LOVELY the dinner took place on the patio / veranda and it was out of this world. I do not know what one of the reviewers is talking about having their guests sinking in mud as the veranda is all stone and slate. Excellent location. I will have my grand daughters wedding there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood is hands down the BEST venue. I loved working with Shannon (she is amazing) and my wedding was romantic, one-of-a-kind and beautiful all thanks to this GORGEOUS venue. Love it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily.Ha
Wedding:
11/7/2010
5.0/5.0
The venue was more expensive than I wanted to do originally-I paid $3300 for a sunday afternoon wedding, but they were very flexible about the hours I wanted and with answering any questions I had at any time. The people were wonderful, the location was beautiful and I received compliments all throughout the day. I truly felt like a princess in a castle and choosing Cairnwood was one of the best decisions I made through wedding planning
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
4/15/2007
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Cairnwood and it's staff. The building is gorgeous and perfectly maintained. The staff really have their act together and were extremely helpful. The cost ranges they offer work with a variety of budgets. We chose to have a Sunday afternoon wedding in order to make it affordable for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yvette
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married yesterday, May 30, 2010. It was the most beautiful day and the Cairnwood made for a spectacular event. All of our guests were truly taken back with the beauty of the mansion. The grounds and gardens were bursting with beautiful flowers and color. Their ceremony was held outside and it was breathtaking. She and her Dad were driven up to the front in a horse drawn carriage which made this fairy tale wedding so perfect for this type of venue.

The cocktail hour was inside in the different rooms of the mansion and the dinner was held on the terrace in a beautiful draped tent. During the entire evening, the staff was right there to help if necessary. We had dancing in the music room which was so much fun. The night seemed to fly by so fast.

The year of planning this wedding with the Cairnwood staff was wonderful. I can't say enough about them especially Evelyn and Shannon. My phone calls were always returned and all of my questions and concerns were always addressed. It made this process so much easier.

I highly recommend the Cairnwood to any future bride and groom. You will have the most fabulous wedding. I can truly say that our daughter's wedding will be spoken about for quite a long time. It will be a memory my husband and I will have for a very long time. So amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
CoreyandTheresa
Wedding:
7/17/2009
5.0/5.0
This was the most beautiful place to get married and have our reception!! We had the wedding of our dreams!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Arbella
Wedding:
4/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I couldn’t imagine having spent my wedding day anywhere else but Cairnwood. It provided us with a beautiful setting for our special day, and an experience different than a catering hall. The home allowed for a more intimate feel throughout the entire day, providing our guests with more to do than eat, drink and watch the bride and groom perform their wedding tasks (first dance, cutting cake, etc). Everyone seemed happy, and our pictures are beautiful. What more could you ask for?
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DanTheMan
Wedding:
1/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood is AMAZING! Talk about fairy tale weddings, my bride (wife now I guess) truly felt like a storybook princess. This has to be the best location not just in Pennsylvania, but in the world. Shannon and the rest of the staff were accomidating, friendly and helpful throughout the entire process. Too bad I can only give them 5 stars, because they surely deserve 10.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Fran
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
This is a beautiful site that can accommodate indoor and outdoor seating spaces. The building itself is beautiful and has many windows so the daylight shines through while it's early. Just beware of wearing thin heels in the grass if your ceremony leads you into the lawn!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blake
Wedding:
5/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood is the most magical place for a wedding. It is elegant, yet not overdone. We had to move the ceremony inside due to weather conditions and it was still a fabulous event, not disappointing in the least. If anything, the ambience of this beautiful place made for a more intimate affair. The staff was incredible all through the year of planning, answering every little question that arose and answering every e-mail, regardless of how miniscule the problem. Shannon Walko, in particular, was fabulous to deal with, walking us through every step right down to the scenario for the ceremony. The guests all commented that they had never attended a more beautiful wedding in a more fantastic setting!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zoe72882
Wedding:
2/2/2008
5.0/5.0
The place is amazing! We found it on the knot, and fell in love with it as soon as we saw it. That day we sat down and tried to figure out how to make it work within our budget. We changed the wedding date from november 08 to february 08 because of availability and price. This was our first vendor booked, and we never second guessed. Our guests raved about how amazing the place looked, and our photos are amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Cairnwood was a perfect, beautiful place to get married. Everything was perfect. The ladies that work there are responsive and very kind. A dream location for a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
I have nothing but good things to say about Cairnwood. We worked with Shannon Walko who was professional, friendly, responsive and caring. I felt she spent more than adequate time meeting with us and listening to our ideas, and without her we wouldn't have had the beautiful ceremony we'd hoped for!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.8/5.0
I absolutely fell in love with this venue the first time I saw it, and it did not disappoint. Everything about the building and the grounds were so unique and gorgeous that it made for an unbelievable event. We chose to dine mansion style (3 separate rooms) and I think everyone really enjoyed that. The whole night flowed seamlessly from room to room. The price tag is a bit steep, but it was worth EVERY penny. Everybody who went said it was one of the best weddings they ever attended.

Shannon and the Cairnwood staff were very helpful throughout the whole processes. They allowed us to drop off all of our alcohol and decorations (we had a TON) a few days before the wedding, and there was a guy who worked there who helped us unload everything. I could not have asked for a more PERFECT venue. Other mansions just do not compare!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
4/21/2013
4.8/5.0
Our wedding was at Cairnwood on April 21, 2013. It was absolutely beautiful! Shannon and Melissa were so helpful during the planning process. Everyone loved the mansion and it was so much fun!!! Great place for a wedding, definitely recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Cairnwood was a PERFECT venue for our wintertime wedding. The mansion was decorated beautifully for the holidays, so we were able to use minimal flowers and other decorations. We had our ceremony in the Great Hall, and it worked out perfectly for our medium sized wedding (80 guests). And with the Christmas tree lit in the corner, and candles glowing in the fireplace, it was stunning - our guests could not stop talking about beautiful our ceremony was.

We chose to have a sit-down dinner reception, and we split our guests between the Music Room and the Dining Room. At first I didn't like the idea of having our guests split between different rooms, but at Cairnwood's suggestion, we had our first course in one room and our second course in the other room, so we got to spend time with all of our guests. It felt like an elegant dinner party, not your run-of-the-mill hotel ballroom reception. It was wonderful!

I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff at Cairnwood. They helped make our wedding day magical, and I could not possibly imagine having my wedding anywhere else!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jerseymom3
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.8/5.0
Cairnwood was everything I had hoped for. The staff was always available during the planning process and a representitive was there the evening of the wedding. The location is magical and well maintained. Both the house and the grounds were gorgeous on my wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
3/8/2008
4.8/5.0
It was the most amazing place! It's very unique and our guests had an experience of a lifetime there. The staff was great and very helpful. Quick to change and adjust when bad weather hits. They were outstanding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LARF
Wedding:
1/2/2009
4.8/5.0
If you're thinking about Cairnwood, I can't encourage you enough. We had a January wedding, and I think the setting was even more lovely than it is in the summer time- candles in the fireplaces, garland and white christmas lights on the outside railings. This venue lends to a fairy tale wedding, in the truest sense. Our wedding was a stations menu, which I highly recommend for this setting- it encourages the guests to move from room to room, interacting with different people and keeping the party moving, literally, all night. It almost felt like we lived there and were hosting a party for our friends. Amazing.
We had our ceremony in the great hall- it was a beautiful setting but two things to be aware of; there's not a lot of floor space for chairs (it was really cool to have people peeping over the balcony at us, though) and it's not a very deep space where you marry, so it's not great for large bridal parties (also our officiant kind of had to stand directly in between my husband and I, instead of a step back).
The staff were so friendly from the start and really helped me with some of the finer details that I wasn't considering. We were married on a Friday in January, so we received a really amazing discount on the fee. If you're working with a tight budget but have fallen in love with this place, I would really recommend that you try to make it work for yourselves. Another thing that helped me save costs was the grandeur of the setting- instead of spending tons of money on flowers, lighting, etc to spruce up a generic ball room, I just had our florists make some simple, dramatic, romantic arrangements. Cairnwood is so beautiful it certainly did not need my decorator's touch. And if you have it in your budget to spend on a site, don't hesitate to book here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa n Edwin
Wedding:
12/27/2008
4.8/5.0
I could not be happier with my Wedding Day at Cairnwood. The estate is enchanting and almost a year later I am still getting compliments. I have been told time and again that my wedding was by far the most amazing wedding they had been to. I highly recommend Cairnwood, with its wonderful staff and picturesque property, but definitely plan ahead! I ended up with a Thursday wedding (which saved me quite a bit!), they book up far in advance!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
summer2009
Wedding:
8/28/2009
4.8/5.0
Cairnwood is an absolutely stunning venue. It was a gorgeous place to have our wedding, and all of our family and friends commented on how beautiful the space and grounds were. We had a rainy day, but if anything that only added to the ambiance! I really enjoyed the fact that we were the only wedding, so it was a truly private occasion for us, our family, and our closest friends.

Leading up to the wedding I found Cairnwood staff to be very helpful and responsive to all of my e-mails and phone calls. They made it a point to answer all of my questions and encouraged me to be in touch with anything else I would need leading up to the wedding. Cairnwood is a historic venue so there are rules, but the staff are happy to work with you to come up with solutions to any issues/concerns that may arise.

One note - I would ask if there is a room that can be locked to store valuables during the wedding. Unfortunately for us (we and our wedding party left our items in the bride and groom quarters) something was stolen out of the bridal suite during our wedding day. Being with our family and closest friends on such a special day, we felt very secure, but things can happen, and it just pays to be cautious. To be clear, we do not believe that anyone from Cairnwood is responsible. We would hate for this to happen to anyone else on such a special occasion, and regardless of what venue you choose for your wedding day it's just a note to be as careful as possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pumpkinpye13
Wedding:
11/15/2008
4.7/5.0
Cairnwood is a beautiful and unique location. There is only one event at a time so you have the entire first floor of the mansion for your event plus the bridal and groom’s chambers on the second floor and two outdoor terraces. The night of our wedding we felt like it was our house! It was amazing! Everyone at Cairnwood is extremely helpful and always available to answer any questions. Over the course of planning we called with questions more than a dozen times and stopped in many times, we were always welcomed. Cairnwood has some rules due to it being a historic location, but overall they are very accommodating and I would highly recommend them for a unique venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lianne
Wedding:
12/30/2011
4.7/5.0
If you want a unique and very romantic setting, this is a fantastic venue. Shannon and the rest of the staff were great to work with and always responded to questions. Our guests raved about the location and how beautiful it is. There are great photo ops inside and out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janelle
Wedding:
8/24/2012
4.7/5.0
Cairnwood was a beautiful wedding venue! The space has amazing versatility! We were able to have a gorgeous outdoor ceremony and cocktail hour, classy indoor dinner in 3 unique dining rooms, and indoor/outdoor reception! Right from the start, Shannon was my go to person! She was so responsive and informative. Shannon and the rest of the crew at Cairnwood were so helpful and flexible throughout the entire planning process. The grounds are stunning and made for amazing photos. I highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Cairnwood07
Wedding:
8/25/2007
4.6/5.0
I fell in love with Cairnwood right away, its absolutely beautiful! I booked a year & a half before my wedding and it was difficult to get the date I wanted. So if you really want this venue, start early!! Be aware there is a booking fee for the site. The place is amazing for a wedding, the guests were blown away. I'd recommend Cairnwood to anyone looking for a unique place to have their wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1307841683380-wedding0294
Allison
Wedding:
6/25/2010
4.4/5.0
Having a wedding at Cairnwood is a true fairy tale. You feel like you are in another world, in a very unique venue that your guests are excited to explore. The highlights of Cairnwood were the quality of service, the immaculate grounds, and professionalism. We did not have any major disappointments. The rental fee is high for certain parts of the year but we compromised by having a Friday wedding. Also the indoor library where the band sets up was very hot and not well air conditioned. Everyone was sweaty in pictures. Keep this in mind for summer weddings.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.3/5.0
I really enjoyed working with Shannon at Cairnwood. She handled everything in a timely manner and always made me feel comfortable and not rushed to make decisions (I often felt that way in other parts of the process- it was nice not to feel it when discussing things with Shannon and the Cairnwood staff). This is an expensive place to get married at, there is no getting around it. Of course if you want a tent, heaters, etc. then things really start to add up. However the cost was definitely worth it to me. Many things are handled and taken care of when you choose Cairnwood (if you are willing to pay the price). The beauty of the architecture is unreal. If you want a truly unique experience (even though they do weddings constantly, you do feel that yours is special) and your guests to be stunned, then choose Cairnwood!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cairnwood Wedding
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.2/5.0
Cairnwood is a beautiful Estate. It was the perfect background for our wedding. It gave our day the exact feel I wanted it to have. It was elegant and soft, romantic and classy.

It is a bit pricey and you have to bring everything in from the outside, as in, you bring your own caterer, alcohol, flowers, tables, chairs, lighting, everything. This was okay with me because I enjoyed being a part of every detail. If you are looking for a package deal, this is not the place for you.

We worked mostly with Shannon W. She is over the top friendly. She will work with you to make any and everything happen! We only visited Cairnwood, spoke with Shannon for 15 minutes and handed over our deposit. She made us feel confident that we were making the right decision and we did!

The other staff members were a bit standoffish but, I believe it is their job to look after the property first. I understand it is a historical sight and you will know this by the places in the house you are not to touch or access. There is plenty of room for you your guests. The space should not be a problem.

Heads up, I would only rent the tent if you MUST. It just isn't worth it. The house is so beautiful. The tent takes away from it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noelle
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.0/5.0
Cairnwood is a beautiful and well run place. There is really nothing bad to say about the place itself. Shannon is awesome to work with. Some of the other staff is not very friendly and we actually got two call saying we did not pay a bill that had already been paid, but once we corrected them, everything was fine. It just caused some unneeded stress. If you love Cairnwood- book early. We had to book a year and a half in advance to get the date we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jsawye01
Wedding:
3/6/2010
3.5/5.0
We LOVED our wedding. That being said - we had several things go wrong. We had 200 guests and so we used the patio with a tent (it was early March). First - it had been raining a lot the week before our wedding and the Friday before we got a phone call to tell us we had a few options. We could let our guests sit on soggy ground and get muddy for no extra cost, they could put down some astro-turf and the guests would still sink but not be muddy for $800 OR they could put down cement board with the astro-turf over it for $1200. I couldn't believe they forced me into this decision the day before with NO prior warning. There was never anything in the contracts saying that this had the potential to happen. I was so upset, we ended up going with the $1,200 but it was not easy to come up with on top of all the other wedding costs. 2nd to go wrong was that it was 40 degrees out and the heaters were not working in the tent. To their credit - the wedding consultant who was there was trying as hard as she could. The guy who sets up the heaters was refusing to come out to fix them. About 45 minutes into our dinner with our guests and myself freezing they finally kicked on. The guests at either end of the tent were cold the entire dinner and the heat was blowing so hard by us I ended up sweating off half my make-up. This was a beautiful venue and everyone was very kind but they definitely need to work on their contract and fire their heater guy. Be advised that you also could end up with extra costs on top of an already VERY expensive venue at the last minute.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
srgpepper5
Wedding:
6/15/2008
3.4/5.0
Cairnwood is a beautiful place to have a wedding. We had the ceremony in the front of the mansion outside and then also had the cocktail hour outside in the back. The photos came out beautiful on the grounds there. The reception was inside and took a lot of planning on who was sitting where since guests had to be split up into all of the different rooms and everyone was very spread out if you have a lot of guests (~200). The staff were great for the most part, until they tried to get extra money from us after the wedding saying that we had stayed past what our contract said, which was not true. I had to show paperwork saying that I had booked the caterer for the correct times and that we were all out of the place on time. We didn't have to pay the extra since we had paid so much to book the place, which we did 2 years in advance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1005 Cathedral Road, Post Office Box 699, Bryn Athyn, PA 19009 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cairnwood Estate
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo