130x130_sq_1334158469530-castlehillcider

Castle Hill Cider

Keswick , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6065 Turkey Sag Road
Keswick, VA US 22947 (map)

PHONE

202-390-2323

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

CASTLE HILL CIDER is a Virginia cidery and premiere venue for Central Virginia weddings and events. Located in Keswick’s horse country just miles from Charlottesville, Virginia on the... Read more
CASTLE HILL CIDER is a Virginia cidery and premiere venue for Central Virginia weddings and events. Located in Keswick’s horse country just miles from Charlottesville, Virginia on the historic Castle Hill Estate, Castle Hill Cider’s many indoor and outdoor sites offer endless possibilities from the intimate to the incredible. Pastoral fields, meadows and the Blue Ridge Mountains beyond provide stunning backdrops. The Barn shares the crest of a verdant knoll with Linden tree grove. Artfully arranged below are apple orchards, a two-acre lake and custom designed pergolas framing beautifully terraced lawns. The sky is the limit when your event is at Castle Hill Cider.

Plan a visit to Castle Hill Cider and meet with our Director of Events, Evelyn Keyes. Give her a call at 202-390-2323 or send us an e-mail and we will contact you.





LOCATION SHOOTING
Castle Hill Cider is available as a location for films, music videos, photo and fashion shoots. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1340375020693-castlehill0003
130x130_sq_1340375062514-castlehill0004
130x130_sq_1340375084983-castlehill0006
130x130_sq_1340378457602-castlehill0008
130x130_sq_1340378463983-castlehill0011
130x130_sq_1340378470170-castlehill0012
130x130_sq_1340378477204-castlehill0015
130x130_sq_1340378483267-castlehill0020
130x130_sq_1340378489279-castlehill0022
130x130_sq_1340378495300-powellweddingpreview0001
130x130_sq_1340378501179-powellweddingpreview0005
130x130_sq_1340378507632-powellweddingpreview0006
130x130_sq_1340378513348-powellweddingpreview0042
130x130_sq_1340378520028-powellweddingpreview0045
130x130_sq_1340378526554-powellweddingpreview0073
130x130_sq_1340378533246-powellweddingpreview0077
130x130_sq_1340378539828-powellweddingpreview0078
130x130_sq_1335191998740-castlehillcider
130x130_sq_1335192107607-castlehillcider2
130x130_sq_1335192108476-castlehillcider3
130x130_sq_1335192107004-castlehillbarnjpg
130x130_sq_1335191990980-croppedjpeg1
130x130_sq_1335191990518-castlehillcider
130x130_sq_1340210046964-5225453411160426257471773862698n
130x130_sq_1340210078370-539929341117815958903834439067n
130x130_sq_1340210130705-5356703411282526245261820830198n
130x130_sq_1340210150564-5509213411288792911301316330016n
130x130_sq_1340210446727-heroopenuri2012061111s23c4o
130x130_sq_1340210472049-wideopenuri201206111uc6wgh
130x130_sq_1340210494030-wideopenuri2012061111hnezx
130x130_sq_1340210514090-heroopenuri201206111rplmzu
130x130_sq_1340210541500-indian2
130x130_sq_1340210567617-indian3
130x130_sq_1340210587491-tallopenuri201206111gxsrqg
130x130_sq_1340210624431-wideopenuri2012061111oewsul

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1385662771931-img547
Katie
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was very easy to work with. The venue is gorgeous. I couldn't have asked for a better day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Castle Hill Cider in Keswick, VA is, without a doubt, the most wonderful, full service, wedding and reception venue in the state of Viriginia, possibly on the entire eastern seaboard. The setting is absolutely stunning and the drive from Charlottesville, VA up Gordonsville Road to Castle Hill Cider put all of our guests in the perfect wedding mind set, relexed and ready to celebrate..

This awesome venue is surrounded by beautiful mountains, valleys, orchards, lots of green grass and huge huge trees. Castle Hill Cider is set on a farm that is far away from any type of signage, advertising or noise, and it is only a ten mile drive from the beautiful city of Charlottesville, VA. The setting is quiet and peaceful, perfect for a wedding celebration.

The venue is virtually brand new and looks new and fresh. It has a state of the art HVAC system recently installed, which kept all the guests and wedding party members very cool and comfortable. The upstairs wedding chapel is perfect for all your guests and creates a setting right out of a bridal magazine. There is also a beautiful outside wedding venue lined with a grove of beautiful old trees, and an awesome setting for the arrival of the bride in her chariot of choice for all the guests to see..The reception was held just downstairs below the chapel in the grand ball room, so there is no need for guests to drive after arriving at Castle Hill Cider. By the way, there is plenty of parking near the venue. There are simply no hassles in using Castle Hill Cider.

The wonderful staff at Castle Hill Cider is always available to assist you in any way you may need. They worked very well with our wedding planner and the entire event could not have been more satisfying.

This is a can't miss wedding venue and we will be forever grateful to Evelyn and Trevor at Castle Hill Cider for making this the perfect wedding experience.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a beautiful venue for a wedding, look no further! Castle Hill Cider is absolutely stunning. We recently held our daughter's wedding here and everyone was blown away by the beauty of it. Their on site wedding coordinator Evelyn was so nice and accommodating and we really enjoyed working with her and our own planner to make the wedding memorable for my daughter. I cannot say enough about how wonderful and amazing it was to have my daughter's wedding at Castle Hill Cider. They are first rate from start to finish and I couldn't have been more pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Castle Hill Cider was a perfect selection for my recent wedding! Many of our 200 wedding guests enamored with the site and had described it to be the most beautiful wedding they had attended. I think we were asked by every person how we found the place. It was a perfect fit for our dream wedding. We enjoyed the area and we even brought our dog for our final walk through. We loved that it was dog friendly and we had the option of including our little puppy in our day. The pictures that have come in have been absolutely beautiful.

Thank you Castle Hill for all your help!

Megan
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
8/10/2012
5.0/5.0
This is an absolutely beautiful spot for an outdoor wedding. Many of our 200 wedding guests thought it was the most beautiful wedding they have attended. They all wanted to know how we were lucky enough to have found Castle Hill. One of the wedding planners we contacted online, recommended it. The barn is big enough for guests and we did hire a separate vendor to really decorate and decorate they did! Since we were from out -of- town, we asked the folks at Castle Hill to recommend vendors needed for food and all. Everyone they recommended did a great job of fulfilling our needs. We used many vendors and were pleased with their work. It is not an inexpensive venue, nor were the venders inexpensive, but if you want a beautiful once in a lifetime wedding, this venue came through. We were so happy we chose Castle Hill! We were worried about not having any air-conditioning in the barn for the reception. We rented through one of our vendors huge fans and they helped. However, we were very lucky that on the evening of our wedding the air had cooled down due to a brief shower before the ceremony which made the weather very comfortable. The ceremony was held outside in the beautiful Linden Grove and then we enjoyed cocktails and appetizers on the outside terrace area off of the tasting room. A really beautiful area for cocktails. Later we all were ushered inside for the dinner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
When I thought about my wedding, I knew I wanted to do it in a barn. I live in California, my parents live in Virginia, and my husband's family lives in Seattle - so we had a lot of options for where we might have our wedding, and we looked EVERYwhere. From the moment I pulled through the gate at Castle Hill, I knew I was going to be married there. It is absolutely stunning - from the grounds, to the tasting room, to the barn itself - and working with Evelyn made the entire experience a breeze. She is beyond friendly, extremely helpful, professional, and a pleasure to work with. Our wedding day was pure magic, and our guests can't stop talking about our venue. Thank you Castle Hill and Thank you Evelyn. We look forward to dropping in at Castle Hill whenever we are in town - and refilling our supply of delicious cider!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
i had my wedding reception outdoors on the historic Castle Hill Cider property in the spring of 2012. it was the most beautiful event i have ever been to. the grounds were perfectly maintained and they were so detailed and accommodating. they went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our event and no stone was left unturned....spraying for ticks and mosquitos so we wouldn't have to worry about bugs, mowing the grass to our liking, meeting us for numerous on-site visits, tastings, etc. i was blown away by how incredible it all was....and on the most picturesque backdrop i could have imagined. not to mention how wonderful john and evelyn were to work with. i'm happy to now call them both friends. a truly fabulous experience! xo
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married here this past April and had a fantastic experience! The staff at Castle Hill were accommodating, friendly and helpful from the moment we booked th facility to our wedding. I could not recommend this venue enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stars
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Would like to comment on 6/18/2011. It is my understanding that the Castle Hill Coodinator working on June 18, 2011 is no longer with Castle Hill therefore that comment should be scratched!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CuteAngel08
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Venue was so beautiful, I highly recommend this to everyone. The barn is huge and can fit many guests. Truly a treasure in the Charlottesville area!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Castle Hill Cider was amazing. Our planner Evelyn did a wonderful job getting everything together. I am such a control freak which can be good helping others with their weddings but different when dealing with my own. So it was such a blessing and definitely worth having Evelyn by my side. She kept my head on straight and she could see the whole picture even before I did. Everyone was wonderful at Castle Hill from the beginning and we stayed pretty true to our budget-which was important. However, I do suggest (if you're moving out of country-I moved to Canada) to give Castle Hill Cider a heads up on address and when you will be coming back. We had a delay in our deposit but it all worked out in the end. All in all a great experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.8/5.0
Such a beautiful spot for a wedding. The grounds were exceptionally maintained. The event planners are easy to reach and work with. Our day was perfect in every way, highly recommend Castle Hill!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.7/5.0
The most beautiful place to get married!! One of the only places that allowed us to bring our horse and dogs. It was a dream come true=-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
5/27/2012
4.7/5.0
Our guests have not stopped talking for months about how beautiful the venue was for our wedding reception. Some of my favorite memories from our wedding day: 1. arriving at Castle Hill during cocktail hour and seeing all the kids playing soccer and frisbee on the lawn in front of the barn. 2. seeing balloons drop onto the dance floor from the loft above. 3. watching fireworks with our guests over the lake behind the barn. Evelyn and the event coordinators were a joy to work with, friendly, generous and helpful, recommending and coordinating with our vendors, meeting with us multiple times to make sure all the details were ironed out, and always putting us at ease. Hands down this is the best venue in the Charlottesville area (and trust me, we checked them all out!) Our guests loved the cider toast as well.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1334480129873-amandamonteesession64
Amanda
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.6/5.0
This venue was absolutely beautiful!!!! I strongly feel that my words cannot do justice to explain just how magical/spiritual both my ceremony and reception were. We had a later wedding, 6pm; however, due to my mom accidentally bringing my skirt, we actually got started more around 6:20; needless to say, no big deal! Anyways, it was great to hear the subtle music of the cicada's as we were saying our vows under the beautiful trees in the Linden Grove. Our cocktail hour was held on the patio at the front of the barn and lounge with yard games provided by Castle Hill. This was a lovely addition to the festivities of cocktail hour. The reception was held within the barn. Prior to booking Castle Hill, I already had a wedding planner; however, Evelyn Keyes, the event planner at Castle was too a fabulous resource to have during the planning of this special event. When I first went to view the venue, I really appreciated how genuine she was upon meeting my fiancee and I. She was not "fake" in trying to sell us her venue. My husband and I are both doggie lovers and it was fun to have the owners and Evelyn's dogs out and about, accompanying us on our tour. Whenever I had a question or concern, despite Evelyn not being my planner she would always get back to me in a timely fashion; which I very much appreciated. Not only Evelyn, but also the owners of the venue were flexible and understanding with various situations that arose either unexpectedly or last minute. Monte and I look forward to visiting Cider yearly as we spend anniversary weekends at Keswick Hall. I am forever thankful for the generosity, kindness, understanding, and exceptional service that Castle Hill Cider delivered on the happiest day of my life.

XOXO
Amanda ; )
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
birdie3
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.4/5.0
GORGEOUS VENUE! It was great to have the ceremony and the reception in the same location. We had 150 guests at our wedding, but the venue works great for larger groups as well. You must be able to think creatively in order to truly make use of the space (it is a blank slate). The only downfall to the venue is that they have minimal kitchen equipment (you will need to rent a stove) and the cost of rentals will add up quickly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
5/5/2012
3.8/5.0
I worked with Wendy and then Evelyn. Evelyn was my contact for the last 9 months before my wedding, so I primarily emailed with her. Evelyn was very organized, responsive and helpful in planning the wedding from DC. We generally had a good experience prior to our wedding and on the day of. [The only negative thing pre-wedding was that we were pressured to buy and use their cider, which our contract did not suggest or require because it was not available when we contracted the venue. We did not buy or use because we did not like, but didn't like getting asked about it several times.]

The wedding was fabulous. This is a wonderful venue that you can do a lot with. It did rain on our wedding day, so we moved the ceremony to the loft and it was just wonderful. We are so happy we had it there, really, the ceremony was better in the loft than outside -- so beautiful, intimate, and gorgeous in the pictures! [Although Terrance had to hide in the catering tent while I went across the catwalk to the office just before the wedding, so there are some kinks to be worked out with the loft ceremony.]

Sadly, after the wedding was not a good experience. The venue was required to return our deposit 48 hours after the event. When we hadn't heard anything or received a check in over 2 weeks from our wedding date, we emailed. They then responded that there had been almost $400 in grass damage and $200 for a burn on a table. Although it had rained, their pictures of the "grass damage" where almost identical to the pictures I had of the SAME GRASS on two other visits to the property (one of which was a few hours before a different wedding). The $200 on the table damage is likely from a different wedding. I sincerely regret that I did not photograph the space before and after the wedding. Sadly, I could not prove that the "damage" was not done on a different date -- although there was never any object that could have burned the table anywhere near any of the tables. At the end of the day, they agreed to just take $300 from us. We just didn't want to fight it any more, so we let it go. We never heard what the $300 was taken for of the alleged claims. At the end of the day, The pre-wedding and wedding experience was wonderful, just expect them to take $300-$600 of your deposit for no good reason.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Hill Cider responded with the following comments:

We were very happy to hear this client was pleased with the wedding and want to thank her for providing us the feedback.

In regards to their feedback, we do require now as part of our agreements that our cider is used during the event. However, it is because we are very proud of our product and this is often a common practice for wineries, in general.

Also, we did, unfortunately, have to collect a portion of the security deposit for some incidentals that were incurred during the event. But, we were very understanding with the client and happy to lower the amount that was collected based on the circumstances.

Again, we appreciate the feedback from this client and will look to use this opportunity as a way to better improve our services so that we can continue to provide excellent experiences for all our future clients.

Sincerely,
John Rhett
General Manager
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.5/5.0
The events coordinator (who we also had as our wedding planner) was very unprofessional. I was a pretty easy-going bride-to-be, but she made the wedding planning process agonizing by making us feel terrible about our budget, not responding in a timely manner (or at all) to my questions, and being rude to the vendors we chose that she didn't quite agree with. On several occasions (even at rehearsal), people came to me and spoke of how rude she was to them; I shouldn't have had to apologize for the behavior of my wedding planner the day before my wedding. Because of her, I couldn't wait for my wedding to be over. Side note: She also got drunk at our wedding. The venue itself was gorgeous, but if I were to do it all over again, I would've chosen somewhere else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/30/2012
1.3/5.0
Here's the thing about Castle Hill: it's stunning. Absolutely, one hundred percent gorgeous. If you want a venue that will provide the most beautiful setting for pictures, it's perfect. I fell in love with the location, scenery, and converted barn the second I stepped on site. It has a very high price tag for a venue, but I decided to rearrange my budget in order to hold my wedding there just because of its beauty.

It really does pain me to rate the venue as so low because it is absolutely gorgeous and really does have a great event space. But here is why my ratings for it are so low: the event coordination is absolutely atrocious.

I worked with two event coordinators at Castle Hill. The first, Wendy, came off as extremely abrasive, haughty, and rude, but for some reason she took a liking to my mother (who was essentially my own wedding coordinator). Although Wendy’s personality was lacking, she was very responsive to e-mails and seemed to be pretty well organized. She worked with us while we went back and forth about the contract before we placed any deposit on the venue for my wedding date. The contract we were initially provided was for construction workers and NOT for events. The whole thing was rewritten by my own mother (who works with government contracts as a career), but given the extremely high price tag to rent the space, this amount of work on our part was ridiculous.

After signing, time went on and as we were getting closer to my wedding date, we began working with the second event coordinator, Evelyn, who came in to replace Wendy. My first communication with Evelyn showed that she had no clue who I was or that I even had a signed and paid contract for my wedding. That was the first red flag. After a minimal amount of effort I'm sure, she eventually realized that I actually had a contract with them and stopped sending me information about their wedding packages (which I was already more than familiar with…I had a signed contract fir a year already!).

A similar pattern of unprofessionalism and total lack of communication skills continued over the months leading up to my wedding day. She often took a WEEK OR MORE to respond to an e-mail, and when we did get any sort of response, it appeared as though she never even read the message to begin with. Responses were usually disconnected or totally irrelevant to what we had e-mailed her about. Trying to get in contact with her on the phone was impossible as well as she never answered and always had a full mailbox, so no voicemails could be left. She would make her own decisions for us (like taking it upon herself to set up a ridiculously expensive lunch to be catered for my bridal party the day of my wedding when all we asked for her was a quote before any decision was made) and would interrupt or talk over people when we met with her in-person. Overall, this woman came off as completely incompetent with a total lack of professionalism or any sense of common courtesy.

By no means do I want people to think that they shouldn’t book a wedding here, as the event space really is spectacular and the site is beautiful. However, plan to get little or no assistance from the staff there. A professional event coordinator is all the site really needs, especially one that displays any sort of experience in the field.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Hill Cider responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to read through our great responses to get to this one. We are saddened that this client was not pleased with our services on the day of her event, but we would like to address those concerns for our future clients.

As the reviewer mentions at the end, Evelyn and Wendy were not the main point of contacts for the actual day-of coordination for this particular event.

Also, the event unfortunately occurred the day after a large storm came through and knocked out all the power locally in Charlottesville, VA for the entire weekend. However, the entire staff did their absolute best to make sure the event went on that day as smoothly as possible. Obviously, our goal is to ensure our clients have the perfect day, regardless of external circumstances.

And lastly, in regards to the lunch that was provided, Evelyn merely provided a quote for the local grocer to provide a catered lunch, but the client ultimately chose to procure an outside caterer to provide that meal. We aim to be as clear as possible during instances like this, but unfortunately, there seems to have been some miscommunication.

We certainly know this day did not go as smoothly as our other events, but we continually strive to make sure that each and every client is provided with the most excellent customer service that we’re able to provide. We look forward to working with our future clients!

Sincerely,
John Rhett
General Manager

MAP

 
6065 Turkey Sag Road, Keswick, VA 22947 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Castle Hill Cider
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo