130x130_sq_1231947288671-pictureofchris

Chris's Confections

Mc Farland , WI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

PO Box 212
Mc Farland, WI US 53558 (map)

PHONE

608-838-6028

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I have been in business for 20 years doing wedding cakes, special occasion cakes and cookies & bars. I love what I do and continue to educate myself and the newest and latest trends in... Read more
I have been in business for 20 years doing wedding cakes, special occasion cakes and cookies & bars. I love what I do and continue to educate myself and the newest and latest trends in the wedding cake business. I have done more than 1300 wedding cakes in the last 20 years and the styles have changed allot and that's why I continue to grow with the latest techniques and trends.
I love designing a cake for each individual bride and groom to be exactly what they have pictured for their special day. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1274758733246-8352675080516krakorastudioslr
130x130_sq_1274758764387-cimg0952
130x130_sq_1274758794793-img032
130x130_sq_1274758833965-cakes082
130x130_sq_1274758888918-barrylewisproofs019
130x130_sq_1274758942887-7324552217700989184804973325462621118147n1
130x130_sq_1274758991387-cimg1257
130x130_sq_1274759089543-misc.072
130x130_sq_1274759174309-schaning0905021813167072
130x130_sq_1274759296465-cimg0761edited

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Had lots of ideas to choose from. Gives opinion when needed. Specialty flavors were great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.0/5.0
She made me feel dumb asking questions at the initial meeting and kept asking my why mother wasn't there. Her cake tasted fine but her service was horrible. On the wedding day she missed the one exit to the venue, got lost, and called my mother. She blamed her for giving her wrong directions. (She didn't get lost on back roads, she literally drove to the wrong town. She had no GPS and apparently forgot how to ask for directions from someone OTHER than the MOB. My mom handed the phone off because she couldn't take the extra stress. For someone who makes wedding cakes for a living, Chris is clueless about wedding day stress. Also, our order was for the top cake to be white with plain vanilla filling for my mom and she didn't do that, it was just like the rest of the cake. Getting lost happens and my family would have been so fine with her lateness but she was so rude!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Chris's Confections responded with the following comments:

Wow! In all of my years in business I don't think I have ever had anyone tell me I made them feel dumb. I can honestly say that I do not recall the appointment but I can't imagine why I would have asked her why her mom wasn't there. Most brides and grooms come in with out a mom and I would never ask them why their mom wasn't there. The only thing I can think is that possibly she came in alone, without the groom but I would not have asked her over and over why her mom wasn't there. Why would a bride book with me if she says I made her feel dumb and was rude to her?
I went back and looked at the contract and I can see where I might have done the top cake the wrong flavor. There was never any mention of this after the wedding or I would have made them another 6" cake in the white for them. I am a people pleasing person I generally bend over backwards to make people happy and or make things right.
I do recall the delivery on this cake. The family had given me directions over the phone ahead of the day of the wedding. I am located on the east side of Madison and this wedding was way out in the Dodgeville area in the middle of nowhere on a farm.
I did get mixed up on the exits and had to go further and turn around. I can't imagine that anyone else could have given me directions to this farm.
My GPS on my phone did not work out there but works fine in and around the Madison area and closer surrounding areas. I know that some MOB are stressed on the wedding day but I was lost and had to get there.
The cake was well ahead of the ceremony starting so I'm not sure why she said it was late. I do remember there being a lot of chaos when I got there because of the parking situation.
If I recall right they had a bus bringing guests there because of where this farm was located and the lack of parking. I can't imagine that others would not have gotten lost too.
This wedding was on Sept. 21, 2013. Wondering why she chose to wait until Feb. 2014 to write this review?
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Beautiful and delicious cake that drew raves from all the guests!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1379554605380-picture-004
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We had so many compliments on the cake! We had three different flavors and every flavor was delicious. I also had Chris do a little more intricate design on the cake that we saw she did for her niece and just loved it, and it turned out beautiful, exactly what I was looking for!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Chris helped turn my vision of a lacy gold cake into a stunning reality! We received so many compliments!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.7/5.0
Chris’s Confections baked and decorated our wedding cakes. We had a unique vision for our wedding cake – we ordered three separate cakes. The largest one had varying tier heights and the other two were smaller cakes to set on decorative cake stands. She was open to our ideas and gave us suggestions based on what she felt she could accomplish. We met with her for a tasting and to discuss the design. All of the cake flavors and fillings combinations were really delicious. We couldn’t decide, so we ordered three different flavors: white cake with lemon blueberry filling, mocha cake with chocolate ganache filling, and chocolate cake with turtle (caramel, pecans, and chocolate) filling. There were all just as delicious on our wedding day. We ordered extra just to make sure we had leftovers!
The final cakes didn’t look exactly like I pictured, but they had the rustic look I wanted. I gave Chris a pattern to mimic on the main cake that we used in other areas of the wedding. The day before the wedding, she called to let me know that the pattern wasn’t working out very well, and asked if she could modify the design a bit. I agreed and really appreciated her letting me know. I knew since we came up with the design ourselves, it was likely it wouldn’t turn out exactly like we imagined. It was pretty nonetheless and none of our guests knew it wasn’t exactly like we originally planned.
Chris worked with my wedding coordinator to schedule delivery. In the days following the wedding, we misplaced the cake’s structural supports, so we had to forfeit the $35 deposit. However, I think that fee is reasonable so it didn’t bother us. Chris was very accommodating and easy to work with and always communicated professionally and promptly after contact.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1355099501344-fbavatar2850417
Shannon
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Chris did an amazing job with our wedding cake!! It looked like something out of a magazine and was delicious!! I sampled multiple vendors in the area; Craig's cakes, cupcakes a go go, rolling pin bakery, Gigi's cupcakes; she was hands down #1 best value, taste and service! I would recommend her for any occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chessie
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
We decided on Chris's Confections after visiting Carl's, Craig's and Chris's and these are the reasons why:
- Although we missed our tasting due to flight issues, she sent us home with a tasting platter and they were all so yummy! First and foremost the cakes tasted great. We especially loved the White Almond Poppy Seed with raspberry filling!
- The main reason we choose Chris is due to her designs. Although Carl's and Craig's cake's tasted delicious they were no match in the design department. Our colors were black and white- Chris did a black ribbon and detailed black scroll that was exactly what we had envisioned. We had tons of compliments on the uniqueness. (wish I could post pics)
- Chris was easy to work with, responded quickly and did everything we needed. (straightforward, but nothing wrong with that)

Overall, I would use Chris again and recommend her to others- the cake looked beyond amazing and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kpurviance85
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Chris's cakes were so delicious! All of our guests complimented how fantastic the cake look and tasted. We couldn't have dreamed it any better.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Chris was wonderful to work with and she made us the most beautiful wedding cake, just like we wanted it!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1286597735366-hind0022
Laurel
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with Chris on the cake for our wedding this summer. She did an amazing job with everything. She had a lot of great ideas to choose from for a design and did a beautiful job decorating the actual cake. The cake was also delicious, which is not something that is guaranteed in a wedding cake, we received many complements on how wonderful it was. She was very professional and responds well to email and phone calls. I have already recommended her to friends and will continue to do so!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We were very pleased with our decision to have Chris's Confections do our wedding cake. Working with Chris to design our cake was one of the easiest and most enjoyable parts of planning the wedding. (The only hard part was determining which of the many yummy cake flavors to choose!) The cake turned out more beautiful than I ever imagined it. I almost didn't want to cut into it, but I'm glad we did because it was equally as delicious! Chris was always prompt to respond to inquiries and made the whole process very simple. We recommend her very highly.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hilarose
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.8/5.0
The cake was absolutely delicious!! The cake arrived on time to the reception looking exactly as I pictured it. Our guests could not stop raving about how moist it was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nebz22002
Wedding:
7/17/2010
3.6/5.0
When you see Chris' work she has on display, it is beautiful, very clean and neat. Unfortunately, my cake on my wedding was somewhat sloppy. I remember her saying she had at least 2 weddings that day, which may have caused this, but either way, I was slightly disappointed. However, the cake still TASTED great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristinoden
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.7/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
PERFECT!! That is all I have to say! Chris's cake she made for us was absolutley PERFECT!!!! Not only was it stunningly beautiful, it tasted amazing!! We were able to pick out 3 flavors for our cake to satisfy a variety of people. Believe me it was hard to choose only three. The cake we ordered was sooo moist and the buttercream was the best balance between sweet (but not too sweet) and creamy. YUM! We chose almond poppyseed, chocolate turtle, and classic white. Every single person at our wedding commented on how much they loved the cake.
I would definitley recommend Chris's Confections for your wedding cake. We tasted ALL the vendors in Madison. Believe me, don't waste your time going anywhere else, use Chris! The Bonus: we get a free cake for our 1st anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hillacon
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was everything I ever dreamed it would be. Chris was wonderful through the entire process. She walked us through the initial tasting, she answered any questions I had from the moment I contacted her to our wedding day. I brought her a picture of a very difficult, time consuming cake design that she had never seen or tried before. The result was absolutely beautiful and amazing. Throughout the night, I received tons of compliments on how great the cake tasted. I would definitely recommend Chris!‎
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happily Married Gal
Wedding:
4/17/2010
1.6/5.0
The cake was very good, but it was NOT worth the hassle of dealing with Chris Olson. She was rude, disrespectful, and just an overall pain. Anytime I'd question anything, i.e. why she said my cake had to be delivered 12 hours in advance to the venue (and she said not to refrigerate it --just let it sit out on the table for 12 hours!) she got really defensive and snide with me. I just asked the question because my venue had never had a cake delivered that early before and they thought it was strange. Turns out, she had 7 other weddings she had to deliver cakes to that day (she made it sound like we were her only wedding that day). So, since it's just her running that business, I'm wondering when my cake actually got made. Every conversation I had with her, she was snide and just had poor customer service skills in general. I'd NEVER use her again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Chris's Confections responded with the following comments:

I would like to say that I only had five not seven weddings the day of her wedding in Janesville. It is not physically possible for one person to do more than five weddings in one day and get them all delivered. Every weekend one cake does have to get delivered first and because her facilility was flexable which was great, hers had to go first. Her cake was set up 7 hours before the first guests arrived so you can see we have some exaggerations here. My cakes do not have to be refrigerated so there is not a problem with that at all. They either are sitting here in my shop until delivery or at the facility. I have already booked two weddings from this girls wedding because of how good and moist the cake was. I never was rude to this girl but for some reason when you are e-mailing sometimes people take things the wrong way. My clients aways find me easy to work with and get along with so if she is upset just with the fact I had to deliver her cake first that day there is not much I can do about that. As you can see from the review she does not say the cake did not taste good. Most retail shops do 10 to 15 or 20 wedding cakes in a weekend. I limit what I do because I do more specialized cakes and I am only one person.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Guld
Wedding:
12/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake looked and tasted amazing! Would highly recommend Chris!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
McComb1
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.8/5.0
The cake tasted amazing. Chris is great about the variety of samples that she offers during the tasting. It really helped us to select the perfect cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Steph01684
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Chris's cakes taste amazing! That was the most important thing for me the fact that it looked amazing was an added bonus. We had three different flavors in our cake. There were so many choices but we went with amaretto butter with almond filling, chocolate with turtle filling, and French vanilla with strawberry cheesecake filling. They were all great but the Amaretto butter is my favorite and the reason I went with Chris. The cake looked beautiful it was exactly as we had discussed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marti
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.9/5.0
Chris was wonderful! We had three different flavors in our tiered, buttercream cake, and got compliments on all three flavors. She allowed to have multiple tastings (one with Mom and one with my fiance). She was very helpful and flexible with design and flavor changes. We have heard wonderful things about her from other customers and wedding vendors as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicholerauch
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was so beautiful and Chris sat down and worked with us to be sure that we had our dream wedding cake! She was very fast at responding back whenever I had a question. I would highly recommend Chris' Confections!! We ended up with three different flavors- chocolate with turtle filling, white almond poppyseed with raspberry and french vanilla with strawberry & creamcheese, SO amazing! I can't wait to contact her a couple weeks before our 1 year anniversary to get our anniversary cake so we can enjoy it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
"Thanks, Chris, for the beautiful cake! You did such a wonderful job and it looked every bit as beautiful as I imagined. I am so glad that I ordered an extra tier... Michael and I were able to enjoy it for a whole week after the honeymoon!"
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
trataj
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.9/5.0
Everyone raved about my cake and it looked gorgeous! I can't wait for the first anniversary so I can get a fresh cake from Chris to celebrate!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrina
Wedding:
1/17/2009
5.0/5.0
I had wanted to have individual cakes at each of the tables that looked like presents for my Winter Wedding. Many other bakers would not do this for me but Chris was up to the challenge. She did an amazing job! All 27 cakes were beautiful and tasted amazing! I was so impressed with her work and would definitley recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
12/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Chris did a great job on our cake. It was exactly as we had discussed and tasted delicious! We would definitely recommend her.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rachelu25
Wedding:
12/27/2008
4.3/5.0
Our cake was excellent and beautiful. Chris was very willing to work with us to create our vision. One thing that happened was a large amount of the cake was stuck to the supportive dowels when the kitchen removed them making us run short on cake even though we had ordered 30 pieces more than we needed so we had to serve ice cream to the children so the cake was available to all guests. Our reception venue said they had never seen this happen with one of Chris's cakes before though.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bertha
Wedding:
4/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Exception service and great quality tasting cake! Couldn't of asked for anything better, would reccomend you to everyone.
Thanks.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
Chris is a fabulous baker and her cakes are to die for! My cake was not only gorgeous but delicious (even after being frozen for several weeks it is still moist)! Chris also made cookies for our favors and bagged them for us ahead of time so that we would not have to worry about getting them to the reception site. My only quibble is that Chris can sometimes be hard to get in touch with and is a little less flexible in terms of returning items (dowels, cake stands, etc.) to her home after the event. This proved a little challenging for my husband and I since all of our guests were from out of town and we left for our honeymoon the morning after our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
PO Box 212, Mc Farland, WI 53558 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chris's Confections
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1231947288671-pictureofchris