130x130_sq_1391200303698-aaron-castle-sho

Castle Ladyhawke

Tuckasegee , NC

LOCATION

1698 Shook Cove Road
Tuckasegee, NC US 28783 (map)

PHONE

828-894-0466

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

CALL TO RSVP FOR OUR FREE VENDOR SHOWCASE MARCH 16TH, 2014 10AM - 4PM




FOOD - DRINK - ENTERTAINMENT -BEST AREA VENDORS - FREE TOTE TO FIRST 100 BRIDES
... Read more
CALL TO RSVP FOR OUR FREE VENDOR SHOWCASE MARCH 16TH, 2014 10AM - 4PM




FOOD - DRINK - ENTERTAINMENT -BEST AREA VENDORS - FREE TOTE TO FIRST 100 BRIDES






Offering medieval ambiance partnered with today's elegance and luxury, this authentically recreated Scottish border castle has been chosen by The Knot magazine as one of their "10 historic venues we love". Once a private estate, Castle Ladyhawke is now offered for weddings, special events, and private or corporate retreats. Available for one day events for up to 200 guests, the castle sits high on a ridge overlooking the Tuckasegee River in the spectacular mountains of Western North Carolina. This 62 acre gated estate is Western North Carolina's most private and romantic location for weddings and other special events. With both garden and interior locations for ceremonies and receptions, unpredictable weather is never a problem at Castle Ladyhawke. Since we book only one event per day you will have your choice of locations for your festivities; and can adapt to changing conditions effortlessly.
We offer venue only rentals for five hours or the entire day, and two elopement packages for smaller weddings. Full day rentals allow you ample time to prepare and enjoy the castle's 10,000sf including our three spacious bedroom suites, authentic English Pub with pool table, darts, and big screen television, and many patios and balconies. We can also customize the perfect wedding package to suit almost any budget, limited only by your imagination. Food & Beverage, flowers, cake, entertainment, even an after ceremony Dove release or a giant sparkler bridal send-off can be effortless arranged for by our talented and experienced event coordinators, using our Approved Vendors, or you may use your own. Licensed Caterers only please. We now offer guest accommodations at both our medieval styled Fable Village at Castle Ladyhawke or our whimsical Gypsy Camp so you and your guests can extend your magical experience. Best suited for weddings of up to 200 guests, Castle Ladyhawke is located just one hour from Asheville’s Regional Airport, and ten minutes from Western Carolina University in Cullowhee. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1258750442085-copy2ofl0009
130x130_sq_1261236548658-mg9535n
130x130_sq_1261236745173-mg9429n
130x130_sq_1261237179517-aaronimages051
130x130_sq_1261242183267-317

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2005
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
16
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke was the perfect place for my Fairytale wedding. Kim, Joy and ALL the staff were GREAT!!! They were kind, courteous, professional, patient, friendly and accommodating. When the weather changed suddenly, the staff was extremely efficient and prompt in breaking down one area and setting it up for the ceremony in a matter of minutes. They are the BEST!! The Castle is absolutely breathtaking!! You really do not have to do a lot of decorating, because the Castle has its own natural beauty. The grounds are immaculate and there are hundreds of photo opportunities. The Castle can supply you with everything you need for your dream wedding. My day was perfect and everything I had ever dreamed of. Much appreciation to Kim, Joy and ALL the awesome staff of Castle Ladyhawke!!!
Services Used: , Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regina
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
What a place to have a wedding. Such a vast amount of different ideas can be implemented there. The staff went far beyond what they needed to to help me with this wedding. Our rental company was 6 hours late but when they finally did arrive ALL the staff at the Castle jumped right in, with out my asking, and helped get the dining room set up. I was overwhelmed with everyone there. If you are looking for a dream wedding this is the place to go.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Oh my gosh, what's not to love about this gorgeous castle nestled in the most beautiful mountains on earth? I came across Castle Ladyhawke on a fluke, and I'm so glad I did. We rented the castle for the entire weekend, reserved all the cottages for our family members and just made a big ol' party of it. The castle staff is WONDERFUL, and the entire weekend was perfect. It was the most special weekend of my life, and I'll never forget it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jameson
Wedding:
10/10/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved this place for our wedding! Incredible location, venue and staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
The castle is beyond beautiful! It is the perfect place for a wedding and the staff is wonderful! They made my fairy tale a reality!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
A fairy tale location, friendly personnel, everything was amazing!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
9/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Kim and Joy were awesome. Venue speaks for itself! They set up vendor visits the first time we visited and that made the selection process easy. The caterer that nearly screwed up my wedding (elite catering) has been removed from their suggestions site so I believe the do their best to suggest quality responsible vendors! They are really good at answering questions and accommodating the brides needs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow!. I cannot say enough about the beauty of this place. My daughter wanted a fairy tale wedding and Ladyhawke made all of her dreams come true.
The setting is so unique. The entire staff are all pros and have the wedding business down to a fine art. They were so helpful with the planning process and were able to guide us in the right directions. Our guests have called, written and sought us out in person to tell us it was the most beautiful wedding they have attended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sam
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter just got married last weekend at Castle Ladyhawke. It was a wonderful experience. We were very fortunate that the weather cooperated with us and the ceremony was performed outside on the rear lawn, giving a background to the ceremony that could no way be manufactured. It was only the work of the Lord that could make something so beautiful. It was a long way for me to travel since I live in California, but she lived in a neighboring town. The grounds of the castle were very nicely kept, the interior of the castle was exquisite and accommodating, the staff was awesome to work with, so helpful and very very nice. Thank you Castle Ladyhawke.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CynDe
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke is a beautiful location for a wedding. Because it is so nice, we hardly needed any additional decoration. Joy and her staff were so friendly and knowledgeable. They had great ideas to overcome just about any problem. I have received comments from our guests like "That wedding was absolutely perfect." "The wedding was like one you would see in the movies." "Best wedding I've ever been to." Because Joy and her staff were so helpful, as mother of the bride, there was no stress for any of us, except for the natural nerves of the bride and groom. Perfection. Thank you all at Castle Ladyhawke!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1357438617403-fb5
Teresa
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke was the perfect venue for our fairytale wedding. I put a deposit down on the Castle without even having visited, because the photos online blew me away - and their calendar fills up quickly. All I can say is that it was the best decision I could have made! In person, the Castle is even more beautiful and our wedding was everything I dreamt it would be.

The Castle's Great Hall was the perfect venue for our intimate evening wedding, with a reception afterwards on the beautiful back deck (with amazing views out from the mountain top), and then a plated dinner back in the Great Hall. (The fantastic Castle staff were able to re-set the Great Hall for dinner in less than an hour.)

We arrived early in the day with our wedding party and were able to feel right at home in the Castle -- there's a lovely bridal suite, a groom's suite, and a mother-in-law's suite (all of which are beautifully appointed down to the finest detail and HUGE -I was nervous about having too many people there as I was trying to get ready, but there was plenty of room for myself and my entire bridal party in the bridal suite.) There is also a great pub/game room, with a pool table and darts - where the boys were able to pass the time while we got ready!

But, though the Castle itself is wonderful, it is the owner and staff that truly makes Castle Ladyhawke so special. Right from the start, the Castle's owner, Kim, was there to answers my (Many!) questions. I was planning the wedding from out of town, based on one short visit to the Castle. So, having Kim to call and talk to throughout the planning process was invaluable. And the Castle attendant, Joy and her staff made the day of the wedding such a joy. They were wonderful at anticipating needs and making sure that everything flowed smoothly. I can't say enough wonderful things about them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the most beautiful venue for my wedding. All of our guests, including our own bridal and groom parties complimented us on our gorgeous castle wedding. This was the only wedding venue my now husband and I went to see in person. We were in love with everything about it. We knew that our photographs would be wonderful. We know that those photos are what we and our future children will have to look back on and that means a lot. We loved that the grounds were so green and alive and because of that, our photos were outstanding! Kim & all of the castle staff was very helpful and promptly replied to emails and phone calls. I am from SC, so having easy communications made the process much less stressful. I can't recommend a better venue for a beautiful and regal castle wedding in the NC mountains!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I held our ceremony and wedding reception at Castle Ladyhawke. Throughout the planning process, Kim was always available via email to assist me with any questions or concerns. On the day of, Joy was amazing with helping things to run smoothly. It rained all day and it was colder than expected outside, so our ceremony and cocktail hour had to be moved indoors. It all worked out beautifully. My guests really enjoyed themselves as well as my husband and I! If you want a truly romantic and fairy tale wedding, do it at Castle Ladyhawke.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1367274184331-avatar
Kristi Short
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow! I have nothing bad to say about Castle Ladyhawke. It's honestly a dream wedding for the girl who wants to feel like a princess on her wedding day. Everyone was soooooo helpful and I can't thank Kim enough for answering all of my questions for me & Joy for helping me out on our wedding day. Our guests were amazed and had the best time! Each person enjoyed getting to look around the Castle and I can't imagine getting married anywhere else. :) Thank you all so much for making this the best day of our lives! :) Castle Ladyhawke is AMAZING!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marni
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
The venue is perfect with such a beautiful atmosphere. We absolutely loved working with Kim, the owner of the property, and Joy, the on-site manager.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the best time and everything was so beautiful! I wish I could go back and do it again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
This venue is absolutely beautiful and has a gorgeous mountain view. I knew when I first visited the Castle that it was "the place." I couldn't picture having our wedding anywhere else. No other place compared to how perfect the Castle was for ceremony and reception. Our guests could not stop raving about how amazing it was. Kim and Joy were absolutely great to work with and I don't have a single complaint. It was with a doubt the perfect place for the wedding I always dreamed of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
10/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Kim and Joy you made are day so special. Thanks, for everything...
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1312663137843-dsc05439small
Christine
Wedding:
10/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved my venue, the mountain backdrop was gorgeous. I was an out of state bride and saw the place only once before getting married, but any question I had the Castle Staff went out of their way to find out and answer. Everything went pretty much perfectly, everyone had a blast. The addition of the new deck was awesome for cocktail hour and dancing. The other recommended vendors were all fantastic. If I had to do it all over, I wouldn't change a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shawna
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
The Castle is the PERFECT place to have a wedding. It was by far my dream wedding. Kim and her staff were by far the best around. I was my own wedding planner and Kim answered thousands of emails to help me create the wedding of my dreams!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
9/13/2012
5.0/5.0
they were SO helpful and patient with all of my questions and concerns! Planning a wedding long distance isn't easy, but they made it MUCH easier! and everyone went above and beyond to make sure everything was done right! Beautiful location, wonderful people! Loved every second of it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NScherp
Wedding:
9/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I could not have been more pleased with my experience at Castle Ladyhawke. They were wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debra
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
The Castle Ladyhawke team was wonderful to work with. From my first contact through the Wedding, they were extremely helpful. The venue is lovely. With their expertise they offer vendor selections to help make your day special. They were the most flexible venue we met with. On the day of the Wedding, two attendants would approach us frequently wanting to know if we needed anything and what they could do to help. With their help our day was everything we dreamed it would be.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawks is an absolutely beautiful venue for a wedding. Kim and her associates were helpful and gracious every step of the way. Even though we used an excellent wedding planner, if I sent an e-mail to Kim she responded well before 24 hours had elapsed. She recommended a local child care provider and helped with countless other little details which created a very calm atmosphere. From the venue to the valet, I don't think you could find a better venue to have the wedding of your dream.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jnfer7
Wedding:
10/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke provided the perfect setting for our perfect day. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The valet parking was excellent and the seating transition between ceremony and reception was seamless. The grounds were neatly groomed and clean despite a viscous storm the day before. We could not be happier that we chose Castle Ladyhawke. What a beautiful place for a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather Schlick
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
The castle is a beautiful venue for a wedding ceremony and reception. I LOVED every minute of it. Joy and Kim at the castle were a pleasure to work with! Very caring & flexible!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
10/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke provided a beautiful setting with an excellent staff. Catering was provided by Stacey Reeves and the food was truly out of this world. A true replica of a medieval castle, not a cheap replica. Ours was one of the first weddings held at the castle, I am sure that they have only improved!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alblackwellrn
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
The staff at Lady Castlehawke were The Best. Always willing to offer assistance , encouragement and flexability. Thanks for making this a most memorable event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
babykay0722
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
We had the first wedding held at the castle and we couldnt have been happier. They were extremely helpful and really wanted our wedding to go smoothly. Still to this day, a year later, we have people still talking about it and how it was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been to. Our guests really enjoyed the beauty of the castle and being able to explore the property. I would recommend this venue to anyone that wants to have the most beautiful, perfect wedding possible!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Spooner
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.9/5.0
Gorgeous venue with an extremely competent staff! The location is a bit remote and that can make logistics a bit more painful... but it also makes it an extremely intimate and personal setting. The owner, Kim, is an expert and can help you resolve any problem you can dream up. Her recommended vendors are very familiar with the area and amazing at what they do!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shianne
Wedding:
12/2/2013
4.8/5.0
The castle is an absolutely gorgeous place to get married! I was completely against an indoor wedding until I found this venue and fell in love. Well worth the drive for a destination wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robinsons
Wedding:
10/27/2013
4.8/5.0
The venue was beautiful and everyone was very nice and helpful! They were very nice and answered all of our questions and worked everything out for us!Everyone Loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
This location is perfect...castle, smoky mountains, remote. My husband and I wanted a location that differs from your average wedding and Castle Ladyhawke takes the cake! Our guests were blown away by the venue, the views and by the staff. I personally received great advice from Kim (owner) and Sabrina (staff). The day of wedding, Joy (castle attendant) and staff helped whatever way they could. We felt supported and in good hands. I would highly recommend this venue to any bride and groom who are looking for not your average venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.7/5.0
I absolutely loved Castle Ladyhawke! The location was beautiful, the owner (Kim) is incredibly helpful and went out of her way to help me on many occassions during the planning process even though I had a wedding planner. The prices were reasonable, good, if you take into account everything that comes with the day. Our wedding was so beautiful a couple who was attending the wedding were motivated and got engaged that night. Following the wedding, 2 of my guests left things behind (camera, sunglasses, purse) and according to the guests, Castle Ladyhawke staff went above and beyond to ensure they got their stuff back. I have nothing but good things to say about Castle Ladyhawke. There are definitely cheaper venues but none could have been as beautiful or perfect for my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
summerbvt
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.4/5.0
We chose Castle Ladyhawke because we wanted a gorgeous setting that didn't come with all the requirements of many other venues. We wanted the freedom to choose our caterer, flowers, etc. Although the logistics were a bit crazy because of the location, everything turned out really well. It rained when our ceremony was supposed to be starting but the delay was fine because our guests enjoyed exploring the castle, wine in hand! Afterwards the sun came out and everything was absolutely beautiful. It seems like they have worked out the kinks mentioned in previous reviews, as Kim now has you fill out a thorough questionnaire that mentions back-up plans and other things. Sam was our day-of coordinator provided, and she was perfect. She helped us set up that morning and made sure things ran smoothly for the ceremony and reception. It is a bit pricier than other venues we looked at (fees do apply for some outside vendor choices, but there aren't corking charges or anything for the alcohol, so that makes a big difference), but if you are looking for a really neat location allowing you the freedom to make the choices you want, this is a fantastic choice!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shelfie
Wedding:
11/14/2009
4.4/5.0
Very beautiful setting for an indoor or outdoor wedding! We had a blast!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JOICE
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.3/5.0
I loved working with Kim. she helped me a lot! ... I was a great experience ... my guests and I were amazing with the place.
Thank you Castle Ladyhawke for making my dreams come true !
Joice Ruffing
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adam
Wedding:
10/16/2013
4.1/5.0
Beautiful setting. We did the elopement package which was a great option for the price. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The only "Heads up" I would put out there is that the bridal suite in Fable Village has no shower - it's just a tub. Would have liked to have known that going in. Other than that, very very pleased!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KRSmokey
Wedding:
6/17/2011
4.0/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke is an amazing venue. The only drawback is the size of the location and that it limits the number of guests that can comfortably attend. Kim, the owner, was friendly and very responsive to any questions/concerns that I had. It can be an expensive choice as there is nothing included in the rental of this venue and everything musted be rented sepearately - from linens, tableware, chairs, barware, etc.

One of the best features of this venue is that they only book 1 wedding a day, which means you get the castle exclusively for the day. That was very memorable and created a wonderful party like atmosphere. Addtionally, Castle Ladyhawke is affiliated with some amazing vendors who are familiar with the space and will work with any couple to help create a memorable event.

We have no regrets and only special and wonderful memories of our wedding at Castle Ladyhawke.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
9/28/2013
3.8/5.0
1) Adding on another $2500 deposit the week before the wedding in case something breaks was a lot! Also we wanted to reserve the cabins for the weekend for our wedding because we planned to make a weekend out of it and to reserve each village per a night was $1000! Being that there's two villages now and it was for two nights that was $4000! The same amount for the venue!

2) Miscommunication problems. The first, we rented two SUV's for a shuttle service. I specifically asked if we could have one of the drivers, take us to the Casino, where we were staying the night of our wedding in one of those cars, I asked 6 months before the wedding and spoke with Sabrina, the receptionist and she confirmed with Kim that it would be fine. Then at about a month before the wedding I received an email saying they never told me they would do that. The second, a month before the wedding, Joy gave me the idea to save some money by moving the picnic tables to the balcony off the great room. When I tried to finalize this detail with Kim she said they could not do that for safety reasons, it was a bit confusing since it was their idea in the first place and it was disappointing because it would have been a money saver.

3) They will charge you per a chair and then to the move those same chairs from the ceremony and reception. So we paid 2.50 per a chair and then 3.00 to move that same chair from the ceremony to dinner. They will also charge you for chairs that no one may have actually sat in, for example, we had 96 people RSVP, 88 showed up and we got charged for 104 chairs?

Also, when they make you use valet, they warned us not to go over our time at the castle or we would be charged. So we rented the castle til midnight, we left at 10:30, leaving an hour and half for clean up. Well apparently valet drivers are to go home at 10 and 11pm. Even though we have the castle til midnight! That is setting us up to HAVE to pay extra!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Ladyhawke responded with the following comments:

I'm afraid with this bride the miscommunication problems lie with her.
1)Our contract clearly states that we do collect a $2500 security deposit against damages the week prior to the wedding and refund this deposit within five business days. This bride obviously did not read the contract she signed. That is NOT the same as "adding on" a deposit the week before the wedding.
1a)Reserving our 16 units so ONLY your guests may rent them does require a REFUNDABLE deposit of 50% of the total rentals ($1350, not $2000), but also offers a 20% discount to your guests.
2)We are a venue, not a transportation company. We do provide drivers, if available, from our staff for LOCAL shuttle service of wedding guests, but Cherokee, 50 minutes away is not considered local. This bride did NOT mention Cherokee originally when she inquired about shuttles, and we were unable to find a staff member who would agree to drive to Cherokee at midnight. We did suggest a local transportation company but the client was unwilling to pay a transportation service.
2a)Rental furniture is light, portable and intended to be moved as necessary. Wrought iron patio furniture, and wooden picnic tables are not intended to be moved any distance and we do not offer to do so.
3)EVERY prospective client is given a detailed quote of ALL possible additional charges prior to booking. We do charge for all rentals set up for each event. You may change the amount of chairs, etc. up to 24 hours before your event. Once rentals are set up for your event, you are charged for them, even if your turnout is less than expected. We charge $1 to reset chairs.
3a) Our estimated charges clearly states "five valet/six hours (actual timesheets will apply). A 3pm ceremony will incur more hours of valet than a 6pm ceremony if both receptions continue until midnight.
Brides, if you are not sure about charges, ask. We WANT you to know what to expect, and do not hide any of our fees. We'll help you stay within your budget.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsWills
Wedding:
6/8/2012
3.8/5.0
Castle Ladyhawke is breathtaking! Unfortunately, the whole world seems to have come to the same conclusion! So if you have a specific date in mind, book EARLY!! But don't be afraid to be flexible. We got married on a Friday and it actually turned out really well since many vendors give discounted rates for weekdays. Kim, the owner, is extremely responsive via email and Joy is amazing at the actual venue. There are specific rooms for the bride and groom to get ready so you can spend the day all in one location, which is great for out-of-towners. The downside is there is no cell phone service which makes it difficult if people get lost. Overall, this was an amazing place to get married, just for the view alone but the staff were easy to work with. I would recommend a coordinator for at least the day of because the bridal suite is no where near the door!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.3/5.0
I first looked at Castle Ladyhawke knowing it was out of my price range. I called the castle and the owner informed me that they would work with my small budget. I was excited and book the castle for half-a-day on New Year’s Eve. As the date neared I sent my wedding day timeline to CLH for review and they informed me that the timeframe would not work because they had BOOKED ANOTHER WEDDING an hour after mine! I understand they are a business and New Year’s Eve is a “special date”, however, I was NOT informed that this was their plan. If I had known about the double booking I would have been happy to rework the schedule. Castle Ladyhawke advertises one event per day, but double booked mine...not professional. On the upside, CLH did allow us to arrive early on the day of the wedding with no extra charge. They were professional in every other aspect and very helpful. In the end the wedding was great, but I am disappointed with the false advertisement.

I would recommend this vendor ONLY IF you DO NOT have a budget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Ladyhawke responded with the following comments:

This bride wanted to be married at the castle but could not afford a full day venue rental; although we do not usually book five hour venue rentals on holidays (New Year's Eve) we did so to accommodate this bride. Our five hour venue rentals are for a specific period of time as requested by the client, in this case, she wanted 11:00 am to 4:00 pm. We even reconfirmed her desired time slot before booking the next event.
Less than a month before her wedding the bride informed us that she wanted to begin and end her day later, which was not possible due to the elopement we had scheduled following her event. We specifically confirmed her beginning and ending time BEFORE we committed to the other couple, so that we would have time to clean the castle after her event ended and before the next one began. We try to be very, very flexible with our clients, but cannot reserve a whole day for a five hour event; there will definitely be circumstances where we do book another event that day, but rest assured we will make sure that in no way does either event interfere with the other. We did permit this bride to arrive more than two hours earlier than originally confirmed, but could not change her departure time without causing hardship to the next couple's event.
Most venues offer a choice of a full day or limited time rental; the limited time rental is always more affordable, as the venue is the able to book a second event that day. If you are not sure you can fit your festivities into the time allotted, be sure and opt for the full day venue rental. We do not advertise one event per day as this bride claims, but do only allow one wedding on castle grounds at a time. If you want your wedding to be the ONLY wedding held at the castle that day, you must book a full day rental.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/26/2009
3.0/5.0
This is an absolutely beautiful venue with the opportunity to create the wedding of your dreams. The issues we faced were the small size and inexperienced staff. It rained on my wedding day and we had to move the ceremony inside and the majority of our guests couldn't see. We knew this was a possibility, but still disappointing. I can't speak for how they handle weddings currently, but we were one of the first few to be held at the castle and at the time the owner nor her staff seemed to know what they were doing which led to quite a bit of back and forth as to what was agreed in the contract, frequent attempts to charge us for unnecessary things, and had it not been for the fact that my family and I took care of almost everything including set up and clean up I'm not sure that anything would have gone smoothly. I honestly can't give any credit to the castle staff for my perfect wedding outside of having a beautiful setting. Given their increased prices I hope that they have worked out the kinks in their operation. I would recommend the venue however I encourage any bride considering it to be thorough in her questions and to save EVERY email and correspondence, they saved my life and my wallet many times over during the planning process!

UPDATE: In response to the below, please do not be mistaken that I regret using my family as much as I did. The castle attendants did not help set up for the ceremony or reset for the reception (as was included in our contract for up to 100 guests). Had it not been for my family it would have been a disaster. I will say however that I had a small army of family in attendance with clearly defined assignments and they pulled everything off beautifully as well as a wedding director that took care of any day of emergencies or concerns. The rain and capacity were not my main complaints. My complaints were the hard to work with staff, the back and forth over contract agreements and disorganization prior to the wedding, the lack of help on the day of the wedding, and the gate messing up and a good portion of our guests only getting to the ceremony in time for us to walk back down the aisle to leave (which we were offered free trash removal to make up for although my family had already removed the trash and cleaned). We did have a beautiful wedding and none of the mishaps were even realized by our guests. It was more of a stress, frustration and disappointment for myself and my parents than a result of an unsuccessful day. To restate the point I tried to make in my first review, this is a beautiful place with a lot of potential, but in my case it took a lot of planning, organization and patience on mine and my family's part to pull our wedding off. It would almost be better to be advertised as a beautiful empty house/castle for you to use as your own instead of a full or partial service venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Ladyhawke responded with the following comments:

It is heartbreaking to learn after almost a year's time, that a wedding we were told by guests, family members and vendors was a wonderful success, in reality was a disappointment to the bride. Pleasing the bride and reducing the stress of her wedding day is our foremost priority.
Please brides, when we advise you of a room's capacity, the weather forecast and suggest tent rental or other services we are not trying to break your wedding budget! We truely are trying to accommodate you and your guests in the best way possible.The reality of trying to squeeze 170 guests into a 100 guest capacity hall in the event of rain can be very different from what is envisioned when you decide it would not dare rain on your wedding day. Please also listen when we tell you that it is not advisable to save labor costs by offering to have your bridal party and guests deal with moving tables, chairs, and floral arrangements. Again, the reality of trying to use guests and family members to perform services during a celebration is like herding cats; terribly disatisfying to say the least! Please allow us to have the staff necessary to handle the size of your guest list and the scope of your plans. All of our packages are based on 100 guests; additional guests require additional staffing in order to make your day run perfectly. We try very hard to be flexible and work within a bride's budget. Occasionally this leads a bride to make decisions that are not in her best interest. Remember, you and your groom, your bridal party and family are the stars of the day; do not try to be director and stage hand too. Still, is was a beautiful wedding for a beautiful couple. For pictures of this wedding go to: http://kelliekanophotography.com/blog/index.php/2009/11/06/lauren-wills-wedding/#comments
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/7/2010
2.0/5.0
My husband and I recently were married at Castle Ladyhawke. Our wedding was during the day at 3:00pm. When we arrived, there was a huge tent setup in front of the castle for another wedding later. That pretty much took away from our pictures out front. We could not have any taken unless it was at the front door. No one told us it would be setup. The owner was not present. Instead, she had another person there to assist us. Part of the package included the filing of the marriage license. It's been two weeks now and they still have not sent it into the Register of Deeds office. In North Carolina, the law states that you have 10 days from the day of the ceremony to return the paperwork. If it is not received, then your marriage is automatically annulled; VOID! I was told by the castle that the assistant forgot to mail it. I asked the owner to find out the status and let me know because for one, we want it filed and legal and two, I need it for HR and benefit purposes. As of today, I have yet to receive a response. This is unacceptable. Although, beautiful and in a beautiful setting the service we've received has been below awful. They have breached the contract we agreed to. Now, I have to wait until Friday (today being Wednesday) to contact the Register of Deed's office again to find out if they have yet received the paperwork. If they have not received it, we will have to perform the ceremony all over again because the 10 days will have turned into 15 days. I am VERY devastated and disappointed to have to go through this. And if not rectified, other actions will have to be made. Spare yourself, your daughter, your son, etc. the headache and do not use this vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Ladyhawke responded with the following comments:

Castle Ladyhawke is a wedding venue, and does not directly provide most services to our brides. We do put clients in touch with vendors such as caterers, officiates and others we are comfortable with recommending in order to complete their wedding experience. For our one hour elopement packages we contract with a local officiate to perform their ceremony. One of the requirements for officiating over a wedding in North Carolina is that the individual be "human", therefore there is always a chance of human error. The officiate had full intention of mailing their license back to the registry that day, but inadvertently and unfortunately misplaced the envelope in her car and found it days later. Once the client made usaware that the Register of Deeds had not received the marriage license, I personally contacted both the officiate, and the clerk at the court, had their licensed located and overnighted to the regiser of deeds. When I first spoke with the clerk I was assured that there would be no problem; the 15 days (not ten) was a guideline, and not an absolute. the clerk was very sorry the bride had been given the impression that she would have to have the ceremony performed all over again, which was not in fact the case. The Registry of Deeds received the license the following day, recorded it and all was well. Still very unfortunate and upsetting for the bride who was eager to begin name change and other legal moves to recognize her new status. We did, however, respond to her plea immediately and license was recorded within 48 hours of my being made aware of the problem. Castle Ladyhawke only books one wedding per day; however large weddings requiring tent set up sometimes take two or more days to prepare for. This bridal couple's appointment specified a rear balcony location for their 3pm ceremony, and the tent was located at the opposite side of the castle, away from our gardens or any architectural features such as our tower, oversized entry doors or loggias typically used for photo opportunities. I have to admit it never occurred to me that the couple would be expecting to use a nondiscript patio adjacent our valet stand for photographs with so many other spectacular views around the estate. I do understand from speaking with their photographer that their photographs came out beautifully, and I hope that now that the bride has seen her photographs she will have happier memories of her wedding day. As owner of Castle Ladyhawke I am the first contact most brides have with the castle, and am often in contact with them numerous times throughout their planning process to assist in whatever way that I can. However, I am not a wedding planner nor do I attend the weddings, however big or small, at the castle on a regular basis. I have a well trained and experienced staff and many talented associates who are familiar with the castle and far more experienced at "day of" responsibilities than I. I hope the bride did not feel in any way slighted by my absence that day. Our most lavish wedding of the year was the following weekend, but I wasn't there, either! BTW, I have been assured by the state that in the case of a truly lost marriage license,the license is merely reissued, signed by whomever previously officiated, and the witnesses, and refiled. No rerun of the ceremony is required! I always learn so much from our less than sterling reviews; this time I learned: - To make darn sure my Elopement Couples know if there will be a wedding the weekend following their ceremony that may be using a tent or other additions which make the castle look different than it did during their visit. and - If I am providing a local officiate, l'll encourage the newlyweds to mail in their own license!

DEALS

10% Military Discount.
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $375 Value
10% off our venue rental ($2000 four hour, $3000 full day Mon - Thurs, $3250 Fri/Sun, $3750 Satuday full day) for active military personnel.
Deal #WWdb391dd740aeabbd
220x220_1391200303698-aaron-castle-sho
"Last Minute" Discounts!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
20% discount on venue rental for all bookings within 60 days of event/wedding date. We can easily create the perfect wedding within 30 days; last minute planning finally pays off!
Deal #WW50cd0a7e60cc88d1
220x220_1391200303698-aaron-castle-sho

MAP

 
1698 Shook Cove Road, Tuckasegee, NC 28783 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Castle Ladyhawke
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1391200303698-aaron-castle-sho