130x130_sq_1260977998291-calihanlogoblue

Calihan Catering

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

833 W. Hanies
Chicago, IL US 60622 (map)

PHONE

312-587-3553

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

An Innovative Approach
Creative vision, uncompromising style and attention to detail.
These attributes have allowed Calihan Catering to produce Chicago’s most
successful,... Read more
An Innovative Approach
Creative vision, uncompromising style and attention to detail.
These attributes have allowed Calihan Catering to produce Chicago’s most
successful, innovative and memorable events for over 20 years. This uncompromising
approach to food and service has allowed Calihan to partner with
Chicago’s most distinguished institutions, non-for-profits and corporations to
obtained unequaled results through the vehicle of entertaining.

Calihan reinterprets familiar, classic recipes with flair
and a touch of whimsy while exploring more avantgarde
trends in cuisine. Paired with uncompromising
commitment to excellence the cuisine is a powerful
tool in enabling client’s goals to be fully realized.
As the city’s most celebrated custom caterer, menus
are created to reflect the distinctive style of each of
its clients. Whether a private dinner party for eight,
an elegant wedding for 200 or a corporate launch
for five thousand our team of industry experts is
committed to providing unparalleled levels of cuisine
and service at each and every event.

Whether entertaining at home, celebrating life’s
events or looking for a competitive edge Calihan
Catering understands that life does not have to be
complicated, just tasteful. Read less
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, French, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2500

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christa
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a problem with or original caterer and had to hire Calihan last second for our wedding. Nit was our main contact and he was the greatest! I give 100% of the credit to Nit for making our wedding beautiful. He went above and beyond the call of duty. He brought blankets for our guests because it was cold outside. He saw my vision exactly and it's because of him everything went so wonderful!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
halley.winer
Wedding:
8/6/2011
3.2/5.0
seriously amazing food... so delicious... and so many options for us to choose from. and they were very helpful coming up with ways to make some of our food vegan for me.

the big however -- the staff are somewhat difficult to deal with. the major issues we had:

- our day of coordinator told some of the staff they could take a couple vases of flowers after the event had ended... we started with around 150 vases and when we went to pick up the few odds and ends the following monday, we went home with about 100... their staff had taken around 50 of our flower vases! and even though they had warned us saying, "you are welcome to leave items here until monday, but things always turn up missing." - okay, thanks for the warning, but all you are telling me is that you hire staff that steal your clients belongings!

- our families/friends are HUGE scotch drinkers, which we told them up front... we asked to substitute the base level scotch with a higher end scotch and instead of raising the cost, we lowered the quality of beer... about 2 hours into the wedding, they ran out of the fancy scotch and were using an even lower level than what was in the original bid... when we asked them about it after the event, they said they felt they provided plenty of scotch based on our guest count. oh well.

overall - we had such a great time and enjoyed the food so much, we can't say they are terrible... just a few items that came up that we were not pleased with.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
msepsey
Wedding:
9/18/2010
1.5/5.0
If you don't want stress up until the very moment you say "i do," DO NOT, and i mean, DO NOT USE CALIHAN Catering!

Prior to our wedding, Calihan tried to charge us tax on top of gratuity, as well as multiple county taxes since our venue was in DuPage County - equating an excess of $4k. My now husband and I had to create an EXCEL sheet illustrating their creative accounting to them, for which we are still battling to get our money back. They throw in hidden charges whenever possible, do not respond to emails/return phone calls.

I think our contract changed so many times, I cried monthly every time I got a new version back, battling for the old one! Their food is awesome, but comes at an emotional and stressful cost. Our contract changed so much, 5 minutes after saying "I do" I had to answer contract questions and battle for them to honor their word. In regards to their contract, READ EVERY WORD, look up the EXACT Definition of the wording they use, because they are very very very slimy.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nataliepeony
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.6/5.0
Calihan catered our wedding reception cocktail hour and dinner. Nicole was an absolute pleasure to work with. The food was top notch and they were very willing to work with our comfort food menu (including our shamrock shake late night snack). They are a full service caterer, and Nicole helped to take care of so many little details. I really felt like she was striving to make things go smoothly and make sure that I enjoyed the day. The food was absolutely delicious and we are still hearing raves from our guests. I would definitely recommend!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bethgraced
Wedding:
6/14/2008
5.0/5.0
The Calihans and their entire staff are extremely professional and unbelievably nice and easy to work with. I truly cannot recommend them highly enough. I can't imagine anyone not wanting to work with them. If I could give them 10 out of 5 stars, I would.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
micki
Wedding:
5/25/2008
4.7/5.0
Nit of Calihan is the exclusive caterer to the Chicago Botanic Gardens.

He was one of the main reasons why our wedding pulled together. He went BEYOND just catering. He helped coordinate many of the details of the ceremony/coctails/dinner/reception, layout, rentals, etc. Whenever my day-of coordinator needed help, he was there to pitch in.

Calihan Catering is a well-known, prestigious catering company in Chicago and has been rated at the top, if not among the very top, for several years. The food/bar/wine selection was fantastic. We had Brazilian Caiparinhas and Lychee/Pomegranate martinis. I loved our appetizers and the presentation was excellent! The tasting was such a fun experience! We asked to have Seabass with Nobu's black bean sauce, as well as Filet Mignon, and they did it! We were on a budget, so the portion size, I'd admit was kind of skimpy. He was very professional and patient throughout the entire planning process. I know I am very demanding and he was able to make most of our individualized requests happen.

The service and food is top notch, but keep in mind, that you do pay for it!
If you've got the money, don't want any worries whatsoever, and have a sophisticated palate...this is the catering company for you.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
8/24/2007
5.0/5.0
If you want THE BEST TOP NOTCH wedding food and service, call Nit and get the process started.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirstin
Wedding:
6/9/2007
5.0/5.0
The food was fabulous, and the prices reasonable for what was included. The wait staff was wonderful and efficient.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JAK
Wedding:
12/23/2006
5.0/5.0
Pam was a godsend! She was knowledgeable, friendly and very resourceful!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We used Calihan Catering for our wedding. The food was amazing! The best part was our wedding coordinator, Pam Swisher. She was an angel and truly amazing to work with.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
I worked with Nicole at Calihan - they were the exclusive caterers at our venue. My family and my guests were blown away by the quality of the food. They prepared stations for us that they had never done before, so it was incredibly unique. I come from a family of foodies, so they were very particular about what the menu would be, and Calihan was wonderful in working with us to develop a menu that was interesting, unique, and above all, delicious!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
833 W. Hanies, Chicago, IL 60622 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Calihan Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1260977998291-calihanlogoblue