130x130_sq_1368121702898-facebook

carlie statsky photography

Santa Cruz , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1900 Jarvis Rd.
Santa Cruz, CA US 95065 (map)

PHONE

831-566-5847

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1380244183621-wed-1
130x130_sq_1297221774524-89edit2
130x130_sq_1297221760571-jen
130x130_sq_1380244503659-jr-38
130x130_sq_1380244282795-wed-36
130x130_sq_1380244202220-wed-2
130x130_sq_1380244331774-wed-4
130x130_sq_1380244736850-wed-6
130x130_sq_1380244627502--0041
130x130_sq_1380244356750-wed-24
130x130_sq_1380244395877-wed-62
130x130_sq_1380244669913-eng-8
130x130_sq_1380244414113-wed-23

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Carlie is amazing and does incredible work. Not only is she a talented and hard-working photographer, she is a lovely person. She had a remarkable way of making us feel comfortable behind the lens while her images perfectly captured the story of our wedding. I would hire her again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/18/2013
5.0/5.0
I am beyond grateful for Carlie Statsky! She was an absolute pleasure to work with leading up to our wedding, and on the day of I felt so lucky to have her there. She's incredibly warm and kind and at the same time a consummate professional. And I am obsessed with our photos! (As are my friends & fam) The photos are so beautifully done, and really tell the story of our wedding day. (Especially important for a couple who chose not to have a videographer) But back to the photos - there are so many amazing ones. And Carlie was so on top of getting the images to us ASAP as well as our album. Our friends and fam are shocked at how quickly everything was processed and in our hands. And it's all thanks to Carlie. I feel like a review can't do Carlie or her work justice! I even blogged about her & her work here: http://amyrosenthal.blogspot.com/2013/11/the-company-you-keep.html Anyway, Carlie is THE BEST!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angelique
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Carlie is the best. I can't say enough about her-- she is an absolute dream to work with. After meeting with several photographers and being unimpressed, we were lucky to find Carlie's work in a blog, and we called her to set up an appointment. From the moment we met her, we were impressed with her professionalism, ease, and style. Photography was the most important part of our wedding for us, and we knew right away that she was the right fit.

We planned our engagement shoot with Carlie for weeks, and on the day, Carlie was just amazing--she was in the bushes and rolling around on the ground! She will do anything for the perfect shot!! Carlie is just so fun, relaxed and easy to work with and she captured our love and sense of love and fun perfectly.

Leading up to our wedding Carlie continued to be very involved and patiently answer all of our questions and give us advice about our big day. When Carlie and her hubby Gabe (who often work as a team) arrived on our wedding day, just seeing her put me at ease. She is just such a pro, and there is such a warmth and grace to her, I immediately relaxed. You don't have to worry about telling Carlie which shots to get-- she gets them all!!! And as a bride on your big day, this is a huge blessing.

When we look back on our wedding photos, Carlie has exceeded our expectations and then some-- they are just incredible and perfect in every way.She captured the private moments between my husband and I, and also the big moments, but always with style and impeccable taste. And everything about what she does- her blog, her website, the packaging she uses for her mailings, her attire on the wedding day-- it is all so classy, clean, and detailed. I just love everything about her and wish all of my wedding vendors could have been so fantastic.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about Carlie. She is the sweetest person and makes you feel at ease when she's shooting your photos. My engagement and wedding pictures were more then amazing. The coloring and lighting of the pictures is breathtaking.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I strongly recommend Carlie! She is a skilled artist and her photography from my winery wedding are beautiful than I could have ever imagined. On my wedding day, Carlie made me feel comfortable and I was happy to have her there with me. Carlie is so responsive and friendly - definitely worth the investment.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wilmot
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
As a professional photographer myself, our wedding photography was one of the first tasks I took care of in our wedding planning, and I was completely impressed with Carlie at every step of the process. Her photography is technically and artistically outstanding, showing a very keen eye for clean composition and tight color palettes, and she was able to cater her shooting to a nice range of styles and environments. She also offered very flexible packages and delivery options, all at very reasonable prices for the superb quality of work - we never felt pressure to order more than we wanted or needed. Carlie handled the wedding day very professionally, and was a warm and subtle addition to our event. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I feel horrible about not writing this review sooner. We got married in October 2012 and from start to finish Carlie was an absolute dream. Our engagement photo session was one of my husband and my most favorite days. Carlie instantly made us feel comfortable and we spent most of the day laughing and at one point forgot we were taking photos. We didn't even care at the end what the photos looked like, but then we saw them and they were absolutely incredible! We looked like models - two years later and I still look at the photos almost weekly.

When it came to the wedding, Carlie and Gabe showed up a day early to scout out the location and lighting. Both of them were non-intrusive, but helped direct us in a sweet and supportive way. We loved the time we had with them and even invited them to our after-party where we ended up chatting with them more than some of our guests! We consider them both our friends now! They are the best. After the wedding, Carlie was so helpful in designing the album and when it came in the mail I was speechless.

I cannot recommend Carlie enough. She was the first vendor I booked and our wedding would not have been the same without her personality, professionalism, and unique talent for taking the most one-of-kind photographs. Did I mention we were published on theweddingchicks.com? You can see the blog post here: http://www.weddingchicks.com/2013/06/21/hans-fahden-wine-cellar-wedding/
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Carlie is talented beyond words. We knew we would have amazing engagement and wedding photos with Carlie's care, but when we saw our photos they were more than just amazing...she exceeded our expectations by 10 folds!

Carlie is the sweetest ever and oh-so genuine and passionate in capturing beautiful moments of your special day. She understands wedding moments are special keepsakes treasured forever in our hearts. How lucky we are in that these moments have been amazingly captured into photo keepsakes by Carlie. My husband and I will always remember sharing our first sunset as Mr. and Mrs. on a mountain top overlooking all of Mt. Diablo State Park. The photo is just priceless - you can see it here: http://www.carliestatsky.com/blog/2012/09/sneak-peek-thomas-estate-wedding-t-2/

In addition, you get double the talent when using Carlie Statsky Photography. She works in duo (majority of the time) with her also very talented husband, Gabe. Their keen eyes for photography provides for consistency in the natural texture, color and lighting you see in all your photos.

Carlie is a bride's dream to work with! She was always responsive, uber-professional and was very courteous with the turnaround time with our photos. We could not have asked for a better photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We were so blessed to be fortunate enough to have found Carlie Statsky to photograph our engagement session and our wedding. She was professional, very easy to get along with and had an amazing eye! She made us feel at ease which showed in the photos and I love the way she captures natural light in all of the photos. We couldn't be more pleased with the final product, photos and books that we will cherish forever. We can't wait for Carlie to capture our family photos in the years to come! I highly recommend Carlie if you want memories to cherish forever.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding day was truly magical – full of love, happiness, beauty, family, and friends. It was everything that we dreamed of, and much much more. I can’t say enough about our photographer Carlie Statsky – she was absolutely phenomenal!! When we first saw Carlie Statsky’s photos, we knew that we wanted her to be our wedding photographer. We were immediately drawn to the soft nature of her photos and her ability to capture moments with an artistic touch. We had a blast exploring our home town for our engagement photos and she made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera. Then at the wedding, Carlie was there at every special moment and even “stole” us away for some sunset photos overlooking the gorgeous vineyard landscape. Every one of Carlie’s photographs tells a story and is a piece of art; we are forever grateful that we will have her pictures to relive our wedding day over and over again for many years to come. I HIGHLY recommend Carlie as a wedding photographer or for any photo shoot. Everything about her – her professionalism, warmth, artistic talent, responsiveness, and kindness set her apart. Thank you Carlie!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lara
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Hiring Carlie as my photographer was one of the best decisions I made regarding my wedding. Throughout the planning process, she was extremely helpful and was always very responsive.

Her work is incredible and to make it even better, she has the most awesome and fun personality. When my husband and I took our engagement session and during our wedding day, I really felt like I was just hanging out with my friend as she was taking my pictures. Carlie makes you feel so comfortable in front of the camera and has a lot of great ideas for photo shoots, poses, themes, etc. I told her my vision for my engagement shoot (a rustic, vintage feel) and she totally suggested the PERFECT location.

Also, Gabe, the second photographer for Carlie Statsky Photography, is a lot of fun and a great guy to hang out with. They make a great team and work very well together.

I have been recommending Carlie since I first met her and I definitely will continue to do so. She is worth every penny and I cannot wait to work with her again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendra
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding photos were my top priority for my wedding. So I wanted to make sure that the photos would be well done and artistically portray the whole day. I don’t feel comfortable in front of a camera. I find it really awkward to do certain poses or to act serious. Therefore, I knew I needed someone who would make me feel really comfortable. I contacted many photographers and I was instantly drawn to Carlie. She is really warm and puts you right at ease. And her photos are amazing. There is so much warmth and love portrayed in her pictures. She has so much enthusiasm and she really focuses on the bride and groom. We live in Germany and our wedding was in the Santa Cruz area, but throughout the whole planning she was really flexible and worked with our schedules every time we were in town. Our wedding was traveled themed and she had the brilliant idea to do our engagement session at the local airport. It was so perfect since my husband is a pilot and we were able to display our engagement photos at our reception as part of our décor.
Carlie was a joy to work with! She was on top of making sure we got our photos soon after the wedding as well as working on our photo album. I trusted her to put the album together herself. She did such an amazing job at conveying the story of the whole day through pictures. The album is absolutely gorgeous and a beautiful reminder of our wedding day.
I highly recommend her and hope to have the opportunity to work with her again in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I’d been following many wedding photography blogs and fell in love with the colors, emotions, and artistry that Carlie consistently produced. I made sure she was available before booking my venue because I loved her work so much. She is very responsive with emails and was one of my favorite parts of the wedding process.

From our first meeting, Carlie was calm, enthusiastic, warm, professional, and a beautiful soul. Our engagement shoot turned out fantastically; Carlie made my shy fiance feel comfortable from the very first clicks of the camera. She directs you just enough but really captures genuine emotions. She is super fast at processing the photos and gets everything back very quickly. We had Carlie create a guest book album from our engagement photos for the wedding, it was a wonderful way to showcase the photos. I continue to get compliments on our photos and absolutely love them!

On our wedding day, Carlie had scouted out locations ahead of time, had her lovely husband Gabe assisting her, and made everyone feel great. She and Gabe drove us to a nearby beach for beautiful sunset photos, which I was hesitant to do but her gentle insistence produced some of my favorite photos of the day. She captured authentic moments and emotions that let us relive our wedding, which went by sooo quickly. From the first-look, to the ceremony, to the awesome reception dance floor shots, Carlie is versatile, creative, and a true professional. She’s worth every penny and is a true joy to work with!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1320017518109-thethreeofus
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Looking for someone to capture your day perfectly.....she is the person you need. Book her now!!!! I couldn't recommend anyone more strongly than Carlie. Carlie will document all the details that us ladies spend many hours worrying about up until the big day. You will be so relaxed the day of your wedding if you book her since she does not leave any detail behind. Carlie loves to individualize everything, so don't hesitate to tell her your desires....she will make them happen. I wanted to go to the beach before my wedding for photos, so we did and everything was right on schedule!

After seeing her amazing work online, we scheduled a time to meet with Carlie during a visit to the Bay Area. We knew right away that she was the right fit for us. Her work speaks for itself - just check out her website - but her presence simply cannot be overstated. She is so genuine and warm and focused on what you want. We knew then that she would go to great lengths to make our day special.

Our entire process - from scheduling our engagement photo session to working on details to the wedding day itself - could not have gone better. Several guests and members of our wedding party commented on how well Carlie managed the day, getting all the right shots at the right times with the proper touch. She never intruded on the day and fit in instantly with all our family and friends. She and Gabe enriched our day, not only through the superior photography but also through their presence.

We are exceedingly satisfied with Carlie and, again, could not recommend her more.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
The best photojournalistic photographer ever. Professional, flexible and exceedingly talented ;);)
She is truly THE BESt!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheena
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Carlie was the most fantastic photographer I could have ever worked with. She (and her fab husband Gabe!) are friendly, patient, talented, professional, creative...I could go on and on!

Carlie photographed my wedding at Holman Ranch in Carmel Valley, CA on July 30, 2011. Prior to that, she did a fantastic engagement shoot in Santa Cruz, CA. Let me tell you - I'm someone who normally loathes getting my picture taken, but Carlie made the engagment photo proces so fun and easy that when the wedding rolled around, I was ready to go!

I highly recommend her for any event - she's a delight to work with and I'll certainly be using her in the future!

Only word of warning: Because she's so great, she books up QUICKLY so if you want her to shoot your event, contact her ASAP!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
7/3/2011
4.9/5.0
Carlie was AMAZING! She was not only a fabulous photographer but also someone who we would have wanted to invite to the wedding, even though we didn't know her. She knew how to take the best photographs without getting in the way or even being seen. AND, my husband and I had so much fun taking our couple photos with her -- we created a little adventure out of it and had a fun time-out from the wedding. All in all, I would recommend Carlie 110% and would use her services again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessmarried
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Carlie is a bride's dream to work with and was one of our favorite vendors. My husband and I often remarked how awesome she was and why couldn't all wedding vendors be like her? She is amazingly quick with responding to emails, just as quick with our photos, super professional, insanely talented, detail oriented, and so sweet. We trusted her completely and knew we could cross photography off our list of worries.

Carlie is super laid back, easy going, and up for anything to get the best shot. A impromptu engagement session in Seattle turned out gorgeous and my husband and I knew we picked the right photographer since we both felt so at ease and natural with Carlie (not easily accomplished for us).

We had freak winds the day of our wedding, but you couldn't even tell by looking at the photographs. Carlie kept us centered and calm. Our photos and album came out amazingly and we couldn't be happier with the results. My sister loved our photos and Carlie so much that she tried booking Carlie for her own wedding, but unfortunately Carlie was already booked.

We are so glad we got to work with Carlie and her lovely hubby. The photographer is so important...if not, the most important part of a wedding and you want someone you know you can rely on and who will be as wonderful from the beginning until months after your wedding when working on photos together. I really cannot say enough good things about Carlie and can only hope to work with her again in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
snoeebee
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Thank you Carlie! Thank you for ending our brutal search for a photographer. I'm so happy that no one else worked out, for one reason or another, and all the referrals led us to you! I would go through it all again to have you as our photographer! Thank you for a spectacularly fun engagement shoot, thank you for going above and beyond on editing, thank you for loving golden hour, thank you for showcasing our love, thank you for being so friendly, thank you for your incredible eye and thank you for capturing the magic moments of our wedding!

From the moment I talked to Carlie on the phone I could hear her sincere enthusiasm. Not only is Carlie an awesome photographer but she's also a sweetheart (My mum is now in love with Carlie and her assistant Marrisa!) We took advantage of Carlie's hometown knowledge of Santa Cruz and loved that she was game enough to come with us on the Ferris wheel, meander through the boardwalk, get eaten by bugs in our field shoot and she wasn't afraid to get her feet wet along the beach. She very quickly took away any camera shy feelings and made us comfortable fast. You didn't even notice the camera after awhile. You can tell she's having so much fun too.... I kept hearing her saw "Awww... I love the light... so beautiful... how fun...etc!" Anytime we were with her it felt like having fun with a good friend.

Carlie really pays attention to you. She asked us about what types of photos we liked, what we wanted to capture and got to know us. It really came through in our photos. She has a great amount of versatility. If you take a look at her blog you will find incredible photos, ALL beautiful but each perfect for the subject.

On our wedding she ventured from Santa Cruz to SF for a photo shoot at Neiman Marcus, magical shots along Maiden Lane, ran around to find me the garter I had lost, and then headed to San Martin for the ceremony. I am amazed at all the photos when I saw them! They say the day flies by, and it really did. Thank you Carlie for getting all those moments I can now relive. Each of them puts a smile on my face.
Jason and I can't thank Carlie enough. We can't wait to have another reason to have her be our photographer. My guilty pleasure is now stalking her incredible blog!

Pure Magic!
Edit Remove
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Devon
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Carlie was THE BEST wedding vendor we worked with (and if you’ve ever planned a wedding, or are currently planning one, I’m sure you know there are quite a few vendors involved). Carlie was recommended by my wedding coordinator amongst a handful of other photographers. Being the A-type personality that I am, I looked through every single photo Carlie had posted on her website and her blog. Not only was I incredibly impressed with her creative eye and ability to capture the true spirit of an event, I was also emotionally moved over photographs of complete strangers.

Carlie was a complete professional throughout the engagement photos, the wedding day, and when working with her on the wedding album. She has complete respect for a bride’s busy schedule while still keeping herself to incredibly tight deadlines – one month after the wedding we had all 800+ photos edited and sent to us for our approval, and shortly thereafter she offered to start working on the wedding album for us.

We’ve received so many comments from our friends and family asking us who the photographer was as people don’t even remember her and her assistant at the wedding, but have fallen head over heels for our photos.

If you’re looking for an incredibly talented modern wedding photographer, look no further.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Santiago
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Your search for an amazing photographer has ended. Carlie did our wedding and she did a stellar job. From the moment we met her we knew we were going to work well with her. She is very professional and at the same time very down to earth, friendly and easy to work with. Her prices are reasonable and more than fair considering the finished product. When it came to the wedding day she had an extra shooter which was key. She has a background in photo journalism which is exactly what we were looking for. We loved the candid shots that she captured and the artistic shots of the wedding, much better than the typical posed pictures (although she did those for us as well). I can't say enough good things about Carlie and her work. I highly, highly recommend using her for any professional photography work, you WILL NOT be disappointed!!!

With so many vendors to hire for our wedding, it was a huge relief to find someone like Carlie, it took so much headache out of our search. She came recommended from a good friend of mine who told me the same things I mention above about Carlie, and she was absolutely right, she's the best.

Check out her website and you'll see what I mean...
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Carlie provided an awesome experience for our engagment session & wedding this past spring. Her easy going low-key approach really helped us feel comfortable and made for some amazing photos. She has a terrific combination of photojournalistic and fine art view points... that lends itself to a great story telling ability. Highly recommend her! You can't go wrong.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
1900 Jarvis Rd., Santa Cruz, CA 95065 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for carlie statsky photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1368121702898-facebook