130x130_sq_1323288877507-0294lacount100905

Castle Hill on The Crane Estate

Ipswich , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

290 Argilla Road
Ipswich, MA US 01938 (map)

PHONE

978-356-4351

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A GRAND SEASIDE ESTATE
Celebrate your special occasion at this stunning seaside property, Castle Hill on The Crane Estate. The Crane Estate, a property of the trustees of... Read more
A GRAND SEASIDE ESTATE
Celebrate your special occasion at this stunning seaside property, Castle Hill on The Crane Estate. The Crane Estate, a property of the trustees of reservations, encompasses over 2,100 acres overlooking Crane Beach, Crane wildlife refuge, and winding salt marshes. The exclusive use of The Great House is the perfect venue for your dream day.

Perched high above beautiful Crane Beach, this Country Place Era estate offers a dramatic setting for weddings, events, and corporate functions, with extraordinary atmosphere and breathtaking views along the half-mile-long Grand Allée. The Great House accommodates up to 200 guests inside. Tenting is required for groups over 200 for which there is an additional fee.

The Crane Estate has additional venue options for your wedding celebration and private event.

If you've always dreamed of saying "I do" with sun, sand, and surf as your setting, then choose Steep Hill Beach for a seaside ceremony. Two private lawns overlooking the Atlantic provide the perfect spot for a reception to remember.

The historic Italian style barn, boasts terra cotta walls, post and beam interior, wood floors and a green tiled roof. The Barn on The Crane Estate can accommodate up to 140 people for a New England barn celebration. Combine The Barn with Steep Hill Beach or The Vegetable Garden for your ceremony for breathtaking views of winding salt marsh, tidal rivers, woodlands, and the Atlantic Ocean.

No matter which venue you choose, our professional and experienced event staff will be there to help you every step of the way. Please call 978.356.4351 x8814 or find us at www.craneestate.org for more info.

Brides have chosen The Crane Estate as TheKnot.com's Best of Weddings pick for seven years in a row. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1317232741101-0008chung090530
130x130_sq_1323354250913-1059chung090530
130x130_sq_1317233123208-ceremony1103
130x130_sq_1323354426429-details111
130x130_sq_1323355047981-gallery
130x130_sq_1323292466481-0988chung090530
130x130_sq_1317233519808-firstdance29
130x130_sq_1323354386868-intros16
130x130_sq_1323354652723-sarahbastille046
130x130_sq_1317233348176-le004
130x130_sq_1323354776650-sarahbastille065
130x130_sq_1323354942509-ballroomtent
130x130_sq_1323355170410-personkilliantiffjoe28

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1928
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion, Museum
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Coastal, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
350
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
10
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
6500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/20/2014
5.0/5.0
We were so lucky to get married at Castle Hill on The Crane Estate! The venue is stunning and the grounds are simply amazing. The staff and employees at Castle Hill are equally as awesome. From the very beginning, Heather and Ashley were outstanding. From the big picture planning when we first booked (a year prior to our date) to the little details and timeline a week before the big day, to the last minute flexibility during the ceremony and reception, Ashley and her staff made our entire wedding a seamless, stress-free experience. The Castle Hill crew was helpful, supportive, and flexible every step of the way, and provided all the information we needed. The entire team was extremely professional and courteous. We would gladly recommend Castle Hill on The Crane Estate to other couples as we have absolutely no regrets about choosing this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrina
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.6/5.0
My husband and I felt so lucky to get married at this beautiful venue! The staff are phenomenal (we worked with Ashley who is just fantastic) and the grounds are stunning - I couldn't imagine a more beautiful place to get married! Yes, they are not the most flexible with some restrictions on caterers, DJs and the like - but the options they provide encompass a range of price points and tastes and are all quite lovely as well. I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
The Bradley Estate was the perfect venue for my wedding! I worked with Laura and Heather during the early stages of planning and they were great! Heather gave me a lot of ideas and was great at answering all my questions. The day of coordinators were Lisa and Laura, Lisa was great she even let me text her with last minute questions. I brought in a lot of decor for them to set up and they placed everything perfectly. They kept everything running on schedule and Lisa packed everything up nicely at the end of the night.
My ceremony took place in the formal garden with the cocktail hour being indoor/outdoor and the reception was in a tent on the front lawn. All my guest raved about the beautiful location and how it looked as if it was right out of a magazine. This venue was absolutely breathtaking and if I had to plan my wedding all over again I would not change the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1371182118056-img1194
Private User
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.8/5.0
The Crane Estate is a fairy-tale, dream venue. It is so gorgeous and the staff specializes in perfection. My husband and I worked with Francie and Heather, and there is nothing I wouldn't trust them with. We both felt so confident that they were both working hard on our behalf to make the day as seamless and beautiful as possible. They have very strict policies on the grounds, but it is ultimately for the benefit of the couple and for future brides and grooms. My fiancé and I had two issues come up on the grounds of the estate which were upsetting, but the staff made the situation right and made sure our wedding was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Misato
Wedding:
10/14/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue is magical, classy, and what a breath taking view! It was my dream to be able to get married here at the Crane Estate for a long time and I happened to be able to book it approximately 6 months before the wedding date all because it is on a Monday(but it is a "holiday" Monday because it was a Columbus day weekend Monday). We were blessed with a wonderful weather outside so we had the ceremony outside starting from 2pm. Reception took place indoors and everything was perfect, happy and gorgeous. We were assigned a coordinator, Laura. She was very helpful from the beginning and easy to get a hold of through email or phone. She even helped me sort through my table cards alphabetically!
I also went with florist(Karla Cassidy), photographer(Glenn Livermore), and caterer (Vinwood caterer) whom they all worked with Crane Estate many times and know eachother very well so they pretty much know the place inside and out and took care of me with very reasonable costs. If you plan with staff that know the venue very well, it leaves you with less headache and leaves more time for fun and joy during your planning time and the actual wedding day! I had a very beautiful wedding and I highly recommend this place to anyone who would dream to be married at a gorgeous one of a kind estate! :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1377012296284-engagement
K & A
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a beautiful, outdoor wedding at the Crane Estate on October 4, 2013. The entire day at the Estate was flawless, from beginning to end. The staff worked so hard to make sure that everything was the exact way we wanted it, and we are so grateful for that.

Our event coordinator, Ashley DiCarlo, was outstanding during the entire planning process. She was seemingly always available to answer questions, offer input and otherwise help guide us in the process. She made excellent recommendations and offered suggestions that were truly helpful. The day of, we did not have a single thing to worry about because Ashley took care of everything on our behalf.

The Crane Estate is the most beautiful venue imaginable, and our guests were absolutely marveling at the elegance and opulence. We are so happy with every aspect of our wedding day and absolutely recommend this venue to any brides looking for sophistication, elegance and breathtaking views on your wedding day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
If you want an elegant, tasteful, classic wedding, this is the location. Not only are you getting married in the most gorgeous location (both architecturally and scenically), but it is staffed by true professionals! Francie was our wedding coordinator, and she organized all the vendors, created a day-of timeline, let everyone know what they should do and when on the day of (which was important since we had no idea what we were doing!) and kept us on track so we weren't just wandering around. She is a pro and whatever we asked of her she did with grace and ease. As others have said, they come up with real alternate plans in case of rain that will be just as beautiful. In fact after our ceremony there was a little rain, and in what seemed like seconds Francie had everything rearranged to take place indoors. Seriously, if you want a wedding day that'll go off without a hitch, surrounded by capable professionals who know their stuff, allowing you to truly enjoy your wedding day in a gorgeous location, THIS is your venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Castle Hill at the Crane Estate was a wonderful place to get married. It has breath taking views and is a truly unique venue. They were extremely professional and easy to work with. I felt like I emailed our coordinator all the time with questions and they were very quick to respond and helpful. Everyone from the park ranger to the bar tenders to our coordinator the staff was wonderful. They are very up front with all fees. I have no complaints.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A
Wedding:
7/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a Friday afternoon wedding at the Casino Complex at the Crane Estate. Since I was only having the ceremony there, I got a discounted rate. Ashley was awesome at meeting with me, answering all my questions quickly, and getting everything set up the way I wanted it. Heather was the day of coordinator, and she was very organized, and everything went smoothly.

Pros:
-Breathtaking view.
-Private rooms set aside for bride and groom.
-Lots of free parking.
-Good service.
-Beautiful rain backup location.

Cons:
-Tourists wandering about the area occasionally got in the way, or in the pictures, I even found some wandering around the bridal suite. Heather put up signs telling people to stay away, but people just love gawking at weddings.
-Not much nearby, the salon we used was 30 minutes away, and hotels were hard to find.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
Our experience with our reception at The Crane Estate was wonderful. Not only does this venue have a breathtaking view from The Great House, but the staff were very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darnelle
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
It is hard to describe just how beautiful the Crane Estate is! We LOVED having our wedding here! Ashley, our coordinator, was great to work with. She was incredibly friendly, organized and professional. I felt completely comfortable having her in charge the day of the wedding.
The venue itself is gorgeous-- not to mention the beautiful grounds and rolling hills! Our pictures look like postcards!
The Crane Estate is the perfect place to have your wedding if you're looking for something different!! You will NOT be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/16/2012
4.4/5.0
Fantastic venue overall. It's not on the cheap side, but with that view, it is well worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was a real fairy tail at the Crane Estate. The location is breathtaking and our pictures are amazing. We chose Castle Hill because of its beauty and history and we were not disappointed. We had the perfect day and danced the night away under the stars. Francie our Castle Hill planner was perfect! She was there for us every step of the way. She listened to our ideas and made them happen. I called often and she always had time to talk and never made me feel like I bothered her. Thanks Francie for making our wedding at 10 ++. Kim & Greg
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
The Crane Estate is the perfect setting for a summer wedding. The views are spectacular and even if the weather doesn't quite work, the house and surrounding grounds make it unforgettable. Our planner, Francie, was extremely helpful, offering recommendations on vendors in the area (as it was a little tricky because we live in NYC) and was always available. While the cost of the house is steep, it's definitely worth every penny. The single downside, which may not have been a downside for us at the end of it all, was the fact that you can only have the house from 5-10 PM. We would have loved to have stayed until midnight, but five hours was still a good amount of time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cameron
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I recently got married at Castle Hill on the Crane Estate. If you've ever visited this venue, you see why my husband and I immediately fell in love with it! The grounds are breath-taking!! When I woke up that morning to pouring rain, I was slightly disappointed since Plan A was to have most of the ceremony and reception outdoors. However, I could not have been more pleased with how our entire wedding turned out. Ashley DiCarlo, our wedding planner from the Crane Estate was AMAZING!!! She executed every detail perfectly and was a pleasure to work with. I wouldn't have changed a thing!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
5/28/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter and her groom to be wanted to get married in Portsmouth, NH, which they both love. It's a bustling little town with lots of fun places to shop and eat and it's right on the water. I took them to venues all up and down the NH and Maine coasts to all the possible spots. When we were done, I remembered one other place, The Crane Estate, in Ipswich, Mass., an hour south. When they both saw the place, their jaws dropped. "This is the place" they both said. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking, the inside of the old family estate is out of another era in time. It has a warmth and charm to it that keeps people wandering around, looking and marveling at the architecture. It is magnificent. The Crane Estate employees are experts at weddings and they have it all under control. They help with all the specifics and work with your caterers, florists and band, and get it all organized. Our wedding was 5 weeks ago, and we are still getting notes and letters from guests saying that this was truly a "fairy-tale wedding." We couldn't agree more. We also used the tavern at the bottom of the hill for the bride and all her bridesmaids to spend the morning getting their hair and make up done. It was perfect! A fun way for our daughter, to spend the whole morning, with all her girlfriends, mother (me!) and her future mother in law and grandmother, leading up to the wedding. Truly a magnificent wedding venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sberen
Wedding:
4/29/2012
5.0/5.0
If I had to choose only one thing that was the reason my daughter's wedding was beyond our dreams, it would be Castle Hill on the Crane Estate. I don't have words to express my appreciation of not just the magnificent setting, but the highly experienced,professionalism of the staff. They work like a well-oiled clock. I cannot do it justice. They anticipated our every need, by asking questions that enabled them to provide a perfectly orchestrated event precicely suited to our desires. They were contantly smiling, accommodating and flexible. When it looked like our guests would be more comfortable on a sunny terrace shielded from a rather strong wind, they moved the cocktail hour to another part of the property--the morning of the wedding. This building and grounds are spectacularly beautiful and well maintained. The staff is phenomenal. I worried about NOTHING at all throughout the entire day. They work around the clock to ensure that everything is perfect. And it WAS! The value for what we got was exceptional as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alyssa
Wedding:
8/26/2011
4.9/5.0
Castle Hill was the most amazing venue. It is such a beautiful spot and provides so many places for fabulous pictures. I am from the area but live in the UK and planned my entire wedding from overseas. The staff at the Castle were extremely helpful and very accomodating, esp given the fact that we never met face to face. The only problem with the venue is the time. They are EXTREMELY strict with time and will charge you for every minute that your wedding runs over. Just keep this in mind. Your day goes by faster than you can ever imagine an with a 5hr window at the Castle you are on a tight schedule. I would also recommend doing photos before hand to save on time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.8/5.0
It's a undeniably stunning place to get married--look at any photos of the estate and you'll see why it needs no further comment here. But it also has a real rain plan that won't leave you soggy or in some drab conference room. It can handle weddings of almost any size and make them feel at once intimate and grand. The staff is helpful, friendly and accommodating. Loved getting married here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
molls225
Wedding:
6/18/2011
3.4/5.0
I absoluately loved our venue but it was expensive. I thought that the on-site cordinator would be a little better - (e.g. the chairs for the ceremony were set up way too close making the aisle incredibly narrow, one of their staff came to the bridal suite 30 minutes before the wedding to ask me for a seat chart, which I had emailed weeks earlier, etc). But the views were specatular!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/17/2010
4.8/5.0
Once you see this place, you'll know what everyone's talking about. It's even more unbelievable on your wedding day. Great staff, too. I didn't have any complaints, but I do echo the idea that it would be great if they gave you another hour of time (instead of charging you $1500 for it). Absolutely gorgeous venue -- your guests will love it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/15/2010
3.8/5.0
The Crane Estate is gorgeous. Simply stunning. The husbands of two of my mother-in-law's friends made it a point to tell me they had never been to a more beautiful wedding venue. If the *men* are saying it - you know this place is gorgeous! If you've never been - it's the best of everything - gorgeous ocean views, long green lawns & gardens, historic home with fabulous period details. A gem.

The pros: beautiful location, both inside & out. Private bridal suite to change in, private groom's room to change in. Only one wedding happening at a time (no need to worry about gawkers!) so if it rains you can move inside no problem. Plenty of parking and lots of beautiful spots to take photos. You can drop off your "extras" (programs, card box, etc) a couple days early saving LOTS of time and hassle the day of the wedding.

The cons: you have to use their vendors (not necessarily an issue - I LOVE the caterer I chose through them, but this could be an issue to someone else); They are really strict on time and you cannot run past 11pm. Depending on which coordinator you get you may get a better response to your questions than I did. She pulled through the day of, but I didn't feel like my wedding (and all the money we were spending!) was important to her during the planning process (unlike my caterer, which really stepped up to make my wedding unique).

I would definitely love to go back to the Estate (which you can tour) and I think it's a great venue overall.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
allsalt
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
This is one of the finest wedding venues in Massachusetts. Yes, it costs money, but most of the historic homes on the North Shore of Boston have high rental fees. My daughter's wedding in July of 2010 was magical and went flawlessly thanks to Ashley, her staff, and a great group of vendors. I can't imagine a better place to have the ceremony and the reception. Our guests are raving at how wonderful it was and how lucky they were that we provided this experience for them. How can you ask for more? Book it WAY in advance (over a year) as they are very popular.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brookey08
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.8/5.0
Ashley and the staff at the Crane Estate were wonderful and professional! It is a stunning estate with beautiful views of the gardens, ocean, and marshes... great for pictures! On the pricey side but worth every penny, having guests eat in two rooms was not a big deal at all. Our family and friends are still saying how much they enjoyed the reception. I'd choose them again in an instant.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1232769408343-aliandpete'swedding!043
tande
Wedding:
9/25/2009
4.8/5.0
The venue managers at Crane Estate- ask to work with Ashley! She's done so many weddings at the Estate and I felt comfortable working with her the whole time. They do have some specific house rules, so read up before you sign the contract. My guests still come up to me and tell me how beautiful the venue was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bb12
Gretchen and Nina
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.1/5.0
We used the Steep Hill Beach site, which was was wonderful for our casual afternoon wedding. The staff are fabulous and answered all of our questions. They also offered to let us take pictures at the Casino House if it rained - though the main house was off limits for pictures. The only downside is the lack of running water and flush toilets, but everyone thought it was lovely.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cate
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.4/5.0
Steep Hill Beach: excellent venue, perfect setting for wedding ceremony and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mara
Wedding:
9/9/2006
4.3/5.0
The one thing that I really was not happy with was the time limit. I think that they should offer one more hour for people that have their ceremony there. I really enjoyed my weddinbgg, but began to feel rushed as the time was almost up. It truly is a beautiful place to have a wedding and I wouldn't change it; the photos are fantastic...I just wish I had onemore hour!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tessaboda
Wedding:
6/11/2006
4.7/5.0
Of all of the parts of my wedding, I have to say that Castle Hill was my absolute favorite. From the minute I saw the pictures online I knew that I wanted to have my wedding there. The events coordinators at Castle Hill were wonderful to work with throughout the planning process and the entire wedding went off without a single hitch. Castle Hill does have some restrictions on the use of the property because of its status as a property of the Trustees of Reservations, but ultimately those restrictions did not negatively impact my wedding at all. I simply cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to have my wedding at Castle Hill.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ipswich_Bride_05
Wedding:
8/13/2005
4.4/5.0
A gorgeous venue for a fairytale wedding! The staff was professional and easy to work with, and the setting is simply stunning. It's a bit pricey, but worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
290 Argilla Road, Ipswich, MA 01938 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Castle Hill on The Crane Estate
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo