130x130_sq_1367803925362-fbprofile

Carnelian Creative

Oak Park , IL

LOCATION

Oak Park, IL US 60302 (map)

PHONE

708-406-9520

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

At Carnelian Creative, your wish is our design! By creating one-of-a-kind invitations that reflect your unique style as a couple, we set the stage for your celebration. We'll transform... Read more
At Carnelian Creative, your wish is our design! By creating one-of-a-kind invitations that reflect your unique style as a couple, we set the stage for your celebration. We'll transform your inspirations into a beautiful custom design, and our work doesn't stop with invitations. We can create coordinating menus, programs, place cards, favors, thank you notes and much more. You can rest assured that no one else will have an invitation like yours, because our designs are never duplicated!
At this time, we are completely booked for the remainder of 2014. If you're looking for custom invitations, please contact our sister company, Letterpress By Lydia, at 847-312-1105 or lydia@letterpressbylydia.com. Thank you! Read less
Invitations

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1319140668663-img1174
130x130_sq_1378418513507-griggslishdetail1
130x130_sq_1378418897228-crisanticochran1
130x130_sq_1366575789865-magnusoncook1
130x130_sq_1360200223106-ginamatt2
130x130_sq_1379027414335-nelsonpedi2
130x130_sq_1319140837658-img0632
130x130_sq_1360200305584-tiffanychris2
130x130_sq_1378419159125-laurenerik2
130x130_sq_1378419003976-wangjensen1
130x130_sq_1378413786977-maggiedavid3
130x130_sq_1379029121848-livascalhoun2
130x130_sq_1378418701288-chenrawson1
130x130_sq_1378414568242-plattschultz1
130x130_sq_1295217526885-shelldetail4
130x130_sq_1360201616421-lucyryan4
130x130_sq_1295217339447-invit32
130x130_sq_1360202120870-lauraanthony1
130x130_sq_1295217565994-invit111
130x130_sq_1295217465135-010
130x130_sq_1295217729572-invit43
130x130_sq_1360200244957-christinejim1
130x130_sq_1368716187063-maggiedavid1
130x130_sq_1360188022523-kristinryanstd
130x130_sq_1360186439725-hartmannvandellstd
130x130_sq_1360186585229-invit23
130x130_sq_1360199200978-stupcakolvasavethedate
130x130_sq_1367804076893-laurenerikprogram
130x130_sq_1378415988375-hunyadicollthankyou
130x130_sq_1367804041455-livascalhounprogram
130x130_sq_1367804547901-weberaddisprogram
130x130_sq_1367804061171-wangjensenprogram
130x130_sq_1378414787386-plattschultzprogram2
130x130_sq_1378415269717-hunyadicollrehearsal2

INFO FOR INVITATIONS

Do you offer a catalog of products or custom products?
Custom Products
Do you handle design, printing, and assembly?
Assembly, Design, Printing
What specialty products do you provide?
Letterpress, Recycled Paper
Describe the types of invitations that you offer:
Carnelian Creative specializes in custom designed invitations many of which include pocket folds and other enclosures.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Working with Emily was truly a pleasure!! She was able to take my vision and create exactly what we were looking for! We initially were going to order our invitations from a local stationery store and had "settled" on something out of one of the sample books. The owner of the store stated that they could be customized more for us (i.e. color changes,etc) but I left there not really loving what we had chosen. I decided to see what other options were out there and found Carnelian Creative. She listened to my ideas and transformed them into a beautiful invitation. I was worried that it would be more expensive to have them designed for us but I felt she was reasonable. Yes, you could save some money by ordering something online or picking it straight out of a book, but I feel that the personal interaction with someone who actually has a background in design made such a difference! And also, she doesn't duplicate designs so it's awesome knowing that we're the only ones who will ever have our invitation! Thanks again Emily!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julianne
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Emily is amazing. She did our invitation suite, escort cards, table numbers, favor labels, ceremony programs, and thank you notes. She took our ideas and expanded on them, while always making sure we were happy. She did such a fantastic job on everything. I have gotten so many compliments on our invitation suite. Someone in our family who used to be in printing said that it must have cost a fortune for the quality of the paper and the letterpress printing we decided to do....But the thing is, it was totally affordable! She will work within the budget that you give her. And her responsiveness was top notch. She will get back to you within hours and not days. If you have a problem last minute she is completely flexible and will get it done. I recommend her to a bride with any budget planning any kind of wedding!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for someone to create the invitations for your wedding...look no further. I cannot speak highly enough about the work that Emily did for my daughter's wedding. From the first email I sent her, to the day I picked up the invitations and beyond, the level of service we received was beyond outstanding. Emily was prompt with every aspect of the project, from returning emails, delivery designs before she had promised them, answering the numerous questions we had, and completing the project on time. Did I mention how BEAUTIFUL the invitations are!!! The day they arrived in guests' mailboxes, I received numerous calls/emails stating how spectacular they were. The first came from a dear friend who, herself, is a graphic designer whose opinion I value dearly. I am some thankful that I happened upon Emily and Carnelian Creative - the entire invitation process was pleasurable - Emily is an angel to work with!!! Do not spend your time searching for someone to do your invitations. Emily is the one.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debra
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter and I hired Carnelian Creative to create wedding invitations, shower invitations, favor tags, thank you notes, table numbers and wedding programs. This was very important to us and we are extremely pleased with the results. We looked everywhere for the type of invitation we wanted with no luck until we met with Emily from Carnelian Creative. Our theme was simple elegance. We explained what we were looking for and she did a wonderful job creating just the design and look we wanted. Emily does beautiful work. The quality was outstanding and service was excellent. Emilly was very responsive. We received so many compliments from our guests on our beautiful invitations which totally set the tone for our wedding. Emily is extremely professional and a joy to work with. We highly recommend Carnelian Creative to family and friends and will definitely be using her services in the future.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clare
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Emily was a pleasure to work with! She created beautiful designs for our invitations, programs & thank you notes. She was responsive and prompt with content edits or design changes when we requested them. I would highly recommend working with Carnelian Creative!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phyllis
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The wedding rehearsal invitations, wedding program and day of seating cards were perfect! Emily kept us on task and was wonderful to work with. We could not have had a better experience! Thanks again!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything came out exactly as how we pictured each of the pieces for our wedding. Emily did our invitations, thank you notes, programs, table names and place cards. Not only were they all great, but we did a different style for the place cards that was totally unrelated to our other pieces and she had no problem creating a whole new design for the place cards! Anyone who chooses her for their design needs will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Emily is absolutely amazing!!! She was able to put my rough vision into something that was even more fabulous than we could have imagined. With 3 days before our wedding we noticed a mistake on our programs (something we had missed, not something that was Emily's mistake). Emily redid all 150 of the programs and had them to us the morning before our wedding which was just amazing in our minds. She is so easy to work with and her work is just impeccable. Go with Emily. You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute pleasure to work with Emily on our save-the-dates and invitations. She is extremely professional, organized, flexible, reliable, and most importantly creative. I had no doubt she would do everything she said she would and complete work on time. I am a bit of a paper snob and had many ideas about what our invitations would look like. The final product surpassed my every expectation. She took our sometimes less than articulate vision and translated it to something great. As a busy bride, I also appreciate that she made this as easy as possible by breaking down the options and sharing her expertise. I have had countless people tell me how the invitations are both beautiful and different and that they really reflect us and our wedding location. I also appreciate that she worked with two printers for us, one of whom produced an amazing letterpress product.
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1300295715556-beach2010
Lauren
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Emily was one of the few invitation vendors I found that really listened to my vision and made it happen at an affordable price! She was able to present my finace and I with several different design options so we were able to pick what we liked the most! She was extremely accomodating and patient with any tweeks I wanted to make. She truely provided a customized invitation. I have received so many compliments on my invitations.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila
Wedding:
5/29/2012
5.0/5.0
A task master company at it's best! Without Carnelian I would probably still be waiting to send my invitations with only 40 days to go!

Emily's thorough and creative work is priceless in this field. She was consistently available for questions, advice, and correspondence despite being based hundreds of miles from me! When my fiance and I started thinking about invitations I immediately thought of her. My friends and family are raving about our invitations and I cannot put a price on her professionalism and beautiful work.

This entire process was fun and well done due to Emily's knowledge, experience, creativity and patience in dealing with me!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marissa
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with Carnelian was a dream. They were really worked with me to design everything, from save the dates, to invitations, to placecards, table numbers, and gift tags. I wanted to include an intricate lace pattern based on my wedding gown in the stationery, and they took a picture I sent them and turned it into the universal theme for the wedding. Every step of the way, they kept my budget in mind and provided alternative solutions. They even called me from UPS to make sure I was okay with shipping costs.

It was a wonderful experience and I cannot thank them enough.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily is professional, helpful, and creative. She gives you great ideas to choose from after the initial consultation and discussion. She has great samples to preview. Emily got digital samples to us quickly as well. Final product was beautiful! Sooooo many compliments!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MplsBride11
Wedding:
10/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Carnelian Creative was a fresh affordable option for invitations. Emily was calm and responsive to my sudden envelope shortage and made the requested changes to our invites in an accurate and timely manner. We received many compliments on our invites that indicated they were unique, fun, and "just us". I was very pleased and would use her again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I had seen some of Carnelian's work at another wedding that I went to, so I already knew what to expect in terms of quality. However, I did not know what to expect in terms of service. Sometimes, when you are dealing with a high level product, you can get a sense that you don't really know what you're doing. Working with Carnelian was the complete opposite, and they really guided us through the steps comfortably. We had a designated designer who worked with us real-time through the whole process from concept to print. Everything was completely custom, and we were consulted promptly via e-mail any time input was needed from us, or a decision needed to be made. Just be warned: If you plan to use them for your wedding, you had better be prepared to answer loads of questions from your guests about who did your amazing invitations.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happybride
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Worth the price. All of our stationery turned out to be gorgeous!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucy
Wedding:
8/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Carnelian is absolutely the best! We were so excited to work with Emily and were so extremely pleased with the results! We had people in the printing business give the greatest compliment to our invitations and save-the-dates, as well as just about everyone else who received them. Emily was so flexible, and was great at turning our ideas into the most beautiful designs. I cannot thank her enough for all the hard work she put into one of the most important aspects of our wedding!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tiffanyhalo
Wedding:
8/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily is absolutely wonderful!! She gave us a great design to start with, as well as a lot of options, making it VERY easy to pick the colors and design that worked best for us! She was also very willing to work within our budget, making the whole process seamless and fun! :) We love our invitations and we love Carnelian Creative! :)
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything was fantastic! We were able to work with Emily's guidance to develop a custom look and design for all of our wedding stationary, which was one of my favorite aspects of the wedding as a whole. Emily was extremely easy to work with - very kind and helpful along with being flexible with scheduling and timely with responses and completion of projects. I could not be happier with how everything turned out and am so glad we found her! My little sister is utilizing her services as well and I would recommend Carnelian Creative to all brides to take care of all their stationary needs.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarasattar
Wedding:
7/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Carnelian Creative did a fantastic job on our wedding invitations! I was looking for something customized to fit our simple but elegant vision, without comprising quality– and that is exactly what I got, Emily brought my vision to life! She was so easy to work with, very helpful and extremely prompt.

I would highly recommend Carnelian Creative and trust them completely to deliver beautiful high quality invitations you and your guest will love!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allyson
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Working with Emily was absolutely amazing! She let me provide my ideas for the invitation I wanted and made it into the perfect invitation. The final product was much greater than I had ever imagined, and it's all thanks to her. I have gotten so many compliments on the invitations. The entire process of imagining, designing and putting it all together was so easy! I would definitely recommend Carnelian Creative for any printing needs.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The new Mrs. G
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about working with Emily! She is completely professional, creative, tasteful, and flexible! We had been considering doing our own invitations, but after I met with her, it was clear that she had a lot of experience and ideas that we could gain from. Our invitations would not have been as wonderful if it weren't for her expertise. I would recommend her to any of my closest friends and family!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Emily on our wedding invitations was probably the most fun part of the entire wedding planning process. She was reliable, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful. On top of that she has an amazing ability for turning your thoughts and ideas into beautiful works of art. I can't tell you how many comments I got on the invitations. On a scale of 1 to 5, I would give her a 6 - she is a rock star!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1242152696859-n5507733388265862281
Abby
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Emily was a blast. She helped us create save-the-dates and wedding invitations that were completely unique to us. She was able to work within our modest budget while keeping the style and level of quality we wanted. The whole experience was professional and easy. Emily was prompt, stayed within budget and offered us completely personalized save-the-date and wedding invitations. We were very specific about what we wanted, but didn’t know how to create it. Emily listened to us and gave us what we asked for. She also added details that we had not considered to make the elements we wanted even better then we imagined they would be. I would recommend her to anyone looking for a creative and distinctive addition to his or her event.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BrennaStevens
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
My husband and I loved the wedding invitations that Emily did for us. She helped set the tone for the most important day of our lives! Her service was excellent and communication was fantastic.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
8/30/2014
4.9/5.0
Emily was great to work with! She did an excellent job on our invitations, and always responded promptly to my emails. She was very helpful in providing me with backup invitation material options when our first choice became unavailable. She was also very flexible with all of the tweaks to invitation design that I requested. I'm glad we decided to use Carnelian Creative!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.9/5.0
Loved meeting with Emily! She really allowed us to talk and tell her what we wanted, she listened and made the most stunning invitations. The feedback I've received from my guests is just over the top "best invitation I've ever seen" "your invites are amazing" "stunning invitation" to name a few. Even though I'm a nutcase and she was preggers, she's so flexible and doesn't get feisty over changes and works hard to make sure you're 100% pleased. I will recommend her to anyone I know. And I think the value was great too. Really- can't say enough good things. I LOVE my invites. And I can't wait to see the day of pieces!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Carnelian Creative was amazing. Emily did my wedding invitations. She was wonderful to work with, extremly flexible and totally understanding of a crazy bride's nutty ideas and constantly changing details :) She was really phenominal to work with. Additionally, she knows her business well. Emily was able to know exactly what works best, what stamps to use, how to handle international invitations, ways of pulling together details, maps, etc. The finished product..... I LOVE!! As soon as the invitations were sent out, I honestly had many family and friends call to say how gorgeous the invitation was. I think the invitation really sets the tone for the wedding and I just now hope that we can make the event live up to the beautiful invitation.
I would honestly, highly recommend Carnelian Creative. Thank you!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/23/2014
4.8/5.0
Emily at Carnelian Creative created beautiful custom wedding invitations and matching thank you cards for our wedding featuring unique architectural elements of our wedding venue. She was great to work with: professional, always responded quickly, and was attentive to our requests. We had a pretty good idea of what we wanted going in (also saved some cost in terms of design time), and Emily did a great job turning it into something beautiful. One small drawback was cost, but overall we are thrilled with our invitations!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
THE NEED-TO-KNOWS: CC did my save-the-dates, wedding invitations, programs, menus, and other day-of delights (jam jar labels, poster, seating chart, witness document). All was completely custom-designed, based on a few conceptual words my husband and I gave them at the start, like "charming" and "fun". We knew we wanted something non-traditional that felt personal and not forced (trying to convey the vibe the actual event would have). They listened to us describe that vibe, came up with a few designs for our save-the-dates, and we never looked back. Next came a custom illustration for our invite (depicting the day's events), letter-pressed by Lydia. Got a gazillion compliments. Dreamed up all the other possible paper-products these women could create for our big day and forged ahead. Their work tied the whole event together.
FOR THE ESPECIALLY THOROUGH BRIDE OR GROOM:
Through months of collaboration, they were professional (punctual and better than responsive, but actually communicative) as well as creatively flexible. The part not to be overlooked is that this is CUSTOM DESIGN. Where most vendors use templates, Emily gives you OPTIONS. And if you're not that picky about design stuff, she'll give you suggestions.

COST
Before I met Emily and Lydia, I had done some preliminary groundwork; I'd both thoroughly perused Minted.com (for budget reasons) and investigated a few small boutique-y stationary shops that had books upon books of wedding invitation suites by independent designers (for design reasons). Emily and Lydia had both value and style going for them - not only competitive but actually reasonable. They’d talk me through paper costs, printing costs, and even design costs so that I could cut corners where I needed to (save-the-dates) and splurge on what I cared about (program). To have an entire suite tailored to your needs is beyond a good value; it's a rare gem.
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Emily was so easy to work with and our invitations looked fantastic! She was flexible about the design options without being overwhelming and gave us options that helped us get what we wanted within our budget.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.7/5.0
Carnelian Creative was wonderful throughout the design process! Emily was extremely responsive, open, and flexible in helping us realize a classic, elegant vision for our invitation suite. Her portfolio and creative skills are quite comprehensive, and will appeal to all personal preferences and styles.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M A
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.4/5.0
We used Carnelian Creative for our wedding invitation suite, and this was our first experience working with a graphic designer for any reason......... Emily is quite easy going and friendly, yet politely insistent when deadlines are in play (very appropriate!). ......... She did an excellent job of producing designs that replicated the suggestions and ideas we discussed at our initial meeting but seemed reluctant to expand on those ideas and add a significant amount of her own inspiration and creativity. ...........
The quality of materials offered is excellent, and she can definitely create whatever you have in mind, but be prepared to offer as many specifics as you can to make sure you get what you want. However this may be easier than working with someone who has too many ideas that may not necessarily match yours and needs to be reined in.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
We love our final product, however we basically designed the whole invitation ourselves. If you are going to use this vendor, you need to have a pretty clear idea of what you're looking for ahead of time. We were still charged for 10 hours of design time even though we researched wording and graphics ourselves after being told she would help us. On a positive note, she responds quickly to emails and the paper she uses is high quality.
Services Used: Invitations

MAP

 
Oak Park, IL 60302 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Carnelian Creative
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1367803925362-fbprofile