130x130 sq 1362016504734 avambaltimorewedding25

Classic Collective DJs

Bel Air , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 405
Bel Air, MD 21014 US

PHONE

410-459-7187

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Carl is the original "tasteful Disc Jockey" and the only choice for people who feel they deserve the best there is to offer!

Nobody ever intentionally tries to plan an... Read more
Carl is the original "tasteful Disc Jockey" and the only choice for people who feel they deserve the best there is to offer!

Nobody ever intentionally tries to plan an average, mediocre event! You are spending a great amount of time and money to create an incredible atmosphere that represents your personal style, one that will leave your guests talking and feeling they have attended the best event in their memory. With that goal in mind you must consider the great impact that music will have on the event.

Music has the amazing power to create an atmosphere. The choice in music can vastly differentiate an average event from an exceptional event. The styles of music, order of the songs played and at what volume they are played is crucial to the success of a phenomenal party. A DJ’s behavior also plays a major role in the final outcome of the event. A DJ can detract from the desired atmosphere with things like poorly executed announcements or excessive chatter. Most DJ’s don’t quite understand that everyone doesn’t want all of the same, arguably overplayed songs at every event. Many DJ’s don’t possess the experience or restraint to know when to play the appropriate songs and when to shut up and let the guests enjoy the party. All the money in the world can’t undo the damage that a bad DJ will do to your event.

Carl’s style has been classic, tasteful and painstakingly professional throughout his career with Classic Disc Jockeys. Early on, it was a very new approach for a disc jockey who didn’t command attention with ego-inflating antics. Lately, it has become very popular for many "bandwagon" DJ’s to try to shed their stereotypical, over the top DJ reputations and claim to provide a "classy, tasteful show". This is an attempt to appeal to a high end clientele while boosting their fees but the unfortunate reality is that little has changed with their approach except the wording in their marketing materials and their rates. Carl is well aware of the unfavorable DJ stereotype that many other DJs easily validate. He has been working, very successfully to eliminate the negative perceptions associated to the campy, typical DJ since he began playing music.

The devil is in the details! Carl’s professionalism, attention to detail and work ethic along with an unmatched knowledge of many styles of music is something that is highly uncommon in this industry. He has a relatively simple yet dynamic mission to provide superb music perfectly timed for each client at each event, without all of the fluff to which most DJ’s resort. His approach is what enables him to deliver exceptional results regularly and routinely. His expert opinion regarding trends in wedding music and servicing high end clients has been featured in articles found in Modern Bride, Baltimore Bride, Style and I Do magazines, as well as industry sites on the world wide web.

What makes him better... Classic Disc Jockeys was founded in 1983 when owner Carl Junior turned his love of music into a profession. He first began providing music for his own High School parties, dances, reunions and eventually played at weddings and corporate functions as he gained more experience. Many years and thousands of songs later he has played an incredibly versatile mix of music at weddings, corporate events, commitment celebrations, film festivals, clubs, pubs, fashion shows, schools and colleges, The Hard Rock Cafe® as well as Disney®! Carl is routinely sought out by Baltimore Socialites who are looking for that special touch to make their event buzz with the ultimate music. He has been invited to play events for celebrities Barry Levinson, Bruce Willis, Charlie Sheen, Tim Allen and a host of sports icons. He was recently considered as the house DJ for the "Ellen show" in Hollywood and has traveled to Europe several times to hone his skills while playing to patently discerning crowds. His work in the states has taken him as far north as scenic Vermont all the way down to sunny Florida to accommodate his clients with a passion for many genres of music delivered in an expert and unique format.

Clients of Classic Disc Jockeys are informed decision-makers who choose to hire the best professional in the industry who will work with them to construct a music format that reflects their own good taste. Clients realize the importance of having someone with an extensive background in all types of music creating a festive atmosphere for them without having to resort to some of the undesirable antics often associated with campy, inexperienced and low budget disc jockeys. You will notice from the web site design that Carl subscribes to the "less is more" approach when it comes to a tasteful presentation. Although Carl works with many excellent photographers regularly, you won’t see pictures of happy couples that adorn almost every other wedding web-site on his own. Showing you pictures of other people having fun at someone else’s wedding is not relevant to how Carl can help to make your event exceptional.

His demeanor and style is why Carl is the most sought after in his industry and appears prominently on the referral lists of the area’s top event professionals.

Although Carl performs personally at most events and has never missed an event in 20 years, he has two select, talented Disc Jockeys on call as his back-up, who share his concept of helping to provide a fun but tasteful atmosphere.

Carl books around 30 events a year. His schedule is suited to serve the best interest of his clients while still allowing him to spend time with his wife Kellie, their boys Carl and Rex, as well as their three dogs Hayley, Grizz, Poppy and a formerly stray cat named Tessie Lee. Carl and his family are major advocates of animal shelter adoption. They manage a "Mutt promotion" business and love to strut their Mutts!

Please browse the web site and find out why Carl Brashears Junior and Classic Disc Jockeys is the only choice for people with discerning taste who feel they deserve the best there is to offer. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Our whole wedding surpassed our expectations...we felt like we were in a dream! Carl and Leni were incredibly helpful, professional, and knowledgeable throughout the entire process...from planning through the reception. They understood our desire to have all of our guests feel comfortable and have a blast. We literally danced the night away and the music appealed to all of our guests!!!
Our whole wedding surpassed our expectations...we felt like we were in a dream! Carl and Leni were incredibly helpful, Read more...
Our whole wedding surpassed our expectations...we felt like we were in a dream! Carl and Leni were incredibly helpful, professional, and knowledgeable throughout the entire process...from planning through the reception. They understood our desire to have all of our guests feel comfortable and have a blast. We literally danced the night away and the music appealed to all of our guests!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Classic Collective DJs responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much Jennifer. It was a great to work with you, your family and friends! Such an incredible day! Congratulations and best wishes for may happy years together.
Carl & Leni
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I met with four DJs while planning our wedding, but the only one that we came away impressed with was Carl. His genuine interest in us, our preferences, and our overall wedding theme was only a small indication of his overall attention to detail. As a musician, my husband is very sensitive to how a DJ mixes songs based on tempo, time signature, and overall feel. When Carl repeatedly touched on this, we were both sold. Our first meeting was just a precursor to the amazing service he provided for our wedding. Carl effortlessly blended songs of different genres and cultures, creating an environment where it was impossible for everyone not to dance. As requested, he stayed in the background and did not draw any attention to himself the entire night. In terms of vendors for our wedding, we could not have been happier. I highly recommend Carl to anyone who is seeking a highly-skilled DJ who knows music, and knows the dynamics of creating a festive atmosphere.
My husband and I met with four DJs while planning our wedding, but the only one that we came away impressed with was Carl. Read more...
My husband and I met with four DJs while planning our wedding, but the only one that we came away impressed with was Carl. His genuine interest in us, our preferences, and our overall wedding theme was only a small indication of his overall attention to detail. As a musician, my husband is very sensitive to how a DJ mixes songs based on tempo, time signature, and overall feel. When Carl repeatedly touched on this, we were both sold. Our first meeting was just a precursor to the amazing service he provided for our wedding. Carl effortlessly blended songs of different genres and cultures, creating an environment where it was impossible for everyone not to dance. As requested, he stayed in the background and did not draw any attention to himself the entire night. In terms of vendors for our wedding, we could not have been happier. I highly recommend Carl to anyone who is seeking a highly-skilled DJ who knows music, and knows the dynamics of creating a festive atmosphere. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
KarenKamp
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
I hired Carl for my wedding at the recommendation of my wedding planners. Music was definitely one of the things that I felt most opinionated about when it came to the wedding and reception, I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! Carl is very knowledgable and passionate about music, he is professional and talented and he is an overall good guy. Carl was totally open to my suggestions and requests which was so important to me. He played everything I asked him to while putting his own touch on it. Guests were dancing all night and we received so many compliments on the music!
I hired Carl for my wedding at the recommendation of my wedding planners. Music was definitely one of the things that I Read more...
I hired Carl for my wedding at the recommendation of my wedding planners. Music was definitely one of the things that I felt most opinionated about when it came to the wedding and reception, I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! Carl is very knowledgable and passionate about music, he is professional and talented and he is an overall good guy. Carl was totally open to my suggestions and requests which was so important to me. He played everything I asked him to while putting his own touch on it. Guests were dancing all night and we received so many compliments on the music! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1360274958457 390544692188152557172503452n
Cassie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Carl really knew his music! He was able to find music that I really wanted but was impossible to find. Additionally, he kept the dance floor moving and the party going strong! Would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ!
Carl really knew his music! He was able to find music that I really wanted but was impossible to find. Additionally, he Read more...
Carl really knew his music! He was able to find music that I really wanted but was impossible to find. Additionally, he kept the dance floor moving and the party going strong! Would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We are so fortunate to have met Carl through a recommendation!

Carl is professional, personable, and knows his stuff. He loves music, and he also gets to know you and the tone of your event. You can trust him to be what your event needs, and he just keeps everything running smoothly. He is not tacky or lame or cheesy or “too much”. Our guests had a fantastic time dancing, and the music was just right through each segment of the evening. Carl just put the right songs on at the right time, and at the right volume. He knows how to feel the room. He plays songs you wish you would have told him to play!

The DJ is such an integral part of a guest's experience at a wedding, and Carl totally nailed it.
We are so fortunate to have met Carl through a recommendation!

Carl is professional, personable, and knows his Read more...
We are so fortunate to have met Carl through a recommendation!

Carl is professional, personable, and knows his stuff. He loves music, and he also gets to know you and the tone of your event. You can trust him to be what your event needs, and he just keeps everything running smoothly. He is not tacky or lame or cheesy or “too much”. Our guests had a fantastic time dancing, and the music was just right through each segment of the evening. Carl just put the right songs on at the right time, and at the right volume. He knows how to feel the room. He plays songs you wish you would have told him to play!

The DJ is such an integral part of a guest's experience at a wedding, and Carl totally nailed it. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
My advice for brides-to-be? Hire Carl (Classic Disc Jockeys) for your wedding! Carl was so easy and fun to work with from the very beginning and made our wedding day absolutely incredible! He made sure that he understood exactly what we wanted – we trusted him completely and he did not disappoint!

Carl was professional, engaged, and responsive throughout the entire planning process. One of our main goals was to keep people dancing – mission accomplished! I can’t tell you how many times we heard “your DJ was awesome,” “I have never had so much fun dancing at a wedding,” and “the music was amazing.”

We HIGHLY recommend Carl and can’t thank him enough for helping make our wedding day perfect!!

-Emily & Eli
My advice for brides-to-be? Hire Carl (Classic Disc Jockeys) for your wedding! Carl was so easy and fun to work with from Read more...
My advice for brides-to-be? Hire Carl (Classic Disc Jockeys) for your wedding! Carl was so easy and fun to work with from the very beginning and made our wedding day absolutely incredible! He made sure that he understood exactly what we wanted – we trusted him completely and he did not disappoint!

Carl was professional, engaged, and responsive throughout the entire planning process. One of our main goals was to keep people dancing – mission accomplished! I can’t tell you how many times we heard “your DJ was awesome,” “I have never had so much fun dancing at a wedding,” and “the music was amazing.”

We HIGHLY recommend Carl and can’t thank him enough for helping make our wedding day perfect!!

-Emily & Eli Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1369676589466 avatar
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We got married in late April 2013 and Carl was our DJ. Carl was the absolute best, we couldn't be happier with his work, professionalism, reading the audience, and keeping everyone on the dance floor and having a great time the whole night. He was absolutely fantastic and worth every penny. We are recommending him to all our friends. He has terrific range and is an expert at reading the crowd and figuring out how to keep the party going. We had a smaller wedding (100 persons) but the dance floor was more crowded than much larger weddings we've been to. Carl is an excellent choice and we're very grateful for his skilled approach.
We got married in late April 2013 and Carl was our DJ. Carl was the absolute best, we couldn't be happier with his work, Read more...
We got married in late April 2013 and Carl was our DJ. Carl was the absolute best, we couldn't be happier with his work, professionalism, reading the audience, and keeping everyone on the dance floor and having a great time the whole night. He was absolutely fantastic and worth every penny. We are recommending him to all our friends. He has terrific range and is an expert at reading the crowd and figuring out how to keep the party going. We had a smaller wedding (100 persons) but the dance floor was more crowded than much larger weddings we've been to. Carl is an excellent choice and we're very grateful for his skilled approach. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Joe
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Carl was very professional and provided outstanding service. He was extremely knowledgeable and made us feel completely comfortable throughout the entire process. Carl worked with us to find the right music for our wedding and his suggestions were right on point. He provided seamless transitions between cocktail hour, introductions, dinner and after dinner dancing. Our guests enjoyed themselves and danced the night away. I highly recommend Carl and Classic Disc Jockeys for anyone who is looking for a DJ who truly “gets it!”
Carl was very professional and provided outstanding service. He was extremely knowledgeable and made us feel completely Read more...
Carl was very professional and provided outstanding service. He was extremely knowledgeable and made us feel completely comfortable throughout the entire process. Carl worked with us to find the right music for our wedding and his suggestions were right on point. He provided seamless transitions between cocktail hour, introductions, dinner and after dinner dancing. Our guests enjoyed themselves and danced the night away. I highly recommend Carl and Classic Disc Jockeys for anyone who is looking for a DJ who truly “gets it!” Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Meredith
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl took the time to meet with me and my partner and we spoke at length about the type of music that we wanted and the "vibe" we wanted to create at our wedding. Carl provided music as guests arrived, during the ceremony, during the cocktail hour, during dinner, and then for cake cutting and dancing into the night. So it was a huge variety of music and every song was exactly what we wanted. We had even mentioned that we don't like line dances and when a few guests requested Macarena or Electric Slide, he politely turned them down. Carl also took charge of asking guests to assemble for the ceremony, be seated for dinner, and he let folks know when we were cutting the cake and dancing our first dance together. He was there on time, he was friendly, and I would hire him again in a minute because he had the guests dancing all night.
Carl took the time to meet with me and my partner and we spoke at length about the type of music that we wanted and the Read more...
Carl took the time to meet with me and my partner and we spoke at length about the type of music that we wanted and the "vibe" we wanted to create at our wedding. Carl provided music as guests arrived, during the ceremony, during the cocktail hour, during dinner, and then for cake cutting and dancing into the night. So it was a huge variety of music and every song was exactly what we wanted. We had even mentioned that we don't like line dances and when a few guests requested Macarena or Electric Slide, he politely turned them down. Carl also took charge of asking guests to assemble for the ceremony, be seated for dinner, and he let folks know when we were cutting the cake and dancing our first dance together. He was there on time, he was friendly, and I would hire him again in a minute because he had the guests dancing all night. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Carol
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Carl was very knowledgeable about a variety of music styles; he was also responsive and organized. I'd definitely recommend him to anyone who wants music to be an important, thoughtful part of their ceremony!
Carl was very knowledgeable about a variety of music styles; he was also responsive and organized. I'd definitely Read more...
Carl was very knowledgeable about a variety of music styles; he was also responsive and organized. I'd definitely recommend him to anyone who wants music to be an important, thoughtful part of their ceremony! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Classic Collective DJs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1362016504734 avambaltimorewedding25