130x130_sq_1273159913999-1

Cecilia Villaveces Cakes

Athens , GA

LOCATION

610 N. Milldege Avenue
Athens, GA US 30601 (map)

PHONE

706-543-3308

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Cecilia's cakes are the best I've ever tasted, so when I was planning my wedding I knew exactly who to get our cake from. They delivered our wedding cake to my venue in Atlanta, were so helpful and professional, I couldn't have chosen a better bakery for our wedding cake! Absolutely delicious. All of our guests were very impressed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
1/25/2014
4.6/5.0
We ordered a variety of flavors for our wedding cake. We got lemon, tres leches, red raspberry, tiramisu, and mocha. All of them were absolutely delicious except for the mocha. We cut into the mocha for the cake cutting and it was extremely dry and we both made faces at each other while feeding the cake to one another! Thank goodness it was only the top flavor. Other than that, the flavors were great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erika
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a 2 tier "wedding cake", 2 satellite cakes AND a grooms cake. They were all exceptional! They even made the grooms cake in a UFC/Vegas design!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vivian
Wedding:
9/15/2013
4.6/5.0
Cecilia's Bakery makes phenomenal cakes. This bakery is a small family owned business in Athens that is truly a hidden gem. They're very busy, so sometimes it takes a while to hear back via email or phone calls (which is a bit nerve-wracking when you're planning a wedding), but the end result is totally worth it. We got a beautiful, delicious cake, that was exactly what we had in mind. Plus, their policy is to bake you a small fresh cake on your one year anniversary. As they told us, frozen cake just isn't as good a year later-=o)

I would definitely recommend this bakery, and I'll be back to order smaller cakes for all sorts of other occasions I'm sure.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Private User
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Planning appointment: Perfect, Beauty of Cakes: Perfect, Deliver 50 miles: Perfect and of course, Delicsiousness: Perfect!!! Other than communicating with them in between appt and event (they are email challenged) they were as perfect as everyone said they would be! Thanks!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Cecilia's was always willing to go over my cake request whenever I called to review. They called me 5 days before the wedding to review everything to make sure it was to my liking.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Cecilia Villaveces makes the best cakes and they are very easy to work with. A few weeks before the wedding I fell in love with a different design than the one I had set with them when we meet and it was not an issue at all to make the changes I sent them a couple pictures and a quick sketch and they made it perfectly!
My guest were all so impressed with the cakes we had a three tiered cake of strawberry and kahlua and a separate tres leches cake. Everyone loved it and has been asking where they came from since the wedding. Their prices are also excellent especially for the quality of the cakes. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Enrique and his team at Cecilia's did a great job on my wedding cake. I had an intricate design and they told me that they do not normally do fondant designs over butter cream like I was requesting, but they did a good job anyways. The delivery was smooth and they were very helpful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rick at Cecilia Villaveces Cakes made a wedding cake that was not only beautiful but absolutely delicious! He was wonderful to work with and helped us design a cake that fit the vision for our wedding. My fiance had a very specific idea for his groom's cake and it came out perfectly as well. They were also willing to travel from Athens to Dahlonega to deliver our cake. The prices were very competitive with other cake vendors but their cakes are exceptional. I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was delicious. We had a simple three-tier cake with Red Velvet, Chocolate and Spanish Lemon layers. Every flavor was delicious and moist. We had 120 guests and ordered a cake for 85 people, served the top tier and still had about an 8" round cake leftover. Delivery is free in Athens which was nice. The cake was delivered on time and was exactly what we discussed when I ordered it. Cecelia and her staff know what they're doing and do it well
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
Cecilia did a great job on my wedding cake! We had a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing and it was delicious and beautiful! My husband's groom's cake was so neat (we had the UGA stadium)! I'm not sure how she carved that stadium out of cake, but well done! What a talented individual! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1310673041033-dsc1085
Courtney
Wedding:
3/24/2012
4.4/5.0
Of course, my cake was absolutely delicious!! Everything went smoothly and was on time. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmarie33
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.6/5.0
All I can say is YUM!!! I planned my wedding from out of state, so I had to trust reviews for the cake without actually sampling the cake. I worked with the owner (Rick) over the phone and email to select flavors and the style of the cake. 1) it turned out just like the photo I sent 2) the cake tasted AMAZING. We got chocolate for the top tier and white for the bottom tier. The only thing I would do differently next time is get chocolate for the whole cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1294369935145-742837407848341475602285411204804041870n
Amanda
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Cecilia's for our wedding cake AND centerpieces. We had 13 cupcakes at each table as our centerpieces. It was a big hit!! We had 5 different flavors of cupcakes so that our guests would get up and mingle with the other guests if they wanted a different flavor. Everyone loved the cupcake and we can't wait to eat our top layer of the wedding cake a year from now!! We highly recommend Cecilia's cakes for any special occasion!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1307312300270-img0716
Megan
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I am 200% pleased with the cakes I ordered for my wedding and let me tell you why. First of all let me say that a wedding cake was near the bottom of my priority list. I didn't need a big fancy one. A cake is a cake and I wanted one that tasted better than it looked. With that said, I chose to go with individual cakes from Cecilia. I purchased 3 cakes: an 8in, 10in, and 12in, in 3 different flavors. They said this would feed appr 150 ppl. I arranged the cakes on individual cake plates at varying heights and my florist decorated them. It was amazing! My caterer also told me they could stack the cakes if I wanted them to. The best part was the price of doing it this way. Instead of paying several several hundred dollars for a "wedding" cake that fed 150, I paid $100-$150 (can't remember exact price) for my 3 cakes and a grooms cake! And we had a ton of cake left over! I would definitely do it over this way again if I could go back in time! Nice cost cut!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cecilia's Cakes were as good as they were at our wedding as when we had them at the The Last Resort. We had 4 different cake flavors and each were delicious! Red Velvet, Italian Creme, Coconut and Strawberry were the flavors that we chose. The red velvet was the one that we cut into and it was so fresh and moist! I will definitely being getting cakes from Cecilia's for future events~
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1290530172550-treehorse2
Ashley
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Cecilia's cakes are not only works of art but delicious! If you are familiar with Athens, you know her cakes are so good they are served at the Last Resort Restaurant in downtown--that said I was thrilled to be serving a Cecilia's cake at my wedding. The service was top notch and they designed the cake to match my dress with tiny small bows and buttons. I highly recommend Cecilia's--they're true professionals.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1288110360295-proposal015
Megan
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I LOVE Cecilia Villaveces Cakes! My wedding cake was above and beyond anything I could have dreamed of. The design was beautiful and the taste was to die for! Don't even consider any other cakes. I promise you'll be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
13
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
We had 7 different cakes - all absolutely delicious
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kkilch
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Words don't describe the perfection of Cecilia's cakes. They were very accommodating and easy to work with. The best around by far.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daisy
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
The cupcakes were beautiful and tasted wonderful. Cecilia matched the color perfectly to Tiffany blue. The fillings were varied and very good. Everyone loved the cupcakes. They were delivered on time and were boxed very professionally.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
musgral8
Wedding:
1/2/2010
3.5/5.0
For being the premier wedding cake vendor in Athens, GA I was disappointed. Nobody would ever answer the phone when I called, I always had to pop in, then I was lucky if I didn't have to wait half an hour to speak to someone. They had told me time and time again they could make a gluten-free cake and I'm so glad I didn't trust them and have the whole thing gluten-free because it was way over done...the edges of the GF cake were chewy. Also, the person who took the order wasn't the one who made it, so it didn't turn out like I had hoped. The decorating was definitely less professional than I had hoped, my grandmother could have decorated that cake.
All of our guests raved about the taste and quality of the regular cake but I was less than enamored.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
suzilla
Wedding:
10/31/2009
5.0/5.0
I just got married on Halloween, and Cecilia's made not one but THREE cakes for us - a Caramel wedding cake that was INCREDIBLE and 2 birthday cakes (Red Velvet & Carrot Cakes) - and all 3 of those cakes were yummy. Everyone at my wedding raved about the Caramel cake, and I can't wait for our first anniversary to have it again. In addition, all we had to do is send them a picture of what we wanted and they hit the mark perfectly! Everything was on time (one was even delivered to our Rehearsal dinner for my uncle), beautifully decorated & delicious. I highly recommend Cecilia Villaveces cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
10/11/2009
5.0/5.0
I did not want to spend that much money on a wedding cake. However, Cecilia's cakes worked with me. I had a small ten inch cake as our 'cake'. It was a simple cake and not too elaborate and so fell within their regular ten inch cake price. And for everyone else, I had cupcakes. Those were priced at $1.25 a piece! They would have been more expensive if I wanted something more elaborate, but it was priced very fairly, according to design. Our guests LOVED the cake, it was absolutely delicious and the cupcakes with a simple leaf design were beautiful. They delivered the cakes and arranged them on plates for a nominal fee. I highly recommend them, delicious and accommodating!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catie
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.2/5.0
The cake TASTES absolutely amazing, I love Cecilia's cakes - especially the red velvet and chocolate. You will NOT find a better tasting cake, but their service leaves something to be desired. We picked out a groom's cake just like one they had in their book - a UGA football helmet. Two things were wrong with this cake, first the helmet looked more like a box. Have you ever seen a square helmet? Second, they misspelled one of the quotes - and guests noticed, how embarrassing! With the wedding cake, I asked for a bright red bow on the top, and they even asked me to get a paint sample to show exactly which color I wanted. Because they requested so much detail, I thought surely they could manage that. Um, no - the bow was more like burgendy than red. Also, their customer service could be better. I think they are just so well known it makes them somewhat complacent - as if customer service doesn't really matter.

Like I said, in the end the cake tasted amazing, and, to me, that was the most important thing, but the appearance could have been better.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
schancey
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Unique, Gorgeous, and Delicious - Perfect a dream come true for me and my guests!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gardenia09
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
Cecilia's makes not only the most beautiful cakes, but they also taste Amazing! My wedding cake was the most beautiful wedding cake I have ever seen! I had a three layer cake, with an addition sheet cake, and a grooms cake and each layer was a different flavor! The red-velvet and mocha chocolate cake were the best...but the lemon, carmel, and strawberry were amazing also! We only had a little amount of cake left over, and we order extra cake because I could not decide between all the differnt flavors! I went to another wedding where Cecilia's made the cake, and there was not any left over! Our grooms cake looked great also! My husband wanted a golf course hole and he was very particular on how he wanted it! I was also very particular on the colors because I have seen many ugly golf cakes! We sat down with them and told them exaclty how we wanted it, including bringing in color samples! They were very patient with us and listened happily to everything we had to say! They were great to work with and were very professional! I recommend Cecilia's to everyone who wants a great tasting, beautiful cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I went to school at UGA in Athens, so we knew how delicious Cecilia's cakes were, so when it came time to pick a wedding cake bakery, there was no question who we would pick! Cecilia Villaveces cakes made my wedding cake and my husband's groom's cake. We could not have been more pleased with everything! The cakes were EXACTLY what we wanted, and the price was great! Everyone raved about how good the cakes were...we especially recommend their red velvet cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg6
MayBride2009
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Awesome! Our Wedding Cake and Groom's Cake were both beautiful and delicious! I loved them both SO much! They were awesome! Everyone loved our cake and commented on how delicious it was, and we were so thrilled with how it turned out. Heather came right on time and delivered and set-up the cake, and it was gorgeous! I could not have been more happy with how it turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nutmegGA
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was incredible. I had e-mailed Heather a picture of the wedding cake we wanted and she made it even prettier than the picture! Everyone complimented us on what a gorgeous cake we had and everyone was blown away by how delicious it was. We had lemon for our bottom layer and chocolate tiramisiu for the middle layer (we can't wait to try hummingbird in a year!) and almost all of our guests had two slices of cake. Easy to work with, extremely talented, and reasonably priced. What more could you ask for??
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1226361971457-img_1056
Megan
Wedding:
4/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Anyone who lives in Athens, GA knows Cecilia Villaveces cakes and knows how good they are. Our wedding cake was no exception. Several people came up to me at the end of the reception and thanked us for choosing such a tasty cake. I think most people expect wedding cake to be beautiful, but it doesn't end up tasting all that great. Our cake was delicious! I would highly recommend Cecilia Villaveces cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristin
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.6/5.0
They were able to take pictures and interpret them perfectly. Our cakes looked wonderful... not to mention Cecilia's cakes taste better than any other cakes I've ever had. They delivered on time and everything looked spectacular. It was sometimes difficult to communicate by email (which was a must for me living out of state during the planning process), but overall they were extremely professional, helpful and accomodating. Our cake order changed three or four times during the last couple of months of planning, but they made sure that everything was just how it was supposed to be the day of the wedding. I couldn't have asked for more.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blair
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful! My husband and I were thrilled with the service Cecilia's provided! Our guests raved about the presentation, but were really floored by the taste. They customized the bride and groom's cake, and offer incredible price points. As excited as we were about the final product, we were even more excited to come home from our honeymoon to all the leftovers! I would HIGHLY recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laura darling
Wedding:
7/26/2008
5.0/5.0
The best cakes ever! I had some friends pick it up and deliver it to my out-of-town wedding because I love them so much! I had the raspberry wedding cake as well as mocha and caramel groom's cakes. They were beautiful, perfect, and delicious! The guests loved it!

Cecilia's was fabulous to work with for cake planning. You can bring in an idea or they have books you can look at...they were very helpful in determining what size I needed and helping me figure out just what I wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
blondebeth22
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashley
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.4/5.0
Cecillia Villaveces cakes are absolutly the best- by taste, design and price! Their work is beautiful, and you can't find a better tasting cake anywhere.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
10/13/2007
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with the cake company, my mother-in-law however did have some issues getting a cake delivered to the site where our rehearsal dinner was being held...she would not recommend them but for the wedding and groom's cake, they did a great job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deeley13
Wedding:
6/23/2007
4.4/5.0
The cakes are not only beautiful but they taste delicious. Be sure to ask about cake tasting at a local restaurant.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
huitzi76
Wedding:
3/9/2006
5.0/5.0
I could not be any happier with the cake that I ordered from this bakery. Not only was it one of the best cakes I have ever tasted (and I have some wedding cake bakers in the family), but it was exquisitely beautiful and EXACTLY what I ordered. I requested some personalized changes on a regular cake, and it was perfect. So economical, too - worked out to less than one dollar per person, and we still had almost half a cake left over. I ordered a duplicate (much smaller) as our first anniversary cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
610 N. Milldege Avenue, Athens, GA 30601 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cecilia Villaveces Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo