130x130_sq_1317142480342-reservesign

Californos

Kansas City , MO

LOCATION

4124 Pennsylvania
Kansas City, MO US 64111 (map)

PHONE

816-531-1097

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Californos is a one-of-a-kind Midtown Kansas City wedding facility + bistro & bar in walking distance to Hotels, historic Westport, Plaza, Monuments, Churches & Parks.

We... Read more
Californos is a one-of-a-kind Midtown Kansas City wedding facility + bistro & bar in walking distance to Hotels, historic Westport, Plaza, Monuments, Churches & Parks.

We cater, host wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, showers & much more!

Find out more on our website, today! Read less
Catering , Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1317151097594-teplybridegroom1003
130x130_sq_1317147322388-caliifornosjunewedding177
130x130_sq_1317145325584-baseball117
130x130_sq_1317143654462-baseball060
130x130_sq_1241545606636-ballroomatcalifornos
130x130_sq_1241544840574-californos1
130x130_sq_1317146962511-caliifornosjunewedding151
130x130_sq_1317143757345-baseball061
130x130_sq_1241545609558-outdoorcocktailsatcalifornos
130x130_sq_1317146979842-caliifornosjunewedding154
130x130_sq_1317143870351-baseball062
130x130_sq_1317146997517-caliifornosjunewedding156
130x130_sq_1241561336250-californos3
130x130_sq_1317143962329-baseball063
130x130_sq_1317147014443-caliifornosjunewedding157
130x130_sq_1241561343109-californosfacility
130x130_sq_1317144371206-baseball089
130x130_sq_1317147052975-caliifornosjunewedding161
130x130_sq_1317147032711-caliifornosjunewedding158
130x130_sq_1317147071711-caliifornosjunewedding171
130x130_sq_1317147092147-caliifornosjunewedding172
130x130_sq_1241561354921-ceremonydecksetup
130x130_sq_1241561396875-californos2
130x130_sq_1317147111475-caliifornosjunewedding174
130x130_sq_1317147203375-caliifornosjunewedding175
130x130_sq_1317146944118-caliifornosjunewedding185
130x130_sq_1317147438467-caliifornosjunewedding178
130x130_sq_1317145252404-baseball115
130x130_sq_1317147537122-baseball120
130x130_sq_1317147555608-caliifornosjunewedding179
130x130_sq_1317147631159-baseball122
130x130_sq_1317147651767-caliifornosjunewedding184
130x130_sq_1317145755068-baseball129
130x130_sq_1317147842914-baseball127
130x130_sq_1317146071718-baseball144
130x130_sq_1317150114917-09577459
130x130_sq_1317150169814-259kelly.raymg4918
130x130_sq_1317150218704-263kelly.raymg4928brown
130x130_sq_1317150222807-brideandgroomdancing
130x130_sq_1317150258609-californos2
130x130_sq_1317150283023-caliifornosjunewedding001
130x130_sq_1317150306938-caliifornosjunewedding003
130x130_sq_1317150341180-caliifornosjunewedding006
130x130_sq_1317150360415-caliifornosjunewedding012
130x130_sq_1317150396155-caliifornosjunewedding016
130x130_sq_1317150414079-caliifornosjunewedding018
130x130_sq_1317150445716-caliifornosjunewedding026
130x130_sq_1317150466511-caliifornosjunewedding029
130x130_sq_1317150498007-caliifornosjunewedding032
130x130_sq_1317150526508-caliifornosjunewedding065
130x130_sq_1317150560938-caliifornosjunewedding068
130x130_sq_1317150587629-caliifornosjunewedding069
130x130_sq_1317150612683-caliifornosjunewedding074
130x130_sq_1317150634117-caliifornosjunewedding076
130x130_sq_1317150663102-caliifornosjunewedding094
130x130_sq_1317150691292-caliifornosjunewedding095
130x130_sq_1317150697313-carolynandanthony
130x130_sq_1317150700308-dd0072
130x130_sq_1317150701697-dd010
130x130_sq_1317150723162-dsc00902
130x130_sq_1317150745190-dsc01963
130x130_sq_1317150768278-dsc02626
130x130_sq_1317150792614-dsc03451
130x130_sq_1317150815343-dsc04020
130x130_sq_1317150838306-dsc04138
130x130_sq_1317150864701-dsc04218
130x130_sq_1317150908756-img4555
130x130_sq_1317150968520-img4623
130x130_sq_1317150983979-r0014
130x130_sq_1317150992403-r0021
130x130_sq_1317151006646-r0026
130x130_sq_1317151018908-r0029
130x130_sq_1317151029297-r0031
130x130_sq_1317151043072-r0044
130x130_sq_1317151056831-r0052
130x130_sq_1317151066379-r0087
130x130_sq_1317151082306-r0106

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, French, Italian, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Kosher, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
3000

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My (now) husband and I were so happy with Californos! Aaron was just fantastic to work with, and we always got a response within one business day -- if not within hours. I had a million questions, and he was patient and friendly and answered them all without getting frustrated. He also accommodated several special requests that I had. While some of them came with a price tag, there was nothing that we were refused and the prices of my "extras" were not unreasonable.

What attracted me to Californos was the all-inclusive packaging. Dealing with hiring a bartender, renting linens and coordinating a caterer was just more than I could handle... The space matched my rustic-yet-classic theme perfectly with wooden floors, brick walls and funky light fixtures. And the food is amazing. I had several guests tell me that it was the best wedding food they've ever had (and I agree). For the price, it simply cannot be beat.

The only con is that if you have more than 100-ish guests, they'll be split between two rooms. That's just a limitation of the space though, and it worked to our advantage because some of our older relatives migrated to the non-DJ room for peace and quiet.

I would highly recommend Californos!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Californos was the perfect venue for our reception! The space itself is beautiful, Mig and Aaron are very helpful, and the FOOD is AMAZING! Our guests are still commenting on how amazing the food was! Everything was seamless and perfect!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Californos. We used them for our ceremony venue, reception venue, caterer, cake maker, and they provided sound equipment. The event space itself is beautiful with exposed brick and beautiful beams in the ceilings. We had about 125 guests and it was the perfect size since we could all fit in the big ballroom. Anymore than that and they would have split our guests among the other rooms. We had the 10 piece heavy Hors d'oeuvre and heard rave reviews from our guests about the food. We had gotten to try about 12 items at our tasting and loved everything. We also had our cake catered from Californos. We had initially decided this for a convenience but after trying other cakes theirs really stood out.

Our only complaints was the heat of the ballroom once the dancing started. The staff made it seem like it wasn't any easy fix to cool down the room when it was 50 degrees out that evening. A simple opening of the window would have helped. But it did eventually cool off. Secondly, they kept coming up to me and my husband to ask us questions throughout the night. Even if we were speaking to guests. We were pretty low maintenance so asking us if we should eat then or in 10 minutes didn't matter to us and only annoyed us. That is just one example of the many questions that was asked that night.

Aside from that, we truly loved our experience with Californos and our wedding was pretty perfect. We would definitely recommend this venue for someone looking for a beautiful event space!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Californos is amazing (food, environment, location)! The staff at Californos are very professional and made the wedding planning process go smoothly! I'm very happy that I selected Californos for my wedding ceremony and reception!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I gathered information on options and pricing from caterers all over the KC metro area before meeting with Aaron from Californos.

From the start, Aaron was accommodating and friendly — we never felt pressured for their business. He was open to all of our questions and concerns (and had experience and knowledge to reassure us). Californos offers an incredible heavy hors d’oeuvres menu – you get to choose 10 items from this list, with the Mixed Grill being your main entrée. The mixed grill was a big hit with our guests— it is a combination of beef, chicken & shrimp with vegetables over rice. We had quite a few vegetarians at our wedding which complicated the food planning initially, however the selections that Californos offered made the choice so easy!

Not only is the food amazing, but Californos has perfected the art of beautifully displaying food! Our appetizers were just as decorative as the pictures on our event space walls! The endless compliments we received about the food on the night of our wedding was just what we needed to confirm that yes, indeed, Californos is the best!

Contact Aaron Barksdale-Burns, the VP of Sales and Marketing at Californos, right away. Californos is a well-known and loved caterer in the KC area!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
You can't beat the value - outstanding food (we're still getting compliments about it), bar package, and everything else. They make their packages simple and comprehensive, not to mention affordable. Great event team to work with too.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing Amazing Amazing!! Everything went off without a hitch and I was never worried that Californos wasn't going to make it happen. This is an awesome space for any event and I am SO glad I was able to have my wedding there. They have the best menu anywhere in KC and the most unique in house made creations. Everyone we spoke to after the wedding commented on how awesome the food was which isn't an easy feat for a wedding! You get to sit down and have a tasting to pick out all the food for your event which was really nice because it's hard to decide on what you want when you haven't tried it before! Such a great place and I would highly suggest it to brides for a wedding or any other event.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mackenzie
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue was amazing! I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful place to hold my wedding. In addition to that the staff was incredibly helpful and worked tirelessly to make my day perfect. Any crazy idea that I had, they executed it. My guests raved about the food and the venue. I couldn’t imagine getting married anywhere else. Thanks Mig and Aaron for making our wedding perfect!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Californos responded with the following comments:

Thank you Mackenzie,
we too had a terrific time, congratulations on the exciting close to a long engagement! Please come see us and enjoy the restaurant again soon! Your event was beautiful and we were lucky to have you here!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
3/2/2013
0.0/5.0
What a nightmare this place ended up being. We had our wedding there this past weekend. Dealing with the staff and event planners was a dream up until they were paid. After they had full payment, it went downhill fast and hard.
We chose the venue because we had been to several weddings there, and enjoyed them. The food quality at our reception was disappointing to say the least. It went way downhill from our previous experiences. Worse than that, after about 1/3 of our guests went through the buffet, it was almost empty. After that, the buffet was never more than half full. I paid for a 10 item buffet, but most of my guests had five items to choose from at most. When I talked to the kitchen manager, he told me it was because it is "difficult" to keep food out for 175 people. A ridiculous response, as he basically said they are incapable of providing the service I just paid them for.
I later asked a waitress if a manager was available, and she confirmed that there was no front of house manager in the building that night. So for my wedding of 175 people, they had no management overseeing things. She asked me what was wrong, and I explained that I was frustrated with the lack of food. She told me that I had no idea what I was talking about, that I was wrong and that everything was perfect, then she stormed off.
I called the owner/manager on Monday to discuss the issues, and I was shocked when he got on the phone and told me he was unwilling to talk to me. He then accused my 62 year old mother of assaulting a staff member, became very abusive toward me, and then said that it's time for us to part ways and hung up the phone on me.
Tuesday, he wrote my husband to tell him that the person who assaulted a staff member was a restaurant guest, and in no way associated with our wedding, and that he is now willing to speak to us. NO apology for accusing my mother of assault, or for his treatment of me. Stay far away from this venue.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
12/15/2012
4.7/5.0
Californos catered our event and provided bar service. On the actual wedding day, I could not have asked for better service. The staff was helpful, friendly, and professional. The bartenders were very personable and made delicious beverages. I still haven't finished getting compliments on the food. We had a ten item buffet and it was very memorable. In my experience, most guests will either love your food or complain about it...usually, there is no middle ground. Californos food was a BIG hit. There was a variety of options and our initial tasting was wonderful. Although there was some initial confusuion with Californos regarding our wedding/services/pricing, the day of the wedding was everything I could have hoped for!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bailey
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Californos was amazing! We are still getting compliments about how awesome the food was. The whole staff was great from the beginning when we first started checking out spaces. It's family owned and operated and just genuine people who care about the same outcome you do. It was nice only having to bring in the florist, cake and dj. They took care of everything else!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338429602421-12b
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot speak highly enough about Californos! We first chose the space after walking in with no appointment on a Sunday afternoon. The manager didn't hesitate to spend 20-30 minutes with us, walking us through the space and telling us about what they had to offer. We loved the feel of the place - wood floors, iron accents, big drum lights - a funky yet sophisticated vibe that fit us perfectly. We booked it on the spot!

We experienced prompt, friendly and accommodating service and correspondence throughout our entire planning process. They worked with us to make sure we got what we were looking for. And I didn't have to worry about ANYTHING at the reception - Californos' staff was on top of it all! Our guests raved about the venue, and many told us it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding.

If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn't think twice about using Californos for our reception spot!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough positive things about Californos. They were by far my favorite vendor to work with during my wedding. We had a 10 item buffet and everything on it was delicious. They food doesn't just taste great, but they do a beautiful job arranging it. They also did a dessert bar for us and they really went above and beyond. If I still lived in the area I would use Californos for every event. Aaron, Mig and all the rest of the staff were very professional, courteous and made me feel very comfortable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
7/13/2012
4.9/5.0
This venue was absolutely AMAZING. It is certainly not your "traditional" wedding or reception venue, but that is exactly why I loved it. We had our ceremony outside on the patio and it was so perfect. Our reception was immediately following inside the venue. We had around 200 guests and even though there were three rooms of tables, everyone felt like they were a part of the activities.

The number one thing about this venue was certainly the food. Everyone RAVED about the food the night of the event, and they still are two weeks later! There was definitely a lot of food for the number of people that we had, which makes me wish we could have paid a little less. It was very helpful and certainly much less stressful to have everything for the venue, catering, and alcohol all included in one price though.

The staff was phenomenal and VERY flexible with my needs/ requests. I was planning the wedding from Oregon and obviously having it in Missouri, which was challenging, but they were very helpful.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Olivia
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
DELICIOUS! I really didn't want to do the traditional lemon piccatta for dinner, so I turned to Aaron and his team at Californo's. They definitely delivered! Everything was delicious AND it was presented beautifully! I got many compliments on how amazing the food was and I was stuffed! If you want to think outside the box and everyday wedding food, Californo's is the place to go!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1324605693373-laurenmarkeng0791
Lauren
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely PERFECT! I loved everything about Californos! The venue is so unique, the food is delicious and the price is the best in town! We were able to hold our dance out on the back patio and it was absolutely everything I could have wanted! I have heard so many compliments about how neat the venue was and how delicious all of the food tasted. Aaron and Eve were so great to work with throughout the planning process. They were extremely responsive, nice and just a joy to be around. We will continue to frequent Californos for dinner and drinks but I would recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angie
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Californos. The food was AMAZING (people are still talking about it). The staff was extremely helpful and truly made us feel like family. The actual venue was perfect - brick walls, wood floors. I could not ask for a more perfect reception. Thank you Californos!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Californos was a wonderful venue for our wedding day. We had both the ceremony and the reception there. The room flip went flawlessly, the food was AMAZING, the staff accomodating and the bartenders quick and friendly. All of our guests had a fabulous time!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joni
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Californos to cater our wedding and were very pleased with the results! The food was delicious and just what we were looking for! We were able to get a little taste of all different cuisines and have a more elegant menu. They also provided our bar service and did a wonderful job! We really enjoyed working with Aaron and were quite impressed with the results!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1303957023452-markliz102
Liz
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.9/5.0
Its hard to convey how instrumental we felt Californos was to the success of our event. We booked 15 months in advance and bothered them plenty along the way. We had lots of questions from the bride, some from the groom, the bride's mother, the day of planner and the family friend who made our wedding cakes. At no time did we feel like we were imposing or bothering the staff. Aaron and Eve run the events at the venue and were so considerate and helpful. We attended two of their wedding expo/parties and ended up using a number of the vendors they suggested. They only invite one vendor from each category and we felt the experience we had with these companyies was top notch.

We did extensive decorating and Aaron and Eve not only spent a few different hours with us talking about the logistics, but let us bring our decorations early to store, lent a ladders, and let us come in the next morning to take the decorations down. They figured out ways to, within their ability, accommodate our needs.

The food, oh my god, the food. Just go try it, you won't be disappointed. The tasting was fun and everyone enjoyed what was served. We had many compliments! We also had visions of a cocktail hour with specialty beers, pretzels and mustards. When we struck out at other places, we finally asked Aaron what he thought we could do, and with a determined look in his eye, he said he'd get back with us. They provided the specialty beer at a very fair price, some how got pretzels and the set-up was beautiful. They even moved the cocktail hour pretzels into a more common place towards the end of the night. The food at the hour was much appreciated by our friends!

The space in the venue allowed our guests to move around, get outside if needed and those who needed a break from the sound had a respite in the other rooms.

My advice- go into Californos, talk to the staff and see for yourself. We did a lot of searching and it was immediately clear to us that this was the place. They do a number of weddings and get it. We found them to be very professional and warm. Wouldn't change a thing!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ester
Wedding:
5/6/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved Californos from the moment we first visited and met with Eve. Not only is it a very cool space - with all of the brick, wood, and windows, but they are so great to work with! We mostly worked with Eve who was very professional, responsive, and friendly. We did work with Aaron for the tasting and the day of the wedding. He was beyond great as well. We had so many rave reviews on the food. People loved the variety not to mention how everything tasted so good. We were able to add on an extra half hour at the last minute because we didn't want the party to end. The price is so reasonable for what you get!!! If you're looking for a reception spot outside of the norm with loads of charm and and character Californos is the way to go!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julie.niemann
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
A wonderful place for a reception. Aaron and Eve are great to work with and so helpful. The food is amazing and I have heard nothing but good things about it! We had a 350 person wedding and it was a wonderful space and got a lot of bang for our buck! Could not have had a nice place.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peaches
Wedding:
3/4/2011
4.9/5.0
We looked at several places before choosing them. Not only were their prices some of the best but the food is amazing and the venue is gorgeous! We barely had to add anything to decorate the place because it already had that cool urban feel and beautiful wood and french doors. We worked with the wedding coordinator there Aaron- he was so nice! The ONLY reason I'm docking them some points is we talked about where tables and stuff should be set up ahead of time (so we knew that the mic could reach from the DJ table to the bridal party table, people could see, etc) and it ended up not being set up that way at all. Not a big deal- we were able to get the mic to reach anyway. They also forgot to serve one of our cakes- I think they thought it was the same as our wedding cake but it was a different flavor. The wedding and groom's cake was 100% eaten so we really could have used it too. I'm sure if I asked about it they would have had no problem serving it but I just plain forgot! Other than that- we had our ceremony and reception there and it was a perfect venue for us. Such a beautiful place and everyone there is so nice and helpful!! Great price for all you get!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S to the Third
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
What a relief! A interesting, cool place to take care of nearly everything for us with no worries. We had an amazing reception at Californo's. Aaron and his staff are top-notch and they understand what you want and need - they do this all the time. They are true professionals. The food was complimented on all night, and still we hear people talk about it. The ballroom is just the right size to dance, drink and make merry. The Westport room is excellent for housing the food line and cake and a few quieter tables. We decorated the room exactly like we wanted and Californo's was so helpful. The bottom line is THEY CARE. Choose Californo's if you want a hip, quirky, delicious venue for your wedding and/or reception. You'll be relieved too :)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cancunbride
Wedding:
2/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron and Eve were WONDERFUL to work with!! Our reception was absolutely perfect. The food is by far the best reception food that we've had and our guests agreed!! They're still talking about it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
12/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Arron and Eve are AMAZING! They were able to make everything just perfect. When someone first visits Californos, it does not seem like the most elegant place in the city, but it has so much character and so many decorating opportunities. Arron and the team at Californos made my wedding perfect! During the planning, I worried the menu was all over the place-- that the food didn't 'match' But my guests are still telling me how delicious the food was, and just how beautiful and memorable the whole event was. I thank the team at Californos for all of that.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly Wells
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.8/5.0
Everything was amazing! I think it is the most unique event space in the city and the food quality is above and beyond especially for the cost. Aaron was an absolute pleasure to work with made everything very easy. The patio was also a huge hit. My only small issue would be there was a crabby waiter who was not very friendly when our time was up and we needed to be out.....but not really a big deal but would be something to discuss in the pre planning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg17
Katie
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Aaron and the staff at Californos were the best part of our wedding planning experience! They were a breath of fresh air when dealing with wedding vendors! If you've met some of the other wedding factories in Kansas City you'll recognize the difference with Californos right away. They accommodated us at every step along the way and treated us and our families with the utmost respect. You can instantly tell it is a family run business in the way they want to ensure your day is the way you want it to be and not the way they want it to be.

The venue is the perfect mix of laid back elegance. Every guest had a great time and commented on the unique ambiance of the location that made for a perfect reception. I highly recommend Californos!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noelle
Wedding:
7/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Californos was wonderful. They are easy to work with, great food, great prices, great location and wonderful atmosphere. LOVED THEM.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1235424757765-drinks
sstara
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have picked a better place to have my reception. The staff at Californos is exceptional, the food is amazing, and the all inclusive price can't be beat! I would highly recommend Californo's for anything sort of gathering you are having whether it is a reception, birthday, rehearsal, etc.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SBoyle
Wedding:
6/26/2009
4.9/5.0
Californos was wonderful. The people we worked with were quick to respond to any question or request I had, the food was fantastic, and they let us create our own plans for the evening- it wasn't a pre-made schedule that we had to follow. The only downfall was a little mistake at the end of the night about when the bar would close, but that was remedied once I (the bride) spoke with them rather than just my parents.) Overall, I would highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
We had a large wedding of 350 guests. Californo's was with us since we expressed interest in booking with them. They were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the venue so much we decided to eat there several times before the wedding. The food is amazing. The night of the reception my husband and I were treated like royalty. There was little we had to do; they took care of everything. It felt wonderful to be able to enjoy ourselves without worrying about the details. Our guests were impressed with the venue itself and we heard for weeks afterward how wonderful the food was. We consider the coordinator a great friend now and cannot wait to attend someone else's wedding here! Book them!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Californos was the perfect place for my husband and I to have our reception. The venue was beautiful! All staff were extremely attentive and professional. The food was nothing short of AMAZING! We have received and continue to receive compliment after compliment about the excellent food. Californos took care of everything at the reception! There is not one thing that I would change about our service on our wedding night at Californos. My expectations were far exceeded! I would rate this venue a 5++++++!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.9/5.0
We used them for the bridal shower and it was amazing! The food was so good. They really did work with us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Californos. Before booking this venue for my wedding reception, I had never seen the event space only the bistro/bar. The event space used to be an old trolley barn and now it is an amazing rustic space.

I loved the space because of its romantic, but laid back feel. There are three rooms that can be used and even a beautiful patio and outdoor bar where guests can go outside. Because the food is onsite... you rent the space and pay for the food... One vendor for everything makes it so easy! VERY AFFORDABLE, especially after looking at hotels that charge outrageous Hotel taxes, beverage charges and even charge to slice YOUR wedding cake!

The food presentation was amazing and one of the main reasons we chose Californos. After the wedding, I received so many compliments on how delicious the food was... Definitely not the stereotypical wedding food (rubbery chicken and tough beef).

I also want to comment on how great and accommodating Aaron Burns and Eve Rodriguez (Californos event planners) were in planning our wedding. They always responded to phone calls and emails immediately and did everything (and more) they promised when we booked the space!

If I could do it all over again. I would pick Californos in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alxrob
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
We had a great time, thoroughly enjoyed the food and found the service wonderful. We were married on the patio and with quesitionable weather they were ready to handle any situation. Our reception was in the main aeas and the flow of traffic and segmented spaces fit our guests perfectly. I highly recommend thier services.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
William
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Loved Californo's! The location was ideal, the food was fantastic and the staff incredible. Californo's comes highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annie_h
Wedding:
4/19/2008
5.0/5.0
The Californo's staff was responsive and kind. They did an excellent job setting up, and working with the Californo's management was an absolute pleasure. Five Stars!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kc0804
Wedding:
4/12/2008
4.5/5.0
What a beautiful venue for our wedding reception. Aaron did a great job of accomodating our requests as best he could and was great to work with in the months leading up to the event. My only complaint is that they ran out of some of the food selections and the last 20 or so people in line for the buffet did not have as much of a selction. In our tasting appointment we were assured this would not happen. My mother told me after the fact because she did not want to upset me that evening.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
My husband and I loved every single thing about Californos. We had both the ceremony and reception there, and the transition went very smoothly. The food is absolutely AMAZING. The staff is professional and caring. The venue is beautiful. And the price is wonderful. People were stuffed but kept going back for more because the food was so good. We had approximately 100 people attend, and 1 bartender seemed very adequate. Never a long line. I plan to use Californos again for any large party or event we have.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/30/2006
4.5/5.0
We got tons of compliments on the space and everyone LOVED the food. They were supposed to make a menu for the buffet but for some reason that didn’t happen, but it really wasn’t a big issue. We were pretty happy with the service and the bartenders were nice. Aaron Burns was our contact there and he was really nice to work with. Sometimes he needed a little “hand-holding” during the planning but everything came out as we wanted in the end. Californos is very accommodating and patient, I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Kelly made my cake. It was so good we didn't have any leftovers!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Venue

DEALS

Friday Evening Reception Discount!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $500 Value
Act Now to Secure your favorite date in 2012! Californos is booking up fast. Inquire now about our Friday evening reception discount - $5 per person off Saturday bid price
Deal #WW731bd5aeec511faf
220x220_1317145153297-natalielemonceremony
All Inclusive Pricing!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $100 Value
Californos is very special in that the sales tax & gratuity (18% service fee) are already included in your per person bid price. That means that the low price per person covers not only your facility, beverages, food, staff, & much more, but specifically tax & gratuity are already accounted for. This is nothing to be ignored, in fact, it proves that the value Californos provides is superior to that of any other place in Kansas City and beyond. Come find out more in person!
Deal #WW340cede6ff54276a
220x220_1317144798615-teplyceremony1013
Off Peak Wedding Discounts!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $500 Value
Act Now to Secure your favorite date in 2012! Californos is booking up fast. Inquire now about our January 15-March 31, 2012! - $5 per person off Saturday
Deal #WW60c90421b1bb45f0
220x220_1317144614581-spin

MAP

 
4124 Pennsylvania, Kansas City, MO 64111 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Californos
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1317142480342-reservesign