130x130_sq_1392408313422-520hannan10811016

Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

George Salon @ The Four Seasons Hotel, 2828 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC US 20007 (map)

PHONE

202-342-1942

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Brides won't walk down the aisle without him!"

visit ... carlraymakeupartist.com

XO

Carl Ray
"Brides won't walk down the aisle without him!"

visit ... carlraymakeupartist.com

XO

Carl Ray Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1295029440651-img8167
130x130_sq_1313964786825-7large
130x130_sq_1313964871372-s10
130x130_sq_1295027700588-rackley43
130x130_sq_1295029534088-fallisonchadwed20080024
130x130_sq_1238528602656-fashionshootfall07atrobertsstudio049
130x130_sq_1238534551343-photoshootspring07atredcross037
130x130_sq_1313964841278-aug063large
130x130_sq_1238534545359-s65026854815246227486
130x130_sq_1355274867464-556872101513432417414771361126882n
130x130_sq_1238534939406-fashionshootfall07atrobertsstudio052
130x130_sq_1238532922968-photoshootspring07atredcross024
130x130_sq_1238534518234-img0021
130x130_sq_1238528441890-img0077
130x130_sq_1238534536656-img9985
130x130_sq_1295027866447-jenniferdomenick0312
130x130_sq_1313964909685-09151large
130x130_sq_1313966642981-wed2large
130x130_sq_1313966888435-6large
130x130_sq_1334081445675-520hannan108110160
130x130_sq_1334081468326-432hannan108110484
130x130_sq_1334082094572-engaged1717copy
130x130_sq_1334082232893-engaged1827
130x130_sq_1349095548501-website1
130x130_sq_1349095588464-website2
130x130_sq_1349095602676-website4
130x130_sq_1349095613357-website3
130x130_sq_1349095626472-website5
130x130_sq_1349095649835-website9
130x130_sq_1349095667110-website10
130x130_sq_1349095686044-website6
130x130_sq_1295027801369-rackley0111

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vaia
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Carl made me look absolutely gorgeous on my wedding day. He hit the sweet spot of making me look elegant AND sexy!! I loved everything about my makeup, my skin was glowing, my eyebrows looked great, and my eyes looked smoky without one smudge. AND most importantly my make up stayed on all night…it looked just as good in pictures at midnight as it did at 4 pm.
From the moment I booked Carl and spoke with his assistant Rick I knew I was going to be taken care of, and I was.
Want to also mention that his pricing was comparable to many of the other make up artists I looked at. A++++++
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
When I first heard about Carl, I was immediately attracted to his high profile reputation. I love makeup and wanted the best for me and my bridesmaids on my wedding day. Upon hiring Carl, he came to my apartment for my makeup trial which we scheduled the same day as our engagement photos. There was no doubt in my mind that he would do a beautiful job - let's face it - the First Lady uses him and she has exquisite taste. What did surprise me, however, was how down to Earth and funny Carl was. I had the best time getting my makeup done that day and on my wedding day, Carl made me feel like a princess. He doesn't just know makeup; he's an artist. Furthermore, he is
professional, savvy and an entrepreneur - check out his line of lip glosses! Carl's assistant, Rick, who handled all of the scheduling, was also q pleasure to work with. My overall experience with Carl Ray exceeded my expectations. I would recommend him to any bride-to-be who is still on the hunt for a makeup artist. So, if you want to feel like a princess for a day, choose Carl Ray. Xoxo
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Let me begin this review by saying that Carl was the third person I called after I got engaged. This was not because I couldn't wait to tell him but because I wanted to book him for the entire month of April until I could lock down my venue. Basically, I was not getting married without Carl and Rick on my team. Fortunately we were able to get everything organized quickly and I did not have to book for the entire month! Carl is truly an amazing artist and a fabulous person to boot. I didn't even bother with a trial as I knew whatever he wanted to do the day of the wedding I was going to love (and I did)! Rick is scheduler extraordinaire! He made the entire process seamless. I must have changed the schedule 10 times before the wedding and he was responsive, relaxed and very accommodating. I can't recommend Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC enough. You will be thrilled you choose them.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
I just cannot rave enough about Carl and Rick. Rick was so helpful coordinating schedules between various cancellations from snowstorms and sicknesses and then when I finally met Carl, I was thrilled. He did the make-up for myself and my sister on March 8, 2014 and was even nice enough to put some color on my 8 year old niece. I was nervous to meet him, but he's so caring and genuine that he immediately puts you at ease. And his skill is unmatched. I've had professional make-up done dozens of times, and nobody even comes close to Carl. He's a true artist and a true professional and really, what more can you ask for? If he's free, book him. You won't regret it.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray did my makeup for my winter wedding, and exceeded my expectations. I was skeptical of using a professional makeup artist, because of skin and eye sensitivity, and also because I wanted a natural look for my wedding day. When I went for my makeup trial, Carl asked lots of questions and I was happy with the look. Fast forward to my wedding day, and some of the small tweaks he made (without me even asking) took the look from great to absolutely perfect. He did everything possible to avoid irritation to my sensitive eyes, which was a small miracle. Carl's personality put me at ease, and I left the salon feeling confident and relaxed. When the pictures came back, you could barely tell I was wearing makeup. I just looked like a glowing, flawless version of myself. Which was exactly what I asked for. I'm grateful to Carl for being part of my "glam squad" and would highly recommend him to any other bride in DC.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
1/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray is THE BEST. I can go on and on about how a great a make up artist he is, and he is. He is the best. He made me feel and look beautiful for my engagement pictures and on my wedding day. He is the busiest man I know, but he took his time with me on my wedding day and then asked me to come back after I finished my hair for some touch ups. And he also gifted me my new favorite lip gloss which was clutch. So anyway, not only is he amazing at what he does, but he is also SO SO fun and puts you in the best mood. And who doesn't need such an amazing presence on their wedding day when you're surrounded by crazy?!! He's amazing. I am by far not his biggest client (make up artist to the DC stars here ladies) but he 100% makes you feel like you are. I wish I could see him once a week! Also, his person Rick makes it ALL happen. He's just a sweet and wonderful to work with and he literally fits it all in -- working with the brides crazy schedules and Carl Ray's. They are THE BEST and you CANNOT get married in DC without going to Carl Ray.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
12/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Very friendly and my makeup was beautiful!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Carl did an amazing job on my makeup! He was able to make me look my absolute best, without being too overdone. I felt like the best version of myself, and could not have been more pleased with the results. He also did a perfect job on my mother's and sister's makeup, with the three of us preferring different styles. We were running late the day of, but he was able to graciously accommodate the tight schedule and still do an amazing job. I am very grateful to Carl for helping me look and feel my best on my wedding day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
I had an amazing experience with Carl for my wedding! I have worked with many, many makeup artists, and Carl's attention to detail and artistry is what separates him from the rest. Carl is very professional, talented, and a true joy to be around -- definitely worth every pretty penny.
Carl made me look natural, but definitely the best version of me, which was exactly what I asked for. During our "first look," my [to be] husband was delighted when he saw how natural, yet exquisite my makeup was. Carl is a true artist!
My mother also had her makeup done by Carl, and she was delighted with the result. Carl shed years off my mom's life, and she looked the best I have ever seen her look. My dad is a very tough critic, as he hates when my mom and I get our makeup done professionally because it is usually too heavy. However, he was pleasantly surprised when he saw Carl's work and thought we have both never looked so beautiful.
Additionally, Rick was extremely helpful and unbelievable to work with (as always!), and made the logistics on the wedding day go more smoothly than I ever thought possible. He was very accommodating and I really appreciate his hard work and attention to detail. What an amazing duo!
Five stars all around!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Carl did an amazing job on my make up. He is so sweet and down to earth you would never know he was a make up artist for such HUGE names. I booked him 7 months in advance-- when booking vendors make sure he is the first on your list, you won't regret it! I called a month before and had to change the address of where Carl would be doing my make up and it wasn't a problem at all. He was on time and even mentioned how much he enjoyed the beautiful drive, which was probably about 45 mins/hour from where he works. I can't wait to see the professional pictures ;-) Thank you again Carl and Rick!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not have been happier with Carl's work. He did such a great job making me look and feel beautiful for my special day. He was very attentive to my concerns, making sure I was happy with the makeup every step of the way. He was even willing to try about 10 different shades of lip gloss to ensure that I was completely satisfied with the color we picked. He is extremely professional, and, despite all of his credentials, he is also very down to earth and easy to talk to. He also did makeup for my mom and sister, and he did a really great job on them too. I highly recommend Carl to any bride who wants to look and feel like the best version of herself on her wedding day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
There is no one in the world that I would have called before Carl Ray. He is absolutely AMAZING, and a complete angel. I was diagnosed with cancer months leading up to the date of our wedding, and he and Rick kept in touch to check in on how I was feeling. The day of the wedding, he set up in suite at THe W Hotel, and was ready to go with my mom and I. My girls were in oogling his makeup and he is just such a gem. We had so much fun together, I wish the day could happen again. He is professional, a doll, and does just the most beautiful work. I looked like a beautiful bride and nothing like a cancer patient. There is no one in the world that I recommend over Carl Ray. He is truly the BEST!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

your the beautiful Angel! xoxo
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sofia
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I went to Carl Ray to have my makeup done for my June 2013 wedding. My coordinator actually suggested that I go to him and I must say it was one of the best decisions I made for my day. He was such a pleasure to work with and he's such a down to earth guy. Not only is he amazing at what he does, but he takes his time and makes you his number one priority when you sit in his chair. I gave him examples of the look I was going for and he totally exceeded my expectations! Not to mention my makeup looked just as good by the end of the night as it did when I first left his chair. I would highly recommend Carl Ray to anyone who is looking to have their makeup done!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are lucky enough to have Carl Ray for your wedding then by all means do so! He was the first vendor I booked after my venue, and boy am I glad I did as his schedule fills up quickly and he is worth every last penny. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Carl and about Rick, the salon manager, who coordinates with you closely on scheduling in the months leading up to the wedding and is completely vested in making sure you love how your makeup and hair look before you head out the door.

On the day of my wedding, I truly felt like the most beautiful, natural version of myself after Carl had finished my makeup, which is exactly how you want to feel on your wedding day! Carl does amazing work for all ages and did the makeup for my mom as well, who is in her 60s and had never had her makeup done professionally before so she was nervous it might be too heavy, but he had such a natural, expert touch and was so kind and sweet to her, that she looked truly radiant—we were both so thrilled with the results. Our makeup was done around 11 am and looked flawless all day, even at midnight as the night was drawing to a close. I can’t imagine going with anybody else, and we are absolutely looking forward to working with Carl for future important events!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1367353103727-4780810152696388640567300491012n
Ashley
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Carl is simply THEE BEST! I loved my makeup trial and absolutely LOVED my wedding day makeup (even more, if that's possible)! I have never felt more glamorous and comfortable! One of the things that amazed me most about Carl is how he still made me look and feel like ME, even after applying makeup, contouring, blending, adding a few false lashes, etc. for an hour, which is a rare talent for a makeup artist. He bumped up my eyes and accentuated the right areas, while keeping everything natural. My husband isn't huge into girls wearing tons of makeup, and he just loved my makeup as well. My makeup lasted all night and I went beautifully with the style of my wedding (soft and romantic — very spring feeling, since it was in April). It even lasted through a flood of tears during the ceremony (not a drop of mascara or eyeliner went anywhere). During the trial, he took the time to ask me questions about time of day and where we were getting married so he could assess what kind of look to apply. Also, for the level of clientele he works with, he is one of the most humble, positive, and down-to-earth people I've ever met. He made me feel totally comfortable from the moment I met him at my trial. If by chance Carl is out of your budget and you are wondering if you should splurge, definitely do so — he is 1000% worth it! He also did my sisters makeup on the day of my wedding and she just loved hers as well. Call early to get on his schedule. Thanks for everything, Carl!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Carl is fabulous! He listens to what you want and makes you beautiful. Wish I could book him to doll me up before for every event!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I first met Carl Ray when he did my makeup for a friend's wedding, which I loved, and so when I got engaged about a year later, I knew exactly who I would call. Lucky for me he was available!! Carl Ray did an absolutely FABULOUS job with my makeup, and with the makeup of my mom, mother-in-law and all of my friends. We all looked stunning! Not only is Carl Ray truly the best at what he does, but he is also warm, funny and totally calming in a bridal suite full of commotion. He is a pleasure to work with, and I cannot wait to work with him again. I also want to mention that Rick, the salon manager, was also amazing to work with as he continued to coordinate my ever-changing wedding day schedule!! Great team. Hands down, the best.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Palma
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray is absolutely amazing, and a must for your wedding day makeup!!! As soon as I got engaged I contacted him. I was initially worried because my wedding was in Baltimore, MD, on January 19th, 2013 (the day before the election), and knew he would be extremely busy with inaugural events. But he was absolutely accommodating, and his manager, Rick Raines reassured me that Carl would definitely be there!
From the start, both Carl & Rick were so professional, responsive, and very friendly. My makeup trial run was fabulous. With a brief description of the details of the wedding and the overall look I was going for, he gave me the PERFECT look. Carl is extremely talented; I had no doubts at all about the wedding.
And on the wedding day, Carl came to our hotel in Baltimore, and did makeup for myself and my mom. Wow! We’ve never looked, or felt, so beautiful! Fresh and natural-looking, yet dramatic at the same time – gorgeous in photos! My husband absolutely loved it. (And his makeup didn’t smudge at all the entire night.)

I highly recommend Carl Ray for your wedding day (or other special event)! I’m so thankful he was a part of mine. His talent and creativity are unmatched.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray did an amazing job on my makeup for my wedding. I was completely blown away. It was worth every penny. And I'm someone who doesn't wear a lot of makeup and I'm very picky. You know it's worth it when you look at yourself and think, "Wow, I look damn good!" I got compliments all night long, even after dancing up a bit of a sweat. If you are thinking about getting professional makeup, look no further. Carl will make you look gorgeous! Plus, he is so easy going. He will put you at ease on the big day. Also of note, Carl has incredibly high profile clients, who look amazing all day long thanks to him.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I struggled to even begin writing a review for Carl, not because he is not fabulous (he is, in fact, very, very much the most FABULOUS), but because I wasn’t sure how to adequately express my most sincere thanks for what ended up being one of my absolute favorite parts of my wedding day.

I must first give a huge THANK YOU to Rick who, after some serious schedule finagling, managed to get me a seat in Carl’s chair, despite him already having an incredibly busy day. He put up with what seemed like never-ending phone calls and emails on my end, worked his magic, and helped make my wedding day just perfect. I cannot thank him enough.

As for my makeup – it goes without saying that Carl Ray is truly the master of his craft. When you read the reviews on here saying, “it’s the best I’ve ever looked!” and “flawless” and “I looked years younger!” – believe it. Carl has a touch that no one I’ve ever met – looking at someone, listening to them, and truly taking time to understand what they want are a huge part of why he is so successful. He is also an incredibly kind man – I rushed into the salon running VERY behind schedule, and was only about 2 hours away from the start of my ceremony (which was well across town). I was stressed and generally not happy, and both he and Rick were calm, reassuring, and made me feel fabulous. I managed to sit in his chair while I was there, not stressed, not constant clock-watching, just enjoy my time with Carl. It is so nice to work with someone who, despite being the best-of-the-best, is still kind, patient, and down to earth.

I like to think my photos speak for themselves, but in my opinion, I felt as absolutely incredible as I know I looked. Never better, glamorous, flawless, and fabulous. I looked like a much-improved version of myself which, in my opinion, is the best a bride can ask for.

So to Carl and Rick – THANK YOU! I hope to squeeze myself back into that chair in the very near future.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl did my make up for both my engagement photos November 2011 and for my wedding day on December 1, 2012 (he also did my mom's make up on the wedding day). I have never felt so beautiful and confident in my life! I did not worry once about how I would look in the pictures and they came out wonderfully. The wedding was in the early afternoon and we had an evening reception but the make up lasted perfectly all day! I am so grateful to Carl and Rick (the salon manager) for everything they did to make everything stress free and perfect. I absolutely recommend!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Jo
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
I am a 61 year old bride who always wore limited makup, so I was a little skeptical about having Carl do my makeup for the big day. But I was so thrilled with the results. He made me look at least 10 years younger but my makeup had an absolutely natural look. I would recommend Carl to brides any age. And I will make it a point to have him do my makup again for any special occasion.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl was absolutely wonderful! I would recommend him to all my friends.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nerisa
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl is superb! He is absolutely the best in Washington D.C.! He is a must have for any bride who wants to look special. He works with the best materials and is happy to incorporate some things you may have in your makeup bag in case you have sensitive skin like me! (Something other professionals I was considering were very snooty about). He is au fait with trends and fashions but at the same time can also deliver a traditional look. I had two events and he was able to provide a traditional Indian bridal look and a very romantic ethereal look the next day. He is very professional and calm and will truly deliver the look you want. I received so many compliments and was so happy that my makeup lasted all night - even in crazy DC August humidity! If I ever need make-up done again, I'll definitely go back to him.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about the talented and gracious Carl Ray. He not only somehow made me look gorgeous, glam, and flawless, but the look and lashes held brilliantly ALL NIGHT through tears and hugs and dancing. He was so patient, thorough, cool, flexible, fun, and lovely! I would book him again in a heartbeat and highly recommend him to anyone who wants to look amazing and work with thee best. Thank you Carl Ray. It was an honor and pleasure to work with such a talented and kind person. (Thanks also Rick for your consummate professionalism and help with everything!)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridey McBriderstein
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Having Carl Ray do your makeup for your wedding and rehearsal dinner event is the best thing you can ever do for yourself as a bride. He did my makeup for these two events and I have never felt more beautiful and confident. Not only, is he the most talented makeup artist in the DC-area but he is one of the most calming, supportive and positive people you can have around you to get ready for these momentous events. He made my skin glow and look flawless while still accentuating all the right features. I felt glamorous and dramatic but still felt completely natural and looked like myself. He really understands a woman's face and features and knows what to play up and what to conceal. His makeup lasted all day and night and looked fresh in every high-definition photo that was taken of me. Best of all, working with Carl is such a treat. He is so kind, so fun to be around and so easy-going. He is a true professional and true class-act. Every bride should book him up as soon as you get engaged because it will be the best money you will ever spend. I can't stress enough what an amazing experience it is to get your makeup done by such a talented artist. I am so thankful to have had him by my side getting me ready because his makeup was the perfect accessory to the huge grin I had on my face the whole weekend. He truly is the person you want to work with on this special day and it was one of the best experiences I could have ever asked for my wedding.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray recently did my makeup for my wedding in July and I felt beautiful! Not only was my makeup was flawless but Carl is so down to earth and easy to talk to despite his laundry list of A-list clients. On top of it all, his assistant Rick was so responsive and accomodative throughout the whole process. Love them both and I highly recommend you book them for your next event!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liza
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray was an absolute delight to work with. He did my make up as well as a number of my bridesmaids and each of us came out looking spectacular. I wanted more of a natural look, and Carl Ray was spot on. If you want a top notch makeup artist in the DC area, no one can come close to Carl Ray.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sasha
Wedding:
7/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray is by far the best makeup artist in the area. He is so patient, professional, and comforting-which makes him the perfect person to have doing your make-up on your big day. He is incredible at his job-he made all of us look amazing. We receieved, and continue to receieve, numerous comments on our makeup. If you have your wedding in this area-you MUST choose Carl Ray to do your makeup.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Serene
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray was an absolute delight to work with, and is such an amazing artist. I prefer a more natural look for my makeup (even on my wedding day) and Carl was able to make me look glamorous and chic, but still like myself. I had arranged for Carl to come do a touch up before the ceremony (but after hours of pictures out in the 80 degree heat) and honestly my makeup was still flawless after running around all day! Not only that, but I was caught in traffic coming back to the hotel for the ceremony, and was running 45 minutes late. Carl stayed and waited for me, never saying a word about it, and made sure to keep me calm and beautiful. I really cannot say enough wonderful things about Carl, as a person and a professional. I want to get married again just so that I can look that good one more time:)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Carl did an amazing job on my makeup for both my engagement photo shoot and wedding. Though Carl’s schedule was pretty packed both times, Rick, the George Salon manager, worked with me to get a suitable time slot during cherry blossom season This was a pretty big deal because we had to move the photo shoot several times due to the changing forecast in peak blossom and also due to my travel schedule for work. Despite having to fit me in at 7am before his day long appointment with the First Lady, Carl was so happy and pleasant.

Unlike most brides, I had a makeup artist come into my suite to take care of my mom and bridesmaids and went to the George Salon by myself for hair and makeup. Originally, I wondered if maybe I should have made other arrangements so that we could all be together. In the end, it proved to be a great decision because wedding morning is supercrazy and this gave me the chance to relax before things ramped up even more. Also, while I loved the engagement makeup and it matched the morning, outdoor photo session, I wanted something more dramatic for my afternoon wedding and evening reception. Carl was so nice in accommodating my email request and, on the day of, he worked with me to modify my look for a more dramatic flair. I only wish I had more formal events that could justify using Carl’s makeup services!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenwhittington
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I received so many compliments on how lovely my makeup was. He covered all imperfections and his false eyelash application is flawless and makes you feel like the princess you should on your wedding day. He not only is a brilliant make up artist, he is wonderfully sweet and a fun person to sit with while he works his magic! DC brides should use no other than Carl.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1339470587617-p1000467
Katie
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Simply put- Carl is absolutely fabulous! I am extremely particular about my makeup, and having never had my makeup done before, I was so nervous to get my makeup done for my big day. Seconds after meeting Carl I knew I would be in good hands. He is extremely thorough, professional, and truly knows how to make you look beautiful. I had so many guests and strangers complimenting me on my makeup- I've never felt more beautiful in my life. Although I don't live in D.C. I will definitely be coming back to Carl for any big events when I come back to the area. Highly recommend- just make sure to get on his calendar early! :)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ruchi
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray is THE VERY BEST in the D.C. area and will make you feel like the most beautiful bride ever. He is so talented and the manager, Rick, is so flexible, nice, and easy to work with. That's key for weddings. Carl is hilarious and will keep you calm throughout - even during some of those nervous moments. There is no one like him out there.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl is without a doubt the best makeup artist in DC and one the very best in the nation. Given his level of talent it is amazing that he lives in DC at all and that he has not been scooped up by NY and / or LA mega stars. He is beyond talented and made me feel confident and radiant about how I looked on my wedding day. It would not have been the same without him. I tried 2 other artists when I thought he would be unavailable and they did not even remotely measure up. He is simply the very best.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray did an unbelievable job with my wedding makeup. I couldn't have been happier with the quality of the products used or the expertise of the artist. One of my favorite compliments was that I looked like a"perfect version of myself" -- not overdone at all.

It was a wonderful experience, and I'd recommend him to anyone -- worth the expense, for sure.

The entire staff at George's at the Four Seasons was great to work with.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barrie
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
LOVE HIM!!!! A few years ago, I had horrible skin problems and some scarring from that. Carl made it all go away. Words cannot express how wonderful he made me feel on my wedding day. Not only that but the wedding lasted ALL DAY AND NIGHT. We took pictures before our ceremony for a few hours and my makeup looked just as flawless at the ceremony as it had when it first went on earlier in the day. He is the best!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maisie
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl is simply the best makeup artist in Washington. I live in California so was not able to do a trial, but decided to work with Carl for my wedding based on his great reputation and recommendations from friends. To say I was thrilled would be an understatement. My makeup was flawless, natural looking and lasted well beyond the after party. He was a delight to work with and his expertise put me at ease for the many hours of photos. I felt confident and the pictures from our wedding day have exceeded my expectations thanks to Carl's incredible work. I can't recommend Carl highly enough!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
By DC standards, I was a budget bride. However, I wanted the absolute best for my makeup, and Carl fit the bill. Besides being a wonderful, calming influence on my wedding day, his work is top-notch. I have never felt so confident about my appearance, and the make-up stayed in place through the after-party...12 hours later. I highly recommend Carl Ray.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl and Rick! Where do I begin?? Carl was absolutely phenomenal. You transformed me and made me look like a million bucks! You are truly an artist and I am undoubtedly indebted to you.

Everyone complimented my mom, my MOH and me on our superb makeup. I couldn't be more happy with the results you gave us. I wish I had a reason every day to come and see you. You really left me speechless with your talent!

Carl is the go to person if you want to look amazing. He is so attentive, nice and flexible. I can't thank Carl without thanking Rick. Without Rick, I would have never been able to schedule an appoinment with Carl. Rick was so understanding and really went out of his way to help me get ready. What a great team!

I can't forget my hair stylist either! Onder, you were patient and kind. You did a fantastic job on our hair. I can't wait to send pictures in for you to see. Onder will take your vision and transform your hair into a masterpiece!

Carl, Rick and Onder, I along with my mother and MOH, thank you from the bottom of of hearts for making us look good. I am personally so honored to have had the chance to work with you all. I will be back!

Katherine
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
april k
Wedding:
2/18/2012
5.0/5.0
The top 5 reasons why Carl Ray is the best make-up artist in Washington DC:

1. Artistic ability- He has an ability to accentuate your best features to make you look fabulous!

2. Patience, calming demeanor- Carl puts you at ease the second that you take a seat in his make-up chair.

3. Exceptional service- Carl treats every person like they are his most important client.

4. True magician- He can apply make-up for an hour and it does not look like you have layers and layers of make-up.

5. Worth every penny.

Thank you Carl for making me a beautiful bride. I will always cherish my pictures and my new friends at the George Salon.

Also, appreciate all the help from Rick Raines....you are wonderful!

Sincerely,
april
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bride2012
Wedding:
1/27/2012
5.0/5.0
ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING - Carl Ray was the highlight of my whole entire wedding. I loved my makeup even more than my wedding dress. I just couldn’t even believe how glamorous and gorgeous Carl made me look on the big day – he couldn’t have done a better job with a magic wand than he did with his makeup brushes. The bags under my eyes completely disappeared and instead I had these absolutely stunning smoke-y eyes, with perfectly applied liquid eyeliner. The color of the eye shadow was so beautiful that my eyes actually looked far more green than brown on the big day – it was literally like a miracle. My complexion looked absolutely perfect – my standard skin care problems somehow disappeared, along with the stress-induced pimple that I had on my wedding day, and my whole complexion looked absolutely flawless. Carl also did the makeup for my one bridesmaid, who looked unbelievably beautiful, and my Mom too, who ended up looking more like a thirty year-old sister than a sixty-year old Mom. He was just absolutely incredible… My advice to other brides is this – ditch the floral arrangements or wedding cake if necessary, but treat yourself to makeup by Carl Ray on your big day. It was worth every single penny and more.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Melissa I kindly thank you for the lovely review. Sorry for the delay in my response. You and your entire wedding party were a complete joy to work with. I hope to see you and work with you on any future events.

Best

Carl
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
12/31/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Carl. He was attentive, professional, warm, and listened to what I wanted. He is worth EVERY penny and I can't imagine a better make up artist in DC. TRULY the best...
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you Jane for the review. You were a pleasure to work with. Please call upon me for any future makeup needs.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I was recently married at the Four Seasons hotel in Georgetown and scheduled all of my hair and make up appointments with George Salon right next door. Carl is amazing and truly an artist. He made me feel very comfortable and truly captured my vision in terms of how I wanted to look on my wedding day. I think what makes Carl so special is his gift of bringing beauty out and he is able to do this because of his own beauty as a person. I have lived in DC for the past 5 years and had never been to George Salon prior to my wedding, but because of the wonderful service I received from Carl Ray, Rick Raines, and Onder, I will definitely be making it my local salon.

Thanks guys!!!

Amber Rodland
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Amber. You were such a delight to work with on your Special Day. i hope to see you in the near future for any other special occasions.

Best,
Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelly
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl is not only the best makeup artist in DC, he is also a wonderfully nice guy. Carl did my makeup for my wedding this past weekend and I could not have been happier with his work. He is very attentive to what his clients like to look like and will not pressure you into anything. He really loves what he does and it shows in his work and his demeanor. He is great! Rick at George was also extremely helpful and accommodating. Onder did my hair and it was fantastic. George is a one stop shop for gorgeous hair and makeup!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of my services for your Special Day. You were a pleasure to work with.
hope to work with you again in the future.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl did the make-up for both me and my Maid of Honor and both turned out excellent. Carl listens to what you want. I wanted a very natural look and he did that perfectly. My mother and my husband don't like a lot of make-up and were worried that I would look too made up but when they saw me they both agreed that Carl did a great job. My Maid of Honor wanted her make-up to be a bit heavier and he did a wonderful job with her as well. I was concerned that the make-up wouldn't last because I booked our appointments in the late morning but the wedding wasn't until 6:30p.m., no problem, the make-up lasted until I took it off 15 hours later. Carl also makes you feel very comfortable; he is easy going and friendly. I highly recommend him! Plan ahead though and make your appointments well in advance; he's popular so he books up fast.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the review. You and your Bridesmaid were a a pleasure to work with on your Special Day.
Hope to work with you again for any future Special occasions.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wall
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray is a magician. No one else in DC even comes close. I have never looked more beautiful than I did on my wedding day, and hanging out with Carl for an hour or so was one of the highlights of the day. He's fun, lovely and immensely talented. I've already told everyone I know getting married in DC to hire him. He's amazing!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations. I sincerely appreciate it.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Faith
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Carl Ray at George Salon at the Four Seasons in Georgetown. I had planned on using a makeup artist at MAC who moved to California without telling me two months before my wedding. Carl Ray happened to have a last-minute cancellation on the day of our wedding and fit in not just me but also two Moms and two bridesmaids. He did an absolutely stunning job, especially on my mom (who looked years younger) and a hippy bridesmaid who never wears makeup and wanted a natural but pretty dressy look. I'd highly recommend him for bridal parties of all ages.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for giving me such a great review. You and your entire wedding party were a complete joy to work with.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Semira
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl goes above and beyond in the care and attention he gives each bride. I felt like he really devoted time to making each aspect of my makeup look perfect. And it really did look perfect! I am so happy and I definitely recommend him for all brides in the DC/MD/VA area. He is fabulous and so fun to talk to. He even squeezed my mom in last minute and I was so happy about that!! Go to CARL!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you Semira. I really appreciate you giving me such a great review. I really enjoyed working with you on your Special Day.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray is absolutely amazing. I am so glad I chose him for my makeup and knew from the moment I left the trial that I was in good hands. He was professional, offered great suggestions based on my dress, etc and was so flexible. I actually came in the day before the wedding for a manicure and told him I was having second thoughts about what I decided on a few months before. He took a few minutes right there and then to talk about what I wanted to change and then did it flawlessly the next day. I couldn't have asked for more from Carl and would definitely recommend him to all of the other brides out there!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Kerry. It was a pleasure to do your makeup on your Special Day. Hope to see you again when you visit DC in the future.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl Ray was absolutely wonderful! First, both he and his manager were incredibly nice and easy to work with - I e-mailed them about two weeks before my wedding, and they worked me in for both a trial and day-of makeup. (Don't count on that, though - he's super busy, and I think I just got really lucky that he had one slot open at 9am on my wedding day, as he was booked for the rest of the day.)

I do recommend going in for a trial before the big day - while my trial make-up was beautiful, it was way too heavy for my own personal comfort, and I wouldn't have been happy with it on my wedding day. When I e-mailed Carl Ray to ask if it could be adjusted, he was totally understanding and reassured me that he could do a more natural look on the day-of. And he did exactly that! The wedding-day make-up was PERFECT, AND it stayed in place all day. I couldn't have been happier with it.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the great review. I was happy that i was able to accommodate you on your Special Day. You were a pleasure to work with.

Best,

Carl Ray
130x130_sq_1317406192410-4097410
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin? I am someone who is not a big make-up person in general. I don't wear a lot of make-up and I don't spend a lot of time on my make-up. But for my wedding, I thought I would go all out and find someone who would make me look flawless. After some feedback from vendors, I contacted Carl Ray and went in for a trial at the Four Seasons in DC. I walked out feeling amazing! I booked him immediately. On my wedding day, Carl breezed in and made me look and feel beautiful. All the bridesmaids were raving about the amazing job he did. I was so happy - and after looking through the photos from the wedding, I know I picked the perfect make-up artist. He is funny, sweet and makes you feel comfortable and at ease. I loved him!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. You were a complete joy to work with on your Special Day. I hope to see you for any future special occasions.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl did the makeup for me, my mom and my bridesmaids for my wedding and I couldn't have been happier. Everyone looked absolutely amazing and he was such a joy to work with. I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a make up artist for their special day!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the review. You and your entire wedding party were a complete joy to work with.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suze
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl was spectacular. He did the makeup of my mother and myself for my wedding. He had such a relaxing demeanor and made sure we were comfortable with our makeup. We looked fabulous, and polished, and very natural. Ishmail and Ibo did the bridal party hair. I especially loved the soft upsweep and flowers that Ishmail created for me. Despite taking pictures in the hurricane outside, our hair and makeup remained beautiful. This was a special treat for the bridal party on a special day and we appreciate the experience with Carl, Ishmail and Ibo! Thank you!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thanks for the review. I remember that day. :) You and your mother were a delight to work with.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelli
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl ray did an amazing job of my makeup for my wedding. I would highly recommend him.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. You were a pleasure to work with.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The best...hands down. I don't have the best skin, but he made me feel like it was flawless. He gave my face contour and really played up my best features. He actually started out as an artist and then got into makeup, and it shows! I felt like I was glowing. He totally got what I liked right off the bat. He can do super drama or low key natural. He worked on me, my bridesmaids, my mom, and did a little bit for my flower girl. Everyone looked awesome! Thanks, Carl!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Kendra,
Thank you for your review!
You and your bridal party were a pleasure.
Wow... You looked amazing. :)
Come see me again when you have a special occasion.
Best
Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Missy
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
From the moment I sat in Carl's chair, I felt relaxed. He's a good listener and has an innate ability to paint his canvas with artistry and grace. His gentle touch and skill at bringing out one's best features is impeccable. He managed to draw out a beauty and elegance new to me. I was thrilled, and glowed throughout the entire wedding day. There were so many compliments from guests. It feels unusual to boast about one's appearance, but I owe it all to Carl Ray.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the review. Sorry for the delayed response. It was a pleasure to do your makeup on your Special Day.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JHD
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl and Ismail made me feel like a celebrity on my wedding day! The makeup that Carl applied lasted all day, even through tears of joy and the summer heat! Carl is truly an artistic genius and I've never felt prettier than I did on my wedding day. Ismail curled my hair and carefully applied my hair accessory perfectly, it was such a privilege to sit in their chairs! I would highly recommend this salon to any bride who wants to look and feel their best on their wedding day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your kind words and review. Sorry for the delayed response. It was a pleasure to work with you on your Special Day.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/22/2011
5.0/5.0
I read about Carl Ray in the Washingtonian magazine I went for a trial and immediately felt very comfortable with Carl. We tried the drama look which he did great, however I decided it was not for me. So, on the day of my wedding he come to my hotel and did an amazing job with a natural look. I was glowing and very happy. It was important for me to know that I was in the hands of a pro, I was able to relax and let him create his magic. I would definitely recommend him. His office was extremely professional
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. You were a pleasure to work with on your Special Day.

Best,

Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HilaryB
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl did a beyond wonderful job with my make up. He was extremely nice and made me feel relaxed and comfortable. My makeup stayed on the entire 12+ hour day with no fixups necessary. My photos look wonderful because of the flawless skin Carl gave me. My mother and bridesmaids also looked wonderful yet unique with each of their looks as well. I definitely felt even more special and beautiful on my big day because of him. He is a must for any big day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I have never felt more beautiful than my wedding day and I owe it all to Carl Ray - a premier make-up artist at the Four Seasons in Washington, DC. Carl and I first met at the George Salon for a make-up test before my wedding. I highly suggest that every bride schedule a test for hair and make-up before your big day...it will give you a chance to talk through the "look" you want at your wedding. Carl put me at ease immediately; he was charming, professional and really listened to what I was saying. I couldn't have been more thrilled with how my make-up looked on my wedding day. Trust me, you have enough stress when getting married - don't try to do your make-up or hair - leave it to the true professionals like Carl. Besides, the one thing everyone will remember is how the bride looked...not the place settings or the rubber chicken...spend your money to look amazing and beautiful. Thank you, Carl!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Working with Carl was absolutely wonderful. I generally don't wear make-up, so I wanted someone who would help me look beautiful, yet natural, and he quickly honed into my style with ease, and gave me a beautiful look for my wedding. My wedding party and I got to have the whole salon to ourselves Sunday morning while getting ready for the wedding with makeup and hair, and Carl did a wonderful job with everyone from me to my mother and mother-in-law and the grandmothers - it was perfect!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1342445580775-mauraandjoeychurchcropped
Maura
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Carl is every bride's dream make-up artist! He is extremely professional and talented, but also relaxed and funny! Carl listened to exactly what I wanted my makeup to look like on my big day and far exceeded my expectations. He truly is an artist. He makes you look natural (if that's what you want) so you look like yourself but your most glamorous, beautiful version. The makeup was even and flawless and very natural. He put fake eyelashes on me and they were very comfortable and very natural looking, but definitely played up the eyes. He gives advice but is not pushy, and definitely listens to what you want. Most amazingly, the makeup stayed on EXACTLY how he applied it the entire day/night (even up thru 1am when my reception ended!)

Carl is my first "must-have" when I give a bride advice. As soon as I know the wedding date, I book Carl as the make-up artist when I'm a bridesmaid. I've had other make-up artists do my make up in the past (pre-Carl), and felt like I could have done it myself and that it wore off the same as when I do it. But with Carl, I always look my absolute best and sadly could never apply makeup as well as him. Even though my wedding was a year and a half ago, I still get told that my makeup was incredible, and get asked for Carl's contact information.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney Farrell
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I have never felt so beautiful in my life! Carl Ray did an amazing job turning this tomboy into a glam bride!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC responded with the following comments:

Courtney,
You are very welcome!
Thank you for your review... Hope your having a great Summer.
Best,
Carl Ray
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
8/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Carl did my wedding day makeup. He is a beauty magician and I would hire him again in a heartbeat for any occasion. Here's why:
1. Beautiful makeup: I didn't even give him instruction for how I wanted my bridal make up to look, but he made me look amazing and I've never felt so beautiful. It was the perfect blend of glamorous and natural that every girl should be on her big day. I felt that he just discerned my best features and highlighted them for all to see. I got so many compliments on how I looked and on my makeup!
2. Long-lasting makeup: I was amazed that my makeup lasted (without any upkeep!!!) for the whole day and night. I got my makeup done around 12noon. This same look lasted even though I got caught in showers from a hurricane and even though I was dancing like crazy for at least 4 hours. Not to mention: the makeup withstood my frequent tearing-up.
3. Great person. Carl is so nice, kind and reassuring. He's the kind of person that you want to have on your side and that you really don't mind paying money to on your wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cactafeva
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
My makeup was one of the aspects of my wedding I get complimented on the most. Carl, based out of George Salon at the Four Seasons, did an amazing job. He took my style and recommendations into account, and added his own expertise to create the perfect look for my wedding day. I felt glamorous and beautiful, but not overly done. In fact, the most important part was that I felt like myself – just on my biggest night out. Carl also provided me with blotting sheets, and a beautiful shade of lipstick to take me through the night for touch ups, and I still wear the lipstick all the time. Carl also did makeup for my mom, mother of the groom, and some of the bridesmaids, all of whom had rave reviews as well. We would recommend him to every DC bride.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annie
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Carl did my makeup for my engagement photos and wedding day - back in May of 2010. If I could give Carl 10 stars, I would. He is absolutely outstanding!!!! THE BEST!!!!!!! You cannot compare Carl's talent to anyone else. He gave me a gorgeous dramatic look, made my mother look stunning, and transformed my grandmother (who was finishing cancer treatment) look like the most gorgeous woman you've ever seen. When I saw her - I gasped. Many makeup artists can only do one "look" but Carl can do anything. He is one in a million. Yes - Carl is THE best makeup artist in DC. But even more than that - he is such a wonderful person to spend your wedding day with. He is calm, kind, and so much fun to be around. Rick was also amazing. When you're getting married, things are hectic. There are quite a number of schedule changes. Rick was so flexible with me and my family. And I adore him! Rick and Carl are very special people and I loved working with them. I was truly honored to spend my wedding day with them and I would never go to anyone else!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
E
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Carl is the BEST in the business. I've seen him for events for several years and last year he did the makeup for my wedding.
Not only is he the most professional man around but his work speaks for itself. If there was a rating based on how wonderful he made women (and men!) feel about themselves, he would receive a 5/5.
When I got engaged, I picked my wedding date because Carl was available. He's that good.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
My makeup was perfectly flawless. Nothing else to say about Carl Ray except he is the best of the best in DC! Try and call as quickly as possible to book him because he goes fast! I have recommended him to multiple girlfriends and they all love him!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Carl is without a doubt the best makeup artist around. He listens when you describe the look you're going for (extremely important for any beauty service!)and makes it happen. His work is impeccable and you'll feel like a million bucks! He's very easygoing and fun to be around. Absolutely the type of person you want with you the day of your wedding. Carl did my makeup for my rehearsal dinner, wedding, and many other occasions where I've wanted to look my best - it is the greatest treat. I haven't had half as much luck with any other makeup artist. Go with Carl on your wedding day (or any other occasion for that matter)!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ajmcmc
Wedding:
12/6/2008
5.0/5.0
I started working with Carl for my wedding back in 2008. He is an extremely talented make-up artist who combines his artistic talent with being able to naturally put the bride at ease on a day that can be easily derailed with emotions. He did exactly what I asked for when I described the image I wanted to project on my wedding day and I still looked like me! He did a great job on my matron of honor as well. They went above and beyond what was necessary to make her as comfortable as possible as it was two weeks after her c-section. I have continued to hire him for special occasions and recommended him to friends, family and colleagues.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I was very worried about having someone do my makeup because I much prefer a natural look and have had bad experiences with makeup artists caking makeup on me. Car Ray listened exactly to what I wanted and I could not have been happier. I ended up buying a ton of products that he used on me because I loved the colors so much (and no, he didn't sell me the products!)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
7/29/2006
5.0/5.0
To start, let me just say Carl is extraordinarily talented! I had read about Carl in a couple of magazines and always knew that I would want him to do my makeup for my wedding one day. When I called to book a trial I was thrilled that he was available! Given his credentials and the fact that i knew he had many high profile clients, I was also surprised that Carl hadn't moved to LA or New York - lucky me! When I met Carl for my trial, he was so professional, kind and attentive...most of all, he was amazingly talented and exceeded my expectations! Carl knew exactly what looked best with my hair and skin tone. He knew exactly what would look best photographs. I think many people can apply makeup successfully but only a few are true artists whose talents are undeniable. Carl Ray is one of those artists! Thank you Carl!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosa
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.9/5.0
Dear Brides,

The five stars I gave to Carl are not to be taken lightly...he TRULY deserves it. On your wedding day, a million things can go wrong and will go wrong...it doesn't matter how much you pay for what and who you hire, things won't go as planned. That said, Carl Ray WILL. He will deliver and not only will he deliver, but he will take your exhausted, lack of sleep, frantic and anxious face, and make you look like the serene, well-rested, ready for your photo shoot, beautiful person you should be on the BIG DAY. I can't say enough great things about him other than I made the right choice by booking my venue AFTER I booked him to ensure that I had him for myself and the important people in my party (moms and sister). He is worth it. His rates are on par with other places and if you still feel it's too much, this should not be the place where you save $ on. This is your face...should be one of the most important considerations for your wedding. I can't emphasize enough how great Carl Ray is. He is hands down, the most talented makeup artist in DC and NY (I only know DC and NY) and I've tried almost all the top artists. In summary, if you want to do yourself a favor and relax a bit, I would book him first. Or else, you can leave it up to chance.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jana
Wedding:
10/28/2006
4.9/5.0
Carl Ray was fabulous. He was so easy to work with but more than anything he made everyone in my bridal party look amazing. His style is not overdone, and everyone looked like very naturally beautiful versions of themselves. Several of my family members, who had declined to have their make up done, asked to be squeezed into the schedule after seeing what a great job Carol had done with the members of the bridal party. People frequently ask me who did the makeup for my wedding and I always recommend Carl to friends who are getting married in Washington.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I used Carl for my makeup for my engagement photos and I just wish I wasn't getting married in a different city so that I could use him for my wedding! He did exactly the beautiful, natural look that I was looking for and I felt my best for the photos. He is also fun to be around and clearly knows a lot about his craft. I also have to say that he managed to squeeze me in VERY last minute on the same day as a major DC event- as soon as he was finished with me, he left the salon for the White House to do the First Lady's makeup. Can't beat that.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Carl Ray is an amazing makeup artist. He made everyone feel and look like a movie star. Having Carl do my wedding makeup was the best decision! I knew I was in good hands and would look my best. He took time on each mother, bridesmaid and of course me (bride). He scheduled his time out so well and we never felt rushed. I was so excited when I saw the results! He really was a great part of the day and it was such a joy to work with him. I would not have chosen any other artist! He is the best.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
7/3/2011
4.8/5.0
Carl Ray is without a doubt the best of the best. Carl did the makeup for my wedding (bride, mother of the bride & mother of the groom) and I was extremely impressed by his talent, poise and overall demeanor. He listened attentively to what I wanted (a very natural look that was enough to stay on through the day and look great in pics). Also of note is the professionalism of the salon George -- Rick Raines organized and managed the entire process and was a fun addition and calming force to ensuring everything went smoothly leading up to and on the wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bianca
Wedding:
11/19/2005
4.7/5.0
Seeing Carl is like an experience, not just make-up. He makes you feel, not only look, beautiful. I saw him for my wedding seven years ago for my wedding and try to book him for every important event thereafter. Book early. :) His artistry is in high demand.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1280289687269-newyears2
Chelsea
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.5/5.0
I felt like a supermodel on my wedding day! Carl did my and my mom's makeup. My mom had never had her makeup done before and she looked stunning. He has a great personality, so much experience and he certainly knows how to make your makeup last. I cried a few times throughout the day and not once to to touch up my eye makeup. I've had my makeup done by numerous professionals over the years and he is top notch! Love him!
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
George Salon @ The Four Seasons Hotel, 2828 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20007 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Carl Ray Makeup Artist, LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1392408313422-520hannan10811016