Nophoto-220
Cannonsburg Ski Area
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
12 Reviews      1 person has saved this vendor.
Address:
6800 Cannonsburg Rd., P.O. box 19
Cannonsburg, MI US 49306 (map)
Phone:
616-874-6711
Categories:
 
 
 
3.9 
(3.9/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(3.9/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(3.7/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.1/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.0/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/6/2011
 
4.3 out of 5.0
Good prices for the venue and catering, but the food wasn't spectacular. The au gratin potatoes were not fully cooked and were quite runny. The rest of the food was decent, but not amazing.

The bartenders were great and very friendly. The coordinator/cook was mostly friendly and willing to work with you so that you can have things the way that you want them.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
bev
Wedding:
6/25/2010
 
1.4 out of 5.0
I was mistress of ceremonies for a 2006 wedding reception there. Having worked there while I was in college years before, I assured the couple the location would meet her expectations. She grew up locally there too and we love supporting the local community so it seemed perfect. It sounded perfect too. The day of we arrived prior about 2pm and it was really warm... ac not down according to the caged wall thermostat and as we had 200+ guests arriving in a couple hours, I was concerned. I contacted them and was assured that someone would get it down and cooling before guests arrived. NOT... the elderly guests left immediately after dinner not even staying for the cake cutting as it was that hot in there and many others left shortly after the cake. The heat was MISERABLE. Dinner nice and staff were good gals but slow to clear as they did not have enough people working the event. Not the gals fault as the owners/mgt should have scheduled sufficient help. We did have the staff promised but Apparently, the girls were shuffling between party upstairs and ours. They were sweating too. Not so attractive while trying to enjoy dinner. Back to the AC... In fact, people were going outside to cool off. When I asked them to please turn the system down, they said that they couldn't... it(AC)couldn't run nonstop to keep up. Apparently it was an older unit? They were worried it might break? That's why they provided extra fans... I was not pleased. Meanwhile we had the DJ take off his jacket though policy said they didn't as we didn't want him falling out too. His shirt was soaked so we provided him with someones extra from their car. To add to a less than stellar event... I had to twice find someone to refill the punch bowls... and they assured us that they would have the knife to cut the cake but nope... the couple ended up using a butterknife... Unbelievable. To top the chaotic and miserable hot evening off... There were kids from the upstairs party meandering amongst our party and helped themselves to plated cake. I let the kids keep the cake but asked the staff to please return the children to the correct party. This only to have a few very drunk impolite guests come into our reception from upstairs because the bathroom upstairs had a line and said one of the staff told them there was a bathroom downstairs so they didn't have to leave. I felt there should have been some compensation for the couple... that was met with a clueless lack of understanding why we were upset. Oh and by the way... I am not a pessimistic nag... in fact my friends tease me as a marry poppins... but I do have a big sense of right, wrong, fairness and courtesy. The lodge missed on many of these. So when I saw this chance for review... I felt a need to warn you as they are very charming and gracious in many regards but take no accountability if something is not right. Humoring me with a smile did not make it less miserably hot in there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Missing_profile
hsv49321
Wedding:
6/20/2009
 
4.0 out of 5.0
Very nice place. The room was set up beautifully and the coordinator is great. They actually have 2 rooms for receptions, the small one would have been perfect but it was already booked so she comprimised and gave us the larger room for the smaller price. Menu selection is great. I will write more after the reception and let you know how it all turned out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jengib
Wedding:
4/25/2009
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I held my April 2009 wedding at Cannonsburg Ski Resort. At first I was a little afraid of how it would turn out, because the lodge was a bit dirty from ski season. But, the price for booking the room was great! $500 for the big one, and I think $250 for the smaller one. Also the food was fairly priced, and the manager went out of her way to make sure we got everything we wanted. We chose the bigger area as it had a bigger dance floor and we wanted alot of space. We only had around 125 people, but the set up was perfect. The staff from the buffet/wait staff, to the bartender were fantastic. Give this place a try!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
funguyncarl
Wedding:
10/11/2008
 
4.4 out of 5.0
I thought everything was wonderful as far as food, service, and the look but wish there had been more opportunity to bring in our own alcohol. It was very expensive. However, I did love the bartender option for a great cost. I also liked that they are willing to let you do just about ANYTHING with entertainment options and food but wish they had the means to accommodate having round tables in the main dining area instead of renting them for an extra 200.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ajbloem
Wedding:
9/13/2008
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Eerything was amazing!!! we had rain for our wedding day, and wendy changed eerything around so our guests wouldn't get bored! Thanks!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/2/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Cannonsburg Ski Area is a favorite winter and summer recreation spot for my family and friends. It was beautiful for our reception as well! You have tons of space to spread out, a great dance floor, friendly service and a great atmosphere. It was the perfect atmosphere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AAJewell
Wedding:
7/12/2008
 
4.0 out of 5.0
Very helpful and flexible. Was a little warm but still nice in the room.
Services Used: Catering
Bg22
amybeth928
Wedding:
6/28/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Cannonsburg was a wonderful venue for my wedding reception and I'm very glad that we chose it. It was a pleasure working with the event coordinator Wendy Anderson. She was very responsive, flexible, and quick to meet our needs. It was a fabulous wedding reception and very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend Cannonsburg to others.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
 
2.7 out of 5.0
We had our reception at Cannonsburg Ski Area. The room rental fee was affordable, the room was beautiful, but the service was received was tricky. We found the person in charge to be hard to work with and it was frustrating when she wouldn't give us exact answers on a lot of our questions. She was rude to the wedding party when we were setting up and refused to put up extra tables when there was a mix up on the number of guests. She blamed the mix up on us (it may have been our fault), but regardless, would not set up extra tables until after we asked and begged many times.

We also had them cater the reception. This was a much better experience because the food was delicious! Everyone loved it!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
 
2.0 out of 5.0
If booking in the Summer for an outdoor wedding, pay attention to when/if Cannonsburg hosts Picnic Pops (outdoor concert series). We chose a certain spot we wanted to set up an arch and seating only to find the ground totally tore up, standing water, and big ruts. The concert was a week before our wedding. The coordinator did not mention that this could be an issue, and shrugged her shoulders when we asked her if anything could be done.

We shifted to face the stream/building and it turned out just fine--if I was more of a Bridezilla it would have been a MAJOR issue! Cannonsburg also had an event the next day, and I discovered a large white and yellow striped tent set up in the backdrop of our wedding! Ugh. Also wasn't informed of this, more shrugging shoulders. Ask ask ask if there are any events surrounding your date! Turned out to be a beautiful day, and I'm so thankful because the inside back-up option was not very pretty.

Wendy was our coordinator and I found her completely lacking in customer service skills. She was very abrupt, not polite, pushy, and not willing to bend much (without a LOT of pushing/begging) from her idea of how she wanted the day to go. We wanted to do a "signature drink" which was very popular at the time--we wanted a fruity sangria. She said she "would look into trying it", charged us an arm and a leg for it....and none of the guests liked it. You want your coordinator to be friendly, helpful, accommodating and this is just not Wendy. I think she needs a Customer Service Manager!

The DJ had trouble with the power---(Could have been the DJ's fault...but there was only one plug for his entire set-up) Food was good, but ran out of beef really quickly--she had assured us she wouldn't, and blamed it on our guests eating too much at the end. (!) DO NOT LET THEM TAKE AWAY GUESTS PLATES! They took away plates too fast, and took away all the food too quickly, no one got seconds. :(
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cannonsburg Ski Area
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo