130x130_sq_1269495681849-cellphonephotos014

cakes by megan

Annandale , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Annandale, VA US 22003 (map)

PHONE

703-624-3531

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
7/4/2014
4.5/5.0
We really loved our cake from Cakes by Megan! We got strawberry shortcake and it was DELICIOUS. We had a smaller, 3-tiered cutting cake and then sheet cake in the back. We heard lots of compliments on how tasty it was. And we had about half a sheet left over that went immediately at the brunch the next day (I may have had 3 pieces)! Our only complaint is that the design was not exactly what we thought we were getting. We went for simple, but we thought we would have a navy ribbon and some pearling. There was no pearling, so it was very plain. And we forgot to put our fresh flowers on it. But most importantly it tasted fabulous, was a great price, and was delivered on time and unscathed! We would recommend Megan and would use her for cakes in the future. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kseniya
Wedding:
5/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Megan was amazing! She was very accommodating to our schedule for the tastings and we had a specialty request of Pavlovas! She gave us several different options and they we delicious! All of our guests loved them! She communicated throughout, came herself to set up, and paypal option of payment is always easy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We were very pleased with the cake and customer service provided by Cakes by Megan. Her prices were extremely reasonable and the cake was beautiful and delicious! Megan provided a tasting for me, my mom and the groom, walked us through the pricing of cakes and cupcakes, and helped us decide on a final design for our cake. Based on my research of other vendors, her prices were the lowest-- plus the prices included a very beautiful design.

Megan was also very accommodating for the day-of plans. The week before the wedding, we delivered fake flowers to her house which she used to decorate the cake, as it was an easy way to save money. She also helped us by taking the cake knife, server and our toasting flutes to the reception venue, and set them out on the cake table and sweetheart table as we requested. We certainly did not expect her to set these up for us, and for her to be so helpful made us feel even better about selecting her as our vendor.

We were very happy with Cakes by Megan-- Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We found Cakes by Megan online; Megan responded very quickly and provided a cake tasting at a time that worked with my husband's work schedule, as well as mine. Megan is a wonderfully talented cake baker/decorator and has the warm friendly personality to match. We loved meeting with her and describing what we envisioned for our wedding cake. The cake was delivered with perfect timing and was exactly what we wanted; elegant and delicious!!! I will definitely call her again for future events.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I was absolutely thrilled with my cake. It was gorgeous. The height, the look, the color, and the taste turned out beautiful. Many people at the wedding commented on how good the cake was. Thank you Megan you did an outstanding job. I am so proud of how beautiful the cake was. I will always remember it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.7/5.0
6 weeks away from my wedding I decided to order a surprise Groom's cake for my husband. Megan came through with the last-minute request and delivered BIG TIME!! She made him a 3-D Redskins helmet cake filled with Peanut Butter Reese's - his favorite!! It looked amazing and he was totally surprised!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. Everyone raved about our cake! The photographer featured it, as he loved it as well!
Megan was so personable- she came to our house for the cake tasting! Her price was unbelievable! She gave us more options than we thought we could afford... and the cake was THE most amazing cake either one of us have ever tasted! Hands-down I would recommend her to any bride and groom without a doubt. We tried other places, and Megan was the best taste, value, personality and design.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.8/5.0
The cake was delicious, beautiful, and exactly what we had in mind when we planned everything with Megan. The tasting was a lot of fun (naturally), and she had a ton of flavors to choose from (we were able to have a few different cake/icing combinations for the different tiers, which was great). The value was unbeatable, and we actually didn't have any cake left over, so I'm assuming the guests enjoyed it as well!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1334513103815-naveenandabbastopimages1016
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
It was great working with Megan. Our wedding theme with chocolate and raspberry so the cake was extremely important! She did a fantastic job and it was delicious! She also made us an anniversary cake and it brought us back to our wedding day! Thank you so much Megan!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisabeth
Wedding:
7/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Despite a power outage the day before the wedding that knocked out the whole region, Megan still managed to mix our cakes in the dark and then bake them when the power came back on (thank goodness!!). I think that alone qualifies her for 5 stars!

But in addition to feats against power and other catastrophes, Megan is also a lovely person. Our tasting at her home was fun and helpful. She had a whole book of pictures to help us find something we liked for the design, for which we didn't really have an idea. And the cake is delicious! Amazing, totally amazing cake. We were very happy with the three flavors we tried, but kept it to 2, almond and lemon, for the actual cake. It was beautiful, tasty, and perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1338299932664-weddingcopy
Julie
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.8/5.0
Megan's cake was absolutely delicious and looked gorgeous!! We received many compliments on both the look and the taste of the cake. Thanks!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
5/6/2012
4.9/5.0
Megan's cakes are beautiful, but more importantly, (in my opinion, at least) they are delicious. The flavor combinations she offers go beyond traditional wedding cake flavors and are especially great for any brides out there that don't like plain vanilla. My friends had her make an assortment of cupcakes for my bridal shower (the cheesecake cupcake was especially amazing) because we had such a hard time picking only two flavors for our cake.

I felt like she really listened to all my ideas during our consultations, and the cake looked even better than I imagined. It matched our colors and our theme perfectly and the (gum-paste?) flowers looked almost real. On top of everything else, she was very reasonably priced. We're looking forward to having her make us a cake for our one-year anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghann
Wedding:
10/23/2011
4.6/5.0
This was by far the second best thing about planning our wedding! We had 3 cake appointments and each had their pros and cons... except for the last place. She did an AMAZING cake tasting. Cakes by Megan in Auburndale, VA...First of all, she had 6 PAGES OF FLAVORS... ranging from strawberry Grand Marnier to chocolate chip. She told us to pick out 3 flavors and there would be a small fee for any extra tasting flavors. I wanted a full spectrum so I chose 5. My husband CHOSE 1 FLAVOR OUT OF ALL OF THEM... and it was chocolate chip. I could have smacked him (Breathe in, breathe out) but I let it go. So, we show up at the location and it is at her house. Her wonderful mom answered the door and showed us in to the sitting room. She was running a little behind, so my mom, dad, husband, and I sat chatting for about 10 minutes. Megan was in the kitchen tinkering away... and I thought to myself, what could she be doing? It's just going to be 5 pieces of cake.
OH NO! She walked out carrying two top tiers of a wedding cake! And went back in the kitchen and came out with 2 more! And then another! OMG. She gives you a top tier of the wedding cake to try and you get to take the rest home with you! Her flavors were fabulous and she is so friendly. I couldn't wait to see our our wedding cake. We even took the leftover cakes with us to Florida and had his parents try some too!

The only grumble was that in the contract it states that we wanted dark purple grapes cascading down the cake and when it arrived - they were green and light purple. No big! Cake was delicious and I would highly recommend her services.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shazathomas
Wedding:
9/25/2011
2.8/5.0
She did a great job with our cake tasting and had a couple different cakes for us to try and send home with us, but she had us meet us in her home which was very unprofessional, in my opinion. Also, she completely messed up my cake. My groomsmen cake was delicious, but didn't quite turn out as expected. My wedding cake was a different story. It was supposed to be all white with 3-4 yellow and gray accent flowers and the whole cake came this hideous shade of yellow with hideous dark grey flowers and tasted so incredibly dry. Everyone commented that the groomsmen cake was delicious but the wedding cake was dry and they did not care for it. I cringe everytime I look at the pictures of my cake with the non matching cake topper. When I complained she wasn't very responsive and said she would get me a free cake when our baby was born and for our 1st anniversary. She was very rude in dealing with us about both of these, and the baby cake she sent she said would have a baby theme, instead it was a beach themed hot pink cake with a hibiscus flower on it and was literally only the size of my hand. Now we are attempting to deal with her about getting our anniversary cake to look like the top tier of our wedding cake so we could at least have some pictures and she's been very short, unresponsive, unhelpful, rude, and unwilling to do that for us. In my opinion, I would save your money and get your cake done by a professional. Not a rude woman who is working out of her home as a 2nd job. At the time, the price seemed good to me, but not at the price of getting the wrong cake and having to deal with such a poor business woman. I also recently found out my friend got her cake from her and received it in the wrong color as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything from the initial communication to the tasting to the actual day was wonderful. Megan is extremely talented and very helpful in visualizing what a couple is looking for. She created a beautiful and delicious display of cupcakes with a small top layer for cutting. It was exactly what I'd hoped for. If you're in the DC Metro area and are having a wedding or special event, I highly recommend you use Megan. I would definitely use her again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Megan did a wonderful job on our wedding cake. The cake wasnt just the average cake you would see at a wedding. It was a castle with bears and dragons and tons of detail. THe cake looks beautiful and the taste was wonderful. Every one of our guests wanted seconds!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dslominski
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.8/5.0
Megan made the most delicious red velvet cake for our wedding in November with vanilla buttercream frosting and cream cheese filling. We met with her at her home a few months before the wedding to try 3 sample cake, all the size of a top tier of a wedding cake. We decided upon red velvet and she gave use the leftovers to take home, at no cost to us. We wanted to use ribbon around the bottom of each layer, as well as some flowers on the top of the cake and cascading down the side. Megan designed our cake exactly as we wanted it and got it to the reception right on time for the florist to add flowers to it. The overall cost was extremely reasonable given the size, quality, and taste of the cake. All of our guests raved about our cake. Megan's cakes are affordable with great attention to detail and amazing flavor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sfurst
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Megan is a great place to get your wedding cake! Megan makes amazing cakes, with both traditional and fun flavor combinations.

If I could give her a 10 on the flexibility, I would. She met with us just a few weeks before our wedding, after our first cake provider's business burned down. For our convenience, she met us in a park (seriously!) and she brought plastic plates and knives and five cute decorated cakes. She was amazing.

Our guests loved our cake and we definitely made sure to grab a piece because it was just soo delicious! Pretty sure the groom had about three pieces whenever he got a chance! Highly recommend cakes by megan!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1241618161468-ny2008web
Rebaann
Wedding:
8/7/2009
4.7/5.0
Megan's cake was fantastic. She made three fully decorated 4" tasting cakes for us to sample (yes, we got to take them home). For our wedding she created a top tier and what seemed like a million cupcakes. Her flavors are just amazing and the sugar flowers that she used to decorate the cupcakes were beautiful. She delivered the cakes to our reception site the day of the wedding. They cost a little more than I had planned to spend but they were so worth it. My only comment is that she was sometimes hard to get a hold of via email (the way I prefer to do business, since it provides a written record) and I didn't receive a copy of my contract after I asked for it. Fortunately, I didn't need it for any reason, but I would make it a point to make sure I got one in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eugenia C.
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Mehan is great! Her cakes are so moist and delicious. She made our cake exactly how I described it to her. She also made my cake for my surprise bridal shower and it was fantastic. Not only can she make cakes for weddings and bridal showers but for other party needs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tdhilton
Wedding:
3/21/2009
4.8/5.0
Megan made a cake that was not only beautiful, but also tasted wonderful! We received many compliments on the way it looked, but also that it was remarkably moist and delicious. Megan give me personal attention and delivered a cake that I loved. I would definitely recommend her.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
5/3/2008
5.0/5.0
Megan provided a beautifully made cake. She gave us extra ("free") cake layers and her flowers workmanship was fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
3/29/2008
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was amazing and Megan was very easy to work with. We had a little bit of an untraditional theme because we got married in Las Vegas and wanted a theme cake. Megan worked really hard to make sure that our cake stuck with the theme but still looked like a wedding cake. It turned out better than I could have imagined and tasted just as good.

Thanks Megan for making our day special.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazing! I have been to a lot of weddings where the cake was beautiful, but it didn't taste great. Our cake both looked great and tasted great. I am still getting compliments from our guests on how much they loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Annandale, VA 22003 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for cakes by megan
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo