Nophoto-130

Chris O'Hare

Quincy

LOCATION

Quincy, US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vivian
Wedding:
11/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Chris is like the fairy god mother from Cinderella.
I was fairly warned about the state of her work area (it's mountains of dresses with just enough space for you to stand and barely spin in front of a mirror). So I got over the mess and let Chris work her magic transforming my size 14 sample dress to mold to my size 2 frame.

Chris is very talented - she was able to even create detachable lace shoulder straps for my strapless dress (I really wanted a keyhole back). The straps were so seamless that guests were fully surprised when I removed the straps for the reception.

Even my mom got in on the action and had Chris tailor her mother of the bride dress.

VERY affordable and trustworthy
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Chris is amazing. She worked wonders on my dress that had multiple layers. It needed to be hemmed drastically (as I am very short). She also turned the neckline into a sweetheart neckline. She was flexible with the timeline and very friendly. Chris charged me a fraction of what I would have paid in town for the same service and her quality is much better. I highly recommend her. She is also conveniently located right off the Expressway for anyone who doesn't live in Quincy like I do!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1333997896533-webgraceanthonyengagementaestelzer1130c29
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Christine O'Hare is a magician when it comes to bridal alterations. The quality of her services is superb as evidenced by her bringing down a size 6 sample gown with embroidered lace, boning, and beading to fit my small size 0 frame. She is a pleasure to work with, is flexible to accommodate your schedule, and is the most affordable, quality tailor I could find in the greater Boston area.

-Grace
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bb12
Jessi
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
The wedding gown I bought was a floor model a size too big and showing signs of wear. Looking for a local seamstress, I came upon the reviews of Chris here on Wedding Wire. I'll admit, the reviews seemed a little too good to be true, but I was wrong!

Chris worked wonders on my dress: took it in a full size; removed the satin train while keeping & bustling the embroidered organza; hemmed the whole dress to just above my shoe tops; removed the sleeves and opened the armholes; removed one tulle petticoat and narrowed the skirt; replaced missing beads/repaired loose threads. She did ALL THAT for $200!

Chris is calm, attentive to detail, able to visualize what you describe and explain it back, even if you aren't quite sure what you mean. As previous reviewers have mentioned, her studio is a MESS; it looks like a fabric store and a dress store got together, had a baby, and said baby exploded. But her quality of work is phenomenal; if this is how she works, who am I to judge!

My only criticism is with the bustle--we discussed it being made permanent by sewing it in place; I'm not sure if it was oversight or ease, but she added loops (like a typical bustle) that had to be hooked on the buttons, which made the overlay lie differently than I wanted. I didn't put it together until I put it on at the wedding and we had to figure out which buttons to attach the loops to. With all the work she put into the dress however, I can't complain too much over such a simple error, and it did not stop me from already recommending her to a friend.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elaine
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I'm pretty sure Chris O'Hare is a magician or something. I'm a size 2, and I got a size 12 wedding dress from the Running of the Brides for a deep discount. I got a recommendation from my cousin to take my dress to Chris to have it altered. Chris did an amazing job getting the dress to fit. It was absolutely beautiful when she was done with it!!

The work was very affordable. I actually had Chris alter 3 dresses - my wedding gown, and two other dresses. One of my bridesmaids also had her dress altered there, as did my mom. The price was very reasonable and the work was high quality.

Just a word of warning - Chris works out of her home, and her work area is kind of crazy - there are dresses EVERYWHERE and you have to step across everything to get to a little clearing in the middle to try on your dress. It's kind of funny and adds to Chris' charm.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1360598772260-abcd
Cassie
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.6/5.0
Chris is a wonderful seamstress and a wonderful woman. I came in with a sample gown that was much too big for me and she took it in to make it seem like it was custom made just for me. She also added buttons down the train and a bustle for me. It was all very affordable and really good quality work.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Katie
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Chris is amazing!!! She was one of my very favorite vendors for the wedding. She is so so sweet! I had to cancel one of our meetings last minute and she was really understanding. Besides that, she is competent. My dress needed a decent amount of work, including changing the neckline, adding cups, bustling the train, and taking it in A LOT. When I bought it as a sample at Vows, it was at least 3 sizes too big. Chris had to essentially remake the whole dress, including the complicated asymmetrical rouching that swept across.

She did an amazing job-- the dress looked like it was made for me! I cannot recommend her enough!! Like others have said, her workspace is a chaotic mess, but don't let that throw you. I can't see why anyone would go to another seamstress in the Boston area. After hearing horror stories from friends who went to the seamstress recommended by Vows and paid more than 4x what I did for a poorer outcome, I thought I had to do a review here.

Go to Chris-- you won't regret it!!! I have zero complaints.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.7/5.0
Chris is very sweet and a talented seamstress. She works out of her home and is very reasonable. She took my dress in, switched it over from a corset back to a zipper with fabric covered buttoms, hemmed and added a bustle. Just be aware that she does not steam or press the dress so you might want to have a cleaners or somebody lined up to do so.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/27/2010
5.0/5.0
How does Chris O'Hare do it? She makes amazing things happen with a needle and thread and charges next to nothing! She has a great eye for the alterations necessary to make something look amazing. On a few occassions, she pulled the fabric in this place or that and transformed the look of my wedding dress! She also sewed me a bolero jacket out of a shawl that I had bought and it was gorgeous. Don't let yourself be scared off by the clutter in her workroom - Chris does amazing work and you will not believe the price. She is great!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margo
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.8/5.0
Chris does alterations out of her home and I called her based on recommendations on the Knot. Chris did a great job with my dress. It needed to be taken in a few sizes, hemmed and needed to have a bustle put in. I went for 4 fittings and she did everything perfectly. Her sewing room is a bit chaotic and looks like it threw up dresses but if you can get past that it is definitely worth it to work with Chris. Her prices are VERY affordable and she is a knowledgeable seamstress
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
raspberryb
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Chris is nothing but amazing and as they other women stated, she's the one to turn to! Although her office at her home is quite full with other dresses, she always had mine ready when I stopped by. She added a zipper and a bustle and also altered the length for an unbelievable price. I couldn't have been more pleased by how my dress looked; She's a treasure!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bford2
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Chris was amazing! She is the sweetest lady and I enjoyed talking with her. She did a wonderful job at amazing prices and the quality was great. She even did an additional alteration on my wedding dress while I waited for about 20 minutes so I wouldn't have to make another trip! I am going back to her again for an alteration on a bridesmaid dress I will wear in a wedding this summer.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Eileen
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
I went to Chris for my bridal gown fitting and a maid of honor fitting. She did the work on both beautifully!!! I needed the MoH gown adjusted and taken in and on both dresses I added breast pads. She is patient and calm. Her work room is full, but she is worth the trip from the North Shore. With out doubt, I would recommend her to anybody!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Chrissy
Wedding:
10/22/2005
4.4/5.0
OMG she is the best. I brought my wedding dress back to her after married for a christening gown to be made for my dtr. Not only did she make the most beautiful chrtening gown but she also made a stunning christmas tree skirt from the train of my dress which comes out every year and the crystal sequins in the dress pick up the Christmas lights like nothing you have ever seen! FABULOUS seamstress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Chris was fantastic! I contacted her after our original seamstress said that nothing could be done with my dress *2 weeks* before the wedding. Chris literally saved my dress. Even though she saw there was plenty of seam allowance to let it out where I needed it, she agreed that a corset back would be sturdier and managed to get it done over one weekend. She also tightened the halter and gave me a dress bag to travel with and only charged $60. I really can't say anything more positive about her - she's just SO good!
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1218506365014-009_sec01
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Chris O'Hare is a rock star seamstress and a beautiful soul! I love her to pieces. She comes highly recommended on The Knot and rightfully so. I consider her a miracle worker. She took my size 10 sample dress down to a size 0 without losing the shape or details of the dress. Her work is amazing and she does not overcharge whatsoever. She did a lot of work: added bra cups, hemmed up the skirt, put in an bustle, tightened the top. She also offered--at no additional cost-- to take the dress in or out if I need to when my wedding gets closer. She works out of her home and her workspace is not for the faint-at-heart. Stuff is everywhere. BUT, she's such a sweet woman and more like a friend to me than a regular seamstress. If you're interested in Chris, I would recommend booking her sooner than later because she gets busy and eventually has to turn brides away. She was absolutely worth the multiple drives to Quincy, MA.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I love this woman!!! She is so so sweet and was such a pleasure to work with. Her prices are extremely affordable (her cost was 1/5 of what the store quoted me), and she is like a wedding dress wizard. She helped me make a few minor changes to my dress, and also took it in several times over our four fittings. Yes her shop is like a sea of wedding dresses, but I never went once and had her not be able to find something. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1283315484142-dscn3664
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Chris is a total magician with alterations! In fact, on my wedding day, I had several friends say that exact thing to me.

I needed two sets of alterations done to my dress – first basic, for the ceremony/reception (take in the top, shorten the length, add a simple bustle) and second, a more challenging task to bustle my floor-length dress for our first dance (a fast salsa) so that we wouldn't trip on it. Which meant pulling the entire thing up off the floor a few inches, evenly, all the way around. Chris added a two bustle hooks (one for each length) and then came up with a way to put cinching inside my dress on the side hems, so you just pull on the strings and tie them up, and it cinches up the dress so it is off the floor. It was AWESOME...and when it was all cinched up it just looked like natural ruching in the dress. Amazing. AND – the best price around.

I have seen other reviews that say her at-home sewing room is a bit chaotic and overwhelming, and it's true. She is freelance, and works out of her home, and is BUSY - so there are tons of dresses all over the place and very little space to move around in. But try to overlook that if you can. You won't be sorry. It does not reflect at all on her quality, style, or professionalism.

I'm so glad I went with her, as she is so talented! She gave me the perfect solution for my dress, and at a bargain price. She's also sweet as can be. I'll be going back to her in the future, I totally recommend her for any alterations, wedding or not.

She does have a steady stream of business though and books up quickly, so call her early!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chris O'Hare
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220