130x130_sq_1244489741734-j0107119

Chris Guillen Photography

Forest Park , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7451 Madison
Forest Park, IL US 60130 (map)

PHONE

708-488-1824

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Chris Guillen Photography is here to capture your life! We work with black & white film as well as digital color. Our film photography is a beautiful art form, which allows finished... Read more
Chris Guillen Photography is here to capture your life! We work with black & white film as well as digital color. Our film photography is a beautiful art form, which allows finished prints to last generations, becoming family heirlooms like your great-grandparents’ photos. Digital color photographs are printed on beautiful “Photo Rag” paper allowing them to last generations as well. Our photographs encapsulate the quality, spirit, and personality of the event through a mix of past and present techniques.

Having four older sisters introduced Chris Guillen to the wedding scene at the ripe age of seven. He began his photography career with a B.F.A. from Illinois Wesleyan University. After graduation he swore he’d never shoot a wedding, but then met an accomplished black & white wedding photographer who opened Chris’s eyes to the way wedding photography should be done. In Chris’s opinion, there is no better poetic way to capture a wedding than using black & white film. He has now been shooting weddings since the “film days” over 14 years ago. Using film makes him uniquely selective and creative with the shots he takes because unlike digital cameras, film pictures cannot be reviewed or deleted. His experience allows him to meld art, life, and wedding knowledge with his clients and he looks forward to being a wedding photographer for decades to come.

Chris has a team of several digital shooters who he has trained to understand and capture the important wedding moments. For larger weddings, Chris prefers to bring one or more of them along to concentrate on black & white film and digital color separately. This provides better coverage for those weddings that couldn’t get the guest list under 400.

Our passion for wedding photography has provided us with the ability to recognize and capture the magical wedding moments. If you’ve read all of this, you should definitely give us a call, because we like you. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1246028387687-001j01070630
130x130_sq_1245698102250-008f23071222
130x130_sq_1245697725296-013013a130700831
130x130_sq_1245697751875-015016e12071118a
130x130_sq_1245698115265-009f23071323
130x130_sq_1245697798359-018019e12071233
130x130_sq_1246044881788-01e23090728
130x130_sq_1245697813328-019020je1
130x130_sq_1248119004611-img52615245
130x130_sq_1246028405734-018j01072017
130x130_sq_1246044911460-07e23091017
130x130_sq_1248118851967-img2979
130x130_sq_1246028438375-022j01072615
130x130_sq_1246028454875-023j010726192327
130x130_sq_1246028468875-024j01072717
130x130_sq_1245698157484-016f23073220
130x130_sq_1246044948428-21e23093524
130x130_sq_1245698174953-020f230745141516
130x130_sq_1245698213125-022f2307492527

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Lots
Is your media preference film or digital?
Mostly film, but love digital...its photography I love.
How many photographers do you work with?
3
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
If you book me, you get ME. I've shot more than 300 weddings over 15 years. I haven't missed a gig yet.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Not in a day. Over a weekend...yep.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I know a great number a qualified photographers who'd fill in in an emergency.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Duh, of course.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
We tailor make packages to people's needs.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yep. Over 10 hrs.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I usually break when guests are eating. It is best that we get fed while everyone else is eating, as photos of people eating are not pretty. The client needs to provide food.
Do you charge for travel?
Depends. Wedding in FL, Hawaii or California, yes. Wedding in the greater Chicago area, no.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
6-8 weeks.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
On line and in a proof book.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
For life.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
With the couple's permission.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
No.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Handmade albums by a bookbinder. They're incredible.
When will the client get the final album?
3 months after their order is placed.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
potterdunne
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Since this was my second wedding - I didn't want the traditional boring pictures. Chris has a true gift in capturing moments (even though he did make me do some family portraits...:) - but he was so quick and efficient with the MUST do's, that I almost didn't mind! He so obviously loves his job - it's easy to relax and have fun with him. My kids ADORE him and all the guests commented on how amazing he was! Cannot thank him enough for helping make our night so special.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gdurham
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Chris & his staff were fantastic to work with throughout the process, from planning to finally deciding which images we wanted in our album. Karra has an amazing ability to be everywhere at once and somehow not show up in guests' snapshots- the whole evening was captured and we've got great memories to look back at.

Our wedding was planned from a distance, and we really appreciated the responsiveness, support by phone & email, and overall ease, it was one less thing we had to worry about on our wedding day. The photography itself is stunning, and we hope to work with Chris again for future events!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aDayinMay
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
He was amazing! We did an engagment photo session with him and loved how the pictures turned out. At the wedding, he was willing to take any and all posed photos that our families desired, but spent most of his time taking candid shots. He seemed to be everywhere all night long....we've had many friends and family tell us that everytime they turned around, Chris was there taking a picture. He and his assistant were professional, relaxed, fun...everything you want in someone who will be by your side throughout your entire wedding day. We cannot wait to see our album!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Argumedos
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
My friend recommended Chris after he did the photography for her wedding. We were so happy with his work we would definitely recommend him to friends as well. He is professional and at the same time laid back and easy going. He was able to blend right into the crowd and because his easy going demeanor makes people feel comfortable, he was able to capture them in candid shots. We received so many compliments from our guests about him because they really enjoyed him. While he is easy going, he works incredibly hard and captured every aspect of the wedding. I was amazed as I reviewed the proofs not only at the quality of the photos but that he got a picture of everything I wanted without being asked or told. I kept saying, "oh did he get a picture of..." and then turn the page and there that person was, it was fantastic.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chicago Bride
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
There are so many choices in Chicago for your wedding photography.
I didn't have to compromise any of my expectations with my Chris Guillen Photographer, Shelley, at a very affordable cost. Shelley was very flexible and was able to meet with me multiple times thought-out the process whether it was to discuss important moments I wanted captured or to look at fabrics for my album. Shelley seemed as excited as I was about my big day, and this really made me feel like a "special bride". I also loved that on the day of the wedding Shelley spent many hours with us - from getting ready until the bitter end of the reception! Even Patty the office manager was enthusiastic and always available to answer my questions. I have wonderful memories memorialized for ever in a beautiful album because of Shelley. I highly recommend Chris Guillen Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
missamotz
Wedding:
10/24/2008
5.0/5.0
I chose this photographer before i picked my wedding date. I fell in love with his style of pictures a couple of years ago. I knew when i got married i would use him. He did a fantastic job and i am pleased with how my pictures turned out.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teri
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.5/5.0
Chris takes beautiful pictures and there are many different packages to choose from though so you can make it fit into your budget. The majority are photojournalistic style, which is nice because you are not spending 2 hours of your time on your big day taking posed pictures. He will do a number of posed pictures though so you can have those too if you like.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brynncess
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
By far the most creative photography. Chris makes everyone feel at ease, and he's loads of fun. At the wedding and after seeing the proofs, numerous guests commented on how great he is. Since my wedding day, I have hired Chris to shoot 3 other events and plan to keep using him in the future. His photos (and his staff) are brilliant!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Luke
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Chris is an absolutely wonderful photographer with an exceptionally artistic eye and a personality that only enhanced the fun and happiness we felt on our big day. He is kind, respectful and professional. Chris brought a truly artistic and realistic vision to our photos�telling a thorough and complete fairytale story. I couldn't have been happier once I saw the final proofs and prints. I would highly recommend Chris to anyone who is looking for unique and beautiful photography of their wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
allyb
Wedding:
7/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Chris and his crew were all around fabulous. They were extremely accomodating, patient and great to work with. We enjoyed spending time with them and they clearly take pride in their work. There was no pressure to buy particular packages and they work with any budget you may have. Our photographer, Karra, was amazing and had more energy than we did to get through the long day. We could not have been happier and we highly recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmassucc
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Wow! What a great photographer. From our first meeting, we knew he had the right personality. Laid back and go-with-the-flow. He gave us the entire day so he spend a few hours at the house while we got ready. Chris appeared like any guest at the wedding. Many people did not even know he was our photographer. The photos were great. Lots of black and white like we wanted and candid pictures, not a lot of poses which is exactly what we asked for. He was so flexible that he took another afternoon so we could get dressed up again and take pictures of us around the city because we did not have time on the wedding day. The album is beautiful, made by hand with our choices of fabrics and colors. He was not cheap but well worth it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
9/1/2007
5.0/5.0
I was blessed to book Chris for my wedding and he is the best photographer to hire for any event! He puts you at ease, captures more than the shot but the essence and experience of your event-he has a true gift with his camera but also with people. I am not always comfortable in front of a camera and that was not an issue with him once during the entire day. There was no forced posing-he moved fluidly with us throughout each stage of the day. I had such a wonderful variety of photographs to choose from-black & white-color-all angles. I really enjoyed him being a part of my day-he is genuine and wonderful and my guests loved him and many asked for his information after the event. I would highly recommend him for his talent and personality!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
7451 Madison, Forest Park, IL 60130 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chris Guillen Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1244489741734-j0107119