130x130 sq 1209409697147 apps

Chef By Request

Lisle , IL

LOCATION

5100 Academy Drive, Suite 200
Lisle, IL 60532 US (map)

PHONE

630-493-4300

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

When it comes to your wedding day we believe there is absolutely no margin for error.

Allow Chef By Request to create an atmosphere of unforgettable elegance to complement the... Read more
When it comes to your wedding day we believe there is absolutely no margin for error.

Allow Chef By Request to create an atmosphere of unforgettable elegance to complement the most memorable event of your lifetime, one you will treasure forever.

Exquisite cuisine, first-class presentation and impeccable service are the essential ingredients we combine to exceed your highest expectations.

Decadent formal tastings and custom menus are presented to assist in fulfilling your every desire.

Please visit our Venues and Associations page for a list of fine establishments we proudly work with. However, we are always happy to make special arrangements with facilities not listed on our site.

Please visit our website to see what our clients say about us, view a full photo gallery, and schedule your free consultation with a professional event coordinator.

Chef By Request always offers Special Promotions and Wedding Packages. Be sure to take a peek at our current offers!

Custom Catering to Every Degree!
630.493.4300
www.chefbyrequest.com





















ACCOMPLISHMENTS

Chef By Request continues to perfect the recipe for success. In 2003, Chef By Request was a nominee for the Naperville Small Business of the Year Award, and in 2004, won the prestigious President’s Award from the American Culinary Federation.

Chef David began his professional career with the accolade of being named one of the first 66th in the nation, and the first chef in Illinois to receive a Bachelors of Culinary Arts from Johnson and Wales University. Since that time, David has gone on to achieve the esteemed status of Certified Executive Chef (CEC), all the while maintaining active status in the American Culinary Federation (ACF).

He also has a certificate of training from the Culinary Institute of America in wine studies and food and wine pairing. He holds a 10-year certified Executive Chef title with the American culinary federation, a title of which less than 400 chefs have in the united states. Classically trained with respect and attention to detail, the philosophy of fine food and customer service flow through all departments at Chef By Request.

Perhaps the most notable recent accomplishment is the purchase and development of Chef By Request’s newest 5,500 square foot, state-of-the-art production facility. The grand opening event was held on March 9th, 2005 which began with a ribbon cutting and was followed by a widely attended reception, showcasing an elaborate display.



COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP ROLES & INVOLVEMENT

• Naperville Chamber of Commerce - 14 year member
• Naperville Heritage Alliance member - contributing an annual $5000 in sponsorship and gifts in kind
• Naperville Little Friends supporter for 15 years giving 2 annual gift sponsorships
• 11-year chef mentor for annual career day at Hill Middle School
• 8-year gift in kind sponsor for "Dinner with The Mayor" benefiting the Naperville chamber
• 7-year past supporter of Naperville P.A.D.S. program as food donation coordinator
• 5-year current adjunct faculty at College of DuPage and supporter of hospitality program
• 10-year past participant in Naperville's RIBFEST with annual $3000 gift in kind donation
• 8-year sponsor of food donations for NCHS and NNHS senior night
• 2-year member of past Naperville Chamber Team 2
• 2-year current member of Power Partners Illinois - meets in Naperville
• Past and current food sponsors for Naperville churches that include, The Compass, Grace Church, Good Shepherd and Bethany Lutheran
• Hole sponsor for Naperville Mayor's golf outing
• Catering partner with North central College and food contributor to the new Wentz Hall on campus
• 3-year board of directors and contributor - Lisle Chamber of Commerce
• Donor and participant for youth and family services, Naperville
• Donor and sponsor for Focus on The Family
• Proud to cater David's own 20-year NCHS class reunion at Wentz Hall on July 16, 2011



TESTIMONIALS

"Thank you a million times for making our day so special and stress free. You were so wonderful to work with and I fell so lucky we found you. Your staff and you were so wonderful I couldn’t have expected anything more. Thank you again!"
- Katie and Dan M.

"Just wanted to take a minute to thank you for helping to make our daughter’s wedding perfect! Cindy did a wonderful job of organizing and making sure everything went smoothly. The food was absolutely delicious! We received so many compliments on our choice of caterer! Chef By Request is definitely a first class organization. Thanks again!"
- Sandi and Hugh F.

"Thank you for making our wedding reception such an enjoyable experience – from the planning stages to the reception at the Morton Arboretum, we appreciate the attention to detail and personal service. Our wedding guests are still raving about the food, specifically the taste and presentation."
- Annette and John H.

"I want to thank you again for all your invaluable help with this wedding. I don’t know what we would have done without you. Everything was perfect and we have you to thank. We received so many complements on the food and the service. Everyone was wonderful."
- Sue L.

"My family, Mark and I can not thank you enough for everything you did to make our day beautiful and memorable! The energy you put into helping us arrange the reception, attend to stunning details, and to keeping the party going was truly amazing! We received so many compliments on the food and service. Several people noted that the food was the best they’ve had at a wedding (including my husband). You were truly an integral part of this magical day and I am so grateful for all that you did for us! Thank you again for everything!"
- Cathy and Mark P. Read less
Catering , Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1204922032862 table08
130x130 sq 1349627668033 cbrplated3
130x130 sq 1204922084237 picture 002
130x130 sq 1349627644360 cbrfruit
130x130 sq 1349627728948 cbrsushi2
130x130 sq 1349627633852 cbrdessert
130x130 sq 1349627611724 cbrchefdessert
130x130 sq 1349627712831 cbrshrimp
130x130 sq 1217690713255 gardemanger
130x130 sq 1217691095083 chefplated
130x130 sq 1349627720338 cbrsushi
130x130 sq 1204921709659 cbr1
130x130 sq 1204922047597 wedding01
130x130 sq 1349627653891 cbrplated
130x130 sq 1204922104331 picture 006
130x130 sq 1349628270453 cbrcake4
130x130 sq 1217690638474 wedding
130x130 sq 1349627661722 cbrplated2
130x130 sq 1204921796815 icearch02
130x130 sq 1349627674292 cbrplated4
130x130 sq 1204922124222 picture 013
130x130 sq 1217691062895 champagnetoast
130x130 sq 1349628085501 cake4
130x130 sq 1349627600805 cbrapp2
130x130 sq 1349627684479 cbrsalad
130x130 sq 1349627627263 cbrcupcakes
130x130 sq 1349627697630 cbrsalad2
130x130 sq 1349627706105 cbrsalmon
130x130 sq 1349627734970 cbrveggies
130x130 sq 1349628093160 dessert131

INFO FOR CATERING

What event services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cake, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres, Outside Cake OK, Plated, Stations, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Outside Alcohol OK, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
Which of the following items can you provide?
Chairs, Tables
Which of the following items can you provide?
Barware, China, Chocolate Fountain, Flatware, Glassware, Linens

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

What types of desserts do you provide?
Cheese, Cookies, Croquembouche, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What services do you provide?
Consultations, Delivery, Setup
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, Vegan
What special ingredients do you use?
Organic
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Aly
Wedding:
6/13/2015
5.0/5.0
Katie Merkle is a DREAM!! We had a hard time finding a caterer that would be a good fit for our less than traditional, oversized wedding. Chef by Request was everything we wanted and more. Their food was incredible, we did Chicago-themed served family style for our 270 person outdoor wedding. While the food was delicious, the service staff and professionalism of CBR was what really blew us away. Like I said, Katie is one of my favorite people on earth. Amazing energy and ready to take on any challenge. And our wedding was definitely a challenge. Our reception was in a tent located probably 30 feet away from a lodge that had the kitchen for the CBR staff. And right about dinner time it decided to monsoon, meaning the staff had to run back and forth through INSANE rain, trying to get the food out to all of our guests in a timely manner, while at the same time, keeping it covered so the rain wouldn't destroy it. They were INCREDIBLE!! And the servers were all amazingly attentive and very kind! Honestly, they were the best choice we could have made and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a STELLAR caterer for any event! Thank you Katie and the CBR team!
Katie Merkle is a DREAM!! We had a hard time finding a caterer that would be a good fit for our less than traditional, Read more...
Katie Merkle is a DREAM!! We had a hard time finding a caterer that would be a good fit for our less than traditional, oversized wedding. Chef by Request was everything we wanted and more. Their food was incredible, we did Chicago-themed served family style for our 270 person outdoor wedding. While the food was delicious, the service staff and professionalism of CBR was what really blew us away. Like I said, Katie is one of my favorite people on earth. Amazing energy and ready to take on any challenge. And our wedding was definitely a challenge. Our reception was in a tent located probably 30 feet away from a lodge that had the kitchen for the CBR staff. And right about dinner time it decided to monsoon, meaning the staff had to run back and forth through INSANE rain, trying to get the food out to all of our guests in a timely manner, while at the same time, keeping it covered so the rain wouldn't destroy it. They were INCREDIBLE!! And the servers were all amazingly attentive and very kind! Honestly, they were the best choice we could have made and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a STELLAR caterer for any event! Thank you Katie and the CBR team! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Yolanda
Wedding:
6/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Pulled off a perfect evening! Everything went smoothly and we were able to simply enjoy our wedding! The service was terrific and the food was delicious!
Pulled off a perfect evening! Everything went smoothly and we were able to simply enjoy our wedding! The service was Read more...
Pulled off a perfect evening! Everything went smoothly and we were able to simply enjoy our wedding! The service was terrific and the food was delicious! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Becky
Wedding:
5/8/2015
5.0/5.0
I got married and Danada House so Chef by Request was already a recommended vendor which made my decision really easy. I was choosing between 2 caterers and I chose CBR because the food was fantastic and Katie, the sales manager, was attentive, but not pushy. The process was incredibly easy for us. Katie was easy to work with and completely on top of everything. She worked with Danada house and our Band on everything so I only really needed to work with her instead of 4 different people. The day of the wedding the wait staff was very nice and attentive and Katie was there and on top of things. They were extremely accommodating. The 3.5 year old ring bearer really loved macaroni and cheese, but also wanted the beef entree the adults were getting so they put together a combination plate for him which he loved. My fiancee and I loved all 3 entrees and had a hard time choosing so they brought all 3 for us, while only charging for 2. They also brought out extra meals for our photographer when my fiancee found out he didn't enjoy the vendor meal all that much and wanted to make sure he had a good meal since he had been so amazing to us all day. I have no complaints about Chef by Request and highly recommend them to anyone with the amazing food and the amazing service from Katie.
I got married and Danada House so Chef by Request was already a recommended vendor which made my decision really easy. I Read more...
I got married and Danada House so Chef by Request was already a recommended vendor which made my decision really easy. I was choosing between 2 caterers and I chose CBR because the food was fantastic and Katie, the sales manager, was attentive, but not pushy. The process was incredibly easy for us. Katie was easy to work with and completely on top of everything. She worked with Danada house and our Band on everything so I only really needed to work with her instead of 4 different people. The day of the wedding the wait staff was very nice and attentive and Katie was there and on top of things. They were extremely accommodating. The 3.5 year old ring bearer really loved macaroni and cheese, but also wanted the beef entree the adults were getting so they put together a combination plate for him which he loved. My fiancee and I loved all 3 entrees and had a hard time choosing so they brought all 3 for us, while only charging for 2. They also brought out extra meals for our photographer when my fiancee found out he didn't enjoy the vendor meal all that much and wanted to make sure he had a good meal since he had been so amazing to us all day. I have no complaints about Chef by Request and highly recommend them to anyone with the amazing food and the amazing service from Katie. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Colleen
Wedding:
5/2/2015
5.0/5.0
My fiance and I recently worked with Chef by Request for our wedding in May 2015. We could not have asked for a better partner in not just catering our wedding, but also assisting in planning our wedding. We worked closely with Katie M. throughout the process. She is fantastic!! Katie was very patient and very helpful, while being very responsive. Katie as well as the whole Chef by Request team, were very flexible. They helped us create our perfect wedding day, while being mindful of our budget and special needs. We had the most memorable and amazing wedding day, we literally could not have asked for more!

The food was very well received by our guests. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing!! I would highly recommend the artichoke beignets as an appetizer, they are amazingly delicious! The catering team also set up the space at our venue and it was beyond stunning! It was so great working with such a competent, experienced and quality team. My fiance and I were completely at ease the day of the wedding, knowing that everything was in Katie and Chef by Request's capable hands.

We would highly recommend Chef by Request to anyone looking for a considerate, flexible, helpful and all around fantastic caterer! You will not regret this decision!
My fiance and I recently worked with Chef by Request for our wedding in May 2015. We could not have asked for a better Read more...
My fiance and I recently worked with Chef by Request for our wedding in May 2015. We could not have asked for a better partner in not just catering our wedding, but also assisting in planning our wedding. We worked closely with Katie M. throughout the process. She is fantastic!! Katie was very patient and very helpful, while being very responsive. Katie as well as the whole Chef by Request team, were very flexible. They helped us create our perfect wedding day, while being mindful of our budget and special needs. We had the most memorable and amazing wedding day, we literally could not have asked for more!

The food was very well received by our guests. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing!! I would highly recommend the artichoke beignets as an appetizer, they are amazingly delicious! The catering team also set up the space at our venue and it was beyond stunning! It was so great working with such a competent, experienced and quality team. My fiance and I were completely at ease the day of the wedding, knowing that everything was in Katie and Chef by Request's capable hands.

We would highly recommend Chef by Request to anyone looking for a considerate, flexible, helpful and all around fantastic caterer! You will not regret this decision! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
A
Wedding:
7/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Chef by Request was one of the best decisions we could have made for our July 17th wedding. I'm not sure if the negative reviews here are even talking about the right company.
CBR was the first company to call me back (within a day or two of my leaving a message) and worked closely with us to provide the absolute best experience for our big day. In the middle of planning the event specialist changed due to our original girl taking a different position. At first I was nervous because Daniel had worked so wonderfully with us, but Katie Merkle was absolutely amazing and soon set me right at ease.
These guys switched so many things around for us, answered so many of my crazy phone calls, worked closely on keeping everything right in our budget, made the day just beautiful and did so much more than I think normal catering companies do. From advice on making things flow smoothly, to recommendations based on their expertise, to my finally deciding to order a wedding cake on Monday and them having something even more beautiful than I imagined there on my Thursday wedding they just blew us away. I almost felt like they were my wedding planner they were so involved with every aspect! So professional, so helpful, and the day of they just held the most elegant event that our guests are still talking about. The food was just wonderful, some of the best I've ever had at a wedding (and I think most wedding/catered food tastes the same!), and they were able to provide for several of our guest's specialty diets including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, while providing good protein options for those guests to enjoy!
Because we had our wedding outdoors on the lawn my husband wasn't feeling too well just before dinner due to the heat. His stomach was bothering him and he could only drink water. Katie couldn't have that so she searched high and low to find him some medicine even offering to leave to go get some from a convenience store if she couldn't find it! We did get some from
Chef by Request was one of the best decisions we could have made for our July 17th wedding. I'm not sure if the negative Read more...
Chef by Request was one of the best decisions we could have made for our July 17th wedding. I'm not sure if the negative reviews here are even talking about the right company.
CBR was the first company to call me back (within a day or two of my leaving a message) and worked closely with us to provide the absolute best experience for our big day. In the middle of planning the event specialist changed due to our original girl taking a different position. At first I was nervous because Daniel had worked so wonderfully with us, but Katie Merkle was absolutely amazing and soon set me right at ease.
These guys switched so many things around for us, answered so many of my crazy phone calls, worked closely on keeping everything right in our budget, made the day just beautiful and did so much more than I think normal catering companies do. From advice on making things flow smoothly, to recommendations based on their expertise, to my finally deciding to order a wedding cake on Monday and them having something even more beautiful than I imagined there on my Thursday wedding they just blew us away. I almost felt like they were my wedding planner they were so involved with every aspect! So professional, so helpful, and the day of they just held the most elegant event that our guests are still talking about. The food was just wonderful, some of the best I've ever had at a wedding (and I think most wedding/catered food tastes the same!), and they were able to provide for several of our guest's specialty diets including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, while providing good protein options for those guests to enjoy!
Because we had our wedding outdoors on the lawn my husband wasn't feeling too well just before dinner due to the heat. His stomach was bothering him and he could only drink water. Katie couldn't have that so she searched high and low to find him some medicine even offering to leave to go get some from a convenience store if she couldn't find it! We did get some from Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Jane Ellen
Wedding:
12/27/2013
5.0/5.0
At Chef By Request, they are dedicated to assisting their clients with every aspect of the event planning process. Just as the brochure states: exquisite cuisine, first class presentation and impeccable service were combined to exceed our highest expectations! Starting the evening with delicious appetizers that pleased every palette on a cold winter evening, to perfectly cooked filet mignon and filet of salmon, mashed potatoes served with asparagus sprinkled with diced red peppers, the meal was a 5 STAR! The tables were set with elegance and perfection. And the excellent staff served and cleared without being noticed. The wines and champagne recommended by Chef David Miller were superb. Danielle Guzman, our wedding coordinator, was outstanding! Most importantly, the staff catered to our needs and did not upsell us on a single item needed for the wedding. The Dan Hayes Orchestra was the entertainment for the evening and complimented the Chef By Request staff for cooperating with the logistics of a 12 piece orchestra. Our daughter and son-in-law's wedding was a night to remember for years. We highly recommend Chef By Request!
At Chef By Request, they are dedicated to assisting their clients with every aspect of the event planning process. Just as Read more...
At Chef By Request, they are dedicated to assisting their clients with every aspect of the event planning process. Just as the brochure states: exquisite cuisine, first class presentation and impeccable service were combined to exceed our highest expectations! Starting the evening with delicious appetizers that pleased every palette on a cold winter evening, to perfectly cooked filet mignon and filet of salmon, mashed potatoes served with asparagus sprinkled with diced red peppers, the meal was a 5 STAR! The tables were set with elegance and perfection. And the excellent staff served and cleared without being noticed. The wines and champagne recommended by Chef David Miller were superb. Danielle Guzman, our wedding coordinator, was outstanding! Most importantly, the staff catered to our needs and did not upsell us on a single item needed for the wedding. The Dan Hayes Orchestra was the entertainment for the evening and complimented the Chef By Request staff for cooperating with the logistics of a 12 piece orchestra. Our daughter and son-in-law's wedding was a night to remember for years. We highly recommend Chef By Request! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Chef by request was a wonderful company to work with and made the planning of our reception easy and fun! They were incredibly accommodating of both mine as well as my now husbands work schedules and were incredibly flexible when it came to arranging tastings (even though they were at often at later/odd times. As far as the day of the wedding/ reception goes - the food and service was FANTASTIC! The guests absolutely raved about the food the day of the reception and they continue to tell me how good the food at our reception was! Overall my husband and I were very very pleased with your services and would highly recommend your services to those who are looking for a caterer!!!!!
Chef by request was a wonderful company to work with and made the planning of our reception easy and fun! They were Read more...
Chef by request was a wonderful company to work with and made the planning of our reception easy and fun! They were incredibly accommodating of both mine as well as my now husbands work schedules and were incredibly flexible when it came to arranging tastings (even though they were at often at later/odd times. As far as the day of the wedding/ reception goes - the food and service was FANTASTIC! The guests absolutely raved about the food the day of the reception and they continue to tell me how good the food at our reception was! Overall my husband and I were very very pleased with your services and would highly recommend your services to those who are looking for a caterer!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful.
The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful.
The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Sabine
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I am very picky with the quality of food I use to cook with, so I expected the same from our caterer. Chef by Request did not disappoint. Everything was flavored and cooked to perfection, so no dried out tuff tasteless meat. The food was outstanding and the service staff was doing a great job.
I can not praise the staff enough for how at ease everything was done and how friendly and professional everyone was toward us and our guest.
Our wedding turned out to be our dream wedding with the help of Chef by Request. Thank you!!!
I am very picky with the quality of food I use to cook with, so I expected the same from our caterer. Chef by Request did Read more...
I am very picky with the quality of food I use to cook with, so I expected the same from our caterer. Chef by Request did not disappoint. Everything was flavored and cooked to perfection, so no dried out tuff tasteless meat. The food was outstanding and the service staff was doing a great job.
I can not praise the staff enough for how at ease everything was done and how friendly and professional everyone was toward us and our guest.
Our wedding turned out to be our dream wedding with the help of Chef by Request. Thank you!!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Jaime
Wedding:
7/18/2013
5.0/5.0
We really enjoyed working with Chef by Request for our wedding. They were very helpful in helping us figure out the perfect menu for our special day that was within our budget. The Chef by Request workers were extremely organized, timely, and polite the day of our event and made sure we (including the bridal party) had everything we needed throughout the reception. I would definitely recommend hiring Chef by Request for your event!
We really enjoyed working with Chef by Request for our wedding. They were very helpful in helping us figure out the Read more...
We really enjoyed working with Chef by Request for our wedding. They were very helpful in helping us figure out the perfect menu for our special day that was within our budget. The Chef by Request workers were extremely organized, timely, and polite the day of our event and made sure we (including the bridal party) had everything we needed throughout the reception. I would definitely recommend hiring Chef by Request for your event! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering

DEALS

Free Bar Upgrade
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $600 Value
When Chef By request caters your wedding reception of 100 guests or more, you receive a FREE Bar Upgrade at a maximum of $3 per guest, or a $600 value. Just print this coupon and bring it with you when you meet with us to plan your special wedding day!
Deal #WW48b974256db5ee5c
220x220 1209409697147 apps

MAP

 
5100 Academy Drive, Suite 200, Lisle, IL 60532 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chef By Request
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1209409697147 apps