130x130_sq_1230421747176-0005

Cakework

San Francisco , CA

LOCATION

613 York St
San Francisco, CA US 94110 (map)

PHONE

415-821-1333

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

CAKEWORK was created in 1985 when a background in sculpting met a passion for baking. Our cakes have been widely published in major wedding books and magazines, and we have been featured... Read more
CAKEWORK was created in 1985 when a background in sculpting met a passion for baking. Our cakes have been widely published in major wedding books and magazines, and we have been featured on The Food Network, The Today Show and all of our local television networks. Cakework is known across the country for producing masterful and innovative works of art and we are always stretching to create a contemporary slant on cake design.

Lifelike delicate flowers are sculpted petal by petal in white chocolate, sugar bubbles are hand blown to order, color swatches are matched to perfection, and new ideas are always welcome.

ALL OF OUR CAKES ARE WRAPPED AND DECORATED IN CHOCOLATE. White Chocolate is typically what we use to wrap our cakes and it can be tinted to match any shade. We also work with dark chocolate or poured ganache glaze. We can customize a design tailored to your theme whether it is simple and sophisticated, wild and whimsical, or spectacular and glamorous. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1229045430588-brown_swirl
130x130_sq_1229045409338-blue_bow_cupcakes
130x130_sq_1229045475229-yellow_ruffle_cake
130x130_sq_1229045463104-red_stripe
130x130_sq_1229045468166-tiffany_cake
130x130_sq_1229045430025-chocolate_striped_cake
130x130_sq_1229045461260-mehndi_pearl_cake
130x130_sq_1229045464760-striped_strawberry_cake
130x130_sq_1229045468604-white_swag_cake
130x130_sq_1229045909025-red_swirl_cake
130x130_sq_1229045909057-fig_cake
130x130_sq_1229045912494-mini_cakes
130x130_sq_1229045916338-gold_gardenia

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We do tastings in our shop.
What are your tasting hours?
The hours for our tastings are posted on the ABOUT page on our website.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our wedding cakes start at $10.00 per slice and the pricing is based on the design elements of each cake.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
The top tier is included in the number of guests the couple is serving.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We are a custom design bakery and all of our innovative designs are newly created for each event. We do not duplicate the work of other designers, but can put our twist on a design to tailor it in our style.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We use the freshest ingredients on the market. We make everything from scratch so you can taste the individual components of each flavor. All of our cakes are entirely wrapped and decorated with chocolate.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
We work on parts of the cake all week, so it is a 3-4 day process.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
We never do more than we can handle. The number depends on how elaborate the details are, the size of each cake and the travel time to each of the venues. Generally we do 4-6 wedding cakes a weekend, along with many smaller occasion cakes.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Since we sculpt our decorations in chocolate, we rarely use fresh flowers on our cakes, to keep the entire cake edible. We will work with the florist if the couple prefers fresh flowers.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We have beautiful cake pedestals and plateaus that we rent.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
We deliver all of our larger cakes. The delivery charge depends on the traveling time to each venue. In San Francisco we charge $50.00. Smaller cakes can either be picked up or we can use our courier to safely deliver them. Please call us for details.

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We described exactly what we wanted and got exactly what we wanted. Most cake companies only offer Fondant or Butter Cream frosting on their cakes. We wanted NONE OF THE ABOVE. She has this wonderful WHITE CHOCOLATE frosting that was out of this world. This lady is top notch through and through. She is well known, not just locally but on a National level. I would recommend Cecile Gady (CakeWork...singular, not plural, one word) to anyone for any event. Be patient. She is in high demand. Pricing is what you would expect. Our cake had 4 layers and 3 different flavors....one being CHEESECAKE, and the layers alternated square then round. How cool is that? Delivered on-time, displayed perfectly. I can't say enough about this company. Thank you for making our perfect wedding cake. We will be eating our top layer in less than a month to celebrate our 1st anniversary. Thank you again from Michael & Kim Rukavina
We described exactly what we wanted and got exactly what we wanted. Most cake companies only offer Fondant or Butter Cream Read more...
We described exactly what we wanted and got exactly what we wanted. Most cake companies only offer Fondant or Butter Cream frosting on their cakes. We wanted NONE OF THE ABOVE. She has this wonderful WHITE CHOCOLATE frosting that was out of this world. This lady is top notch through and through. She is well known, not just locally but on a National level. I would recommend Cecile Gady (CakeWork...singular, not plural, one word) to anyone for any event. Be patient. She is in high demand. Pricing is what you would expect. Our cake had 4 layers and 3 different flavors....one being CHEESECAKE, and the layers alternated square then round. How cool is that? Delivered on-time, displayed perfectly. I can't say enough about this company. Thank you for making our perfect wedding cake. We will be eating our top layer in less than a month to celebrate our 1st anniversary. Thank you again from Michael & Kim Rukavina Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Irla
Wedding:
9/4/2012
4.8/5.0
Our wedding invitations were WORD of MOUTH! I only had 3 weeks to plan my wedding in SF (vacation home rental, venue, transportation, wedding cake, dress, etc). My husband and I live in San Clemente, CA and recently got married at the SF City Hall on Tuesday, Sept 4, 2012. We wanted to be part of history of where Marilyn Monroe & Joe DiMaggio got married. It was initially suppose to be just me and my husband getting married. After some thoughts, we decided to invite just family & close friends (total 18 guests).

We narrowed our wedding reception to the Bistro Boudin at the Wharf. Thank goodness, the private dining room was available on Tuesday, 9/4/12. Valerie, the Special Event Manager, was so nice about booking it for us. I also asked her if she could recommend a Cake Chef and without hesitation gave Cecile high remarks. I've never met Cecile and we just communicated by phone and emails only. I did some of my research before and based on her http://yelp.com reviews and her website, I was convinced that she would do a fantastic job on our wedding cake.
We decided on Tiffany Blue Gift boxes wedding cake with TODAY Cheesecake flavor. I also wanted calla lilies, instead of white roses to match my wedding bouquet. She just took care of everything for us- how to get the cake to the Bistro Boudin.
My guests, husband and I were so intrigued by the delicate calla lilies, silver leaves & pearls and white chocolate bows. The cake was just beautiful!! We didn't want to touch or eat it! It was just precious! We were very happy, everything turned out beyond our expectations.
Thank you Cecile for making our special day complete! You have made our wedding day very memorable!
I will definitely be looking you again.... I can't thank you enough for making our personalized wedding cake.
Our wedding invitations were WORD of MOUTH! I only had 3 weeks to plan my wedding in SF (vacation home rental, venue, Read more...
Our wedding invitations were WORD of MOUTH! I only had 3 weeks to plan my wedding in SF (vacation home rental, venue, transportation, wedding cake, dress, etc). My husband and I live in San Clemente, CA and recently got married at the SF City Hall on Tuesday, Sept 4, 2012. We wanted to be part of history of where Marilyn Monroe & Joe DiMaggio got married. It was initially suppose to be just me and my husband getting married. After some thoughts, we decided to invite just family & close friends (total 18 guests).

We narrowed our wedding reception to the Bistro Boudin at the Wharf. Thank goodness, the private dining room was available on Tuesday, 9/4/12. Valerie, the Special Event Manager, was so nice about booking it for us. I also asked her if she could recommend a Cake Chef and without hesitation gave Cecile high remarks. I've never met Cecile and we just communicated by phone and emails only. I did some of my research before and based on her http://yelp.com reviews and her website, I was convinced that she would do a fantastic job on our wedding cake.
We decided on Tiffany Blue Gift boxes wedding cake with TODAY Cheesecake flavor. I also wanted calla lilies, instead of white roses to match my wedding bouquet. She just took care of everything for us- how to get the cake to the Bistro Boudin.
My guests, husband and I were so intrigued by the delicate calla lilies, silver leaves & pearls and white chocolate bows. The cake was just beautiful!! We didn't want to touch or eat it! It was just precious! We were very happy, everything turned out beyond our expectations.
Thank you Cecile for making our special day complete! You have made our wedding day very memorable!
I will definitely be looking you again.... I can't thank you enough for making our personalized wedding cake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jyoti
Wedding:
11/6/2011
4.8/5.0
We got a delicious and beautiful GLUTEN FREE wedding cake at Cakework. Sometimes it is hard to find something GLUTEN FREE on the market that has the same quality as a wheat product - but it is certainly not a problem at cakework. Our guests loved the cake!
We had a great experience with Cecile, the owner and the main pastry chef, she is available and easy to get along with and her work is just amazing. We will certainly keep her in mind for birthdays and other events, too :).
We got a delicious and beautiful GLUTEN FREE wedding cake at Cakework. Sometimes it is hard to find something GLUTEN FREE Read more...
We got a delicious and beautiful GLUTEN FREE wedding cake at Cakework. Sometimes it is hard to find something GLUTEN FREE on the market that has the same quality as a wheat product - but it is certainly not a problem at cakework. Our guests loved the cake!
We had a great experience with Cecile, the owner and the main pastry chef, she is available and easy to get along with and her work is just amazing. We will certainly keep her in mind for birthdays and other events, too :). Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Lisa
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.0/5.0
i definitely recommend cecile's cakes. they are moist and delicious. she isn't very responsive because she is so busy but we were lucky that our coordinator had a good relationship with her and handled all of the logistics with her. she has a great eye for design.
i definitely recommend cecile's cakes. they are moist and delicious. she isn't very responsive because she is so busy but Read more...
i definitely recommend cecile's cakes. they are moist and delicious. she isn't very responsive because she is so busy but we were lucky that our coordinator had a good relationship with her and handled all of the logistics with her. she has a great eye for design. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/15/2010
3.0/5.0
Cecile helped me create a beautiful, modern and stylish cake for our wedding! I was very happy with the results.
Cecile helped me create a beautiful, modern and stylish cake for our wedding! I was very happy with the results.
Cecile helped me create a beautiful, modern and stylish cake for our wedding! I was very happy with the results. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mday5681
Wedding:
3/6/2010
5.0/5.0
If there is one thing EVERYONE talked about after my wedding, it was the cake. Not only was it a work of art (several guests thought it was a scultpture), but it was the tastiest cake I have ever had at anyone's wedding. The first thing you need to know about this baker, is she does not use fondant. She creates incredible cakes using chocolate. Don't worry though, you can get any flavor combination you want. Although I highly recommend the chocolate cake with orange chocolate mouse. We ordered a three tier chocolate boxes cake with semi sweet chocolate "wrapping paper", and white chocolate ribbon. The pricing is very reasonable when you realise the quality of cake you are getting. And I can't forget to mention the service is great. Cecile really has everything under control. I had to plan my wedding from 600 miles away, so all my consultations were over the phone, and I always felt taken care of. I guess you can tell I loved my cake.
If there is one thing EVERYONE talked about after my wedding, it was the cake. Not only was it a work of art (several Read more...
If there is one thing EVERYONE talked about after my wedding, it was the cake. Not only was it a work of art (several guests thought it was a scultpture), but it was the tastiest cake I have ever had at anyone's wedding. The first thing you need to know about this baker, is she does not use fondant. She creates incredible cakes using chocolate. Don't worry though, you can get any flavor combination you want. Although I highly recommend the chocolate cake with orange chocolate mouse. We ordered a three tier chocolate boxes cake with semi sweet chocolate "wrapping paper", and white chocolate ribbon. The pricing is very reasonable when you realise the quality of cake you are getting. And I can't forget to mention the service is great. Cecile really has everything under control. I had to plan my wedding from 600 miles away, so all my consultations were over the phone, and I always felt taken care of. I guess you can tell I loved my cake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kadyg
Wedding:
12/31/2007
4.4/5.0
We hired Cakework to provide cupcakes for 100. The level of detail they showed to each cake was amazing. I got married in the "off" season, so I felt like I really had their attention the entire time. My guests are still talking about the beautiful cakes that were almost too pretty to eat.
We hired Cakework to provide cupcakes for 100. The level of detail they showed to each cake was amazing. I got married in Read more...
We hired Cakework to provide cupcakes for 100. The level of detail they showed to each cake was amazing. I got married in the "off" season, so I felt like I really had their attention the entire time. My guests are still talking about the beautiful cakes that were almost too pretty to eat. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nadirmonkey
Wedding:
10/20/2007
3.6/5.0
We had cupcakes and a small cake for our wedding, and while things were a little pricey, I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setup. Also, they were very good at helping me come up with what I wanted, I went in with a color scheme and not much else, and came out with a creative plan that was everything I wanted but couldn't articulate well.
We had cupcakes and a small cake for our wedding, and while things were a little pricey, I couldn't have asked for a more Read more...
We had cupcakes and a small cake for our wedding, and while things were a little pricey, I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setup. Also, they were very good at helping me come up with what I wanted, I went in with a color scheme and not much else, and came out with a creative plan that was everything I wanted but couldn't articulate well. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg2
sfgirl100106
Wedding:
10/1/2006
2.5/5.0
They created a beautiful cake for us, but it tasted no where near as good as the cake tasting. The wedding cake itself looked great, but was dry and tasteless. Until we were booked, they were pretty responsive, but once booked I had a hard time getting them to return my calls.
They created a beautiful cake for us, but it tasted no where near as good as the cake tasting. The wedding cake itself Read more...
They created a beautiful cake for us, but it tasted no where near as good as the cake tasting. The wedding cake itself looked great, but was dry and tasteless. Until we were booked, they were pretty responsive, but once booked I had a hard time getting them to return my calls. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
613 York St, San Francisco, CA 94110 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cakework
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1230421747176-0005