130x130_sq_1295634088827-sweetwaterportraits05

cHill Weddings, LLC

Philadelphia , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Philadelphia, PA US 19119 (map)

PHONE

267-270-2774

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

cHill Weddings is a boutique wedding planning firm in the Philadelphia area. We specialize in intercultural and unique weddings that are personalized to reflect you as a couple.
... Read more
cHill Weddings is a boutique wedding planning firm in the Philadelphia area. We specialize in intercultural and unique weddings that are personalized to reflect you as a couple.
Please visit our website and blog for images from past events and additional client testimonials.

We look forward to working with you!

Now also serving NJ and NYC! Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1339376029475-brightsmithpakwedding183
130x130_sq_1339376058963-brightsmithpakwedding586
130x130_sq_1339376080302-brightsmithpakwedding691
130x130_sq_1339376041184-brightsmithpakwedding341
130x130_sq_1339376101436-brightsmithpakwedding700
130x130_sq_1339376111961-brightsmithpakwedding713
130x130_sq_1339376116829-001cpr6923300x450
130x130_sq_1323273549803-376
130x130_sq_1323272769521-nightoutside
130x130_sq_1339376892798-217photography0023570x424
130x130_sq_1339376884726-217photography0018570x380
130x130_sq_1323272790316-pinkbridesmaaids
130x130_sq_1339376905850-217photography0030570x380
130x130_sq_1339376921261-217photography0055570x380
130x130_sq_1339377457344-juliatony287570x380
130x130_sq_1339377477017-juliatony437570x855
130x130_sq_1339377485797-juliatony704570x855
130x130_sq_1339377467449-juliatony367570x855
130x130_sq_1339377447043-centerpiece570x424
130x130_sq_1339377509018-mk242resized
130x130_sq_1323272909594-021
130x130_sq_1339378709213-i0045
130x130_sq_1339378585774-i0224
130x130_sq_1339378592567-i0259
130x130_sq_1339378590293-i0246
130x130_sq_1339378587835-i0240
130x130_sq_1323272734046-brideonstairs
130x130_sq_1323272953929-369
130x130_sq_1339377547952-theartsballroomphiladelphia0023570x424
130x130_sq_1339377555795-wholeparty570x380
130x130_sq_1259688050719-4
130x130_sq_1323274988048-couplekissingphoto
130x130_sq_1323272758398-melissadress
130x130_sq_1323272942260-100522js0539
130x130_sq_1323272778912-pinkbouquets
130x130_sq_1323274381924-bcer419
130x130_sq_1323274405262-jamielynnblog08
130x130_sq_1323273751777-18311122canoneos20dzayas
130x130_sq_1323273535451-276
130x130_sq_1323273580925-settable
130x130_sq_1323274391518-cpost159
130x130_sq_1259688051375-6
130x130_sq_1323274975131-ns91
130x130_sq_1339377528540-ns101570x377
130x130_sq_1339377537795-ringbuddhapic1570x424
130x130_sq_1339377542533-ritashoes570x424
130x130_sq_1259688051422-7
130x130_sq_1259762295808-232
130x130_sq_1259762298261-108
130x130_sq_1259762303776-jthibachi001
130x130_sq_1259762332933-ray00820
130x130_sq_1259762340808-ray00817
130x130_sq_1259762344011-300
130x130_sq_1259762346245-459
130x130_sq_1259762349136-13020059kimsee
130x130_sq_1259762351776-17250821kimsee
130x130_sq_1259762355245-16500736kimsee
130x130_sq_1259762358776-16510737kimsee
130x130_sq_1259762365151-ray00814
130x130_sq_1295633032371-img1336
130x130_sq_1295633177922-img1687
130x130_sq_1295633320583-img1667bw
130x130_sq_1295633331662-dscf1229
130x130_sq_1295633337224-233cpr7735
130x130_sq_1295633340990-278cpr7873
130x130_sq_1295633382523-sweetwaterportraits05
130x130_sq_1295633447931-sweetwaterportraits10
130x130_sq_1295633479385-sweetwaterportraits25
130x130_sq_1295633533262-sweetwaterportraits47
130x130_sq_1339377505174-mk126570x855
130x130_sq_1339377522757-mk561570x380

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Maria saved our wedding! The vendor got everything wrong and she kept us stress free. She knew exactly what to do and how to do it without any direction from us. She went above and beyond and accommodated our crazy requests. We had a perfect day thanks to her and her assistant!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
cHILL Weddings was great to work with! We used them for day of wedding planning, but they helped us with so much more--with coordination, planning, and staying organized in the 3 months leading up to the wedding. They also were available for questions and referrals starting from the day we booked them.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beth
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough about Christina and her team! From the very first conversation right through the end of the evening of she was amazing! Christina took care of many things that a stressed-out bride would have lost it over....she was terrific and really understood how to translate our vision in to a reality....can't say enough ...except HIRE HER!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Christina was great. From the moment I met her, I knew that I could trust her and that she would run my wedding as I would, if I weren't the bride. I am pretty laid back in general, but I do tend to get stressed when my family is buzzing around looking to me for answers. I also have a bit of personal experience in event planning, so I knew I wanted someone who would make the decisions on the fly as they came up and only bother me for the really big things. Christina was perfect for this job: after our month-before meeting, I felt like I could breathe again. We ended up foregoing a florist (because my groom proposed to me using paper flowers, we went with paper flower centerpieces to reference the engagement story), so Christina became the de facto centerpiece assembler. She even had us drop off materials at her house the week before so they could be pre-assembled. She was only hired as a day-of coordinator for us, but when the vendor contact threw a fit about how many guests we had the week before my wedding, Christina took the brunt of it. I trusted her completely to handle it, and she actually was able to get us other things we wanted (like prime placement for our DJ) in her conversations with this woman. I would recommend her and her team to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sauce
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Christina did a great job! All night our guests commented on how wonderful and beautiful everything was and it was all thanks to her team. She never stressed us out about details and did things that we didn't even think of! She was also very flexible with meeting with us and doing phone calls and didn't make us feel like we were ever on a time limit with her. Her staff was also very helpful and professional. Christina and her services were worth every penny (and she was very affordable). Guests at my wedding already exclaimed that they want to hire her for their weddings!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot thank Christina and her assistant Sarah enough for making my day go so smoothly. From the moment I decided to hire Christina for my Day Of Coordination a weight was lifted off of my shoulders. Even though Christina is based in Philadelphia, she was so in tune with everything and everyone involved in my NYC wedding that if it weren’t for her cell phone area code I would have never known. I could not have gotten through the day without Christina and Sarah's guidance and professionalism.

It rained the day of my wedding and knowing I had my heart set on an outdoor ceremony Christina did everything she could to try to make it happen. She zipped between set up and my bridal suite -- communicating progress and details every step of the way (even texting me pictures while I was in hair & makeup). When mother nature refused to let me have my ceremony on the roof, she seamlessly led everyone into the "plan b" tent and made sure it all went off without a hitch. They kept things moving through out the evening and stayed thru cleanup. I woke up in the morning to find everything from the wedding neatly packed and labeled in my bridal suite.

I truly appreciate everything Christina and Sarah did for my wedding and would encourage anyone that may be on the fence about Day Of coordination to go for it and call C.Hill. It is more than worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristenLetko
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I can’t begin to describe my relationship with Christina Hill, principle coordinator of cHill weddings. What began as a simple client/consultant partnership quickly and seamlessly turned into friendship.

Initially, we hired Christina in addition to the planners provided to us by our location. During the initial phases of our planning we had several problems and wanted her to work on our behalf, almost as an advocate. We soon learned all that Christina (and her team!) was able, willing and eager to offer us. Christina had personal relationships with each of the vendors she put us in contact with. More often than not, accompanying us to our meetings and helping us make informed, thoughtful decisions about our day.

More times than a few, Christina went far above and beyond what she was asked. And addressed or avoided problems before they became an issue. Needless to say, that if there was indeed a problem on our wedding day, no one, including me, knew about it.

On top of that, is her genuine sincere love of her job and clients. Each time we spoke she encouraged and offered assistance with each of my numerous wedding projects, including the one I decided to take on a mere 24 hours prior to my nuptials. We (my husband and I) often felt that we must have been the only clients she had, knowing full well that we weren’t. I fancy myself an organized, meticulous, detailed oriented person and Christina often remembered details or ideas that even I forgot.

Our wedding day was flawless. Everything that I had dreamed of, worried about and hoped for came to life. I know that it wouldn’t have without Christina. The “cherry on top” was when she pulled us away from the hustle and bustle and let us take it all in. Your wedding day is a blur, to say the least, and the most memorable moments that I have are ones that Christina created: after our ceremony she had a private location just for my husband and me to embrace our newlywed-ness or when she snuck us away from our family photos to see the spectacular reception area. Those precious, private moments that so often get overlooked are now mine to hold, thanks only to Christina.

I understand all those who think “I can do this on my own”. Truthfully, you probably can if you want to have constant wedding nightmares, sub-par vendors and a stressful, confusing wedding day. Or you can find a partner, a friend in Christina Hill, who will be your “go-to girl”, confidant and friend.

If you are looking for the best of the best, the crème de la crème so to speak, look no further than Christina Hill and her amazing team. It will make your wedding planning journey memorable (rather than miserable) and very, very “cHill”.

Thank you, Christina (and team!) from the bottom of our hearts. We are eternally grateful for your generosity, sincerity and kindness. We love you.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christineplusmike
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding day went off without a hitch because of Christina and Chill Weddings. She was our day-of-coordinator and I am so thankful she was there! She took care of everything, whether it was alphabetizing the place cards to making sure Mike and I had a few moments to enjoy a private bite to eat before the cocktail reception. Christina has an amazing there's-no-problem-I-can't-tackle attitude that makes it easy to trust her and put your wedding day in her highly capable hands (despite meeting only once prior!). She allowed for my husband, our moms and me to truly enjoy the day, instead of worrying about logistics, for which we are all extremely grateful. I would highly recommend Christina for any Philadelphia area bride!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1305041266544-fbavatar500012957
Melissa
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Well, this is long overdue - and to be quite honest, hard to write. Words cannot describe how extremely happy my husband and I were with the service Christina and her staff provide as well as the high esteem we hold for them. From the moment we met, I knew Christina was the only person I could trust to coordinate the events of my wedding day. After all, I put so much time, detail and quite frankly a lot of blood, sweat and tears in making this day perfect. I knew that all the hard work would be for naught if I spent my wedding day obsessed with the details. Though I see myself as somewhat a perfectionist, Christina made me feel comfortable enough to relinquish control and put the execution of the day’s details in her hands. Boy, I am glad I did.

Christina’s professionalism, organization and the fact that she genuinely cares about her clients came shining through. She was responsive, pleasant to work with and exuded a calmness that put the entire bridal party at ease. She and her team went above and beyond on all fronts; whether emergency runs to the drug store during the reception or helping to connect me with some last minute vendors the weeks prior to the big day. We are also sure she shielded us from some wedding day drama. This was the best decision we made and we would do it again in a heartbeat.

Thanks again to Christina and team for all their hard work and attention to every little detail. The wedding day was flawless and cHill Weddings executed our vision perfectly.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Melissa and Ed
September 18, 2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough wonderful things about Christina and her team at cHill Weddings. We used Christina as our day-of-coordinator and her service was impeccable. She went above and beyond just helping us the day of. She made sure all of our vendors knew the appropriate details so that everyone was on the same page. Christina was always available to answer any questions that I had. We had so many fine details to our wedding and she made sure that every single one was included. She made the day flow smoothly so that I didn't have to worry about anything but having fun.
Our wedding day started off extremely rainy which had me in tears (since most of our wedding was outdoors), but Christina was there to reassure me that everything was going to be great. She was quick to make the appropriate adjustments so that our guest wouldn't be standing in the rain. Christina and her team did a flawless job of setting up and communicating with our vendors.
Not only were we happy with cHill Weddings but our caterer (Limoncello's of West Chester, PA) was immensely impressed with their service. My husband did not want to hire a coordinator and I had to practically beg him to even meet with one, but in the end he finally confessed to me that we couldn't have done it without Christina and her team. We both agreed that it was one of the best decisions we made regarding our wedding. We couldn't have chosen a better coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jasmin
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
we worked with tasha bunch as our day-of wedding coordinator last may 2010. i contacted christina at chill weddings in march 2010 when i quickly came to the conclusion that i would need help on the big day! luck was on our side because she still had that spot available! we had a great experience with the whole team at chill weddings. they were quick to respond to emails and they were very detailed in their preparations; we felt they went above and beyond to make sure that our vision for our wedding came true. in hindsight, getting a day-of coordinator was the best money i spent to get peace of mind during our wedding and to not burden our family and wedding party with all the nitty gritty. tasha and her team executed our plans the way we had layed out and kept us on schedule throughout the day. best of luck in your wedding planning!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gabrielle Crowley
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
We weren't sure that we wanted to hire a wedding coordinator at first, our budget was tight and we had already planned much of the wedding ourselves. We are so thankful, though, that we had Tasha as our day-of coordinator. We met with her a couple of times before the wedding. She was patient as we all (Mom, Groom, Bride) explained our vision and the things that were most important to us. She always answered our questions promptly through email and thought of a few questions that we might not have come up with on our own. On the day of the wedding we decided to give up control and enjoy ourselves. Tasha and her assistant, Sara, made that possible and executed the behind-the-stage stuff so we didn't have to worry about it. Our venue staff said that they really enjoyed working with her because she was clear and organized. Thanks Tasha, Sara, and Christina for making our day go smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
9/18/2009
5.0/5.0
I always thought I would plan my wedding on my own, but when Larry and I decided to get married in Philadelphia, I knew I would need help, both with finding vendors who fit our budget and style and with the actual logistics of the day. When we first met Christina, we clicked immediately and I knew we would be in good hands. Her ideas and suggestions were invaluable to the whole planning process. We had already booked our ceremony and reception sites, but filling in the details that would make our wedding personal is where Christina assisted us the most. We gave her our budget and she led us to our fantastic caterer, the event rental company, wonderful florist, talented photographers, reception entertainment, invitation designer and printer, and my hair and make-up artists. As with all event planning, every aspect of the wedding did not work out smoothly, but Christina was always calm and able to offer a solution to any problem that arose. She was only a phone call away when any concern crept up and was happy to discuss it or reassure me when I needed it.

Not only was Christina helpful in planning the wedding, but she and her team insured a smooth wedding day. Our wedding reception site was just that - a place to have a reception - and so much work was needed to complete it before the evening began. Christina and her team oversaw the set-up of the reception and the ceremony, as well as kept an eye on the shuttles we had provided for our guests for that day. I remained blissfully unaware of any issues that morning or evening and was able to truly enjoy my wedding day.

Our wedding was everything we had hoped it would be and we owe a great deal to Christina!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
B3
Christine
Wedding:
5/15/2009
5.0/5.0
I've tried to write this review many times but its hard. When it comes to Christina's service i am speechless. It is much easier to write something when things dont go our way or if there are problems during the planning process or day-of. Aside from one or 2 glitches with other vendors (which Christina took care of seamlessly) everything went so smoothly. While other brides may start stressing a month or 2 out, my mind was at ease until maybe the last few days leading up to the wedding, and those were really due to nerves more then anything else.

Christina found vendors that matched our style AND or budget. She matched us with Andrew our photographer, Brown Betty our baker, Natalie for hair, Mila for makeup, Robert Ryans our caterer/venue, and Magical Sights & Sounds or DJ. I also probably threw her for a loop when I requested a filipino and korean dance troupe, but she delivered. That's basically our entire wedding. What would i have done without her. Additionally, her and her team arranged our centerpieces with the flowers we provided. Could we have asked for anything more?

On the day of, if there were any problems i never knew. All the vendors were set up and ready when they needed to be. Everything looked gorgeous. And most importantly Marc and I only had to worry about having fun. At the end of the night Christina and her staff collected all our wedding items which was one less thing to worry about.

Every bride out there should know, there is no way to avoid the little hiccups along the way. The mark of a truly fabulous wedding planner is how he or she deals with them. Christina dealt with all of them flawlessly. I highly recommend her and her staff.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amyrh
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
I contacted Christina for day of coordination services and we really cannot imagine our wedding without her help. My husband still raves that it was the most worthwhile thing we did. Christina was not available for our wedding, so Tasha was our coordinator and she was fabulous. They were both organized, yet relaxed and put me at ease from the first moment we met. We had an outdoor wedding at a friends farm, so there was a lot of work that needed to be done since this was not a traditional venue. My day ran just as planned and I was able to relax and enjoy my wedding. Our friends and family still rave that it was best wedding they have ever attended. I wish I could do a better job expressing how happy I was with Christina and Tasha- words really cannot do it justice.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
savvy
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Chillweddings LLC was an invaluable resource on our wedding day. Christina Hill & staff were especially key in helping us set up our reception room with floral decor since our florist was not able to set up. They worked with our overall theme & really made the entire wedding day smooth from beginning to end. We could not have done without CHILL weddings.Thanks so much for making our wedding day so special for us. I would highly recommend Chill weddings to brides!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
2/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Christina and her entire team are wonderful! Everything my fiance and I needed was taken care of in a timely and professional manner. She took care of everything from helping us select a venue for the wedding to checking us into our hotel on the night of our wedding!!! Christina is a pleasure to work with and takes care of even the smallest details!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lskyrm
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Christina Hill was responsible for the day coordination of my wedding. She was fantastic, organized, and very dependable. My other vendors and family commented on how professional she and her assistant were. She really made me and my family feel at ease that day, and made sure to tackle any potential concerns I had. She even took the time to support my photographer in family photos since we have a huge family and he was a one man show. I could never thank her enough for all that she to assist in making my wedding day seemless, and wonderful for me and my husband.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Christina and her assistant we're incredible! We had our wedding at a beach house that we rented for the week. It was absolutely gorgeous and exactly what we wanted but by doing it this way as opposed to a typical wedding venue it is much more work. I met with Christina two days prior to the wedding and we did a whole walk through of how we saw the day flowing. She had already called all of my vendors and introduced herself and touched base with them. She was extremely professional and I felt very confidant that she was imagining everything the way we saw it. The day of Christina and her assistant arrived at the house early to direct the flow of traffic among all the vendors getting there and setting up on time. A lot of work had to be done, and while I was getting ready in the hotel and taking pictures never once did I think about any of the chaos going on in the house. I felt very reassured that Christina had it all under control. I was able to enjoy the entire morning with my family and friends drinking mimosas and taking pictures stress free.
Once arriving at the house everything was perfect, the shuttles had gotten all the guest there on time, Christina made sure that the grooms family portraits were taken before the ceremony, the live musician was there playing for pre-ceremony, all the centerpieces were put together, and the tent was ready for cocktail hour. As we pulled up Christina gathered everyone together that need to walk down the aisle, she cued the musician to play the correct music and we had a breath taking ceremony.
After the ceremony, cocktail hour followed in the tent while my new husband and I went off to take pictures. Christina made sure all our guests were directed into the tent and the musician was able to set up in the tent for cocktail as well. Once we came back from pictures, Christina came and checked in with me to make see if I was ready to be announced, she made sure the DJ knew we were coming and all the proper people and songs were played. As the night went on we had a blast and I never had one moment of stress or worry, and neither did my mother. My whole family was able to enjoy the entire night dancing, eating and drinking.
It seemed if I ever needed something through the night either Christina or her assistant were right there before I had the chance to look for them. To me it was a flawless and perfectly smooth day, to Christina it may not have been, I'll never know because if a problem did arise she handled it without having to trouble the bride, groom, mother of the bride or anyone else. I would recommend having a coordinator to everyone, and I would absolutely recommend Christina and her team.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ea42582
Wedding:
7/13/2008
5.0/5.0
cHill Weddings was wonderful! She helped me find my DJ, my photographer, and my florist. She made itineraries and checklists. She emailed just to check in and see if I needed anything. She made sure that everything was set up at my venue the morning of. I'm sure there's a million little things that she did that I wasn't even aware of.

It was amazing to go through my ceremony and reception without worrying about anything.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
January 19
Wedding:
1/19/2008
5.0/5.0
This vendor paid wonderful attention to detail. She was always calm, collected and very kind. She did an exceptional job and wasy always willing to meet the bride and grooms' needs.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
4/11/2009
4.9/5.0
I would highly recommend Christina to any bride getting married. The only problem I had was with one of her assistants taking the wedding bands from the best man and then leaving them back at the hotel, causing the wedding to be late and causing me a lot of stress since she was in the car with me when she discovered she didn't have the rings. But Christina herself was beyond exceptional, a pleasure to work with. She found me some great vendors and she did an amazing job decorating our reception (which was no small task). Her other assistant was amazing as well, sewing my dress in the middle of the reception when the bustle came out and it ripped. Christina always responded back quickly to every crazy email and was a pleasure to work with. She truly is one of the best wedding planners in the area.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/22/2008
4.8/5.0
Christina and her assistant turned my wedding from a dream into a reality. She took care of any questions, table set-ups and ceremony set-ups as well as calmed my nerves. I would recommend her to anyone who needs help planning their wedding - she is honest and truly made my wedding a fairytale come true!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1231445981859-kelse_395_img_7147
LT-C2B
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.7/5.0
Working with Christina was a real pleasure and I felt like she went above and beyond the day-of coordination duties we hired her for. We were in contact a lot throughout our wedding planning which we did remotely as we live across the country. Christina was incredibly forthcoming with recommendations for other vendors for our various needs and was just a really nice ear to bounce ideas and concerns off.

Our wedding was at my parents' house and a house wedding comes with any number of obstacles. I will probably never know just how hard Christina and her assistant worked that day but I think the fact that everything went smoothly for the most part has so much to do with them and the hard work that went into executing all of the details of our wedding. They were very equipped with the right technology to be able to keep in touch from various points of a rather expansive party area and we met all of our cues just fine.

Our only let down was that the wedding was running very behind (I have no idea by how much because no one would tell me what time it was) due in part to the bus driver who was bringing our guests out from the city taking his own route instead of following the directions we supplied. So when the wedding ended all too soon, there was a lot of confusion surrounding the departure of the buses and my husband was literally running up and down the long driveway out to the buses handling the coordination. I blame myself for suggesting that we have the buses wait longer because then some people heard that and hung back and others were on the bus already but I guess I just wished we had some more help working through that miscommunication and I felt like we were given up on at that point.

Overall, a real pleasure to work with, very smart and resourceful.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
cHill Weddings, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review!

Just to clarify I have added Lauren's additional comments regarding the bus situation:

"{Bus company} was a huge disappointment and I wanted it to be clear that was a separate issue but I wish Pete wasn't the one working at the end of the night to wrangle everyone. Again, I probably caused the confusion to begin with and it was a day full of unexpected hiccups that I believe you quietly handled without me ever having to be involved and that is stellar." - From Lauren

It was a pleasure to work with you both and all your other fabulous vendors that helped make your wedding day memorable!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/21/2008
4.6/5.0
Everything was great and very organized!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.2/5.0
Overall, we had a great wedding and we were able to really enjoy the wedding day thanks to Christina. We were planning a Philly wedding from another state in a relatively short period of time so we were in dire need of a planner. We had heard from several friends how planners can really make the planning process an enjoyable one so we were in search of one and found Christina through a wedding magazine. She was impressive - for our initial meeting, she had already done some research based on what I had told her through our phone conversation. She was abit more than what we were hoping to pay but she worked with us so that we were able to work with her.

Positives: She was very prompt with her responses most of the time and really worked with our questions/concerns/requests even to the smallest details. She introduced us to a great florist, invitation designer, photographer, and DJ. She really helped to make the wedding weekend a success for all guests from establishing several hotel room blocks in different price ranges to making/delivering welcome bags to making room for unexpected guests on the wedding day. Without her, we would not have had the AWESOME photobook that our photographer made for us nor the pretty ceremony programs done by the Dulcetta Girls. We are thankful that she tried to shield us from the little glitches that were going on during the wedding day because we were able to enjoy our wedding day free of stresses! We also did not have to worry about anything after the wedding because she gathered all the necessary things to be delivered to our room/vendors, took care of payments, etc.


Negatives: We felt, AT TIMES, that she was not as conscious of our budget as we had hoped she would be - she suggested to us rehearsal dinner venues that were out of our price range but when we did our own search, we were able to find one in the area that fit our budget; she recommended a wedding website with a fee so we went and found a website without a fee that had the online RSVP service that we were looking for; same with calligrapher, and so on. We also felt that she was not as proactive about her services as we had hoped she would be as the wedding planner. She was great at responding to all our concerns promptly but we were the ones asking her "so...what's next?" rather than she informing us of what's ahead. Last, we were at times disappointed by her mistakes such as putting up the wrong address on the wedding website for one of the hotels, not knowing the correct time for our ceremony even several weeks before the wedding (including our reception venue vendor). However, she was very responsive to our concerns when we brought them up during our planning process.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rsteinbe
Wedding:
9/13/2008
3.2/5.0
I met Christina on the Weddingbee boards. She seemed knowledgeable about Philly weddings, and though she hadn't done a ton of weddings at that point, her price was really good. We were originally looking for just a day-of-coordinator, but because the price for full coordination was still less than half of what we budgeted for a DOC, we figured that we should go for it, especially considering that I was planning a Delaware wedding from Texas.

In the planning stages, Christina was a wonderful resource. She was very quick to respond to email and phone calls and offered valuable support and feedback to both my mom and me, especially on particularly sticky issues. She referred us to wonderful vendors who were within our budget, including Jeremy Evans Thomas (our wedding photographer), Synergetic Sounds (our DJ and lighting designer), Dollface Studios (my boudoir photographer), Citywrites (our calligrapher), Flowers by Mary Elizabeth (our florist), Wertz Motor Coach (our guest shuttle) and Cakes by Suzy (our groom's cake and wedding cake baker). With these references, Christina ended up saving us thousands of dollars and, for the most part, we were pleased with her vendor referrals.

Christina ran the rehearsal well, commanding attention and respect of a large number of people. She was efficient and addressed questions authoritatively.

There were a number of things, however, that didn't go so well. I understand that issues come up that can't be helped, but as a professional wedding planner, we expected Christina to more effectively manage these things. I made it clear that guests would start arriving at 5:30PM. I heard from a number of guests that when they arrived (after 5:30), the guest book and card vase was not set up and the staff was not properly dressed. There were 2 issues that probably kept Christina from having the set-up completely finished when the guests arrived: the chuppah was not properly configured and the shuttle was late. When we arrived at the museum at 5PM, the chuppah set-up was underway, but it was set-up incorrectly. This was a huge problem that needed to be corrected. More details can be found in the Flowers by Mary Elizabeth review below, but the bottom line was that if Mary was unclear about the set-up, Christina should have taken the initiative to get it fixed, rather than to rope the groom into fixing it. The other issue was that there was no point person for the bus, so the driver didn't have clear instructions on what to do or where to go, which meant that it was late leaving. I heard from a number of people Christina apparently told people that it would not be coming back and we would not hold the ceremony if people were late (neither of which were true), so people had to drive themselves instead of taking the shuttle, which is exactly what I didn't want. The bus ended up making a second trip and delaying the start time of the ceremony, which is fine, but the lack of communication around this was unacceptable. The bus should have been organized better so that the ceremony wasn't delayed by 20 minutes.

Further, I was waiting in the back of the museum with my mom and the rabbi from 5:30 on. At 5:30, I managed to catch Lisa (Christina's assistant) and ask her for my bag to touch up my makeup. After that, I heard nothing else from Christina or Lisa. 6 rolled around, and no one came to get me. 6:10 rolled around and no one came to get me. I knew something was wrong but had no idea what. Not knowing what was going on was HORRIBLE. All I wanted to do was get married, but for some reason, I couldn't! I had no idea that we were still waiting for people to arrive, and had I known, I would have felt SO much better about the whole thing. Instead, I felt in the dark and out of control. In the end, the rabbi had to say enough is enough and tell her to get on with the ceremony.

That being said, I was so pleased with the reception room set-up. Everything was set-up exactly as I intended and it really looked beautiful.

Once the ceremony was finished, however, it was as if Christina disappeared. I had to cue the DJ to do things like cut the cake and do the hora, and I had to tell my dad when to give the toast. Christina had a minute-by-minute timeline of the entire day, and she knew that toasts were to be done during the first and second courses and that the bride/FOB/groom/MOG dance was to be done during the second and third courses. But after the time for these things came and went and the DJ made no mention of doing it, I had to be the one to tell the DJ to make these things happen. This was precisely the reason I hired a wedding planner -- so I wouldn't have to make sure things like this were done at the reception!

Other things weren't in place when they needed to be -- there wasn't a knife and plate next to the cake, so we were standing there for a few minutes awkwardly waiting for these things (apparently my sister had to ask her to get it, and Christina said to her "Oh, I figured she would have a cake set?" Christina had made a checklist of everything I had and I handed it all off to Christina the day before, and there was no cake set there.). We needed chairs for the hora and after the DJ made the announcement, it also took her a few minutes during the hora to get them. It was like the DJ would make an announcement, and then we would stand around waiting for a few minutes, and then whatever we needed appeared. This was unacceptable, and really awkward.

Lastly, and this is the least of my worries but it impacted my mom a lot, when we asked Christina to help us transport the gift bags to the hotels, Christina declined. She also did not offer to help us transport everything from our house to the museum. I believe this is standard wedding planner stuff, and it was a significant hassle for my mom in the days before the wedding.

In the grand scheme of things, these things did not impact the event. We were still married. Our guests still had a ton of fun. And I understand that things go wrong. But when things do go wrong, the wedding planner should be the one to make it right -- that's why we hired one. Unfortunately, it was Christina's lack of communication and preparation that made these things go wrong. This was unacceptable for a professional wedding planner.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
cHill Weddings, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Rebecca, for your review and comments. I am very happy that you were satisfied with the most of vendor recommendations and my services prior to the wedding. I'm really happy that you loved the reception decor, as all of us worked very hard to get it perfect for you.

As for the rest of the reception situation, I felt as though your comments were unfair. We had 1 hour to set up the entire ceremony and cocktail hour due to museum closing times. While other vendors were busy with their set up, Lisa and I had planned on setting up the guest book early and get dressed to start ushering guests towards the guestbook table and orchid boutonnières. Unfortunately, one of the outdoor chefs took our guest book table and started to use it for his prep, and it wasn't until much later and also with the help of John from Toscana, that we were finally able to get the table. By this point, the wedding party arrived and the guests were starting to trickle in. We wanted to set up the guest book perfectly instead of leaving it for the sake of getting dressed. Once the table was set, we did go and change into black suits, suitable for the event. There are some situations that are out of my control, and we always try to make the best of each circumstance.

For the shuttle, there were major communication issues. When I called the shuttle company to confirm all times and locations, they confirmed and everything was set to go. What I did not know until later was that the shuttle company dispatches out their drivers from other companies, so they themselves do not have direct numbers to the drivers, therefore I could not get any quick answers with them.

Once I found out your dino bag was missing, the bridesmaids alerted me that you may have left it at the hotel. There was no way my assistant or myself, or any other staff member from Toscana could run back to the hotel and be back in time for the ceremony. My assistant left to retrieve the bag immediately following the ceremony. In the meantime, I had my wedding emergency items which you did take advantage of.

During the reception, I was in the Exhibit Hall 90% of the time. I had my schedule and checklist on me at all times and Lisa and I were coordinating between the photographer, DJ, and Erica from Toscana. Because we were already delayed from the ceremony and shuttle, Erica and I were communicating together to work out new times for the toasts, dances, horas, and food, etc. so that we would not go over time (since the museum was strict on closing time).

For the Hora, Kyle and I went to get chairs, and we had them ready. Once the need for chairs arrived, we started to bring them to the center of the circle, only to see that chairs were already there. For the cake set, it's true, it was not included on my check list of things to look for, set up, or take back to the car. Therefore, I believed it was going to be provided by the caterer since it was not listed on my list of responsibilities. Had I have known that no cake set was available, I would have brought my cake set, which I let my other clients use, instead of having to use a chef knife from the caterer.

There is one other thing that you have not written about, and that was the popcorn machine. That is one thing that was very admittedly late, however, it started smoking in the hallway, and the museum directed us to take it outside in the event that the sprinklers go off. I did not want you or your family to be liable for any damages. Once outside, we had issues with the outlet (didn't work), so eventually we carted it in for the display and a few bags of popcorn with what we had and had to turn it off.

We ran the reception as we do for all other weddings and unfortunately, not all events will happen at the precise moment it is listed in a schedule. Part of being a professional wedding planner is being flexible and be able to adapt quickly. Also as issues arise, we try to diffuse it or find other solutions. During these times, I rarely check with the bride and groom of any changes unless it is something serious, and let the couple enjoy each moment without my team or other vendors interrupting them. My couples trust that I will coordinate the show. For example, I have done other weddings where limos went out of commission 24 hours before the wedding, EMTs having to be sent a sick guest, and having all votives missing on tables. And in each of these cases, and others, my team and I were able to fix the problem without them being aware of the situation, or keeping it from ruining the wedding.

This is true, the night was not perfect, but there were many things that went very well. I am very disappointed that you did not trust in me, especially after the relationship we had throughout the planning process. However, you are correct in saying it was a beautiful party, the guests had a great time, and most importantly, you and your husband were married. Congratulations, and I wish you both a very wonderful marriage. - Christina

MAP

 
Philadelphia, PA 19119 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for cHill Weddings, LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1295634088827-sweetwaterportraits05