130x130_sq_1347664732639-cceshowbanner

Chi-City Enterprises DJs

Naperville , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Naperville, IL US 60540 (map)

PHONE

630-357-5214

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

WeddingWire's "Bride's Choice Awards 2012 and 2013" recipient... Chi-City Enterprises (chicitydj.com) is one of Chicagoland's most established and trusted full-time wedding DJ services... Read more
WeddingWire's "Bride's Choice Awards 2012 and 2013" recipient... Chi-City Enterprises (chicitydj.com) is one of Chicagoland's most established and trusted full-time wedding DJ services with locations in Naperville, Joliet, and Lombard. Our talented (fully insured) staff of DJs have entertained audiences at over 5,000 events (including 3,000 weddings) since 1979.

Chi-City Enterprises would be honored to guide you through the entire process beginning with your first phone call. We can help you plan, organize, and announce all of the traditional activities. We will coordinate our efforts with your venue, photographer, and videographer. To better assist you, we have designed a "DJ Wedding Planner" allowing you to customize your preferences. LED and laser lighting, huge digital music library, and cordless microphones are included in all of our packages. We are also one of the few services that brings two DJs and carries on site total backup equipment. Please call us (630-357-5214 or 815-577-1222) or visit chicitydj.com to view our current deals and check date availability. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1330970581920-dsc01186
130x130_sq_1390864863006-uplighting-201
130x130_sq_1305920486719-dsc00569
130x130_sq_1362085997478-uplightingheadtable6
130x130_sq_1362086091674-kristenorlauskiunion176
130x130_sq_1330970265108-uplightingheadtable3
130x130_sq_1330970627717-ccepostcard
130x130_sq_1330970330211-uplightingmainroom4
130x130_sq_1330971227775-dsc00927
130x130_sq_1305490712073-scan10346
130x130_sq_1330970504620-flowergirls
130x130_sq_1390865078007-wedding-60
130x130_sq_1330971294020-dsc01041
130x130_sq_1330971018776-dsc00602
130x130_sq_1305920556907-chicityaug09028
130x130_sq_1305921328344-dsc04844
130x130_sq_1330970860817-ccesjohnj
130x130_sq_1330970407459-goboheadtable
130x130_sq_1330970759104-ccetrophy
130x130_sq_1305919418969-dsc00728
130x130_sq_1330970894029-ccestomm

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emma
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
These guys are the best and i couldn't have asked for more. they were great in our communications and got every song i wanted to hear. They really made the night and it made everything for our wedding perfect. We would recommend this company to everyone. They are the best.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, , Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Chi-City was great! From my first conversation with George, he was enthusiastic, offered quality ideas, and was extremely willing to provide us with the best possible product. During the planning, we were able to select what songs we did and did not want played, at our leisure, on Chi-City's website. Then, about a week before our wedding, we spoke on the phone with George to hammer down every detail. On the wedding day, George kept in touch with us about what we wanted to hear and he did a great job at trying to play what the crowd was responding to. We had a very small wedding party, so we decided to write little introductory paragraphs to introduce them upon our entrance - George didn't just read the words on the page - he really made the introductions sound exciting and lively! It was exactly what we were going for. For the price, the quality of vendor, and flexibility, George, and all of Chi-City DJ service is a steal!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Disa
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
The night wasn't flawless (can never be, forgot we were praying before the meal) but the DJ responded quickly and got the person who was praying up before people started to eat. George met with us half-way from our home and Naperville before we hired him, and was responsive to any questions/concerns I had. He made sure to get people on the dance floor using the music, and I have had several comments from friends and family about how great the music was. He put in Bollywood music since half the guests were Indian. When more people were requesting that, he made sure to check with us to see that we would also be ok with more Bollywood. He also found radio chatter for our introductions that he didn't already have. George will listen to requests, but has his own advice from his experience which led to a fantastic night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I spoke early with George about how important music was for our reception to us and he was very accommodating and even tracked down some music for us that wasn't previously in his collection. Very nice to work with.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
George from Chi City DJs is awesome! The wedding reception music was great! Definitely would recommend for a wedding or any event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot express how amazing chi-city enterprises is! We worked with George who went above & beyond to make sure our reception was perfect! We had called around to a couple different vendors but knew chi-city was for us the second we talked with George! He was incredibly friendly and helpful. You could tell that he was truly passionate about what he does...and it showed! The music sheet on the website was so convenient! We actually ended up changing the entrance song for our bridal party (literally minutes before) he was so flexible!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mikal
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
George did my wedding recently and I was very impressed. He was patient with me, did a lot of searching of songs for me and made sure I was always happy. His prices are great compared to most 5 star DJs out there. He got to personally know me and we talked on the phone for quite some time before officially booking. I would definitley suggest him if you have an upcoming event and need a DJ. He also did my ceremony music and it came out beautiful. He will work around your schedule and again VERY patient. It is very nice to have someone work around your schedule.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dani
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Congratulations if you're reading this you just found your DJ!

We had Tom & Joe play my Cousin's wedding in September. They were so great and nailed everything perfectly!! During the reception the dance floor was PACKED!!! Throughout the entire night Tom and Joe were completely professional, flexible, friendly and fun to work with. I would recommend Chi City Enterprises for your next wedding. I truly couldn't have been more pleased!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
George was great. We planned an outdoor wedding that got rained out in and needless to say some scheduling adjustments were needed on the fly. Calm and cool George put us back on track and no one knew the wiser. True customer service professional, super easy to work with and highly recommend.

Thanks again, George!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
George was amazing!! They were so fun and listened to what we needed! Always returned calls and even went above to help us with other wedding aspects. They were so understanding especially living 1200 miles away in Florida. Recommended!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sam.
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Chi-City Entertainment is an amazing company Owned and operated by George Whyte, a dedicated true professional who is in love with his craft. George helped us think of every detail even parts of the wedding that were not related to the music. Do not mearly hire somone because they beat a deal or because they advertise all about price. Once you talk to george and hear the dedication in his voice to making you feel speacial and making every moment during your wedding its own event with its own theme song you will hire him on the spot. (i did) George and his team were very professional and I will continue to pass his name around anytime I hear that sombody is planning a wedding. Thanks CHI-CITY
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1339379387345-websizetraceyshaunengagement415201298of106
Tracey
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We contracted Chi City to DJ for our wedding reception at The Red Oak Room in Cantigny in Wheaton in Oct. of 2012. Chi City was the first of three DJs we interviewed, and from the moment we met George and Tom, we had a very good feeling they would be the ones we selected. We wanted someone who was professional, prepared for anything, and understood and could work with our style and tastes. We wanted a DJ who got everyone on the dance floor all night! We also had a somewhat limited budget, and Chi City fit well within our limits.

During the planning stages, George was our main contact. They had experience at our venue and brought backups of everything. They were easy to reach and willing to meet and talk as much as we wanted. They were easy-going, yet confident they could provide the service we wanted. We also provided them with a list of songs/artists we liked (including many of our high school favorites, which you normally wouldn’t hear at a wedding, like Third Eye Blind, Matchbox 20, etc.) and Tom, who was the head DJ at our reception, used this to as a guideline for cocktail hour, dinner, and dance music.

Tom and his assistant, John, were very professional and interacted appropriately with our group. The sound was also set up perfectly for the space. Tom also had a fantastic ability to read the room and helped achieve our goal of getting everyone on the dance floor all night.

We got many compliments on the DJ that evening (and still do!). Most were along the lines of “they are playing music I didn’t expect to hear at a wedding/haven’t heard in a long time, but I LOVE it”, or “your DJ was awesome! They played so much fun music!”

Bottom line: Our dance floor was spilling over outside, into the dining space and bar areas all night. Overall, George and Tom more than exceeded our expectations. We could not have wished for more, and would highly recommend them to others!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heavenly
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Chi city Enterprises made our wedding day PERFECT!!! From the ceremony, to the cocktail, to the reception these guys rocked it!! Our dance floor was full and people loved the music and lighting. After the wedding everyone kept complimenting us on the music and I have given several referrals!! The planning process was a breeze and George was available any time I had questions and met us at the reception hall to fine tune all the details! Our wedding day was perfect and chi city enterprises played a major part in that!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't give enough praise for Chi City Enterprises. I booked George Whyte, the owner, to be the DJ for my son's wedding celebration. He was very easy to work with and very open to my wishes. He offered great help in making this party such a success. He got there early to set up and played music during the cocktail hour, dinner and dancing. When he started playing the party got started. As the host I really sat back and was able to enjoy the evening. He was professional, yet very fun and engaging. I would highly recommend Chi City Enterprise for a great night of music.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We used Chi City Enterprises for our wedding DJ and couldn't have been more pleased. George, from the planning stages of the event to the day itself took great care of us! The company is professional and seasoned. We felt that the service was personalized. All of our contact with the company was responded to immediately. We didn't feel like it was difficult to get in touch.

A few things we particularly liked about Chi City Enterprises.

1) The company was willing to work with out budget.
2) George visited our our wedding site before the wedding to meet with my husband and I to discuss the details of the day, as well as to get a better idea on how to set up his equipment in the medium-sized space. This willingness to meet face-to-face beforehand gave us even greater confidence out Chi City's services and professionalism.
3) On the wedding day, George showed up early and efficiently set up. He touched base with us throughout the evening to let us know new announcements and shifts in the evening. We felt taken care of and didn't have to worry about keeping track of the order of events and announcements.
4) We unexpectedly required one more hour of DJ service, and George was flexible with us and stayed for that extra hour.
5) George was sensitive to our musical tastes and styles and he perfectly crafted a great collections of music for our event. We felt all song choices fit our event. And my husband (who is much more sensitive to music transitions than I) felt that George did a great job of transitioning from one song to the next. The mixes were thoughtful instead of random or awkward.

My biggest plug for Chi City is that we are still receiving compliments about our DJ. Many of our friends attended three weddings this summer (with our wedding being the last) and many of these friends have commented to us that our DJ was the best. I believe they were right!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I found this DJ randomly on the internet doing a search for my daughter's wedding reception. George at Chi-City Enterprises answered immediately and our business relationship was established. From the pre-wedding all the way to the post-wedding, George was professional on all levels and took a personal interest in the wedding. He aimed to please and get it right. George is friendly and extremely easy to work with besides being affordable and reasonable in his rates. The other outstanding benefit to his services is that he was an exceptional Master of Ceremonies for the evening. He lead the reception from start to finish by playing a great variety of music, introductions of wedding party and all announcements in between. I highly recommend ChiCity Enterprises to anyone in need of an excellent disc jocky with the people skills to match!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cary
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was on 6/09/12.
We were lucky to have George. He was the very best. He was on point with the music and it was great! I worked with him up to the very minute to the reception about the music "He nailed it.!" I've been a single Mom for ten years. So, I have a lovely 13 year old daughter who is the sweetest kid. My Husband will be adopting her this year. My own father had passed away. So, George and I figured it out how the music will be regarding the line up. The first danced was for my Husband and myself, then his Mother and him, then my Husband and our daughter. There wasnt a dry eye in the house when my Husband and daughter danced. My husband and daughters first "Daddy and Daughter Dance". They danced to "Stand by Me". I still tear up thinking about it. I had my dance came with my Father in Law. The both of us cried while we danced. The songs are in George's blood and he'll do anything to find that "right" song for that perfect dance. The other thing I wanted to point out is that yeah, the reception moves quickly. This is where George shines at his best. The time frame of everything he truly helps move the evening along with the timing of everything. From cake cutting, to the first toast, first dance. The line up of the most important moments he keeps on target with. George is awesome and he has a very wide list of music and is very professional. From the oldest in the room to the youngest in the room they were up dancing and having a blast. If your looking for those certain songs and moments and a very professional DJ then you found the right man. George, he goes above and beyond for the bride and groom. He makes those special moments happen. Everything was tasteful, professional and perfect!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Chi City was the perfect DJ for our wedding. We had George as our main DJ as well as a second DJ. George was there every step of the way from planning out the music to playing awesome music at the reception. He has a great personality and radio voice that makes your wedding reception super fun. I would highly recommend this company to anyone getting married!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wendyjohnson381
Wedding:
2/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We met with several local DJ services before we chose Chi-City. They didn't pressure us like the others and they were most professional. I liked the fact that we could pick our DJ before we signed the contract. They quoted us $400 less than the other three people we met with. My husband and I had George and he didn't disappoint! He knew exactly the right songs to play and checked in with us periodically to make sure we were happy. Chi-City would be the perfect choice for a picky bride (like me). :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We thought our Dj's were fabulous. Chi City was so helpful with all the pre-wedding advice and help. They have a online planner that made things easy. As for the recption... the music was perfect! They even pronounced all names correctly during introductions- something I didn't think possible considering both families names.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1312909563468-fbavatar514343496
Matthew
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Chi-City Enterprises really made us feel like we were the priority. We never felt pressured to make any decisions we were not sure about. George truly put in the time and the effort to make sure that we were completely satisfied. Moreover, he made sure that aside from making us happy, our guests were comfortable as well. He gradually adjusted the nature of the music to reflect the preferences of our parents and their friends first to then keeping the things more upbeat to fit ours and our friends’ tastes. We are very pleased with his work and we will certainly continue to recommend his services to others.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K&M
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
As soon as we met George, we knew our search for a DJ was over. He answered all of our questions and even covered things we never would of thought to ask. He was so helpful in making sure my reception flowed smoothly. Several of our guests told us how great they thought our DJ was and how much fun they were having. We couldn't of been happier with this vendor.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Connie
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
I had Chi-City Enterprises DJ my wedding after seeing them at my friend's reception a few years ago. We were holding our wedding and reception at my sister's home in Barrington, and Chi City made a trip out to her home to make sure that they could accomadate all our needs and to make sure everything would be set up properly for the event. I was EXTREMELY happy with the service. They were very professional, and did exactly what we wanted, and were very easy to work with. George was really a lot of fun, but not to the point of being obnoxious. Prices were great too!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt and Mel
Wedding:
7/2/2010
5.0/5.0
So happy I found this site.

A lot of people are happy with their DJ, so they give them a 5. They liked the music, he was funny, inexpensive...yada yada. That is great and all, but that is not what my review is about. For the most part, a good DJ is a good DJ, and they are a dime a dozen. Chi CIty offered something better.

My wedding was July 2010. My wife and I live in Washington, DC, but had the wedding in Chicago, where our families live. To be honest, the DJ was really the least of our concerns. Almost any DJ in the book can play the music you request. In fact, need a dj to play your music list, pay me $20.00 plus travel, give me the free food, and I am on it.

We had to make a number of trips home for planning an set up, and did not bother meeting with a DJ. Instead, I asked the person I trust most, mom, to ask around. Her suggestion, Chi City Enterprises. Here is where the review begins; sorry for the prologue:

I explained my situation to George, my eventual record spinner. The basics are: I told him the time, place, and a few unique details. I suggested some genres of music as well. George responded in kind. He assured us he has dealt with every sort of wedding, including out of towners, and made some suggestions. George, in a calm and confident matter laid out his plan. "Don't worry about the DJ, your wife and you have lager concerns. I will put together a play list, check out the venue in advance (he informed if the venue is one he has not been to, he always makes periodic check ins prior to the wedding), and send you the contract and my song list in the mail. One transaction." "Done" I thought!

George was true to his word. He mailed the song list, contract, and made periodic phone calls to us. Never once was he a bother or a hindrance. It was clear he did conduct periodic checks, as our venue site did have some changes and had he not gone there, I think there would have been a few issues.

On the day of the wedding George arrived early (I think he was the first or second person on sight), had all the necessary equipment, and was set up early. Get this! He asked to meet our parents. Not that this might matter to some of you, but to me that meant a lot. He was polite and friendly, and of course...he played all the right music.

George services went off so well, my wife's cousin hired him for her wedding as well.

At the end of the day George cleaned up his corner, wished us well, and quietly went on his way. This was our wedding, not a movie about a wedding singer/dj, and in no way attempted anything corny or outrageous in some stereotypical attempt to steal the lime light - if only even for a second.

The most important part about this entire experience was trust and accountability. Everything we asked for, George provided, and did so in such a seemless way it was as if we never noticed he was there. I don't know about you, but on the wedding day, and on the days leading up, I don't need headache creators or know-it-alls. George was neither.

I strongly recommend Chi City Enterprises. Any DJ in the book can play your song list, but few do so without being a bother.

Please ask George to give you my telephone number for a reference.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
12/10/2006
5.0/5.0
Chi City was a very professional, reliable DJ for my wedding. We were able to use them for Ceremony music as well as dinner and reception. We had Matt and Tom M. as our DJ's and MC's for the event. Prior to our actual wedding, we met with George multiple times to go over the venue (it was their first time at that location) and specific music requests. Never once, did they say "we can't do that". I would recommend Chi City to any bride or groom looking for a wedding DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lgcrawford
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.9/5.0
Chi City took the time to understand what we wanted for the wedding music and was very responsive to changes, requests, etc.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1202314949337-105_1354
maggie
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.9/5.0
Chi City could not have been a better choice for our wedding. We had so much fun and the music was amazing. George made sure he sat down with us before the wedding so he knew exactly what we expected and what types of music we wanted played. He did not disappoint us!! George was so pleasant to work with and the price is great! We had an amazing experience!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginny
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.6/5.0
Professional and extremely reasonable Disc Jockey. I just happen to stumble upon this DJ looking through the internet on the White Pages under DJ's. Upon calling him for a price, he was very personable on the phone and gave me an extremely reasonable price that came in way below 99 percent of all other dj's. I asked him if he had a special effect that would shine stars on the ceiling as if my guests and us would feel like we were dancing under a star-lit sky. He didn't but said he could and would be able to get it for me. So asking to meet with us at our reception venue to see the layout of the place and if the ceiling would even be condusive for that effect, he met with us at the reception venue at no cost to us, we talked with him about his services and felt an instant bond with him. We liked his personality and his willingness to meet with us at our reception venue and we signed the contract. He had to provide the pre-ceremony and ceremony music for us besides the reception music and his prices were still untouchable. He provided his services to us for 7 hours and we were very, very happy and satisfied with him. Several of my guests made comments to us how they thought our dj did a great job. He played such a variety of music to suit all my guest's ages and played the music at a decent volume. Some dj's blast the music so loud that I've seen a lot of my older relatives leave weddings shortly after the dinner. I explained that to him and he complied with our requests. If you are in the Chicago area and looking for a very reasonably priced dj, this vendor is one to at least consider when searching out dj's. I will definitely recommend him to future bride and grooms if they should ever inquire of me for recommendations.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Chi City Enterprises made my wedding reception a blast. They were very responsive on the time, and kept things moving along very smoothly throughout the night. They were very flexible with our picky music taste. They were very good at sticking with our music list to play, and what not to play. They were very loud and clear for all to hear as well. I would highly recommend them for your next special event. Much worth the value!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gail
Wedding:
5/2/2014
4.3/5.0
George is awesome. He was very helpful , proffesional, and knowledgeable. However something happened on my wedding day causing the outside speakers to not be outside. I'm not sure what though. So then we missed all the songs I picked to play during our cocktail hour. Therefore I'm not really sure if all the important songs I picked were played during my reception. George also needed to be told when and what annoucements to make, which I thought with all his experience he would know. (ie like late night snacks and to take leftover etc. ) Everything else was great with him and his team member. Very friendly!
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Naperville, IL 60540 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chi-City Enterprises DJs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1347664732639-cceshowbanner