130x130_sq_1385939468348-dj-chuck-

Chuck Russo - Professional Disc Jockey

Madison , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Madison, NJ US 07940 (map)

PHONE

973-765-9081

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

CHUCK RUSSO – Professional Disc Jockey offers disc jockey services for events and occasions in New Jersey and the surrounding area. Established in 1985, the business is now in its 29th... Read more
CHUCK RUSSO – Professional Disc Jockey offers disc jockey services for events and occasions in New Jersey and the surrounding area. Established in 1985, the business is now in its 29th year providing clients with a customer focused service at competitive prices.



I began my radio career in 1975 at WDHA-FM (105.5) in Randolph, NJ and most recently was heard on STAR 99.1 in Somerset, NJ. Fourteen years of on-air radio announcing, commercial production and corporate voice-over work have provided me the necessary tools to handle any type of affair.

Don't be fooled by the inexperienced! There's more to DJing than just playing music. It takes knowledge of music, experience behind a microphone and the ability to understand people. The average age of the wedding dj these days is between 22- 27 with about 2 years experience. Honestly, who would you rather have? Someone who has performed at over 2500 weddings or the inexperienced masses. Please visit my website at www.chuckrusso.com to learn more about what I can do for you.



the bottom line….more than 30 years in the music business. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Professional, elegant, non-cheesy
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
Absolutely not
What is your usual attire?
Black Tux, White Shirt, Black Tie
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
We make every attempt to secure all songs requested by our clients. If by some small chance we can't find it, we're open to the client providing it.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We have a team of 5 DJs but it's a very personalized service we provide
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
3 - 4 hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Most definitely
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
I'm able to play all types of events
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Most definitely
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer additional services such as up-lighting, dance floor lighting and photo-booth
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We're able to set up in 10 minutes but we arrive at all events at least 90 minutes in advance to testand sound check all equipment
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Sometimes
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Some talk, a change of music but NEVER by going on the dance floor and dragging guests out
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks and I don't require a client to provide a meal
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
As I said no breaks are taken. Music is continuous from the time we start til the last song is played
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I have a network of backup DJs that provide support
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
If time permits, yes
What is your overtime rate?
Negotiable
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
No
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Small deposit (fraction of the total cost)

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meng
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew Chuck would be our DJ as soon as we followed the recommendation of our venue and first read his self description and FAQ on his website: he sounded extremely professional, no-nonsense, warm and possessed a DJ-quality voice. That was exactly who Chuck was. He was highly professional and responsible: he met us a month ahead of our wedding day to get the gist of our wedding reception ideas, accommodated all our plans and wishes for the wedding reception, made sure he had all the information he needed days before the wedding, and helped us practice our first dance as we sneaked into the dance floor during the cocktail hour! We and our guests certainly had a fun dancing evening and active dancing floor because of Chuck's DJ skills and equipments. I definitely would recommend Chuck to other couples! He is a great DJ! I also highly recommend you read his website first as you can certainly get an honest idea of Chuck from his words.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1389023603-955480f3f381df91-1375376451826-laugh
Caitlin
Wedding:
6/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Chuck was PHENOMENAL! He felt out the crowd perfectly and made the reception a blast. We had a very mixed bag of ages and he kept everyone happy and dancing. We kept receiving compliments on the music all night long. Thanks so much, Chuck!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1396742090438-s
Sarah
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Chuck Russo provided us with an amazing wedding DJ! I chose this company because three of my family members have used him for their weddings in the past ten years. Many of our guests complimented the great music and we had dancers on the floor all night long. We had several songs dedicated to certain guests and he hit each one (making sure to pronounce names correctly), and was excellent in cueing main events throughout the night such as the cake-cutting and bouquet toss.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
From the moment my husband and I met Chuck, we knew he would be great! Our guests were on the dance floor most of the night and everyone raved about how nice of a job the dj did! We are extremely happy with Chuck and would use him again in the future!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizette
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Within the first 5 minutes of our first consultation, Danny and I knew Chuck Russo was the one. His professional experience was an instant sell point. On the day of our wedding, we appreciated each song choice he played. Every guest enjoyed the music. He read the guests well and played music that kept the dancers dancing while maintaining a volume that never overwhelmed our less "Footloose" guests. I love this DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Chuck is by far the best wedding DJ around. We’ve attended a few weddings where Chuck was the DJ, and he was phenomenal. When it came time for us to pick our own wedding DJ, we knew that it had to be Chuck.

We received numerous compliments from guests immediately after our wedding about our DJ. Everyone loved Chuck! He kept our guests dancing the entire night, and we couldn't have imagined a better event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Chuck was the DJ for both of my sisters' weddings so naturally, I had to have him at mine. My husband actually wanted a live band but after having so much fun at my sister's wedding he agreed we had to have Chuck. He really knows how to get the crowd on the dance floor! He played every song we requested and filled the rest of the time with songs that reached all ages of the guests! We love Chuck!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck Russo was the type of DJ that my wife and I wanted. He is not the flashy type and did not make the wedding about his performance. What Chuck did do, however, was help to establish a flow during our reception that allowed everyone to have a good time. My wife and I received numerous comments from guests on how Chuck was the best DJ that they have seen at a wedding. I would strongly recommend Chuck as a wedding DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janine
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!! We are so happy we hired Chuck. We had 100% input in the music that was played at our ceremony and reception. We first heard Chuck at a bridal show at the Madison Hotel where we were married and had our reception. We met with him on another night and that was it. We knew he was our DJ and we never looked at any other DJ. The music selection was great. We found ourselves singing along but it wasn't intrusive. Chuck is a classy guy. We didn't want a cheesy DJ like you see at some weddings. We wanted class and that is exactly what we got. Did I say amazing???
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adam
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck Russo made our night! He is an awesome DJ and a great guy. We met with a total of five DJs before making a decision. Chuck was the first one and he actually made it easy for us. He suggested meeting at the Barnes & Noble a mile down the road from where we live. He offered us a drink and proceeded to tell us about himself and his services. He made a great impression on us and we were confident that he was going to be the DJ at our wedding! We left with big smiles on our faces, feeling very excited. To be honest, I don't even know why we wasted our time meeting with other DJs. Chuck didn't give us a sales pitch. He was very professional, confident in what he does, easy going, kept it simple, answered all of our questions, he gave us lists of songs to choose from (e.g. top 200) it was a very productive meeting.
His price is very fair. It's a great deal! He didn't ask for half of the payment upfront like all the other DJs required. I believe we put $200 down and the balance was due the day of.

We liked Chuck so much that we asked him about other vendors that he recommends and we did business with his uplighting guy.

The wedding day was amazing! It was at Basking Ridge CC. Chuck did an incredible job. I couldn't believe how many family members said how great the DJ was and that they had a great time. Chuck was able to keep people on the dance floor all night long! He played all the songs on our list and he didn't play any songs on our DNP list.

We highly recommend Chuck Russo!

Adam & Jenna Honrath
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April & Ed
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck did an AMAZING job at our wedding! We didn't want the typical cookie cutter wedding music (Shout, We are Family, Respect, etc), so we came up with a rather long list of songs we preferred. Chuck took that list and worked magic. He didn't stray from that list once and played some really hard to find songs. He used his knowledge of being a good DJ to play the right music at the right time. The dance floor was never empty and we had many compliements from our guests about our different music selection.

In addition, I think our wedding was the first one I have ever been to where the DJ pronounced everyone's name correctly. I was SO impressed.

Chuck was a wonderful addition to our wedding. I wish we had another big affair coming up so that we could have Chuck back DJing. Thank you Chuck for all you did!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck Russo was our DJ for our wedding and he was fantastic. As soon as I spoke with him, I knew he would be great. I was in California planning my wedding long distance, and Chuck met with us via Skype a few times before we were able to meet with him in New Jersey. He's friendly, approachable, and decent. And he's very accommodating. We really wanted this one song that seemed impossible to find, and Chuck found a copy of it for us.

Most importantly, he's a true professional. He knows when to play the party music for dancing, and knows when to play more low-key stuff during dinner. He's not like the screaming, stage-hogging, obnoxious DJs I've seen elsewhere. Chuck kept our event classy!

Working with him, I felt that he was organized and took our music tastes seriously. We weren't really into today's pop music or mainstream stuff, and he got us right away. He really did a wonderful job and I recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ in the tri-state area.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I highly recommend chuck Russo. We had 185 people at our wedding and could not believe how many of our guests were up dancing. From the first song to the last song the dance floor was packed! The variety of music was great and people of all ages skipped cake to keep dancing.

Chuck is very professional and knows how to do a wedding. He did a great job with the introductions but did not try to draw the attention to himself (like other DJs at weddings we have attended). He was very open to our ideas and spent a lot of time talking to us about how the night would go and what songs would keep people dancing all night.

We received so many compliments after the wedding about how great Chuck was. From our very first meeting with him through the last song of our wedding night, we could not have been happier with him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer Rose
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck was fantastic! After seeing him at another wedding, we knew we wanted him-we didn't even look at anyone else! At our first meeting, we could immediately tell that he was so professional and just knew his stuff. He was more than willing to listen to what we wanted to play and took our considerations seriously. I know I might be biased but I have never had as much fun dancing at a wedding before =) Chuck was on top of everything and it helped me relax and just have fun! One of my bridesmaids liked him so much she already asked him to DJ at her wedding too and we are so excited we will get to attend another wedding with Chuck!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not have picked a more perfect DJ for our wedding reception! We knew Chuck was a good choice from our first meeting with him. Chuck listened to all our requests, did a great job of playing a variety of music at the right times, and had the crowd dancing the entire night. Additionally, he is very reasonably priced, does not push extras on you, and is very flexible. The day of our wedding, our ceremony was delayed by an hour and our cocktail hour had to be extended so that my husband and I could get some pictures in before our reception. Chuck easily adapted and started playing music for the end of our cocktail hour when our pianist had to leave. (Originally, we had hired a cocktail hour pianist and then Chuck just for the reception.) My husband and I would not hesitate to hire Chuck for future events we hold and will be recommending him to all of our friends and family in need of a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck was our DJ at our wedding on July 13th. We had seen him work other weddings, so we already knew he's great at what he does, but we were still blown away at our own wedding. We take music very seriously and wanted a certain vibe while still maintaining a fun wedding that guests could dance to all night. Chuck took the artists and songs we gave him and expanded on it to make our wedding reception perfect. He was able to incorporate the music we listen to that is more low-key and provided a great flow of different genres that got everyone on the dance floor, both young and old. And the best part about Chuck is that he isn't your typical obnoxious DJ. He makes the announcements you need him to make but won't be shouting over the mic all night. The dance floor was packed from the first song to the last. Everyone, including us, had an incredibly fun night and many people remarked that it was one of the most fun weddings they had ever attended, if not THE most fun wedding. Trust me, I've been to weddings with awful music and people will just start leaving early and no one will dance. Music is crucial to a good wedding and Chuck is the best at what he does. In my circle of friends, we don't even consider any other DJ. That's how good he is.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Unbelievable. We were SO SO SO happy with Chuck. He presented himself very professionally and was easy to work with through the planning process. Chuck asked us generally what type of music we wanted played and was receptive to our short “must play” and “do not play” lists. The reception was a total blast. Chuck has an uncanny ability to read the crowd and play music that kept people dancing all night. His transitions were seamless and we didn’t feel like we were at a high school dance (some other DJs at other weddings have made us feel that way). While Chuck has a great voice (he used to be a radio DJ) – he doesn’t talk excessively or announce who he is a million times. He made announcements as they were needed but otherwise let the music keep the energy levels high. Our dance floor was packed all night long and we had so many compliments from our guests about how much fun they had. I sincerely attribute this back to what an awesome DJ Chuck is. I recommend him hands down – you won’t be disappointed.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Chuck's services were great! We initially met with him at a local coffee shop after finding him on the internet. He was very friendly and after discussing what we wanted and what he had to offer, we knew he was the right choice. Through some e-mail correspondences, we discussed what songs we would like to hear during the reception and he managed to find and play all of them. His equipment was perfect for the job and the sound quality/volume of the music was perfect. Loud enough to enjoy, but not so much that you had to yell over it. Also, he was not the "over the top" dj who is incessant on the microphone. He really let the spotlight be on us and the reception itself. He was very courteous, even asking us if he could play some more "popular" styles of music before actually playing it because he knew we are not that big on "newer" music. We let him play it though and everyone danced and enjoyed it.

We also recruited the services of his son, Jonathan, who played very beautiful classical guitar during the ceremony. Jonathan was also very friendly and easy to work with. We worked together to come up with the perfect combination of songs to be played for our entrances. He was very willing to help offer ideas for songs, as well as learn one requested by us.

As a now happily married couple, we would gladly recommend both Chuck and his son Jonathan for your future wedding or any other event. You simply do not get better service that this, we assure you.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
My motto during the wedding planning process was "trust the professionals," and nothing could be more appropriate for Chuck. He was the utmost professional. Discrete, efficient, and polished. I read an unsolicited rave review of his DJ-ing services at another New Jersey wedding that encouraged me to meet him. Over the phone he has a calming, trustworthy and smooth-sounding radio announcers voice that matches his demeanor in person. He's also good looking! Working with Chuck required the absolute minimum effort as he guided us on everything. From the bridal party entrance music to the cake-cutting song, his recommendations were on-point and suited perfectly for our wedding crowd. I didn't even have to think. He also rolled with the punches when I forgot to inform him that our reception start time changed. Another example - and I didn't even notice this, as one of my guests told me later, that Chuck blocked would-be wedding crashers from entering our reception by quietly stopping them at the door, saying "This is not your party." Go with DJ Chuck Russo..... He is phenomenal!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We loved him. People were up on the dance floor all night, and didn't want to leave. I had several people as me for his contact information for future events. We had hired a pianist for cocktail hour, but when she didn't show up on time, Chuck was prepared & playing some music for our guests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emma
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We met Chuck Russo at a bridal show and he immediately stood out from the other DJ’s, he is extremely personable. Chuck played every song I requested and suggested music that I would not have ever thought of on my own. All of my guests raved about the music variety. Chuck was able to read the room and play music that was enjoyed by every age group. Our guests danced throughout the entire evening. He kept the wedding events moving at a lively pace and alerted people to important events without being intrusive! One worry I had prior to the wedding was the volume of the music but the music was kept at a perfect volume! It was loud enough to be enjoyed on the dance floor but seated guests were able to have conversations on a normal level without feeling like they were shouting at each other. I would highly recommend Chuck Russo to anyone looking for a wedding DJ! He will not disappoint!
Services Used: DJ
Chuck Russo - Professional Disc Jockey responded with the following comments:

Thanks Emma. It was my pleasure to be a part of your special day. I'd love to see some pictures!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Chuck was amazing!! He had everyone dancing and on the floor the whole time!! He plays an excellent assortment of music! There is something for everyone!! He was very responsive and very easy to work with!! He was absolutely the best!! We really can't say enough wonderful things about him!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Chuck was so great from beginning to end. He met with us before the wedding and went over all the details, and was willing to do whatever it took to make our wedding special ( in the midst of a hurricane the week before the wedding, he was responsive and so positive, and we never had a doubt that he would come through for us). Chuck kept everyone on the dance floor the whole night of the wedding, and truly made it an experience . We would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maureen
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
So happy that I selected Chuck as our DJ. He was really perfect. I was very picky about the type of music I wanted and Chuck came through. I had very demanding guests and he kept them all very happy & dancing all night!

When some of my guests requested songs that were on my no play list, Chuck checked with me before playing….I loved that!!

Such a class act. We are happy to give Chuck 2 thumbs up and 5 star rating!!! We highly recommend him, he will make your wedding a very memorable night.

Maureen & Tony Van Hoorn
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christa
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
We were very pleased with Chuck Russo's DJ services for our wedding. We did not want the typical DJ/Emcee combo so we were very happy when we found Chuck, who could take care of the music and any announcements. Most DJ companies tried to convince me that I needed an Emcee to have a successful event. On his own, Chuck was able to keep the dance floor full during our wedding! Chuck also downloaded specific ceremony music for us and accommodated some last minute changes to our ceremony music. He honored our lengthy 'do not play' list and ran certain song requests by us for approval, which was thoughtful.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
We were so happy with Chuck Russo, he was such a pleasure to work with. He was always professional and responsive which helped me feel at ease that everything was going to be taken care of - no stress!

We gave him a few must play songs, and he was able to get our taste of music from this list as well as feel out the crowd and play a great mix of music to keep people dancing all night. The dance floor was packed the entire night and after the wedding, people raved about the music. We didn't want an annoying MC who plays all the cheesy audience participation wedding songs, and he was none of that. He made the announcements when necessary and just played awesome music, which was exactly what we were looking for in a DJ.

I would highly recommend Chuck Russo. He was one of my favorite vendors!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
All I have to say is that our DJ, Bob, kept everyone on the dance floor from start to finish, which is all I could ask for. I wanted a wedding where everyone would dance and have fun, and I've been to plenty that accomplished this (and others who did not). I cannot believe how many people were dancing at our wedding from before dinner to the very end. Bob did a great job of reading the crowd and keeping them going. It was awesome and I highly recommend using Chuck Russo's company for your wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bootsy524
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I spent quite a bit of time researching DJs for our wedding. We were looking for someone who was professional and knew how to get a group up and dancing but without all of the amateur-ish laser lights and glow sticks. Chuck was actually recommended to me by my eventual photographer and after my first meeting with him I was completely sold. Chuck is extremely professional, knowledgeable and just generally a good guy. He made suggestions and then just followed our lead as to the types of music we thought would work best with our guests. I don't remember a moment during the night where the dance floor wasn't being used.

I would use Chuck's services again in the future and would highly recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Chuck Russo was fantastic! He did the music for my ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. He played great music and got a lot of people dancing. He played the music at the perfect volume so it wasnt too loud. Next time I have a party im hiring him!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1344887724414-xmascard
Mrs. Restaino
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Chuck Russo was an absolute pleasure to deal with! He was very professional and kept everyone dancing the entire night! My husband and I were at our first bridal show and I turned around and he was missing. Later to find him talking and laughing with Chuck like they were high school buddies! Chuck did an amazing job and I had friends ask for his business card. Our wedding had a variety of ages from 6-75 and all were dancing! Would HIGHLY recommend Chuck Russo to any couple looking for a professional Disk Jockey!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Chuck was amazing! He did the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. We gave him a list of our music and he made the night fantastic. People didn't want to sit down for dinner they were having so much fun dancing! His sound system was great and he is really easy to work with. My mom surprised me with a second song after our mother/daughter dance and she said he was so willing to help her out and made it such a beautiful moment. I can't thank him enough.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Upon our first meeting with Chuck Russo, we knew that we found someone who was experienced, professional and anything but the DJ cliche we were afraid of. Additionally, he invited us to see him DJ for a wedding at a venue where it was possible to do so at a respectful distance. We saw that he was not only someone who supplied the music, but also someone who helped coordinate and execute the timing of each part of the day. We saw him corralling children and all the members of the wedding party and made announcements to make sure things went smoothly. He did the same for our wedding and we were very happy to have him there.

Chuck has extensive musical knowledge and adapts the playlist to your wishes. We were comfortable with relying on his expertise to choose most of the music and get people to dance and have a good time. Additionally, his services come at a very reasonable price.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicy1181
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Chuck DJ'd for our wedding and it couldn't have gone any better. He played the songs we wanted, took requests from our guests, and kept that dance floor packed from start to finish, he's a true pro and anyone would be lucky to have him DJ their wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ccmfirefly
Wedding:
9/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Chuck was phenomenal! The dance floor was packed the entire time. He played a wide spread of music that everyone enjoyed and danced to. We had about 175 guests and there wasn't a single one who didn't rave about chuck or ask about him. He knows his stuff. He was MC/DJ/Miracle worker.

Jim & Allyson
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mcrow
Wedding:
6/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Chuck was awesome - I gave him a long list of songs to play and he managed to play every one of them (including my request for Shout to be played three times)! He was very professional and played his part as DJ and not entertainer...very happy choosing him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mz
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
What can else is there to say about Chuck other than that the dance floor was packed the entire night! Many people commented about how great the music was! Chuck was very agreeable to exactly what we wanted and played a wide array of music that got virtually everyone on the floor! He's a true professional and a great guy as well! Thank you, Chuck!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eloise
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Chuck was professional and easy to work with and Bob as our DJ made a winning combination. This company is all about the music and what we wanted for our wedding.

We are still getting compliments on the music at our cocktail hour and reception. Bob suggested the best ways to find out what our guests would like to hear and we added that to what we wanted (Big Band for cocktail hour and then a lot of different genres for dancing) to create an extensive list of songs that we selected and Bob did the magic of mixing together to the joy and happiness of our guests. He kept the sound level where we wanted it – people could talk without shouting and we had almost everyone out on the dance floor.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sari
Wedding:
10/31/2010
5.0/5.0
We could not have been happier with our choice to pick Chuck Russo.

We found him from reviews & internet searches, and was pleased to see him at the Wedding Vendor open house at Bretton Woods (where he DJs quite often).
My husband (then fiance) and I met with Chuck a week or so before the wedding and went over all the details. We had a specific idea in mind for our music (nothing after 1989!) we wanted the classics... and Chuck went above and beyond to accommodate our musical needs and requests. I should also mention that we had a Halloween wedding. Chuck found a selection of horror theme songs and classic vintage Halloween tunes from the 50's, 60's, 70's & 80's to play during the cocktail hour & while guests arrive for the ceremony. He played Suspiria!! How cool is that?

He also went out of his way to find particular acoustic versions of the songs we wanted for the ceremony processional. I searched the internet high and low, but one e-mail to Chuck and he got back to me with 2 perfect options to choose from. He also listened to specific songs we requested for the bridal party introductions & he cued them up flawlessly.

The dance floor was PACKED the whole night with the young and "old" crowd alike. One of my guests (my mother's friend) even asked me if we had asked our DJ to play a tracklist of every single song he loves. How great is that?? Chuck knew how to make everyone happy.

Chuck facilitated the whole day to run smoothly. Another guest commented that there was no boring downtime that can sometimes happen with weddings.

Chuck Russo was professional, accommodating, friendly, flexible, and used his vast knowledge of music to make my wedding day the best possible.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!!!! We cannot say enough great things about him. He did an amazing job!!!! We gave him a list of songs and groups we liked, but also gave him free range to play any song he thought was best. (which I recommend) He couldn't have done a better job!!!!
Chuck knew exactly what songs to play for our guests.
Everyone was on the dance floor; no one wanted to stop dancing b/c they loved the music he played.
All our guests commented on what a great job he did!!!!

We knew right away that we would be happy with Chuck Russo, but he over exceded our expectations!!!!!!

Amazing job Chuck!!!!! We can't even begin to thank you!!!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Bg8
Cynthia G
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Chuck is great. He took into account everything I had asked of him. I had emailed him regarding some music I would like played throughout the night and during dinner and he played it all! He even was able to read the crowd and keep them dancing all night.
Thanks Chuck!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband is INCREDIBLY picky with music and we knew this would be the one challenge. We wanted just music and didn't want a flashy DJ or an MC or anything like that. We talked with Chuck over the phone and got a really good feeling from him so we decided he was a good choice. Day of he was great. He made sure that the music wasn't too loud, he played all the music we asked of him (some of which was very obscure), and had the timing for everything down perfectly. The dance floor was also packed for most of the night (except for the obscure ones which only had the people that knew them dancing).
Services Used: DJ
Bg2
Tim
Wedding:
3/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Our guests loved the music and Chuck got everyone dancing right from the first song. The ONLY thing I can say that you might want to review with him if it's important is your play list. We had about 25 songs we wanted played and only heard about 7 or 8 of them. If you want a song played be specific. But other than that Chuck was FANTASTIC!! Very professional, great play list, know's his stuff!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liliancates
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
We used Chuck's partner Bob and he was awesome.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
3/13/2009
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Chuck other then he is GREAT! Chuck did exactly what we were asking for we could not have asked for more from him. We got so many compliments from people at the wedding saying that the DJ was great and played such a broad range of music that everyone would dance too. It was not geared toward one age range at all. Chuck also had the volume just right on! I highly recommend Chuck for your wedding DJ he is no frills either which is awesome!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lulusmom4
Wedding:
2/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Chuck did an amazing job incorporating many different music styles that would appeal to a broad range of guests. His unintrusive style, great sense of timing and his many years of experience in the industry make him a must have.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
My wedding was perfect!! The music was everything that I imagined it would be at my weddind :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mairelass
Wedding:
2/10/2007
5.0/5.0
Chuck was absolutely perfect. my husband and i are avid fans of "Brit pop" - i'd say 99% of people have no idea what that is. we looked for specific bands to be played- my bloody valentine, RIDE, Sigur Ros etc
Chuck came to our house one night and talked it all over with us. we wanted no electic slide, chicken dance etc, and he was more than happy to side step them
he compiled an EXCELLENT track list to be played during cocktail hour and managed to get new order, the smiths, depeche more even daft punk into the reception time mixed with some new wave 80's tracks... we were very VERY pleased!!
we would- and have- happily reccomend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TAF102007
Wedding:
10/20/2007
5.0/5.0
Choosing Chuck as our DJ was a decision we never thought twice about. He was very professional and classy, not obnoxious or all over the place like most DJ's. We gave Chuck a list of music we absolutely wanted / didn't want and he definitely followed this. My husband and I, as well our guests were on the dance the floor the entire night. This was very important to us because we wanted everyone to have a great time and not be stuck in their seats. Chuck truly added to our reception being a huge success. Our guests still give compliments on him. We absolutely recommend Chuck Russo to DJ your wedding. He is extremely. Chuck will work with your style, your wants/needs to create a list that reflects you and fits the style of your wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
7/29/2007
5.0/5.0
We were not an easy couple to please. We wanted the music to reflect our musical tastes, mostly 80's new wave. Chuck played what we wanted to hear and kept our guests on the dance floor. He even fit in Morrisey during the meal! We said absolutely no audience participation songs (YMCA, Electric Slide, Chicken Dance). He was uber professional, not loud and obnoxious like many DJ's are. The Reception really ran smoothly because of him. We highly recommend him! He will work with your personal tastes and needs and create a reception that reflects your personality.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/9/2007
5.0/5.0
Chuck did an amazing job! We couldnt have asked for a better DJ!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Chuck gave us personal attention, was very organized, and extremely flexible. He was a true professional, and a very nice guy to work with.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
5/18/2014
4.9/5.0
Outrageous, what a PRO ! Chuck kept everything flowing. Ceremony,cocktail hour,dinner.dance,always had the right song on. Fast, slow, or just rockin ! Bride and groom songs, special request.hire chuck and it is the last you worry about the music. Just let him go at it.everything, Sinatra - Beatles - a/c-d/cv - Spingsteen - Zac brown - Dino, even The High Kings.Chuck will call an Audible and not let you down ! What a library.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.9/5.0
When I looked next to me at a bridal show and my future husband was missing, I found him talking to Chuck Russo like they've known one another for years. My husbands requirement for a DJ was "He has to know who Tom Waits is."

I knew I didn't want a gimmicky DJ with flashing lights and glow sticks, and I didn't want one that was the same age as me who would play music I had never heard of. I wanted to have fun at my wedding, but I didn't want it to feel like a Jersey night club. We found everything we wanted in Chuck. He's a one man show, and he's low-key in all the right ways. He is so nice and charismatic.

He asked us for a list of suggested songs to play and also a do-not-play list which he honored to a T. On my reply cards, I included a spot where guests could request songs, and many were pleasantly surprised that Chuck had played their requests. My favorite moments of the wedding are ones where we are all dancing and singing. Everyone had so much fun, and the pictures I have of the dance floor are awesome.

It was a beautiful and fun day, and I honestly don't think it would have turned out as well had we not had Chuck as our DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexa
Wedding:
12/31/2012
4.9/5.0
My husband and I just got married at the Olde Mill Inn on NYE and Chuck was our DJ. He was absolutely amazing!! He listened to everything we wanted and played the music we asked for. Chuck is not the type of DJ to talk throughout your entire wedding, he just plays the music and knows exactly how to get people dancing. I couldn't have asked for a better night! The dance floor was packed all night! If you want a really good DJ who listens to everything you ask for, Chuck is the guy you want!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurel
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.9/5.0
SO GOOD!! WE loved him! worth every cent.

he's affordable, professional, amazing
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
natalier
Wedding:
1/23/2010
4.9/5.0
Chuck was great. He wasn't pushy or obnoxious like any of the other DJs we spoke to. And he's not the type of DJ who keeps talking over the music just to hear himself. He just plays good music. He understands exactly what type of music you like, reads the crowd, and makes sure everyone has a great time. Our dance floor was packed the whole night. Chuck rules!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juliann
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.8/5.0
Chuck Russo was the DJ at our wedding on November 2010. He did an amazing job and managed to get everyone (even my two grandparents) dancing the entire night. he was very responsive to my requests and played every song that was a must play and most songs that I recommended as well, but he was able to feel the crowd and played a few songs not on my list that helped to keep everyone up and dancing. He is extremely professional (which my parents loved) and is careful to play songs that are new but still appropriate for the older guests. He also was very reasonable with price and offered to do music for our cocktail our for free included in his original price. I definitely would recommend him to do any wedding/cocktail hour, especially larger weddings with a diverse interest in music.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
If you want flashy, showy MC, look elsewhere. Chuck lays low and isn't trying to be the star. He asks for a few must plays along with no plays and then thoroughly reads the crowd. He doesn't always respond to emails so call him- a little old school but once on the phone he's super attentive! Great value, great time!!
Services Used: DJ
Bg8
NJBride#1
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.8/5.0
If you are looking for the type of DJ that takes over your event and is the "typical" New Jersey DJ, then you better keep looking. Chuck Russo is low-key, non-obtrusive, and delivers exactly what he promises. He read the crowd perfectly and played the perfect set of music. I am still getting comments on how great the music was. We never once had to ask him to turn down the volume (which is amazing since our reception was in an entirely glass room). Hire this man! He is worth every penny!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Edith
Wedding:
6/10/2006
3.9/5.0
Very professional and knows the audience well. We had a specific playlist in mind, and he was willing to work with us. At the same time the DJ knew exactly what to play to get the crowd going. We were very happy with our selection.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.4/5.0
If you are looking for a DJ who will play great music without the fist-pumping laser-light party-hat show then Chuck is the man for you! All my guests thoroughly enjoyed the music he played and his style. My warning, however, is that while Chuck is certainly a seasoned DJ, he did not really deliver on the reliability, flexibility, and professionalism that he promised.

First of all, we had an outdoor ceremony (scheduled outdoors rain or shine) on what happened to be a very windy day. Chuck was unprepared for the wind and the microphone did not have a ball over it to cover the sound. Most guests did not hear the vows we read. This was certainly not the reliable and prepared DJ we were promised.

Furthermore, when the person performing the ceremony was late, all of our vendors very easily adjusted their schedule to the 45 minute delay. Chuck was not so flexible. He wanted to maintain the same time frame which eliminated some key time for dancing. I read his contract and was well aware of his overtime charge, but Chuck was set on ending at the scheduled time.

The biggest complaint I have with Chuck was his lack of professionalism. During the affair he spoke to one of our guests who is pretty well known in the music industry. He said to him, "Oh, I know who you are," as though to point out his notoriety. This was completely inappropriate and made our guest feel entirely uncomfortable. Furthermore, after the wedding I found out that 45 minutes prior to the end of the reception Chuck asked my mother for his final payment. This was completely inappropriate and unacceptable. My mother did not sign the contract -- I (the bride) did. While I understand his concern as to whether or not he would be paid, he had no business asking my mother for the money when she was not involved in his payment in any way and he had never even had a conversation with her.

Chuck is a quality DJ -- but beware of these major shortcomings.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kjb03778
Wedding:
5/7/2009
1.2/5.0
I want to delete my review of this vendor but don't know how. So I will just say I have resolved my issue with this vendor and despite not actually working with him for my wedding I was impressed with him at a bridal show and wished we could have made something work for us.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Madison, NJ 07940 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Chuck Russo - Professional Disc Jockey
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1385939468348-dj-chuck-