130x130_sq_1326516130157-mattandlynda
(9)

Celebrations Event Productions

San Pedro , CA

LOCATION

1494 W Santa Cruz Street
San Pedro, CA US 90732 (map)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My name is Matthew Beaumont and I have 20+ years of experience as a Professional Wedding DJ. I love what I do and it shows. I was awarded the Los Angeles Music Award for "DJ of the Year"... Read more
My name is Matthew Beaumont and I have 20+ years of experience as a Professional Wedding DJ. I love what I do and it shows. I was awarded the Los Angeles Music Award for "DJ of the Year" in 2006 and 2008, I am the announcer and provide the music for the Hollywood FAME awards. I was also twice nominated for "Best DJ in LA" on the Fox 11 poll.

My weddings have been featured on "The Today Show", "For Better or Worse" and "The Lifetime Channel". My list of celebrity clients is quite impressive. I have an incredible selection of music that I have amassed for the last 20 years "over 80,000 songs", and I have the experience to know what to play, and when to play it. I have personally performed at over 2500 events. BUT! it's not about me, I make sure that the Bride and Groom are always the center of attention.

In addition, I am now or have been a Board member of the Southern California American Disc Jockey Association, Board member of the Professional Association of Disc Jockeys, Board member of the International Society of Event Specialists, Board Member of The Association of Bridal Consultants, Member of the Association of Wedding Professionals International, Member of The Wedding Industry Professionals Association, Member of the South Bay Event Professionals Association and I have recieved a Hollywood Star for career achievement. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1266104994686-img1109

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Elegant but fun
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No
What is your usual attire?
Formal unless the theme dictates some other attire
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Unless it is not available on iTunes.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I do not have any DJs working for me or with me, however, I will subcontract DJs on occasion.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Two hours minimum Monday thru Thursday and four hour minimum on the weekends
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, I prefer to meet with all clients depending on schedules.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
I am very proud of my collection of world music and I have been able to make announcements in 27 different languages
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
The do not play list is very important, and shall be respected.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, with back-ups of everything, and equipment that hasn't been requested but might become necessary.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Up to negotiation
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
I usually arrive one hour prior to the guest arrival, however I can set up in under 10 minutes.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
A six foot square is the requested size (without lights or additional speakers), However I can set up in a much smaller area, if necessary.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
I do have a small sign that covers the front of my box and can be removed at the clients request.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I will act as the M/C and make all of the necessary announcements, but I do not talk just to hear the sound of my own voice.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
I have special techniques that can get everyone out on the dance floor, dancing.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Music is non-stop and a guest meal is required as part of my compensation
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Yes
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I have emergency DJs standing by.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
Occasionally, if they are close, geographically, and the times do not overlap.
What is your overtime rate?
$100.00 is the average
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Yes, depends on the location.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Usually a $300.00 deposit is required to secure my services

REVIEWS

3.7
out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.6/5.0
3.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.3/5.0
I met Matt during a Bridal Show in Anaheim on Sunday May 4. He was pleasant to speak with and I left his booth considering using his services. I entered his drawing, where after the event, he called me to inform me that I won the "Grand Prize." I was excited to learn what that prize was.

I called him back on Monday, unfortunately he was setting up for an event and wasn't able to talk, but said he would call me back Tuesday at 11am which I agreed to. Tuesday came and went with no phone call. Huge red flag for me, but I gave him the benefit of the doubt because he said he was setting up for an event. On Thursday, I still hadn't heard from him, so I sent him an email. My phone was not working at the time, so I asked if he would please email me the information so I could review and place in my wedding binder. He called me back on Friday, but my phone wasn't working, he then replied to my email on Saturday asking when we can connect.

I replied on Sunday and expressed to him that my phone is currently out of service and again asked him to email me with the details of my prize, as I stated in my first email. It is now Wednesday, 10 days after the event and I have not heard from this DJ at all. If this is any reflection of services he provides I am not interested, no matter what the "Grand Prize" is. It is not worth my frustration just trying to get information from him.

I am not a paid customer of his, but I would be wary about his lack of communication especially with something this simple.
I met Matt during a Bridal Show in Anaheim on Sunday May 4. He was pleasant to speak with and I left his booth considering Read more...
I met Matt during a Bridal Show in Anaheim on Sunday May 4. He was pleasant to speak with and I left his booth considering using his services. I entered his drawing, where after the event, he called me to inform me that I won the "Grand Prize." I was excited to learn what that prize was.

I called him back on Monday, unfortunately he was setting up for an event and wasn't able to talk, but said he would call me back Tuesday at 11am which I agreed to. Tuesday came and went with no phone call. Huge red flag for me, but I gave him the benefit of the doubt because he said he was setting up for an event. On Thursday, I still hadn't heard from him, so I sent him an email. My phone was not working at the time, so I asked if he would please email me the information so I could review and place in my wedding binder. He called me back on Friday, but my phone wasn't working, he then replied to my email on Saturday asking when we can connect.

I replied on Sunday and expressed to him that my phone is currently out of service and again asked him to email me with the details of my prize, as I stated in my first email. It is now Wednesday, 10 days after the event and I have not heard from this DJ at all. If this is any reflection of services he provides I am not interested, no matter what the "Grand Prize" is. It is not worth my frustration just trying to get information from him.

I am not a paid customer of his, but I would be wary about his lack of communication especially with something this simple. Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1340909489521-fbavatar2511229
Haleaka
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently used Celebrations Event Productions for my wedding a few months ago and I had the most amazing experience ever. Matt (celebrations event productions) kept my guest well entertained throughout the entire event. I received many positive feed about the his services. All of my quests loved the interaction games he had them play. The best part of the night was when Matt sang snoop's gin and juice. If anyone is looking for a DJ for a wedding I would definitely recommend Celebrations Events Productions.
I recently used Celebrations Event Productions for my wedding a few months ago and I had the most amazing experience ever. Read more...
I recently used Celebrations Event Productions for my wedding a few months ago and I had the most amazing experience ever. Matt (celebrations event productions) kept my guest well entertained throughout the entire event. I received many positive feed about the his services. All of my quests loved the interaction games he had them play. The best part of the night was when Matt sang snoop's gin and juice. If anyone is looking for a DJ for a wedding I would definitely recommend Celebrations Events Productions. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rose
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Matthew was our DJ and did an awesome job!!! Everyone loved him! Everyone loved the games he played during dinner, it broke the ice for our guest to loosen up and have a good time. He also provided lighting' up lights, cake light candy bar light, and an awesome star light on the dance floor. Music was perfect and just what we asked for. We asked for some music he didn't have but he was able to get it when we met to discuss our music! He is very flexible and easy going! His wife Linda was also a big plus she took video of the wedding and I'm looking forward to seeing the finished video! They truly made the night amazing I wouldn't ask for anyone else! ;)
Matthew was our DJ and did an awesome job!!! Everyone loved him! Everyone loved the games he played during dinner, it Read more...
Matthew was our DJ and did an awesome job!!! Everyone loved him! Everyone loved the games he played during dinner, it broke the ice for our guest to loosen up and have a good time. He also provided lighting' up lights, cake light candy bar light, and an awesome star light on the dance floor. Music was perfect and just what we asked for. We asked for some music he didn't have but he was able to get it when we met to discuss our music! He is very flexible and easy going! His wife Linda was also a big plus she took video of the wedding and I'm looking forward to seeing the finished video! They truly made the night amazing I wouldn't ask for anyone else! ;) Read less
Services Used: DJ, , Lighting & Decor, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gloria
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Thank you Mathew and your wife Lynda for all the help at my wedding! Matthew Beaumont was our officiant and DJ for our wedding. This team followed the program and played what we requested and what my guest were requesting. Our families love the music. Even though I didn’t served alcohol everyone danced. I am so happy! This was a joyful wedding. It was as he said; an exciting wedding with the perfect combination of musical selections that kept my guests amused from the moment they arrived. I got good compliments from wedding guests that he was great, kept the party going. We highly recommend Matthew Beaumont!!
Thank you Mathew and your wife Lynda for all the help at my wedding! Matthew Beaumont was our officiant and DJ for our Read more...
Thank you Mathew and your wife Lynda for all the help at my wedding! Matthew Beaumont was our officiant and DJ for our wedding. This team followed the program and played what we requested and what my guest were requesting. Our families love the music. Even though I didn’t served alcohol everyone danced. I am so happy! This was a joyful wedding. It was as he said; an exciting wedding with the perfect combination of musical selections that kept my guests amused from the moment they arrived. I got good compliments from wedding guests that he was great, kept the party going. We highly recommend Matthew Beaumont!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
All of the wedding websites and magazines talk about what everyone will remember about your wedding. They say it's the venue and it's the party. Well I can definitely say that one of the biggest and most frequent compliments we have received about our wedding has been Matthew. To this day everyone talks about how great our DJ was and how he kept the party going. Even when the fire alarm on The Queen Mary went off in the middle of a song, he didn't miss a beat. He had a great feel for what would keep everyone dancing and before we knew it... it was the last song. I can't thank him enough for making our big day even better. I would recommend Matthew to anyone planning their wedding or any other special event!!
All of the wedding websites and magazines talk about what everyone will remember about your wedding. They say it's the Read more...
All of the wedding websites and magazines talk about what everyone will remember about your wedding. They say it's the venue and it's the party. Well I can definitely say that one of the biggest and most frequent compliments we have received about our wedding has been Matthew. To this day everyone talks about how great our DJ was and how he kept the party going. Even when the fire alarm on The Queen Mary went off in the middle of a song, he didn't miss a beat. He had a great feel for what would keep everyone dancing and before we knew it... it was the last song. I can't thank him enough for making our big day even better. I would recommend Matthew to anyone planning their wedding or any other special event!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Erin
Wedding:
7/22/2011
1.0/5.0
We met with Matthew Beaumont (aka Celebration DJ) twice before our wedding. He was the first vendor we met with, and the one we were most excited about.
As our wedding date drew closer, he did not respond to my emails (2 of them) and my fiance had to call him in order to verify last minute details. One of these details included confirming that Matthew would videotape our church ceremony.

On the day of our wedding, not only did Matthew not show up at the church, he didn't show up at the reception!! Our venue had to call him to remind him about our wedding. Our cocktail hour had no music, our "up lighting" which I was assured would be baby pink, was purple.. and 8 out of the 10 times I looked across the dance floor for Matthew, he was not present!!

DO NOT HIRE CELEBRATIONS or MATTHEW BEAUMONT for any occasion!
We met with Matthew Beaumont (aka Celebration DJ) twice before our wedding. He was the first vendor we met with, and the Read more...
We met with Matthew Beaumont (aka Celebration DJ) twice before our wedding. He was the first vendor we met with, and the one we were most excited about.
As our wedding date drew closer, he did not respond to my emails (2 of them) and my fiance had to call him in order to verify last minute details. One of these details included confirming that Matthew would videotape our church ceremony.

On the day of our wedding, not only did Matthew not show up at the church, he didn't show up at the reception!! Our venue had to call him to remind him about our wedding. Our cocktail hour had no music, our "up lighting" which I was assured would be baby pink, was purple.. and 8 out of the 10 times I looked across the dance floor for Matthew, he was not present!!

DO NOT HIRE CELEBRATIONS or MATTHEW BEAUMONT for any occasion! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Celebrations Event Productions responded with the following comments:

The client changed the date of the wedding 3 weeks prior to the original date. I was booked already on the new date so I subcontracted another DJ to cover the event. Due to health problems the day before the wedding he was unable to attend the event or inform me. I received a call from the venue that the DJ had not shown up so I left my event in the hands of my assistant and arrived in time for the start of the reception. I played an extra hour at no charge and gave them a refund. As far as not being there when she looked up, I have no idea what she was talking about I as there all evening. The customer was unhappy with all of the other services as well and asked for a discount including the venue. We were NOT contracted to provide video services or a cocktail sound system.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.8/5.0
Regarding Joe the Music Guy, he was a substitute for our wedding as well and was wonderful, considering the last minute arrangement and how much he had to learn in so little time, as the transfer of knowledge and everything we had discusses with our DJ was now in his hands. He was more than responsive to all our needs and again had very little time to prepare, as we had a lot of details for our event. I can only think he was having an off day and the information was not shared with him from your first DJ with ample time. He treated our family with respect, kept the music playing well past cut off and really made the crowd feel great. He was able to download songs on the fly as our venue had wireless available and he even helped the photographer get key shots as he kept the reception on time with the music telling the story. I only have the best of things to say about Joe.
Regarding Joe the Music Guy, he was a substitute for our wedding as well and was wonderful, considering the last minute Read more...
Regarding Joe the Music Guy, he was a substitute for our wedding as well and was wonderful, considering the last minute arrangement and how much he had to learn in so little time, as the transfer of knowledge and everything we had discusses with our DJ was now in his hands. He was more than responsive to all our needs and again had very little time to prepare, as we had a lot of details for our event. I can only think he was having an off day and the information was not shared with him from your first DJ with ample time. He treated our family with respect, kept the music playing well past cut off and really made the crowd feel great. He was able to download songs on the fly as our venue had wireless available and he even helped the photographer get key shots as he kept the reception on time with the music telling the story. I only have the best of things to say about Joe. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Frank
Wedding:
9/5/2010
1.8/5.0
We had originally booked/contracted Celebrations (Matthew) for our wedding, because of word-of-mouth praise. He was nice enough to talk to. Our dealings up until the wedding were professional. A day in a half before our wedding, Celebrations decided to book another event instead of our wedding. There were conflicting stories between what was told to me and my wife about the cancelation, which we did not appreciate.

Celebrations decided to substitute a DJ for our wedding, as per contract clause. The DJ (Joe - Joe The Music Guy), seemed nice enough before the wedding, and had Celebrations full confidence. Now we begin to tell the story about Joe The Music Guy.

During the wedding, it seemed as if it was amateur night. Joe The Music Guy butchered the bride and groom's name during the grand entrance. Joe then went on to cut the toasting short. The groom had to get up from the sweetheart table, walk across the silent dance floor, with all the guests watching, and tell the DJ to stop what he was doing and let his father, brothers, and anyone else who would like to, make a toast.

After the first dance, there was suppose to be a father-daughter dance, mother son dance, and respective in-law dance (easy enough), this did not happen. The wrong parents were asked to come up and not dance with the bride/groom, but with each other. The groom, once again, had to walk across the dance floor and ask to have the father of the bride dance with his own daughter. Joe then, wrongfully, proceeded to open the evening to everyone dancing, irregardless of what the bride/ groom had discussed earlier with Celebrations and Joe The Music Guy. By this time it was too late to give the appropriate parent a singular special time with their respective child on the dance floor. if I wasn't the groom, I would probably be laughing at how badly things might have looked.

The money dance was going fairly well, with ample people on the dance floor having fun, when Joe had proceeded to announce "This is the last song". The groom had to once again walk across the dance floor and ask to extend his and that of his bride's own paid time for the money dance. this lasted a few more songs, still with ample people on the dance floor with the bride and groom. Once again, Joe had announced a last song and cut the fun short. People were urged to leave the dance floor.

The rest of the evening did not flow, as requested. The music went from a few songs in the 60's to 70's to hip-hip, which did not flow, and was not what the bride and groom had requested with Celebrations. Joe The Music Guy also did not have the ability to download popular songs during the wedding, or so I was told by Joe.

At the end of the evening, Joe The Music Guy became snooty with the bride. I was not aware of this until later from the bride's maids, even though she just requested to play " Lucky" at the end of the night and "Electric Slide" again for my brother and his wife. Joe The Music Guy had also been very irritated to DJ past the originally requested time, even though he had agreed and was paid that night.

Overall, most of the guests had a good time sheerly because of music being played. I'm sure Joe The Music Guy had hosted other events before, but for some reason, this was a major off-day and it so happened to be at our wedding.

I would strongly recommend other DJ's than Celebrations (Matthew) or Joe The Music Guy due to the fact of the cancellation for another DJ event and bad hosting from Joe - Joe The Music Guy.
We had originally booked/contracted Celebrations (Matthew) for our wedding, because of word-of-mouth praise. He was nice Read more...
We had originally booked/contracted Celebrations (Matthew) for our wedding, because of word-of-mouth praise. He was nice enough to talk to. Our dealings up until the wedding were professional. A day in a half before our wedding, Celebrations decided to book another event instead of our wedding. There were conflicting stories between what was told to me and my wife about the cancelation, which we did not appreciate.

Celebrations decided to substitute a DJ for our wedding, as per contract clause. The DJ (Joe - Joe The Music Guy), seemed nice enough before the wedding, and had Celebrations full confidence. Now we begin to tell the story about Joe The Music Guy.

During the wedding, it seemed as if it was amateur night. Joe The Music Guy butchered the bride and groom's name during the grand entrance. Joe then went on to cut the toasting short. The groom had to get up from the sweetheart table, walk across the silent dance floor, with all the guests watching, and tell the DJ to stop what he was doing and let his father, brothers, and anyone else who would like to, make a toast.

After the first dance, there was suppose to be a father-daughter dance, mother son dance, and respective in-law dance (easy enough), this did not happen. The wrong parents were asked to come up and not dance with the bride/groom, but with each other. The groom, once again, had to walk across the dance floor and ask to have the father of the bride dance with his own daughter. Joe then, wrongfully, proceeded to open the evening to everyone dancing, irregardless of what the bride/ groom had discussed earlier with Celebrations and Joe The Music Guy. By this time it was too late to give the appropriate parent a singular special time with their respective child on the dance floor. if I wasn't the groom, I would probably be laughing at how badly things might have looked.

The money dance was going fairly well, with ample people on the dance floor having fun, when Joe had proceeded to announce "This is the last song". The groom had to once again walk across the dance floor and ask to extend his and that of his bride's own paid time for the money dance. this lasted a few more songs, still with ample people on the dance floor with the bride and groom. Once again, Joe had announced a last song and cut the fun short. People were urged to leave the dance floor.

The rest of the evening did not flow, as requested. The music went from a few songs in the 60's to 70's to hip-hip, which did not flow, and was not what the bride and groom had requested with Celebrations. Joe The Music Guy also did not have the ability to download popular songs during the wedding, or so I was told by Joe.

At the end of the evening, Joe The Music Guy became snooty with the bride. I was not aware of this until later from the bride's maids, even though she just requested to play " Lucky" at the end of the night and "Electric Slide" again for my brother and his wife. Joe The Music Guy had also been very irritated to DJ past the originally requested time, even though he had agreed and was paid that night.

Overall, most of the guests had a good time sheerly because of music being played. I'm sure Joe The Music Guy had hosted other events before, but for some reason, this was a major off-day and it so happened to be at our wedding.

I would strongly recommend other DJ's than Celebrations (Matthew) or Joe The Music Guy due to the fact of the cancellation for another DJ event and bad hosting from Joe - Joe The Music Guy. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Celebrations Event Productions responded with the following comments:

Due to an emergency I had to find another DJ for them. Joe The Music Guy was recommended to me and was available so I turned the event over to him. I am very sorry for the outcome. Please note that the review is primarily on Joe the DJ has he was the one at the event and not Matthew Beaumont
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
5/8/2004
5.0/5.0
Matthew Beaumont was our DJ for our wedding reception and we could not have had a better DJ. This guy followed the program and played what we were requesting. This was a festive wedding and he did a great job. Eveyone said that it was the best weding that they had ever been to.
Matthew Beaumont was our DJ for our wedding reception and we could not have had a better DJ. This guy followed the program Read more...
Matthew Beaumont was our DJ for our wedding reception and we could not have had a better DJ. This guy followed the program and played what we were requesting. This was a festive wedding and he did a great job. Eveyone said that it was the best weding that they had ever been to. Read less
Services Used: DJ

DEALS

We will offer you a 10% disount on all DJ services for your wedding or event.
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Let us know that you saw us on Wedding Wire and we will take 10% off of the total DJ price and if you refer us to a friend and they book their event through us, we will give you 10% of their DJ total as a referal fee.
Deal #WW05068bee0ca4745e
220x220_1326516130157-mattandlynda

MAP

 
1494 W Santa Cruz Street, San Pedro, CA 90732 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Celebrations Event Productions
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1326516130157-mattandlynda