Nophoto-130

Cakes by Stephanie

Menomonee Falls , WI

LOCATION

Menomonee Falls, WI US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
3.6/5.0
3.7/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/13/2013
4.6/5.0
She had one of the best prices that I have ever seen. She made a beautiful cake for us. Everyone said it was delicious. She was very flexible on the details that we wanted for our cake. The only two negative things is that she delivered the cake on the day later than was expected. She can be hard to get a hold of at times too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.6/5.0
Stephanie provided great examples and was easy to work with. There were no hidden costs with her and she provided a lot of the details for the cake that would be extra at other places. The cake tasted amazing and my aunt who doesn't eat cake loved it. I would go back to her to have her make another cake for me if I could find a reason! We are talking about having her make a sample cake again for our 1 year anniversary since we choose not to save our top layer.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.8/5.0
Cakes are outrageous, but I found Stephanie to be EXTREMELY reasonable. We went to her house, she showed us pictures of cakes she had made, she gave us samples to try, and went over all the details. She was very nice. I would recommend her. She will also drop off the cake at the venue for you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
blodge19
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Cakes by Stephanie offered a delicious cake with a very affordable price. We did a small cake with cupcakes to avoid a cutting charge...Stephanie offered several suggestions to make our vision come true. The cake table was decorated beautifully and the cake and cupcakes were delectable. The only thing I wish was that I actually got a whole slice of.cake not just one bite at the reception and the hall served the.entire.two-tier cake--guess it gives me an excuse to have.Stephanie make us a fresh anniversary cake!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsCurtis
Wedding:
5/19/2012
1.7/5.0
I hired Stephanie to make my wedding cake and groom's cake. She was initially hard to get a hold of, but once we had a tasting, the cakes were delicious so we decided to go with her. We picked out a lovely upside down c scroll design and for the groom's cake I showed her a picture of a cake shaped like a Nintendo NES (consol with 2 controllers on top). She requested I email the picture to her which I did. Months go by and about 1 week before the wedding, she contacted me about the final payment and when I asked about the groom's cake and a special gluten free cake I requested for a guest, she had no idea what I was talking about. We put her final payment in the mail and I emailed her the same Nintendo cake picture I had emailed her the first time and had shown her at the initial consultation.

On the wedding day, my husband and I saw the cakes after she had left. The groom's cake I was very specific about was only a pair of poorly done controllers and no consol and our cake looked quite sloppy. The upside down c scrolls I was looking forward to were sloppy arches. And before we cut the cake, a crack formed in the bottom tier and the cake started to lean forward. I couldn't believe what a horrible job she had done. The cakes tasted delicious, but it looked like something I could've just done myself and saved the money.

Yesterday, I emailed Stephanie only mentioning my disappointment in the groom's cake hoping she'd offer a refund seeing as I made my wishes well known. She responded today only saying that she didn't know I wanted the consol (which I specified several times) and pretty much blew me off without even offering a refund. Overall, I very much regret hiring her and I wouldn't refer my worst enemy to her.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1311953987251-keep2
Jacquelyn
Wedding:
10/14/2011
5.0/5.0
The best cake I have ever had! So reasonably priced and delicious! We received a TON of complements on the cake flavor and style.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1294375252035-080
Liz
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.7/5.0
If you are looking for reasonably priced cakes that taste delicious, Cakes by Stephanie is best choice. Stephanie bakes out of her home enabling her to provide very competitive prices for her cakes (about 1.60 per slice). Not only is the price unbeatable but the cake tasted delicious. On out wedding day the cake was delivered just as we ordered it. It was a three tier cake with hearts and dots on alternating layers with purple ribbon at the base of each tier and patch of fall colored leaves on the side. It looked well done and tasted delicious! When Stephanie sent our contract there were several mistakes regarding name, address, and number of guests, but she corrected them immediately. She was also difficult to get a hold of via phone and email, but eventually she would return calls. She was much more readily available as the wedding date got closer. I would describe myself as a pretty laid back bride so the slight difficulties in communication and lack of attention to detail on the contract did not ruin my experience with Cakes by Stephanie because in the end she created a beautiful cake just as we wanted it that tasted fantastic.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RKuemmel
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.1/5.0
Stephanie was difficult to get in touch with, because I preferred email. I never received my contract, but also moved in the middle of wedding planning (but did not receive it with forwarded mail either). We were worried up until the last few weeks when we got in touch and met with her to finalize every thing. She is very nice and makes a delicious cake. We asked for a grooms cake to look like a tux, which really didn't turn out well decoration wise but still tasted delicious. If you use her- just be sure to call her and make sure you have your contract to avoid unnecessary worry.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/18/2011
3.7/5.0
Very helpful and kind. Good value for what you get. However, the cake did NOT look very well done. Corners were beginning to bend and designs were a little sloppy. But in this case you pay for what you get. Very good tasting. Lots of options for flavors with no extra charge.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Choua
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.0/5.0
Stephaine was a great help to our wedding. If you're looking for a resonable pricing for your wedding cake, i would recommend that you go with Cakes by Stephanie. She does bake from her own home, but that's how she keeps the price at a low price of $1.75 per person. Lots of options and flavors to choose from. All of our guest loved the cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Julie
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.4/5.0
Our cake was AMAZING. We paid $1.75 per slice and it rivaled cakes in looks and taste that cost double the amount per slice. We are so happy that we heard about Cakes by Stephanie. She listened to the exact design that we wanted and she even dyed the artificial flowers to match the bridal party flowers. I would recommend Stephanie to anyone who is looking for a great cake (even if they're not on a budget like we were). I wish I had the ability to upload a picture because it was beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pott0084
Wedding:
7/23/2010
2.0/5.0
I used Cakes by Stephanie for my reception cake in August. Unfortunately I cannot give her a good review.
Initially, she was great. Got us our cake samples (full cakes!) and answered our questions promptly. Then once it got to be closer to our event (around 4-6 weeks before), it appeared to fall apart. She rarely answers emails which for today's brides is a must! That's how we communicate with everything that is going on! When my mother and I sent her my cake design request via email, she said she could do it (I wanted a 3-layer square cake, with one ribbon around each cake, and tri-dots around the entire cake) but when she sent us our "contract" (which we had to beg her to produce) it was completely wrong and with information from other brides in it. She did eventually correct the errors when I called her and reproduced the 2nd contract 2 weeks later. My mother contacted her several times via email and calling her to ask her how much the rest of the cake cost so she could pay it. Stephanie did eventually get back to her and said that she would send the information to me. Very frustrating.
Then, when the cake arrived to my event, I thought it was a joke. I had seen her work before (which was great) and this was not the same. The frosting was uneven, you could see where she didn't frost under the ribbon through the ribbon since it was pink & yellow, and the tri-dots were sloppy. Even my husband couldn't believe how it looked. The only positive out of this whole experience is the actual cake itself - it was still really tasty.
Overall, her cakes are delicious but her management of orders and replies need work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.2/5.0
We really liked working with Stephanie. The cake was very tasty for a very reasonable price. As other reviewers stated, she could be more professional. She was slightly pushy at the meeting, but she has lots of experience and is not afraid to display it. Overall she got the job done, the cake was beautiful, delivered in a timely manner, and cost hundreds less than a similar cake from another vendor. We would work with her again and have recommended her to friends already.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
DEBBIE
Wedding:
5/16/2009
2.0/5.0
I had my doubts on this one but kept my mouth shut as we walked into Stephanies house. WHAT A Pig Stye!!!! We should have walked right out!

The cake was delivered timely but it looked terrible. Very sloppy workmanship. Could see in between each layer. Just wasn't very nice.

This was the only disappointment on the wedding day thank goodness, so all I can say is: DO NOT USE THIS WOMAN.

I wish we would have checked around alittle more and paid a little more since money was not really a problem.

Put cake top in freezer according to her directions and through entire thing way because it tasted terrible.


Very Disappointed MOB :(
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephannie42
Wedding:
2/7/2009
5.0/5.0
She was awesome!
Her cake was well priced, very tasters, and very pretty.
We liked her so much that we are going to have her make us an anniversary cake next year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mochadee
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.7/5.0
I called Stephanie 6 days before my wedding, she was very profession and gave me all my options with it being last minute. I was so happy on the day of my wedding when she showed up on time with a beautiful cake (3 tiers). I left all the details up to stephanie Color, # of people to be served and price and i let her handled the rest... Thanks Stephanie..
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
xsquealx
Wedding:
5/6/2008
0.0/5.0
We had an appointment to meet with this vendor. After standing outside her FILTHY home for more than 15 minutes, ringing the doorbell, knocking on the door, and calling the vendor, we decided to leave. As we were getting into the car, the vendors husband asked if we were there for anything. We got in the car and left. On the way home, we received a very rude and snobby message from the vendor saying shed do fine without us. Ridiculous. Avoid at any cost.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Beautiful cakes at a good price..
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lovely
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.4/5.0
I love Stephanie's cakes. She did a very good job on my cake. I had three tiers and two cakes on the side with a bridge attached. On the bridges were my bridesmaid and groomsmen on each side.

It was beautiful she did a very good job and the taste was excellent and right to day I still order from her. We were pleased. After my wedding day my co-workers/friends also used her for their weddings.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elric
Wedding:
8/9/2007
0.2/5.0
The cake tasted a lot like Play-dough smells.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mz.Wilkes
Wedding:
9/8/2006
5.0/5.0
This lady was awesome!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thefischers3
Wedding:
6/24/2006
5.0/5.0
I HIGHLY recommend Cakes by Stephanie. Stephanie is an awesome person to work with, very friendly, very flexible and accomodating and she has amazing talent. Her cakes are 10 times better tasting and looking and half the price of every other cake vendor I reviewed. Everyone ranted and raved about our cake that night and two years later they are still talking about how good it was!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Incredible value!! Stephanie was very nice to work with and delivered exactly what we were looking for. Plus, the cake tasted amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cakes by Stephanie
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo