130x130_sq_1374510510088-cc

Christie's Catering

Renton , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

17150 116th Ave SE
Renton, WA US 98058 (map)

PHONE

425-271-7716

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A Personal Note from Christie Katona


A wedding is a once in a lifetime event and I am passionate about my work. I have an incredible amount of knowledge about the... Read more
A Personal Note from Christie Katona


A wedding is a once in a lifetime event and I am passionate about my work. I have an incredible amount of knowledge about the wedding industry. My attitude of personal professional service sets me apart from the crowd. I like to become friends with my brides and treat them how I would like my daughter to be treated if I had one. My years of expertise can bring a calm presence and reassurance to your frazzled nerves.

Realizing that every event and bride is different, I use a personalized approach with insight, energy, skill and attention to details. Many brides have trusted me with one of the most important days of their lives and have given me glowing reports on how seamless and perfect I made their special day. We provide service and care to help create memories that last a lifetime!

Best wishes for your special event! Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1405028825286-14a-img09581-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405026225675-anniversarycollage
130x130_sq_1405026242114-beforeafter
130x130_sq_1405026258012-dscn0004
130x130_sq_1405026282798-dscn0005
130x130_sq_1405026303140-dscn0008
130x130_sq_1405026320074-dscn0012
130x130_sq_1405026343359-dscn0015
130x130_sq_1405026370230-dscn0019
130x130_sq_1405026403353-dscn0027
130x130_sq_1405026421795-dscn0035
130x130_sq_1405026436764-dscn0041
130x130_sq_1405026462647-dscn0042
130x130_sq_1405026487227-dscn0044
130x130_sq_1405026514242-dscn0047
130x130_sq_1405026541420-dscn0049
130x130_sq_1405026566424-dscn0051
130x130_sq_1405026592460-dscn0055
130x130_sq_1405026618580-dscn0061
130x130_sq_1405026643383-dscn0063
130x130_sq_1405026668334-dscn0064
130x130_sq_1405026693470-dscn0065
130x130_sq_1405026718329-dscn0070
130x130_sq_1405026743373-dscn0076
130x130_sq_1405026767493-dscn0081
130x130_sq_1405026794267-dscn0084
130x130_sq_1405026813764-dscn0086
130x130_sq_1405026827871-dscn0118
130x130_sq_1405026856603-dscn0119
130x130_sq_1405026883516-dscn0120
130x130_sq_1405026911367-dscn0121
130x130_sq_1405026937296-dscn0122
130x130_sq_1405026962810-dscn0123
130x130_sq_1405026984904-dscn0124
130x130_sq_1405027010757-dscn0125
130x130_sq_1405027036010-dscn0127
130x130_sq_1405027062134-dscn0132
130x130_sq_1405027088531-dscn0150
130x130_sq_1405027107249-dscn0345-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027111258-dscn0348-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027116582-dscn0353-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027121132-dscn0357-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027125537-dscn0360-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027129256-dscn0363-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027133160-dscn0379-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027138695-dscn0382-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027143262-dscn0438-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027148031-dscn0464-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027152241-dscn0467-768x1024
130x130_sq_1405027157416-dscn0471-768x1024
130x130_sq_1405027162395-dscn0472-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027167776-dscn0476-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405027172492-img0006-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027177907-img0016-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027182536-img0019-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027187556-img0021-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027192223-img0024-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027196897-img0026-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027201028-img0029-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027204209-img0030-e1404088720793-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027207638-img0031-e1404088290106-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027210465-img0038-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027213476-img0056-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027215832-img0081-742x1024
130x130_sq_1405027218779-img0083-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405027220247-img0087-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405028853721-christies-cateringlogo
130x130_sq_1405030610170-img0081-742x1024
130x130_sq_1405030614088-img0094-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030616572-img0193-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030621250-img0215-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030625172-img0217-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030629371-img0218-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030634102-img0219-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030638528-img0260-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030643163-img0286-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030648486-img0289-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030653471-img0313-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030657858-img0326-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030662209-img0333-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030667621-img0355-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030672311-img0359-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030677321-img0382-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030682322-img0398-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030687298-img0415-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030692173-img0416-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030697299-img0423-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030702414-img0426-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030707403-img0458-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030711200-img0479-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030717303-img0498-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030722520-img0537-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030725989-img0555-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030731620-img0581-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030737078-img0585-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030742118-img0590-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030747489-img0593-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030752261-img0595-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030757490-img0600-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030762813-img0602-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030767707-img0606-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030772610-img0613-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030778587-img0614-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030784510-img0624-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030789541-img0660-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030793302-img0661-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030797290-img0706-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030802256-img0708-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030807301-img0724-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030812395-img0729-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030817324-img0734-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030821277-img0735-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030826284-img0762-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030831289-img0763-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030836403-img0778-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030841284-img0790-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030845514-img0816-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030850307-img0817-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030855411-img0818-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030860609-img1214-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030865609-img1218-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030871321-img1219-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030876510-img1258-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030881536-img1260-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030886268-img1263-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030891457-img1265-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030895151-img1270-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030899398-img1276-1024x764
130x130_sq_1405030904207-longbar
130x130_sq_1405030908661-mattjeffbartender
130x130_sq_1405030913434-p1000027-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405030917535-p1000040-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405030924484-p1000042-1024x768
130x130_sq_1405030929462-redorangecake
130x130_sq_1405030935672-schatz-wdg1-1024x681
130x130_sq_1405030940074-schatz-wdg2-1024x681

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
600

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Christie's Catering was absolutely the best. Everyone raved about the food, I personally have not had a better buffet. Their staff was extremely competent, helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help and made my daughters wedding a wonderful event. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a caterer for their wedding or special event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kira
Wedding:
12/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Christie high enough! She catered my wedding in December and it was absolutely wonderful. To be honest, I usually don't expect much from wedding food. The typical over cooked chicken and pasta is pretty standard. Not with Christie! Her food was incredibly tasty. So many of my guests commented on the restaurant quality of the food.

I really wanted salmon at the wedding. We were getting married at Lake Wilderness Lodge in Maple Valley which is a very NW themed place and thus we needed fish. Christe worked with me to prepare the salmon but also served sirloin for people who don't like fish. It was perfect! Everyone was happy.

Christe is very reasonably priced and an excellent choice for your event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathy
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Chrisite and her staff added to our daughters beautiful wedding day. They were professional, friendly and willing to go above and beyond to help us. Christie met us to get table linens early so we could set up our tables the day before.
At the end of the wedding day they had me walk through the kitchen to make sure all was clean and put back in order, which it was.
The food was delicious and they left some leftovers for us to enjoy the next day.
I will use them again. Thanks Christie's Catering!
Kathy Williams
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1314943464363-img0018
Judy
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We searched for our caterer on the Internet, as many do, and met with Christie one Saturday morning while she was preparing food for an event. Everything we tasted was delicious, and my fiance was immediately sold. Christie was very helpful, and whenever I had a suggestion or question, very positive. We asked for a change, we got it. When we asked opinions on our options, Christie could not have been more helpful. While trying to decide how to serve and where to put everything, she came to our house to help us plan, and that was a bit of a trip from Renton all the way to Edmonds. Our wedding was the best party we've war had, and according to at least three people so far, the best wedding/reception they've ever been to. Cannot be more grateful for her help, or for her staff, as they gave me nothing to worry about once I started to dress for the day. The food was delicious, more than enough to satisfy all, and everyone had something nice to say about it. Overall, she took the worry out of the day for us and we would definitely recommend her to any of our friends.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1291001467757-surfing
Melissa
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Christie's Catering was absolutely amazing in helping to get exactly what we wanted for our wedding day at an affordable cost. The servers were amazing and they helped set up everything! Christie also placed the decorations on the cake and it was beautiful! We got so many compliments on the taste of the food too!
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Maggie
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Christie's Catering was, from to to bottom, a wonderful decision!

I met with Christie about my upcoming wedding about 9 months before my event. I wanted to get the caterer all ironed out, before making other decisions. I met her in her shop, a very cute storefront in Renton, where (side note) she has a TV check for $100,000 on the wall for winning a networks recipe competition- and let me tell you the recipe was to die for- I made the sweet potato cinimon rolls myself, her recipe is on her website.

Any how, when we met she showed me photos of weddings she has done over the last 20 years, and all though she could benefit from some new photos, I was sold that she could throw a wonderful event for a large amount of people. When we started talking about a menu I could tell that her taste was extremely refined, and i come from a background of fine dining, so that said a lot.

Once we started talking prices I was even happier. She was beyond accomodating, very fair, and generous. I think for my 180 guests it ended up being about 15.99 per head, plus service and gratuities.

The one think I was wary about was that we didnt do a tasting. She offered, but the time didnt fit into my time table, and I went ahead without a tasting.

We stayed in constant communication through my planning process and she was very approachable. Phone, email, you name it.

When the wedding came me and my "foodie" family were all VERY pleased!! It was all incredible! Tasted well, great staff, bartender, you name it.

I couldn't have made a better catering decision. Christie is wonderful!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kortney67
Wedding:
2/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Christie's Catering. After researching and meeting with several caterers, I had some pretty poor experiences with other companies who were over-priced, had rude staff, and were very impersonal. A lot of caterers seem to treat you as just a number, with boring and general menu selections. You will not get that with Christie.

When we met with her, she was incredibly personable and worked with our schedule, meeting us after-hours at her shop. Just from being in her shop, we could see how well-liked and talented she is - you can tell she has amazing credentials in the catering business. She genuinely cares about giving her clients the most stress-free, personal experience on their wedding day. Not only does she have a warm and friendly personality, but she really knows how to make a bride feel at ease during the catering process.

She worked with us on a very personal, fun menu selection and made wonderful suggestions. Everything was home-made down to the salad dressing and you could really taste the quality in the food. EVERYTHING on our menu was delicious and the guests loved it! She and her staff decorated the tables beautifully, added personal touches, and the entire process went smoothly. She even packed an adorable "picnic pack" of leftovers, complete with a bottle of wine, for my husband and I to take with us on our wedding night.

From planning and setup, to serving, to clean-up, we did not have to worry about a thing - Christie and her staff took care of everything wonderfully! Not only is she priced well in comparison to all other companies I know of, but she offers a larger, more gourmet menu selection than anywhere else I know of. I highly HIGHLY recommend her!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
none
Wedding:
1/23/2010
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was in Janurary 2010. We interviewed several caterers and choose Christie's Catering. The food was absolutly delicious, beautifully arrayed on our buffet table. We were beyond pleased with Christie and her catering staff. They were so helpful and accomadating in every way. I would highly recommend Christie's Catering. Her food,staff,preparation,kindness and respectability rate an A++ in my daughters and my eyes. Please choose her and you won't ever be sorry. She will make your special day the best ever. We loved her.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Traci
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Christies catering provided services for my daughters wedding, I was very impressed with the entire event. Everything went as planned what Christie promised was delivered without a flaw, her staff was pleasant and very proffesional. The food was great, and the venue was beautiful with the flloofing from the catering staff. I would recomend her services to anyone whom need a caterer. Great Job Christie!!! I will use your services again for all my catering needs.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1214982252974-l_2d2347651cd747d97a27e55602080058
Amy
Wedding:
7/12/2009
4.9/5.0
Christie and her staff are wonderful. The food was faboulous! I would recommend the lasagne. Christie personally came to set up and wished us both a wonderful wedding. I have only heard great things about her food. The bartenders were excellent and keeping every drink full. The staff is very friendly and packaged everything up for us. It was wonderful to have the leftovers for the lunch the next day to open presents.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
m and r
Wedding:
10/2/2009
4.8/5.0
Christie's is reasonably priced, unique, and she bends over backwards to try to provide what you want within your budget. She has a lot of different food choices. The buffet table was beautifully decorated and the food was plentiful and tasty. She is fun to work with, too. She was clear up front that it would be buffet style, and she would not provide table service, but her staff cut our cake, packaged up our leftovers, and they were courteous and helpful to our guests. We had a Friday night event and traffic problems made about half of our guests late, and they were good about delaying dinner a bit. Good food at a great price.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
3/27/2010
4.7/5.0
Christie catered my wedding anniversary on short notice it was about 125 people. I was simply amazed at the variety of menus we had to choose from & that she still found the time to meet with us personally to discuss them. The day of my anniversary went off flawlessly, the food was absolutely unbelievable. The bartenders knew how to mix the best specialty drinks I've had since my wedding! All in all Christie's Catering helped make my 50th Wedding Anniversary unforgettable and her price was unbeatable. I would definitely recommend her for any special event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MGreen
Wedding:
5/25/2008
4.4/5.0
Christie was excellent. She is very detail oriented and a great cook. The food was excellent. We had Salmon, chicken, garlic mashed potatoes, salad, roasted vegetables, and a bunch of other things. All of it was absolutely wonderful. And we fed 150 people for $4000!!! That is basically unheard of in the Wedding industry.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/9/2007
4.4/5.0
Christies Catering has fantastic food and wonderful service. She has won many awards and made cookbooks. The caterers were very friendly, and provided a ton of assistance on our wedding day. Christie is flexible, and will make pretty much whatever you want. She even uses family recipes if you want her too. She also offers great suggestions for many aspects of the wedding, and provides a lot of things, that normally you would have to pay for.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
The food was pretty good. All of our guests had nothing but good things to say about the food. I did have to remind Christie a few times about menu changes but in the end everything was the way we wanted. She was a little slow with responding to emails but other than that it was great. The servers they brought with them were all very polite and everything was on time.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/22/2007
2.5/5.0
Our overall experience was not a disaster, but not what we hoped for either. The wrong entree was served and there were several other snags that took place during the wedding that were less than ideal. The food was pretty good and the bartending service was fine once it was time for the reception (they botched teh cocktail hour). Chrisite herself was only at the wedding for a very short time before the reception even started, as she had another wedding booked. Considering how proud they are of their many years of experience, they didn't seem to hae it together.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Harms80
Wedding:
8/5/2006
2.5/5.0
I had high hopes for Christie's. The bartenders had no personality. The food was good considering the cost but there was no assistance with trying to package the enormous quantity of leftovers and getting any help with our cake was a joke. They cleaned up their platters and left my bridal party to deal with the rest. The price was right for my budget but I wish I would have spent more to get a better service.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rroehmholdt
Wedding:
10/17/2009
1.8/5.0
When we booked Christie's, we were really excited about the possibilities that her staff could do. She showed us photos and menus from her 20 years of experience in the industry, and raved about her food and service. She was flexible, in terms of what food we wanted, and apparently went to five stores to find a certain kind of bread (she made sure we knew that). Overall, during the planning process, things went off without a hitch.

The day of the wedding was a bit of a nightmare. She showed up with her staff, prepped the food, drinks were served, and the food was just fine. She awkwardly made sure she got into a few of our professional photos. Christie and her team rushed getting the food served about an hour before it was supposed to. Although the servers were friendly, they never served the cake, which meant half the guests didn't get cake. By the end of the event, about half of the cake, all that remained, was thrown straight into the trash.

The event itself ended an HOUR AND A HALF EARLY due to Christie's team pulling linens and flowers off tables. Most of my guests left early, because they thought the event was over. I found this to be incredibly rude and unprofessional. Not to mention when my DJ brought to my attention the time (it was too early to be cleaning up), Christie took it upon herself to curse our DJ out, and it made for an incredibly uncomfortable scene, with more than one party upset.

After returning from our honeymoon, I received a defensive letter, telling us everything that went wrong was not her fault, but the DJ's. She also sent this letter to our venue. This just seems ridiculous to me, as she was obviously trying to cover her ass to those who knew about the incidents of the day.

Although Christie was fine throughout the planning process, I would not recommend her services. Although her services weren't very expensive, I didn't get my money's worth.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.6/5.0
Bads:
Christie is a headache to work with. She is very forgetful and only talks about money. In the beginning, all she could talk about was getting her money.
Initially her prices seemed cheap, but she has a lot of hidden fees that is not mentioned until later. Here is the copy of our final bill.
Number of Guests: 150 plus 50 kids
Number of Staff: 4
Price per Person: $20
Total for Staff: $1000
Service Charge: 18% on food costs
Tax = 9.5% on food costs
Credit Card Transaction = 3.5%
Total for Event: $5175.75 plus $250 for no kitchen and taking garbage
Deposit: $500 paid by credit card

We paid everything in advance and the contract showed it. However a month before the wedding, Christie claimed that we haven’t paid $1000 for the staff. We had to send the contract back to her multiple times for her to agree that it was paid.

Christie contacts us weeks before the wedding stating that food prices has gone up and planned to provide less food for out guess. We contacted her that we did not agree, and she cannot change our contract, cannot change our menu and the amount of food that she was to provide. Day of the wedding, we barely had enough food.

Christie agreed that we can bring outside food and she will serve it as long as it was cooked by a restaurant. Days before the wedding she did not agree to serve the food. We sent her the email with her comments to prove that she said that she would serve outside food. She finally caved in, but told us she will not heat the food. We bought 4 dishes from an Asian restaurant and we still ran out of food.

Since our wedding was outside, my family and I decided to buy water for our guess, because we didn’t think that Christie would have enough. Luckily we were right. We bought over 15 cases of water and we still ran out. I believe Christie brought a couple of gallons of water for our guess.
Services Used: Catering, Travel
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lancer.cid
Wedding:
8/24/2008
0.8/5.0
I would not recommend Christie's Catering to anyone. We met with the caterer in her office where I found her to be very unprofessional (talking about her personal life, and I do mean PERSONAL) but we decided to give her food a chance anyway because we had found many good reviews. During our meeting she wrote down what we wanted on our menu. During our meeting we made it very clear that I have food allergies, one to shell fish which was fine to have at the reception but not near the other food or touching anything else, and we also requested kiwis not be included in the fruit tray. She wrote down our requests, but sure enough on our wedding day the shrimp was next to all the other food & there were kiwis mixed in with the fruit. I think for the price we paid they should have at least followed our requests or at least make it clear that it could not be done.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
17150 116th Ave SE, Renton, WA 98058 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Christie's Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1374510510088-cc