130x130_sq_1236201080625-logo

Capitol Catering

Alexandria , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Alexandria, VA US 22301 (map)

PHONE

703-739-1030

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Beautiful meals and Washington's finest events – Sara McGregor's Capitol Catering has been making memorable moments in the nation's capital and beyond for well over a decade.

... Read more
Beautiful meals and Washington's finest events – Sara McGregor's Capitol Catering has been making memorable moments in the nation's capital and beyond for well over a decade.

Called one of the region's "hottest caterers" by Harper's Bazaar magazine, Sara McGregor's Capitol Catering has created elegant, lavish events for the Screen Actors Guild, Presidential Inaugurations, former presidents, and discerning brides. And even the National Association of Catering Executives--catering to the caterers!

"Washington's top socialites as well as the political, lobbying and corporate communities call us because we understand that excellence is what matters, from unique presentation to our frequent use of the city's historic sites for these special events," says Sara McGregor.

"So much of our business comes from referrals and repeat customers. They come back to us for tasteful elegance, personal attention, and absolute professionalism."

When it comes to fresh and innovative cuisine, spectacular design and superior presentation, Sara McGregor's Capitol Catering is the place this city turns to.

We're passionate about quality. Let Sara McGregor's Capitol Catering serve you! Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1243456138687-0057
130x130_sq_1243456161578-1009fergusoncoldebella
130x130_sq_1243456184828-1122fuchsmiller
130x130_sq_1243456201812-1488leonoviczweinstein
130x130_sq_1243456219015-ashleewilcox3
130x130_sq_1243456233359-capitol009
130x130_sq_1243456249890-capitol010
130x130_sq_1243456272937-cc5
130x130_sq_1243456302328-cc7
130x130_sq_1243456325640-cc24
130x130_sq_1243456341125-cc25
130x130_sq_1243456369546-senkoskifitch08
130x130_sq_1243456414984-collinsvangestel0774
130x130_sq_1243456447171-dougdemark9
130x130_sq_1243456516578-reneemichele5777

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, Ethiopian, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rida
Wedding:
10/15/2011
2.7/5.0
The food was fantastic. But the planning experience was stressful and the customer service terrible. Sarah was hard to get in touch with in the beginning and I never felt confident that she was hearing what we were saying. I had no confidence that they were taking down notes / remembering what was to happen, and at the last minute there was a switch in staff and neither of the people that we had worked with for months actually were there to work our wedding. Needless to say, things were missed and we ended up getting a $600 refund for their mistakes. We were tied to them because of our venue, but otherwise I would have dropped them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendry32
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.3/5.0
Kristy was great and I appreciate all your help
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Capitol Catering played a big role in making my wedding a success. I am still getting compliments about how wonderful the food was even days after wedding. Some of my foodie friends said it was the best food they've ever had a wedding/event... and I can attest to that-- I knew during the tasting that the food was made with meticulous care and thought and the food was so delicious that it was an immediate decision to go with the company. I was able to even eat on the day of the wedding and it was just as delicious as the tasting (and thankfully we got a doggy bag to go home with to enjoy some more the day after!)

Cheryl M was also key in making everything run so smoothly; she was very helpful throughout the process, and always available via email. She had great and helpful input and was very accomodating to our requests. Overall, the cocktail hour and reception looked beautiful and everyone really enjoyed themselves. They had assigned a person to follow us to make sure we had enough to drink and eat, and even when we had left our tables to take some photos, they brought us a new plate of hot food afterwards to enjoy. We also ordered for a cheese cracker tray for the preceremony/getting ready hour and the assortment was gobbled up the the groom party; my husband said some of the cheeses were the best he's had in a long time.

A truly lovely experience... we are very thankful for their help and assistance for our special day.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellli1015
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with the quality of service we received from Capitol Catering! Cheryl was amazing to work with, and went above and beyond when it came to making the vision of our reception a reality. This review goes way beyond the food, but to all of the details the catering staff took care of on the day of the wedding.

Everything ran so smoothly all day, and I know this was mostly due to the wonderful staff at Capitol Catering. The tables were set beautifully and there were so many small touches that made our wedding so special. My husband and I were especially appreciative of the fact that we were able to get food before the buffet was open to everyone else, as you always hear stories of people never getting to eat at their own weddings.

I also appreciated having someone check in on us in the bridal room before the ceremony to make sure we had everything we needed.

Several guests also mentioned that the food was excellent and the staff was very accommodating.

I really can't say enough about how much we appreciated everything that Cheryl and everyone else at Capitol Catering did. Definitely money well spent! Thanks!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1279805190168-kathy26
Cohen_to_be
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.9/5.0
When we first met with Capitol Catering we were impressed by their sophistication, professionalism, and class. Their presentation was beyond that of other caterers that we met with and their responsiveness was above measure. When our event contact ended up leaving the company for other opportunities we hired her as our day of wedding planner and Cheryl took over our account. Cheryl was awesome to deal with, she made great suggestions and was great to deal with over last minute details and potential Plan B's for rain. Three days before our wedding there were all day thunderstorms forecasted, Cheryl conferenced with our wedding planner and us on the spur of the moment to help us work through again a more detailed discussion of our Plan B. When Cheryl took over our account she let us come for another tasting when we wanted to add more appetizers, change our service type and select linens, as well as just to meet with us to offer us peace of mind, knowing that our original event contact had left. We had no doubt that Cheryl would execute everything we discussed, all her hard work made our day amazing. The food was amazing, we are still hearing people rave about the amazing Key Lime Martinis (which Cheryl put a lot of effort into helping us figure out the right recipe) as well as the amazing food!!! We wish we had time to eat more of the food, but what we had was delicious! We couldn't have been happier with the service quality at the wedding - the staff at CC was prompt and offered exceptional quality service despite lots of demands on them! We couldn't have been happier on the day of our wedding with the presentation, quality and professionalism we received from CC...We would recommend them to anyone!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
graham2be
Wedding:
7/3/2009
4.9/5.0
Capitol Catering and our consultant Anne were a breeze to work with! I gave Anne a general theme/feeling to work with and she created a great menu/linen/placesetting plan that was creative and within budget. When I had questions, she always e-mailed/called within a few hours. The day of, the wait staff were all very polite and on the ball. The food was great and we had no issues. My only small complaint is that my parents weren't aware that the staff had wrapped up the leftover food and up it in their trunk. They didn't find out until the next morning and the food all spoiled.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annab
Wedding:
4/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love this company. We were torn between this company and another, and I am (and so is my Father) so very pleased that we went ahead and hired Sarah McGregor's: Capitol Catering!!
Anne Crum is the consultant/fascilitator/and overal magician that made our wedding happen.
Anne was more than responsive to our budgetary needs and wants for the wedding. We discussed over what seemed like a million emails/phone calls all of which Anne was more than happy to promply answer. Describing C.C. as accomodating is not saying enough about this stellar company- hire them trust me!! All of the hired workers- bartender, waiters, chef, preps, were amazing: on their "A game", courteous, professional, overal a joy to work with. They was never a time that C.C. or Anne Crum hesitated to work with me to achieve my perfect day!!!

I 100% recommend this company!!!

P.S. Thanks Anne (if you read this), we couldn't have done it with out you!!!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jen
Wedding:
8/2/2008
2.4/5.0
We had one nice tasting with them but were disappointed they would not let us taste anything else as we hadn't decided on all the hors dourves after the first tasting. They changed executives chefs, didn't volunteer this information to us and would not give us another tasting with the new chef. We were very excited based on the tasting but were disappointed at the wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alliapistor
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.8/5.0
Kirsten of Capitol Catering did a great job making sure that our wedding food and decor were exactly what we wanted.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
This vendor was the best decision I made in the whole wedding planning! Not only did everyone just rave about the outstanding food at the wedding, but they were SO easy to work with leading up to the event and delivered impeccable service on the actual day. They were incredibly flexible in making last minute changes and went completely above and beyond to find whatever it was I was looking for or to do whatever would make me happy. I cannot recommend this caterer enough!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
9/8/2007
2.6/5.0
The food was excellent, however, we were extremely disappointed with the service of the day-of catering supervisor and the servers. The sales manager was great to work with in planning the reception but when the sales manager left the reception, everything fell apart. The servers were rude to us and the guests. For example, the servers told our guests that there was no more cake even though there was two layers of cake and a grooms cake that was still uncut. When pouring water into the glasses, they spilt water over the chairs. I, the bride, asked for the desserts (since I didn't get to try them) as the servers were taking it away from the dessert buffet and the supervisor would not give me any.

Overall, the service was an extreme disappointment to the point where I am still get so upset whenever I think about the service. We spent many hours, days, weeks, months to plan our very special day. Unfortunately, to our guests, it may appear that we didn't get enough wedding cake, didn't provide coffee, didn't provide adequate staff, and went cheap on our caterer.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/16/2007
4.8/5.0
Exceptional service and food. Our guests are still talking about our food! Work with Cheryl if you can; she was a great leader and very experienced!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/14/2007
4.4/5.0
very nice
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudia
Wedding:
9/3/2006
4.7/5.0
Capitol Catering did a wonderful job with my wedding. They were very willing to work with me on budget - both in food choices and in number of servers. The food was great, and I felt they did an excellent job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lo31378
Wedding:
10/1/2005
4.8/5.0
Love love Kristin at Capitol catering.... She did a tasting for us & the did specialized main dishes b/c i was a vegetarian.... we had filet, sea bass & butternut squash ravoli! She was easy to get a hold of and worked with my venue & florist.... Pretty pricy but well worth it! no issues at all...she even did the linens, chargers & bought trees to cover up the air conditioning units at my venue! She was ACES!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
7/23/2005
5.0/5.0
Food was excellent, and they were very easy to work with. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
4/17/2005
4.6/5.0
We shopped around quite a bit for a caterer, trying to find one with good food, and goumet presentation, for a reasonable price - they were much more affordable than other caterers with higher quality results. The presentation was much more creative during the tasting though, than the actual wedding, which I was a little dissapointed about. Part oft he reason i liked this caterer was because of their creative presentation. Also, felt a little light on the hors d'oeuvres. the food tasted great though, and i really liked the menu selection, and they had excellent service. i don't even remember seeing a waiter!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
Alexandria, VA 22301 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Capitol Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1236201080625-logo