130x130_sq_1376324712248-dsc01896

Classic Bakery & Cafe

Gaithersburg , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

18503 N Frederick Ave
Gaithersburg, MD US 20879 (map)

PHONE

301-948-0449

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Classic Bakery & Cafe is a full service bakery that has been serving the DC-Metropolitan area since 1991 with over 50 years’ experience in the industry. We employ the most experienced... Read more
Classic Bakery & Cafe is a full service bakery that has been serving the DC-Metropolitan area since 1991 with over 50 years’ experience in the industry. We employ the most experienced chefs, decorating artists, and ingredient specialists in the industry, and are eager to prepare an extravagant wedding cake for the recently engaged couple. We will appoint one of our experienced wedding cake specialists to walk through every step of the process, and will be there from the first taste test, till the day of event, and so on. For more information and guidlines, please visit the Wedding Center designed especially for the bride and Groom to be. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1392909337104
130x130_sq_1392910612105-dsc0189
130x130_sq_1392909344484-cak
130x130_sq_1392909408084-dsc0658
130x130_sq_1392909340635
130x130_sq_1216273000869-1
130x130_sq_1392909362002-dsc0461
130x130_sq_1392909776824-dsc0165
130x130_sq_1392910681758-dsc0195
130x130_sq_1392909910513-dsc0168
130x130_sq_1392909968568-dsc0169
130x130_sq_1392909704332-dsc0164
130x130_sq_1392910254495-img178
130x130_sq_1392909636195-dsc0161
130x130_sq_1392910746831-dsc0196
130x130_sq_1216273032588-mix062
130x130_sq_1392909384055-dsc0636
130x130_sq_1392910476252-dsc0186
130x130_sq_1392910031115-dsc0177
130x130_sq_1392909451014-img108
130x130_sq_1392910541590-dsc0187
130x130_sq_1392910157809-dsc0182
130x130_sq_1392910899033-dsc0201
130x130_sq_1392909429393-dsc0705
130x130_sq_1392909837393-dsc0167
130x130_sq_1392910824723-dsc0198
130x130_sq_1216273113228-dsc03322
130x130_sq_1392911037637-dsc0205
130x130_sq_1392910972495-dsc0204
130x130_sq_1392910093767-dsc0179
130x130_sq_1392910223158-dsc0184
130x130_sq_1216273152338-mix047
130x130_sq_1216273173134-4
130x130_sq_1216273195978-12
130x130_sq_1216273218447-14
130x130_sq_1216273234572-7
130x130_sq_1216273281291-dsc03204
130x130_sq_1216273326041-dsc03305
130x130_sq_1216273343634-8
130x130_sq_1216273384556-11
130x130_sq_1216273405619-10
130x130_sq_1216273470400-dsc03338
130x130_sq_1216273529119-mix048
130x130_sq_1216273592619-mix012
130x130_sq_1216273627884-mix005
130x130_sq_1216273663728-dsc03247
130x130_sq_1216274090822-84
130x130_sq_1216274116447-85
130x130_sq_1216274135713-wedding260
130x130_sq_1216274157384-wedding269
130x130_sq_1216274181369-weddingdsc0369
130x130_sq_1216274204978-weddingdsc00370
130x130_sq_1216274232213-weddingdsc03667
130x130_sq_1216274256697-weddingdsc03669
130x130_sq_1216274309697-weddingdsc03679
130x130_sq_1216274337244-weddingdsc03695
130x130_sq_1216274432697-weddingdsc03711
130x130_sq_1216274460463-weddingdsc03727
130x130_sq_1216274491338-weddingdsc03820
130x130_sq_1216274530978-weddingdsc03833
130x130_sq_1216274561494-weddingdsc03865
130x130_sq_1216274596713-weddingdsc03916
130x130_sq_1216274634603-weddingpicture035
130x130_sq_1216274663291-weddingpicture040
130x130_sq_1216274702150-weddingpicture049
130x130_sq_1216274745072-weddingpicture050
130x130_sq_1216274778588-weddingpicture054
130x130_sq_1216274816884-weddingpicture055

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We offer private tastings upon an appointment basis.
What are your tasting hours?
With scheduled appointment, during all business hours.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Cakes are priced per slice. There are additional charges for flavored infused cake batter, mixed cake layers, and/or
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
99% of our cakes are designed specifically for our customer specification.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We offer our Signature Cream, made of fresh cream made of 100% dairy products with low fat and sugar content, contrary to low quality butter cream that contains hydrogenated ingredients. Fresh fruit filling is made up of diced fruits mixed with our signature cream. All of our fillings and flavors are listed in the product section on our website.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
We always tell our customers that it's never too early to "save the date." As soon as the soon to be bride and groom have a date ready for the wedding, they should consider making an appointment, although we have made cakes for the following day for some last minute couples.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
15-25.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
Various cake stands are available for rent. Fountains, stands, figurines, and props are all available at no additional cost, but are subject to a deposit that will be returned once all products and merchandise are brought back in a clean and working condition.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Yes. Delivery prices depend on distance of travel.

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ghaemiwedding
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was PERFECT. It looked beautiful, but most importantly, it tasted AMAZING!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shima
Wedding:
6/6/2014
5.0/5.0
AMAZING pastries! Classic bakery is one of the best bakeries in the area. We got our wedding pastries from them and all of our guests loved them. They are very professional and friendly. We highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Very personal service, best tasting cakes, not too sweet and beautiful! The owner gave us suggestions on how we could save money, and we opted to use the fresh orchids for the cake. When miguel came in to decorate it, it looked JUST AS I PICTURED IT. They seriously matched my cascading orchids photograph I gave them, and they had the best price in town for the amount of cake hey made, and included delivery and set-up. Thanks Classic Bakery!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sophia
Wedding:
3/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was so delicious!!!! Everyone loved it. the cake arrived on time and was delivered perfectly to us. the roses I left for the last minute touches were put exactly where I wanted. thank you classic bakery!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Ally
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. We recently had our wedding and Classic bakery did our cake. Chocolate Cake w/ hazelnut cream filling and european cream frosting - seriously out of this world deliciious. MOIST. I have had SO many slices of DRY wedding cake and this cake was NOT dissapointing - everyone raved about how good it was!! \r\n\r\nThe price is EXTREMELY reasonable (much less than other bakeries I looked at), the service was FANTASTIC and they were SO easy to coordinate with -- they delivered the cake on time and it came looking PERECT. Truly a fbulous experience working with them and we will be getting all of our holiday/birthday cakes from them from now on!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Two words: Nutella cream. Hands down, the BEST cake I've ever tasted. Not just wedding cake--I mean, all cakes. We ordered two cakes from Classic Bakery for our May 2013 wedding: praline & white chocolate mousse (wedding cake) and the aforementioned Nutella cream cake (groom's cake). Both were spectacular; several guests came up to us to comment on how delicious the cake was (and there was serious competition at our wedding--in addition to the two cakes, we also featured three other desserts and an assortment of cookies). I was raised in Germany and sought out a European-style bakery--Classic Bakery exceeded my expectations in delivering a cake that was big on flavor but not sickly sweet like so many American desserts, and was so light and fluffy. SO YUMMY.

Taste aside, the prices were so reasonable.

And let's not forget the service. My now-husband and I forgot which flavor we selected after the tasting and called Classic Bakery to ask if we could come in again. "No problem" was the response. Areen (sp? Gosh, I forget how to spell it) was SO HELPFUL. I wanted a Ravens-themed groom's cake and he worked with us on design and even talked us down from a bigger, more expensive cake. Everything was so simple!

Cakes were delivered on time, set up, and again--SO YUMMY.

I highly recommend them for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice Suh
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a beautiful 4-tier wedding cake at an extremely reasonable price. It was buttercream, so it tasted great, but looked as smooth as fondant. They were extremely professional, came on time, and had plenty of experience working with our hotel (Hotel Monaco in DC). Delivery was very reasonable, and they also lent us a cake stand.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Delicious cake, great flavor selections. Knowledgable staff. My favorite bakery! Everything there is phenomenal.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Lemon Vanilla & Key Lime Cake? OH YES PLEASE & THANK YOU!!! Areen and the rest of the crew at Classic Bakery were a pleasure to work with from the time we scheduled our tasting until the cake was cut. I will have to admit it was THE BEST cake I have eaten ever! The bakery came highly recommended to us by several other people so this one was a no-brainer for us! I would highly recommend Classic Bakery for your wedding or next special event!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1346699431231-wedding
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/18/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I easily tasted a dozen wedding cakes while trying to select our baker. I was raised thinking real buttercream must only be made with butter, not shortening. My husband and I found it frustrating because I couldn't find a cake that tasted far beyond grocery store cake.

While at the orthodontist I was expressing my frustration, when to my surprise, one of the coordinators provided me a business card for Classic Bakery. She said at Classic Bakery, the frosting is a special recipe, more like bavarian cream, and the cakes taste incredible, so we scheduled a tasting.

The cakes were beyond delicious, and the owners have a romantic flair. They even provided us with a groom for the cake, since we were unable to find one that looked like my husband. We wanted to celebrate my parents at our wedding for being married so long, and requested a small cake be made like their wedding cake. It was perfect. All of our guests raved about our wedding cake, and no piece went uneaten. The fun part is that for our first anniversary, Classic Bakery will make a small anniversary cake for us for free, so we get fresh wedding cake instead of year old cake. If you're looking for the best tasting cake that still looks gorgeous, choose Classic Bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our cake from this bakery was great. Somehow it's really hard to find a wedding cake that's not just looks good, but also one that tastes good. I am very happy I found Classic Bakery. Our wedding cake was beautiful and delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Svetlana
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
It was such a pleasure working with Areen. They listened to what we wanted and went above and beyond to make sure we get a wonderful cake for our wedding. We were very happy with the final product and have already recommended them to many of our friends. If you are looking for a bakery that provides great customer service, high quality cakes that are reasonably priced, Classic Bakery & Cafe is the right place for you. Another thing that attracted us to Classic Bakery is their implacable designs, we were so tiered of seeing old fashioned sloppy cakes. Give them a call and you will not be disappointed, we know we will be going to them for our upcoming special occasion cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1290566972644-sany2292
Sara
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I was so pleased with our beautiful cake! It was definitely a hit at the wedding! I received so many compliments from my guests on how wonderful the cake was and how they went back for seconds. Areen was great to work with and helped us to stay within our budget. The delivery was perfect and the setup was great. Thanks!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1310868349659-20110612mm0395
M.Mirosh
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
They did a beautiful job on our wedding cake, and tastes amazing! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clulesintentions
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Classic Bakery was great. They have a ton of flavors and fillings, so you can really customize your wedding cake. My fiance and I had a great tasting and were able to create the exact cake we wanted. Also, the cake itself looked beautiful on the day and tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lallithamol
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Classic Bakery provided a beautiful centerpiece in the cake and it was absolutely delicious. The value was incredible for the amazing quality of the cake. We appreciate the personal, yet professional service. An added touch, is that Classic Bakery will give you a brand new cake on your anniversary. No need to save the top layer. They want to maintain the quality by giving you a new cake--very nice! We would highly recommend them to any couple.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1286820945176-kiss
melissa&steven
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Classic Bakery did a BEAUTIFUL job on my wedding cake. Areen was a pleasure to work with. I had taken in a picture of exactly how I wanted my cake to look and he pulled it off. It was gorgeous and tasting amazing! The buttercream filling is so delish! Pricing was very reasonable. I would recommend Classic Bakery to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynne
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for the perfect cake for your wedding-one that is beautiful to look at and tastes like they have not only used the best ingredients,but made your cake as if it was the only cake in the world,then you have found your bakery.Because this bakery is owned and operated by a family,they take GREAT PRIDE in their work, and you can literally taste the love they put into what they make.Our daughter's wedding was last Sat and somehow the grooms cake was delivered to another hotel.When this was discovered and the bakery contacted,THEY MADE ANOTHER CAKE! and delivered it 5 minutes before cake cutting time.Beauty,taste,service at it's best.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg19
Amanda
Wedding:
7/16/2010
5.0/5.0
This was the best cake i have ever had and everyone at my wedding was talking about it being so moist! they also gave me recomendations on different looks and were great about staying in budget.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Masha
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Beautiful cake, exceptional customer service. They sat down with me and designed the exact cake that I wanted. All our guests couldn't believe how great the cake tasted!!! Definitely recommend to everyone!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1274388992310-pandgregafterceremony
Priscilla
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception a couple weeks ago and used Creative Cakes. We couldn't have been happier with the service we received from the staff! We gave them a picture of what we wanted and at the reception we looked at the cake and it looked identical to that picture! Even better - the cake tasted great! We got to pick different flavors and fillings for each layer and our guests said it was the best wedding cake they have ever tasted. We will be sure to use them for any events we have in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nenellia
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Look no further than Classic Bakery! If you are looking for outstanding customer service, incredible designs, custom cakes, and flavors that you're guests will be talking about for years to come...THIS IS THE PLACE!!!

Our guests could not stop talking about how delicious our cake was. And my husband who does not like sweets at all, could not stop commenting on how great our cake was. Classic bakery took the vision I had and made it a reality.

You will not find a better cake vendor than this!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
colgizmo
Wedding:
1/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Bent over backwards to take care of my needs - I will use them again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrian
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
I received 100% satisfaction, my guest enjoyed the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Ann
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Classic Bakery did an outstanding job on my daughter's wedding cake. It far exceeded our expectations for presentation and quality. It tasted delicious -- we got the crushed hazelnuts/nutella/tres leches flavor and it was moist and delicious --not too heavy or too sweet. The cake was amazing and stole the show!! I would recommend this bakery if you need an amazing cake for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
William
Wedding:
6/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Classic Bakery is awesome. They were able to deliver an absolutely delicious cake to our wedding location, Gaylord National Harbor. They were very professional and explained to us the differences in the cake design and prices. As a bonus, they would make us a small wedding cake for our 1st anniversary so we didn't have to save the top!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
A bit tucked away in Gaithersburg, MD, but Classic Bakery is definitely worth it! Coming from Manassas, VA we were a bit hesitant with driving the distance to attend our tasting appointment. How glad we were to make the drive! Me and my fiance were literally blown away with the quality of their cakes. The bakery was so helpful with our choices and with their design expertise, we ended up with an absolutely memorable cake! It was till the end that we had realized that the bakery is actually only 20 minutes from downtown DC. I am now a regular customer at Classic Bakery after buying my parents anniversary cake, and my nephews 1st birthday.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
My (now) husband and I went to a wedding early this year and couldn't stop complimenting their wedding cake. We were told the cake was purchased at Classic Bakery, and immediately we called to make an appointment for a tasting. From the moment we walked into Classic Bakery, we knew they were the right choice for us. From their beautiful wedding albums to their professionalism everything seemed to be 100% perfect. The coordinator spent an hour with us to get the cake exactly like we had dreamed. Come wedding day, the centerpiece of the night was the Cake and our guests couldn't stop complimenting not only the immaculate design of the cake, but it's wonderful taste. Totally recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Niyri
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
Best wedding cake source In DC-Metro By Far! Keep up the good work!

-N
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1216441094176-l_5872a3e562a0a83970b4e2398665d5a4
Andrea
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Went to 4 different shops in the DC-Metro area, and not one of them were willing to take on the daunting task to create our fondant masterpiece. Classic Bakery not only took on the challenge but surprised us with a wonderful cake that turned out better than the Chef who originally designed the cake. Amazing work and my utmost compliments to the chef. Great atmosphere and very professional coordinators.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1217348854902-1
Lesley
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
I have been working with Classic Bakery for 15 years, and dozens of cakes later, Classic Bakery does wonders on my wedding cake. 100% RECOMMENDED!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsHabibi
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
The Classic Bakery in Gaithersburg is awesome! My fiance (now husband) and I went there a month before the wedding and talked with one of the owners. He sat down and talked about our budget and planned a special cake just to suit us. The cake came out beautifully and tasted amazing!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katerina
Wedding:
7/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Classic Bakery did an amazing job with our cake, and it was the talk of the night. The staff did an astonishing job helping me pick a cake that would best fit the theme of the night, and they designed a fully custom cake for our special event. I would recommend Classic Bakery to anyone looking for an exquisite cake that not only tastes incredible, but looks just as good. Only thing is that the bakery is a bit tucked away in Gaithersburg, but totally worth the trek.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ali
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.9/5.0
We used Classic Bakery for our wedding cake. They worked with us to design a beautiful yet affordable cake for our wedding. They delivered the cake on-time as promised, and the cake was very delicious. Our guests all loved the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt
Wedding:
4/29/2012
4.9/5.0
Our wedding cake looked amazing and tasted even better!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1323475023372-img0059
Kathryn
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.9/5.0
Since we got married in November and our wedding venue had a rustic feel, Steve and I chose to have various types of pie as our dessert, rather than wedding cake. The pies from Classic Bakery were excellent!! We chose to have apple, blueberry, and cherry (especially since they were a bit more affordable than other types including pumpkin). Areen was particularly helpful in helping me select types and place the order.

One thing to note: when I originally called Classic Bakery for information about their pies, they quoted me one price. Unfortunately, when I called back a few months later to actually place the order, they quoted me a higher price. It was still affordable, but I just wanted to note that.

Overall, I would highly recommend the pies from Classic Bakery, and also just the idea of having pie instead of wedding cake. Our guests really enjoyed it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1288626185232-fdsafsdaf
India
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.9/5.0
I like them because they're affordable and the cakes taste great. Our cake was simple yet elegant. I'm not sure if they were supposed to provide a box to put the top layer in but other than that, service was exceptional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1262814193050-mb1600copy
Elleni
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.9/5.0
I was so indecisive about my wedding cake, I wanted to most elaborate cake but I was on a tight budget. Areen helped me find the prettiest cake. He gave great suggestions to liven up my cake and have it stand out. He was honest and very flexible. The cake was so moist and it tasted and looked like a million bucks. Overall I would recommend Classic Bakery to all new brides in the DC, MD, and VA area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KathrynFisher
Wedding:
2/14/2010
4.9/5.0
**If you would like to see a picture of our cake and all it's detail, please go to my pictures under my profile.**

Classic made our wedding cake for our February 14th wedding. It was a 3 tier wedding cake which we picked our filling but left all the design aspects to Areen and his father. We emailed a picture of our centerpieces which I designed and allowed them to "have fun with it". I trusted them completely and I am so glad that I did! Our cake was gorgeous, at least we thought so. The only thing that was not 100% was the filling of the bottom and top layer was different than what we had requested. We had asked for strawberry and ended up with the mixed fruit I believe. It had kiwi, strawberry, etc..... in the filling. It was still delicious and in reality not a big deal and the only people who noticed were my husband and I and since we did not have our cake types listed on our menu cards.... not a huge deal at all. That is the only reason we did not give a perfect 5, just wanted to be honest.

Also, our wedding and reception was in Savage, MD at the Historic Savage Mill so quite a drive. About 45 minutes but our cake arrived FLAWLESS!!!!! Another thing I was freaking out about during the planning process.... watching all those wedding cake shows where the cake ends up on the floor is scary. But if they can deliver that far away and in February's RECORD snowfall, I would trust them completely!

I am looking forward to getting a baby shower and birthday cakes from there in the near future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1199246840372-helen_slifesong-26
ES
Wedding:
8/30/2008
4.9/5.0
pricy but worth it cake is delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1216923783075-monte-carlo-wedding
Leyla
Wedding:
4/26/2008
4.9/5.0
My sisters cake was purchased two years ago from Classic, and they showed us exactly how a master decorator makes a beautiful masterpiece. Purchasing our cake was a no-brainer at Classic Bakery, and this time their "wedding center" section on their website helped us out immensely. The coordinators and chefs were on hand to help us through the entire process. The cake was absolutely delicious and looked better than we imagined!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.8/5.0
Great looking and a great tasting cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1346965776608-1
Kinsey
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.8/5.0
Thank you so much for our amazing Wedding Cake! It looked absolutely fantastic on the day and tasted delicious. Thank you for your excellent customer service and professionalism!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
May2012Bride
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.8/5.0
Areen at Classic Bakery worked with us to design the perfect cake, and even the perfect flavor! I was not amazed by the tasting, since they keep your samples in the fridge, so the cake is cold and the textures are off. But the cake on the day of the wedding was AMAZING, and I was really wishing I had taken leftovers to eat on our honeymoon. They make very professional looking cakes, and ours was stunning. I am giving a 4/5 for professionalism because on the day of the wedding, Areen was away and someone else was making my cake, and the bakery was calling me while I was having my hair done to ask questions about the design and insist that I had not brought enough ribbon... That was a little bit frustrating, but we worked it out and bottom line, the cake was beautiful and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
2/25/2012
4.8/5.0
Cake was beautiful! This is an easy-to-work with vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SarahC324
Wedding:
7/4/2010
4.8/5.0
Delicious fresh cream cake! Our cake was beautiful and delicious. The owners of the bakery have been in the business for years and they know what they are doing. The only reason I did not give them a perfect 5 stars for responsiveness was because when I called the bakery a couple of times to make a change or inquire about our order, I sat on hold for a very long time while they tracked down my order. But otherwise, everything else was great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Virginia
Wedding:
6/13/2008
4.8/5.0
The highlight of our night. Made an absolutely one of a kind fondant cake, resembling the pattern of my wedding dress. Truly a remarkable cake decorator. Nice and friendly family business. A+++
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TMenhinick
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.7/5.0
Classic Bakery is an ideal choice for anyone with sophisticated taste in confections. Their cake is light and flavorful and available in a wide variety of flavors and designs. We were sold on the whipped cream icing. Hardly the thick, heavy buttercream most of us are accustomed to at weddings. You can eat two slices and still be ready to head back to the dance floor!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Arlette
Wedding:
4/12/2014
4.6/5.0
The experienced Rubic at Classic Bakery baked us our fresh wedding cake just the way we requested it and on time. We successfully transported the cake in our car to its destination without messing it up, placed a dozen red roses for decoration, and it was a big hit. Our cake was so delicious, that the guests ate most of it and the left overs went to grandma. A special thanks to Rubic's son Areen who helps manage the bakery like a well oiled machine. Areen was very helpful, friendly, and great to work with. The cake was beautiful and we didn't brake the bank to feed 40 people. Thanks Classic Bakery! Ruly and Arlette
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg2
Alice
Wedding:
6/24/2007
4.6/5.0
I helped with coordinating a very low cost wedding for my cousin. To save costs on the cake, we decided to order undecorated cakes from Classic Bakery in Gaithersburg to assemblr and decorate ourselves at the reception site. For $150, we ordered 8", 10", and 12" strawberry creme cakes with white whipped cream frosting on Monday for the Friday wedding. My cousin picked up the cakes on Thursday evening to drop off at a Chinese restaurant in Rockville, MD, where the reception was being held. We bought 2 Wilton separator cake plates and 8 clear columns for the tiers from Fran's Cake and Candy in Virginia for about $25. We bought a bouquet of white hydrangea's from Whole Foods Supermarket in Rockville for about $12 to decorate the cake. We also bought plastic Wilton flower spikes for about $3 and a cake decorating set for about $8 at AC moore in Rockville. We ordered smooth white frosting with a smooth white border (similar to shell borders) with undecorated tops. Since the cakes were undecorated, the bakery was willing to give us a small container of white frosting which we used to pipe dots on the sides of each cake. I was surprised that they would have charged us $50 per cake to put the dots on the sides of the cake, which is so simple to do yourself. So, we saved $150 just because of the dots (which really did make the cake look special in hindsight). Although I was nervous and stressed about ruining the cake, it was surprisingly easy and simple to assemble and decorate it ourselves. The cake turned out to be very beautiful and elegant, and it tasted moist and delicious. I'm glad that we did not use supermarket cake because it was apparant from the taste that the cakes came from a very good bakery. I made sure that I washed the hydrangea bouquet carefully at home since they were going to be used on the cake. We set up the cake on a gorgeous silver cake stand that we borrowed (at no cost) from St. Anthony's bridal in Rockville. We are very, very pleased with the results and the cost savings.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
My Wedding was on July 1st and I just wanted to thank them for amazing cake
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rhatchell
Wedding:
3/31/2012
4.4/5.0
Our wedding cake from Classic Bakery was fantastic. The flavors were amazing, and the decoration and style was exactly what we asked for. There was a hiccup with our cake topper, but they sorted it out, and everything turned out great in the end.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
6/12/2011
4.4/5.0
The wedding cake was absolutely beautiful! The bakery was a little later than I expected with the delivery, but it came out beautiful. Rather a bit tardy than rushed and not perfect! Everyone said the cake tasted great too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.4/5.0
Areen was very helpful throughout the process. I got exactly what I wanted, esp w/ the grooms cake. Thanks for being part of our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KARINA
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.2/5.0
I didn't give them 5 stars just because they mess up with the flavors. I had a 4 layer cake (2 yellow, 2 chocolate) and they ended up delivering all yellow cake... Funny thing I didn't notice until my coordinator pointed it out.. lol! Not a big deal for me, but I can see how this could be huge for other brides, so just make sure you touch base with them before the day of.
Other than that, cake tasted very good! We also had a groom cake with amaretto liquor, it was awesome! I took a picture from another bakery and they replicated exactly how I wanted my cake. You know your cake looks great when u see a crowd taking pics of just the cake! I would recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
11/10/2006
4.0/5.0
Very good service and average price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aleyahorn
Wedding:
9/13/2009
3.9/5.0
Everyone said the cake was one of the best tasting wedding cakes they have ever had. I was a little disappointed by the cake decoration, but the cake tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vanise
Wedding:
11/2/2008
3.9/5.0
If you are looking for a fresh cream cake which is not too sweet and good for your health, this is the one. A lot of selection for fillings, exceptional price. All our guests couldn't believe how great the cake tasted!!! Definitely recommend to everyone!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
5/16/2009
3.8/5.0
The cake was absolutely delicious, and beautful! There were a few snafu's but overall I would recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.6/5.0
The wedding cake was beautiful and exactly like the picture out of the book. However, the yellow cake left much to be desired. It was dry and not very tasty. I gave 5 stars for responsiveness and flexibility because it was easy to make an appointment to order the cake and they had no problem that I needed the cake 5 weeks from the order date.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kim
Wedding:
10/23/2010
3.6/5.0
Delicious, and beautiful, for the most part, but then things go down hill. We really enjoyed our initial meeting and the creative process that came from it. Then, every attempt at contact was very difficult. Many times I never received a response. As the wedding got closer, the less they seemed to remember. A lot of little details were wrong, but no major disasters. The delivery was late, delaying the reception. Again, the actual cake looked great and tasted fantastic. The display was less than impressive, a place I left to their creative expertise (another slight mishap). We are undecided about recommending them in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1277562498434-36461243808863070512064287351006487288349592n
Cynthia
Wedding:
6/5/2010
2.6/5.0
Quality of Service: My cake arrived on time but minus the cake stand that I ordered. However the cake itself was delicious. However, now I have pictures of us cutting our cake that is laying flat on this table and is not elevated at all. I'm not sure why the cake stand didn't show up when it clearly states in our contract we were getting one. Maybe they double booked the stand our something but they should have called and explained the situation and tried to compensate with an alternative.

Responsiveness: Everytime I went to the bakery to discuss my order I felt as if I was just another customer. This cake was not cheap and I guess I expected that if I have an appointment that the consultant (Areen) would to be familiar with my order and not act as if this is the first time we are meeting (when it's actually the 3rd). We had a round cake with 16" 12" & 8" teirs, which the consultant suggested and assured me would look great. I didn't really like it that much. 16'" is huge and I would have liked the cake better if it were not as wide. It looked even more off because it was not on a stand

I was not thrilled with the service, that being said I was just thankful that the cake showed up on time, tasted great, and wasn't lopsided.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
18503 N Frederick Ave, Gaithersburg, MD 20879 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Classic Bakery & Cafe
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo