130x130_sq_1352129822647-ccclogo145

Charm City Cakes

Baltimore , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Baltimore, MD US 21211 (map)

PHONE

410-235-9229

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Cake Is the Physical Manifestation of Joy

If you can imagine it, we can create it. Since opening shop in 2001, Chef Duff Goldman has gained an international reputation for... Read more
Cake Is the Physical Manifestation of Joy

If you can imagine it, we can create it. Since opening shop in 2001, Chef Duff Goldman has gained an international reputation for jaw-dropping and awe-inspiring confections. From the exquisitely elegant to the wildly punk rock, Duff and his team of cake artists can take your cake dream and transform it in to a gorgeous - and delicious - reality.



Completely Custom Cakes

We do not have a book of standard cake designs. You are not standard, so why should your cake be? We are not a cake factory, we are a design studio. Every cake we create is custom made from start to finish. From the moment you first meet with one of our designers to sketch out your ideas, to the moment you cut into your one-of-a-kind and mouth-watering confection, your cake is all about YOU.



Artists, Not Decorators

The staff of Charm City Cakes is made up of fourteen talented individuals who have artistic experience in many disciplines. Chef Duff has trained each of them how to apply those disciplines, be it painting, sculpture, architectural modeling, graphic design, or drawing - towards the creation of cakes.



Chef Duff believes that allowing his staff to flourish as designers and artists is what enables Charm City Cakes to flourish as a business. No challenge is too daunting and no idea too far-fetched for our team. The entire staff of Charm City Cakes is dedicated to making every cake - be it a 5th birthday cake for 20 or a 20th anniversary cake for five hundred - as unique and special as the clients that order them.



Yes, Of Course They Are Delicious

While he may be best known for turning heads with his cake designs, Chef Duff's cakes are as exciting to taste as they are to see. Duff's training at the Culinary Institute of America and professional experience at world-renowned kitchens such as the French Laundry shine through in his recipes. With flavors such as dulce de leche, cardamom pistachio, and green tea ginger, his imagination as a pastry chef is every bit as vivid as his cake designs.



Locally Focused

Charm City Cakes proudly uses locally-sourced and organic dairy products in all our cakes. We convert all of our biodegradable food waste into rich soil through a local composting service. We are a local company and are focused on serving our local community. Chef Duff is also committed to making Baltimore a better place to live and work by supporting many local and national charities, from the Maryland SPCA to the Make-A-Wish Foundation.



We truly look forward to working with you, because we love what we do! To schedule a design consultation please call the bakery at 410.235.9229 or visit www.charmcitycakes.com. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1352130011448-2ivorylace
130x130_sq_1352130045374-squarecake
130x130_sq_1352130062701-tumblrm1ap4vstnd1rsn5jmo1500
130x130_sq_1352130068893-venetian
130x130_sq_1352130041806-petals
130x130_sq_1352130064175-tumblrm1ap5dyk6g1rsn5jmo1500
130x130_sq_1352130024476-7bigbow
130x130_sq_1352130072336-whitedots
130x130_sq_1352130028175-32wini
130x130_sq_1352130022916-3oyster
130x130_sq_1352130075007-windy
130x130_sq_1352130003925-1cutcakepaintedflower
130x130_sq_1352130040616-peggy
130x130_sq_1308674858080-prettyinpink
130x130_sq_1308673985508-meurtos
130x130_sq_1308674005928-birds
130x130_sq_1308674017987-greenweddding
130x130_sq_1352130029482-asyouwish
130x130_sq_1308674000047-whitefloral
130x130_sq_1308673981842-birdcake
130x130_sq_1308673994166-venice
130x130_sq_1308673988612-ninjas
130x130_sq_1308674013556-fishing
130x130_sq_1308674022932-hummingbirds
130x130_sq_1229009510408-15
130x130_sq_1229009509564-12
130x130_sq_1229009508658-10
130x130_sq_1229009508908-1
130x130_sq_1229009509299-11
130x130_sq_1229009509767-13
130x130_sq_1229009510986-16
130x130_sq_1229009511861-18
130x130_sq_1229009512408-19
130x130_sq_1229009512736-2
130x130_sq_1229009513986-20
130x130_sq_1229009514174-21
130x130_sq_1229009516174-22
130x130_sq_1229009516345-23
130x130_sq_1229009519611-24
130x130_sq_1229009520283-25
130x130_sq_1229009525002-27
130x130_sq_1229009528002-28
130x130_sq_1229009529986-29
130x130_sq_1229009532799-3
130x130_sq_1229009535127-30
130x130_sq_1229009540283-32
130x130_sq_1229009544080-33
130x130_sq_1229009552658-36
130x130_sq_1229009557127-37
130x130_sq_1229009560845-38
130x130_sq_1229009565595-39
130x130_sq_1229009568877-4
130x130_sq_1229009603049-6
130x130_sq_1229009628064-9
130x130_sq_1352130031841-grey

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Lactose Free, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1404279804696-avatar
Mika J.
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Charm City Cakes made a beautiful cake with metallic gold accents for the same price of flat colors.
They also will provide a fresh top tier of cake for our one year anniversary so we don't have to eat year old cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Charm City was a pleasure to work with and, even more importantly, their cake was both beautiful and delicious! I expected their prices to be too high based on their popularity/fame, but I found them to be reasonably priced with excellent quality. We had a 4 tiered "strawberry shortcake" and "pineapple coconut" cake, frosted in buttercream.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
5/16/2014
5.0/5.0
When I went into the studio and saw the sketch of my cake, I could not wait to see what the finished product looked like, and it did not disappoint. I absolutely LOVED my cake! I thought the design was so cool and fit right in with the theme of my wedding. And then I tasted the cake...oh my god, I have never tasted a cake as good as this in my life. The icing on the outside was fondant which is a bit heavy for my liking but the cake itself and the icing between the layers was so moist and delicious!

I would highly recommend Charm City Cakes to anyone getting married, or to anyone that is looking to get a cake for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amazing customer service AND brilliant product ....this is as good at it gets. I had to pull a wedding together very quickly 2 week notice. Charm city Cakes and his team produced the most wonderful looking and tasting cake. My clients were thrilled beyond measure and i was a hero! You simply can't do better than Charm Cakes. The name says it all!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1378399674439-avatar
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
I had always known I had wanted a cake from them since they were local and had a TV show that demonstrated their talent. I had been on their website and saw the groom cake I wanted to order- top tier Boba Fett. The price was reasonable, but most importantly it looked very authentic for it to be a showpiece at our Star Wars themed reception. I communicated with them via email and had placed my order online. The cake photographed perfectly and the chocolate peanut butter combo we decided on was decadent, rich and yummy. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PopDaise
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We were very impressed by Charm City Cakes and are so happy they designed the cake for our wedding. During the initial consultation, they sketched a cake design based on photographs and ideas we shared with them. They were extremely flexible with the design and made the process very fun. Their bakery has an abundance of unique and delicious flavors to choose from! Our cake was comprised of curry caramel, chocolate espresso, and pumpkin chocolate chip. The design was gorgeous for our fall wedding, complete with two adorable flamingo cake-toppers. The customer service was great – they communicated with us frequently and delivered the cake timely and in perfect condition. We highly recommend Charm City Cakes for its distinct flavors and creative designs!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richard
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We decided to check out Charm City after hearing about the owner offering to make a cake for a same-sex couple in the Northwest part of the country that had been turned away by a local baker. Upon hearing this we thought that this was the type of company we would want to do business with. Everything was perfect. We met with the staff at their location to design our cake and were given six samples we selected to pick our final flavors. Charm City did a great job in keeping us up to date and the cake was delivered and setup as planned. Our guests loved not only the design but the flavors, they raved about it! Charm City was a great organization to work with on our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abby
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I decided on Charm City for our wedding cake and I am so glad we did. Initially, I was not supportive because our venue included wedding cake from a list of bakeries in our per head price, and Charm City charged an additional amount ($7.50 per slice). However, my husband was convinced we needed to try it. They are truly artists, and we had such a positive experience with Mary Alice in the design aspect, and then getting to eat our cake samples, that we decided the extra money was worth it. The cake was truly a piece of art, and tasted incredible too! Plus, they offered a military discount :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margot
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved our Charm City Cakes! My husband's best friend from childhood, Mark, works at Charm City Cakes and he and his colleagues Katie and Graham were wonderful to work with!

We had to get a new caterer 6 weeks before our wedding, so then we needed a cake and Charm City Cakes came to our rescue calmly and flexibly!

I worked with Katie and she designed a beautiful three tiered polka dot wedding cake as well as a secret Ravens groom cake. They even took swatches of my bridesmaid's dresses to match the color on the cake! The final cakes looked even better than expected and tasted even better than the cake tasting we had originally had.

We would definitely work with them again! Thanks!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Samantha
Wedding:
4/1/2013
5.0/5.0
After becoming hooked in the tv show 'Ace of Cakes' I thought it would be fun to see about getting a conservatory garden themed wedding cake for our NY destination wedding. Graham was wonderful to deal with, so friendly and helpful. But once he sent me a sketch of our cake I was sold!

I definitely spend more than I said I ever would on a cake, but this was a once in a lifetime opportunity for us to get a cake from Charm city, and it was worth every penny. The cake was stunning, and the little bride and groom were perfectly dressed in matching wedding attire to our own. We chose chocolate chip flavour and it was delicious. The cake was so fresh and tasty! My only regret is only getting one piece! We kept it a secret from our guests where'd we were getting our cake from so they had some surprises on the day, everyone was blown away by it!

It was such a pleasure to work with charm city for our doing cake, I even asked could they take some pictures of our cake being made, which they did and emailed them over to us after the wedding. These guys are ridiculously talented. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Charm City cakes, especially if you want something extra special and unique. Xx
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Delali
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The process of designing our wedding cake from the ground up with Mary Alice was a real pleasure. We will never forget the time and the care that she and her whole team, both in Baltimore and in Los Angeles, devoted to us to make sure we had the perfect cake for our big day. Moreover, since my groom is a life-long comic book nut, they were even able to work with me in secret to built a perfect Green Lantern-themed groom's cake, too! But, beyond being beautiful, all of the cakes were just delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful and Geoff even took the time to come get a photo with me! Everyone loved the cake it was so moist and yummy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1342375153945-photo8
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment of our first design visit through completion of our wedding cake, Charm City was great!! Graham listened to our ideas of what we envisioned our cake to look like and add his artistic flair to it. We ended up going with a 4-tier cake, with the top two layers being red velvet, and the bottom two layers mud slide. I can't even describe how great our cake looked, and to top it off it was delicious!! We received so many compliments from our guests on how fantastic our cake was! I would definitely recommend Charm City Cakes for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We were absolutely thrilled with our experiences with Charm City Cakes. Maybe the best part of our wedding planning and wedding day! We had a personalized design appointment and our cake designer Katie did a phenomenal job of capturing what we wanted. We got to take home six cake flavors to taste which was so much nicer than having to taste them right at the shop. Then after we were still undecided, they were kind enough to give us six more! The cake was delicious and gorgeous. They even designed a cake topper bride and groom that looked eerily like us! The figures were a huge hit. I can't wait for our first anniversary to get to enjoy it again! I must say I cannot comment on the price as it was included in our wedding package at the Renaissance Hotel in Baltimore's inner harbor. I have to stress it was just such an amazing experience to work with them. It's no wonder they so busy and popular. They are fantastic!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with Charm City Cakes was such an experience! We got to meet with the staff in their Baltimore shop and work on the cake design and then take the flavors home with us to make a decision. The peanut butter cake was soooooo good. The cake was everything we imagined and the best wedding cake I've ever tasted. We had blue sugar flowers all over the cake and everyone asked us where we got blue roses- they couldn't believe that they were sugar.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We were so excited to work with Charm City Cakes for our wedding. Even moreso, our guests delighted at the chance to taste the famously fabulous elegant cake! Since we opted for a private formal ceremony, arranging formalities around the serving of the cake made for a very impressive display. The beurre noisette (burnt butter with hazelnut) will transcend any of your previous notions about cake! The crew at CCC were highly responsive and assisted us in making decisions and following up on delivery. Geof, Mary, Mary Alice and the whole team are great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorna
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot praise Charm City Cakes highly enough. From the first email we sent to them, to the final execution and delivery of the cake, everything was EXACTLY as we wanted.
They were really responsive to emails or phone calls and talk about flexible - they drove our cake from Baltimore to Southern New Hampshire!!
The cake itself was perfect and tasted absolutely delicious.
I'd use them again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann Marie
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Having our wedding cake made by Charm City Cakes was the best decision we made for our wedding! The staff was very kind and extremely professional. Our cake artist met with us for over an hour to design the cake, which turned out even better than we could have imagined. Not only was it exactly what we wanted and absolutely beautiful, but - very importantly - it was delicious! The staff was amazing through out the process. We had a date change for our wedding, moving the date up by four months. Charm City Cakes graciously and without any hassle worked with our new schedule to complete the cake for us. This experience has convinced me to go with Charm City Cakes for all momentous celebrations in our future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg15
Paul
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
We ordered our wedding and groom's cake from here. We normally don't like the dry and boring taste of wedding cake, but Charm City Cakes changed our mind. The cakes were wonderfully decorated and exactly like the drawing that they created during our first visit to their studio. The taste was beyond belief and many people actually went back for multiple pieces.

Highly recommend!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
As fans of Ace of Cakes, we were eager to get our wedding cake from Charm City Cakes, but weren't sure what to expect. We were so pleasantly surprised with every aspect of the process. Elena was so welcoming and comfortable and listened to all our thoughts and the details of the wedding. She came up with a perfect design for us (with very little guidance beyond our vague ideas) and it was executed perfectly. After our design appoint, Graham was greating about coordinating the rest of the details. The cake was beautiful and tasted incredibly delicious. Many of our wedding guests are still talking about the cake 3 weeks later!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nixbat
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
My wife and I have been engaged almost 4 years before our wedding and thought "How can we live in the Baltimore area and NOT have a Charm City cake?". We saved and planned and it was much more affordable than we initially believed. My wife (back when she was just a friend) would make a cake several times a year using her castle mold. Long story short, when we finally were engaged we wanted to have a castle cake. I tell people "my wife Caroline to me is my queen and every queen needs a castle". Charm City cakes came through with flying colors. We were a bit demanding wanting not only a medieval castle... us.... and the dragon (thanks Elena!) but a moat and even our two kitties with us. It was a sight to behold and the cake itself tasted better than we could have imagined (thanks Tommy!) We had chocolate cake with kirschwasser soaked into the cake as well as the butter cream frosting. It was amazing. We had one very picky adult guest who said "usually wedding cakes either look good or taste good and this one is both". We look forward to using Charm City for our 5 year anniversary and my 40th birthday. You may have to plan ahead but you get what you ask for, we are so thankful for them. I hate to use the phrase but as Graham had put it, we really enjoyed our "Epic Castle Cake".
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1326182800568-blackandwhitescan0006
Lady Dyson
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
IT'S TRUE! IT'S TRUE! "IF YOU CAN THINK IT...THEY CAN MAKE IT!" Charm City Cakes truly have a creative gift! My wedding theme was travel & vintage romance. Graham was excited to hear about my unique wedding cake vision...VINTAGE LUGGAGE PIECES! It took him a matter of maybe 15 minutes to draw a blueprint...I was AMAZED! He got it perfect on the first try. My cake left my guests in awe and talking for months after! They offer an infinite amount of flavors for every palette. The professionalism is impeccable. They DO WHAT THEY SAY!!! I undoubtedly will use them again and highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
5/5/2007
5.0/5.0
Who wouldn't want their wedding cake done by Chef Duff? We actually got lucky and were able to book Charm City Cakes to do our cake through a referral from our DJ. We had seen Ace of Cakes on the Food Network so we knew what kinds of cakes Duff and his team could do but we didn't want anything totally crazy for our wedding.

We decided to do a classic wedding cake with a few twists - it was going to be square, with sugar flowers that replicated the 3 flowers that we picked to be set in 3 square glasses on our reception tables. We were excited to see what he was going to come up with to represent our idea. And he certainly delivered with his ability to take our loose concept, sketch out the design by hand, and turn it into a fantastic cake!

The realistic looking flowers coupled with our funny cake topper (a bride dragging the groom through a sugar flower bed), was definitely a discussion point at the wedding! Everyone raved about the way the cake looked and tasted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BosworthMattox
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
The people at Charm City Cakes are the best. They are friendly, creative and really listen to what you want. They have amazing flavors to choose from and absolutely nothing is too hard to create. We wanted a simple elegant and classic 4 tiered cake and it was gorgeous. Even better it was hands down the best wedding cake we have ever tasted. The follow through, set up and communication were perfect. Thanks so much for a wonderful cake everyone enjoyed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with Charm City to create a replica of Giants Stadium (Meadowlands) as the grooms cake. It was AMAZING! People stood and looked at it for hours - literally. The attention to detail was amazing and everyone did an great job getting it perfect. This vendor was a pleasure to work with! Although it was expensive, it was very very cool to have at our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elisa.s13
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a shaped cake as our wedding cake more in a grooms cake style but used it instead of the traditional tiered bridal cake. I expected Charm City Cakes to be amazing, that's why we chose them. I had no idea what I was getting would be jaw on the floor awesome! There really are no words to describe how happy we were with their work. Delivered on time in one piece not errors everything was beyond expectations. I had them do my now husband's chucks that he wore in high school when we met and only from a few lousy photos they captured the shoes exactly. The cake was delicious so moist and not like anything we had tasted before. original to charm city cakes. Thank you charm city cakes for such a delicious work of art to celebrate our day and begin the new part of our story.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissa
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Had the groom's car made as a surprise groom's cake. Working with the team was very easy, the pumpkin cinnamon cake was delicious, and the cake itself was just amazing. It was absolutely worth the price I paid to see the surprised look on his face and to hear the great compliments from all of our guests. We couldn't even eat it until after the reception because we were too in love with it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1317058515019-weddinggarter
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Charm City Cakes created my wedding cake and my grooms cake. The grooms cake was a lego castle equipped with a lego bride and groom and even an alligator! Their attention to detail and ability to turn my silly idea into a magnificent cake was amazing!

For our wedding cake, we went the more traditional route and it was equally as amazing! We had five layers and wanted five different flavors and they didn't mind doing that for us! They were very accomodating and responsive!

The flavors are also INCREDIBLE! Everyone raved about how good it tasted :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg19
Erin
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Not only did our cake look amazing, but it was also delicious. The cake was beautifully sculpted to be exactly what we requested. Everyone gushed about the appearance of the cake and then devoured it. There wasn't a single piece left over at the end of the night. Beautiful, unique, but best of all, delicious. Charm City was professional and a provided a fun experience in selecting our wedding cake. We would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1312317397986-2830622085974880467157800000920175616781948n
bonniezazick
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was a HUGE hit!! It was absolutely perfect. Meeting with Elena and discussing the design was so much fun! It was definitely one a very memorable experience. Our topper was personalized right down to my hair style and dress! The cake design was beautiful and it tasted fantastic! Graham was so great about answering questions and getting all the details from us to make everything perfect! We chose our venue so that we could get a Charm City Cakes wedding cake and it ended up being everything we could of wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christie
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Charm city cakes was amazing. They worked with us to develop our dream cake. The design process was a lot of fun. I had found a cake on the internet I liked andthen added in a few details of my own. I would just tell them what I liked and they made it happen. I also had a grooms cake made and that was amazing. It was real hit at my wedding. My groom was very happy with his star trek cake. They seemed very excited about my groom cake. It was a little expensive but worth every penny. I would use them for other occasions in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1271801030698-us
kendall
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
What can one say? Charm city cakes didn't get their own TV show by making " average cakes ".

Our cake was FABULOUS! It was so close to what we had envisioned , that I swear they read my mind.

It was a very moist, tasty pumpkin cinnamon five-tier extra tall square- rotating matte chocolate cake with hazelnut butter cream frosting.

Communication was EXCELLENT & swift -- at all times, not at ALL the " too busy because we have a show " sort of thing at ALL.

Always VERY personalized, professional & extremely easy to get along with WONDERFUL group of artists & staff. Set up was right on time & our wedding guests were simply FLOORED by it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Two words...YUMMM and BEAUTIFUL!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amyamer
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Charm City Cakes did such a tremendous job with our wedding cake! Everyone was completely blown away by the attention to detail and the fabulous cake topper.

We initially met with Mary and she was great. We came in with some general ideas and some magazine pictures and she sketched out a design. She really helped us take our big vague ideas and get them down onto paper. We really wanted to incorporate elements of Baltimore into an elegant wedding cake. In the end we decided on a cake topper that had us sitting on a bench on Federal Hill Park with the Baltimore skyline as the backdrop and famous Baltimore signs on the other tiers of the cake. We sent them a picture of us and the likeness of the cake topper figures was spot on! There are definitely some very talented individuals working for Charm City Cakes!

We really felt that the people making the cake wanted it to be the best that it could be. One of the cake tiers was supposed to have yellow and white candy lettering spelling our names, but the grocery stores did not have the correct color candy. We got a call from Charm City Cakes a few days before the wedding to let us know and that they were going to make candy letters out of fondant to look like the correct colored candy lettering. I can only imagine the time it took to put everyone of those little dots on the lettering. We really felt that was going above and beyond!

Not only was the appearance of the cake awesome, but the cake itself was so delicious! We were able to take home samples of flavors we had selected at the initial meeting and every flavor was so delicious it was almost hard to narrow them down!

The cost of Charm City Cakes is a little pricey. We were fortunate enough to have them make our cake as part of our wedding package at the Renaissance Hotel. However, for what they provide they are definitely worth it!

Loved, loved, loved working with Charm City Cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jforstenzer
Wedding:
11/1/2009
5.0/5.0
We met with Chef Duff in April and we went over sketches for the cake. He went over each detail and was great fun to work with. We were instructed to order special flowers for the cake - which we did. We were contacted by the bakery a week or so before and all of the details were finalized. The cake arrived on time and by the time the wedding party was done getting ready the cake was finished and in place. It was picture perfect - it looked like a stack of wrapped gifts covered in roses with a big burgundy bow. It was absolutely stunning. Thank you Duff and all the folks at Charm City Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Gg8
SilvioandJeff
Wedding:
10/11/2009
5.0/5.0
When we decided to have our wedding in Baltimore, we immediately thought about getting our cake from Charm City Cakes (admittedly, in large part due to their Food Network show, "Ace of Cakes"). Not surprisingly, their cakes are more expensive than the average baker, but I must say that we felt we got our money's worth, and then some!

First, the experience of ordering a cake was wonderful. The staff is responsive, respectful, and very professional. Our cake consultation went very smoothly; Anna was able to take our ideas about having a crossword-themed cake and she designed a cake that reflected exactly what we were looking for.

On the day of the wedding, we and our guests were blown away by the cake! It looked amazing, and it was so unique and special to us. And--most importantly--the cake was DELICIOUS! Whenever a food product is made creatively into something beautiful, one always wonders whether it actually TASTES good. We are still getting comments from guests about how delicious the cake was! We cannot wait to dig into what's left on our first anniversary.

Again, we feel we got more than our money's worth, and would recommend Charm City Cakes to anyone looking for a unique cake design.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sue
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful, and tasted fantastic.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
We used Charm City Cake for our wedding cake. We wanted something different but still unique and boy did charm city deliver. Our cake was AMAZING!!! We had a ton of compliments. Not to mention it tasted fantastic, we had 5 different flavors (brownie, smores, pumpkin chocolate chip, lemon) and all were crazy. I would recommend Charm City Cakes to everyone they were amazing and really gave us that WOW factor at the wedding. AWESOME vendor!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eskimo
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
We are big fans of the Ace of Cake show, so as soon as we were engaged I contacted Charm City Cakes to inquire about a our wedding cake. If you love the food network like we do then you may have seen the show "Ace of Cakes." We are hooked on the show and my wife never expected they would be doing our wedding cake until I told her about that is who I booked. I got online and saw that they had our wedding date available. All it took was an email, phone call and our consultation with Duff. He helped us design the wedding cake which was a vision in my head to the reality when we saw it at our wedding reception. The cake was a combination of different symbolic items which tied my wife and I together. We had about 100 guests and we probably had enough cake for 150!!! It was well worth the expense to make a dream become a reality.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krl555
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
If you love the food network like I do then you may have seen the show "Ace of Cakes." I got hooked on the show and never in a million years thought they would be able to do our wedding cake. I got online and realized they had our wedding date availalbe. All it took was one email and phone call. We had a consultation with Duff, he helped us design the wedding cake of our dreams. Our wedding was beach themed and the cake matched our theme perfectly. We had approximately 115 guests and we probably had enough cake for 400!!! It was beautiful, unique and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie_M_J_T
Wedding:
5/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Charm City Cakes made the Groom's Cake. They did a fantastic job! I was very detailed and particular about what I wanted - it was to be a very unusual cake. It was, also, a surprise to my husband. He knew he was getting the cake, just not what it was. They did a wonderful job working with me on the details. They made sure that they got every little detail that I asked for. When the cake came, I was stunned. It was better than I had even imagined. Everyone loved the cake, itself. My husband chose Bananas Foster, for the cake. I believe they cater to picky people, because their selection of cake flavors is the largest I've ever seen. No matter how picky someone is, they'll be able to find a cake flavor they like from Charm City Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ksmith
Wedding:
1/19/2008
5.0/5.0
Ace of Cakes did our groom's cake for the wedding, a red Corvette! The cake became the hit of the wedding and looked amazing... it tasted great too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
9/23/2007
5.0/5.0
They were so great and made a fantastic cake that was unforgettable. It not only was a work of art but tasted out of this world!!! Super Wonderful Job!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
9/23/2007
5.0/5.0
I feel blessed to have had my cake made by someone who was able to capture my vision for the cake and make it a reality. While not as crazy as some of the cakes he's made (and which I think are absolutely fabulous) my cake was a departure from the traditional. Everything from the flavors (brownie and carrot) to the icing color, to the details was perfect. It was one more element that helped make my wedding everything I dreamed.
Also, they were willing and able to adjust the size of the cake right up to the last minute as we finalized our guest count.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sayyida and Sharif's Wedding
Wedding:
7/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Duff and his team created the most beautiful Mehndi (Henna) design cake for my Islamic wedding. I was able to give him my vision and colors and he worked his magic and the cake was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kati
Wedding:
6/23/2007
5.0/5.0
From my first meeting with Duff to delivery of my outgrageous fuschia and aqua cake with butterflies and dragonflies shooting out of it, I was thrilled with my cake and it was the talk of the wedding! All four tiers were delicious flavors and the best part is Charm City will make a fresh anniversary cake for us next year - no freezing required!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
5/20/2007
5.0/5.0
WOW!!! The created a cake that looked amazing and tasted even better, all for a reasonable price! They were so enthusiastic - I think they enjoyed making the cake almost as much as we enjoyed eating it! I'll be ordering cakes for all of my big events from them from here on out!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1204163302330-heather&bjkirkscopy
Heather
Wedding:
5/19/2007
5.0/5.0
Charm City Cakes was the Best choice in making my wedding cake, the Staff is so friendly and out going. They did exactly what I envisoned for my cake. When I first arrived there to test the cakes, I didn't really "know" what I wanted. Mary Alice, Took me under her creative wing, and once she heard my dress was black and white, she was off and running. I couldn't have asked for a better wingman in deciding what are centerpiece for our wedding would look like. I would advise everyone to use Charm City cakes. Aside, Chef Duff uses household tools rather then bakery supplies. How cool is that ???~

Heather & B.J. Knox 5/19/2007
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Coty
Wedding:
4/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Charm City Cakes did a phenomenal job with our wedding cake. I really feel privileged that we were able to work with them. We met with our artist last June to discuss our particular vision and tasted a few different flavors (off-site--they don't do tastings in their studio). Every cake is custom designed, and the cakes ALL taste good. The actual wedding cake was exactly as we discussed in our meeting and the taste was absolutely amazing. Yes, Charm City Cakes cost much more than many other wedding cakes, but having our cake custom designed by an artist was worth it to us. Additionally, the customer service, handled by Graham, was really great as well--he answered any emails very promptly, efficiently, and in a very friendly manner.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
3/21/2014
4.9/5.0
Wow, what a cake! It was drop dead gorgeous, and tasted like a million bucks! I couldn't have been any happier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RCP
Wedding:
2/11/2012
4.9/5.0
Ok, the only reason for the half-star in value was for the crazy high delivery charge - though, to be fair, we did get married in NYC. But, after some budget wrangling, we decided to go for it and the cake was phenomenal. Absolutely phenomenal. Graham, our cake designer, and his team imparted so much character and detail in our cake, I'm not even sure we got to see it all. It completely surpassed our expectations. And, it was delicious, too - easily one of the tastiest cakes I've ever had!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
We LOVED our wedding cake. As the Food Network show illustrates, they are very creative and we asked them to recreate the scene where my husband and I first saw each other (at Band Camp) and they did a great job! It was so cute and we loved it. Our guests are still talking about our cake three weeks later. The only downside is that it was a little expensive, but we expected that so we weren't sticker shocked. :) However, Mary Alice is very quick to get back with you via email and they are very flexible. We had to change our delivery time a few days before the wedding, and they were willing to accommodate us with no problems. The best part was that Duff, Geof, and Mary Alice offered to get a picture with us during our design appointment!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
1/14/2006
4.9/5.0
What can I say, Duff is the best. I have used Charm City Cakes three more times after our wedding! I just love them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We had a unique idea for a wedding cake and Charm City made it happen. From the first design meeting, our experience with CC was wonderful. They are 100% professional and creative and were really excited about our cake and our event.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.8/5.0
After finding out three weeks before my wedding that our original bakery had gone out of business and failed to contact me, my mom went online and saw that CCC had an opening. I contacted them via email and explained my situation. They were so helpful and accomodating and got me in to see a designer within a few days. The cake was not only gorgeous, but tasted amazing!!! It arrived right on time and was set up quickly. The price was not as much as I thought it could be from such a well known place but still not a "budget" cake. Not a steal or an extravagance.
All around great looking and tasting cake with amazing service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
No, they're not the cheapest - BUT OUR CAKE ROCKED!!!! And yes, it was as delicious as it was beautiful. Can't wait to get our *free* anniversary cake to taste the other flavors we didn't get to try for our "cake cutting" picture - our wedding cake was so good that our guests stole our pieces from our table when we weren't there.

Staff was flexible and easy to work with. Toughest part was getting through the initial "bureaucracy" to get the process started. The price of choosing someone immensely popular - but well worth it - that may be the "thing" that I remember most from our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1259539902018-20090214bathetc0061
Jennifer Bantz
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.8/5.0
Cake looked amazing. Exactly likie I wanted it. Tasted great too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.8/5.0
My husband and I were actually not planning to have a wedding cake (just a big desert bar). However, my parents surprised us with an amazing cake from Charm City Cakes. It was awesome! It was a replica of my parents boat (with my step dad driving and 2 dogs on the bow included) with my husband and I wake surfing behind the boat. There were also two crabs getting married in the corner and a back drop of the Chesapeake. It was great. My mother also informed me that it was a pleasure to work with Mary Alice and the crew there. Thanks Charm City!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cygnet84
Wedding:
6/14/2009
4.8/5.0
Loved our cake. The taste. The decorations. The craft of it. It truly represented who we are and was in the tradition of charm city cakes (Ace of Cakes). We had carrot and almond amaretto. Both were fabulous. Your biggest problem is that everyone wants to sample both cakes. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phlatty
Wedding:
4/4/2009
4.8/5.0
Charm City Cakes made a groom's cake for our wedding in the shape of a police car - with working police lights! The cake was fantastic looking - we as well as the guests were impressed! We provided photos of ourselves along with photos of the police car that my husband drives. They did such an amazing job of making "us" look like us on the cake and the car was exactly the same as the photo! We were very, very happy with the grooms cake - it was perfect. It added something very unique to our reception and was a big hit. It was pricey - but worth it to us.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Just a Groom
Wedding:
11/15/2008
4.8/5.0
Let me just say this...Charm City Cakes was AWESOME! It was truly a pleasure to work with them!!! Mary Alice and Duff are both as nice as they could be! They were so wonderful. No doubt in my mind, they were the best of all of the vendors. They created the Groom's Cake for our wedding. I'm from S Louisiana and married a Baltimore-girl. I'm also an architect, and wanted a cake that would remind me of my life...so I chose to have a recreation of Oak Alley Plantation...it was so great! Geoff did an excellent job and a lot of research and really made it so perfect! I couldn't believe it! It's still, to this day, the talk of the wedding guests! It even made it on their show...which was cool because we were able to see the behind the scenes stuff with the cake. All and all...I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/5/2007
4.8/5.0
A deposit is required for your initial consultation. However, the deposit is applied to the final balance. Duff was great to work with. He made both my husband and myself feel very comfortable during the design process. And the cake flavors are awesome! The best part is that you can choose a different flavor for each layer and there's no additional charge. The pumpkin spice tastes just like pumpkin bread.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/6/2006
4.8/5.0
I met with Duff, the owner of Charm City Cakes months before my wedding to get the perfect theme. Since I was having a zoo wedding I didn't want a traditional wedding cake but something original and unique. After talking to Duff we decided on a tier cake with animal print and peacock feathers from the top (the bridal party theme was peacocks). After deciding what the cake looked like and Duff did a sketch we took home samples of the cake flayers I chose ahead of time. We tasted them all and they were all delicious. The cake was delivered to the ceremony on time and set up and got a lot of attention. Many people see Duff on TV on the Food Network for Ace of Cakes and although some might think his cakes are pricey they are WELL worth it. We have gone to him since for our special occasion cake needs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
10/31/2013
4.7/5.0
The cake turned out precisely the way it was designed, and the staff was flexible about payment in the final 2 weeks when I had my head spinning on last wedding expenses owed to everyone. I had two flavors in the cake, out of dozens of flavors available. Charm City Cakes is a bit pricier than other cake vendors, but oh so worth it. I saw other cakes done by local mom-and-pop bakeries and the quality only goes so far when you pay 500 bucks- you literally get something you could have bought at Walmart and stuck a bride/groom ornament on top of. Charm City Cakes created a cake that had people wowed, I wish I could have posted a photo. If you check them out and they seem too pricey, fear not- order a smaller decorated cake for the photos and get people fed using very cheap sheet cakes on the side, just as good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Our venue used Charm City Cakes for our wedding cake and it was amazing and delicious
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lovebytrain
Wedding:
4/18/2010
4.7/5.0
Being a fan of "Ace of Cakes," we were very happy to have them as our vendor. We lucked out early in the planning process because we won a $1000 gift certificate from them (we paid $600 for it, it was an auction). If we didn't have that, we probably wouldn't have used them since they are very expensive.

We had a consultation with them, and they used the picture we gave them and reproduced it very faithfully. They advised us on how to keep the cost down and gave us as many opportunities as we needed to try their many flavors and pick a few. The cake ended up being gorgeous AND delicious, and they delivered it right on time and everything went very well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenny7808
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.7/5.0
We had a walle and eve cake. Cake was about two ours behind delivery schedule but I didnt know about it until I was ready yo walk down the aisle and they were about 10 mins away. When we walked back in 30 mins later the cake was set up. The cake could have only been done justice by them and every expectation was met and surpassed. The responsiveness could have been better but we understood that if calls weren't screened and emails we not written the right way they may think it was just someone who wanted to get attention. Cake was lemon and awesome. Would use again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
11/14/2009
4.7/5.0
My cake was a hit!!! VERY yummy; most of my guests each had a piece...little leftovers which is not normal for weddings!! I even purchased "to-go" boxes thinking there would be a lot to bring home.

My only complaint is that I had requested a few decorative GOLD dots be spread throughout the cake. They made them purple which wasn't what we decided on. No biggie, but for the amount of money we paid, I feel we should have gotten exactly what we asked for.

I would definitely recommend Charm City Cakes. They were very professional, and extremely responsive to my phone calls. They also obviously know what they're doing...they have a hit show!!

Mary
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noelle
Wedding:
10/21/2006
4.7/5.0
They can bake or create ANYTHING you want...they are incredible artists and a lot of fun to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.6/5.0
I worked with the Charm City team to create a very special groom's cake for my wedding. From the planning through to the execution, they were extremely responsive and professional. The cake looked and tasted awesome. With the big name comes big price, but for that special day, I say splurge and go for it! Charm City made our day even more special with a one-of-a-kind creation, special for my husband. It was wonderful, and a huge hit with the guests!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
10/26/2008
4.6/5.0
I live in New York and I went to Baltimore for my cake. My husband and I didn't want the same wedding cake everyone else has had, so we went to Charm City for a unique cake that reflected our personality. It was perfect. We got so many compliments on how original and beautiful it was. Not only that, but the cake is amazing. Normally I don't like wedding cake, but this cake it out of this world. The only issue I had was it was far away...but the drive was totally worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alliapistor
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.6/5.0
We are big fans of the Ace of Cake show, so as soon as we get engaged I contacted Charm City to inquire about a groom's cake. Their prices are higher than most other bakeries, but you're paying for their artistry and not just cake - plus I had a hefty delivery fee for them to come from Baltimore to Washington, DC (Georgetown area). The cake wasn't exactly what I invisioned in my head, but in fairness my description to them my description was pretty vague and the cake did meet the description I gave them exactly and looked awesome. It was a surprise for my husband and he really liked it. I just wish I could have been downstairs for the delivery. I was very happy with how it turned out.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.6/5.0
Duff and his staff did an exceptional job creating a masterpiece out of a wedding cake. If you are on a budget then I do not suggest using Charm City since they are the Gucci or Channel of wedding cakes. You definately get what you pay for!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/26/2007
4.6/5.0
CCC was the BEST! They made our Wedding Cake and the Groom's Cake! They were really friendly and willing to try anything in regards to making your cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah513
Wedding:
12/31/2006
4.6/5.0
Duff and his staff are super creative and made the cake unique but traditional which is what I wanted. It tasted good as well. A little on the high side for cost but I loved it all the same.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
10/22/2006
4.6/5.0
Duff and the crew in Baltimore are great, and will really work with any bride to create anything they want, from elegant and traditional to crazy and original. My cake tasted great (pumpkin chocolate chip and raspberry chocolate), and was gorgeous. My only complaint was that I wish my cake was bigger, because people wanted more! They might sound like they are just trying to get you to spend more money on a bigger cake, but this cake people WILL want to eat seconds!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/22/2012
4.5/5.0
We opted for a dessert selection for our wedding cake. The display was breathtaking and was the perfect end to a wonderful meal! So many people told me that it was the best cheesecake that they had ever eaten.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Charm City Cakes responded with the following comments:

Hi Lisa! I just read your review of us on Wedding Wire. While it's a lovely review, I don't think that we provided your cake at your event. We didn't have any deliveries to the Tremont on 06/22 and we don't make cheesecakes. I just want to make sure the right vendor gets credit for your reception desserts!

We'd of course love to make a cake for you for another occasion. :)

Many thanks and congratulations on your wedding!

Mary Alice Yeskey
Director of Marketing, Charm City Cakes
malice@charmcitycakes.com
Default-vendor-profile-pic
morgan
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.5/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and everyone loved the flavor! Pumpkin spice with buttercream icing!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila
Wedding:
5/12/2007
4.5/5.0
The only downside is that they used a different color 'finish' to the cake than we originally specified. The cake ended up being white instead of off-white which did not match our colors. :( Otherwise, it was fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.3/5.0
Even though I'm from Baltimore, I didn't hear about charm city cakes until I was living in Los Angeles. My husband and I were totally excited about having Charm City make our cake. We decided to keep the cake design a secret, but the guests knew who was making our cake. They couldn't wait to see it, it was the talk of the town! I liked the cake; however, my husband thought that it was a bit boring in design, he had higher hopes for the cake design. I can say that the cake tasted much better than the samples that we tried, which was a relief. We wanted to keep the top of the cake; however, it has already broken, which is sad :@( If you are willing to spend a lot of money, go for it! It certainly makes for excitement on the part of the guests awaiting to see the Ace of Cakes cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
6/23/2007
4.3/5.0
Honestly, the cake is very expensive - but we weren't really going for value with a cake from Charm City Cakes. If you're going to Duff, you want something special and, in those cases, you have to pay a little more for it. In that respect, it was worth it.

The big problem we had was that the topper - which was a little out of the ordinary and the reason we went to Duff to begin with - fell off the cake before the service even started because of the rocking of the boat (the wedding was on a boat). It may not have happened if the cake would have been delivered to the right location (the boat's marina rather than City Dock in Annapolis). However, they more than made up for it when they sent out a decorator to repair the cake and stabilize the topper - while the boat was on the water. In the end, you couldn't really tell there was an issue (the topper was leaning a little, but the stabilization efforts worked), and the cake was fixed before dinner was over.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DiBC19
Wedding:
8/31/2008
4.2/5.0
Our cake looked stunning and exactly what I wanted, but I got alot of complaints that it had no taste. Unfortuantely I didn't really have any, but I was very disappointed by the feedback that I got
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ArynV512
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.0/5.0
My Husbands groom cake was perfect. It was more than we could have imagined it was perfect thanks again for all your hard work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.0/5.0
We got a cake made by Charm City through the wedding package we had at the Renaissance Harborplace hotel, so that is why I didn't rate on value of cost (But I would say it is a good value of cost). The cake they made for us was AMAZING!!! People were standing around the cake and just staring at it! They took the ideas my husband and I had and made it into the perfect cake. Every time we contacted them they got back to us right away and were so easy to work with. The cake was so delicious!!!! I would recommend them to everyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
msalloy1
Wedding:
9/29/2007
3.9/5.0
I must say I was a bit disappointed with the cake we received from Charm City. We ordered both a wedding and grooms cake. The grooms cake was great. We had a 3-D camel and it really came out fantastically. However, the wedding cake was not at all what I was expecting. From our consultation, I was expecting a cake with real-looking fondant gerbera daisies in deep, bold colors with an apple and a pear for the topper. We ordered a 3-tier cake, but as we got closer, I was concerned about the size of the cake and I emailed to ask if they thought we should upgrade to four tiers. They said that the three tiers would be ample in size to make an impact.

However, when I saw my cake on the day of the wedding, I was devastated. The cake was tiny, especially compared to the grooms cake sitting right beside it. It almost disappeared on the table. The topper was so tiny that my florist didn't even notice it and put flowers right on top of it. The flowers on the cake were also tiny and looked like they had been made using a mold. Worst of all, the colors were pastels! My wedding was designed around gerbera daisies in deep reds, fiery oranges and deep, golden yellows.

I will say that people really enjoyed the flavors of the cakes we selected, espeically the pumpkin chocolate chip, and Charm City was good about allowing us to sample multiple flavors since we did not like the flavors we sampled the first time around. Also, Duff and mary Alice were very friendly during the planning process. I don't know where or how the miscommunication ocured, but if you are ordering a cake from them, I would be VERY specific (to the point of being annoying) about what you want.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/27/2009
3.7/5.0
There were some initial scheduling difficulties and mix-ups, but the cake was decorated exactly as we asked. The boxes left by charm city cakes to take a couple layers home after the reception were too small! I would recommend their services if you don't mind paying the price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emileigh
Wedding:
1/20/2006
3.6/5.0
these guys are awesome!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1224272869883-10-16-2008-41
Ashley
Wedding:
10/11/2008
3.5/5.0
Overall I was pleased with the look of my cake. I wish the colors had been closer to the shades I was using and the topper could have been a little better presented. They messed up on one of the flavors I picked but offered to make up for it with an Anniversary cake for our 1 year. We would probably recommend Charm City in the future if you are looking for a unique one of a kind cake that costs a little more then the average cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. M in Baltimore
Wedding:
9/15/2007
3.5/5.0
Charm City Cakes came with my catering package. So the payment and everything went through the Renaissance Harborplace. To decide on a cake, we got to sit down with Duff Goldman and brainstorm ideas. I was impressed with Duff's laid back personality and you can tell he really loves what he does. I was also very impressed with how receptive he was when I told him I didn't like his initial idea. Very professional!

Our cake was England with a large Big Ben and New Jersey with a large Statue of Liberty as my husband is British and I'm a South Jersey Girl. Connecting the two cakes was a rope with my husband and I "tieing the knot" across the ocean. It was great and everyone at the wedding loved it!!

Aside from how great it looked, it tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
1/12/2008
2.9/5.0
Awesome cake! They are really open to designer your wedding cake, and are up for almost any challenge. A little pricey and they are a little hard to find (they purposefully hide themselves since they get many "visitors" because they have their own show on the Food Network.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.0/5.0
Up until the wedding day, we had a very good experience. Our design appointment was great/lots of fun, they let us get 2 batches of flavor samples since we were undecided (though, in retrospect the samples are TINY), prompt in correspondence, clear about expectations, etc. We were a little bummed about the price from the beginning - I thought it was steep for a very simple cake by their standards. Plus the price seemed arbitrarily chosen based on the budget we gave -they just picked the upper end of our range and then tried to increase later. Before we met, they email-quoted a base price of $7 per serving, which was far less than the simple cake I chose (and we decided to do a sheet cake from them in addition to have a smaller tiered cake to offset costs)- $7 per serving is probably an unfrosted cake. However, we trusted their customer service promise ("it will be a worry-free experience!") and decided we would splurge anyway because it was so pretty. Then, the wedding day. Everything had been going fine and the cake was scheduled to be served 45 min before our whole day ended/before leaving for honeymoon. The tiered cake looked great on display. The staff cut the cake while I talked a little about our experience with CCC, and cake was served. When they were serving the last tier, we realized that the sheet cake was MIA and that some of our guests wouldn't get cake. We cut the last tier into smaller slices so most of the people who wanted cake ended up getting a small piece, but not all. After this, my mom called the company while we were on the honeymoon and they said because we didn't call during the event, they only refunded us only 50% of the cost and fired delivery guy, which still meant we paid way more than a nicer cake at SugarBakers. The packing slip didn't mention the sheetcake. Definitely opposite of worry free. I tried discussing further with CCC and they didn't continue the conversation beyond 1 email. Wouldn't trust them with your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Baltimore, MD 21211 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Charm City Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo