130x130 sq 1381942425579 header bride

Choice Entertainment

Richmond, Charlottesville, Dc, Va Beach, All Of Virginia! , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

10035 Sliding Hill Rd, Suite #200
Richmond, Charlottesville, DC, Va Beach, All of Virginia!, VA 23005 US (map)

PHONE

804-788-4603

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

For 25 years Choice Entertainment has been growing strong with thousands of happy brides and clients! Because DJ/MCs are the 'brand ambassador' for your big day, we train all of our... Read more
For 25 years Choice Entertainment has been growing strong with thousands of happy brides and clients! Because DJ/MCs are the 'brand ambassador' for your big day, we train all of our DJ/MCs to be professional, thorough, and creative guides for your event. According to Choice owner, Bill Gilliam, “We work hard to raise our client's expectations about what a DJ/MC should be. Then on wedding day, we go above and beyond to ensure flawless, fun, and stress-free events time and time again.”

Professional Disc Jockeys Choice DJ’s have been recognized as the best by customers, wedding professionals,the readers of Richmond Magazine and WeddingWire.com users year after year!! So what makes Choice DJ’s so different?

Experience – 10 to 20 years and the savvy gained from hundreds of receptions is typical.

Training -- Learning from the best in the business ensures a flow of new ideas for personalizing receptions and consistently flawless performances.

Preparation – Key to success! Choice DJ’s meet with clients IN PERSON to offer ideas for a smooth event schedule and music playlist (and DO NOT playlist too)!

Professionalism – There will be no surprises, unprofessional behavior or embarrassing moments.

Great Bands Live musicians can add romance and excitement to a reception. Choice represents dozens of the best acts, from elegant classical and jazz combos, to exciting dance bands. Choice consultants are there (in-person, by phone and on-line) to help narrow the huge number of options to one that fits perfectly…

Our advice is always FREE... call us and pick our brains for ideas!!!

Our service goes well beyond just helping you find a band. Once you have secured a contract with the band for your reception, we will send you an event planning tool exclusive to Choice Entertainment. The Choice Planning Guide is a comprehensive guide to communicating the vision of your reception to the band leader. In it you will find options and ideas for just about every aspect of your reception you can think of and some you could never imagine. We will be with you right up to the wedding date to offer advice, answer questions, and make sure your big day is anxiety free.

Entertainment Insurance Unfortunately, there is no such thing! Choice offers peace of mind that is almost as good. Deposits paid stay safely in an escrow account – a solid contract with reputable artists means the entertainers will be there – the 24 hour, Choice Emergency Line has helped to maintain a 100% performance record on all Choice weddings...100% after 25 years totally ROCKS!!

The Value Sometimes it costs a little more to hire true professionals. DJs charge what they are worth. The extra expense might make the difference between a party and the celebration of a lifetime. Finding the best value all starts with a call to Choice Entertainment. Read less
DJ , Band , Rentals & Photobooths

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1390605316988 174erickson sweeney
130x130 sq 1390605214310 080erickson sweeney
130x130 sq 1390605230340 088erickson sweeney
130x130 sq 1390605278982 090erickson sweeney
130x130 sq 1389050964777 2013 12 07 16.35.2
130x130 sq 1389051097189 2013 12 07 17.51.3
130x130 sq 1389051199093 2013 12 07 17.55.0
130x130 sq 1390605338008 748erickson sweeney
130x130 sq 1381946477432 2013 04 20 22.05.34
130x130 sq 1390605243649 089erickson sweeney
130x130 sq 1381946447827 2012 07 04 12.57.54
130x130 sq 1389051311657 2013 12 07 21.28.3
130x130 sq 1389050885327 header brid
130x130 sq 1389050817812 choice famil
130x130 sq 1389050853776 burnforyoubanner1
130x130 sq 1381946454305 2013 03 12 17.04.39

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Agency
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians), Small (1-3 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Calypso, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
We have DJs for every style and genre!
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
We can play anything!! The music is the easy part, the other 90% of the job that we do so well is the planning and master of ceremonies work.
What is your usual attire?
Professional/business attire
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
We can usually find anything they need! If there is something they want totally off the map, we do ask the client to give us a CD or MP3.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We have about 30 DJs that work for us.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Usually 2 hours.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
That is an absolute requirement for Choice DJs.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Yes!
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
We require that, too!
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes!
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
All of our DJs have lighting for the dance floor included gratis in their service package.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
2 hours, approx.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
Not usually.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No. This is your event, not ours.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
If needed and desired, yes. We have some of the most well-trained MCs in all of the Richmond metro.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Great music selection and knowledge of the crowd is always helpful.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Karen
Wedding:
12/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Our daughter was married on December 20th, 2014, at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, Virginia. For that event, our wedding coordinator at the Resort recommended Choice Entertainment’s Bill Gillian to serve as the wedding DJ. Having Bill as our wedding DJ turned out to be one of the best decisions we made regarding the wedding planning!

In the planning stages, Bill’s tireless research and attention to detail ensured that his performance was extraordinary and beyond our expectations. He worked closely with the Bride and Groom, the Bride’s family, and the wedding coordinator to provide innovative ideas and expert guidance on the schedule, reception activities, song selections, etc. For the actual event, he was impeccably dressed, arrived early, and provided a great selection of music for the cocktail hour; he led the reception activities with just the right amount of music and dialogue; he delivered every detail as planned and was flexible enough to tailor the activities as needed. Highlights of Bill’s performance were the introductions of the wedding party as they arrived at the reception, working with the Bride’s father to make his 1st dance with the Bride extra special, and the hilarious newlywed game. Bill was instrumental in making the wedding reception one of the most enjoyable I have attended. Many of our wedding guests complimented us on our choice of Bill as our DJ.

Beyond being an expert in his field, Bill’s passion and enjoyment of his work comes through in every activity. I would like to thank Bill for his dedicated performance, attention to details, and professionalism. If you are looking for a first-class DJ and wedding team addition, Bill and Choice Entertainment is absolutely the best!
Our daughter was married on December 20th, 2014, at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, Virginia. For that event, Read more...
Our daughter was married on December 20th, 2014, at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, Virginia. For that event, our wedding coordinator at the Resort recommended Choice Entertainment’s Bill Gillian to serve as the wedding DJ. Having Bill as our wedding DJ turned out to be one of the best decisions we made regarding the wedding planning!

In the planning stages, Bill’s tireless research and attention to detail ensured that his performance was extraordinary and beyond our expectations. He worked closely with the Bride and Groom, the Bride’s family, and the wedding coordinator to provide innovative ideas and expert guidance on the schedule, reception activities, song selections, etc. For the actual event, he was impeccably dressed, arrived early, and provided a great selection of music for the cocktail hour; he led the reception activities with just the right amount of music and dialogue; he delivered every detail as planned and was flexible enough to tailor the activities as needed. Highlights of Bill’s performance were the introductions of the wedding party as they arrived at the reception, working with the Bride’s father to make his 1st dance with the Bride extra special, and the hilarious newlywed game. Bill was instrumental in making the wedding reception one of the most enjoyable I have attended. Many of our wedding guests complimented us on our choice of Bill as our DJ.

Beyond being an expert in his field, Bill’s passion and enjoyment of his work comes through in every activity. I would like to thank Bill for his dedicated performance, attention to details, and professionalism. If you are looking for a first-class DJ and wedding team addition, Bill and Choice Entertainment is absolutely the best! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/29/2014
5.0/5.0
I had Eric Cunningham as my DJ and this was one of the best choices I've made for our wedding celebration. He not only did a superb job keeping everyone dancing at the dance floor, but he was able to help me finding the best flower shop, Brazilian/Samba dancers and photobooth services in Richmond. Everyone he recommended had the professionalism and personality as awesome as his. They all worked together as a team to make the wedding day as stress free as possible. I could not have been more pleased with his services and with the referrals. Definitely book him if you are lucky enough to have him free to work at your event!! www.choiceentertainment.com/djs/eric-cunningham/
I had Eric Cunningham as my DJ and this was one of the best choices I've made for our wedding celebration. He not only did Read more...
I had Eric Cunningham as my DJ and this was one of the best choices I've made for our wedding celebration. He not only did a superb job keeping everyone dancing at the dance floor, but he was able to help me finding the best flower shop, Brazilian/Samba dancers and photobooth services in Richmond. Everyone he recommended had the professionalism and personality as awesome as his. They all worked together as a team to make the wedding day as stress free as possible. I could not have been more pleased with his services and with the referrals. Definitely book him if you are lucky enough to have him free to work at your event!! www.choiceentertainment.com/djs/eric-cunningham/ Read less
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
caitlin
Wedding:
11/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Steve Mueller from Choice was the DJ for our wedding, and he was awesome! Honestly, from day one working with Bill at Choice Entertainment, they have been extremely professional, quick to offer advice and assistance, and great at what they do! My now husband (whooohooo!) and I thought that the 'Meet the DJ' night was such a great idea, and we knew that Steve was the DJ for us as soon as we talked with him. He was professional, very responsive, and really easy to work with. We met prior to the wedding to layout a timeline and choose key songs and he was super prepared and really knowledgable about event flow. He arrived early to set up on the day of, and was very nice about my last minute song choice changes. He was great about vetting some of the song requests through me (subtly) throughout the night, and I'd be remiss if I didn't mention how great he was about working with our other vendors (he ran to grab the videographer right before a big moment). We also ran a little behind with dinner, and he didn't miss a beat helping us to catch up. People mentioned throughout the night what a great playlist he had going. Steve's awesome - we couldn't recommend him or Choice Entertainment enough!
Steve Mueller from Choice was the DJ for our wedding, and he was awesome! Honestly, from day one working with Bill at Read more...
Steve Mueller from Choice was the DJ for our wedding, and he was awesome! Honestly, from day one working with Bill at Choice Entertainment, they have been extremely professional, quick to offer advice and assistance, and great at what they do! My now husband (whooohooo!) and I thought that the 'Meet the DJ' night was such a great idea, and we knew that Steve was the DJ for us as soon as we talked with him. He was professional, very responsive, and really easy to work with. We met prior to the wedding to layout a timeline and choose key songs and he was super prepared and really knowledgable about event flow. He arrived early to set up on the day of, and was very nice about my last minute song choice changes. He was great about vetting some of the song requests through me (subtly) throughout the night, and I'd be remiss if I didn't mention how great he was about working with our other vendors (he ran to grab the videographer right before a big moment). We also ran a little behind with dinner, and he didn't miss a beat helping us to catch up. People mentioned throughout the night what a great playlist he had going. Steve's awesome - we couldn't recommend him or Choice Entertainment enough! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel Alvis
Wedding:
10/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Rick Pfamatter was our DJ for our company Open House. He did a fabulous job! He was very personable and flexible, he was able to go with the flow when we had unexpected changed in the schedule and he had a great attitude about it. He seemed genuinely concerned about the outcome of our event and he made it his goal to make the event go as smoothly as possible! I was very satisfied with him and the company as a whole! He would be my first call for any other events that we have!
Rick Pfamatter was our DJ for our company Open House. He did a fabulous job! He was very personable and flexible, he was Read more...
Rick Pfamatter was our DJ for our company Open House. He did a fabulous job! He was very personable and flexible, he was able to go with the flow when we had unexpected changed in the schedule and he had a great attitude about it. He seemed genuinely concerned about the outcome of our event and he made it his goal to make the event go as smoothly as possible! I was very satisfied with him and the company as a whole! He would be my first call for any other events that we have! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
D.J. Hunter was AWESOME. He kept my guests up and dancing all night. The music was great and his personality was perfect. He was professional and gave us just want we asked for. He met with us in advanced to discuss our music choices and set up a timeline of events. He also gave suggestions and ideas of getting the guests involved. It was perfect. I would recommend him to everyone.
D.J. Hunter was AWESOME. He kept my guests up and dancing all night. The music was great and his personality was perfect. Read more...
D.J. Hunter was AWESOME. He kept my guests up and dancing all night. The music was great and his personality was perfect. He was professional and gave us just want we asked for. He met with us in advanced to discuss our music choices and set up a timeline of events. He also gave suggestions and ideas of getting the guests involved. It was perfect. I would recommend him to everyone. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Cat
Wedding:
10/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Eric Cunningham from Choice entertainment DJ'd our wedding at New Kent Winery this fall. (I am the bride) Although the first DJ they paired me with wasn't a good fit, Eric stepped in and gave us a great affordable rate with unmatched delivery of service! The Music was amazing. He was able to exactly capture the songs that we wanted to hear but also threw in his own style and flair and kept the party going all night long! Everyone was complimenting the music and the dancing and fun atmosphere the next day. Everything went perfectly, there was never an odd silence or dull moment and Eric kept the party flowing perfectly from ceremony to cocktails to pictures to dinner to first dances to PARTAY TIME! We couldn't be happier, Eric is a superstar and knows that it is the couple's day and gives you what you want and MORE! I highly recommend Eric Cunningham and Choice Entertainment!
Eric Cunningham from Choice entertainment DJ'd our wedding at New Kent Winery this fall. (I am the bride) Although the Read more...
Eric Cunningham from Choice entertainment DJ'd our wedding at New Kent Winery this fall. (I am the bride) Although the first DJ they paired me with wasn't a good fit, Eric stepped in and gave us a great affordable rate with unmatched delivery of service! The Music was amazing. He was able to exactly capture the songs that we wanted to hear but also threw in his own style and flair and kept the party going all night long! Everyone was complimenting the music and the dancing and fun atmosphere the next day. Everything went perfectly, there was never an odd silence or dull moment and Eric kept the party flowing perfectly from ceremony to cocktails to pictures to dinner to first dances to PARTAY TIME! We couldn't be happier, Eric is a superstar and knows that it is the couple's day and gives you what you want and MORE! I highly recommend Eric Cunningham and Choice Entertainment! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
shae
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
With reviews from each of our vendors, our venue director, and friends-- our choice was easy--and that choice was Choice Entertainment. From our first meeting with Bill Gilliam, we knew we made the best decision. During our planning meeting with Bill we laughed, alot, blended our personalities and interests into our wedding music, and most importantly formed a bond with Bill that helped him know us, and what we wanted. That meeting must have worked, because from our wedding story, introductions, speeches, and a major dance party-- the night was PERFECT. With over 300 constantly dancing people, Bill made the party seem never ending. There is nothing we would change. Thank you Bill, and your team at Choice Entertainment, for making our most memorable night the best it could be.
With reviews from each of our vendors, our venue director, and friends-- our choice was easy--and that choice was Choice Read more...
With reviews from each of our vendors, our venue director, and friends-- our choice was easy--and that choice was Choice Entertainment. From our first meeting with Bill Gilliam, we knew we made the best decision. During our planning meeting with Bill we laughed, alot, blended our personalities and interests into our wedding music, and most importantly formed a bond with Bill that helped him know us, and what we wanted. That meeting must have worked, because from our wedding story, introductions, speeches, and a major dance party-- the night was PERFECT. With over 300 constantly dancing people, Bill made the party seem never ending. There is nothing we would change. Thank you Bill, and your team at Choice Entertainment, for making our most memorable night the best it could be. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Choice Entertainment responded with the following comments:

Thanks Shae and Mike!!!! It was an awesome evening full of unique, warm touches and REALLY fun people. You are an exceptional couple and that was reflected in the tons of love and energy from your friends and family from beginning to end. Congrats!
Default vendor profile pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Wayne Smith from Choice Entertainment was the DJ for our wedding reception, and he also provided the sound system for our outdoor wedding, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about him! We could tell from the start that he is a fun, likeable and professional man who really loves his job. He understands paying attention to the crowd and playing off of them, and he also was able to look through our "must play" list and develop a playlist that really enveloped our preferences. Even though it was a windy day, during the wedding we could hear everything through his sound system. The reception was a blast; we couldn't believe it was over when it was time for our exit. We trusted him to make the reception fun and keep the party going, and Wayne did just that. He emceed wonderfully, got some very difficult names in the wedding party correct, and kept our schedule professionally while still being flexible. He was also affordable, especially considering the quality of his work. Wayne even was able to create a playlist that got my husband on the dance floor, and he's a man who doesn't dance!! We had an AMAZING reception. Everyone had a wonderful time and I give the credit to Wayne Smith and his skills as a DJ!
Wayne Smith from Choice Entertainment was the DJ for our wedding reception, and he also provided the sound system for our Read more...
Wayne Smith from Choice Entertainment was the DJ for our wedding reception, and he also provided the sound system for our outdoor wedding, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about him! We could tell from the start that he is a fun, likeable and professional man who really loves his job. He understands paying attention to the crowd and playing off of them, and he also was able to look through our "must play" list and develop a playlist that really enveloped our preferences. Even though it was a windy day, during the wedding we could hear everything through his sound system. The reception was a blast; we couldn't believe it was over when it was time for our exit. We trusted him to make the reception fun and keep the party going, and Wayne did just that. He emceed wonderfully, got some very difficult names in the wedding party correct, and kept our schedule professionally while still being flexible. He was also affordable, especially considering the quality of his work. Wayne even was able to create a playlist that got my husband on the dance floor, and he's a man who doesn't dance!! We had an AMAZING reception. Everyone had a wonderful time and I give the credit to Wayne Smith and his skills as a DJ! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We loved our experience with Choice Entertainment! Eric was amazing and made the process easier. He helped us set up the schedule for the night and made sure we stayed on time. Eric was easy to work with and met with us around our busy schedule. We received many compliments on how great he was at keeping the night flowing. Our dance floor stayed full all night! We highly recommend Choice Entertainment and Eric Cunningham!
We loved our experience with Choice Entertainment! Eric was amazing and made the process easier. He helped us set up the Read more...
We loved our experience with Choice Entertainment! Eric was amazing and made the process easier. He helped us set up the schedule for the night and made sure we stayed on time. Eric was easy to work with and met with us around our busy schedule. We received many compliments on how great he was at keeping the night flowing. Our dance floor stayed full all night! We highly recommend Choice Entertainment and Eric Cunningham! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
sally
Wedding:
10/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Bill Gillium was wonderful to work with. He knows how to coordinate time lines with all of the other things going on during a wedding reception. He is very sensitive to the couples needs and will stay in the background or be as involved as the couple wishes. It was an absolutely flawless night thanks to Bill and his organization and skill.
Bill Gillium was wonderful to work with. He knows how to coordinate time lines with all of the other things going on Read more...
Bill Gillium was wonderful to work with. He knows how to coordinate time lines with all of the other things going on during a wedding reception. He is very sensitive to the couples needs and will stay in the background or be as involved as the couple wishes. It was an absolutely flawless night thanks to Bill and his organization and skill. Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
10035 Sliding Hill Rd, Suite #200, Richmond, Charlottesville, DC, Va Beach, All of Virginia!, VA 23005 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Choice Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1381942425579 header bride