130x130_sq_1338915578060-208

Cakes by Karol Key West

Key West , FL

LOCATION

533 Eaton St #102
Key West, FL US 33040 (map)

PHONE

305-393-3020

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Cakes by Karol has been feature in Extreme Makeover Wedding edition, in In touch magazine, local newspaper.
Creating wedding and specialty cakes for the florida Keys
Cakes by Karol has been feature in Extreme Makeover Wedding edition, in In touch magazine, local newspaper.
Creating wedding and specialty cakes for the florida Keys Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1249488952481-k40
130x130_sq_1249489053419-picture001
130x130_sq_1249489231013-k67
130x130_sq_1249489290325-k66
130x130_sq_1338915838855-81
130x130_sq_1338915921668-cct23
130x130_sq_1338915967286-cakesbykarold
130x130_sq_1338916046041-wedding150
130x130_sq_1338916073027-34
130x130_sq_1338916135186-262
130x130_sq_1338916199213-229
130x130_sq_1338916231684-131

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Yes we offer private free wedding cake tasting by appoitment only.
What are your tasting hours?
Call to make an appoitment
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
By cake
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We can costume design a cake to match your event
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Absolutly!
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
Yes we do rent cake stands
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Free delivery in Key West

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Great job it was great thank you
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Loved my wedding cake. I was a little apprehensive about ordering my wedding cake online and without time for any kind of tasting. But I was really happy with my cake. It looked beautiful just as the pictures on their website and it was also delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/30/2014
4.9/5.0
I contacted Cakes by Karol a few weeks before my small Key West wedding. Cakes by Karol assured me they would be able to make me a cake last minute! I sent them a picture of my wedding 'theme' and the colors of the cake matched perfectly on my wedding day. My family loved the Key Lime filling too! They even delivered the cake so I had one less thing to worry about!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Being a sweets fanatic, I knew that I wanted my wedding cake to be two things: chocolate and delicious! I hate how most wedding cakes taste so bland and dry. Well my wedding cake was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I planned my destination wedding in Key West from New Jersey and so I never even got to do a cake tasting. Cakes by Karol had received wonderful reviews from wedding wire as well as from a previous bride who had her cake made there. The design was easy to pick out since the website was very well set up and easy to navigate through. Karol was very professional and responsive to emails and questions. The second my new husband and I cut into our wedding cake and tasted it, we were so happy with how it turned out! Not only did it look gorgeous, but it tasted incredible. Our guests are still commenting on how great our cake tasted! Thank you so much Karol for our delicious first sweet treat in our marriage!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was amazing! It was almost to beautiful to cut. They offer so many wonderful flavors that it was hard to choose which ones we wanted for our wedding cake. Besides being beautiful it was the best cake I've ever tasted. We had a small wedding of only 50 people so they added a crystal covered cake stand for free to really make my cake look bigger and really stand out. It was more than I ever could have wished for!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/13/2014
5.0/5.0
I received a cake from Cakes by Karol in my Weddings To Go destination wedding package. The cake was so wonderful in flavor and decoration that I wanted to stop by and let everyone know. Without even trying your product before hand I felt like I got the best that I could have received for my wedding. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
They took 3 pictures that I submitted to them and combined them to create my dream wedding cake. Each layer a different flavor and all were delicious!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake and cupcakes turned out exactly how I imagined. I wish I would have had more but it was beautiful as well as delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bryce & Kristy
Wedding:
4/20/2014
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved our wedding cake! It was stunning and delicious!! I could not have asked for a better cake! Another bakery was supposed to prepare our cake but said they could not do the design on a 1 tier cake. So our amazing planners arranged for this bakery to do our cake, and it turned out perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Very happy with my cake. I sent a picture of how I wanted it to look and I couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing wedding cake!!!! Our Pina Colada and Coconut wedding cake from Cakes by Karol was incredibly delicious and was a huge hit with our guests!!! Thank you for making our day perfect!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/13/2014
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding cake done by Cakes by Karol, It was the most beautiful cake that was perfect for my wedding. It was literally the best cake I have ever had as well. I had picked the chocolate cake with the buttercream filling. I wish I lived closer to Cakes by Karol so I could have it more often! Thanks for the beautiful and delicious cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
2/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol was amazing! I would give her 10 stars if I could. She was very responsive during the planning process and was able to accommodate us with a tasting delivered to our hotel even though they were closed on Sunday (the one day we were in town.) On our wedding day, everyone commented on how beautiful and tasty our wedding cake was! Thanks again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1374950917819-w-hotel-pic
Aimee
Wedding:
1/31/2014
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with the selection offered by Karol for our wedding cake and the dessert table that she did for us. We had about 6 different mini selections, large key lime and pecan pies and a small two tier wedding cake that everyone loved. Not surprisingly, I didn't get to eat much at the wedding but the hotel put the rest of the desserts in our room that night and we snacked on them for a few days. I also managed to save two pieces of cake and carefully carried them home on the plane with me for our first anniversary. Our cake was a butter cake w/a layer of raspberry filling and a layer of key lime filling and I'd do anything for a bite right now! You can't go wrong with her mini dessert selections either and the presentation just adds the final touch. I would highly recommend using Karol if you plan on getting married in Key West.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
StacyPhillips
Wedding:
12/6/2013
4.8/5.0
Cakes by Karol was so easy to work with for our destination wedding in Key West. I chose a cake from their website and it turned out perfectly and was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
11/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was delicious and looked exactly like picture. I would recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol provided the desserts for our daughter's wedding. Our daughter and fiance do not like cake all that much so they opted to go with the mini desserts with a small 6" cake for the cake cutting. We went to a tasting and selected the desserts. We chose a variety of tarts, cupcakes, mousses and shortcakes and went with 2.5 desserts per person (we had 56 guests) and that was more than enough. All of our guests loved the desserts and appreciated the option of choosing what they liked and getting to try more than one! The display of the desserts was beautiful with a different dessert on each tier making it easy for the guests to see and choose what they liked. Every dessert was a work of art and almost too pretty to eat (but we did)!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
11/12/2013
4.0/5.0
Beautiful cake and friendly staff!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rocky
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
They made the most Beautiful Wedding Cake I could have ever hoped for! Simply put, Our Cake was Amazing!! Everyone there was so friendly and easy to work with. They really made our day Special!
I can't thank them enough!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
The most incredible cakes in the world!! No one could do the custom cakes they did for us!! Blew our wedding away!!! Posted on both the photographer & our DJ's site as best cakes ever! And they were! A MUST!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1384292591357-145673610151777040157638783614298
Mrs. J
Wedding:
11/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I recently married in Key West and chose Cakes by Karol for our wedding cake. We decided a small cake and cupcakes. Planning from Philadelphia I sent Karol's a few photos of what we hoped to have. Karol created this vision for us. The cakes were beautiful!
They were also so delicious, I want to call and have another shipped here to us!!!! We were able to save a few pieces and ate it every day in our hotel room.. it was that delicious!
The staff were very professional and attentive from the moment we reached out for information. I would absolutely recommend them for your event!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol made our wedding pie.
Not being huge fans of wedding cake but still wanting to tradition of cutting the cake we went with a Key Lime pie.
Cakes by Karol's Key Lime is amazing.
She also created one-bite mini-Key Lime tarts for each guest.
I got so many compliments.

Would recommend to everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Since neither my husband nor I are big fans of icing, we decided to ditch the traditional wedding cake and go with a selection of mini desserts instead. We did key lime pie shooters, sea salt caramel tarts, mini cheese cakes and chocolate trifles and they were all absolutely fabulous!!! We got rave reviews from our guests on how delicious they were and since we ended up with plenty of leftovers (I tend to over order when it comes to desserts :)) we had a little party in our suite the night after the wedding to finish them off, which was fun little way to extend the wedding festivities. I live overseas so I did the majority of my wedding planning via e-mail and Karol was great about answering all my questions quickly and even provided some thoughts on various ways to arrange the desserts (since we had a large table to fill, we ended up doing two smaller desert towers rather than one large one). I felt that Karol's pricing was reasonable, the desserts were delivered in plenty of time prior to the reception and the displays looked exactly how I wanted them to. All in all my husband and I were extremely pleased. Thank you Cakes by Karol for helping our big day be so special!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hope
Wedding:
8/16/2013
5.0/5.0
This was the best tasting cake I have ever eaten!! It was exactly as I had ordered it. Perfection to a "T" as the picture I chose. Ordering online for a destination wedding you never know what might happen. It was easy to order through Cakes by Karol and she was quick to answer every and all of my questions. I would definitely recommend her to everyone. I wish I lived near her so I could order cakes from her for every occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Cakes by Karol make our wedding cake for our wedding. We had about 40 people attending so we didn't need or want a huge wedding cake. Plus, coming from New Orleans, we couldn't take any home with us. The cake was beautiful! It was a small two tiered white butter cream cake with purple orchids and swiss dots. It looked exactly like the one I chose from the website. I will be honest, I am not a cake fan at all (especially wedding cake) so I wasn't really expecting to love this cake but I did! The cake was delicious and everyone raved about it! We did have some left over if anyone is wondering about what size to get for about 40 guests. Thank you for the beautiful cake Cakes by Karol!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Karol is amazing! She made the buttercream on our cake so smooth it looked like fondant! The banana and dulce de lechce cake is beyond words. We finished the chocolate with raspberry for Lunch the following day.
AND she makes ice cream cakes! I had a grooms cake made as a surprise for my husband. She copied the retro phillies logo perfectly on top of delicious homemade ice cream.
Definitely use Karol for your wedding cake (and ice cream cake!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.8/5.0
Gave us exactly what we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We picked an off-white cake with sugar shells around it for our Key West boat wedding. Reasonable prices, delicious Pina Colada cake with vanilla buttercream frosting and pineapple filling. We put on our own cake toppers (clown fish!), very easy to order and work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1340666997915-dannykelly6712293
Kelly
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Our cake was the best cake I ever had in fact I ate 2 pieces during our wedding reception!!! Very beautiful and very pleased with how it turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol did a great job with my cake. Super easy to work with, and delivered as planned. The cake was delicious and looked exactly like I had imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Ordered a cake from cake by Karol for my April 12th wedding of this year. I sent them a picture of what I wanted and it came out exactly how I wanted it! Easy ordering process as well as an amazing cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenniffer
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding cupcake tower was beautiful! I chose something from their portfolio but there were a few details that I wanted different. Cakes by Karol was more than happy to make any changes that I wanted to the original design and all the cupcakes were delicious! All the guests raved about how good it was and the mini cake at the top of the tower was delicious as well. I had zero issues with this vendor and would recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
I LOVED my Cake by Karol!

Before the wedding, evaluated a CbK and another vendor.

My experience with the other vendor was that they were inflexible and expensive.

I went to CbK as recommended by Casa Marina and I am so happy I did.

I brought a photo of my exact cake, which had a gorgeous ribbon draped on it. Karol did it at no additional charge where the other vendor wanted an addition $400!

The day of the wedding, the cake was delicious (highly recommend coconut cake with keylime fill and buttercream frosting!) and my guest are still complimenting me on it.

Can't wait to share the photos with Karol when they come back!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1331836623863-sanddollarsandstarfish
Lizz M.
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Carol provided our wedding cake & cupcakes and they were SO GOOD! They looked beautiful too. All of our guests loved them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
2/2/2013
4.9/5.0
I have Celiac's Disease and Cakes by Karol made a beautiful and tasty chocolate wedding cake for us. Karol was easy to communicate with long distance. She even delivered the cake to the Tropical Inn where were staying. I was impressed and pleased with good the cake look and how great it tasted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
12/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol provided the most beautiful and wonderful cake for our wedding on December 28th. I appreciated so much the ease of this experience, and being able to count on the cake being delivered in a timely fashion. It was so lovely and matched our colors perfectly, AND was without a doubt the most delicious wedding cake I've ever eaten!
Top that off with great price and excellent customer service. This is the BEST place to get your wedding cake in Key West!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1355849761989-photo1
Alexis
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was so perfect and beautiful! We selected different flavors for each tier and they were all absolutely delicious! We highly recommend Karol and her cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicky
Wedding:
11/23/2012
4.9/5.0
The Team at Cakes by Karol were wonderful. We were planning my daughter's Key West Destination Wedding from New York and Cakes by Karol was always responsive to our numerous questions. They coordinated the flowers for the cake with Lily Bee Florist and provided "take-home" containers for the guests. We had a small topper cake and an assortment of "dessert shooters" and cupcakes - they were all delicious. I would highly recommend Cakes by Karol.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol was contracted directly through our venue, so while we didn't have any direct contact with their team, they did an amazing job on our cake, and it was DELICIOUS! In my experience, usually wedding cake tastes "meh" at best. Since we didn't have a tasting beforehand, my husband and I were both visibly shocked when we fed each other pieces of cake during the cake cutting at our reception. Our guests raved about it as well. The wedding cake was actually the least of our concerns during the planning process, so we simply sent our venue contact a photo of the cake we liked for them to pass onto Cakes by Karol, picked out the flavor and the filling and hoped it would turn out at least decent. The end result far exceeded our expectations and it looked perfect. If only every other aspect of wedding planning required such little effort and ended up with such a great result :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christen
Wedding:
11/3/2012
3.8/5.0
The cake itself was excellent! It was moist, tasted great, and was the exact design we wanted. We rated professionalism so low because they initially lost proof of our deposit and we were told to pay it again. The emails we received from them seemed short and snippy, when they were at fault. We then e-faxed them a copy of the receipt we had and cleared it all up.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol exceeded our expectations. Both the taste and design were fantastic. Everyone loved our cake and could not get enough. The cake was moist, delicious, and perfect for our small wedding. Planning a destination wedding can be stressful, but Karol made it very easy. She was prompt with her email responses and she even sent a tasting to us in Chicago! I really wanted a key lime cake, but my husband was unsure. If we were not able to taste the cake, we would have chose a safer cake flavor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1344873917996-fbavatar2595596
Lindsey
Wedding:
8/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol did such a great job on our wedding cake! It turned out absolutely beautiful and tasted delicious. It is hard when planning a destination wedding to not be able to see what you are ordering or do any taste testing. I browsed their website and found the perfect cake. I called and my cake was ordered in 5 minutes. They helped me to choose the perfect cake flavor and icing. I was told that my cake should feed 50 people and we would still have the top layer to take home. The cake was huge! I think it could have fed 150 people. Great value for the cost. They delivered the cake for me on the day of the wedding to the reception site and it turned out perfect. There was so much left we got to enjoy it the rest of the week! I would highly recommend this company to anyone having their wedding in the Key West area!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chantel & Jesse
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved our cake & so did all our guests. We chose the red velvet, delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol did a beautiful job on my wedding cake. Planning a destination wedding is stressful but working with Cakes by Karol they made picking out my cake design and flavors stress free. I recommend them to everyone. You go with them you won't regret your choice I promise!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1344011759198-fbavatar2578182
Katie
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
As I was planning my destination wedding I had to depend on reviews to pick many vendors. If you are getting married in Key West, look no further for your wedding cake! Cakes by Karol made our cake just as we asked and it was not only beautiful, it was the best cake I have ever had! We had a white chocolate cake, raspberry filling and buttercream icing and it was to die for. Emails and calls were return promptly and delivery of our cake as flawless. I had gotten three different quotes from three different bakeries and Cakes by Karol was priced right in the middle of the other two quotes. Over all value, I have to say is second to none!! Cheers
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1353908089906-img2233
barb
Wedding:
6/25/2012
4.8/5.0
We loved our cake! Our Bridal party had Mango Calla Lilles for their flowers and Cakes by Karol was able to match the color for the sugar Calla Lillies they used on our chocolate frosted tier cake and they matched the Guava color of the Bridesmaid dresses for the fondant ribbons that cascaded from the tiers. Not only was it beautiful it tasted great and some guests even asked for a second piece! They also sent us a box to hold the top tier of the cake that we wanted to save as part of a family tradition to eat on our 1st anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat&Sean
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Karol is so wonderful! Cakes by Karol provides the most delicious cakes and desserts and the options are endless! She is easy to work with, beyond talented, and very professional. The monogrammed cupcakes were soooo cute! I highly recommend satisfying your sweet tooth with Cakes by Karol
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1336933471396-542066101008376974944271262556353333396491080640n
CClark
Wedding:
5/7/2012
5.0/5.0
SOOOO wonderful. The cake and cupcakes were the best I have ever tasted and they were EXACTLY what I wanted. I am a destination bride without a planner, I emailed them photos of what I wanted and they delivered perfectly. The cake was on time and I didn't even have to think about it the day of my wedding! Thank you so much Cakes by Karol... you guys rock! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmyClare73
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married in Key West April 14, 2012. Our wedding cake from Cakes by Karol in Key West was amazing! It was beautiful and DELICIOUS! The buttercream frosting and filling were to die for! We've been married 12 days and I've already called to have the same flavor cupcakes as our cake delivered to Wisconsin as a surprise to my husband! I would highly recommend Cakes by Karol!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristilee44
Wedding:
4/13/2012
5.0/5.0
We went with cupcakes instead of a wedding cake and they were awesome! We chose 4 flavors: key lime with raspberry filling, rum cake with pineapple filling, chocolate cake with peanut butter cream frosting and traditional red velvet, along with some key lime cookies on the side. They were a huge hit, none left at the end of the night. They were delicious and decorated to match our colors perfectly too with little sugar palm trees on them. We would absolutely recommend Cakes by Karol to anyone for a wedding cake or in our case cupcakes!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris and Jill Woodard
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
DELICIOUS.... that is what I have to say about Cakes by Karol. Karol made my three tier wedding cake and it was beautiful. So beautiful in fact that all of my guest kept commenting on that fact that it was to pretty to cut, however after it was cut they all said that they were glad that we did because they got to enjoy the deliciousness that was hiding in all that beauty. I really loved my wedding cake and wouldn't have changed anything about it. I can't wait until next year when I pull that top tier out of my freezer and get to enjoy it all over again. Thank you Karol you are amazingly talented :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg20
Islamorada Bride
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.7/5.0
We chose a dessert tower with a mini wedding cake on top for our wedding. We decided since not everyone likes cake, to go with a variety of desserts. We had mini chocolate mousse shooters, strawberry shortcake shooters, and key lime tart shooters. Everyone thought they were tasty and were a nice change from your everyday wedding cake. They also make for a nice treat to take home. I like that Cakes by Karol offers many different options for a wedding dessert. Whether it's wedding cake, dessert shooters, or cupcakes you want...this is definitely the place to go with. We wanted something unique and different from the norm and they were the perfect choice. The tower looked lovely on display. They are a bit pricey, but overall I was still very happy with my choice.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mls
Wedding:
3/2/2012
5.0/5.0
This cake was beautiful, matched our colors and setting perfectly. AND DELICIOUS! White cake with key lime filling and butter cream frosting that was so smooth it looked like fondant. I would highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dovi
Wedding:
2/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I was very happy with the wedding cake, not only it looked great it was delicious!!! I have picked the Key lime flavor with raspberry filling. The cake was delivered on time. I definitely recommend this vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rissa
Wedding:
12/18/2011
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing 3-layer / 3-flavor cake as well as utilized Karol for bacon brownies, and everything was amazing. The tasting was fun and the cakes tasted great and looked beautiful! Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KHewy
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
The cake tasted amazing and was simplistically beautiful!! Exactly what I wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
SAB
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
As a non traditional bride, we opted to go with a full dessert spread in place of a wedding cake. Karol provided the most amazing treats for our guests from the expected Key Lime Pie flavors to Bacon Brownies (yes, that is right bacon brownies). We setup our desserts from the start of our reception with a cute sign that read "Life is Short...Eat Dessert First" and our guests followed that lead! not a crumb left, and it was a hit!! Thank you Karol!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
11/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Booked our wedding through wedding to go key west who used cakes by carol our cake looked amazing and was delious ..thank you
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1323725498465-mg2342
Rachel
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.7/5.0
Oh-so-delicious! We ordered a tiered cupcake display and small 6" cake top the week of our wedding. They went above and beyond to accommodate our order on a busy 11-11-11 wedding weekend. Everything was delivered on time and totally tasty! The only issue we had was completing the paperwork over email...the forms were impossible to print with all the necessary information on the same page--a very small complaint for such an overall pleasurable experience. Would definitely recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy
Wedding:
10/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Awesome!! I am an amateur baker at home. I really wanted to make my own cake. Since we had a destination wedding, that was out of the question. I know we have old had the typical, dry wedding cake. You take one bite and never finish. This cake was nothing like that!! Delicious!!! The best cake I have ever tried! We were to far from home to be able to keep our top tier. I'm not sure it would have stayed in our freezer until our 1 year anniversary. The design was exactly what we described. They were very easy to work with. I would highly recommend to anyone loooking for a fabulous cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cori
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol made our cake and cupcake tower for our wedding. The flavors were heavenly! We had a carrot cake with a tower of cupcakes in vanilla with raspberry filling, key lime with key lime filling, chocolate with peanut butter filling and red velvet with cream filling. Everyone loved the cupcakes, my husband and I ate on the carrot cake for a week while we were still in the Keys and it was moist and delicious every day that we stuck our plastic forks into it. I'd hire Cakes by Karol in a minute and highly recommend their services. Karol was wonderful to work with and super responsive. You won't be disappointed with their delicious cakes and cupcakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L
Wedding:
9/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Our Cake was just a small one but was just as beautiful as a large one...very yummy too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiff n Josh Horton
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
From the very beginning Karol was amazing to work with. We live here in Key West, so rather than go into her shop for a tasting, she made us serveral mini cupcakes in different flavors and then gave us all of her fillings. It was great. The cake was one that I found from a magazine so she had never done it befrore. It came out looking exactly like the picture. We chose her Rum Cake with Pineapple filling and everyone raved about how great it tasted! The entire time we were planning, Karol was very quick to respond to emails and so flexible with our requests. Thank you so much for helping make our day perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Our butterfly design came out gorgeous. And everyone really enjoyed the layers of Margarita cake with Key Lime filling and Chocolate cake with Chocolate buttercream filling, all topped with Ivory buttercream frosting. Beautiful and delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
The best cake I've ever had. And made exactly how I wanted. It was gorgeous and delicious! They had it ready and waiting for us at our reception. Very quick to respond to my emails/calls before the wedding. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C&K Harvey
Wedding:
6/21/2011
5.0/5.0
The cake was absolutely perfect!

It was the talk of the wedding and we cannot thank you enough!!!

It was literally perfect duplicate of the picture on your website and that says a lot about you and your business! Its hard to find people that take so much pride in their work and you are certainly amongst the best. By the way, it actually tasted as good as it looked!!!!

Thanks again Karol and we are beyond happy that you could make our special day even more memorable!!

I STRONGLY recomend Cakes by Karol if your getting married anywhere in the Keys! Our wedding was in Islamorada and the delivered all the way from Key West.

A++ in my book!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christna
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Carol was FANTASTIC. For my wedding I had two cakes made: Wedding and Groom cake. They were very flexible and when I wasn't sure about something I could call and speak to them. All I did was send them pictures and asked them to recreate it. They were able to do that without a problem at a great price. They were even able to make a 3D construction crane cake - my husband loves them. It was an unusual request but they did a wonderful job. Everyone thought it looked great. The cakes not only looked great but they tasted good - very moist. The wedding cake was white chocolate with raspberry filling and the groom cake was coconut with pineapple filling. DELICIOUS.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chuff
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The cake was AMAZING. It looked and tasted great! My planner was involved in the details and had recomended Karol. She was easy to wok with. I didn't have to go into much detail she knew exactly what I wanted. AND it actually tasted great! She also did several mini-deserts for us and they were spectacular as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/4/2011
4.6/5.0
Beautiful cake!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Haley
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Cakes by Karol. They made my wedding cake and it was beautiful. I received lots of compliments from the guests. It was a key lime flavored cake with raspberry filling and it was as delicious as it looked. They were always quick to answer emails and very accommodating to my requests. They made ordering a cake very easy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorien
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.8/5.0
Overall a fantastic experience with Cakes by Karol. I submitted a photo of a designer cake that I found, and they were able to recreate the cake very well! It wasn't an exact replica, but it far exceeded my expectations & the abstract floral cake topper they made was better than the original photo. I would highly recommend Cakes by Karol - their follow up is amazing & they go over every detail with you. The final cost of my designer cake was a bit pricey due to all of the sugar pearls, but it was well worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1305242861919-23025016744472679411440235180312912477911803n
Mrs Young
Wedding:
5/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Thank you so very much for our beautiful and delicious cake. Everyone LOVED it. The flavor was great, it was so beautiful. Aside from the top tier which we saved, there was no cake left. Thank you so much. Your prompt response to emails made planning our destination wedding that much easier.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1303866243595-1001188
The Other Mrs. Barr
Wedding:
4/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol came highly recommended to us by Eileen from Weddings to Go! My groom and I chose a Key Lime flavored cake with butter cream frosting. We picked from one of the many designs online and had it tailored to what we wanted. First of all we couldn't believe how beautiful the cake was. Secondly, it tasted absolutely amazing. It was so good, instead of feeding each other one bite we ate a whole piece while our guests waited. While the price was a little more than I originally had hoped to spend, it was worth every single penny!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1303854057126-justinedonweddingwww.njohnstonphotography03
Justine
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
I have never really been someone who likes cake, so to me it was just something that was traditional to stick the adorable cake topper on. That was until I had the samples from Cakes by Karol! Her cakes and all the fillings are AMAZING! Her decorating skills are also top notch. I had wanted a plain fondant cake with a ribbon tied around it because I had never seen a bow made of fondant that looked real. The fondant bow she put on my cake was so convincing, the catering staff tried to remove it when they were serving the cake. As far as the prices, it is not the cheapest place on the island but is the best quality. I sampled cake at two other bakeries on the island that where more expensive ANC not near as good. If you are picky about the taste and appearance of your cake, you can't top this place!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1302788563536-img1220
Sally
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Karol, Nick and I would like to thank you so much for an amazing and beautiful wedding cake. Not only did it look as we expected it tasted even better. Your flavor choices are top notch. Planning a destination wedding is not easy, but you prompt emails and phone calls made the communication process a piece of "cake". Honestly if you are planning a wedding or any other even in Key West use nobody other than cakes By Karol!!! Thank you again for helping to make out day sooooo special, our guests can't say enough good things.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
barbnscott
Wedding:
4/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a cupcake tower and top 6inch round for our wedding cake. It was amazing! Guests loved the red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and the chocolate with dulce de leche--we ordered more than our # of guests and not one was left over! For our top tier, we chose key lime with strawberry filling--we cut it at our wedding and then distributed it at our post-wedding brunch--everyone raved about it as well. Ana was most helpful in the selection of our flavors and was very quick to respond to my questions via email.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caluri
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol did an amazing job on our wedding cake. I planned a destination wedding completely online and Cakes by Karol was recommended to me by the woman who was performing our ceremony. I wanted a design that was not shown on the Cakes by Karol website so I simply e-mailed a picture to Karol to give her an idea of what I was looking for. The cake turned out even more beautiful than I had imagined it would. This vendor is easy to work with and does an amazing job.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lcy2512
Wedding:
4/2/2011
4.6/5.0
“Cakes by Karol” is AMAZING! We ordered from Karol on recommendation from our wedding planner, and we are so happy with her services! We ordered a three-tier round Wedding Cake, and a two-tier square Grooms Cake for our wedding weekend in Key West. Our wedding cake comprised of one tier of margarita cake with key lime filling, and key lime cake with raspberry filling for our second tier (we haven’t cut into our third tier yet....but know it will be delish!!) and every bite was mouth-watering! All of our guests raved about how good our cake was, they went back for seconds and even took leftovers back to their hotels with them! I'd highly recommend working with Karol and Cakes by Karol if you are planning a wedding in Key West, you won’t be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
3/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I planned my Key West destination wedding from Atlanta,GA. So I communicated with Cakes By Karol through phone & email,I originally emailed a photo of the cake I wanted and was told it will be done. My cake was delivered for free at our reception site & the cake was PERFECT! I was so thrilled and we had a fondant icing and it was actually delicious. (I have never had a fondant iced cake that I liked) I did visit a different cake shop in Key West and they were going to charge much more for the exact same size cake I got at Karol's for a good bit less. Thank You Cakes by Karol for making me the perfect wedding cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Larisa
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Karol did a great job for our wedding cake! We picked features from a few different cakes that we saw pictures of and she put it all together for us perfectly! It was exactly what we wanted! And it was absolutely delicious!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.3/5.0
I found this business online when I was looking for wedding cakes. We were having a destination wedding and I liked some of the designs on her website. I contacted her via email and explained to her what I was looking for. We went very non traditional. (A small cake with cupcakes). We are big basketball fans and we asked if she could do the cupcakes with the icon of our favorite teams. She thought it was a great I dea. I sent her the icons that we wanted and the day of the wedding all of the cupcakes had them on it. It made the wedding very light and more unique. The cupcakes tasted great. The price was a little bit too much for the quality of the cupcakes and the amount of work that went into them but it was still unique for us and it made up for it! We would definately use her again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1252976824046-picture183
vhughes001
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.7/5.0
Karol was so great to work with and my cake was beautiful and delicious. Her flavors are great, we ordered a Key Lime cake with Raspberry filling and our guests loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smile
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I had a custom cake made for my husbands 40th birthday. I sent them how I wanted it to look and they did a great job! They provided great customer service and the cake looked and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AnnetteK101010
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Perfection! Even though this was planned over the phone and using their website for our cake. It was PERFECT! Not to mention, delicious. We ordered the Key Lime/Coconut combination. We received so many compliments on the cakes flavor and look. Thanks for making this so easy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimberly
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Karol was great to work with. My husband is not big in to sweets, but Karol had some amazing flavors that he ended up loving. She is easy to work with and to get along with. My cake was amazing and came out just the way I wanted it to. I changed my mind many times as to what I wanted and Karol worked with each one until I got my mind made up 100%. She was amazing and I will use her again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sfriends
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
I used Cakes by Karol for my wedding cake. The cake was absolutely lovely. I ended up changing the design of my cake after meeting with Karol and it did not end up being a problem at all. The cake looked and tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Kathleen
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
The cake was great and exactly what we expected. All my interactions were through emails and she was quick at responding. Everyone loved the cake. We were extremely pleased with everything!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robert
Wedding:
7/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol made us a delicious 3-tiered cake. The tasting was a lot of fun too. The final product looked as great as it tasted
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
akm
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol are great. We had a 4 tier wedding cake, a grooms cake and key lime tarts. All were made exactly as I wanted and not only did they look amazing, they tasted amazing! Karol was a pleasure to work with and was accomodating to the many changes I had before the wedding. I highly recommend Cakes by Karol for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tinsley
Wedding:
5/25/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are from Texas, so it was a bit difficult planning a wedding in Key West. However, the employees of Cakes by Karol were EXTREMELY HELPFUL. They were very attentive as we gave them ideas for the basic design that we wanted. We did not see ourwedding cake until our wedding day, but it was PERFECT and tasted delicious. We HIGHLY recommend Cakes by Karol.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aschwoegler
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol did an AMAZING job with our wedding cake! They got back to us via email very quickly and confirmed with us all that we ordered. When talking on the phone-they were very friendly too. We did a destination wedding in Key West and so I definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a special cake for their special day! Did I mention that besides making a beautiful cake, it was DELICIOUS too???!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1265159974200-ouijamatt081608
Ouija
Wedding:
4/11/2010
4.5/5.0
Our cake was adorable. It had edible seahorse newlyweds on top and the edible seashells were intricately done and simply gorgeous. Karol always wrote me back immediately and was very friendly, professional and accommodating. It cost us $200 for a two tier cake which i thought was a bit pricey, but overall we were VERY happy with the end result! I highly recommend Cakes by Karol.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicki
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Karol was absolutely amazing! She catered to every need we had, including the taste test we did which involved myself, my husband, and both of our mothers. She was very nice, professional, and gave us every opportunity to see and taste everything she had to offer. With that being said, we were able to choose the perfect combinations for our delicious wedding cake! It was absolutely gorgeous and it exceeded the beautiful image I had in my mind, which I thought was impossible to do! We tasted cakes at two locations, and this was, by far, the best place!!! Thanks again Cakes by Karol!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caseyfisher7
Wedding:
2/27/2010
4.7/5.0
Karol's cake was beautiful and delicious. My work hours made it a little difficult to reach her via phone, but she was always responsive to emails. And on the day of the wedding, she delivered the cake right on time! I would definitely recommend her to others!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
renny813
Wedding:
2/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Karol you are the best!! Our cake was so beautiful and just how I imagined! We found Cakes by Karol online and on our vendor list from Ocean Key Resort, it was a destination wedding for us, and every guest raved over the cake. Thank you so much Karol:)

Lauren & Brad
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rebecca
Wedding:
2/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Karol was absolutely amazing! She was professional, responsive and her cake was over the top! I wish that I had a piece right now. You will definitely will not be disappointed with her service or her product. She is the jewel of KW.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keywestbride
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Wonderful wedding cake and groom's cake provided by Karol. It was so beautiful and exactly what I pictured. She made sure I got the exact cake that I wanted. We loved them. Highly recommend Cakes by Karol!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charlotte
Wedding:
9/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol was WONDERFUL!! I brought in a design and Karol worked with it, and it turned out exactly how I envisioned! Not only was it beautiful, but it tasted amazing! Karol was by far my favorite vendor from our wedding. She was so kind and one of those people who was a joy to get to know. I would recommend the Cakes to anyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissa_jamesg
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.7/5.0
Had a 3-layer off-white fondant cake with key lime filling and lime green ribbon around bottom of each layer. Came out exactly the way I wanted based off a picture I found online. Coordinated cake through Great Events Catering- tasted great and looked great! Would highly recommend the key lime filling and if having outdoor reception, might want to consider fondant instead of buttercream (it held together well in the heat and kept for a few days after with refrigeration).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Great cake company they do a great job.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Karol is amazing! I called 10 days from my wedding to order my cake and I was so happy Karol could fit me in. I ordered a small single tier with cupcakes and it turned out beautifully. The Key Lime cake flavor was delicious and the buttercream frosting was sweet and satisfying. My whole family raved over it. The design was exactly what I wanted and I couldn't have asked for more.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
The cake and cupcakes were beautiful and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1286731455018-cali031
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
For our wedding we didn't want cake. I know a little odd. But Karol was open to making us a rice crispy treat cake with buttercream icing. I was so impressed as soon as I saw it & the reaction from our guests was so cool! It looked like a cake but there was a little surprise inside. The crispies were perfect! We also had a surprise cake topper for my husband and Karol was more than flexible working with my close friend to get the topper delivered & in place with no problem. I really appreciated the willingness to work with my special requests. As far as I'm concerned there is no other option when it comes to a Key West wedding cake baker!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

DEALS

2 tiers Wedding Cake Special for up to 40 people for $200.00 Free delivery in Key West
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
A 2 tiers wedding for up to 40 people decorated with fresh orchids, white vanilla butter cream icing and swiss dots. $200.00 Choose a cake and filling flavor: Cake: Vanilla, Chocolate, Key lime, Butter, Almond, Red velvet. Filling: Strawberry, Raspberry, Chocolate, Vanilla.
Deal #WWd684754fad78b7ff
220x220_1338915578060-208

MAP

 
533 Eaton St #102, Key West, FL 33040 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cakes by Karol Key West
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo