130x130 sq 1209409697147 apps

Chef By Request

Lisle , IL

LOCATION

5100 Academy Drive, Suite 200
Lisle, IL 60532 US (map)

PHONE

630-493-4300

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

When it comes to your wedding day we believe there is absolutely no margin for error.

Allow Chef By Request to create an atmosphere of unforgettable elegance to complement the... Read more
When it comes to your wedding day we believe there is absolutely no margin for error.

Allow Chef By Request to create an atmosphere of unforgettable elegance to complement the most memorable event of your lifetime, one you will treasure forever.

Exquisite cuisine, first-class presentation and impeccable service are the essential ingredients we combine to exceed your highest expectations.

Decadent formal tastings and custom menus are presented to assist in fulfilling your every desire.

Please visit our Venues and Associations page for a list of fine establishments we proudly work with. However, we are always happy to make special arrangements with facilities not listed on our site.

Please visit our website to see what our clients say about us, view a full photo gallery, and schedule your free consultation with a professional event coordinator.

Chef By Request always offers Special Promotions and Wedding Packages. Be sure to take a peek at our current offers!

Custom Catering to Every Degree!
630.493.4300
www.chefbyrequest.com






HISTORY



Chef By Request was founded in 1996 as a private party caterer in the western suburbs of Chicago. Our Executive Chef, David Miller, was a recent graduate from the prestigious Johnson and Wales Culinary University on the East Coast. His professional career began with the accolade of being named one of the first 66 in the nation, as well as the first in Illinois to receive a Bachelors of Culinary Arts Degree. The dream and vision of Chef By Request was founded on what we like to call "Hospitality in its most natural form." This foundation begins with solid relationships with our supplying vendors and results in freshly prepared ingredients, providing a premium finished product.

Chef David went on to achieve the esteemed status of Certified Executive Chef (CEC) in 2000, and remains an active 17-year-member of the American Culinary Federation. David also received the prestigious President's Award in 2004 from the ACF Chicago. Our chef soon engaged in the love for fine wine, and in 2007 completed a wine studies certificate from the top rated Culinary Institute of America in St. Helena, CA. Leading the way, Chef By Request continued to perfect the recipe for Success by being nominated for Naperville's small business of the year award and Winning "Best Caterer" in 2010 through 2015 for Naperville Magazine. In 2011, Chef By Request was recognized once again with our outstanding community involvement and won the "Small Business of the Year" Award and the "Business to Consumer" Award from the Naperville Area Chamber of Commerce. Recently, in 2012, Chef By Request's contributions resulted in a winning episode of TLC's "Four Weddings." Owner David Miller was elected in 2015 to the Naperville Chamber Board of Directors.



COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP ROLES & INVOLVEMENT

• Naperville Chamber of Commerce - 18 year member and currently serving a 3-year-term on the Board of Directors
• Naperville Heritage Alliance member - contributing an annual $5000 in sponsorship and gifts in kind
• Naperville Little Friends supporter for 18 years giving 2 annual gift sponsorships
• 13-year chef mentor for annual career day at Hill Middle School
• 12-year gift in kind sponsor for "Dinner with The Mayor" benefiting the Naperville chamber
• 10-year past supporter of Naperville P.A.D.S. program as food donation coordinator
• 5-year past adjunct faculty at College of DuPage and supporter of hospitality program
• 10-year past participant in Naperville's RIBFEST and Naperville Exchange Club with a gift in kind donations totaling over $30,000
• 12-year sponsor of food donations for NCHS and NNHS senior night
• Annual Hole Sponsor for Naperville Mayor's golf outing
• Catering partner with North central College and 5 year member of the NCC Presidents Circle
• 3-year board of directors and contributor - Lisle Chamber of Commerce
• Gift in kind donor, sponsor and participant for 18 local not-for-profits, 6 churches and 8 local schools


TESTIMONIALS

"Thank you a million times for making our day so special and stress free. You were so wonderful to work with and I fell so lucky we found you. Your staff and you were so wonderful I couldn’t have expected anything more. Thank you again!"
- Katie and Dan M.

"Just wanted to take a minute to thank you for helping to make our daughter’s wedding perfect! Cindy did a wonderful job of organizing and making sure everything went smoothly. The food was absolutely delicious! We received so many compliments on our choice of caterer! Chef By Request is definitely a first class organization. Thanks again!"
- Sandi and Hugh F.

"Thank you for making our wedding reception such an enjoyable experience – from the planning stages to the reception at the Morton Arboretum, we appreciate the attention to detail and personal service. Our wedding guests are still raving about the food, specifically the taste and presentation."
- Annette and John H.

"I want to thank you again for all your invaluable help with this wedding. I don’t know what we would have done without you. Everything was perfect and we have you to thank. We received so many complements on the food and the service. Everyone was wonderful."
- Sue L.

"My family, Mark and I can not thank you enough for everything you did to make our day beautiful and memorable! The energy you put into helping us arrange the reception, attend to stunning details, and to keeping the party going was truly amazing! We received so many compliments on the food and service. Several people noted that the food was the best they’ve had at a wedding (including my husband). You were truly an integral part of this magical day and I am so grateful for all that you did for us! Thank you again for everything!"
- Cathy and Mark P. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1204922032862 table08
130x130 sq 1349627668033 cbrplated3
130x130 sq 1204922084237 picture 002
130x130 sq 1349627644360 cbrfruit
130x130 sq 1349627728948 cbrsushi2
130x130 sq 1349627633852 cbrdessert
130x130 sq 1349627611724 cbrchefdessert
130x130 sq 1349627712831 cbrshrimp
130x130 sq 1217690713255 gardemanger
130x130 sq 1217691095083 chefplated
130x130 sq 1349627720338 cbrsushi
130x130 sq 1204921709659 cbr1
130x130 sq 1204922047597 wedding01
130x130 sq 1349627653891 cbrplated
130x130 sq 1204922104331 picture 006
130x130 sq 1349628270453 cbrcake4
130x130 sq 1217690638474 wedding
130x130 sq 1349627661722 cbrplated2
130x130 sq 1204921796815 icearch02
130x130 sq 1349627674292 cbrplated4
130x130 sq 1204922124222 picture 013
130x130 sq 1217691062895 champagnetoast
130x130 sq 1349628085501 cake4
130x130 sq 1349627600805 cbrapp2
130x130 sq 1349627684479 cbrsalad
130x130 sq 1349627627263 cbrcupcakes
130x130 sq 1349627697630 cbrsalad2
130x130 sq 1349627706105 cbrsalmon
130x130 sq 1349627734970 cbrveggies
130x130 sq 1349628093160 dessert131
130x130 sq 1461089663803 hp award 2011 v1
130x130 sq 1461089663885 weddings fourweddings v1
130x130 sq 1461089668588 best of naperville
130x130 sq 1461089673645 weddingwireaward2016

INFO FOR CATERING

What event services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cake, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres, Outside Cake OK, Plated, Stations, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Outside Alcohol OK, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
Which of the following items can you provide?
Chairs, Tables
Which of the following items can you provide?
Barware, China, Chocolate Fountain, Flatware, Glassware, Linens

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Libby
Wedding:
6/3/2016
5.0/5.0
Do you want your guests walking up to you the entire night of the wedding and for weeks after telling you how good your wedding food was? Awesome, me too! Chef by Request made that happen. Katie was so much fun and awesome to work with! She really helped build a completely custom and perfect menu. We had a chicken and steak dish off of their "Farm to Table" menu and a two different appetizers. Everything was SO good, I wish I could have it again!! Chef by Requests staff the night of was very attentive and polite too. I highly recommend CBR for your event!!
Do you want your guests walking up to you the entire night of the wedding and for weeks after telling you how good your Read more...
Do you want your guests walking up to you the entire night of the wedding and for weeks after telling you how good your wedding food was? Awesome, me too! Chef by Request made that happen. Katie was so much fun and awesome to work with! She really helped build a completely custom and perfect menu. We had a chicken and steak dish off of their "Farm to Table" menu and a two different appetizers. Everything was SO good, I wish I could have it again!! Chef by Requests staff the night of was very attentive and polite too. I highly recommend CBR for your event!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/28/2016
5.0/5.0
My art museum wedding was beautiful and I had Katie constantly checking in with me to make sure my husband and I were happy. They were more than accommodating with our financial situation. Very professional! So happy with how it all turned out.
My art museum wedding was beautiful and I had Katie constantly checking in with me to make sure my husband and I were Read more...
My art museum wedding was beautiful and I had Katie constantly checking in with me to make sure my husband and I were happy. They were more than accommodating with our financial situation. Very professional! So happy with how it all turned out. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/16/2015
5.0/5.0
Chef by Request was the caterer for our wedding and they were a hit. All around, everything you could want in a caterer. The food (appetizers, salad, plated main course, late night snack) was delicious, served warm and fresh (made on site) by a great team of friendly servers and staff. We worked with Katie Merkle, who was so awesome. She listened to our needs, provided feedback and helped us build a menu that was personalized, seasonal and pleased all of our guests. Chef by request was so accomodating and welcoming--we couldn't have asked for a better vendor to handle this important part of our wedding day. If you are planning an event in the Chicago area, you owe it to yourself to give them a call!
Chef by Request was the caterer for our wedding and they were a hit. All around, everything you could want in a caterer. Read more...
Chef by Request was the caterer for our wedding and they were a hit. All around, everything you could want in a caterer. The food (appetizers, salad, plated main course, late night snack) was delicious, served warm and fresh (made on site) by a great team of friendly servers and staff. We worked with Katie Merkle, who was so awesome. She listened to our needs, provided feedback and helped us build a menu that was personalized, seasonal and pleased all of our guests. Chef by request was so accomodating and welcoming--we couldn't have asked for a better vendor to handle this important part of our wedding day. If you are planning an event in the Chicago area, you owe it to yourself to give them a call! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Absolutely impressed with the quality of the food, helpfulness of the staff, and ease to work with. We had a backyard reception and they did a great job...Although it was in our backyard, it wasn't super casual based on the food/decor. We had a buffet-style with chicken, pasta, and a meat as an entree, veggies, potatoes, etc. People were extremely impressed with the quality of the food and service. (We also hired them as bartenders.) Pricing is fair for what they provide, and much less expensive than other caterers in the area. THANK YOU! :)
Absolutely impressed with the quality of the food, helpfulness of the staff, and ease to work with. We had a backyard Read more...
Absolutely impressed with the quality of the food, helpfulness of the staff, and ease to work with. We had a backyard reception and they did a great job...Although it was in our backyard, it wasn't super casual based on the food/decor. We had a buffet-style with chicken, pasta, and a meat as an entree, veggies, potatoes, etc. People were extremely impressed with the quality of the food and service. (We also hired them as bartenders.) Pricing is fair for what they provide, and much less expensive than other caterers in the area. THANK YOU! :) Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Mark
Wedding:
8/15/2015
5.0/5.0
We decided to use their Brazilian Menu, and the executed the entire event with professionalism, quality, and more important amazing food (beyond our expectations). Many guests said this was the best food they have had in any other weddings.
We decided to use their Brazilian Menu, and the executed the entire event with professionalism, quality, and more Read more...
We decided to use their Brazilian Menu, and the executed the entire event with professionalism, quality, and more important amazing food (beyond our expectations). Many guests said this was the best food they have had in any other weddings. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Katie Merkle and the rest of the staff at Chef By Request did an exceptional job making our vision come to life. We had a breakfast-for-dinner superhero-themed wedding, and Katie and the staff were 100% on board from our first meeting. Never once were we made to feel like we were doing something wrong or inappropriate by having a nontraditional event; in fact, Katie was eager to send ideas about themed drinks and even had the bartender show up dressed as Batman! All of the wait staff and both bartenders were professional and on point all evening. We did run out of bacon before the end of the evening, but I found out later that some of my guests sneaked in for seconds before some people had had firsts!

Overall, my husband and I had an overwhelmingly positive experience working with Katie and her staff from entree selection to budgeting to service delivery, and we would recommend CBR to anyone. Just make sure to order extra bacon. :-)
Katie Merkle and the rest of the staff at Chef By Request did an exceptional job making our vision come to life. We had a Read more...
Katie Merkle and the rest of the staff at Chef By Request did an exceptional job making our vision come to life. We had a breakfast-for-dinner superhero-themed wedding, and Katie and the staff were 100% on board from our first meeting. Never once were we made to feel like we were doing something wrong or inappropriate by having a nontraditional event; in fact, Katie was eager to send ideas about themed drinks and even had the bartender show up dressed as Batman! All of the wait staff and both bartenders were professional and on point all evening. We did run out of bacon before the end of the evening, but I found out later that some of my guests sneaked in for seconds before some people had had firsts!

Overall, my husband and I had an overwhelmingly positive experience working with Katie and her staff from entree selection to budgeting to service delivery, and we would recommend CBR to anyone. Just make sure to order extra bacon. :-) Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Aly
Wedding:
6/13/2015
5.0/5.0
Katie Merkle is a DREAM!! We had a hard time finding a caterer that would be a good fit for our less than traditional, oversized wedding. Chef by Request was everything we wanted and more. Their food was incredible, we did Chicago-themed served family style for our 270 person outdoor wedding. While the food was delicious, the service staff and professionalism of CBR was what really blew us away. Like I said, Katie is one of my favorite people on earth. Amazing energy and ready to take on any challenge. And our wedding was definitely a challenge. Our reception was in a tent located probably 30 feet away from a lodge that had the kitchen for the CBR staff. And right about dinner time it decided to monsoon, meaning the staff had to run back and forth through INSANE rain, trying to get the food out to all of our guests in a timely manner, while at the same time, keeping it covered so the rain wouldn't destroy it. They were INCREDIBLE!! And the servers were all amazingly attentive and very kind! Honestly, they were the best choice we could have made and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a STELLAR caterer for any event! Thank you Katie and the CBR team!
Katie Merkle is a DREAM!! We had a hard time finding a caterer that would be a good fit for our less than traditional, Read more...
Katie Merkle is a DREAM!! We had a hard time finding a caterer that would be a good fit for our less than traditional, oversized wedding. Chef by Request was everything we wanted and more. Their food was incredible, we did Chicago-themed served family style for our 270 person outdoor wedding. While the food was delicious, the service staff and professionalism of CBR was what really blew us away. Like I said, Katie is one of my favorite people on earth. Amazing energy and ready to take on any challenge. And our wedding was definitely a challenge. Our reception was in a tent located probably 30 feet away from a lodge that had the kitchen for the CBR staff. And right about dinner time it decided to monsoon, meaning the staff had to run back and forth through INSANE rain, trying to get the food out to all of our guests in a timely manner, while at the same time, keeping it covered so the rain wouldn't destroy it. They were INCREDIBLE!! And the servers were all amazingly attentive and very kind! Honestly, they were the best choice we could have made and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a STELLAR caterer for any event! Thank you Katie and the CBR team! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Yolanda
Wedding:
6/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Pulled off a perfect evening! Everything went smoothly and we were able to simply enjoy our wedding! The service was terrific and the food was delicious!
Pulled off a perfect evening! Everything went smoothly and we were able to simply enjoy our wedding! The service was Read more...
Pulled off a perfect evening! Everything went smoothly and we were able to simply enjoy our wedding! The service was terrific and the food was delicious! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Becky
Wedding:
5/8/2015
5.0/5.0
I got married and Danada House so Chef by Request was already a recommended vendor which made my decision really easy. I was choosing between 2 caterers and I chose CBR because the food was fantastic and Katie, the sales manager, was attentive, but not pushy. The process was incredibly easy for us. Katie was easy to work with and completely on top of everything. She worked with Danada house and our Band on everything so I only really needed to work with her instead of 4 different people. The day of the wedding the wait staff was very nice and attentive and Katie was there and on top of things. They were extremely accommodating. The 3.5 year old ring bearer really loved macaroni and cheese, but also wanted the beef entree the adults were getting so they put together a combination plate for him which he loved. My fiancee and I loved all 3 entrees and had a hard time choosing so they brought all 3 for us, while only charging for 2. They also brought out extra meals for our photographer when my fiancee found out he didn't enjoy the vendor meal all that much and wanted to make sure he had a good meal since he had been so amazing to us all day. I have no complaints about Chef by Request and highly recommend them to anyone with the amazing food and the amazing service from Katie.
I got married and Danada House so Chef by Request was already a recommended vendor which made my decision really easy. I Read more...
I got married and Danada House so Chef by Request was already a recommended vendor which made my decision really easy. I was choosing between 2 caterers and I chose CBR because the food was fantastic and Katie, the sales manager, was attentive, but not pushy. The process was incredibly easy for us. Katie was easy to work with and completely on top of everything. She worked with Danada house and our Band on everything so I only really needed to work with her instead of 4 different people. The day of the wedding the wait staff was very nice and attentive and Katie was there and on top of things. They were extremely accommodating. The 3.5 year old ring bearer really loved macaroni and cheese, but also wanted the beef entree the adults were getting so they put together a combination plate for him which he loved. My fiancee and I loved all 3 entrees and had a hard time choosing so they brought all 3 for us, while only charging for 2. They also brought out extra meals for our photographer when my fiancee found out he didn't enjoy the vendor meal all that much and wanted to make sure he had a good meal since he had been so amazing to us all day. I have no complaints about Chef by Request and highly recommend them to anyone with the amazing food and the amazing service from Katie. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Colleen
Wedding:
5/2/2015
5.0/5.0
My fiance and I recently worked with Chef by Request for our wedding in May 2015. We could not have asked for a better partner in not just catering our wedding, but also assisting in planning our wedding. We worked closely with Katie M. throughout the process. She is fantastic!! Katie was very patient and very helpful, while being very responsive. Katie as well as the whole Chef by Request team, were very flexible. They helped us create our perfect wedding day, while being mindful of our budget and special needs. We had the most memorable and amazing wedding day, we literally could not have asked for more!

The food was very well received by our guests. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing!! I would highly recommend the artichoke beignets as an appetizer, they are amazingly delicious! The catering team also set up the space at our venue and it was beyond stunning! It was so great working with such a competent, experienced and quality team. My fiance and I were completely at ease the day of the wedding, knowing that everything was in Katie and Chef by Request's capable hands.

We would highly recommend Chef by Request to anyone looking for a considerate, flexible, helpful and all around fantastic caterer! You will not regret this decision!
My fiance and I recently worked with Chef by Request for our wedding in May 2015. We could not have asked for a better Read more...
My fiance and I recently worked with Chef by Request for our wedding in May 2015. We could not have asked for a better partner in not just catering our wedding, but also assisting in planning our wedding. We worked closely with Katie M. throughout the process. She is fantastic!! Katie was very patient and very helpful, while being very responsive. Katie as well as the whole Chef by Request team, were very flexible. They helped us create our perfect wedding day, while being mindful of our budget and special needs. We had the most memorable and amazing wedding day, we literally could not have asked for more!

The food was very well received by our guests. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing!! I would highly recommend the artichoke beignets as an appetizer, they are amazingly delicious! The catering team also set up the space at our venue and it was beyond stunning! It was so great working with such a competent, experienced and quality team. My fiance and I were completely at ease the day of the wedding, knowing that everything was in Katie and Chef by Request's capable hands.

We would highly recommend Chef by Request to anyone looking for a considerate, flexible, helpful and all around fantastic caterer! You will not regret this decision! Read less
Services Used: Catering

DEALS

Free Bar Upgrade
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $600 Value
When Chef By request caters your wedding reception of 100 guests or more, you receive a FREE Bar Upgrade at a maximum of $3 per guest, or a $600 value. Just print this coupon and bring it with you when you meet with us to plan your special wedding day!
Deal #WW48b974256db5ee5c
220x220 1209409697147 apps

MAP

 
5100 Academy Drive, Suite 200, Lisle, IL 60532 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chef By Request
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1209409697147 apps