130x130_sq_1320245706529-19

Cator Woolford Gardens at The Frazer Center

Atlanta , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1815 S. Ponce de Leon Avenue, NE
Atlanta, GA US 30307 (map)

PHONE

404-377-3836

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nestled on 39 acres of mature hardwoods, the Cator Woolford Gardens are situated on one of the few remaining intact historic estates in Metropolitan Atlanta and are located just a few... Read more
Nestled on 39 acres of mature hardwoods, the Cator Woolford Gardens are situated on one of the few remaining intact historic estates in Metropolitan Atlanta and are located just a few miles from the heart of downtown.

The Gardens were originally created for Cator Woolford, one of the principle founders of Retail Credit Company (now Equifax, Inc.) and were redesigned in 1996 as a series of outdoor "rooms." Changing with the seasons, the gardens and forest are filled with dogwoods, roses, narcissi,rhododendrons, laurel, daffodils and azaleas, some of which are original to the estate.

Your guests will easily imagine themselves in a time gone by in this unique Southern oasis so convenient to the heart of the city. The Italian-styled pavilion accompanied by an elegant 30' x 45' white tent creates a truly enchanting and unique setting for any event - corporate retreat, conference, fundraiser, movie shoot or wedding. In addition, with a 3,000 square foot indoor space featuring vaulted ceilings and floor to ceiling windows as part of the gardens rental, only your imagination limits the type of event the gardens can accommodate.

While a source of enjoyment for the community, the Gardens are an important source of revenue for The Frazer Center, a not-for-profit organization. For over sixty years, The Frazer Center has provided exceptional services to infants, toddlers, preschoolers and adults with developmental disabilities such as cerebral palsy, spina bifida, down syndrome, sickle cell anemia, autism spectrum disorders and other genetic disorders. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1292446159601-katysouthern
130x130_sq_1292441795288-3
130x130_sq_1292445255085-7
130x130_sq_1292442012491-1
130x130_sq_1292443489194-9
130x130_sq_1238099505613-02019a
130x130_sq_1238099938113-mg3156
130x130_sq_1238100086378-0394f
130x130_sq_1238100344003-mattashley469
130x130_sq_1238100999941-italianstairs
130x130_sq_1238102285769-0166f
130x130_sq_1240502118312-img1586
130x130_sq_1292443432554-6
130x130_sq_1292446000382-8
130x130_sq_1311709711693-0017h
130x130_sq_1311709737496-1008h
130x130_sq_1311709756699-1018h
130x130_sq_1311709777463-1024h
130x130_sq_1311709794685-1036h
130x130_sq_1311709822641-2185781015024100047563917310862563891606315056140o

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1920
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Park / Zoo / Natural Space
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
180
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
My husband and I had a magical wedding at Cator-Woolford Gardens at the Frazer Center. We were referred to the venue by a friend who stumbled upon it on a long bike ride. It's a little piece of heaven in the middle of the big city, with acres and acres of forest, hiking trails, and beautiful gardens and an indoor reception area for a large event like a wedding.

Great options for rain plans, including an already existing permanent outdoor tent with beautiful chandeliers from the original Cator-Woolford mansion. Lovely bridal suite, too! Just steps away is the Atlanta Hospital Hospitality House, a mansion converted into a facility which provides loving, supportive care to patients in need. The Frazer Center provides educational programs for developmentally challenged children and adults, and the rental fees for your event go towards supporting these programs -- so we felt great about paying the money. No additional fees required for security guard or renting tables/chairs, and there is an iPod deck and sound system already in place in the Atrium upstairs (where people typically have their receptions).

Most importantly, it's vital to have a great coordinator at your wedding venue, and we absolutely loved Jen Hawthorne. She's responsive, enthusiastic about her job, and extremely helpful when needed. She wins the wedding venue coordinator award of the year, in my opinion.

One minor mishap that happened at our event -- the speakers kept going in and out upstairs in the atrium during our reception. I would just make sure the sound system is working prior to your event.

All in all, we give this place two thumbs up. Our friends and family had a great time in the gardens at our wedding. We actually still periodically stop by for picnic lunches and short hikes, too. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/28/2013
4.7/5.0
We hosted our wedding reception at Cator Woolford Gardens in September 2013. We lucked out with beautiful weather, which enabled us to utilize multiple areas of the property. Our guests arrived and were shuttled from the parking area (at the top of a hill) down to the gardens via large golf carts. We hosted a cocktail hour in the gardens under a beautiful white tent and patio area. We were allowed to set up cornhole, bocci ball, and croquet in a small green space across a charming bridge from the food/beverage area. Our guests enjoyed the time outside to meander through the gardens. Guests were shuttled back up the hill for dinner and dancing. We had about 100 guests and the staff was able to get everyone up the hill in about 15 minutes (corralling folks from the bar and appetizers was the hardest part, which our day of coordinator took care of)! We used the atrium attached the school for the rest of our reception, with a small photobooth area set up just outside. The venue was flexible and helped all of our vendors find space and utilities for their needs. We would have liked to be able to play some recorded music during our cocktail hour, but no amplified sound of any kind is permitted due to the residential location of the venue. We had a band inside the atrium with no restrictions. The staff at CWG was easy to work with and while it is expensive (IMO), it is a hidden gem and was the perfect venue for our wedding reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The gardens were a perfect setting for our wedding. Love that the money goes to a great cause.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I immediately fell in love with CWG the second we went to see it in person. The pictures really don't do it justice. It was awesome hearing from so many of our friends that they wish they got married there. I am incredibly happy we chose it as our venue and wouldn't have changed a thing. Bummer they can't have amplified music outside and the cut-off times are so early, but it's still worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Cator Woolford was a great wedding venue - they provided several rain plans and gave us a very flexible timeline for making last minute changes. They were easy to work with and pricing was straightforward. Don't let the initial pricetag scare you - this includes tables, chairs, ceremony site, rain locations, parking, signage and security. The gardens, lawn, pavilion, and atrium were the perfect setting for our "progressive wedding". There are some new sound ordinances in DeKalb County but this did not deter us from having a great time with excellent ambiance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alina
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.7/5.0
The most gorgeous venue in the Atlanta area (and I would know....I looked at them ALL). Absolutely beautiful during every month that they are open for events (I have looked at photos and went multiple times in the year leading up to my wedding). Additionally it was a load off my mind to know that there was a plan (a good plan) in the event that my outdoor wedding got rained out. The only problem that I had was that the event end time was changed a couple of months before my event (the city altered some noise-based restriction), but the venue could have foreseen the change and did not notify me until they got the "final" word. Also it is kind of a bummer that you can't have amplified music outside (we had a band for the ceremony and the cocktail hour, but a DJ in the atrium for dancing), but they tell you right upfront about the noise restrictions due to the venue being in a residential area. The garden is beyond beautiful and your photos will be incredible (the stone staircase is AMAZING). I absolutely loved having my wedding here!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1336171159902-img7429
Liz
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely adore this place and feel so lucky I was able to have my wedding here. It is truly an "enchanted garden." The staff was very easy to work with, especially Jenn Hawthorne. She was quick to respond to all my emails and gave tons of useful information. The only downside for brides now I would have to say is the noise restrictions. I was lucky to get in just before those were passed. However, I wouldn't let it stop you from using this beautiful venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
The venue is ABSOLUTELY beautiful and it was the perfect place for our wedding. I would definitely recommend it--great value!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pittodom
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Once we decided that we wanted an outdoor wedding in a lush garden at an affordable price, Cator Woolford Gardens became the obvious choice. My husband and I love to spend time outside and these English-style gardens are nestled in 39 acres of woodlands. Leasing the gardens serves as a fundraiser for the non-profit on the grounds – the Frazer Center – dedicated to helping children and adult with disabilities. The gardens are meticulously maintained and the staff is exceedingly helpful. The beautiful colonnade, Italian staircase, courtyard, patio, bridges, and bamboo groves all make for amazing photos, too. It was so nice to have our ceremony and reception all in one place with no hassle for guests. A private bath house, catering kitchen, and a permanent white tent add to the amenities. Another huge plus is that there is an atrium for a rain contingency – not something many other outdoor venues can offer. We had such a great wedding – we wish we could go back and live the night in the gardens all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gail
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
My original venue fell through 2 weeks before my wedding! In a mad rush to find a new venue I stumbled across the amazing Cator Woolford Gardens. I am so glad that my original venue fell through! The staff are so warm and professional. They really made me feel so at ease with the whole process. The gardens are so gorgeous, like an enchanted secret garden. I did not have a wedding planner, the staff was so helpful on the day of. When I arrived all I had to do was set up cupcakes and get married. I even had a guest arrive late and one of their staff members was there to ensure that he was able to view the ceremony without disturbing us (he is kind of loud.) I could just go on and on....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
The Cator Woolford Gardens was a dream come true! I wanted an outdoor wedding with a tent and this venue has both! They do an excellent job at keeping the gardens beautiful and all our friend and family raved about how gorgeous our wedding was. Erin was very responsive and helpful throughout the planning process. To me this is the best outdoor venue in Atlanta! I would highly recomend the gardens to friends and family!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tsmith
Wedding:
10/23/2011
4.6/5.0
My husband and I visited the gardens the february before our october 2011 wedding. We immediately fell in love with it, even with all the flowers and greenery out of season. Erin was fabulous and was very responsive. She emailed us back very quickly when we had questions. We really wanted to be able to bring in our own alcohol, since it is so pricey everywhere else, and cator woolford allowed us to do that! The walkthrough we had 1 month out was awesome and allowed us to visualize and map out where everything was going to go. We loved having our ceremony and reception in one spot and the gardens are perfect for pictures. Not to mention our october wedding was PERFECT weather. Overall, we would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for a beautiful, upscale getaway in the heart of the city.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susanlandrumlong
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
It was the PERFECT location and we got to work with the PERFECT team. Absolutely no bumps in the road and we had a gorgeous wedding with so many fantastic memories. One of the most beautiful, unique places in Atlanta, hands-down.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew we wanted an intimate, outdoor wedding and fell in love with the gardens as soon as we toured it. Erin Moore is a joy to work with and was responsive and helpful throughout the entire planning process. All of our guests were extremely impressed with the gardens and many have told us it was one of the prettiest weddings they've ever attended. Knowing that our venue fee went to such a wonderful organization only helped solidify our decision to go with CWG. They also allow you to bring in your own alcohol which definitely helped us save a few dollars! We truly could not have been happier with our venue decision and highly, highly recommend it for anyone looking for an intown, garden wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue, attentive coordinator and overall amazing experience. We LOVED this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1296795180018-casarosada
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I am an Atlanta native and most of our guests have lived in Atlanta for 40 years...none of them knew these gardens were there! They have said it was one of the best weddings they had ever been to...they felt like they were transported to a European garden.

It was as perfect as perfect could be!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
This was the easiest-- and best-- wedding planning decision we made! We fell in love with gardens and so did our guests, both those from in town and out of town who couldn't believe there was a spot with a wild, romantic garden like the Frazer's so close to the heart of the city.

Erin and the other staff members are fantastic and easy to work with. Amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott Reid
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Erin was very helpful and made the wedding seamless. She was attentive to all the details. I would recommend the Fraser center to anyone looking to create a memorable event

The grounds and garden were spectaclur! The flowers could not have been better.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Cator Woolford Gardens was a fabulous venue and Erin Moore was a great help! I highly recommend CWG for a beautiful outdoor or indoor wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We chose Cator Woolford from several possibilities. One was Magnolia Hall at Piedmont Park and the other was Park Tavern. What sold us was the fact that the venue is so private and beautiful and what's more the profits go to a wonderful cause - The Frazier Center.
Erin and the staff at Cator Woolford were professional and great to work with. They were totally flexible when they could be. The noise ordinance is explained up front so there should be no surprises there. It is in a very snazzy area of Atlanta/Decatur and very hidden - you would never know it's there. We rented a trolley and continued our party past 10:00 in Virginia Highlands and it worked out perfectly. I highly recommend this venue its beyond compare in beauty and you save tons of money because you care able to buy your own liquor/wine/beer.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bshendry
Wedding:
8/20/2011
3.9/5.0
The site was just what we were looking for. All proceeds benefit the Frazier Center which was also a big seller for us. Our guests loved the venue and are still complimenting us on how much fun they had. Our pictures couldn't have been better. We do recommend this location for future brides looking to get married outside in a garden setting.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CarobChip
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
we couldnt have asked for a better venue. eveyone who worked with us was so helpful and the gardens were absolutely beautiful. and on top of everything it made me feel good to know that money was going back into the frazer center.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LCStraub
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved having our wedding at the Cator Woolford gardens. The staff was great and the facilities are beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lshure
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
After some confusion early on, the staff at Cator Woolford proved to be absolutely second to none. We had so many compliments on how beautiful and amazing our wedding was and that was a result of the efforts by Cator Woolford. I could not have been happier!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsW528
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved having our wedding at Cator Woolford Gardens!! Not only is it a beautiful outdoor venue in a great location, the staff (especially Erin) were incredibly helpful and professional. We received many compliments from our guests about how pretty it was and how they enjoyed the beautiful scenery. My husband and I highly recommend Cator Woolford Gardens!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacie Wynne
Wedding:
5/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely beautiful venue if you are looking for an outdoor setting for your wedding! It allows you to have your ceremony and reception in one location which makes it more convenient for your guests. The staff were very knowledgeable and available at all times to keep the wedding running smoothly. I couldn't have asked for a better day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
We could not be more pleased with every facet of our relationship with Cator Woolford Gardens at The Fraxer Center! Staff was professional, knowledgeable, lightning-like responsive, pleasant, happy, enthusiastic, and helpful. Facility was spotless, convenient, accommodating, and drop-dead gorgeous. Entire experience was wonderful, and we highly recommend Cator Woolford Gardens at The Frazer Center - many guests also appreciated the wedding helped support a great non-profit.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.7/5.0
The Cator Woolford Gardens was the absolute perfect place to hold our wedding!!! Erin was great and was so easy to get in touch with throughout the wedding planning process and during the event. The gardens are well maintained, and so many of our guests commented that it was the prettiest venue they had ever seen. The only comments I might note, are that it would have been nice to be able to select our own caterer without penalty of charge (though being able to bring our own alcohol was great), and that is since the venue is in a neighborhood and there are noise restrictions in place, our DJ wasn't able to turn the music at the reception up as loud as he wanted, and the reception had to end by 10pm when it would have been nice to be able to continue until 10:30 or 11 (though we totally understood not wanting to disrupt the neighbors!). Other than those small things, it was a truly fantastic place and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an incredibly beautiful, pristine, and intimate spot for their wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RoyalWedding#2
Wedding:
4/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Most heard compliment of our wedding night, "this venue is AMAZING!" Cator Woolford Gardens was undoubtedly the venue for us. First off, the money we spent for the rental went towards the Frazer Center, a non-profit school for kids and adults with disabilities. Second, the gardens are absolutely stunning and there are so many options for how to set up your event. They have an indoor venue that we used for the late night dancing. Third, you can bring your own booze. This was a major cost-cutting incentive and allowed us to take home what wasn't consumed! The staff was friendly and very helpful. We used their preferred vendors and were very happy with the outcome. Our wedding was positively gorgeous. A perfect, perfect venue for an outdoor wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Art C.
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
What a great venue! Hidden in Atlanta, this is the perfect garden for a wedding. The staff is wonderful and makes sure everything is exactly what you need. One of the best parts? The money for the venue is used to support The Frazier Center for special needs students.

This venue has several distinct areas which can be used for various parts of the wedding/reception. It is set back so that you do not hear noise from streets and feels like a secluded shelter. The photos look great and there are wonderful places to utilize. A great staff, a great location, and a great cause!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/3/2011
4.5/5.0
Cator Woolford Gardens is a WONDERFUL place for a ceremony and reception! The gardens are just amazing and everyone is so professional and knowledgeable. The staff at the gardens are always willing to help out and give advice. They have two back up plans incase of inclement weather. Everything was so smooth and all we had to do was enjoy our big day. I absolutely recommend this venue to any future brides!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MC
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Having my wedding at the Cator Woolford Gardens was the best thing I ever did! The site was gorgeous and included and indoor area incase of rain, which i ended up using and loved! The staff is super friendly, professional and always available! They took care of so much, and helped me stay on track with my planning. I would recommend this venue any day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
3/19/2011
4.2/5.0
When looking for wedding venues I fell in love with Cator Woolford Gardens. The privacy and beauty of the space made the decision for me. The staff was easy to work with and other than a small issue with noise ordnance (due to the residential neighborhood) and our band things went along smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melody
Wedding:
2/4/2011
4.9/5.0
The venue is gorgeous! Erin was very helpful. I could not have asked for a better experience! It is great to be able to bring in your own alcohol. That is a big cost saver.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Asapoka
Wedding:
11/7/2010
5.0/5.0
The staff at The Fraser Center was helpful and extremely professional. Erin Moore, Sr. Coordinator, assisted me greatly in planning and ensuring that everything worked out ok, particularly with the caterers and cake vendor.

I highly recommend the Cator Woolford Gardens for an excellant wedding venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
WE found that the Atrium at the Frazier Center to be comfortable,
enjoyable, and brought the home atmosphere we desired. Highly recommend for any dinner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keely
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Our recent wedding and reception at Cator Woolford Gardens was just perfect! It was a beautiful venue with very personal service. Erin and Judith were so friendly and helpful through the planning and on the day of. We were so happy to have a venue that let us bring our own caterer but still provided such nice amenities like shuttle service for our guests and access to the site the day before the ceremony. The guests had a great time and we did too! Thanks again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pisco2good
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
The venue was absolutely perfect! All the guests loved the atmosphere and the friendly staff was great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not be more pleased with how our ceremony went at The Cator Woolford Gardens! Erin Moore was extremely helpful and wonderfully professional and pleasant. The atmosphere was beautiful, the staff was attentive, and all of our guests were blown away. I would recommend the gardens to anyone and everyone who wants to have a wedding in Atlanta.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.8/5.0
Cator Woolford is a beatiful site for a wedding and the staff is amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Best choice for venues in Atlanta!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gracie
Wedding:
10/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I love this place and the wonderful people who helped us with our wedding. Our wedding was in the early fall, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The garden looked gorgeous and the weather was perfect. We had our ceremony outside and our reception under the stars and string lights. I highly recommend this venue. The number one thing that drew us in was the fact that our money was going to a good cause. But the people and the beautiful environment sealed the deal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.3/5.0
Erin Moore is fabulous! Always responsive and willing to work with our needs!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rona
Wedding:
7/16/2010
4.9/5.0
Erin Moore, the event coordinator at the Cator Woolford Gardens is professional, a quick thinker and fun to work with. The bride and groom and the bride's parents all worked together to create a beautiful event. The garden's in July were full of bloom from black-eyed susan's, knock out roses , ,butterfly bushes, daisy's. We had a butterfly mass release at the end of the ceremony and the butterflies had plenty of sources of food and shelter. It was beautiful. We have received so many compliments from friends and family about the venue and the hidden treasures it holds. We hope others will learn about the Cator Woolford Gardens at the Frazer Center and the good work they are doing there to help others in need. The Fenton Family, Indianapolis, Indiana.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.5/5.0
It was beautiful! We loved knowing that the fee to use the space went to a good cause as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather312
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.4/5.0
Erin is awesome! One of the great aspects of this venue is that you can bring your own alcohol.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MissyM
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Erin, Bret, and the team at Cator Woolford were a delight. The gardens are beautiful, and it was an amazing venue for our wedding and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maia
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.8/5.0
This venue is absolutelly beautiful, and it will stay with you forever! No matter the time of day or weather, pictures will be wonderful. The garden is very private for such an event. The staff is as helpfull as they can be and very honest and down to earth. I highly recommend this venue for any event! What a great way to help their cause as well! Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrina
Wedding:
5/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I wanted an outdoor wedding with an indoor option because you never know about the weather in Georgia. Sure enough, the day of the wedding was just gorgeous. Then around 5:30pm weather started coming into the area. Erin and Brette moved everything under the reception tent just in case.

Everything was perfect!! I could not have asked for a better venue or more friendly and helpful people to work with! We managed to get the ceremony in without any bad weather and by the time the weather did arrive, everyone was already under the reception tent.

The rain merely helped to cool things off which was a true blessing! The wedding felt like a fairytale to me. I could not have dreamed of anything better!

Thank you to Erin, Erin and Brette for all their helpful suggestions and wonderful insight. Linc and I appreciate all that you do!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsDewberry
Wedding:
5/21/2010
4.2/5.0
Overall, I am very pleased with Cator Woolford Gardens and their staff. Erin Stroup in particular was always extremely friendly and helpful. On the day of my wedding, it was raining right up until the ceremony. The staff was very accommodating in moving tables and chairs from the gardens to the tent and back to the gardens as the weather changed. The golf cart driver (I believe his name was Frankie) was also very funny and friendly. During our rehearsal, they also gave us as much time as was needed, which was very helpful.

Some issues I had:
1) I could not get ready on site because Cator Woolford does not allow you use of their facilities before 4pm (without paying an expensive additional time fee). I had to pay for a hotel room near the venue to get my hair and make-up done because of this issue, which was mildly inconvenient.

2) Due to a wedding the next day, I had to pay for same day tent removal service. However, I don't think this is an issue specific to Cator Woolford -- it would come with any wedding facility that does multiple weddings in a weekend.

3) Cator Woolford states that the music has to end by 10pm, and the you have until 11pm to clean up. We abided by these restrictions, but the facility's event coordinator (Judith) started yelling at my wedding coordinator and my guests when they were not moving fast enough for her. I understand that the space has to be cleared and prepared for the next days event, but I feel that this could have been done in a calmer, more professional manner.

Like I stated previously, I was very happy overall with the service and event space at Cator Woolford Gardens.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kit
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I just recently got married at the Cator Woolford Gardens and were so pleased with how everything turned out. Erin is so lovely to work with; she's professional, helpful, and on top of things- you're in such good hands! The gardens were immaculate- everything was ready and in place as planned for us, no problems AT ALL. Not to mention that a good portion of your money goes towards supporting educational programs for disabled adults at the Frazer Center, an added plus for all of the money one can spend on a wedding! We couldn't be happier with our choice to have both the ceremony AND reception there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheree Colestock
Wedding:
4/25/2010
5.0/5.0
We LOVED the people who helped us through the whole process. The list of preferred vendors was extremely valuable and we used it to the hilt. I'd refer Cator Woolford to anyone. Thank you for one of the most beautiful outdoor weddings in Atlanta in 2010! Sheree Colestock-Lamm
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ebloch
Wedding:
4/3/2010
4.8/5.0
We had such a wonderful wedding at CWG. At first, it was just that the flexibility and cost savings of being able to provide our own alcohol was virtually irresistable. But then, we saw the place and met the people. The grounds are breathtaking (everyone said our outdoor garden wedding, complete with pink blossoms drifting down from the trees, was the stuff of storybooks!), and it made it extra special to know that the money for renting the facilities goes to fund the school for the disabled. Both of the girls in the facility sales office were incredibly accessible, knowlegeable, professional, creative, and accomodating. Erin Stroup is a real pro, and you can tell she's done and seen all things wedding before. The facility sales staff graciously allowed for all our requests, no matter how large and/or random, and worked well with the many different vendors, both those they'd worked with before and those they'd just met. All their suggestions were helpful, and some aided us in reducing our wedding cost. Overall, we loved working with the CWG team and would not change a thing about the venue if we had it to do all over again. CWG was by far the least stressful vendor to deal with in our wedding-planning process. For that, we are still so very grateful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dentjenny
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
wonderful!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
I just held my wedding ceremony & reception at Cator Woolford. I had no issues with them at all - they were extremely flexible, everything ran without issue, Erin & Staff were GREAT throughout the whole process! Everyone in Atlanta was amazed that the location even existed (even people who have lived in Atlanta for 50+ years) - truly a "secret garden". Loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dbroadus
Wedding:
10/17/2009
4.5/5.0
Cator Wolford provided a great backdrop to my daughters wedding! Photographs turned out beautiful and Erin was the BEST. The gardens were the perfect venue for the ceremony and having the Atrium for the reception was great. It was nice to have everything all in one place. The only negative was that the place was a little hard to find for my guests because of the mapquest and GPS shows that it is on Ponce De Leon but it is actually on a side street. My suggestion is to put signs at Ponce pointing to the venue. I discussed with Erin, the wedding coordinator and she indicated that this would be done for future weddings. Overall everything was very nice!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cwilliams
Wedding:
9/18/2009
4.9/5.0
Everything was perfect--despite the bad weather! Erin was so helpful, and she even connected me with another bride from the same weekend so we could split a tent. FYI--If you are planning on getting ready in the building in the gardens, make sure you bring an extra mirror or two, and ask that there be chairs in there.
The gardens and the staff were absolutely wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1231205391046-tahoe275
Cara&Mike
Wedding:
9/4/2009
4.8/5.0
Cator Woolford Gardens is not only one of the most beautiful wedding sites, they have one the most friendly, helpful staff. Its truly a hidden gem in the Atlanta Market. They were incredibly caring and I could tell they were genuinely invested in my wedding. Besides the beauty, the number one advantage was they're flexibility in allowing us to bring our own decor and alcohol. I would highly recommend this venue to any atlanta bride that.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GreyFrog
Wedding:
8/1/2009
0.8/5.0
The event coordinator Erin is terrible. Not only did she double book the facility (she booked the other event after mine was on the calendar) but she was very rude and disrespectful to myself and my mother when we met with her. She tried to marginalize her mistake and refused to take ownership until the Executive Director intervened. She also waited until what was supposed to be our wrap up meeting to tell us. Not only that, but Ken , the Garden Manager, was also very rude and disrespectful during our attempts to get this resolved. At the end of the daythey made me push my rehearsal time back two hours and the other bride was NOT required, nor even asked to make any adjustments. In addition to that, the night of the rehearsal, the other wedding party would not leave so that we could begin. The staff who assisted on the actual wedding day were great, but needless to say, we did not deal with Erin nor Ken. They will be reported to the BBB and Emory for such a lack of professionalism.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marvin and benita
Wedding:
7/4/2009
4.9/5.0
my name is benita lee my husband and i renewed our vows at the cator woolford gardens on july 04, 2009 what a beautiful event it was, i am so very greatful to the gardens staff for the wonderful job they did to make my day as lovely as it was. the wedding theme was hawaiian, so you can just imagine that it looked as though we were really on the big island, Anjelica, Erin, Brian, and Don i couldn't have asked for a better team in getting things together for the big event everything was perfect in our eyes and would recommend this venue to everyone looking for a beautiful outdoor venue it was truly a day that will forever be in our hearts. Erin and Angelica thanks for everything. Mr. and Mrs. Marvin Gaye Lee (Benita)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pei-Jean
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Even though the price for this venue may be higher than other, I felt that it was well worth it because all of the money goes to the Frazer Center, which services disabled children and adults throughout Atlanta. It's always nice to know that your money is going to a cause instead of into someone's pocket.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
4/25/2009
4.1/5.0
Pros:
-Allow outside caterer for a fee
-Can bring your own alcohol
-Beautiful gardens
-Can use existing tent
-Usage of 200 chairs
-Friendly & knowledgeable coordinator
-Flexible set up & clean up time
-Indoor rain option - hold less than 150 guests

Cons:
-Poor lighting in the Pavilion area
-Small tent has pebble floor - hard to walk around in heels & can be dirty
-No trash cans/dumpsters
-Music restrictions due to surrounding neighbors
-Ice maker doesn't work
-Mismatched table sizes

The gardens were beautiful. We were so blessed with good weather so didn't have to spend extra money on outdoor rain options. Overall, the pretty outdoor surrounding made all the efforts worth it. We spent a lot of money in other areas that you wouldn't normally spend at a regular venue. We spent money on extra lighting, table & chair rentals, and extra tent to accommodate more guests. I had some worries about the pebble floor in the existing tent so had to put all the young guests in that tent. The no trash can or dumpster being available was an inconvenience to my caterer. We also had to end the wedding early due to low music tolerance because of the surrounding neighbors (10pm restriction). With all that being said, we were willing to do everything to have a perfect outdoor wedding.

The best thing about the venue was that the coordinator was so flexible & had great ideas. Without her we wouldn't have been able to do a lot of the set up early on. She also worked really well with the other vendors like our DJ & caterer.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Cator Woolford Gardens at The Frazer Center responded with the following comments:

We would like to report that our ice machine is now working great and that we do have trash cans available to our caterers. We do however require caterers to load out trash which is a typical practice and all of our caterers know this and gladly haul away trash with no complaints!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rph0404
Wedding:
4/4/2009
4.0/5.0
PROS:
-great location for ceremony and reception
-rain plan available
-great people to work with that are helpful
-set up and break down included
-BEAUTIFUL
-can provide own alcohol (HUGE cost saver)

CONS:
-lots of people working part time, so you never know who you're going to be dealing with
-"preferred" caterers are very high end (NOT a cost saver)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Cator Woolford Gardens at The Frazer Center responded with the following comments:

We now have only one full-time event coordinator at the gardens rather then multiple part-timers which will now make communication seamless during the planning process!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
5/17/2007
2.4/5.0
When I just made up my mind that I had to have an outdoor wedding, I went looking for the perfect venue to fit our somewhat tight budget. The first thing I found out is that there aren't a whole lot of wedding venues in the Atlanta area that are outdoors. There were some in the northern mountains (Dahlonega, Dawsonville) but living in Woodstock and relatives coming from Marietta and Cartersville and friends coming from Fayetteville and Macon.... We decided it really needed to be near Atlanta for a central location.

Then I found the Cator Woolford Gardens, also known as Atlanta's Secret Garden. It is what was the house gardens of the mansion of the man who started what is now Equifax, in the early 1900's. The garden is gorgeous - Italian provincial pillars and vines and trees and flowers and mosaic walkways. They have a pavilion with bathrooms and then a separate building with more bathrooms, and a stone staircase that was absolutely gorgeous for photos!!

They also have a tent where you can set up a reception but we just had our wedding there.

They have parking up at the Center (a rec center for disabled people) and then they shuttled folks down to the garden site in golf carts - that was really nice. Folks really enjoyed it.

The moment you turn into the drive, you are struck by the history and mystery of the place. YOu would NEVER know it's there. It's a gate on the outside, and a driveway and half way down ther eis the most beautiful site.

It holds 300 chairs I believe, officially. We could easily have put in more but the folks would have had a hard time seeing anything at the front.

The site = perfection.
Location = in the old section of gorgeous historic Decatur but right outside of a very bad area (so that was a little weird). Folks coming to the wedding basically went through the ghetto and then came out on the other side to manicured lawns with grand historic restored mansions from the early 20th century!

The experience with the woman who was at the time of us reserving in charge of the events was....crappy. We went there, went over everything, talked it all through, gave her the deposit, did all the paperwork and we were all set. Then early in the month of our wedding, she insisted I had to come in again to go over it all over again (I lived and worked over an hour away). I ended up having to take off work to drive there, I got there, we went over the same stuff (which could have been done on the phone) and then 10 minutes later I was back on my way. So I took 2 hours and a day off just to spend 10 minutes talking and didn't need to. That was really frustrating.

The week of my wedding I was informed she had been fired. Great! She sucked but she also knew what the heck to do about my wedding in 5 days! She had assured me that there would be the necessary tables out there for the guest book adn that someone would be there to help us learn how to use the music station at the rehearsal. No one was there. We went up to the center and they said the guy was down at the gardens and to call his name. We had 14 people yelling out his name for 5 minutes and he never came so we had to put the music into the car in the small wedding party parking lot near the garden at full blast in order to just barely hear it enough to walk to it at our REHEARSAL! It was awful.

The morning of the wedding, I went there again to make sure that everythign would be ready. They were like yeah it's all ready. We went down to the garden and there were no chairs set up, no tables, there were twigs and branches all over the paths, and no one was in sight. I went back up and they said that it woudl be taken care of. This is like 5 hours before our wedding for Pete's sake. I also asked if the guy would be available to help the guy taking care of the music for the wedding how to use the machine! She said yes.

Well, I found out after the wedding that he never showed up - and our ushers went up three times to try and find him but they kept saying he was down at the Garden and they'd call his name and he never came to show them how to use the machine. So they tried to figure it out on their own. Well, one of the speakers wiring was bad so only the left half of the audience heard anything and they just barely heard it because there was a button that needed to be pushed to make the audio louder and the guys didn't know that. So our wedding music was really quiet adn then you couldn't hear our vows at all from the audience I hear. We had paid extra just ot have that feature.

So basically - our issues were not THAT bad, especially considering that it was the perfect location and the price was unbeatable, but if you are extremely desirous that you not have to worry a minute about whether or not there will be chairs or music in your wedding, I would think twice about dealing with them.

Oh yes and for price - Friday - Sunday was like $2500 - $3500 and Thursday was $500. So we got married on Thursday. :) If you have a reception there, they require you use a caterer and the cheapest one they would allow was like $40 per person.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Cator Woolford Gardens at The Frazer Center responded with the following comments:

The Cator Woolford Gardens is now under new management and we promise to deliver exceptional service to each and every one of our brides to ensure a flawless event! We also no longer offer a $500 rate for weeknights. Please contact us for rates.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
barbara
Wedding:
4/30/2001
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful. Erin Moore was the BEST. Everyone was so helpful from the beginning and especially the day of. If I needed anyone to answer a question or run an errand, Erin or Chris were right there. I wish I had another wedding scheduled because everything was just perfect. Thank you, thank you to all. Barbara Kinnett
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1815 S. Ponce de Leon Avenue, NE, Atlanta, GA 30307 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cator Woolford Gardens at The Frazer Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1320245706529-19