130x130_sq_1397735083975-barry-low-res001

Chicago Weddings

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Chicago, IL US (map)

PHONE

630-392-1953

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Our joy is in helping couples celebrate the love they had found in each other. Carefully prepared with input by the two of you, we craft a ceremony that best reflects your love story.... Read more
Our joy is in helping couples celebrate the love they had found in each other. Carefully prepared with input by the two of you, we craft a ceremony that best reflects your love story. After officiating weddings for more than thirty years, we bring the experience and flexibility you look for to make a ceremony unique. Provided samples of vows, readings, and beautiful ideas which could used in the ceremony becomes a great place to start. But always open to suggestions.

Couples tell us all the time how much they appreciate our guidance, flexibility and overall upbeat personality. In fact, most couples say that one of the most important aspects of choosing their officiant is that they feel a connection with the person who is marrying them. So we offer to meet at no cost or obligation before making your final decision of officiant.

We perform non-religious, religious and multi-cultural wedding ceremonies all over the Chicago area. And proudly one of the most reasonably priced officiant services in Chicago, ceremonies start at $200.

It is rare but what happens if something takes place unforeseen at the last minute? One of our other officiants is able to step in guaranteeing the ceremony will not be interuppted. We all use the same materials and guidelines insuring each couple knows exactly what to expect, plus you have a safety net.

So best wishes to you both from our Team!
Rev. Barry Kolanowski, Rev Jeff Ginsburg, Rev Janine Nichol, Rev Brian Evans, Rev Geoff Mitchell


www.chicagoweddings.org Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1316621217194-dscn0187
130x130_sq_1233354992765-postcard
130x130_sq_1233354015140-odysseyboatwedding
130x130_sq_1233353901765-chateaubuschewedding
130x130_sq_1233074756359-sabina1
130x130_sq_1316620836538-brianandsabinarodenkirch2
130x130_sq_1233353940062-genevawedding
130x130_sq_1347414142236-jeff1
130x130_sq_1347413693455-jeffwithcouple
130x130_sq_1233353975640-navypierwedding
130x130_sq_1233354034671-parkwedding
130x130_sq_1316621553522-staceymikenathan
130x130_sq_1347413928974-brianevanspix
130x130_sq_1347413798667-brianevansweddingb
130x130_sq_1316621539663-new1
130x130_sq_1316620875585-bridesmaidsandme
130x130_sq_1316621060288-carrieandaaron
130x130_sq_1316621088007-danielleandkris
130x130_sq_1233353876781-churchwedding
130x130_sq_1316621265100-dscn0194
130x130_sq_1316621292866-dscn0207
130x130_sq_1316621315069-dscn0424
130x130_sq_1347414574253-janineatriverside
130x130_sq_1316621457538-kellyandalexey
130x130_sq_1316621363928-dscn0436
130x130_sq_1316621394600-dscn0474
130x130_sq_1316621526241-kristinaandjaysand
130x130_sq_1316621411444-haydenwedding1
130x130_sq_1316621430632-haydenwedding3
130x130_sq_1316621473241-kohlwedding

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Christian (no denomination), Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Evangelical
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Couples for which I have performed weddings have selected all types of sites such as luxury hotels on Michigan Avenue, Buckingham Fountain, Museums, home gardens, parks and banquet halls.
What is your attire for the ceremony?
I wear a conservative dark suit with tie.
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
I provide samples but couples are encouraged to select the wording used in the ceremony from the very beginning. All of my samples are meant to help and not to restrict. I am very flexible in all aspects of the ceremony and open to suggestions.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Couples are always welcome to write their own vows and it can provide a special touch. You can use the samples I provide as a guide but you are more than welcome to put some thoughts down on an index card and I hand it to you at the appropriate time of the ceremony.
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
Couples are never required to use my samples, however everyone is grateful for the large selection of readings I do provide. The samples include the traditional and romantic to quotes from movies and other sources, just so they represent who you are as a couple.
How long are your ceremonies?
A typical wedding ceremony has two readings, some type of unity celebration and lasts about 20 minutes. Some weddings incorporate various cultural and religious expressions which may add to the time.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
I do not require premarital counseling/classes, but for those interested in building on their already great relationship I offer two options: Attend my high-energy, fun, Partner For Life one day workshop held at a local hotel or country club and the other is to utilitze my self directed workbook that where couples read various real life scenarios separately and compare their answers. It is a great way to open up avenues of communication previously untouched.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
I would be happy to help coordinate your rehearsal. There is a nominal additional cost for coordinating rehearsals. Some venues, you don't really need an officiant to help coordinate, others will tell you "here's the space, let us know when you leave". In the latter case, you will really want someone there.
Do you supply a sound system?
I do not bring a sound system at this time, however, I do speak up enough that in most applications it is not needed for my performing your ceremony.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
5/23/2014
5.0/5.0
"It was the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to" - our families and guests said this to is all night and we agreed! We were impressed and put at ease from the moment we met Rev Barry. He is very good at what he does and you can tell he cares very deeply for the couples he has married. The planning process of the ceremony itself was so easy and completely customizable and we felt that we were very well represented in our ceremony. He was prompt at sending out marriage License to the proper place and sent us a confirmation email the very next day. Couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Jeff Ginsburg as our officiant. We found out about Jeff because he had officiated my brother's wedding a year prior and did a fantastic job. For our wedding Jeff did a wonderful job. He met with us when we could fit it into our schedule to discuss our relationship and the type of wedding we were interested in. He was more than happy to accommodate anything we wanted into our wedding. He spoke in a very professional yet warm tone and really made our ceremony wonderful. For our rehearsal he helped us organize everything and make sure we were ready for our big day. We would HIGHLY recommend Jeff to anyone getting married. He is fantastic!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pat
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Just like every other review for Rev Barry, ours will be the same. He was absolutely fantastic and we could not have been happier with everything he did for us. He was always prompt with returning phone calls or emails and exceeded all of our expectations from beginning to end. Even with living overseas during our wedding planning we were able to coordinate everything with him about we wanted in our ceremony over email and also a brief visit with him a couple days before our big day. If you are looking for an officiant, then look no further because he is the best out there!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hillary
Wedding:
4/11/2014
5.0/5.0
I could not imagine anyone else officiating our wedding! Throughout our wedding planning process Rev Barry was supportive, encouraging, and easily accessible for advice as needed. With guidance Rev Barry assisted my husband and I in creating a unique ceremony, that we will never forget. Rev Barry did a wonderful job illustrating our love story throughout our ceremony. As a person I can easily say Rev Barry is caring, supportive, and comforting-you would be making a mistake if you did not choose Rev Barry as your officiant!
-Hillary Nechi
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry is truly an amazing officiant. We have never met with someone who is so genuine, kind, and thoroughly professional. Our ceremony was filled with smiles, tears, and laughter; a truly unforgettable moment for me and my husband. There is no one else that we would ever recommend other than Rev Barry!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aubrey
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry is simply the best. From start to finish, he made crafting our ceremony a breeze. He gave us guidance as needed, while also making sure our story was told. He had the crowd laughing and crying! I found Reverend Barry to be very comfortable to work with and his kind spirit was contagious. I am so happy with our ceremony, it couldn't have been more beautiful and I have him to thank! :)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
2/15/2014
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have been happier with Rev Barry. He was professional, warm and compassionate. He listened to what we wanted for our ceremony and delivered a wonderful experience. He gave us all the necessary tools to make our night exactly what we wanted. I would absolutely recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry officiated our wedding, and he did an excellent job! Although we contacted him on very short notice, he was always kind, professional, and prompt. We were very happy with the ceremony, and we highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shawn
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Barry was the perfect choice for my wife and I. From the first time we spoke, all the way to the day he joined us in marriage, Barry was absolutely great. I would highly recommend Barry for his services. If you value sincere and friendly service, you'll appreciate using Chicago Weddings.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I needed a minister ASAP and I was recommended Chicago weddings. I called and immediately received a call from the minister Jeffrey Ginsberg. He was so nice and told me he would do my wedding. I loved how he accepted in such a short time period and he put the ceremony together in one night! He also made it to our rehearsal but if he didn't, each minister had a backup so you wouldn't be let down. I love Chicago weddings and I'm so glad I found them.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry officiated our wedding this past November. He was a pleasure to work with and his services were exactly what we were looking for. He was responsive, personable, timely, and we were able to customize our ceremony to our exact specifications.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianna
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry officiated our wedding and he was wonderful! He was extremely flexible about customizing our wedding as he even let my aunt co-oefficiate with him to make the wedding perfect! He was very relaxed and spoke clearly and loud enough so everyone could hear. I knew mine and my husband's love story inside and out, but Rev Barry told it in such a beautiful way, it had me tearing up, not to mention everyone else! :) He also added a bit of humor to make us relaxed as well. I would definitely recommend him to anyone having a wedding or special event!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had a very small ceremony and Rev. Barry made it so very special for us. Our original plans had changed, so he took the last minute changes and ran with it. He brought it all together and gifted us with a beautiful, intimate ceremony that we will cherish forever. Thank you and God Bless you Rev. Barry.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Isabel
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry was wonderful! He took the time to talk with us and was open to our thoughts. I have no complaints from the service he provided! Thank you!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved having you as our officiant. Everyone at our wedding raved about you and how professional you were and also had some humor to the service. We highly recommend you to any future brides out there. You made us feel very comfortable through out the entire process and were always available for emails or phone calls for any questions or concerns we had. Thank you so much.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Barry truly MADE the ceremony. It's been 3 days since the wedding and I am still getting messages and calls from people about how beautifully the wording was at the ceremony. Barry let's you totally customize what you would like said and he is really flexible for any last minute changes or special requests you may have. He is an excellent speaker with a lot of confidence behind his voice, which I think makes all the difference. We had a completely NON-religious wedding and he did an all around great job on it. After the wedding, my new husband asked me how much we paid for Barry to be our officiant. He said that he felt Barry was the best value vendor we had hired that day.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucy
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jeff, we just had our wedding and he was phenomenal made our day extra special with my husband my kids and all her friends and family I liked how he included a personal touch of getting to know us the quality of the service was excellent we got so much feedback from our friends and family complementing our ceremony.he gave us lots of ideas for the ceremony and was very thorough with explaining the whole process.it was an excellent choice and choosing Chicago wedding everything went according to plan. Thank you again Reverend Jeff you made Our day And an ever lasting memory
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizzette
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jeff Ginsburg officiated our ceremony at the Wit hotel, and he was absolutely wonderful! Our friends keep telling us what a great and heartfelt ceremony it was, which is exactly what we were hoping for. Rev. Ginsburg was incredibly easy to work with, and a true professional. He was so quick to respond to all of the emails we sent him before the wedding, and on the day of, he made sure to show up an hour before the ceremony started. During the ceremony, I LOVED that he incorporated details about us as a couple, which we mentioned to him when we initially met him at a coffee shop. It felt so personalized! He also incorporated the special lasso and arras ceremony (we are both Mexican-American), which my family greatly enjoyed. Rev. Jeff far exceeded both of our expectations; thank you very much!!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1360338533927-232323232fp43447nu3984299235wsnrcg3737884326nu0mrj
Aubrey
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We had the pleasure of having Jeff Ginsburg as our officiant for our ceremony, and saying he went above and beyond doesn't even begin to describe how much he did for us. Not only did he work with us to make every aspect of our ceremony exactly as we had envisioned, he also was quick to talk with me whenever needed (and as a busy bride, this is a wonderful quality to have).

In addition to the amazing ceremony he put together for us, he also was able to be flexible on the day of the ceremony. Our ceremony was held outdoors, and saying that it rained would be an understatement. The monsoon that let loose 10 minutes before the ceremony began had everyone scrambling, but Jeff continued to be calm and made the moment wonderful for us despite the weather.

Our ceremony was flawless, and we really have Jeff to thank for his organization and follow through. Thank you!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry performed a great service for us - several people at the reception made a point of commenting even! He was easy to work with and helped make the day go smoothly as well.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Barry was wonderful! He was so friendly and easy to work with. He took the time to really talk to us and learn about us. He made our ceremony personal and we received so many compliments on how beautiful it was. We definitely recommend Barry to any couple getting married :)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Rev. Geoff Mitchell and could not have been happier! We were definitely in a crunch when our original officiant got cold feet and suggested we get a professional (my brother-in-law). We live out of state so had to do everything via phone/computer. We interviewed a few people before finding ChicagoWedding.org but I just wasn't sold on them. They were all judges we had interviewed and it seemed too impersonal. One of them wouldn't even come more than 10 minutes before the ceremony so we could meet in person. I just did some more googling, and this group came up. We called Rev. Barry who was extremely nice and welcoming and he found that Rev. Mitchell was available. He was great - he Skyped with us, was very prompt with emailing us back, his packet was extremely helpful! My now husband met with him before the ceremony and he came almost an hour early for us!! I was busy drinking champagne and trying not to be nervous, but I know they went over everything together. Highly recommend him!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Barry was great! He gave us the exact ceremony that we wanted. It was beautiful, and even though we had met once before I don't think that anyone could tell. We received a lot of compliments about how great he was after the wedding.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sari
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Rev. Jeff Ginsburg for our wedding ceremony and we could not be more pleased. He was extremely attentive, professional and made us feel so calm on our day. We highly recommend him to anyone looking for a ceremony full of love. He customized the ceremony exactly to our liking and provided us with the most beautiful words. Thank you, Jeff!!!!!


Sari and Dan Salvesen
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Brian Evans was our officiant and he was AMAZING! He is the sweetest man and really got to know us at our 2 meetings. Everyone commented on how great he was. Brian is very sweet, funny, and makes putting together a ceremony easy (especially for me who had no idea what I was doing).
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanna
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We couldn't be more thankful to have had Rev. Barry conduct our wedding ceremony. The service was personal with a perfect blend of light-hearted humor and tearful exchanges. We felt that he really took the time to get to know us and cared about giving us a perfect day. He was professional, easy to get in touch with, flexible and an all-around great guy. He provided us with all we needed well before the big day, so we knew what to expect and he took care of the details. We are incredibly grateful.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry was extremely warm, kind and approachable. He very patiently assisted us throughout the ceremony planning process and ensured that we had everything in order for the big day. I loved his flexibility (we didn't want a religious ceremony and he was completely fine with that and totally nonjudgmental) and he added so many personal touches to the ceremony, talking about when my husband and I first met and how he proposed. He was also very responsive via email, arrived early to the ceremony and allowed us to use his portable sound system/microphones for no extra cost, which was very handy and saved us big bucks! All in all, if you are lucky enough to find that he is available for your wedding date, book him immediately! He made us feel comfortable and cared for at all times, and he is excellent at what he does.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We had the pleasure of having Rev. Brian Evans officiate our wedding. After considering other options, including a family member, we decided to take our chances with hiring an officiant through Chicago Weddings.

It was a lot like being set up on a blind date, to tell you the truth. My then fiancé and I met with him for a light dinner. Fortunately, Brian was so amazingly easy to talk to. He truly seem liked he was genuinely interested in us as a couple. He wasn't preachy, and he is one of those great people with a great life story. He worked with us to really create the wedding we wanted. We met with him a few more times before the wedding, usually over dinner. My husband even started to really look forward to our meetings! By the time we got married, it was like being married by a friend instead of someone we found on a wedding website. We couldn’t have asked for a better person to marry us.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We were lucky enough to work with Rev. Jeff Ginsburg for our wedding ceremony. I can’t say enough nice things about our experience working with him. Jeff is incredibly attentive, has such a friendly energy and is a true professional. He was able to provide helpful guidance about how to organize our ceremony and incorporated all the elements of our ceremony seamlessly. With a smile on his face, Jeff brought the story of how my fiance and I met to life and spoke as if he had known us for years - our guests could not say enough wonderful things about how beautiful our ceremony was! I highly recommend working with Jeff!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jeff Ginsburg officiated our wedding and we couldn't be happier with his excellent professionalism and experience. From the get go he was knowledgeable, flexible and has a great clear voice. He gave us so many choices on how we could plan our wedding that t made it easy finding the perfect plan for our ceremony. Rev. Jeff makes things so easy and is so available, it made it possible to plan our wedding for the Chicago area from where we live in Arizona. We didn't even have time for rehearsals but he made things so simple and stress free the ceremony turned out fantastic! During interviews over Skype and phone, Rev. Jeff was able to personalize our ceremony and paint a prefect picture of how we met! He was even very supportive with our decision to have our Golden Retriever as ring bearer! We would highly recommend Rev. Jeff for our friends' and families' future weddings!

Nicole & David
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry was fantastic. So helpful and such a nice person to "work" with. He provided so many helpful tools to help me plan the ceremony (I had no idea where to start till Barry was in the picture!) He was in time and on top of everything. He had to jump through extra hoops for us since we married out of state and he was so flexible. Such a great pleasure to have Rev Barry part of the most magical day of my life.
Services Used: Officiant
Bg5
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry was AMAZING!!! We had originally met with one rev, and we felt no connection so I went back to searching for a new Rev. When we met Barry we were immediately comfortable! He was so nice, sweet, and easy to talk to we immediately booked him.

Rev Barry came to our rehearsal and was so helpful in helping set everything up. I had quite a few people come up to me after the dinner and ask me where we found him and they were very impressed with what a nice guy he was.

Throughout the whole planning process he was easy going gave out suggestions and helped us along the way. He did an amazing job at the ceremony, before we started he came directly to me to make sure I was ready, I never felt rushed. He made me laugh when he could see I was about to start crying. We did a wishing rock ceremony and not many people had signed their stones before the ceremony, so without being asked he saw this and made sure to mention it to have people sign a stone. I was very grateful I didn't have to worry about that!!

I would HIGHLY suggest hiring him. He was one of the most complimented things people have said about my wedding!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
One of the best decisions I made for our wedding was to have Reverend Barry officiate. We had an initial meeting over 5 months before our actual wedding, but the day of it was like we had been lifelong friends. He captured us as a couple perfectly noting details we had brushed over and even spent time researching even more details.

Rev Barry also provides wonderful documents to aid in ceremony planning, will attend rehearsals if needed, and is extremely flexible and responsive. He is a true professional that cares about the couples he works with. We were so pleased with his services, and he truly made our wedding amazing.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debra
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married July 26th in Chicago, we had met with Reverend Barry in January when we were in the city to plan the wedding. My daughter, future son-in-law and I met him for coffee, and we instantly had rapport and we were all on the same page as far as the ceremony was concerned. The biggest compliment to his service, was a neighbor asked if we had brought our minister from our church in Omaha!!! We were so pleased! Thank you!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry did an amazing job with our wedding. Being that we were from out of town he worked with us and made things stress free. He got to know my husband and I and really made our ceremony fit the two of us. Overall he did an amazing job and I couldn't have been happier.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bree
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry is outstanding. We could not have asked for a better officiant for our wedding this past Saturday. He is incredibly warm (my now husband and I thought he was Santa-esque with his kind smile and love of sharing in other people's joy), and he spoke so perfectly at our wedding. He was born for this job! Our ceremony went absolutely perfectly, and we have Rev Barry to thank for that. We really, could not possibly have been happier.

If you are looking for an officiant, you should definitely meet with Rev Barry. With this review I can only hope we can help other couples have the same phenomenal experience we had!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jeff,

Keith & I want to thank you for making our wedding day the most special day ever (for us & our children). We met a few months before the wedding to discuss how we met and got to the point of wanting to spend the rest of our lives together. Your professionalism and kind heart made us seem like you've known us for many years, and I cannot tell you how many positive comments we received from family & friends about how special and loving the ceremony was.

You did a fabulous job making our ceremony very meaningful. You personalized our ceremony with stories from the first time we met to all the joys of our family and friends in our lives. And the greatest part was the ring & Sand ceremony that joined my husband, his three beautiful children and I all together as “ONE Family”.

The children LOVED the Ring & Sand ceremony. The Children could feel the love & joy as we joined hands and all became one.
I’ll tell you, I never thought that when I met my Best friend (now husband) I would be so lucky to gain three beautiful children that mean the world to me.

So once again we would like to “THANK YOU” so very much for making our day so special. And If ANYONE….I mean ANYONE is considering Rev. Jeff, we can both “GUARANTEE” you that your wedding day will be one to remember forever and ever!


Thanks so very much
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Val
Wedding:
7/10/2013
5.0/5.0
We came from out of town to be married in Chicago. I was preoccupied with wedding details as well as getting family and friends to Chicago, so I had very little contact with Rev. Barry before the ceremony. I was concerned about our limited communication, my fault completely, but as soon as I entered the site I was advised that he had arrived long before. Upon meeting in person, we were instantly put at ease. The ceremony was loving, warm and memorable. He did a wonderful job and I couldn't be happier. By choosing him, our day was as special as we had hoped.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1356986795740-mg2457
amy
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jeff Ginsburg did a fantastic job officiating our wedding! We met with Jeff several months before our wedding to meet and share "our story". Jeff did a great job incorporating our story into our ceremony to make it feel warm and personal. We truly appreciated the resources he shared with us to plan the ceremony, as well as his ability to incorporate the pieces we identified on our own. It was also very nice that he attended the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner which allowed him to get to know us and our families a bit more. We highly recommend Jeff to anyone looking for a trustworthy and caring officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Big fan of Rev Barry Kolanowski. He was our Officiant for our wedding last month, and did a great job. We skyped with him during the vetting process and quickly realized that he was our guy. He provided us with a TON of vow choices, which we were able to pick and tweak to our liking. We met with him to do a run through a few months before the wedding, and came away very pleased.

The one thing I'd add is that Barry does charge extra to be present for the rehearsal, though he said the on site coordinator at the venue can typically guide things so he encouraged us to not pay that fee. Our onsite coordinator was pretty worthless during the rehearsal so I wish we would've had him there. But everything went off without a hitch during the big day, so no harm!

Great guy, great personality... he fit into our outdoor beach wedding vibe perfectly!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rev Jeff did a fabulous job making our ceremony meaningful and personalized to our needs. We met a few months before the wedding to discuss what we wanted and he was professional, easy to work with and very competent. He provided us with a ceremony planner and book of different readings and prayers. Rev Jeff was great with timing the ceremony and working with us. He completely putting us at ease. I would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry was AMAZING!!!! I highly recommend him to everyone and anyone. He had a way of really remembering details to personalize our ceremony. He offered great readings and outlines for the ceremony. He was available for any questions. We were at ease with him and we were very happy with our decision to have him as our officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We had met with Reverend Barry a couple of months before our wedding and knew right away that he would be the perfect officiant for us. He provided us with a ton of sample readings and a ceremony layout with multiple suggestions for introductions and vows etc. This alleviated a lot of anxiety I had over the ceremony planning process. Reverend Barry was also very flexible and responsive to our expectations of how we wanted the ceremony to be. The day of the wedding we had so many compliments from our guests about how lovely the service was.. We could not be more happy with our decision. He did an AMAZING job! I definitely would recommend him for anyone.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
I was a groomsman in a wedding where I Rev Jeff, was the Officiant. He did a great job with my friend's wedding. I decided to contact Chicago Wedding for our Officiant as well. I was very excited to learn that Rev Jeff was available for our wedding. From the very beginning Rev Jeff was available for questions through the entire process. Rev Jeff wrote a very meaningful and beautiful ceremony that involved not only me and my wife, but also our daughter. I would recommend Rev Jeff for any wedding.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I do not belong to a church in Chicago so when it came time to find an officiant for our wedding I took to the internet. Chicago Weddings had great reviews and responded promptly and matched us with Rev. Jeff based upon availability with our wedding date. I spoke with Jeff on the phone and he was very warm and professional. He was also very accommodating with coming to our neighborhood coffee shop for a meeting. Jeff is just wonderful. I think we were there for almost an hour where he took time to just ask us a little information about how we met and our interests to get a sense of who we were. He was also very prepared and no-fuss when it got down to business. There was really no question once we met Jeff and we signed the contract with him on the spot.

We signed the contract in February and received a ton of ceremony planning information - sample vows, readings, enough to plan the whole thing. We talked to Jeff twice at length on the phone to plan everything. He's great - can't say enough good things! He is gives direction when you need it and provides an overall sense of calm that with all the planning the ceremony is something that you don't need to worry about.

Jeff was pretty much the opposite of a pushy salesman and after all the up-selling and hidden fees that come with planning a wedding was a happy surprise. Jeff actually suggested not having a rehearsal but we had a lot of people involved and an outdoor city park as our ceremony venue so we felt it was a necessity for us. Jeff was not available for our rehearsal but had another officiant that is part of Chicago Weddings, Rev. Brian, fill in for him. And Brian was awesome too!

Ceremony was lovely, Jeff was a pro, five stars.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was the officiant for our wedding in June. He met with us in advance to talk about our plans and provided us with wonderful resources for planning our ceremony. He was professional and personable and made us feel comfortable that our special day would go as planned. The wedding turned out beautiful and we would recommend his services to anyone.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Can't say enough good things about Rev. Barry. He was great to work with the minute we met him! We actually had another officiant selected and at the last minute cancelled because he had 5 other weddings to do the same weekend as ours! We didn't want to feel rushed and on a schedule so we cancelled the first guy and found Rev Barry only a couple months before our wedding date. He was very easy to talk to and had a great sense of humor! We had lunch at Panera to get to know him a little and vice-versa! Then he emailed us a very thorough and informative packed of info that we could select different readings for our own custom made ceremony basically which was really cool. We were able to add or shorten whatever we wanted and could make it more or less religious as we chose. He also had lots of unity ceremony suggestions and readings to go along with those. Very helpful! Day of the wedding he was early and looked very proffesional. Ceremony went off with out a hitch and we had nothing but compliments from all the guests! Really glad we ended up going with Rev Barry and would definitely recommend to anyone else! His pricing is also very reasonable compared to others we had looked into.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vic and Jovada
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was great, great, great and awesome!!! He was kind, knowledgable, patient, consoling. His demeanor at the wedding was so professional but he felt like a friend. I would recommend him to anyone needing a wedding officiant. 10 thumbs up!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeffrey Ginsburg was our officiant for our wedding. We couldn't have been more than pleased with him. He customized our wedding for us so that it was exactly what we wanted. He was very easy to speak to and made us feel very relaxed during the ceremony. We highly recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We found Barry's contact information using Wedding Wire. We set up a meeting with Barry and we knew right away that we would want his services. He was very flexible in his meeting time and place. He offered us lots of advice concerning vows, readings, order of ceremony, and even the paper work of the marriage license. Barry was always available by email or phone which we took advantage of. He helped us with our reception walk through which went by so easily. Our ceremony was beautiful and he memorized everything and our guests were very impressed. We had a wonderful experience with him and his services. We would recommend him to an bride and groom. Just read the reviews people.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle & Agnes
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
We used Jeff Ginsburg as our officiant and we couldn't have been more pleased. We met with a variety of officiants and Jeff and his team were the only ones that truly had an interest in getting to know us upfront. That was truly important to us. We were able to customize the entire ceremony (some officiant's like to tell you how to do your ceremony) and Jeff did an amazing job. They also provided plenty of examples and options for us to choose from which gave us good ideas. Absolutely no flaws.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christi
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was absolutely wonderful! He was so easy to work with and just a genuine person with a wonderful demeanor. Upon meeting him we immediately knew we wanted him to be our officiant. The ceremony was beyond perfect! It was like he knew us for years. I heard so many compliments that evening about the ceremony - we could not have been happier! I would recommend Rev. Barry to my family and friends in a heartbeat. Thank you for making our ceremony so beautiful and memorable!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry was wonderful. He provided all the needed documents beforehand so we could customize our wedding. He was flawless in the ceremony. Lots of guests thought we must have known him for years even though we had only met him once! He is very down to earth and friendly. Rev Barry made our wedding ceremony perfect for us!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rev Barry did a terrific job! At our wedding the DJ was behind a wall and needed queues to turn the music on and off. There was some hiccups with the start and end of the music. Rev Barry was able to make some jokes for the guests until the issue was resolved. It was great that he was there.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Jeff Ginsburg as our officiant, and he was excellent. He met with us a few months before our wedding date, took interest in hearing our story and to learn some things about us and our relationship, and that resulted in a wedding that was extremely personal. He was extremely responsive to our emails, and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you for the wonderful ceremony, Jeff!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Rev. Barry as our officiant this past weekend for our wedding and we couldn't have been happier with his services. My husband and I knew the second we met Rev Barry that we wanted him to be a part of our special day. This was a second marriage for the both of us and we have 7 children between the 2 of us. It was crucial that the kids were very involved in our ceremony.
Rev. Barry was full of suggestions on how to keep them all involved and he truly helped make our day special and unforgettable for everyone of us, including all those who attended.
We highly recommend using Chicago wedding for your special day!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stacie
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was great. he helped us put together the kind of ceremony we wanted and was very accommodating to the different little extras we wanted. I very highly recommend his services
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Jeff as our officiant and he was a pleasure. He met with us 2 times before the wedding and was always accommodating. After just a few short meetings he was able to put together the short and sweet ceremony we requested. He showed up very early and made sure everything was set. He organized with one of our readers on the morning of the wedding - and we pulled it off without any sort of walk thru!
I would recommend Chicago Weddings in general and specifically recommend Jeff! You will be in good hands!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was wonderful. He helped us feel relaxed and kept our focus on what was important, our love. He was part of making our important day, perfection.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gregg
Wedding:
1/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Barry was fantastic. What a great guy!!!
He was early, professional, personable, and made our day easy and special. We eloped and were looking for someone on short notice. I couldn't be more pleased than I was with Barry.
This might sound weird, but I sometimes get creeped out by wedding officiants, but Barry is one of the normal people, and I am proud that he could make our day even better than we had hoped.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin Rose
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We were overjoyed with Barry's warmth and professionalism. He did a wonderful job of telling our story and making the ceremony enjoyable. He was prompt and organized for both rehearsal and the wedding. Our family and friends also commented on how incredibly personable he was. He's a fantastic speaker, and we can't say enough good things about him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicky
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
We had Jeffrey Ginsburg as our wedding officiant. We are thrilled with his services and highly recommend him to everyone. He was professional and responded to all emails in a timely manner. His work was organized and clear which made the planning much easier. He led the ceremony beautifully and was flawless in his presentation. 10 STARS!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I cannot say enough great things about Rev. Barry. He was warm, responsive, helpful, thoughtful, genuine, patient - a truly fantastic officiant. I was a very detailed bride about our ceremony, and I went back and forth with Barry on email probably dozens of times with questions on the flow of the ceremony, the readings, etc. He was always patient with me and ready with suggestions and feedback. We had a very specifc vision of how our ceremony should be, and Barry helped us execute that vision flawlessly. He takes a real, genuine interest in knowing the couple before the ceremony. SO many people came up to us after the wedding and told us our ceremony was unique, romantic - and truly special. I HIGHLY recommend Barry!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I met Pastor Brian in Starbucks while he was helping another couple plan out their big day. The US Government had just approved my (now) wife's visa (she's from Russia,) and we had to frantically put together our wedding in less than thirty days.

Pastor Brian gave excellent guidance and suggestions and he helped me put together a ceremony that was small and intimate and not too formal (which was exactly what we wanted.) My wife, since she was busy trying to get into the country and wasn't able to get involved in the planning later commented, where did you find the pastor? Did you really meet him as Starbucks? He was perfect.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
He was soo kind and walked us through everything always got back to us right away when we had questions helped us pick out readings for our ceremony and we truely enjoyed our experience with rev barry
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Barry was amazing. I cannot speak higher of the man. I was friendly and extremely professional through the entire process. He really takes an interest in the couple he works with. He's not someone that will tell you what has to happen but rather ask you what you want to have happen. (How many officiates do you know that would work in a Battlestar Galactica reference?) Our wedding was a great success and I know Barry had a lot to do with that. I cannot recommend Barry enough.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was absolutely wonderful! You can tell he loves what he does and he genuinely cares about the people he marries. I am thankful we had such an amazing ceremony and rev. Barry was a big part of making it so. Thank you!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
We had Jeff Ginsburg officiate our ceremony and he was wonderful! Jeff is very thoughtful and worked with us to help make our ceremony unique. His demeanor is perfect to balance out stressful brides. Jeff was prompt and a pleasure to work with. We highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Thank you so much for being there for our big day! We were given many compliments as to how beautiful you performed. Thanks again!

Marc & Sarah Esposito
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1349181100989-fbavatar2684126
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Rev. Barry! He provided us with plenty of information to help us customize our ceremony - we wrote our own personal vows and had a lovely unity celebration as well. Barry did a great job coordinating our rehearsal so everyone felt comfortable and he did an outstanding job officiating our ceremony. We had an intimate and beautiful wedding ceremony. Barry is friendly, genuine and very professional. We highly recommend Rev. Barry!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisol
Wedding:
9/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We are absolutely happy we chose Reverend Bolanowski, he was down to earth and warm.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1328158625015-fbavatar2210032
Becca
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry did a nice job with our wedding ceremony and was very easy to contact during the process of our wedding planning!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jeff Ginsburg was great!!! He was on-time, flexible, and professional. He made our day special and I would highly recommend him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry was so fun to work with. He kept everything running smooth at the rehearsal and was more then professional the day off! He literally made sure i didnt have a worry in the world that day!
Thank you again... we are both glad you could share our day with us!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was fantastic!!!!!! We got thumbs ups and praises on how wonderful he was throughout our wedding night. And friends were texting the next morning asking for his info for there wedding. All I can say is he is fantastic!!!!! Thanks Barry!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jeff Ginsburg officiated our wedding. He did a great job of giving us exactly what we asked for. He was able to take a unique unity idea and coming up with a great way to present it. He really made our day unique and special!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
We were incredibly fortunate that Barry Kolanowski was available to perform our ceremony on August 18th. When we first met Barry he was so relaxed and calming which really helped when we were discussing the ceremony and everything that we had envisioned it to be. We didn't even notice that he was taking mental notes until the day of the ceremony when he would bring up some of the things we were joking about as a couple when we first met him. The day of the ceremony he was prompt and even had some clever sayings that made our ceremony memorable. A huge thank you to Barry from Kevin and Kim!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We worked with Rev. Janine Nichol and she was fablous.Great communication, and flexibility. Always there to answer questions we had. Chicago Weddings was actually recommened to us by a friend, and we were so happy we went with them.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dave
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry went above and beyond what we could have possible expected from an officiant. He was a real pro - amenable to our requests and a really genuine person. He orchestrated a thoughtful and meaningful set of readings for us, even sprinkling in some tasteful humor. All in all - a perfect experience for us! We would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone considering his services. Top notch through and through!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Rev. Barry. He was everything we hoped for in an officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ROSALINDA
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We're not from Chicago, so planning an out of state wedding was stressfull. I had contacted a few officiants and either the rates were too high or weren't very friendly. When I first spoke to Rev. Barry I knew he was the one. He was very nice and geniune. The day of the wedding he was patient and conducted a beautiful ceremony.

My husband are happy we had Rev. Barry marry us.!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisabeth
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
When my husband and I first met with Barry, we knew he was the one to perform our wedding ceremony. He has the perfect combination of everything we were hoping for.. it was warm, personal, touching and even had a little humor. You would have thought we knew Barry for years. Our friends and family still tell us that is was one of the best wedding ceremonies they had ever been to, because he made it so fun and personal. Thank you, Barry, for everything you did to make our wedding day so memorable!!
Joe & Elisabeth Adler
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My planner Sweetchic Events recommended Chicago Weddings. Rev Ginsburg was my officiant. I am very happy about the service. He made us feel very comfortable from day 1. Chicago Weddings provided a handbook that helped me and my husband formulate our vows. It contained templates but we could customize it anyway we want. We wanted a religious ceremony that also contained unique cultural elements. The entire ceremony ran seamlessly. We definitely recommend their service to other couples!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
4/6/2012
5.0/5.0
He came to our house and married us on 3/19/12 due to a county marriage license issue. Very respective. I'd highly recommend him to anyone
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1301512442786-4545646721653331867407831865424414819086n
lauren
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I was very happy with my officiant. He did a wonderful job and made it fun without taking away the class. I was able to select all my own readings, vows, etc.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry was wonderful. He accommodated all our wishes regarding the ceremony and helped us find vows to suit our desires. He was easy to work with and ensured our wedding day was all about us. I couldn't have asked for a better officiant. If we ever renew our vows in the future, he's our guy.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suri1985
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We were looking for an officiant to conduct our wedding before we found out that my father in law was able to marry us after all (he is a pastor), and we met up with Rev. Kolanowski to talk about the details pertaining to the ceremony. Instantly we really liked his sunny personality as well as the warmth and professional demeanor that he brought to the meeting.

He asked about our backgrounds and the story about how we met, in a way that didn't feel at all part of a routine, but rather, friendly and triggered by genuine interest. He gave us lots of options to customize every portion and tone of the ceremony; as well as offered us wonderful suggestions. He even sent us great wedding poems when he found out we loved poetry!

Due to our monetary constraints, and the offer from my father-in-law, we decided to have him marry us instead; however, I was very impressed with pastor Barry and would HIGHLY recommend them to anybody who was looking for a heartfelt and memorable wedding service. Pastor Barry pours himself into his work and we could tell that it isn't a "job" for him, he likes helping couples on their special day and it really shows.

It was a pleasure to meet him.

-Susy and Steve
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry was amazing….simply amazing!!! We can’t say enough good things about him. We had met with other reverends but they all felt very cold and distant. It was just business with them; some even came off as arrogant. We were at the point of absolute frustration when we came across Barry. We scheduled a day to meet with him and we knew within the first few minutes of meeting Reverend Barry that he was just what we were looking for. He really listens and genuinely cares about the people he is uniting in marriage. He is warm and friendly and I can’t imagine having anyone else marry us. It was definitely worth the long hard search to find him! If you are reading this review stop looking!!

We chose to attend his partner for life seminar and it was great. He opened our minds up to things that you don’t normally reflect on every day. It wasn’t pressured and you didn’t have to get up and share your answers in a big room with strangers. It is very laid back but he is still opening up the lines of communication and bringing people closer together. They made us very comfortable and it was a very warm and open environment. I’m glad that we attended this.

Barry also did our rehearsal and covered the steps of the ceremony with us until everyone was comfortable. He didn’t give away the entire ceremony though to our friends and family that was in attendance.

He really listened to what we wanted for our readings and vow selections. The ceremony was beautiful. My husband still says the ceremony was his favorite part of the day. Barry threw in extra special touches that were personal to our relationship that really painted the picture of how we came to the point of marriage for everyone. It was amazing of him to really personalize it for us. Our family all were blown away by him and what a beautiful ceremony it was. We can’t thank him enough!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Graham
Wedding:
7/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We can sum it up simply: Barry was perfect. He took the time and effort to listen and understand us AND our relationship. He was interested and caring. Our service was perfect. During our rehearsal he was careful and responsive, walking us through what would become one of our happiest memories, but making sure we remained confident and alert.

We received so many compliments throughout the reception for Barry's excellent non-denominational service. A few even told us that it was the best, most PERSONAL service they had ever witnessed. They were correct – during our ceremony, Barry remembered key facts and tidbits that we had only glossed over during our initial meeting (e.g. our tiny apartment in France that did NOT feature a bathroom door, and our first meeting/date in our freshman year of high school). These little mentions made the ceremony very special for us as well as our friends and family.

Barry himself even seemed moved during our ceremony, creating a very personal atmosphere throughout the entire service.

If we had to get married again tomorrow, we would pick Barry again. Simple as that. He was MORE than what we had asked for and really, truly delivered on his promises. My wife and I couldn't have been happier with Barry as our officiant. He will always be remembered by us as one of the highlights of our wedding day.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
7/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Barry was everything we were looking for in an officiant: friendly, flexible, and low maintenance! He provided us with information to customize our ceremony as much as we liked, was a pleasure to have coordinating the rehearsal, and officiated our wedding joyfully (even in 100 degree heat!). He was so easy to work with!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Barry is wonderful! So easy to work with, extremely down to earth, and gives you TONS of examples of things to do to make the ceremony perfect! Thank you so very much Barry...for doing the research on the Celtic Stone Ceremony and putting together a beautiful reading that symbolizes extactly what the stone represents. It was so unique and beautiful. It really helped make our ceremony even more special! Thank you again for making our rehearsal and wedding day go so smoothly!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kellieandre3
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Reverend Barry Kolanowski helped us to create the intimate ceremony we were looking for. He really helped to bring our personal story into our vows which made our ceremony extra special and original. My husband and I felt very comfortable with Reverend Barry and could not be happier with his service. His fee is minimal compared to others I researched, his services are beyond exceptional.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammie
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Barry is amazing! We met Barry only one time and somehow he managed to personalize our ceremony remarkably. He must have taken great notes during that initial meeting because his whole introductory speech at the wedding was about my husband and I and how we met, etc. I had no idea he was going to do all that and I was so impressed as I stood up there. Barry also showed great improvisation during the ceremony when he suddenly saw the look of panic on my face when I realized that the presentation roses for the rose ceremony for our parents were nowhere to be seen. He quickly and smoothly grabbed two roses from the altar pieces and handed them to us…along with a few chuckles from the guests. We knew we wanted Barry to officiate our wedding the moment we met him and we have no regrets. He let us plan our whole ceremony and gave us tons of readings/vows to choose from. He is also the most reasonably priced officiant that I found. I would highly recommend Barry to anyone planning a wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1262878899168-2107622745955694561670694536926697504859n
Ted
Wedding:
5/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry Kolanowski was a pleasure to work with. He provided us with a free consultation prior to contracting him, which (much to the surprise of my wife and I) many other officiants actually charge for. He's such a genuinely nice and friendly person, that we decided on him immediately after we left the initial meeting. His fee was very manageable, and he was very responsive to our emails and phone calls throughout the process. He provided us with a wide variety of good quality sample ceremony readings, and using that, we were able to craft a beautiful ceremony. And last but not least, he was punctual! We definitely recommend Rev. Barry.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karolina
Wedding:
5/13/2011
5.0/5.0
We interviewed many officiates; nobody understood us or our vision like Rev. Barry did. Our families and friends all commented on how Rev. Barry did a wonderful job and most importantly the ceremony reflected us 100%. We couldn’t be happier with our ceremony. Perfect doesn’t even come close to describing it. It was that good. Bottom line…Hire him. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mikep
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Barry was fantastic in allowing us to customize the ceremony to our liking. He keep the ceremony heartfelt with a touch of humor. Our guests thought we knew Barry for years! I will recommend him to anyone looking for an officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
3/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I am so glad that I found Reverand Barry and chicagoweddings.org on this website. He did an awesome job with our ceremony and he was also very reasonably priced. We had our initial meeting with him and after that he sent us a bunch of different choices for our ceremony and vows. He is willing to work with you to make your wedding as special as you want it to be. We got a lot of compliments from our guests on the great job he did and on how wonderful the ceremony was. I strongly recommend him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pjen99
Wedding:
2/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Barry was the second officiant my husband and I met with while planning our wedding. As soon as we met him, we both knew we wanted Barry to perform our ceremony. Barry is so friendly and personable which came through not only in our meeting with him, but during our ceremony. Once we decided to engage Barry's services he provided us with a materials to help us plan our ceremony. That was very helpful to us and we used the templates he provided for our ceremony but he was open to anything we would have wanted. Our ceremony was just beautiful - touching and sweet but also with a touch of humor which was absolutely perfect for us. Additionally, Barry's rate was fraction of the rate of the other ministers I contacted so it was an excelllent value for our budget.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Barry was absolutely fantastic! He was always early to every appointment we had. He made us feel the most comfortable of all the officiants we met with. He was genuinely interested in us and our life together. After meeting him for the first time, I felt like I knew him for years. Our rehearsal ran extremely smoothly because of him and our ceremony was fantastic. Everyone that attended the ceremony loved the way he ran it and his message to us. He was very humorous too. I will recommend him to anyone I know who is getting married.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1257956501617-cimg4432
Cherylw1978
Wedding:
10/29/2010
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Barry... Well he is a Wonderful person the first time my husband and I had a meeting with him. He is so kind and understanding and most of all he did a great job ! He interacted with our relatives throughout the ceremony and even had them laughing. It was the best day of our lives and we are extremely happy that Barry was apart of it.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were extremely greatful that Barry was our officiant. We could not have asked for anyone better. He set the perfect tone for our ceremony. I had many guests compliment how laidback and fun our ceremony was and I credit that to Barry for understanding us as a couple. Thank you Barry for making our wedding ceremony everything we wanted.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ebinion
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry is an excellent officiant. He handled our wedding with the grace, class, and expertise that you would hope for from an officiant. He really was able to organize our wedding party and made the ceremony seem effortless.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
UptownLuv
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry was on-time (early!!), Friendly (both families loved him!), respectful (two different belief systems), organized (helped direct/produce a great wedding!) and flexible (traveled to the city and burbs!).

Originally, I wanted a judge but Barry had such a great personality I hired him and he was so respectful of my beliefs. I really enjoyed Barry he really helped make the ceremony smooth! He instructed the wedding party with a great practice of the ceremony events, he had great suggestions for readings and vows, and he was so friendly and patience he really added to making me feel great on my special day!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susi
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
We are so glad we hired Barry for our wedding! He was super easy to work with, very helpful, and made our ceremony interesting for our guests. He provided a ton of options months before the wedding so all we had to do was pick out what we wanted. Or you can also bring him your ideas. Our wedding was outdoors and it was extremely cold and windy, but Barry did a great job! I had many people tell me they enjoyed his ceremony! Barry was great!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cynthia
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Highly recommend! Barry was great! He was plesant, had a great personality, prompt and organized. He wanted to cater our service to our needs and gave us alot of suggestions for our not-so-traditional wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nmoreno23
Wedding:
8/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry was a pleasure to work with! Everyone commented on how sweet and had such a great personality. He is very reasonable, prompt, and did a wonderful job with our ceremony on 08/20/10. I could not have been happier!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1266884051251-1000193
Bernadette
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I would like to write a special thank you to Reverend Barry. Mike & I want to thank you for making our wedding day the most special day ever. I cannot tell you how many positive comments we received from family & friends about how special and loving the ceremony was. You surprised us both (in a very good way) when you mentioned our first date at Red Lobster and when you mentioned our loved ones who have passed, we were both about to loose it (also, in a very good way). Your professionalism and kind heart made us seem like you've known us for many many years. If anyone is considering Reverend Barry, we can both guarantee you that your wedding day will be one to remember forever and ever! Thank you again Reverend Barry from Michael & Bernadette Czarnik!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
We knew Barry was the perfect officiant for us from the beginning. He made us feel so comfortable during our first meeting and calmed our nerves when it came down to all of the details of the ceremony. Barry was flexible and provided guidance with all of the details. He really made our ceremony PERFECT!! He is a great speaker and very funny too! We received so many compliments from our guests of how great Barry was including the coordinator at our wedding site Klein Creek Golf club. He really knew what he was doing and provided relief and companionship to my husband while they waited for me to come down the aisle. I cannot possilbly say enough great things about Barry and would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1246138625876-1001110
Heidi14
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry was an absolute joy to work with. We loved him from the first time we met, he is very friendly and down to earth. He was always very quick to respond to my emails/calls and emailed me all sorts of helpful info. for readings and ceremony choices etc. I HIGHLY recommend him!! He made our day extra special and I am going to miss him.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1249526343816-picture021
hky_pck
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Was able to taylor our service to fit our needs.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jrice116
Wedding:
6/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Rev. Barry Kolanowski is not only a great officiant, but a wonderful person. As soon as my (now) husband and I met him, we knew that he would be the perfect offician to marry us. We met with a priest before him that was very judgmental and overall, not very nice; so when we met Rev. Barry we were relieved. At the rehearsal, he laid everything out nice and easily, was patient with my wedding party of 24(!), and fully prepared us for the wedding day. Prior to the ceremony, he helped put on the guy's boutonnieres and just completely stepped beyond the role of officiant. My parents just raved about how wonderful he was. During the ceremony, he shared many inspirational words about love and marriage. He is fairly priced (much lower than other officiants I called) and goes above and beyond what is expected of him. I obviously can't say enough nice things about him :-) Choose Reverend Barry to be your officiant... you will NOT regret it!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melvulture
Wedding:
6/11/2010
5.0/5.0
If you want a beautiful personalized wedding, you must MUST call Pastor Barry. This man has a heart of gold. He's sweet, gentle ans really funny! We initially met with him for prior to the wedding and my now husband and I knew immediately that he was the one. He ran our rehearsal like a pro. the day of, he was early and had a way about him that calmed all our nerves. He had open communication with my string quartet about music played during the ceremony which was helpful. This officiant is one of a kind not at all like the rent-a-revs you'll find out there.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Irene
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry made our day better than we could have ever imagined! He was an extreme help and pleasure to work with. He was always there to answer any question we had and was extremely professional. He worked around our schedule, always responded quickly and made it so we didn't have to worry about anything except showing up :-) He helped to personalize our ceremony so it was a true refelction of who we are nbot only as a couple but also as a family. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for an officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1244744666863-dscf2608013b
Beastie0311
Wedding:
5/21/2010
5.0/5.0
I found Pastor Barry on this website, by just doing the search. We got about 10-15 e-mail responses from different officiants to marry us. But from the very first e-mail we liked him, and we made an appointment. When we first met Pastor Barry, he made us feel both very comfortable, and we laughed a lot as he began asking us questions trying to get to know us. We signed him immediately, because we knew that we didn’t need to talk to anyone else. Though the whole ceremony planning process, he was very helpful. He provided us with a ton of material to let us customize our ceremony to how we wanted it to be. And he answered ALL of my questions in a VERY timely fashion.

Now when it came to the wedding time, he showed up early for the rehearsal, and got about 28 people prepared for the next day’s events. On wedding day, everything ran so smoothly. He was polite, he was funny, and he was very professional. My mom was so impressed with him. Her comments were,” I was almost crying, but I couldn’t because he kept making me laugh.” I definitely recommend Pastor Barry for anyone’s wedding. He is 100% worth it!!!

Thank you again Pastor Barry!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry was great - he was completely prepared, and we were so happy with our ceremony! Even less-than-prepared groomsmen and people doing readings are no match for him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trisha
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry was very professional. The material he provides is easy to follow and provides enough variety to help you make your service specific to you. We would recommend Barry to anyone who is looking for a minister to perform the ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
This officiant was a wonderful speaker during the ceremony. He brought something special to the day. I had so many people approach me and tell me how great the service was and how nice the officiant was. He was on time and made sure everyone was doing well and ready for such a big day. I could not have asked for anyone better. I would have no problem refering him to anyone.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vanessaj82
Wedding:
8/23/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I recommend Pastor Barry to everyone. He made the ceremony so perfect and everyone complimented on how well he did. We are so happy we found him!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/19/2009
5.0/5.0
We loved having Rev. Barry be the officiant at our wedding! He met with us a few months before the wedding and then was available by phone or email after that. I found that he replied to emails within 24 hours and even sent us tons of samples vows, readings, etc. to choose from - we even created some of our own. He was very affordable and was available not only for the ceremony, but also to lead the rehersal. We would definitely recommend him to couples...he is not only affordable, sincere, and kind, he also truly wants to work with you so you can have the best ceremony possible!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
freshbreath
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Barry was the perfect officiant for our wedding. We had a very non-traditional wedding, with a mix of American and Hindu traditions, including quite a few rituals and Hindi words and Barry did a phenomenal job. The ceremony exceeded our expectations! Barry easily guided us through all of the rituals. The venue's microphone did not work properly so he turned it off and my guests said they had no trouble hearing him. Many people told us they loved our ceremony and I have no doubt a lot of that is due to Barry. We've already had two requests for his contact information and I'm happy to endorse his services.
I had no worries even before the wedding day because he worked very closely with me to understand the ceremony and pronounce all of the words. He was very enthusiastic throughout the planning process, which made us even more excited and at ease. In addition, I sent him the ceremony materials very late, yet he was extremely nice and calm the entire planning process. At first, my husband and I wanted to go with a judge so there were no religious aspects to the ceremony, but Barry was so flexible and understanding and he never pushed anything religous into the ceremony per our request. Also, his price is extremely affordable, especially with all of the time and effort he puts into the ceremony planning. I cannot imagine a better officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Pastor Barry was truly wonderful! He made our wedding absolutely perfect. Pastor Barry is extremely responsive, very organized and put us at ease during the rehearsal and ceremony. Our ceremony was just perfect – more than words can say. We received so many compliments on Pastor Barry from our guests, even weeks after the wedding we’re still hearing so many nice things. I honestly couldn't have imagined a more perfect officient.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
My wedding day was perfect! Pastor Barry did a wonderful job helping me organize the ceremony. He offered many different selections for vows and allowed to service to be customized EXACTLY how we wanted. You can tell that he really cared, by offering advice and help, even before we hired him. When I look at the pictures from my wedding, he is smiling in every single one of them and you can tell that he really enjoys his work. I would highly recommend Pastor Barry!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1226434844262-dsc00742
Tiffany & Leighton
Wedding:
12/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Pastor Barry was great and very professional. We arranged a time to meet with him in person and we hired him on the spot to officiate our wedding. He was just warm and friendly and we felt immediately comfortable. He even had a wedding to officiant the day before our wedding so we worked with him and found a time where he could still make it to the rehearsal without having to rush to get to the wedding he had to be at. Everything worked out great...now all we need to do is get a copy of our marriage certificate!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat34
Wedding:
10/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Barry was wonderful to work with! He provided so much information and helped me plan the perfect wedding ceremony that fit the taste of me and my husband. He was really easy to work with and always responded to my questions quickly and helped put the busy bride at ease during the entire planning process. He was one of the few vendors that I worked with that I didn't feel the need to confirm or check up on to make sure they were still coming. He was professional, helpful and extremely nice throughout the entire process. His ceremony was perfect and his positive attitude and enjoyment helped set the stage for a perfect wedding day! I would highly recommend Barry to anyone looking for an officiant. He was a real pleasure to work with!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Barry was a wonderful officiant and helped make our ceremony perfect. He was exactly the type of person I wanted for our ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rosbgirl1216
Wedding:
12/16/2006
5.0/5.0
Pastor Barry was very helpful and professional. He had great idea's to help make our day special. I recommend him to everyone I know!
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/5/2014
4.9/5.0
Rev Barry was recommended by our wedding planner, and after meeting him in person we knew why. He was incredibly warm and took the time to get to know our story and personalities so we could make our decision to move forward with him knowing what we were getting. The ceremony itself was beautiful, and Barry gave us great suggestions for the ceremony components, but totally left it up to us on the words and meaning that we wanted to convey. He also kept things running smoothly when we had a reader go out of order, with none of our guests being any the wiser on the slight hiccup. I would highly recommend Barry!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reem
Wedding:
12/14/2013
4.9/5.0
Rev. Barry did a phenomonal job during our ceremony. He was very organized and made the whole process a breeze. We would highly recommend him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Rev Barry did a great job with our wedding. He also did a great job with my friends wedding! It was great working with him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Pleasant experience having Rev. Barry perform our wedding ceremony. On the day, he had a way of being very calm to ease the nerves, yet tell jokes to break the ice and lighten the mood. This was extremely helpful since I was soo nervous! Professionalism was maintained throughout our interactions. He performed a short and simple Catholic ceremony for us, as requested. Very happy with our decision.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cadence
Wedding:
8/11/2013
4.9/5.0
Reverend Barry did a wonderful job officiating our wedding this past weekend! Not only did he do a phenomenal job on the day of the wedding, he also did a great job preparing us over the months and weeks leading up to the wedding! He guided us in how to customize our own ceremony, he was flexible and understanding to the (many) changes we made to our timeline, he was prompt in returning emails and phone calls, he showed up early to our venue on the day of the wedding, his presence at the event was friendly and calming, and the ceremony turned out beautifully! So glad we chose Barry for our wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.9/5.0
Initially when searching for an officiant, my husband and I looked at alot of websites and emailed with quite a few potential officiants. Barry was the only officiant who took the time to call us directly and hear straight from us what we were looking for. In talking with him that first time, Barry offered to set up a free in-person consultation with us. He drove over 90 minutes early on a Saturday morning in a blizzard to meet with us at a Starbucks! He was so accomodating and attentive to what we wanted to happen in our ceremony. While my husband and I had ideas of what we wanted to happen in the ceremony, those ideas were always changing. Barry was very open throughout the entire process as my husband I shifted ideas quite a few times. On the evening of our rehearsal, Barry was very friendly and enjoyable to be around. Both our families found him to be a pleasure, and the actual wedding ceremony worked out beautifully!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacquelyn
Wedding:
6/20/2014
4.8/5.0
Reverend Jeff was great! Beautiful ceremony, short and sweet. They make the entire process very easy, which we really appreciated!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaclyn
Wedding:
7/6/2013
4.8/5.0
I have only fantastic things to say about Barry and the wonderful ceremony he helped us put together. For a bride who was planning her wedding from overseas, Barry was so accommodating and able to Skype with me outside business hours due to the time difference, and was prompt in his replies. He is humourous, positive, and a real pleasure to work with. Thanks Barry for all your dedication to making our wedding day perfect!

Cheers, Jackie
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimberly708
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.7/5.0
Rev. Barry was amazing. He was very easy going and very professional. He offered lots of help with planning the ceremony, picking vows/readings etc. and made me and my family feel extremly taken care of.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sandi
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.6/5.0
I found Pastor Barry online through a recommendation from another officiant who was not available for my date. My ceremony was not religious and Pastor Barry did a great job of accommodating this request. He was very professional and corresponded promptly with me via e-mail/phone. He provided a large list of poems/benedictions/vows and ideas for the actual ceremony (much better than I could have come up with on my own). He arrived for the ceremony and delivered the documents to the court house on time. I have no complaints. The fee was on the high end, but similar to other quotes I received in the Chicagoland area.
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
Chicago, IL See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chicago Weddings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo