130x130_sq_1372201468236-tacoriclassiccrescentringslo

Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers

Bethesda , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7845 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD US 20814 (map)

PHONE

301-951-6200

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

In 1987 Charleston Alexadner Diamond Importers family owned and operated was established. They began there jounry to change the way people bought certified diamonds in Washington,... Read more
In 1987 Charleston Alexadner Diamond Importers family owned and operated was established. They began there jounry to change the way people bought certified diamonds in Washington, Maryland and Virginia.and to specialize in custom made to order engagement rings, wedding bands and jewelry. Having two locations, one if Virginia and one in Maryland there dream to serve the Washingon Metro area came true. Importing Diamonds from the five diamond capitals of the world they have established themselfs as the leading diamond and custom jeweler in the area.. The customer experiance and customer service is there number one priority, they understand it begins with the relationship they have with each and every one of there guest. Trust, guidance and value are what sets Charleston Alexadner apart from other jewelers, diamond dealers and online companys. From designer settings to one of a kind master pieces, Charleston Alexandner prides themselfs on creating a diamond purchasing experiance and value like no other. Read less
Jewelry

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1372688769191-39-2cush
130x130_sq_1372688780193-2565rd910
130x130_sq_1372688784659-2atw217a1-115x115
130x130_sq_1372688791774-wbxx14k-115x115
130x130_sq_1372688819897-photo12
130x130_sq_1372688828800-tacori-1
130x130_sq_1372688832506-tacori
130x130_sq_1372688852940-eng-right-bottom
130x130_sq_1372688864922-3073541015041688900888565382803884102862451458861342n
130x130_sq_1372688885249-tacoricrescentlaceringslo2
130x130_sq_1372688893752-ad4b2
130x130_sq_1372688932826-ad32
130x130_sq_1372688938202-tacorimensweddingbandslo2
130x130_sq_1372688944928-tacoriweddingbandslo
130x130_sq_1372688950854-tacoriwomensweddingbandslo2
130x130_sq_1372688981847-tacoricrescentlaceringslo2

INFO FOR JEWELRY

What kind of jewelry do you offer?
Custom Engagement Rings, Custom Wedding Bands, Designer Engagement Rings, Designer Wedding Bands
What brands do you carry?
Tacori, Simon G., Sylvie, Henri Daussi, Memoire, Vatche, Novell, Dora, Goldman, Triton, Sabet, JFS
Is your jewelry hand crafted?
Hand Crafted/ Custom made jewelry has been ours specialty since 1987.
 Yes and both our Bethesda and Falls Church showrooms. Everything is done in house, from concept to fabrication. We design your dream ring or jewelry in CAD software, once approved our in house jewelers finish your master piece.
Do you offer custom design other than selecting the stone and setting separately?
Yes. Both our Bethesda and Falls Church Showrooms. Custom designs include handmade settings and wedding bands are designed and crafted in our design studios using CAD technology and crafted by our master goldsmiths just for you.
Do you carry customary wedding jewelry such as Claddaghs or Kundan necklaces?
We custom design and create Claddagh and Kundan necklaces using CAD technology then one of our goldsmiths will complete your custom pieces in house at one of our design studios.
Do you offer ring sizing in-house? If yes, how long will an average custom order take, from initial contact to delivery?
Yes. Both our Bethesda and Falls Church showrooms have in-house jewelers and can take from the same day to two days from initial contact to delivery.
Do you offer stone upgrades if the client purchases their original stone with you?
Yes. Life Time Trade in. Loose diamonds, Diamond Studs and Solitaire Pendants can be traded in at anytime, you just pay the difference.
Do you offer a payment plan?
Yes. 90 Day Layaway and we have financing from Same As Cash options to 60 months.

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Craig
Wedding:
8/20/2014
5.0/5.0
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH ANY OTHER JEWELER!!! Take my advice as I spent months, weeks and hours becoming an expert in diamonds just to make a purchase, when I need not to. I wasted a lot of my time with other jewelers allowing them to run me around, giving me prices that were ridiculously high for the quality of diamond until I came to Charleston Alexander. Dwayne, the manager of the store, gave me a great education and a great price all-in-one and guaranteed the quality of the diamond as well as the price as being the best around. Believe me I checked around and his price beat the others by thousands of dollars. The service was a great experience and you can't beat that. And the price, well I was able to get a higher quality, bigger diamond for less price than what everyone else was giving me for a smaller and lower quality diamond. The entire staff was great and the owner was sitting on the premise and gave me the price that we need. The ring was available when they said it would be. My diamond up appraised for the thousands of dollars more than what I paid for. So in conclusion do not waste your valuable time with anyone else!
Services Used: Jewelry, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My fiance purchased my ring from Charleston Alexander in Falls Church. He worked with Benita to design a beautiful one of a kind ring. I have received so many compliments -- they did a great job. He had nothing but positive things to say about the whole experience. I took my ring to be sized and try on wedding bands -- the experience was better than I could have ever expected. Everyone was friendly and helpful and my ring was able to be sized and cleaned that day. Even when sizing the ring, I was walked through which sizes would work, how it felt, etc. in order to pick the best size. When it came back from being sized/ cleaned it looked brand new again and fit my finger perfectly. I can't wait to go back and pick out our wedding bands! My fiance and I have both recommended Charleston Alexander to our friends and family who are in the market for engagement rings!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
5/19/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband bought my GORGEOUS engagement ring at Charleston Alexander last year. When he opened the box on a hot air balloon last summer, it took my breath away! I love that not only is it unique and custom made for me, but I can be confident in its undeniable quality! I will certainly be returning to Charleston Alexander to design/purchase my wedding band!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband worked with Jana at Charleston Alexander to create my engagement ring. He had a wonderful experience working with her. She was very easy to work with and very personable, we continue to come back to Charleston Alexander because of her. We purchased our wedding bands from this jeweler as well. Every time we visit them, their staff is very friendly and willing to help us with whatever we need. Their prices are very good, and they can work with any budget.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amazingly helpful staff! They helped my fiance design the most beautiful engagement ring last year. They were so friendly and had such a great selection that we went back and bought our wedding rings there as well. The selection online is very pricy, but they have a much wider selection of price ranges in-store and can work with you to find jewelry that fits your budget. I bought a plain palladium band and they provided free engraving services to make a beautiful floral pattern on it.
Super friendly, flexible, and talented artists.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Very pleased with service! They really took the time to make sure that my wedding band looked just right.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We purchased both my engagement ring and wedding band from Charleston Alexander. We were really impressed with the personal service we received. The employees we worked with offered very helpful suggestions and were friendly. Plus, they let me know I could bring my engagement ring in right before my wedding to get it polished, which was something I hadn't thought of, and this really made sure that my ring looked great in pictures.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I love everything about this place! My husband bought my gorgeous engagement ring from here, so we decided to go back for our wedding bands - Afton helped us. They did a custom order for my husband's, and it turned out wonderful. Everyone is always extremely responsive and helpful, and I love that I can take our rings back to get cleaned and don't get charged for it!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Frank
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
CA has become a bit of a family jeweler. ....My son went there first for engagement ring and wedding bands, and I followed suit when I decided to remarry and I could not be happier.....the education they provided, the customer service, the value I received ....just outstanding...Thank you to Veneta for first rate service....Thanks very much Frank and Diane.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I got my fiance's ring and its so beautiful. THey are so helpful and great people to work with. I got to the location in Fairfax.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We ordered our actual stone from an online retailer, since their prices were pretty high. But they custom made my band when no one else would. Other Jewelers told me it wouldn't work, but they made it happen! Also- they provide booze while you and your future hubby shop, which made it much more enjoyable for him!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I went to visit several different jewelers and even looked online, but ended up buying the engagement ring from Charleston Alexander. The sales team was very friendly and informative and they helped me stay within my budget. In the end, the price of the diamond and setting was quite fair. My now wife absolutely loved the ring and continues to get many compliments.

Based on the experience with getting the engagement ring, we went back together to get the wedding bands. My wife got a band to match her engagement ring and I got the wedding band I wanted for a low price.

We bought the insurance plan, so we take the rings in every 3-4 months for inspection and cleaning and they are always quick and it doesn't feel like a chore to do so.

If you are looking for a ring, make sure to stop by Charleston Alexander! We are very happy with the rings we have from there.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.4/5.0
Happy with the rings, less so about the knowledgeability/effectiveness/service of the staff
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terry
Wedding:
3/30/2013
2.4/5.0
I really don't like writing bad reviews, but the 4 stars this Charleston Alexander location currently has just does not ring true to my experience. This store's manager and salesperson consistently did not communicate with us during the entire process and kept messing up our rings. Furthermore, their attitude seemed to be more "get them in and out" versus any kind of attempt to make sure we get the end product we paid for. First, they made our custom ring without calling and getting the okay. They also never showed us the model of our custom ring. And then when we went back for the wedding rings, they had gotten the engraving incorrect and again, never called to discuss it with us. The third time we went back to pick up the rings, the engraving was still not done correctly. They also never explained what the repercussions to our custom ring would be in terms of how the matching wedding ring would look. In the end, we had to take the ring to their other Charleston Alexander location in Bethesda, where I finally found a salesperson who actually seemed to care that the ring was not done right, and they fixed it.

All in all, it was the worst experience I've ever had purchasing jewelry (although I'm not a big jewelry person, so thank goodness I never have to go through this again). I just can't believe that with the kind of money one needs to shell out to purchase an engagement/wedding ring, they don't provide better customer service.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samuel
Wedding:
3/30/2013
4.8/5.0
Great pricing, courteous staff
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
My engagement ring was an antique and we got my wedding bands from a different jeweler. We took the set to Charleston Alexander and we were treated as if we had bought everything there. The staff there is very professional and nice!!! a very trustworthy shop!! They will have our business for life!
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1326242250762-9
Cassandra
Wedding:
9/29/2012
3.6/5.0
We found my engagement ring and both of our wedding bands here. The selection is good and the prices are reasonable. The quality of service and the professionalism vary greatly depending on the salesperson. We had our best experience with Connie.
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1351189105823-fbavatar2735956
Tina
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.8/5.0
Charleston Alexander has been used by several members of our family and I'm glad to report they did a great job with both my engagement and wedding band. The service they provide is exceptional and they made my husband feel very comfortable during the engagement ring buying process. When it came time to buy a wedding band, they provided excellent advice regarding the matching wedding band that went with my ring and in the end I ended up going with a custom band made by Charleston Alexander. It looks great and saved us a ton of money. So nice to feel like the Jewelry store has your best interest at heart as opposed to just making a sale. I will def. be back for my next big jewelry buy!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Great company where you can definitely find what you want, no matter the budget!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Charleston Alexander was great from selecting the engagement ring, right up to the wedding bands. They made me feel the most comfortable taking the time to sit and discuss the options in my price range and did not try to pressure me into "buying up". I was able to get a unique, designer setting for only a little bit more than I would have payed for the same old, mass produced, run of the mill ring from Blue Nile or other online vendor. Another benefit is that any cleaning is free, as well as any fixes that need to be done (say a prong breaks, or need to reset one of the diamonds in the band etc.). Let's face is...I'm married now...I'm bound to screw up eventually, and it's good to have a jeweler you can trust!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
My sales consultant at Charleston Alexander was AMAZING! She helped me pick out 5 rings that I really liked. I asked her to let my fiance pick out 5 rings but not to let him know which ones I picked. If you haven't been in the store, there are SO many rings... And my fiance picked 4 out of the 5 rings that I liked!! He purchased the ring that I didn't pick and I'm so happy he did! I LOVE my ring! I frequent Charleston Alexander about once every 3 weeks to get my ring cleaned. They are always very nice to us and very helpful. As someone who worked in high end jewelry, I would highly recommend going to Charleston Alexander for your purchase!
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1338944901558-fbavatar2470107
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
My now husband went there to find an engagement ring and found one within an hour. We went back to find our wedding bands and also did that in a short period of time. I have also been back numerous times to have our rings cleaned, and the service has always been awesome.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My husband had a wonderful experience with my engagement ring, and we both had a good one with our wedding rings. They will design exactly what you want, and have the best prices in the city. I've recommended them to several people, who have also been very happy with their purchases.
Services Used: Jewelry
Bg2
Fatemeh
Wedding:
4/15/2012
4.8/5.0
We really enjoyed our experience with them. They were professionals with great customer service.
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1313523163107-029
Rebecca
Wedding:
4/2/2012
4.5/5.0
I absolutely adore my wedding band! My husband and I spent several days looking at various jewelers before landing at Charleston Alexander. Our sales girl was so friendly and helpful and helped me to find the perfect band. I wanted rose gold and diamonds, and we worked to find the perfect combo. We had to special order the rose gold, but it came in ahead of time and looks amazing! Thanks everyone at the Falls Church Charleston Alexander!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sharon
Wedding:
3/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The first time I walked into Charleston Alexander was February 8th, 2012. That date marked a good amount of time since my husband and I began looking at rings. We visited several jewelry stores both in and out of the Country. The moment I walked into Charleston Alexander, I knew we were in the right place and that would be our last stop. We were greeted by Venita Peterson, an extremely pleasant and professional sales person who worked with us over three or four visits to arrive at the absolute perfect ring set! She guided us through the process, demonstrating extreme patience and in-depth knowledge of the industry. Each time we arrived there, the service was very personalized and the experience was enjoyable. I was nervous when the final product was ordered but at the end of the day, the final product was stunning and more than met our expectations! Did I mention that Venita worked with us so that we were well within budget? It was clear that she was far more interested in our satisfaction that our money. What a refreshing experience in a jewelry store! My husband and I also selected his wedding band from Charleston Alexander. Venitha was out so we were helped by Judy, who was also lovely and pleasant. Unfortunately there were some issues with the final band we selected for my husband and it did take a little bit of back and forth to get that resolved but we have to share some of the blame in the mess-up because we were under an immense time crunch. Nevertheless, Charleston Alexander agreed to replace my husband's ring with a new and flawless one. We recently picked up the replacement and I think we are in good shape there as well . Venita did say to let her know if there are any issues with it. We highly recommend Charleston Alexander of Bethesda and its friendly and wonderful staff. Venitha will see us again for future purchases! Side note, the beautiful Lori is fab too. You will be in good hands with there wonderful professionals.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SherryJanssen
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Staff was pleasant to work with. They were patient and you don't pressure you into anything. That's one of the reasons we purchased our engagement and wedding bangs there, and most likely will go back whenever we are ready to make other diamond purchases.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
This is the ONLY jeweler my husband and I will go to now, we LOVE the staff and the level of service we get when we shop with Charleston. He purchased my engagement ring here and we also got both of our wedding bands from them as well. The quality of the diamonds are unparallelled and the level of knowledge the staff has is reassuring. They do not have high pressure salesmen, it is a great shopping experience.
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1316142761989-engagement1
Cassidy
Wedding:
11/6/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I looked at engagement rings at the Bethesda location during summer 2010. After meeting with Benita, we both knew it was going to be a great experience. Not only did she treat us with the utmost professionalism, but she was attentive to our needs and worked hard to keep my then boyfriend in the budget he outlined. Benita showed us a gorgeous array of center stones and ring settings. We had also visited Mervis Diamond Importers in Rockville, but felt the service was impersonal; I felt like they didn't really take us seriously since we were younger customers. Benita made us feel welcome and was genuinely happy to help.

When we were looking at wedding bands, we worked with Laurie Williams at the Bethesda location. She was also incredibly helpful. She made sure to try to stay within our budget. We had so much going on before the wedding that we didn't leave enough time to have bands made in time (we ended up borrowing family heirloom wedding bands from his grandmother), so we have decided to have wedding bands made for our one-year anniversary. We want to make exchanging bands special, so what better time to do it than on our anniversary? So, before next November 6th, we will make an appointment to meet with either Laurie or Benita! We were so happy and impressed with the service we have experienced, that we look forward to returning later this year!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BuffaloDots
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.9/5.0
I love my rings and purchased both from Charleston Alexander. They worked with us on selecting a beautiful diamond. They had a great selection as well with many to choose from.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Old Town Bride
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.9/5.0
Leslie at Charleston Alexander was amazing. I can't speak too much about the engagement ring process as I wasn't too involved, but I know my fiancee was very pleased. I can say Leslie worked with us to create a wedding band produced by CA that was half the price it would have cost if it was made by the same designer as my engagement ring. The final product was gorgeous.
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1280877972460-beetle2
Vanessa
Wedding:
9/17/2011
3.4/5.0
I went engagement ring shopping with my husband so we could pick out styles we liked together. We had a great experience engagement ring shopping! They were kind, patient, and a pleasure to work with.

After our great experience, we thought we would go back to get the matching wedding band.

When we told them we wanted to look at wedding bands, they asked when the wedding was. When we told them our wedding was ten months away (we wanted to knock things off the list early), the woman made the comment, "wow, you have so much time, I can't believe you are already looking for your rings!"

When we told her we wanted the matching band to my engagement ring, she told us she didn't know the price and she would have to reach out to the designer. We exchanged information and she said she would call us in a few days to let us know. Well, we never heard from her or anyone from Charleston Alexander for that matter.

We felt it was really unprofessional of them and didn't bother reaching back out. We took our business elsewhere for the wedding bands!
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1315330341702-exit
Julie
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.3/5.0
We purchased the engagement ring, wedding band and husband's wedding band from Charleston Alexander. At the end of the day, we had what we wanted but went through some pain points.

First, my husband ordered my engagement ring back in October and it took almost 2 months to be delivered (special order because of my small ring size).

Secondly, when we went in April to pick out our wedding bands and they were not ready (we had to call to check) until June. The store stated that his band was delivered earlier but in the wrong material, so they had to re-submit the order. My band was still in the process of being made. When we went to the store to pick up our bands, my band did not match the engagement ring band even though it was the "matching" band. After discussion with the sales person, we re-ordered the wedding band in the matching width. They wanted to charge us almost double what we paid for but he was able to negotiate the price down since the band that arrived wasn't what we were expecting nor was it clearly communicated that the band we were ordering didn't actually match the engagement ring.

They told us the ring would not be ready until a week prior to the wedding but luckily it was ready one month prior.

So, I would use caution with this Jeweler - they do have good prices but the customer service needs improvement.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with Charleston Alexander (the Falls Church location), and with Dianne in particular. When we went to shop for the right engagement ring, Dianne was exceptionally patient and presented me with well over a dozen setting options for me to consider based on the description I gave her. As I sorted and whittled down the options, she gave me the pros and cons of each (gaps where the ring could accumulated dirt, the height or low-profile nature of a stone setting, the comparison of white gold to platinum), which really helped me land on the setting I loved.

While I can't comment on the conversation my husband had concerning the stone (though he seemed pleased at the range available for the budget he had set), I will say we both walked away happy. My husband (before he became my husband!) was able to present me with a perfectly-sized, comfortable setting that I had chosen, set with a stone he felt good about that looked (and still looks) wonderful on my hand.

Getting our wedding bands was a breeze, and Dianne again steered us to suitable options based on what we outlined. They even had no problem doing a custom size for my husband's ring (10.75), and engraved the wedding date inside for free so there's no chance he'll forget his wedding anniversary (at least that's my hope).

In our experience, the quality for what you pay for is well worth it. This isn't a big-box type store. It's most definitely a smaller, service-oriented business, but if you're ready to get serious and get down to business, this is the place to go.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tashia
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.8/5.0
Our jeweler was knowledgeable and informative which made the ring process awesome! They have unique and a plethora of jewelry selections!!!
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1312985806665-dance
Alyson
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband bought my engagement ring from here and we went back to purchase the matching wedding band for me. It's absoultely beautiful and they give complimentary cleanings. :) We worked with Samaya - she is awesome. She's very patient and doesn't rush you around the store. She takes her time with you and makes sure that you are 100% happy before you purchase anything. Charleston has their anniversary sale going on during the month of August, so I would suggest that you buy during August if possible, we got great pricing on our rings.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing store! The Fall's Church site looks a little ghetto but it's really what's on the inside that counts! Every so often they have a great sale going on where you can get the ring of your dreams for a bit cheaper. My now husband got both of my rings there and we bought his wedding band from there as well. They were great!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.8/5.0
I am in love with my ring and my husbands!

Samaya was incredible to work with - she actually had my band designed in house to match the flush diamonds of my engagement ring. The engagement ring was special ordered by my husband as he loved it at another store but the service was bad. He walked into Charleston Alexandar spoke with Samaya for 30 minutes and knew he had to buy from her.

Unsure of the other employees as we didn't meet with them but we were so pleased with how Samaya treated us and every time we came in she was just as pleasant and helpful!
Services Used: Jewelry
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers responded with the following comments:

Colleen, Thank you for your business and your review. Samaya and I are always here to help you and your husband with your jewlery needs. I am happy we earned both you and your husbands Charleston Alexander client.
John Sabet
President
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.7/5.0
Loved my Engagement ring and band set. The staff was really helpful and was willing to take time explain and show us all the settings and diamonds that we wanted to see. We went when there was a good sale so definitely got a good value for the engagement ring and wedding bands.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
My husband bought my engagement ring here, and we went back for our wedding rings. They gave us a lot of time and helped us pick out the rings that we thought were perfect for us, and worked to help us get the perfect inscriptions. They also cleaned my engagement ring before the wedding. I enjoyed buying rings from them.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S&W
Wedding:
3/19/2011
3.1/5.0
I LOVE my wedding however they stripped the white gold off my ring while cleaning it and I had to go elsewhere to get it redone.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
2/19/2011
4.8/5.0
My husband and I both got our rings from Charleston Alexander. We loved working with Patricia at the Falls Church location. She made the whole experience so enjoyable! We recommend them highly...especially during their semi-annual sale months!
Services Used: Jewelry
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers responded with the following comments:

Patricia and I thank you for your business and review. Let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you. We are happy we earned your business.
John Sabet
President
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
130x130_sq_1248651003504-getattachment3.aspx2
getbetsy
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.8/5.0
My husband bought a beautiful engagement ring for me from Charleston Alexander so we went back when they had a big sale and bought my wedding ring. Got a great deal on it! Then we went back for my husband's ring a couple of months later and they tried to sell us a $1,000 ring. He definitely didn't want to spend that much on his ring. He finally found a ring he liked from Charleston he went to order it over the phone. Charleston told him he had to come in and sign something. It wasn't worth driving all the way out to Falls Church, so he bought the same ring (for a lot less) at a closer, reputable jeweler.
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1286552957011-3469713678064490551648502960308652162944979n
MrandMrsThayer
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
My engagement ring is custom made and I am SO glad my Husband had it made here. I am a petite person and really wanted a petite pave setting and wow, when I first saw the ring, I was floored. Absolutely beautiful and my husband said the service was great!
Services Used: Jewelry
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers responded with the following comments:

Thank you for having your custom made ring done at Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers. We value you as a customer and your business. Thank you for your business. Let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you.
John Sabet
President
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
130x130_sq_1271528061263-bridalbouquet
Christina17
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.5/5.0
I knew what I wanted with an engagement ring but couldn't really find it anywhere. After searching multiple jewelry stores, my now husband and I went to Charleston Alexander. The sales staff was not pushy at all (like most other stores that we visited) and really listened to what I was looking for in a ring. My husband and the staff worked to design and make the ring I wanted and I couldn't be happier. It's exactly what I had pictured in my head. I've been back multiple times now for cleanings and they also resized my husband's ring - always friendly and helpful. Great customer service.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
9/17/2010
5.0/5.0
We bought our engagement ring and one of our wedding bands at the Falls Church store. We loved them both!!! Great selection!
Services Used: Jewelry
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. We always work hard to give you choices and great service. We are happy you are a CA customer.
Thank you for your business.
John Sabet
President
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heid.ritenour
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Lovely to work with! Great deals on the engagement ring and wedding bands.
Services Used: Jewelry
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review and for your business.
John Sabet
President
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
Bg1
nitab99
Wedding:
7/2/2010
4.7/5.0
My husband got my engagement ring at Charleston and he was so impressed with the service that we went back there to buy his wedding band. The customer service was great and the pricing is reasonable, especially since they run great specials.
Services Used: Jewelry
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review and for your business.
John Sabet
President
Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
130x130_sq_1278897769857-mandiejoeintallgrass
Mandie
Wedding:
5/22/2010
3.9/5.0
My husband and I are very pleased with the rings we purchased from Charleston Alexander. We looked at engagement rings at various places and nothing really stood out for us until we went to Charleston Alexander. My dissatifacation with Charleston Alexander was the service we received after ordering our wedding rings. My husband went to try on his wedding band and it wasn't the right size. When sizing it, they made it too small and had to order another ring at the last minute. As a result, there wasn't time to get the ring engraved before the wedding, so my husband had to go without his wedding ring for a week shortly after the wedding so it could be engraved. During the time when we were waiting on the ring, I had to constantly call to find out the status and didn't find out until late in the process that they had mis-sized the ring and had to order another one. There's also some roughness on the back of my wedding band and instead of offering to order a new ring, they simply told me that's just the way it is when a diamond wedding band. While we're very happy with the rings we purchased, service after the purchases has not been great.
Services Used: Jewelry
Bg10
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
We had a great experience using Charleston Alexander for my engagement ring and our wedding bands. My fiance looked at Tiffany & Co. first because he really liked the trade-up policy that they have, but then realized that Charleston Alexander's was even better! If you want to trade up your ring in a few years, Tiffany's requires you to trade-in within 5 years and requires you to meet a certain cost to upgrade (something like double the cost) whereas CA doesn't have a time limit and you can trade-in your current ring for full value of the diamond and don't have to meet a certain cost minimum to upgrade. And obviously you can get a much better of a deal at CA for the diamonds than you can get at a place like Tiffany & Co and CA's diamonds are of great quality. They have a good selection of designer rings. The staff has always been great when we go in and really explained to us the differences with the 4 C's of diamonds. They also clean your rings for free for life and even steam cleaned mine for free right before the wedding. They have good payment plans where you can do 6 months no interest financing. Definitely recommend!
Services Used: Jewelry
Bg5
Jessica
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.9/5.0
My engagement ring and wedding band are both custom pieces and Charleston Alexander did a fabulous job crafting them. My husband's ring turned out great, too. We were slightly bothered that we had to pay extra for engraving, but the craftsmanship of their jewelry is unmatched. I plan on buying more jewelry from them in the future.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
9/27/2009
4.8/5.0
My husband bought my engagement ring and wedding band there, so I went to purchase his band there as well. All three are exactly what we wanted with details that make it unique. They were also flexible with price. Personally, I had a great experience with Diane.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
runnergirl
Wedding:
8/1/2009
4.9/5.0
My husband and I got both of our wedding bands here after looking at several different jewelers in the area. I wanted to get my band from the same jeweler in which my husband purchased my engagement ring, but I didn't like the selection. So we decided to check out Charleston Alexander in Falls Church during one of their bridal jewelry trunk shows (which seem to be always advertised on the radio). We got a decent deal because we bought both bands here. The staff was very knowledgeable and we didn't feel pressured to buy anything. It was a good experience and we both got what we wanted.
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1240318043796-img2961
ahuddleston
Wedding:
7/19/2009
4.2/5.0
Very pretty!
Services Used: Jewelry
Bg21
missygupta
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
The service we received at Charleston Alexander was superb. We were greeted and helped right away, and the staff went out of their way to explain everything to us about diamonds. They also showed us a number of diamonds and many rings until we found the perfect ones. I've been back to have my rings cleaned quite frequently. I go every time I have plans to leave town or am going to see someone special. They always quickly clean it for me and inspect it for my warranty. The extended warranty is definitely worth it. I have even been able to have my rings resized for free because it's included in the cost. This was great because I lost 25 pounds before the wedding, and I was scared I was going to lose my engagement ring. Also, the rings are very high quality and exquisite. I get compliments all the time. Once again, everyone there goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I definitely enjoy doing business with them more than any other jewelry I've visited in the DC area.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zenzen
Wedding:
5/16/2009
0.0/5.0
I was very disappointed with my experience at the Charleston Alexander in Bethesda, MD. My husband purchased my engagement ring from there 2 years ago in 2008. One of the small diamonds fell out and I went into the store to purchase a warranty because my husband said that his sales person, Benita Villari-Yu had said that he could purchase a warranty at any time. I went in there and Benita told me that my husband had to purchase the warranty on the day he purchased the ring. I asked to see the store policy in writing and to find out more about what could be done about my situation. She repeated herself several times that the warranty had to be purchased the day of the purchase of the ring, became very impatient, and ran into a room in the back of the store and hid there for the remainder of my stay. After that, another sales person, Tracy Middleton repeated what Benita had said and I told her that a sales person at the Bethesda store offered to sell me the warranty three months after my husband purchased the ring when I brought it in to get it cleaned. Tracy told me to call John Sabet who is the owner of Charleston Alexander. I subsequently called John and was told that I would never be able to meet him in person or talk to him on the phone because he was traveling between the Falls Church and Bethesda stores and therefore could never be located to talk to me. I was told to talk to Diane who was the store manager. Diane told me that I had to purchase the warranty within one month of the purchase of the ring. As you can imagine, with absolutely no written store policy, three different accounts on when this warranty had to be purchased (day of, within one month, within three months), I was very confused. I would recommend that if you are looking for a jewelry store that will stand by their products after you've paid, I would not recommend Charleston Alexander. In short, unprofessional customer service, and inconsistent store policy.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmamdouhi
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.5/5.0
They worked within our budget and time frame!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tyler
Wedding:
3/7/2009
4.4/5.0
My engagement ring, band, and necklace are from Charleston. My mom liked my jewelry so much she even went and had her rings reset after 30 years of marriage! I would go back to Charleston again for future purchases. They are a bit pricey, but will always offer you a discount.
Services Used: Jewelry
Bg1
Tracy
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Loved this place. My husband and I went here for our wedding bands after he purchased my ring from Mervis. (We went to Mervis intially for the bands but their prices were comparatively high and not flexible). Worked with Chrissy here and got a beautiful band that I loved right away. My husband got an amazing deal on a platinum band - since I loved my ring so much, they wanted to make sure that we both got our rings there. The price at Mervis was better for his band, so they beat it. Will go back and definitely recommend to others.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.4/5.0
My fiance' and I looked at several jewerly stores in the area, and Charleston Alexander was the best in service and options. We found the perfect ring for us, at the best price. We liked them so much, that we returned to get our wedding bands with Charleston Alexander (Bethesda).
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melijane9
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.4/5.0
Samaya at Charleston Alexander was the best. She even notified us of upcoming sales to save us money. I have reccomended them to my sisters boyfriend for him to get her ring!!
Services Used: Jewelry
130x130_sq_1219893328954-ivy+danny.web
Dan
Wedding:
9/27/2008
3.8/5.0
We visited Charleston Alexander in their Falls Church location AND Bethesda locations to only purchase our wedding bands. It makes a difference what store you go to. The service that we received in Falls Church was horrible. We went apparently during an annual sale that they had, which was their excuse as to why the service and wait times were unacceptable. When we first walked in the store was fairly empty, only 4-5 other couples, but for some reason we had to wait over 45 minutes the first time we were there and then over an hour and a half when I went back to select the groom's ring. No one approached me, no one offered me water or apologized for the wait. THEN, I found out that the ring my fiancee had been shown initially and had wanted to buy earlier that day was in fact a different ring but that when she showed up and asked to see it the salesperson showed her a much nicer ($$$) ring, which of course she loved but thought that it was the same ring. When I saw the bill (because I told the store to charge my card for the ring when she went in) I was upset. The owner of the store was also there. He did little if anything to ameliorate the poor service or this issue of the different ring. Accordingly, I wasn't going to give that sales person any commission and cancelled the order.

I later visited the Bethesda store and found the staff there much more inviting and friendly. We found the rings we liked again, purchased them and like them very much. The Bethesda store is also a much larger and nicer store.

The score above reflects a joined score for both stores. If I evaluated the Falls Church location alone I would have given them ONE STAR/POOR for Quality of Service, Professionalism, and Responsiveness.

We purchased the engagement ring at Mervis Diamonds and received outstanding service.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beena
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
Very professional
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christen
Wedding:
8/30/2008
4.0/5.0
My husband and I both purchased our wedding bands from Charleston Alexander. We had to wait in the store for a while before someone helped us. But once we recieved a salesperson they were friendly and helpful. They have a nice selection on rings especially engagement rings. Because we needed our rings in a short timeframe they were very responsive to get them prior to the wedding day.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer0823
Wedding:
8/23/2008
4.9/5.0
We could not have been pleased with the staf and the "made feel special" way that we were treated. When you are looking for the diamond and rings to last a lifetime you should expect to be treated special...That IS what CA does. Our rings are purfect. One special note of thanks goes to the ENTIRE staff for helping out in a RING EMERGENCY on the night of my "girls night out", my ring wsa damaged and they fixed no questions asked the day of and I had it to showcase a mere 8 hours later!!!!! I can't thank them enough. My husband wears his ring with pride and much satification of choice and style, especially for a guy who does not like jewelry :).
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Ann
Wedding:
8/9/2008
4.7/5.0
This vendor was a very pleasant surprise! I purposely stayed away from big jewelry stores because I wanted to give small local vendors a chance. Unfortunately we couldn't find exactly what we were looking for and went here last. I actually called ahead to see if they had anything similar to what we wanted. I talked to Scott and he was very accommodating. Also, I had already decided to get a plain band because I was having trouble matching my engagement ring, but found the exact ring I had in mind! Scott and his associates were VERY VERY helpful. I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
10/20/2007
5.0/5.0
We love our rings and won't get jewelry anywhere else!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/20/2007
4.8/5.0
We love Charleston Alexander! Our family has used them for a long time and it is definitely a jeweler that can be trusted.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
7/7/2007
2.1/5.0
My now husband bought my ring at the Falls Church location and was so disappointed with the service. Service was great up until you pay for the ring and after that it was one thing after another. When he went to pick up the ring he was told to come back – it wasn’t ready. He came back it still wasn’t ready. He finally gets the ring and it wasn’t sized right. At this point – he takes it to the Bethesda store to have it sized correctly. Sadly he notices that the diamond really isn’t centered straight but presents it to me anyhow – to me it was pretty obvious the stone was not centered. We took it back to Bethesda to be centered.

We went back to Charleston Alexander to purchase the wedding band. We had received a coupon in the mail if we had spent $2000 we would get a certain amount of money off – Our total came to about $1,975 and they wouldn’t take our coupon. We pushed back and a manager was finally able to over ride this change – this person was also aware of the issues we had with our engagement ring. A few weeks later we got a call that the wedding band was in – we drove out to Bethesda to pick it up (we live in Virginia) and it was the wrong ring. They reordered the ring again and did offer to mail it to our home or drop it off but with time getting closer to our date we went back to Bethesda to ensure that it was the correct ring.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
5/27/2007
2.1/5.0
We bought my setting here on a 40% off sale, which never happens with Ritani. The staff was rude to us though, and when they set my diamond (bought somewhere else), the dented the setting and set the stone incorrectly. They eventually fixed it, but it's still not perfect.

The price was right, but I wasn't happy with the experience.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
5/19/2007
5.0/5.0
The team at Charleston Alexander is the antithesis of everything you'd expect of a diamond retailer. Friendly, flexible and honest, our sales associate was willing to negotiate based on previous quotes from the store, understanding of our budget, and even helped design my ring using state-of-the-art graphics technology. Our three rings were expeditiously sent to our home in New York and we walked away feeling like we got the most for our money. My husband and I are thrilled to have found our “family jeweler.”
Services Used: Jewelry
Bg8
TwoPeasInAPod
Wedding:
2/18/2007
4.8/5.0
When looking for an engagement ring, I went to many jewelry stores before finding Charleston Alexander. It looked expensive so I was hesitant to go in the store. Yes, they do have expensive items, but they were more than willing to work within my budget. Scott worked with me diligently explaining all the varying qualities of diamonds. With his expertise, I was able to choose the perfect setting and stone for my wife.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
capitolmom
Wedding:
7/15/2006
4.8/5.0
We had a great experience here. I had very specific instructions for my engagement ring and Charleston Alexander was completely accomodating. The ring is spectacular!
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/3/2006
4.7/5.0
We were looking for platinum bands at a reasonable price. In addition the engagement ring we were looking for platinum but with a slightly smaller stone. The service here is excellent, and they have amazing variety of setting and band. They do tend to be on the designer side so some of the rings are on the more expensive side. The loose diamond was a great value.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erianna000
Wedding:
10/15/2005
4.5/5.0
My husband bought my engagement rings at Charleston Alexander (their original Falls Church location) and had a great experience. They put him at ease and walked him through the entire process. Because of the discount they extended on wedding bands w/ engagement ring purchases, we decided to purchase them there as well. We had a great afternoon looking at rings. Their sales staff were patient with us as we looked at what seemed like every ring! They made great suggestions. We definitely recommend the entire team at Charleston Alexander.
Services Used: Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathlyn
Wedding:
8/20/2005
4.8/5.0
My husband is the one who decided we'd go with CA for our rings since that's where he found my engagement ring. Cassie was amazingly patient with both of us as we agonized over these decisions. The jewelry is beautiful and I would recommend CA without any hesitation.
Services Used: Jewelry

MAP

 
7845 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Charleston Alexander Diamond Importers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1372201468236-tacoriclassiccrescentringslo