130x130 sq 1391200303698 aaron castle sho

Castle Ladyhawke

Tuckasegee , NC

LOCATION

1698 Shook Cove Road
Tuckasegee, NC 28783 US (map)

PHONE

828-894-0466

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

RSVP TODAY FOR OUR FOURTH ANNUAL VENDORS SHOWCASE MARCH 15TH, 2015. FOOD, FUN AND THE AREA'S FINEST VENDORS UNDER ONE ROOF!

Now offering inclusive packages for the busy bride... Read more
RSVP TODAY FOR OUR FOURTH ANNUAL VENDORS SHOWCASE MARCH 15TH, 2015. FOOD, FUN AND THE AREA'S FINEST VENDORS UNDER ONE ROOF!

Now offering inclusive packages for the busy bride as well as 40 hr wkly office helpline for the DIY bride!



Offering medieval ambiance partnered with today's elegance and luxury, this authentically recreated Scottish border castle has been chosen by The Knot magazine as one of their "10 historic venues we love". Once a private estate, Castle Ladyhawke is now offered for weddings, special events, and private or corporate retreats. Available for one day events for up to 200 guests, the castle sits high on a ridge overlooking the Tuckasegee River in the spectacular mountains of Western North Carolina. This 62 acre gated estate is Western North Carolina's most private and romantic location for weddings and other special events. With both garden and interior locations for ceremonies and receptions, unpredictable weather is never a problem at Castle Ladyhawke. Since we book only one event per day you will have your choice of locations for your festivities; and can adapt to changing conditions effortlessly.
We offer venue only rentals for the entire day, fully or partially inclusive packages for the busy bride, and two elopement packages for smaller weddings. Full day rentals allow you ample time to prepare and enjoy the castle's 10,000 sf including our three spacious bedroom suites, authentic English Pub with pool table, darts, and big screen television, and many patios and balconies.We now offer guest accommodations at both our medieval styled Fable Village at Castle Ladyhawke or our whimsical Gypsy Camp so you and your guests can extend your magical experience; even the castle itself may be reserved for an overnight stay for up to twelve guests. Best suited for weddings of up to 200 guests, Castle Ladyhawke is located just one hour from Asheville’s Regional Airport, and ten minutes from Western Carolina University in Cullowhee. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1258750442085 copy2ofl0009
130x130 sq 1261236548658 mg9535n
130x130 sq 1261236745173 mg9429n
130x130 sq 1261237179517 aaronimages051
130x130 sq 1261242183267 317

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
2
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Describe your venue:
Historic, Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Vintage, Classic, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
What event services do you offer?
Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Outside Vendors OK, Set Up
What event items are available?
Chairs, Tables
What food and beverage items are available?
Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Valet

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
2
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
What types of spaces are available for a rehearsal dinner?
Exclusive Venue Use
What kind of menus do you offer for rehearsal dinners?
Private Events

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1447005475037 k and d
Kaylan
Wedding:
8/27/2016
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have picked a better venue for our big day. The castle in itself is beyond beautiful and the location is breathtaking. We received so many compliments on the venue alone. Sabrina was a dream to work with during our planning stages. She was quick to respond to my many emails and always had answers to my many questions. Joy was the castle attendant on the day of our event. She was super helpful. Despite the 60% chance of rain, Joy instructed the castle staff to set up my ceremony location outside. This was a huge relief for me. The staff worked quickly in setup and breakdown (for dancing space) and everyone was very polite. The castle is TOTALLY worth the money. Our day was truly magical.
We couldn't have picked a better venue for our big day. The castle in itself is beyond beautiful and the location is Read more...
We couldn't have picked a better venue for our big day. The castle in itself is beyond beautiful and the location is breathtaking. We received so many compliments on the venue alone. Sabrina was a dream to work with during our planning stages. She was quick to respond to my many emails and always had answers to my many questions. Joy was the castle attendant on the day of our event. She was super helpful. Despite the 60% chance of rain, Joy instructed the castle staff to set up my ceremony location outside. This was a huge relief for me. The staff worked quickly in setup and breakdown (for dancing space) and everyone was very polite. The castle is TOTALLY worth the money. Our day was truly magical. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Bridget
Wedding:
7/16/2016
5.0/5.0
It was the wedding of my dreams. It rained so the ceremony had to be inside but it worked out better because it felt so intimate. The weather cooperates later in the night and we had dancing on the outside deck. It was the most amazing day of my life!
It was the wedding of my dreams. It rained so the ceremony had to be inside but it worked out better because it felt so Read more...
It was the wedding of my dreams. It rained so the ceremony had to be inside but it worked out better because it felt so intimate. The weather cooperates later in the night and we had dancing on the outside deck. It was the most amazing day of my life! Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
amanda
Wedding:
6/25/2016
2.6/5.0
I wish there were a star rating listed here for beauty of venue - because this venue is absolutely stunning - it would be a 5-star venue, if I was rating on just the beauty and atmosphere of the venue itself. We had decided to do a destination wedding in Asheville, and we wanted something that was unique - when we found Castle Ladyhawke, we were so excited to view it. And when we got there, we were blown away with it's beautiful view, and unique setting. Unfortunately, as it relates to value, flexibility, and responsiveness, it goes way down. I will start this by saying, that we had an amazing wedding day. It was perfect. I would not change a thing about the actual wedding day itself. It was the road to get there, and feeling like we were being nickled and dimed at every corner that brought this down for us. There are A LOT of stipulations in their contract - make sure you read it, read it VERY carefully. On top of that, they are very fussy about a rain plan. I understand the need for one - but they pretty much scare you into thinking worst possible case. When we visited the venue, they had said they could host up to 225 people. We had 130, and that was a STRUGGLE, logistically, unless you want to split up your guests for dinner, and even then, they made it seem tight. They charge you to rent their owned chairs/tables, and to move/setup/breakdown said tables, and for an attendant, and valet, and cleaning, etc. on top of the rental fee - all said and done we pretty much doubled the cost of the rental of the venue with that. At the end of the day, the level of stress gained from dealing with the team at the castle added, and fear of being charged a crazy amount after the wedding or fear of having to have an indoor wedding if it rained the day before, etc., is what brought the overall review down. Our wedding planner was our saving grace, and we did have a great wedding. Just wish it could have come with alot less stress attached!
I wish there were a star rating listed here for beauty of venue - because this venue is absolutely stunning - it would be Read more...
I wish there were a star rating listed here for beauty of venue - because this venue is absolutely stunning - it would be a 5-star venue, if I was rating on just the beauty and atmosphere of the venue itself. We had decided to do a destination wedding in Asheville, and we wanted something that was unique - when we found Castle Ladyhawke, we were so excited to view it. And when we got there, we were blown away with it's beautiful view, and unique setting. Unfortunately, as it relates to value, flexibility, and responsiveness, it goes way down. I will start this by saying, that we had an amazing wedding day. It was perfect. I would not change a thing about the actual wedding day itself. It was the road to get there, and feeling like we were being nickled and dimed at every corner that brought this down for us. There are A LOT of stipulations in their contract - make sure you read it, read it VERY carefully. On top of that, they are very fussy about a rain plan. I understand the need for one - but they pretty much scare you into thinking worst possible case. When we visited the venue, they had said they could host up to 225 people. We had 130, and that was a STRUGGLE, logistically, unless you want to split up your guests for dinner, and even then, they made it seem tight. They charge you to rent their owned chairs/tables, and to move/setup/breakdown said tables, and for an attendant, and valet, and cleaning, etc. on top of the rental fee - all said and done we pretty much doubled the cost of the rental of the venue with that. At the end of the day, the level of stress gained from dealing with the team at the castle added, and fear of being charged a crazy amount after the wedding or fear of having to have an indoor wedding if it rained the day before, etc., is what brought the overall review down. Our wedding planner was our saving grace, and we did have a great wedding. Just wish it could have come with alot less stress attached! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/21/2016
3.0/5.0
The castle is beautiful, and the view of the mountains from every window is breathtaking. My husband and I booked this venue sight unseen, and are incredibly happy with the setting.

I am a bit disappointed in the customer service I received. When I made the booking for the wedding, I stressed my interest in reserving the Gypsy camp and Fable village (onsite accommodations) for my guests and myself. Because I had booked the venue more than a year in advance, I was asked to wait to book the accommodations until closer to the event, but I was assured that they had my request on file. When my mother and I called back one year (to the day) before my wedding, we were told that another bride had already booked all the onsite accommodations, and we would have to look elsewhere. No suggestions were offered, and they seemed surprised that we were upset.

The preferred method of payment was also not discussed, and I had to make several payments twice because they weren’t in the preferred method of cashiers check.

That being said, they were wonderful the day of the wedding, and were very prompt sending back our security deposit.
The castle is beautiful, and the view of the mountains from every window is breathtaking. My husband and I booked this Read more...
The castle is beautiful, and the view of the mountains from every window is breathtaking. My husband and I booked this venue sight unseen, and are incredibly happy with the setting.

I am a bit disappointed in the customer service I received. When I made the booking for the wedding, I stressed my interest in reserving the Gypsy camp and Fable village (onsite accommodations) for my guests and myself. Because I had booked the venue more than a year in advance, I was asked to wait to book the accommodations until closer to the event, but I was assured that they had my request on file. When my mother and I called back one year (to the day) before my wedding, we were told that another bride had already booked all the onsite accommodations, and we would have to look elsewhere. No suggestions were offered, and they seemed surprised that we were upset.

The preferred method of payment was also not discussed, and I had to make several payments twice because they weren’t in the preferred method of cashiers check.

That being said, they were wonderful the day of the wedding, and were very prompt sending back our security deposit. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Ladyhawke responded with the following comments:

Amanda, I am so sorry but it appears there were some misunderstandings. First, my records show that the bride who blocked all of our rooms (the bride for 5/22/16) did not even book until 7/15/15, and did not put a deposit down on the accommodations until 11/22/15; so anytime before the end of November of last year the rooms were still available for you to block. Secondly, while our Webervations Website is not set up to take individual reservations until within 365 days of arrival, all block reservations are done with Sabrina in our business office, and most often we block the accommodations at the same time the wedding date is booked; in most cases well over a year prior to the event. Sabrina doesn't have any notes regarding your desire to block the rooms.
Finally, I'm not sure why you were under the impression we only accept cashiers checks as we do accept all major credit cards as well as personal checks; you made all your payments via personal check. We only require a cashier's check if you make your final payment without sufficient time for funds to clear our bank prior to your event, as stated in our Event Contract. My records show we received a personal check from a Washington State bank without sufficient time for it to clear before 5/21/16.
We do our utmost to make planning your wedding with us stress and hassle free, and hate it when clients are unhappy with us! I'm so sorry you found us confusing to deal with and we will work extra hard to make sure that current clients don't experience the same misunderstandings and confusion.
At any rate, I am very glad you were happy with the venue and our services during your wedding, and hope your wedding was everything you wanted it to be.
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.5/5.0
Do Not Go, Save your money and headache.
We put a deposit of $2000 down to reserve the castle and Village cabins for the wedding date before seeing the venue or contract, no mention of the deposit being nonrefundable was made. We verbally confirmed with castle rep. that both days (Thursday Nov 12th & Friday Nov 13th, 2015) were reserved and that our plans for the wedding, (while not part of any of the packages offered), were possible. We flew out and met with the representative in Late November of 2014, once again told that our plans for the wedding were possible, and given the names of local venders & 3 caterers to that might help with them. The representative also gave us a copy of the contract stating that everything she had verbally told us was spelled out in it. Unfortunately, 2 of the caterers would not work at the venue and the 3rd could not meet our needs. Once back home we noticed that what was agreed upon verbally was contradicted in the contract. Via emails we re-contacted the venue and tried to work the problems out with them. We were informed by the castle rep that most of our plans were either not optional or cost substantially extra in fees, as well as, the Thursday (Nov. 12th) we reserved was longer reserved and needed to pay extra for that date.
After numerous attempts to work with the venue, and supply our own vender/caterer, etc.; it became apparent we could not get the wedding we wanted and would need to look to a different venue. The castle was informed of our decision in March 2015. When they were asked to refund all, or part, of the deposit previously made, they denied the request stating the deposits were non-refundable. This is in direct violation of the State of North Carolina LDC laws, and their own contract which states refunds will be made if the dates can be reserved by another party. Also,after we cancelled, Kim (the owner) threatened us with a lawsuit if we ever complained about them. we currently have a lawyer who sent a letter..
Do Not Go, Save your money and headache.
We put a deposit of $2000 down to reserve the castle and Village cabins for Read more...
Do Not Go, Save your money and headache.
We put a deposit of $2000 down to reserve the castle and Village cabins for the wedding date before seeing the venue or contract, no mention of the deposit being nonrefundable was made. We verbally confirmed with castle rep. that both days (Thursday Nov 12th & Friday Nov 13th, 2015) were reserved and that our plans for the wedding, (while not part of any of the packages offered), were possible. We flew out and met with the representative in Late November of 2014, once again told that our plans for the wedding were possible, and given the names of local venders & 3 caterers to that might help with them. The representative also gave us a copy of the contract stating that everything she had verbally told us was spelled out in it. Unfortunately, 2 of the caterers would not work at the venue and the 3rd could not meet our needs. Once back home we noticed that what was agreed upon verbally was contradicted in the contract. Via emails we re-contacted the venue and tried to work the problems out with them. We were informed by the castle rep that most of our plans were either not optional or cost substantially extra in fees, as well as, the Thursday (Nov. 12th) we reserved was longer reserved and needed to pay extra for that date.
After numerous attempts to work with the venue, and supply our own vender/caterer, etc.; it became apparent we could not get the wedding we wanted and would need to look to a different venue. The castle was informed of our decision in March 2015. When they were asked to refund all, or part, of the deposit previously made, they denied the request stating the deposits were non-refundable. This is in direct violation of the State of North Carolina LDC laws, and their own contract which states refunds will be made if the dates can be reserved by another party. Also,after we cancelled, Kim (the owner) threatened us with a lawsuit if we ever complained about them. we currently have a lawyer who sent a letter.. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Castle Ladyhawke responded with the following comments:

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment. As a tried and true Wedding Venue (see our other reviews!), we would like to stress how important it is for all clients to remember that it is their responsibility to review all information sent by any venue or wedding vendor regarding policies and procedures, particularly before depositing--just as with any other industry/major decision. The Castle's documents which you received upon initial request, clearly detailed the information regarding nonrefundable deposits along with other pertinent details of our agreement. In consultation with industry leaders and our legal counsel, we have carefully crafted these specific policies designed to ensure the best experience possible for all of our guests. These policies are based on North Carolina law and standard industry practice. While we are disappointed that you have decided to forgo a destination wedding in interest of expense, we wish you the very best.
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I selected an elopement package with Castle Ladyhawke and it was truly a great deal. You get to have your fairytale wedding in a castle for a reasonable price. The price includes music, cake, champagne toast, bouquet, and more. I couldn't have been happier. They gave us plenty of time to use the grounds for photography and the staff was extremely friendly and make sure we had everything we needed! Many friends have gotten married at Castle Ladyhawke and there will be many more to come!
I selected an elopement package with Castle Ladyhawke and it was truly a great deal. You get to have your fairytale Read more...
I selected an elopement package with Castle Ladyhawke and it was truly a great deal. You get to have your fairytale wedding in a castle for a reasonable price. The price includes music, cake, champagne toast, bouquet, and more. I couldn't have been happier. They gave us plenty of time to use the grounds for photography and the staff was extremely friendly and make sure we had everything we needed! Many friends have gotten married at Castle Ladyhawke and there will be many more to come! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I first found the Castle online while living in Arizona and graduating college. My now husband wasn't sure that we would be able to afford it but when I showed him other venues, he realized how competitive their prices were. We booked two years in advanced and the staff, Kim and Joy, never treated us like a second priority. They always answered my crazy questions and emails. We first visited in person when we were looking for an apartment in Raleigh. We made the 10 hour round trip just for the Castle and fell immediately in love and paid the deposit a month later. We went to the vendor showcase, which was a huge help, since we lived out of town. We found an amazing photographer and caterer! It's been two months since the wedding and friends and family are still raving about how amazing it was! Joy helped us organize every detail and she was so knowledgeable. It flowed seamlessly from ceremony to dinner to reception. People were apprehensive about how far it was but those who made the trip said it was definitely worth it. You can't find a more romantic and intimate location with such a stunning back drop than Castle Ladyhawke. They give you access to the Castle early enough to set up if you are a DIY bride like I was. They also let you choose other vendors and don't limit you to an approved list or charge you for outside vendors. We also stayed the night which was a big relief when it came to packing up all the decorations. Additionally they provide on site guest housing that is similar to a hotel. We came up a couple days early and stayed at the cabins down the road. We also had our rehearsal there which was great! Some venues are so booked you have to be squeezed in for a short rehearsal. They have several packages to choose from or you can simply rent the venue and rentals like we did. It's all based on what you can spend. We can't tell you enough how satisfied we both were with Castle Ladyhawke. It was everything we ever wanted and more!
I first found the Castle online while living in Arizona and graduating college. My now husband wasn't sure that we would Read more...
I first found the Castle online while living in Arizona and graduating college. My now husband wasn't sure that we would be able to afford it but when I showed him other venues, he realized how competitive their prices were. We booked two years in advanced and the staff, Kim and Joy, never treated us like a second priority. They always answered my crazy questions and emails. We first visited in person when we were looking for an apartment in Raleigh. We made the 10 hour round trip just for the Castle and fell immediately in love and paid the deposit a month later. We went to the vendor showcase, which was a huge help, since we lived out of town. We found an amazing photographer and caterer! It's been two months since the wedding and friends and family are still raving about how amazing it was! Joy helped us organize every detail and she was so knowledgeable. It flowed seamlessly from ceremony to dinner to reception. People were apprehensive about how far it was but those who made the trip said it was definitely worth it. You can't find a more romantic and intimate location with such a stunning back drop than Castle Ladyhawke. They give you access to the Castle early enough to set up if you are a DIY bride like I was. They also let you choose other vendors and don't limit you to an approved list or charge you for outside vendors. We also stayed the night which was a big relief when it came to packing up all the decorations. Additionally they provide on site guest housing that is similar to a hotel. We came up a couple days early and stayed at the cabins down the road. We also had our rehearsal there which was great! Some venues are so booked you have to be squeezed in for a short rehearsal. They have several packages to choose from or you can simply rent the venue and rentals like we did. It's all based on what you can spend. We can't tell you enough how satisfied we both were with Castle Ladyhawke. It was everything we ever wanted and more! Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Noel
Wedding:
5/1/2015
5.0/5.0
Amazing experience and staff all around!
Amazing experience and staff all around!
Amazing experience and staff all around! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/25/2014
5.0/5.0
I knew in February 2013 when we first visited the Castle that we were going to get married there. My then fiance (now husband for 5 days) and I completely fell in love the moment we visited. We rented the castle all weekend, along with both on site villages (what a fantastic place for family and friends!) It was an absolutely perfect weekend. Kim and Joy were amazing in our requests and assisted us with whatever we needed, with a smile on their faces. I am still on cloud 9 over our perfect wedding weekend, and hope I never come back down. It is seriously a dream come true. No words to explain it's beauty and views...not to mention the details involved around every corner. I want to live there!!!! I could not have asked for a more perfect venue. The pictures do not do it justice... just the feeling you get while you are there with the people you love the most is indescribable. Thank you for giving us the wedding of our dreams!
I knew in February 2013 when we first visited the Castle that we were going to get married there. My then fiance (now Read more...
I knew in February 2013 when we first visited the Castle that we were going to get married there. My then fiance (now husband for 5 days) and I completely fell in love the moment we visited. We rented the castle all weekend, along with both on site villages (what a fantastic place for family and friends!) It was an absolutely perfect weekend. Kim and Joy were amazing in our requests and assisted us with whatever we needed, with a smile on their faces. I am still on cloud 9 over our perfect wedding weekend, and hope I never come back down. It is seriously a dream come true. No words to explain it's beauty and views...not to mention the details involved around every corner. I want to live there!!!! I could not have asked for a more perfect venue. The pictures do not do it justice... just the feeling you get while you are there with the people you love the most is indescribable. Thank you for giving us the wedding of our dreams! Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/13/2014
4.4/5.0
Our wedding at Castle Ladyhawke was truly epic--the castle, views, and ambience of everything completely set the mood we were looking for! Joy and Sabrina were a pleasure to work with leading up to the big day and during the wedding-very friendly and accommodating. We felt that the price to rent the castle overnight was high but in the end it was worth it for a night to remember for us and our closest family and friends. The castle does have a lot of rules in their contract that limited their flexibility on a few issues but everything worked out great. The owner was a bit brusque several times which was uncomfortable in communications. This is a one of a kind wedding venue! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to wed in Western North Carolina!
Our wedding at Castle Ladyhawke was truly epic--the castle, views, and ambience of everything completely set the mood we Read more...
Our wedding at Castle Ladyhawke was truly epic--the castle, views, and ambience of everything completely set the mood we were looking for! Joy and Sabrina were a pleasure to work with leading up to the big day and during the wedding-very friendly and accommodating. We felt that the price to rent the castle overnight was high but in the end it was worth it for a night to remember for us and our closest family and friends. The castle does have a lot of rules in their contract that limited their flexibility on a few issues but everything worked out great. The owner was a bit brusque several times which was uncomfortable in communications. This is a one of a kind wedding venue! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to wed in Western North Carolina! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

10% Military Discount.
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $375 Value
10% off our venue rental ($2500 full day Mon - Thurs, $3500 Fri/Sun, $4500 Saturday full day) for active military personnel.
Deal #WWdb391dd740aeabbd
220x220 1391200303698 aaron castle sho
"Last Minute" Discounts!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
20% discount on venue rental for all bookings within 60 days of event/wedding date. We can easily create the perfect wedding within 30 days; last minute planning finally pays off!
Deal #WW50cd0a7e60cc88d1
220x220 1391200303698 aaron castle sho

MAP

 
1698 Shook Cove Road, Tuckasegee, NC 28783 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Castle Ladyhawke
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1391200303698 aaron castle sho